HOMER E. ALTMAN
It is the progressive, wide-awake man of affairs who makes the real history of a community, and his influence as a potent factor of the body politic is difficult to estimate. The examples such men furnish of patient purpose and steadfast integrity strongly illustrate what is in the power of each to accomplish, and there is always a full measure of satisfaction in adverting to their achievements in their individual affairs and in their advancement of the interests of their fellowmen, giving strength and solidity to the institutions which mean so much to the prosperity and welfare of the community in which they live. The subject of this sketch, owner of the finely improved and productive "Cedarbrook Farm," in Nooksack township has so ordered his career as to earn a place among the representative men of his locality and is clearly entitled to specific mention in the annals of Whatcom county.
H. E. Altman is a native of the state of Ohio, his birth occurring on the 26th of June, 1871, and he is a son of William and Jane (Rothen) Altman, the former of whom was born in Pennsylvania, January 23, 1835, and the latter of whom was a native of Buffalo, New York. He received a good education in the public schools of his native state and had two years at Otterbein College, at Westerville, Ohio. During the ensuing four years he was engaged in teaching school and then went to Forreston, Illinois, where in partnership with A. D. Klump, he was engaged in the newspaper business for five years. He was married in 1904 and, for their honeymoon trip, he and his wife started for Washington. They arrived first at Bellingham and then located at Lake Whatcom, where they bought thirty acres of land, covered with timber and brush, which Mr. Altman cleared off, and to the cultivation of this land he devoted himself for six years. In 1910 he leased that farm and coming to Nooksack bought the Nooksack Reporter from Sills & Robinson and devoted himself closely to the editing and publishing of that paper for five years. During that period he was also engaged in the real estate business there, in which he met with a very fair measure of success. In 1915 he effected a trade, exchanging his newspaper property for fifty acres of land in Nooksack township, one mile south of Nooksack, twenty-five acres of which tract was cleared, the remainder being in pasture and timber. Mr. Altman has cleared off most of the timber and has uprooted the immense cedar stumps which encumbered the land, and he now has his place in a fine state of cultivation, raising big crops of oats and peas, in addition to which he has a large berry patch, which has been a good source of income. He is also interested in the production of filberts, in the growing of which he and a neighboring farmer, David H. Berg, are pioneers in this locality. He has a fine filbert grove coming into bearing, and having demonstrated in a most practical way the possibility of growing these nuts at a profit and with little hazard, he intends going into that business more extensively. Mr. Altman is also actively engaged in the chicken business, owning about six hundred laying hens. He has made substantial and attractive improvements on the place, which now ranks among the best farms in this section of Whatcom county.
On June 28, 1904, Mr. Altman was married to Miss Jeanne McClure, who was born in Adair county, Iowa, a daughter of W. H. and Rose (Wait) McClure, the former a native of Ogle county, Illinois, and the latter of Union county, Ohio. Mr. McClure was a resident of Illinois until 1907, when he came to Spokane, Washington, where he lived for eleven years. He then located in Bellingham, where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring there October 6, 1919. He was survived by his widow, who made her home with Mr. and Mrs. Altman, until her death on December 25, 1925. Mr. and Mrs. McClure were the parents of four children, namely: Mrs. Jeanne Altman, Mrs. J. E. Gardner, W. B., and J. W., deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Altman are the parents of two children: Willard H., born in Bellingham, May 6, 1908; and Evelyn Elizabeth, born in Nooksack, March 16, 1911. Mr. Altman is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association and is a stockholder in the Poultrymen's Accredited Hatchery, of Bellingham, and also belongs to the Grange. He is deeply interested in educational affairs and is president of the board of directors of the Nooksack consolidated school. He is equally strong in his advocacy of good roads and has been influential in local efforts for improved highways. He is essentially a man of affairs, sound of judgment and foreseeing in what he undertakes, so that he holds distinctive precedence as one of the most progressive and enterprising citizens of his section of the county. He is a genial and companionable man, thoughtful of the welfare of others and generous in his giving to benevolent objects, and in all of life's relations he has so ordered his actions as to merit the confidence and respect which is so universally accorded him throughout the community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 329-330.
Nels Anderson, a well known retired merchant of Bellingham and one of the substantial property owners of Whatcom county, is of European birth but has been a resident of this county since the days of his young manhood and has never had occasion to regret the choice which inclined his travels in this direction. With the exception of three or four years spent in the Alaska mining region during the days of the big gold "rush" there, he has been a resident of Whatcom county for nearly forty years and is thus familiar with all the steps taken in the wonderful progress that has been made here during that period, for he has been a considerable personal factor in that development.
Mr. Anderson was born in the kingdom of Sweden, in 1866, and remained there until he attained his majority when, in 1887, he came to the United States, his objective being the city of Muskegon, Michigan. After getting his bearings there he went into the lumber camps in Lake county, that state, and after two years of practical experience in timbering as it is carried on in this country came to Washington to lend a hand in the great timber industry here. Upon his arrival in Seattle he learned of the great lumber enterprises then being carried on in the Bay settlements and in 1889 obtained employment in the Fairhaven (now South Bellingham) sawmills. Two or three years later he married and established his home here. When news of the gold strike in the Yukon country created a stampede throughout the coast country he prepared to take part in the "rush" and in 1899 went into Alaska, leaving his family here, and was gone for three years or more. Upon his return to Bellingham in 1903, the year in which the present corporate name of the city was established, he entered the grocery trade here, doing business under the firm name of Anderson & Halberg and a year later the firm name became Anderson & Lynn. He was thus engaged for nine years, at the end of which time he sold his interest in that business to his partner and took a trip to Europe. Upon his return to Bellingham he again engaged in the grocery business and so continued until 1919, when he sold out and took a trip to California in company with his wife. The next spring he again became connected with the grocery trade in Bellingham, as partner in the A. & L. (Anderson & Larson) grocery store. Eighteen months later he sold his interest in this store to his partner, and he and his wife took another trip to Europe. Since his return he has been giving his attention to his various property and other interests in and about Bellingham, living practically retired. In addition to his property holdings in Bellingham Mr. Anderson has a fine farm in the Lynden neighborhood and is recognized as one of the prosperous citizens of the county.
On April 16, 1892, Mr. Anderson was united in marriage to Miss Emma *Burke, who also was born in Sweden and who came to the Bay settlements in 1890. They have four children, three daughters, Mrs. Hilda Larson, Mrs. Esther Sjolander and Eva, and a son, Arnold, in high school. Simon Larson, husband of the eldest of the Anderson daughters, and Emil Sjolander, husband of the second daughter, both are Bellingham merchants, engaged in the grocery business. The Sjolanders have one child, a daughter, Elaine. The Anderson family are republicans and have ever taken an interested part in local civic affairs. Mr. Anderson is a member of the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias. He and his family reside at 1322 Forest street and are quite pleasantly situated there.
*Note: Records of the Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church give her name as Emma Carolina Bjork and date of birth as August 2, 1868.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 465-466.
SETH A. ATWOOD
Left an orphan at an early age, Seth A. Atwood has fought life's battles alone, and the exercise of persistent effort has developed his latent powers, enabling him to win and retain a place of leadership in mercantile circles of Bellingham. A son of Solomon and Ursula Atwood, he was born May 15, 1875, in Iowa. His parents lived on a farm, and both died before he reached the age of five years. While attending the public schools he resided with various families, and in 1892, when a youth of seventeen, he went to Chicago. He was employed as a grocery clerk in that city until 1894 and then returned to Iowa, following the occupation of farming for a year. He was again a student during 1895-96, and on completing his education he came to Washington, joining his brother Frank, who had opened a wall paper store in Seattle after the fire.
Seth A. Atwood was associated with his brother for five years and then became connected with the Star Paint & Wall Paper Company of Seattle. A year later he was made vice president of the firm and in 1907 purchased its Bellingham branch, situated at No. 212 West Holly street. It occupies two floors of a building twenty-seven and a half by one hundred and fifty feet in dimensions, and under the expert guidance of Mr. Atwood the business had made notable strides. He has seven clerks in the store and employs about twenty-five men to attend to the outside work. He does fine interior decorating and carries a full line of wall paper, Sherwin & Williams paints, art goods, draperies, etc. He has always maintained a high standard of service and each stage in the development of the trade is the result of deep thought and well matured plans.
In 1905 Mr. Atwood was united in marriage to Miss Mary Donahue, of Minneapolis, Minnesota. Richard, their only child, is eighteen years of age and is a student at St. Martin's College. Mr. Atwood is allied with the republican party and his religious views are in harmony with the doctrines of the Catholic church, while his fraternal affiliations are with the Knights of Columbus and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. In his business career he has made each day count for the utmost, concentrating his energies upon the attainment of a definite end, and his success is well deserved, for it has been honorably won.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 64.
CHARLES C. BARBO
Charles C. Barbo, one of Bellingham's self-made men, is a member of a large contracting firm that has done much important work along the line of road building, and in the conduct of his business affairs he has displayed that spirit of enterprise which works for individual success and also constitutes a factor in public prosperity. He was born in Norway in 1865 and was five years of age when his parents, Lars and Sophia Barbo, settled in Wisconsin. The father was one of the pioneer agriculturists of that state, in which he followed the occupation of farming for fifteen years, and there passed away. The mother came to Bellingham in 1890 and remained a resident of the city until her demise, which occurred in 1913.
Charles C. Barbo was educated in the public schools of Wisconsin and in 1888 started for the Pacific coast. He spent a year in Spokane, Washington, and in 1889 came to Fairhaven. He entered the employ of William McCush and for seven years worked in the logging camps of Washington. He then purchased a farm and for about twelve years his energies were devoted to the cultivation of the soil. On the expiration of that period he rented the ranch and moved to Bellingham, forming a partnership with his brother, Paul E. The firm of Barbo Brothers has established an enviable reputation as road contractors, and the business has been in operation for twenty years. Its members are men of proven worth and ability and their word is always to be relied upon. They are recognized experts in the line in which they specialize and through concentrated effort and efficient management have established a business of extensive proportions, extending throughout the state. They built and graded the Nooksack road and in Skagit county constructed six miles of railroad for the Clear Lake Lumber Company. They laid thirteen blocks of sidewalk on Carolina street in Bellingham and graded the Chuckanut road. They graded and graveled the Deming road and the Columbia, Jones and Rock roads in Sumas, executing their contracts promptly and in a thoroughly satisfactory manner.
In February, 1901, Mr. Barbo married Miss Mary A. Kerr, of Boston, Massachusetts. Her parents, George and Catherine (Walker) Kerr, resided on a farm in the east and in 1901 came to Washington, settling in Sumas, where both passed away. To Mr. and Mrs. Barbo were born five children: Iona B., who is taking a course in the State Normal School at Bellingham; Carl, a high school graduate and now associated with his father in business; Mary, a high school student; and George and Kerney, who are attending Grammar school. The members of the family are affiliated with the Methodist church, and Mr. Barbo is a republican in his political convictions. He enjoys the esteem of many friends and full deserves the honor that is accorded the fortunate individual who has fought and won in the great battle of life.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 589-590.
P. Bellingar, of Ferndale township, needs no introduction to the people of the western part of Whatcom county, where he has lived for over twenty years, successfully engaged in business. As the result of upright character, business ability and a genial disposition, he has long enjoyed a most excellent standing among the leading citizens of Whatcom county. Mr. Bellingar was born in Hillsdale county, Michigan, on the 1st of October, 1865, and is a son of William and sarah M. (Kimball) Bellingar, the latter of whom was born in Vermont but moved to Ohio in 1837. The father was born in New York September 20, 1822, and lived there until 1862, when he went to Michigan and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land, heavily timbered, in Isabel county. To clearing the tract and putting it under cultivation he devoted himself with indefatigable energy, and eventually made of it a fine farm, on which he lived until his death in 1896. He wife passed away in 1891.
P. Bellingar secured his education in the public schools of Michigan and had about two years of high school work. On leaving school he learned the carpenter trade and followed that occupation there until 1904, when he came to Bellingham, Whatcom county, and has since engaged in contracting and building. He has been very successful, being a man of absolute honesty in executing his contracts, doing thoroughly and well whatever he undertakes, so that he has gained an enviable reputation as a painstaking and trustworthy contractor. After living in Bellingham for eleven years, Mr. Bellingar sold his property there and, in 1915, bought eighteen acres of land in Ferndale township, on which he now lives. He has a well improved and attractive farm, and has engaged here in the chicken business, keeping about six hundred laying hens, the poultry business being looked after mainly by Mrs. Bellingar, as his time is largely taken up by his contracting business. He has erected many of the best business houses and residences in this part of the county during the two decades that he has been here, and his services are in demand by those who appreciate good work honestly done.
In 1899 Mr. Bellingar was married to Miss Eleanora Rossberry [or Rosberry], who is a native of Ontario, Canada, the daughter of Anthony and Mary (Freppie) Rossberry, the latter of French descent and a native of Quebec. To Mr. and Mrs. Bellingar have been born five children, namely: Lee A., born in Michigan in 1900, married to Miss Georgina McDonald, daughter of John McDonald; and they have two children, Lee, Jr., and Betty Jean; Francis N., married to Miss Alice M. Baer, a daughter of E. W. Baer, and a daughter, Gloria Jean, has been born to them; Elmer J., is next in the family; Edith A., who was born in Bellingham in 1905 died in 1906; Earl Edward, born in 1907, is now in high school. In all the essential elements of good citizenship, Mr. Bellingar has built up a highly commendable reputation and by right and honorable living he has won and retained the good will and esteem of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 784-749.
Coming to Whatcom county in pioneer times, Gus Bellmann has lived to see many notable changes as the work of development has been carried forward, and one of the model farms of Van Wyck township is the visible evidence of what he has accomplished. A son of August and Hattie (Menzel) Bellmann, he was born May 10, 1850, and is a native of Germany. He was educated in the excellent schools of the fatherland and aided his father in the work of tilling the soil, thus acquiring a practical knowledge of agricultural pursuits. In 1882, when thirty-two years of age, he resolved to avail himself of the broader opportunities offered in the United States and after reaching this country went to Arkansas, purchasing a farm in the vicinity of Little Rock. He sold the place at the end of six months and for two years was employed in a factory at St. Louis, Missouri, making carbons for electric lights. On the expiration of that period Mr. Bellmann started for Oregon and rented a ranch in the Willamette valley near the city of Portland. He came to Whatcom county, Washington, in 1888 and bought his present farm, a tract of one hundred and twenty acres of virgin soil. He has cleared sixty acres, which are devoted to truck gardening, and has built greenhouses, in which he raises the early vegetables. He finds a ready market for his produce and has developed the finest farm in Van Wyck township. He has an expert knowledge of his occupation, acquired by years of experience and constant study, and his work has marked a distinct advance in agricultural methods in this section.
In 1875 Mr. Bellmann married Miss Emma Bellmann, also a native of Germany, and four children were born to them. Max, the eldest, is married to Lena Rudesile. Kurt, a resident of Bellingham, married Miss Bertha Haines, and they have one child, a daughter. He operates a farm near the cemetery, specializing in the raising of vegetables. Felix was born in Germany, which was also the birthplace of his older brothers, and is assisting his father in the cultivation of the homestead. He married Miss Amanda Hohman, whose parents came to Whatcom county, as pioneers, and they have two daughters. August was born in Portland, Oregon, and also aids his father in the work of the farm. He married Miss Johanna Gulbranson, formerly of Iowa, and they have become the parents of two children, a son and a daughter.
Mr. and Mrs. Bellmann have traveled life's pathway together for many years and in 1925 celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. They have a host of friends and their home is noted for its warm-hearted hospitality. The sons have proven a credit to their upbringing, contributing materially toward the development of the homestead. The old log cabin, covered with ivy, is still standing, and in the early days deer were frequently seen grazing with the cows in the pasture. Mr. Bellmann is an earnest member of the Lutheran church and his political allegiance is give to the republican party. he has never deviated from the path of duty and honor and his life presents a splendid example of industry and right living which others may profitably follow.
Note: Later the family members used the surname, Bellman.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 533-534.
JACOB H. BERG
Whatcom county, Washington, enjoys a high reputation because of the high order of its citizenship, and none of her citizens occupies a more enviable position in the esteem of his fellows than does J. H. Berg. A residence here of many years has given is associates and neighbors full opportunity to observe him in the various lines of activity, business and social, in which he has been engaged, and his present high standing is due solely to the honorable and upright course he has pursued in all the relations of life. As a leading and influential citizen of his community he is eminently entitled to representation in the permanent record of the annals of his locality.
Mr. Berg is a native of the state of Minnesota, born on the 19th of November, 1870, and he is a son of Samuel and Priscilla (Hostetler) Berg, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. Samuel Berg went to Minnesota in 1867 and bought a farm, which at that time was entirely covered with a fine growth of hardwood timber. He cleared nearly all of the land and operated that farm until 1883, when he sold it and came to Whatcom county. On arriving here he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres in Nooksack township, one and a half miles east of Everson, and again it fell to him to create a farm out of the wilderness. He was equal to the task and in the course of time developed a splendid ranch. His first house was built of split cedar lumber, as sawmills were scarce and the absence of roads made it impossible to haul lumber from the distant mills. Mr. Berg was a good farmer, and he lived on this place up to the time of his death, which occurred April 2, 1890. He was survived for many years by his widow, whose death occurred June 16, 1914. They became the parents of nine children, namely: John L.; Fred L., who lives in Idaho; D. H.; Benjamin, who died in infancy; Samuel, deceased; Mrs. Annie Germain, Mrs. Mary Germain, J. H. and Aaron L., who lives in California.
J. H. Berg secured a good, practical education in the public schools of his native state, completing his studies in the schools of Washington. He has always remained on the home farm and is now the owner of seventy acres of the old homestead, seventeen acres of which are cleared and in cultivation, the remainder being in woods and pasture. He understands agriculture in all its phases and has been very successful in the operation of his land. The crops are mainly hay and grain, while two and a half acres are devoted to a splendid bearing orchard. He also keeps eight good Jersey milk cows. He has made a number of fine improvements on the place, including the erection of a fine, modern home in 1910. The old house is still standing, as is the barn, which was built in 1885, and the Berg homestead is considered one of the best farms in this locality.
On September 29, 1898, Mr. Berg was married to Miss Flora M. Kale, a native of Iowa and a daughter of C. S. and Charlotte (McNeil) Kale. To Mr. and Mrs. Berg have been born five children: Gladys C., born January 3, 1900, was graduated from the Nooksack high school and is now clerking in a store at that place; E. Percy, born March 9, 1901, after graduating from high school, took a course in the Oregon State Agricultural College and now holds a good position in the Everson Cannery; Frances L., born August 17, 1902, is a graduate of high school and of the State Normal School at Bellingham and is now teaching school at Cedar Home, Snohomish county, Washington; Hattie L., born August 1, 1907, is now a student in high school; and Charlotte W., born December 14, 1911, is also in school. Mr. Berg is a man of forceful personality, positive convictions and fine public spirit. He is an earnest advocate of good roads and the best of educational facilities, as well as all forms of civic improvements, standing staunchly for everything that promises to advance the public welfare along material, civic or moral lines. Genial and friendly, kindly and generous, he has long held an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 223-224.
MRS. THERESE BEVANS
Mrs. Therese Bevans, proprietress of The Beauty Spot at Bellingham, enjoys an enviable and well deserved reputation for her skill in the field of beauty culture. She was born in New York, a daughter of Ludolph Klieman and Henrietta Knapke, both of whom were natives of Germany. Left an orphan when but thirteen years old, she became self-supporting at that tender age. She acquired her education in the Empire state and was there married in 1910 to John L. Bevans, who passed away six years later. Leaving New York, Mrs. Bevans removed to Louisville, Kentucky, where she conducted a dressmaking establishment for a year and then in May, 1922, made her way westward across the continent to Seattle, Washington, where she pursued a course in Carson's Hair-Dressing College. She then came to Bellingham and after spending a short time in the Marinello shop opened a beauty parlor of her own in the Woolworth building, where the growth of her patronage soon necessitated her removal from a small into a large room. Within a year her business had increased to such an extent that her quarters proved inadequate, and in January, 1925, she moved into the Sunset building, where she now has two rooms. Mrs. Bevans makes a specialty of marcelling and scalp treatments, facial massage and packs, hair manufacturing and dyeing. Her method of marcelling is original and most successful.
The following is a prize composition written by Hazel Lewis, a high school pupil, in November, 1923: "As you mount the stairs to Sandison's Studio, you are accosted by the glaring signs of 'The Beauty Spot - Why not stop in?" Maybe man can do something to improve your appearance before you must face the merciless camera. You step across the hall and open the door. The heavy smell of the hot irons that greets you proves terrifying but retreat is now impossible. A white uniformed assistant appears miraculously from one of the curtained booths and inquires soothingly what she may do for madam. All nervousness disappears and with a tinge of uplifting superiority, you allow yourself to be led into one of the mysterious compartments. A swift, furtive glance about you reveals many strange implements. You are seated comfortably before a large mirror and a huge apron is tied securely about your neck. Mrs. Bevans, the beauty specialist and competent manager, appears, and as she test the iron, a few adroit questions on your part will inveigle her into an enlightening discussion of her chosen profession. To Mrs. Bevans it has always remained a marvel that with her skillful use of man-made tools, she can beguile nature's straightest hair into soft waves and curls. She feels an inward joy each time she succeeds in transforming an oily, repelling skin into a complexion of delicate loveliness. The electric massage that gives the tired, sagging muscles of the face a whole hour's rest in just a few minutes in another of the rejuvenating wonders of the shop. When Mrs. Bevens speaks of her trade, she smiles. She has bobbed the hair of flappers ranging in age from toddling tots of three to tottering grannys of seventy-five. A beauty parlor may not be useful in that it does not supply a life necessity but its ornamental value has made it a flourishing industry. 'The Beauty Spot' is not yet a year old but, even with extensive competition, the appointment books are always full and many a dance has been refused because milday was not able to secure an appointment at all."
Mrs. Bevans is a member of the Hair Dressers' Association and the Business Women's Club and has gained an extensive circle of warn friends in Bellingham, her adopted city.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 657-658.
The life record of Dennis Bonner constituted a fine example of manliness, industry and usefulness, and in his passing on December 10, 1924, Whatcom county lost one of its honored pioneers. A native of Ireland, he was born in 1859, and in 1872 he came to the United states but remained here only a short time. In 1873 he again crossed the Atlantic and became a resident of Pennsylvania.
In 1888 Mr. Bonner came to Whatcom county and took up a homestead near Welcome. There were few settlers in that section, which was largely a wilderness, and his claim was covered with a dense growth of timber. With a courageous spirit he applied himself to the difficult task of clearing the land and preparing it for the plow, working untiringly to accomplish this purpose. Eventually he converted the tract into a fertile farm, which he subsequently sold to advantage, and then bought eighty acres of wild land in the vicinity. This he also cleared and developed, following the most advanced methods in the cultivation of the soil, and he improved his property with a modern home and good barns. His standards of farming were high and success rewarded his labors. Mr. Bonner was liberal in his political views and cast his ballot for the candidate whom he regarded as best qualified for office. He was a clean-cut man of exemplary habits, with a kindly philosophy and a clear outlook upon life that won him many true friends, who greatly deplored his demise.
On March 25, 1890, Mr. Bonner married Miss Lena Roessel, a native of Macomb county, Michigan, and a daughter of George and Elizabeth (Diehl) Roessel, who settled in Whatcom county in 1883. Mr. Roessel bought a tract of wild land, which he transformed into a valuable ranch, and there spent the remainder of his life. He was an expert carpenter and followed that trade for a number of years, building the first Catholic church in Ferndale and the hall for the Grand Army of the Republic. Mrs Bonner, who survives her husband, is now residing in Deming, and she holds a high place in the esteem of the residents of the community. Of the children born to them Mae, the first born, and George Dewey, the second, are deceased. The others are: Curtis, at home; George, who is married and also lives at home; Lester, who is attending high school; and June and Hazel, grammar school pupils.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 117.
PERCY H. BROWNE
During the past two decades P. H. Browne has been the efficient manager of the Caine-Grimshaw Company of Bellingham, dealers in builder's supplies, and who also conduct an extensive wholesale and retail coal business. He was born in the state of Minnesota in the year 1883 and acquired a high school education in his youth. Subsequently he turned his attention to the hardware trade, in which he was engaged until 1906, when he took charge of the business interests at Bellingham, Washington, which are now conducted under the name of the Caine-Grimshaw Company. This concern, which was organized in 1908, took over the interests of the G Street Dock Company, which had been established by the Killdall Fish Company in the '90s and was later owned by the Griffith estates of Minneapolis. As above stated, the Caine-Grimshaw Company handles both building material and coal on an extensive scale, and has its own docks and railroad sidings. The general offices of the company are located at the intersection of C and Maple streets in Bellingham. In 1920 the Caine-Grimshaw Company organized a subsidiary, under the name of the American Concrete Works, for the manufacture of cement products, in which industry employment is furnished to seven men. Possessed of excellent executive ability and sound business judgment, Mr. Browne has capably directed the important interests under his supervision and his efforts have constituted a valuable factor in the continued success of the concern which he represents.
Mr. Browne gives his political allegiance to the republican party and has membership in the Rotary Club. He is a worthy exemplar of the teachings and purposes of the Masonic fraternity and is also identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. The sterling traits of his character are many, and all who know him speak of him in terms of high regard.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 517.
GEORGE D. BULMER
Conspicuous among the representative agriculturists and substantial citizens of Nooksack township, Whatcom county, stands G. D. Bulmer, who is one of the typical old pioneers of this locality. He came here when the section in which he settled was a veritable wilderness, and he has had a large part in the splendid development which has taken place during the subsequent years. Thus his life has been closely interwoven with its history, and his influence has always been given to all efforts to advance the community's best interests. Mr. Bulmer was born in Durham county, England, on the 11th of October, 1861, and is a son of John and Jane (Morrell) Bulmer, both of whom also were natives of that country, the father born October 16, 1835, and the mother October 27, 1831. John Bulmer was proud of the fact that he threw a railroad switch for the first locomotive built in England, and which was run on the Darlington & Stockton Railroad. He was a tailor by trade, following that vocation in his native country until 1870, when he came to the United States and located in Clay county, Kansas, where he homesteaded eighty acres of land, to which he later added eighty acres by purchase. To the improvement and cultivation of this land he devoted himself until 1891, when he came to Whatcom county, locating in Nooksack, where he spent his remaining years, his death occurring in 1900. To him and his wife were born severn children, namely: John; G. D., the subject of this sketch; Thomas, deceased; Joseph, who lives in Bellingham; Emma, the wife of Fred W. Handy, of Nooksack; Kate, the wife of I. B. Carman, of Nooksack; and Charles O., of Nooksack.
G. D. Bulmer was educated in the public schools of his native country and in the schools of Kansas, to which he had come with his parents in 1870. He was employed in various ways until 1883, when he came to Whatcom county and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land in Nooksack township, all of which was covered with a heavy growth of timber. He at once built a small house and then set himself to the task of clearing the land and putting it under the plow. The farm is splendidly located, about two miles northeast of Nooksack, and he has twenty acres of the land in a high state of cultivation, raising the crops common to this locality, the remainder of the land being in pasture. He has been successful in his business affairs since coming here and has made many substantial and valuable improvements on the place, including the building of a good house in 1911 and a commodious barn in 1913.
In July, 1885, Mr. Bulmer was married to Miss Mary McLelland, who was born and reared in Kansas, a daughter of James McLelland. Her father was successful and enterprising in his business affairs and was prominent in his community, having served two terms in the Kansas state legislature. To Mr. and Mrs. Bulmer were born six children, namely: Mrs. Daisy Northam, of Nooksack; Mrs. Grace Brown, who lives on the old homestead and is the mother of eight children - John, Lucy, Clarence, George, Elvis, Lola, Roy and Ronald; Robert, who lives in California and is married and has a son, Kenneth; Fred, who lives on Vancouver island, British Columbia; Jennie, who is a student in the University of Minnesota; and Frances, who died June 9, 1925. Mrs. Bulmer died in July, 1912.
Mr. Bulmer is a member of the Advent Christian church in Nooksack, to which he gives earnest and liberal support. He has always been deeply interested in everything pertaining to the welfare of his community and has given his active cooperation to all measures for the public benefit. He is a kindly and genial man, courteous and friendly in his social relations, and no one in the entire community enjoys greater respect and esteem.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 206-207.
JOHN R. COURTNEY
Perseverance and sterling worth are always sure of recognition in any community, and J. R. Courtney, who is widely known as one of the enterprising and successful dairy farmers of Whatcom county, affords a fine example of the self-made man, who has not only achieved success in his material affairs but has also proven himself eminently entitled to the confidence and regard of his fellowmen. Mr. Courtney is a native of Arkansas, born in 1867, and is a son of J. H. and Sarah J. (McKamey) Courtney, both of whom were natives of Tennessee. The father, who was a farmer, died when the subject was six years of age, and the mother died in Arkansas in 1899.
J. R. Courtney received his education in the public schools of his home neighborhood, his attendance being confined to three months in summer each year. However, he has liberally supplemented this by lifelong habits of close reading and careful observation of men and events, so that he is today a well informed man on a wide range of subjects. He remained on his mother's farm until he was thirty-three years of age, being engaged in the raising of cotton, grain and live stock. In 1891 he had come to Washington for the benefit of his health, remaining here twenty-one months, and had formed a favorable opinion of the possibilities of this section of the county. In 1901 he again came here, this time with the determination to establish his permanent home. He first stopped at Ten Mile, where he remained about fourteen months, and then, having looked the country over, he bought the one hundred acres of land which comprise his present farm. At that time the tract was covered with standing and fallen timber and much undergrowth, but Mr. Courtney was not deterred by the prospect. He worked on steadily, year after year, along with his other farm work, and now has ninety-five acres cleared and in cultivation or pasture. He is giving his attention largely to dairy farming, keeping eighteen high grade Guernsey cows, in the handling of which he has been very successful. He raises hay, as well as oats and grain to fill his silo. In 1918 he built a fine, modern house, which adds greatly to the value and attractiveness of the farm.
In 1892 Mr. Courtney was married to Miss Cora Deane, who was born in Arkansas
and who died October
17 5, 1917. She was a daughter of G.
P. and Tennie Ethel (Phillips) Deane, both of whom were natives of Arkansas
and now live in Bellingham, Whatcom county. To Mr. and Mrs. Courtney were
born six children, namely: Marvin O., who is married; Uella, who remains
at home and is keeping house for her father; Mrs. Ida Hanchey, of Seattle,
who is the mother of three sons; Ethel, the wife of Arthur Wefor, of Lynden,
and the mother of two children; Wright, who lives in California; and Clay,
who is at home and is a student in high school. Mr. Courtney is a member
of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and is interested in everything
that affects the welfare of the farming and dairying interests of the county.
He has achieved splendid success in his special line of effort, setting an
example for determined and untiring labor, and is now realizing the reward
for his patience and perseverance. Personally he is genial and companionable,
friendly with all classes, and among those who know him he is held in high
regard because of his worth and attainments.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 234-235.
William Davis, one of the foremost poultrymen of Lawrence township, has spent much of his life in the Pacific northwest, and to his own well directed efforts is due the creditable measure of success which he now enjoys. He was born in Pennsylvania, March 5, 1867, and his parents, David T. and Elizabeth (Hughes) Davis, were natives of Wales. The father worked in the mines of that country and in 1866 came to the United States, being accompanied by the mother. They settled in the Keystone state and there both passed away.
William Davis was reared on his father's farm and attended the public schools of Pennsylvania. He remained at home until he attained his majority and then started out for himself. In the fall of 1892 he came to Washington and first located in Snohomish county, in which he remained until 1898. He then went to Alaska, spending nine years in the far north, and on his return to Washington formed a partnership with C. B. Lancaster. They purchased the "Taker," which they operated as a passenger boat between Anacortes and Bellingham for two years, and on the expiration of that period Mr. Davis sold his stock to his partner, retiring from the firm. In September, 1912, he bought twenty acres of land in Lawrence township and embarked in the poultry business, in which he has since continued. He is now conducting his operations on a large scale, having a flock of thirteen hundred and fifty hens. They are well housed and his ranch contains many modern improvements. Mr. Davis has a highly specialized knowledge of the poultry industry and his work is conducted along scientific lines.
On December 20, 1911, Mr. Davis was united in marriage to Miss Emma Lysher, who was born in Stearns county, Minnesota, and located in Seattle, Washington, about 1905. Mr. Davis is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Raisers Association and along fraternal lines is connected with the Loyal Order of Moose. He is liberal in his political views, regarding the qualifications of a candidate as a matter of prime importance, and in all matters of citizenship his influence is on the side of progress, reform and improvement. He enjoys his work and is thoroughly satisfied with this section of the country as a place of residence, fully appreciating its many advantages.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 507.
CAPTAIN MAURICE DEAN
Captain Maurice Dean, a popular young citizen of Bellingham, has for the past five years been in the service of the Pacific-American Fisheries as pilot on various steamers. His birth occurred at Mount Pleasant, Michigan, in 1888, his parents being Mr. and Mrs. Clifton Dean. The father was a native of the state of New York, while the mother was born in Michigan. It was in the year 1897 that the family journeyed westward across the continent to Whatcom county, Washington. Clifton Dean, a stationary engineer, who has here been engaged in both farming and engineering through the intervening period of about three decades, is now located at Ferndale.
Maurice Dean, who was a lad of nine years when he accompanied his parents to this state, acquired his education in the schools of Bellingham. He was a youth of about fourteen when he began working as boat fireman, and as time passed he gained considerable nautical skill. In 1914 he received an engineer's license for gas boats. As above state, he has served as pilot on various steamers for the Pacific-American Fisheries of Bellingham during the past five years and has proved himself a competent and able seaman. He belongs to the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Engineers.
In 1916 Captain Dean was united in marriage to Miss Evelyn Powell, a native of Cherryvale, Kansas, and a daughter of William E. Powell and his wife, the latter born in New York. William E. Powell, a minister of the Baptist church, removed with his family from the Sunflower state to Colorado about 1899 and after one year went to Spokane, Washington, where he spent a similar period. Subsequently the Powells lived successively at Pullman and Palouse in Washington and at Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, and then the father purchased a ranch in the vicinity of Yakima, Washington, whereon they remained for five years. Thereafter they lived for a time at Pasco, this state, and thence went to Ferndale, where Evelyn Powell formed the acquaintance and became the wife of Captain Dean. William E. Powell is parole officer for the reformatory at Monroe, Washington.
Captain Dean gives his political allegiance to the republican party, believing that its principles are most conducive to good government. He has remained a resident of Whatcom county from early boyhood and is held in warm regard and esteem because of his genuine personal worth and many sterling traits of character.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 531.
JAMES J. EASON
Of pioneer stock, James J. Eason has been an interested witness of the progress of civilization in the Pacific northwest, bearing his share of the work of development, and he owns and operates a valuable ranch in the vicinity of Kendall. A native of Scotland, he was born in the city of Edinburgh in 1874, and was but a year old when his parents, William and Jane (Nicholson) Eason, made the voyage to the United States. They first located in Oregon and the father followed the cooper's trade in Portland and St. Johns, that state; also at Castlerock and Puyallup, Washington. He moved to Seattle in 1882 and in 1884 took up a homestead on the shore of Henderson bay. In 1886 he abandoned the occupation of farming and settled in Tacoma. He spent his declining years with the subject of this sketch, passing away June11, 1920, while the mother's demise occurred in Bellingham in May, 1924.
James J. Eason attended the public schools of Washington and in Tacoma served an apprenticeship to the plumber's trade, which he followed for three years. On March 1, 1895, he came to Whatcom county and bought the old Crafts homesteaded of one hundred and sixty acres, situated in the southern part of Columbia township. Only a small portion of the place had been cleared. He was associated in the undertaking with William Thompson, who had arrived in the county in 1891. In 1899 they divided the land, each taking eighty acres, and Mr. Eason afterward repurchased forty acres of the homestead. His holdings now comprise one hundred and twenty-five acres, of which twenty-two are under cultivation, and the soil is rich and productive, rewarding the care and labor which he bestows upon it. He grows the crops best adapted to this region and also raises stock, specializing in pure bred Jersey cattle. He has improved the place with good buildings and his ranch is one of the best in the township.
Mr. Eason was married, January 1, 1900, to Miss Lillian Leavitt, a native of Canada and a daughter of Albert and Mary Leavitt. Her parents came to Whatcom county about 1889 and Mr. Leavitt proved up on a homestead in Columbia township. To Mr. and Mrs. Eason were born five children: Vert, who is married and resides on the shore of Lake Samish, Washington; Azalea, the wife of George King, of Columbia township and the mother of two daughters, Azalea Olive and Verna May; Earl, at home; David, who is attending Pullman College, taking a course in hydro-electrical engineering; and Leo, a high school student.
Mr. and Mrs. Eason are affiliated with the Presbyterian church at Kendall and for many years he has been superintendent of the Sunday school. Along fraternal lines he is connected with the Woodmen of the World and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He has been a member of the school board for many years and was township treasurer. He is always ready to serve his community to the extent of his ability and occupies a high place in the esteem of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 700-701.
GEORGE M. ELSBREE
George M. Elsbree, who demise occurred March 17, 1926, was long identified with the work of tilling the soil, and his well directed labors resulted in the development of one of the productive farms of Acme township. He was born October 25, 1850, and was a native of Pennsylvania. His parents were George and Henrietta (Forest) Elsbree, the former of whom passed away in Ohio, while the latter's demise occurred in Pennsylvania.
George M. Elsbree attended the public schools of the Keystone state and there served an apprenticeship to the molder's trade, which he followed in the east until he reached his majority. He went to Kansas in 1871, locating at Fort Scott, and in 1883 journeyed to Indiana. He lived for eight years in the Hoosier state and in 1891 started for the Pacific coast. He spent two years in Snohomish, Washington, and in 1893 came to Whatcom county. He entered a homestead in Baker township and proved up on his claim, later purchasing a tract of seventy-one acres in Acme township. There were no roads in the district and pioneer conditions prevailed. Mr. Elsbree cleared twenty acres of the land, the balance being in pasture and timber. He brought the soil to a high state of development and also operated a well equipped dairy. He was an expert agriculturist and a firm believer in scientific methods, having thoroughly tested their value.
On May 11, 1883, Mr. Elsbree married Mrs. Mary Bauer, a native of Ohio and a daughter of John and Julia Bishop, both deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Elsbree were born six sons: Frank, who is living in tacoma; Joseph, manager of the Milky Way Farm and a resident of Sumas; Emanuel, whose home is at Lake Stevens, washington; Guy, who conducts a garage at Acme; Forest, also a resident of Acme; and Byron, who was drowned when six and a half years of age. By her former marriage Mrs. Elsbree has two daughters: Mrs. Esther Osborn, who lives in the state of Indiana; and Mrs. Sarah Currie, of Spokane, Washington.
Mr. Elsbree was an adherent of the democratic party and his public spirit led to his service on the school board. His was a useful and upright life, crowned with the success which is the reward of well directed industry. He conscientiously discharged every duty and obligation and his kindly nature and intrinsic worth endeared him to many friends, who mourn his passing.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 811.
ENGEBRET O. FINGALSON
Among the men of energy, intelligence and determination who are responsible for the development of the fertile soil of Whatcom county, none is better known than E. O. Fingalson, one of its pioneer agriculturists and the owner of a valuable ranch near Ferndale. He was born December 26, 1864, in Rice county, Minnesota, and his parents were Ole and Christie Fingalson, the former of whom also followed the occupation of farming as a life work.
E. O. Fingalson was educated in the public schools of Minnesota and remained in his native state until he reached the age of twenty-four years. He came to Whatcom county in 1889 and for a time was a railroad employe. In 1890 he invested his savings in twenty acres of land in Mountain View township. He cleared and improved the place and is now engaged in general farming and dairying thereon. His cattle are of high grade, and he brings to his work as an agriculturist that expert knowledge which is acquired only through years of experience and study. He utilizes modern conveniences to expedite the work, and a general air of neatness and prosperity pervades the place, which reflects the careful supervision and progressive spirit of the owner.
In 1909 Mr. Fingalson was united in marriage to Miss Annie Rud, who was born in Norway and has lived in the United States since girlhood. Mr. Fingalson is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and gives his political allegiance to the republican party. He has always taken a deep interest in public affairs. He was clerk of Mountain View township for three years and for fifteen years was a member of the school board, performing valuable public service in each of these offices. When he came to this region the forests were filled with game and there were few settlers in the township. He has experienced many of the phases of frontier life and has performed well his part in the work of progress and civilization. Mr. Fingalson has made his own way in the world and merits and receives the respect and esteem of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 814.
One of the up-to-date dairy and poultry farmers of Ten Mile township, Whatcom county, who has worked hard for what he now possesses, is Joseph Frishet. He knows how to appreciate the true dignity of labor and to place a correct estimate on the value of money. Nevertheless, he is liberal in his benefactions and stands ever ready to support with his influence and means all measures for the material and moral welfare of the community in which he lives, and he enjoys the respect of all who know him. Mr. Frishet was born in northern Michigan in 1853 and is a son of Michael and Mary (La Pierre) Frishet, both of whom were born and reared in Canada. He secured his education in the public schools of his native state and was reared to the life of a farmer, remaining with his father until he had grown to manhood. He then worked in the neighborhood, operated a threshing machine and also owned a portable sawmill, with which he did a good deal of work in that locality.
In 1904 Mr. Frishet came to Whatcom county, locating in Bellingham, where he remained about one and a half years. In 1905 he bought forty acres of land in Ten Mile township, all of which was covered with timber, the only improvement being a barn. He has since devoted himself closely to the improvement and operation of this place, which he has developed into a good and productive farm. About fifteen acres of the land are cleared, and he is devoting his attention mainly to cows and chickens, in both of which lines he has enjoyed a very gratifying measure of success. On his fertile fields he raises good crops of hay and grain, while the uncleared portion of the land affords excellent pasturage. He has made a number of splendid improvements on the place, which is now a very desirable farm.
While living in Michigan, Mr. Frishet was married to Miss Ellen Dargie, who was born in Scotland, a daughter of Andrew and Jennet (Watson) Dargie, who were natives of Scotland and both of whom died in this country. Mr. and Mrs. Frishet have no children of their own, but they have adopted a boy, Roy Frishet, who now lives in Centralia, Washington. He was married to Miss Augusta Charles, who died, leaving a daughter, Dorothy, who was born in Bellingham and who now makes her home with Mr. and Mrs. Frishet. They are Roman Catholics in their religious faith and attend the church in Bellingham. Among those who know Mr. Frishet best he bears the reputation of a man who exercises sound judgment and who holds pronounced views, keeping himself well informed upon all matters affecting the public welfare and always exercising the duties of citizenship in a conscientious manner.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 373-374.
AUDLEY A. GALBRAITH
The life record of Audley A. Galbraith if told in detail would present an authentic picture of frontier conditions in northwestern Washington, for he was one of the honored pioneers of Acme township and aided in bringing to light the great agricultural resources of this favored region. He never allowed private interest to interfere with the performance of his public duties and neither fear nor favor could swerve him from the course dictated by conscience and good judgment.
Mr. Galbraith was of Scotch lineage and represented a family that was established in America in colonial days by three brothers. He was born December 22, 1850, in Jefferson county, Tennessee, and his parents, William and Louisa (Cobb) Galbraith, were also natives of that state. Coming to Whatcom county, he homesteaded a quarter section and in 1884 pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres of land in Acme township. He was the third settler in the Nooksack valley, which was covered with dense forests that were almost impenetrable, and in this remote district he established his home, depending upon his own resources for many of the necessities of life. He was confronted with the arduous task of clearing his land but through patience and industry surmounted many difficulties, eventually bringing the soil to a high state of development. He advanced with the scientific progress of agriculture and demonstrated the value of system in promoting productiveness. He added many improvements to his farm and remained on the property until his demise.
In 1877 Mr. Galbraith married Miss Henrietta M. Cox, also a member of an old colonial family, and of Irish ancestry. She was born in tennessee, and her parents, William N. and Malinda D. (Reese) Cox, were also natives of that state. Mrs. Galbraith survives her husband, and she is a faithful attendant of the Presbyterian church, which was established at Acme in 1888. To their union were born six children. Minnie D., the eldest, is the wife of Harold Hellyer, a native of Nova Scotia, Canada. He settled in Whatcom county in 1901 and is engaged in farming in Acme township. Mr. and Mrs. Hellyer have three children: Glen, Clare and Linda. Audley A., Jr., the second son, is operating the homestead. He married Miss Alura Spencer, by whom he has two children, John Rhodes and Jean. Naomi was married to William Pettigrew, who follows the carpenter's trade in Acme, and they have a son, Robert. Joseph, the fourth in order of birth, is also cultivating the home ranch, on which his brother, William Andrew, is likewise living. The latter married Miss Hursel Sanderson, by whom he has two daughters, Thelma and Maude. Hugh married miss Pauline Betts and resides in the town of Acme.
Mr. Galbraith was a staunch republican in his political views and his interest in the welfare and advancement of his district was deep and sincere. He served on the school board for many years and also as justice of the peace. He likewise filled the office of constable, and while making an arrest he was shot by the criminal, dying January 5, 1911, as the result of his injuries. He was the soul of honor and his force of character, breadth of mind and admirable qualities drew to him a host of friends, who were greatly shocked by his tragic death. He was a manly man, charitable, unselfish and sympathetic, winning his way on earth and going out of the world worthy of that eternal life beyond.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 658-659.
MICHAEL JOHN GATES
Michael John Gates, an enterprising agriculturist of Whatcom county, owns a tract of twenty acres in Deming township, where he devotes his attention to poultry raising and to dairying. His birth occurred in Cambria county, Pennsylvania, on the 9th of March, 1864, his parents being H. A. and Mary Ann (Noel) Gates, both of whom were lifelong residents of the Keystone state. The father, who was a log scaler, fought in defense of the Union during the period of the Civil war.
Michael J. Gates acquired his education in the state of his nativity and was a young man of twenty-three years when in 1887 he left the parental roof and made his way westward across the continent to Whatcom county, Washington. He followed lumbering in this and Skagit counties prior to the era of railroad building, being thus engaged until 1898 or 1899. In the latter year he went to Dawson City, where he was engaged in mining for three years. On the expiration of that period he returned to northwestern Washington and was here identified with lumber operations for a few years prior to his marriage, which occurred in 1910. Thereafter he spent a few years in the service of the Northern Pacific Railroad Company as a bridge carpenter, while subsequently he turned his attention to farming pursuits on his present place of twenty acres in Deming township. He has won well merited success as a poultry raiser and also engages in dairying with good results. Mr. Gates has membership in the Whatcom County Poultry Association, in the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and in the Grange.
It was in 1910, as above stated, that Mr. Gates was united in marriage to Mrs. Lucinda (O'Hara) Rathje, a native of Indiana county, Pennsylvania, and the daughter of Alexander and Ruth (Hollis) O'Hara, who remained resident of Pennsylvania throughout their lives. Mrs. Lucinda Gates has lived in Whatcom county for nearly three decades, having taken up her abode here in 1897. Mr. Gates is a staunch republican in politics but has never sought nor desired office as a reward for his party fealty. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. He is held in high regard wherever known, for the salient traits of his character are such as command respect and admiration in every land and clime.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 681-682.
WILLIAM A. GEORGE
William A. George is a successful roofing contractor with a background of nearly twenty years of experience in this line of work and ranks with Bellingham's substantial business men and most valuable citizens. He was born February 16, 1874, in Warsaw, Illinois, and his parents were Jacob and Mary (Truxel) George, the former a brewer. The son received a public school education and completed his studies in Baker City, Oregon, in which he resided from 1886 until 1893. He learned the upholsterer's trade, which he followed in Portland, Oregon, for three years and in 1896 went to Alaska. He was very successful in his undertakings in that country, in which he spent three years, and then made a trip to the east. He afterward visited Seattle and Portland and next entered the employ of the Collier Publishing Company, filling the position of traveling auditor. He returned to Seattle in 1906 and in 1907 embarked in the contracting business in Bellingham. He specializes in roofing and pipe covering and his skill has enabled him to win and retain the leadership in this line of endeavor. He has laid the roofs on most of the principal buildings in Bellingham and never slights a contract, adhering to the spirit as well as the letter of an agreement.
On February 16, 1911, Mr. George married Mrs. Florence M. Leitch, of Bellingham, Washington, and they have a daughter, Virgina Rose. Mr. George is a thirty-second degree Mason and Shriner and is also connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He belongs to the Chamber of Commerce and the Kiwanis Club, while his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He has traveled extensively and regards Bellingham as an ideal place of residence. He has proved his loyalty to the city by effective efforts in its behalf, and his daily life records the esteem in which he is held.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 581.
Charles Gilkey is the manager of the Gilkey Brothers Towing Company, Vancouver, Tacoma, Anacortes and Bellingham, and is a resident of the latter city. A native of Washington, he was born in the village of Edison in the neighboring county of Skagit, February 20, 1886, three years after that county was cut off from Whatcom, and he is a son of William E. and Hannah (Thomas) Gilkey, the latter of whom, a native of Swansea, Wales, is still living here, being one of the real pioneers of Whatcom county. She is a daughter of David P. Thomas, a Welsh coal miner, who in 1872 landed at Bellingham bay to take part in the coal mining activities then being conducted on the present site of the city of Bellingham by the Bellingham Bay Coal Company and who later became the owner of a tract of government land in the Edison neighborhood in what now is Skagit county.
The late William E. Gilkey likewise came into this region in 1872. He was a son of Frank E. Gilkey, who in that year came here with his family from Pennsylvania, the family arriving on one of the coal barges from San Francisco. They found a location in the Stanwood settlement, later moving to what is now the Edison neighborhood in Skagit county, and there Frank E. Gilkey became engaged in logging, having been one of the pioneer timbermen of that section. He was serving as a member of the board of commissioners in and for Whatcom county when in 1883 Skagit cut loose from the parent country and became an independent unit. William E. Gilkey became engaged in the mercantile business at Edison as the proprietor of a general store there and he was thus engaged for many years or until his death, August 19, 1922. He is survived by his widow and their six sons, Mark E., Charles, Walter W., Frank, David R. and William E., all of whom are engaged in the towing business. Mark E. Gilkey, the eldest son, is the manager of the Tacoma office of the Gilkey Brothers Towing Company and makes his home in Tacoma. Walter W. Gilkey is the outside representative of the company and resides in Bellingham. Frank Gilkey is the manager and a director of the International Towing Company and resides in Vancouver. David R. Gilkey is the manager of the Anacortes office of the Gilkey Brothers Towing Company, and William E. Gilkey, the youngest of the brothers, is port captain for the firm on the Anacortes docks.
Charles Gilkey grew up at Edison and, together with his brothers, was educated in the schools of that place, supplementing this by a course in Wilson's Business College in Bellingham. He was variously engaged in commercial and dock operations during the days of his young manhood, becoming thoroughly familiar with shipping conditions in the Sound district. On January 14, 1918, he and his brothers Mark and Walter concentrated their operations by organizing as the Gilkey Brothers Towing Company, and they were presently joined in this enterprise by the other brothers. In 1923 it was formally incorporated, and it has been developed into a strong and growing business, with Charles Gilkey as general manager. This company now operates no fewer than sixteen tugs and eighty or more Drummond lighterage barges, with offices at Vancouver, Bellingham, Anacortes and Tacoma, and gives employment to about one hundred and fifty people, doing a general towing business, logs, barges and ships, and it is definitely established in the commercial and industrial activities of this region.
On October 15, 1922, at Anacortes, Charles Gilkey was united in marriage to Miss Freda Layton, and they have two children: Thomas Wayne, born in 1923; and Richard Charles, born December 20, 1925. Mr. and Mrs. Gilkey are members of the Bellingham Golf and Country Club and of the Yacht Club and are in other ways interested participants in the social activities of the community. Mr. Gilkey is a member of the Masonic order and has attained to the Lodge of Perfection in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of that order. In addition to their other interests he and his brothers are the owners of considerable tracts of fine farm land in Skagit county, besides valuable realty in Bellingham, and have long been accounted among the substantial citizens of both counties, worthily maintaining the sterling traditions of the two pioneer families of the Gilkey's and the Thomases, now represented here in the fourth generation.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 446-449.
WILL J. GRISWOLD
For more than twenty years Will J. Griswold has devoted his attention to the practice of law, and the nature and importance of the legal interests intrusted to his charge establish his position as one of the leading attorneys of Bellingham. He was born October 17, 1870, in La Fayette, Indiana, and his parents were Charles M. and Mary (Hughes) Griswold, the former a traveling salesman. W. J. Griswold received his higher education in Lake Forest University of Illinois and was graduated with the class of 1903, winning the degree of LL. B. In October, 1904, he came to Bellingham and was first a member of the law firm of Parrott & Griswold, which later became Parrott, Griswold & Hudson. Since 1912 Mr. Griswold has practiced alone, and the court records of Bellingham bear proof of his power as an attorney, showing that he has successfully handled many notable cases. While well grounded in the principles of common law when admitted to the bar, he has throughout his professional career continued a diligent student of legal science, and this knowledge has served him well in forensic combat.
On June 30, 1897, Mr. Griswold married Miss Edith West, a daughter of Dr. F. B. West, who was one of the honored pioneer physicians of Bellingham and Mount Vernon, Washington. Mr. Griswold has a son, Francis W., who was graduated from the University of Washington and is now a salesman in the employ of the Standard Oil Company. He is married and has a daughter, Isabelle Annette. Mr. Griswold is a thirty-second degree Mason and Shriner and for fifteen years has been president of the Cougar Club. He organized the local Rotary Club and was its first president. He is a leader in the ranks of the republican party and for six years has been a member of the state central committee. He belongs to the Whatcom County and Washington State Bar Associations and has served as president of the former organization. Mr. Griswold is a citizen of worth and has ever conformed his practice to the highest ethics of the profession.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 541.
CHARLES E. HATTON
A native of the south, Charles E. Hatton has profited by the countless opportunities of the Pacific northwest and is now rounding out a long and useful career in the enjoyment of those comforts which are the legitimate reward of earnest labor and right living, making his home in Deming township. A son of Manley and Katherine (Mitchell) Hatton, he was born November 14, 1853, and is a native of North Carolina. His father was an agriculturist and also followed the carpenter's trade. He sacrificed his life in defence of the Confederate cause, and when very young Charles E. Hatton assumed his share of the burden of providing for the family. He was faithful and dependable in the performance of his duties and his employers soon recognized the fact. He was made foreman of the Cramberry Iron Works and filled the position for a considerable period. He followed the occupation of farming in Kentucky for sixteen years and then went to Minnesota, spending two years in that state. On the expiration of that period he came to Washington, preempting a claim in Whatcom county, and subsequently took over the property of three other homesteaders. He gradually increased his holdings until he became the owner of six hundred and twenty acres of land in the county, but he has sold a portion of the tract to good advantage and his present ranch contains three hundred and twenty acres, eighty of which are under cultivation. The rich soil yields abundant harvests and his place is improved with a fine home and good barns, clearly indicating the thrift and prosperity of its owner.
In 1871 Mr. Hatton married Miss Caroline Hicks, of North Carolina, and ten children were born to them, namely: Julia, who lives in Seattle, Washington; John, whose home is in British Columbia, Canada; James, a resident of Whatcom county; Ida, who married Fred Bailey, a farmer of Mountain View township; William, of Seattle; Katie, the wife of Ted Gillan [Gilliland?], who lives on the Hatton homestead; Manley, who is employed by one of the large lumber firms operating in Whatcom county; Lee, who lives in Deming; Susie, the wife of Sigurd Johnson, a Californian; and Webb, a resident of Bellingham.
Mr. Hatton is not bound by party ties but casts his ballot for those men and measures that he deems will best conserve the public weal. He served for many years on the school board and in all matters of citizenship is loyal and public-spirited. When he came to the township there were no roads and the land was covered with dense forests of pine. With cables he built a foot bridge across the river, and he is thoroughly appreciative of the improvements and advantages of modern times. He has learned many valuable lessons in the school of experience and enjoys the esteem of many friends, whom he has gained by a life of industry and rightly directed endeavor.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 699-700.
Paul Hood, of the mercantile firm of Hood & Snortland, proprietors of the Ferndale Pharmacy, has been a resident of Whatcom county for more than twenty years and is one of the best established merchants in Ferndale, to which place he moved in 1909, moving there from Bellingham, where for some years prior he had been employed in the drug trade. Mr. Hood is an older brother of Percy Hood, president of the Ferndale State Bank, concerning whom further mention is made elsewhere in this work. Born in the vicinity of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1884, son of the Rev. S. M. and Mary (Marshall) Hood, Paul Hood was but a child when his parents moved with their family to Kansas and in this latter state he grew to manhood and became a competent pharmacist. In 1905, the year in which he attained his majority, he came to Whatcom county and at Bellingham was employed as pharmacist in the store of the Graham Drug Company. In 1909 he bought the Ferndale Pharmacy, which had been established by A. P. Long in 1903 and which is the oldest drug store in that place, and has since been carrying on in that line, with Oscar Snortland as a partner since 1921. Mr. Hood is a republican, interested in local civic affairs and has rendered public service as a member of the Ferndale town council.
In 1912, at Ferndale, Mr. Hood was united in marriage to Miss Antionette McLain and they have a son, Paul Hood, Jr., born July 27, 1916. Mrs. Hood is a daughter of Miner and Dena (Antionette) McLain, the former of whom, now living retired, was for about twenty years the postmaster at Ferndale. Mr. Hood is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and he and his wife are interested and helpful participants in the general social activities of their home town, giving proper attention to all movements and measures having to do with the general advancement of the interests of the community of which they are so firmly established a part.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 217-218.
Among the fine, public-spirited citizens and enterprising dairy farmers of northwestern Whatcom county stands B. Johnson, who is not only enjoying material success in his business affairs but has also won a high standing among his fellow citizens. Mr. Johnson is a native of Iceland, born in 1872, and is a son of J. and Thorun (Gunnarson) Johnson, both of whom were natives of that country, where they spent their lives and died. The father was a fisherman by vocation, engaging mainly in the cod fishing industry, while his wife's people were farmers. Our subject was reared at home and secured his education in the public schools of his native community. At the age of fourteen years he went to Manitoba, Canada, where he obtained work on farms, following that employment for about three years. In 1889 he came to seattle, Washington, where he remained until 1905, following seine fishing on the Sound. He then bought twenty acres of his present place, onto which he moved, and at once entered upon the task of clearing the tract and getting it into cultivation. He was successful in his operations and eventually was enabled to buy forty acres more, being now the owner of sixty acres of splendid and well improved land. About eight acres are cleared, the greater part of the remainder being devoted to pasturage. Mr. Johnson has erected a good set of farm buildings and is well equipped for carrying on the operation of the farm. He confines his attention largely to dairying, keeping six good grade milk cows, for which he raises his own feed. He is energetic and untiring in all that he does and has gained a fine reputation for his enterprise and industry.
In 1895 Mr. Johnson was married to Miss Emma Solvason, who was born in Iceland, a daughter of Solvi and Solveig (Stevenson) Solvason. In 1876 the Solvason family came to Manitoba, where the father engaged in farming, and the mother's death occurred there. Subsequently the father moved to Seattle, Washington, where he died. To Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have been born three children, namely: Solvi, who lives at home and follows the fishing business; Sophie, who became the wife of P. Munshausen, of Berkeley, California, and is the mother of a son; and Lillian, who is the wife of Ross P. Chambers, of Aberdeen, Washington. Mr. Johnson is a man of fine public spirit, taking a good citizen's interest in the things that affect the welfare of his community, and he served for one year as a member of the school board. He is a man of splendid personal qualities, genial and friendly in his social relations and courteous and obliging to his neighbors. Because of his excellent traits of character and his affable disposition, he has won and retains general esteem and good will.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 223.
Norway has contributed some of her best citizens to the United States - men who have here entered into the spirit of our institutions and have not only gained pecuniary independence for themselves but have also been a distinct acquisition to our population. In this review of the career of the worthy gentleman whose name appears above, the reader's attention is called to one who by a life of earnest and consecutive endeavor has won for himself the sincere respect of all who have come in contact with him. C. Jorgensen was born in Norway in 1870 and is a son of Jorgen and Margaret (Rustan) Odegaard, both of whom were natives and lifelong residents of that country, the mother, who was born March 2, 1841, dying there in 1906, while the father, who was born August 17, 1837, died in 1909. They were the parents of eight children, namely: Erick, Kari, Ragnild, C., Barget, Suneve, deceased, Gunhild, deceased, and Hanna.
C. Jorgensen attended the schools of his native land and completed his studies in the public schools of Grand Forks, North Dakota. He remained in his native country until he was sixteen years of age, when he came to the United States, locating in North Dakota, where for three or four years he was employed on farms. In 1890 he came to Sehome, Washington, where he obtained employment in shingle mills, and remained there until 1898, when he followed the gold rush to Alaska. After working in the mines there for one year, he returned to Washington, locating at Bellingham, Whatcom county, where he lived until 1901. He then returned to Norway and was married, after which he and his bride returned to this country, and he again located in Bellingham, where he built a home and went to work in the sawmills and shingle mills. After four or five years of this employment, Mr. Jorgensen bought eighty acres of land two and a half miles south of Sumas and immediately entered upon the task of clearing it of the timber and brush with which it was covered. He built a house and barn and in the course of time had the satisfaction of possessing a good, well improved farm from which he has derived a nice income, being now very comfortably situated. Thirty acres of the land are cleared and in cultivation, the remainder being devoted to pasturage. He raises good crops of hay, grain and peas, and has four and a half acres in berries, which have proven a very profitable crop. He has seven good milk cows and several head of young stock, keeps his place in good order and has a very comfortable and attractive home. The farm is eligibly located on high ground, commanding a splendid view of the Sumas valley, and is one of the most desirable homesteads in this immediate locality.
In 1902, in Norway, Mr. Jorgensen was married to Miss Sidsel T. Ellingbraatan, who was born at Nesbyen Hallingdaal, Norway, April 28, 1878, a daughter of Truls and Kari Ellingbraatan, both also natives of that country, where the father died February 7, 1918. They were the parents of six children: Barbo, Ole, Sidsel, Ingeborg, deceased, Kari and Anne. Both of Mrs. Jorgensen's parents owned farms and were people of prominence and influence in their community. To Mr. and Mrs. Jorgensen were born the following children: Jorgen, born January 6, 1903; Theodore, born April 25, 1904; Margaret, born July 29, 1905; Arthur, born July 25, 1907; Selma, born March 25, 1913; and Albert, born February 5, 1916. Mr. and Mrs. Jorgensen are earnest members of the Lutheran church at Lawrence, to which they give liberal support. Mr. Jorgensen has stamped the impress of his individuality upon the community, having always been honest in all his relations with his fellow citizens public-spirited in his support of all measures for the advancement of the public welfare and genial and kindly in his social contacts.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 221-222.
EDMUND N. JUVET
Every successful business enterprise adds to the growth and prosperity of the community in which it is operated, and through his business activities Edmund N. Juvet has promoted Ferndale's advancement along mercantile lines, while as mayor he is performing valuable service in the field of civic endeavor. He was born May 1, 1865, and comes of sturdy Norwegian stock. He was reared and educated in the Land of the Midnight Sun and in his youth responded to the call of adventure, coming to the United States. He arrived in Iowa in 1884 and spent a year in that state. He then went to Minnesota and opened a grocery store in Minneapolis, where he lived for fourteen years. He next became the proprietor of a general store at Danvers, Minnesota, and conducted the business for eight years, also acting as postmaster of the town. Mr. Juvet came to Washington in 1906 and for seven years was engaged in general merchandising at Spokane. In 1913 he located in Ferndale and purchased the Golden Rule Store, of which he has since been the owner. He is a dealer in dry goods, shoes, groceries, flour and feed and carries only high grade merchandise. He has closely studied trade conditions and is always ready to supply the demands of the public. He is content with a reasonable profit, giving to his customers good value for the amount expended, and his word is always to be relied upon. As a natural result his patronage has increased from year to year and he is now at the head of a prosperous business, systematically and efficiently conducted.
In 1892 Mr. Juvet married Miss Regina Hagen, of Swift county, Minnesota, and four children were born to them: Noel, who has a wife and a daughter and is associated with his father in business; and Obel, Henry and Inga, all of whom are at home. Mr. Juvet has taken the thirty-second degree in Masonry and is also connected with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Grange. He is an adherent of the republican party and puts forth every possible effort for the benefit of the community. He was a member of the town council for a number of years and since 1923 has been mayor of Ferndale. To the problems affecting the welfare and progress of Ferndale he brings the mature judgment of a practical business man, actuated by high ideals of service, and his administration has been productive of much good. His prosperity has resulted from unabating industry, directed along worthy lines, and the respect accorded him is well deserved.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 458-459.
JAMES E. KENNEY
James E. Kenney is a successful merchant and for more than a quarter of a century has been engaged in the meat business at Deming. He was born November 18, 1877, and is a native of Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania. His parents, W. T. and Annie M. (Kline) Kenney, migrated to Whatcom county in 1897 and the father purchased a tract of sixty-five acres in Deming township. He zealously applied himself to the arduous task of removing the timber from his land, and his labors were terminated by death in 1899. The mother subsequently remarried, becoming the wife of J. G. Brooks, and still lives on the homestead.
James E. Kenney attended the public schools of his native state and also completed a course in a business college. He accompanied the family on the journey to the Pacific coast, being at that time a young man of twenty, and worked for some time in the lumber woods of Whatcom county. In 1904 he invested his savings in the meat business, purchasing an interest in a market at Deming, and after his partner died was joined by M. D. Macaulay, with whom he has been associated since 1908. They control the Independent Meat Company, which they formed, and this is the only organization of the kind in the town. They handle the best grade of meat and through honest dealing, wise management and unfailing courtesy have established a large trade.
In 1902 Mr. Kenney married Miss Nellie E. Van Curen, a native of Iowa, and they have two daughters: Edith, a successful educator; and Hazel, who is a student at Pullman College and is also preparing for the profession of teaching. Mr. Kenney is an adherent of the republican party and has been a member of the school board for several years, taking a keen interest in educational matters. He was township supervisor for several years, and his influence is always on the side of measures of reform, progress and improvement. Along fraternal lines he is identified with the Knights of Pythias and Bellingham Lodge, No. 194, of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He also belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and his wife is one of the Rebekahs. Mr. Kenney has discharged every duty and obligation in life to the best of his ability and has won as his reward the respect and good will of his fellowmen as well as a substantial measure of financial success.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 640.
GILBERT P. KINCAID
Gilbert P. Kincaid is a member of one of Bellingham's prominent families and is widely and favorably known as clerk of Whatcom county, measuring up in full to the requirements of the office. He was born January 23, 1882, in Ursa, Illinois, and is a son of James W. and Melissa (Clair) Kincaid, natives of Pennsylvania. They were among the early settlers of Illinois and migrated from that state to Washington, reaching Bellingham on the 2d of May, 1902. The father was engaged as a contractor and builder for some time and then turned his attention to mercantile affairs. He was successful in the venture and has long been numbered among the leading florists of the city. The mother of our subject died in August, 1925.
The public schools of Illinois afforded Gilbert P. Kincaid his educational advantages, and when twenty years of age he became a mill worker. The occupation proved uncongenial, and soon afterward he was made a member of the reportorial staff of the Bellingham Reveille. Late he read copy for the Post-Intelligencer of Seattle and on his return to Bellingham resumed his activities as a reporter. He was thus engaged for two years and on January 1, 1915, was appointed deputy clerk of Whatcom county. He was elected county clerk in the fall of 1921 for a term of four years and since January 1, 1922, has filled the office, discharging his duties in a thoroughly satisfactory manner.
On July 15, 1908, Mr. Kincaid married Miss Bernice Hope, a daughter of John Hope, one of the honored pioneers of Whatcom county. He came to this district in 1865 and first worked in the coal mines. Later he entered a homestead claim and through arduous labor cleared the land and prepared the soil for the growing of crops, eventually becoming the owner of a valuable ranch. In his youth he followed a seafaring life and was a sailor on a British man-of-war, later transferring his allegiance to the United States. He died at the ripe old age of eighty-four years, December 20, 1925, and from the storehouse of memory he used to relate many interesting anecdotes of frontier life. Mr. and Mrs. Kincaid have two children, Hope and Donald Preston, aged respectively twelve and nine years. Mr Kincaid votes the republican ticket and is a stanch adherent of the party. He gives his undivided attention to his public duties and his service has been marked by that singleness of purpose so essential to success in all lines of endeavor. He has thoroughly demonstrated his worth and has many friends in Bellingham and throughout the county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 556.
WILLIAM T. LANGE
For the past decade William T. Lange has been successfully engaged in the ice manufacturing business at Bellingham in association with his brother Fred. He was born at Fountain City, Wisconsin, on the 11th of December, 1888, a son of Helmuth and Emily (Newman) Lange, who in the year 1901 brought their family across the continent to Whatcom county, Washington. The purchased a ranch in the Canadian province of British Columbia, near Blaine, Washington, and thereon the father spent the remainder of his life. The mother, who still survives, now makes her home at Bellingham.
William T. Lange received a public school education in his youth. Prior to becoming connected with the ice business he carried the mail between the depot and the post office in Bellingham for a period of seven years. It was in 1916 that he and his brother fred purchased the delivery business of the Bellingham Ice Company, which they have continued to conduct throughout the intervening period of ten years, utilizing four delivery wagons. Industrious, energetic and thoroughly reliable in all their dealings, the brothers have developed an enterprise of extensive and profitable proportions.
In the year 1911 Mr. Lange was united in marriage to Miss Mary Earchinger [Erchinger], of Bellingham, and they are the parents of a daughter and a son, Frieda and Harry. The religious faith of the family is that of the Lutheran church. Mr. Lange gives his political allegiance to the republican party, and he enjoys an enviable reputation as one of the public-spirited and representative citizens as well as prosperous young business men of Bellingham.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 758.
HERBERT EVERETT LEAVITT
Coming to Whatcom county during the pioneer epoch in its history, Herbert Everett Leavitt has experienced all of the phases of frontier life, and many years of toil have been expended on the development of his fine ranch, which is situated in the vicinity of Maple Falls. A native of Canada, he was born March 18, 1865, at Melbourne, in the province of Quebec, and his parents, Albert and Mary (Wood) Leavitt, were also natives of the Dominion. The family is of English origin, and John Leavitt, the American progenitor, came to the new world as a passenger on the Mayflower. Dudley Leavitt, the father of Albert Leavitt, was a native of New Hampshire and his father served in the Revolutionary war, valiantly defending the rights of the colonists.
Herbert E. Leavitt received a public school education and afterward mastered the carpenter's trade, which he followed for some time in Truckee, California. He arrived in Whatcom, Washington, in 1887, when twenty-two years of age, and obtained work as a carpenter. In 1888 he took up a homestead in Columbia township in a wild and isolated region and in those early days was obliged to pack his supplies from Bellingham, a distance of thirty miles, often bearing upon his back a burden of one hundred and thirty-five pounds. There was an abundance of game and he has killed fifty-five deer and two bears on his ranch, on which his son Herbert shot a wildcat in 1924. Mr. Leavitt has cleared and improved his place, building a good home and substantial farms and purchasing modern farm implements to facilitate the work of the fields. His tasks are systematically performed and his fertile land yields abundant harvests. For several years he operated a blacksmith shop at Maple Falls and was also the proprietor of the Bellingham Bay Chop House, which was opened in 1901. He conducted the Maple Falls Hotel and was later the owner of the Mount Baker Hotel. He also engaged in merchandising and displayed business acumen and executive force in the control of his interests.
In 1897 Mr. Leavitt married Miss Ada McDonald, a native of Minnesota and a daughter of Andrew an Martha McDonald, who came to Whatcom county in 1884. Mr. McDonald entered the second homestead in columbia township and spent nine weeks on the task of transporting his worldly possessions to his claim, being obliged to carry everything upon his back, as there were no roads in those early days. To Mr. and Mrs. Leavitt were born fourteen children, but Tellis William, Mary Olive, Ida May, and Onie Isadore are deceased. Of the ten who survive Martha Ada is the eldest. She was married to Horace Cunningham, of Everett, Washington, and they have three daughters. Luella Matilda is the wife of Joseph Kaffrey of Columbia township and the mother of two sons. Albert Everett has a wife and son and lives at Maple Falls. Clarence Oaky is also married and makes his home in Bellingham. Rosie Bertha was united in marriage to Joseph Kosa, of Kendall, and they have one child, a son. Lillie Belle is the wife of Irvin Raughan, of Whatcom county, and they are also the parents of a son. The others are: Herbert Leon, John James, Pearl Violet and Dollie Liberta Leavitt, all of whom are at home.
Mr. Leavitt is connected with the Royal Neighbors, with which his wife is also affiliated, and his political views are in accord with the tenets of the republican party. He has been the recipient of important trusts, all of which he has faithfully fulfilled. He was chosen road supervisor and served on the school board for a considerable period. He was afterward made constable and for twenty-four years was retained in that capacity, making a fine record in the office. Mr. Leavitt has a high conception of duty and honor and his interest in the public welfare has been manifest in tangible efforts for the general good.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 659-660.
JOHN A. LIND
Though of European birth, John A. Lind, one of the well known and well established farmers and dairymen of Mountain View township, former supervisor of that township and the proprietor of a well kept place of sixty acres on rural mail route No. 1 out of Blaine, has been a resident of Washington for the past quarter of a century and thus feels as much at home and as thoroughly familiar with conditions here as though born to the scene. Mr. Lind is a native of Sweden, born in the Norland province, February 26, 1877, and is a son of J. A. and Ingrid M. (Olesdatter) Lind, farming people of that province who spent all their lives there and who were the parents of seven children, two daughters and five sons.
Reared to farming in his home country, John A. Lind received his education there and remained with his father on the farm until he was twenty-five years of age when, in 1902, he came to America, landing at New York. He straightway made his way to Seattle, Washington. After a time he became employed in the lumber operations at Granite Falls and was thus engaged until 1906, when he returned to his native land to claim the girl to whom he had plighted his troth before leaving the old country and with her came back to the United States in July, 1907. By reason of the stringent marriage laws of their home country, one of the requirements of which is the publication of intent to marry six months before the nuptial date, they did not marry in the old country but waited until their arrival here and the ceremony was performed at Bellingham.
For awhile after his return here Mr. Lind resumed his old occupation as a timberman, working in the woods, but in that same year bought the place on which he is now living in Mountain View township, where after his marriage in the following spring he established his home and has since resided. To his original house there he had made a suitable modern addition and he and his family are now quite comfortably situated. To his original "forty" there Mr. Lind has added an adjoining tract of twenty acres and now has a well improved farm of sixty acres, about half of which has been cleared, the remainder being left as a range for his dairy cattle. In addition to dairying and general farming he also gives considerable attention to poultry raising and is doing very well. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and of the Poultry Association and takes a proper interest in the affairs of those helpful organizations. He also takes a proper interest in the general civic affairs of the community and for four years, 1916-1920, rendered efficient public service as supervisor of mountain View township.
It was on March 19, 1908, at Bellingham, that Mr. Lind was united in marriage to Miss Gerda A. Olson, who also was born in Sweden, daughter of Andrus and Stina Marta (Nyberg) Olson, and to this union six children have been born, namely: Indrid Christine, who died in 1911; John Andrew, Bertil Isadore, George (who died in 1924), Albert and Jennie Margaret. all of whom were baptised in the Swedish Mission church at Bellingham.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 821-822.
EDWARD EUGENE MARSHALL
Edward Eugene Marshall, a Whatcom county pioneer, who traces his ancestry to the Colonial epoch in American history, has been a recognized leader of agricultural operations in Deming township for more than thirty years. He was born June 19, 1859, and is a native of Cleveland, Ohio, in which state his parents, Zebulon R. and Mary (Egbert) Marshall, were married. His father was a native of Connecticut and the mother's birth occurred in New Jersey. The Marshall family, which is of English origin, was established in Connecticut early in he seventeenth century and contributed to the Continental army men of valor and fortitude who aided in winning American independence. Captain Samuel Marshall, a member of the family, was killed in King Philip's war. The grandfather, Harvey Marshall, was a man of considerable wealth and owned most of the land on which the city of Hartford now stands. His son, Zebulon R. Marshall, was reared in Connecticut and for several years followed the occupation of farming in that state. He then went to Illinois, locating in Chicago in 1835, and in pioneer times settled in Ohio. He was a business man of superior ability and previous to the Civil war operated sawmills throughout the central states as will as in South Carolina. The years of his birth was 1796, and he reached the age of seventy-four years, passing away in 1870. He was long survived by his widow, whose demise occurred in 1901.
Edward E. Marshall attended the schools of Newark, New Jersey, and in 1973, when fourteen years of age, went to Kansas. He completed his studies at Manhattan, and among his schoolmates was Albert Meade, afterward governor of Washington. Mr. Marshall engaged in the live stock business in the Sunflower state, and in 1887 he came to the Pacific coast, settling in Whatcom county. He has since resided within its borders, with the exception of the period from 1897 to 1900, which was spent in the Klondike. On his arrival in Washington he located near Ferndale, taking up a government claim, and in 1888 moved to Deming township. He secured a squatter's right to a tract adjacent to the present town site of Deming and his mother homesteaded the land after it was surveyed, having accompanied him on the journey to the west. The property comprised one hundred and sixty acres and was situated in a wooded district. There were no roads and Mr. Marshall was obliged to carry his groceries and other supples a long distance, transporting them on his back. Labor was scarce and in order to gain a start he split rails, earing about eight dollars a week in this manner.
Industries and thrifty, Mr. Marshall has always lived well within his income, and his ranch is one of the few farms that has been kept free from debt. He has built a modern home, installing his own water system and electric light plant, and the water supply is obtained from a fine spring on his place. He has sold forty acres and his farm now comprises one hundred and twenty acres of rich and arable land, whose fertility has been greatly increased by irrigation. He has a valuable herd of dairy cattle and was the first man to bring registered Holsteins to the county. An expert in his chosen vocation in life, Mr. Marshall has proved the effectiveness of system in promoting productiveness, and the methods employed in the cultivation and development of his farm are the expression of the latest research along scientific lines. His mother had taught the first school in this township, teach for six months, in order to get the schools started, and the log cabin in which she taught is still standing on the home farm, being now used as a hen house.
In 1881 Mr. Marshall married Miss Elizabeth Jones, a native of Knoxville, Tennessee, and a daughter of David and Margaret (Elder) Jones. Her father, who was one of the pioneer farmers of Kansas, served in the Union army during the Civil war, enlisting Tennessee. To Mr. and Mrs. Marshall were born six children: Harvey and Edward, who are connected with sawmill operations in Deming township; John, city attorney of Kirkland, Washington; Thomas, who is engaged in the practice of law in Seattle; Paul, superintendent of the consolidated school at Deming; and Irene, the wife of Powell Thomas, who is operating a fox farm in Alaska.
Mr. Marshall gives his political allegiance to the republican party and has ever manifested a deep interest in public affairs, serving on the school board and also as township supervisor. He is connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Masonic fraternity. Both he and his wife are members of the Eastern Star and the latter is also connected with the Rebekahs. Mr. Marshall has done much to advance the standards of agriculture in Whatcom county, belonging to that class of farsighted, capable men who have converted their private enterprises into public assets, and his very personality in an inspiration to progress. His life has been conspicuously useful and public opinion bears testimony to his worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 350-353.
One of the worthy native sons of Washington is Edward McAlpine, a progressive farmer of Ferndale township, Whatcom county, who is easily the peer of any of his fellows in the qualities that constitute correct manhood and good citizenship. He is what he is from natural endowment and self-culture, having attained his present standing solely through the impelling force of his own nature. Edward McAlpine was born in Skagit county, Washington, on the 9th of July, 1880, and is a son of Edward and Jane (Ewing) McAlpine. The father was born in Ontario, Canada, in 1836, and died in 1891, which the mother, who was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1843, died January 3, 1925, at the age of eighty-two years. The father came to the States from Canada in the early'60's, traveling through Utah and on to California during the gold rush. In 1875 he came to Washington, locating on a farm in Skagit county, where he remained until 1883, when he moved to Whatcom county and farmed there during his remaining active years. To him and his wife were born three children, Belle, Edward and Jean.
Edward McAlpine attended the public schools of Bellingham and then took a commercial course in Wilson's Business College in that city. After completing his studies he worked on the home farm until the place was sold in 1911, when he bought one hundred and twenty-five acres of land on Nooksack river, in Ferndale township, a part being cleared. He now cultivates sixty acres, which he devotes mainly to hay and potatoes, and also keeps about thirty head of good grade Holstein cattle and some young stock. He is an active and energetic farmer, up-to-date and progressive in his methods, and exercises excellent judgment in all his operations, being regarded as one of the best farmers in his locality.
On September 23, 1905, Mr. McAlpine was married to Miss Alice Welch, who was born in Ferndale, the daughter of Dr. J. J. and Eva (Sloan) Welch. Her father came to Ferndale in 1882, being the first doctor to locate there, and continued in the practice until 1902, when he retired and moved to Bellingham, where he now lives. To him and his wife were born four children, Julian, deceased, Linden, Bert and Alice. Mrs. McAlpine is a member of Bellingham Camp No. 188, Neighbors of Woodcraft, and she and Mr. McAlpine are members of the Pomona Grange. They are the parents of three children, namely: Edward Jr., born May 9, 1907, who is a graduate of the Meridian high school, was married to Miss Aletha Jane Rice; Jack Bennet, born April 4, 1912, and Betty, born June 6, 1919. Personally, Mr. McAlpine is a man of optimistic disposition, an ardent supporter of all measures calculated to advance the public welfare in any way and standing always on the right side of every moral issue. He is friendly and affable in his social relations and stands deservedly high in the confidence and good will of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 665-666.
ROBERT I. MORSE
Robert I. Morse, who for more than a third of a century figured prominently in Bellingham's business circles as president, treasurer and manager of the Morse Hardware Company, departed this life on the 12th of April, 1920, when in the sixty-second year of his age. His birth occurred at Sidney, Maine, on the 8th of June, 1858, his parents being C. T. and Ann R. (Balentine) Morse, who were also natives of the Pine Tree state and came of New England patriotic stock. The father was likewise born at Sidney, Maine, when he removed to Waterville, that state, where he was engaged in farming, also dealing in live stock, until his death, which occurred in February, 1869. To Mr. and Mrs. C. T. Morse were born eight children.
Until he reached the age of seventeen years, Robert I. Morse devoted his time largely to the mastery of the branches of learning that usually constitute the public school curriculum, in connection with farm work. He had begun providing for his own support by helping his mother on the farm after the death of his father, which occurred when he was eleven years of age. It was in 1875 that he left the Atlantic seaboard for the Pacific coast, making his way to San Francisco, California, where for a time he was in the service of a street car company, while later he turned his attention to dairying and subsequently secured employment with an uncle in a hardware and paint store. At the same time, he promoted his education by attendance at night school and later at Dow's Business College.
In 1884, after having resided in San Francisco for about ten years, Mr. Morse removed to Sehome, Washington, now Bellingham, and established himself in the hardware business on a small scale at No. 1039 Elk street. The first building was twenty-seven and one-half by one hundred and fifteen feet, and from the outset his trade steadily grew. He had come to Bellingham as a passenger on the steamship Queen, bringing with him a stock of hardware, paints, oils, glass, wall paper, etc., and he opened the first hardware store in Sehome, starting with approximately three thousand dollars worth of merchandise. The firm has always remained in the same location. Mr. Morse maintained reasonable prices, made it his purpose to sell merchandise of a praiseworthy quality and aimed to perfect store service and delivery. From the outset he made for himself an enviable reputation in the business world, and it quickly became known that his word was as good as his bond. It was not strange, therefore, that in 1892 it was found necessary to add an adjoining store room of equal size at No. 1035 Elk street, and still later he erected a three story brick and stone building, fifty-five by one hundred and fifteen feet.
The frontage on Elk street is now one hundred and sixty-seven feet. At the rear of this building if located a large general warehouse, one hundred and sixty by ninety feet and two stories in height, besides several smaller warehouses nearby, all of which store and storage spaces are packed with goods to their utmost capacity. The plant is located on two railroads, the Northern Pacific and the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul, and has spur tracks on each line, so that cars can be loaded and unloaded directly at the plant. In 1897 the business was incorporated with a capital stock of twenty-five thousand dollars. The present style of the Morse Hardware Company was then adopted, and Robert I. Morse was the president and manager, which offices he filled throughout the remainder of his life. In 1897 the firm entered the wholesale field, from which ninety-five per cent of its trade is now drawn, and the capital stock and surplus now amounts to about four hundred thousand dollars. Further details concerning the Morse Hardware Company may be found elsewhere in this work in connection with the sketch of Cecil A. Morse, eldest son of Robert I. Morse, who succeeded his father as president and manager of the enterprise. One of Mr. Morse's favorite jokes was that although he had always occupied the same original location, his business had been carried on in three different towns, first Sehome, later Whatcom and last of all, Bellingham.
On the 17th of May, 1882, in San Francisco, Mr. Morse was married to Miss Etta Fowler, who was born in 1861 at Manchester, New Hampshire, moving to San Francisco with her parents in 1879. There were five children born to that marriage, two of whom are now living: Cecil A. Morse, the president of the Morse Hardware Company, who is married and has two daughters; and Charles L. Morse, who is also married and has two daughters. Mrs. Etta (Fowler) Morse passed away on the 22d of December, 1906. On the 7th of July, 1909, Mr. Morse was again married, his second union being with Miss Ada M. Chisholm, who was born at Wentworth, Nova Scotia, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. H. D. Chisholm, also natives of that Canadian province, where the family, which is of Scotch Irish extraction, has been represented for several generations. She is the mother of three sons: Robert Irvine, William Howard and David Chisholm, all of whom are high school students.
From the first Mr. Morse actively supported and participated in all matters that promised to develop this section of Puget sound, and his name was always at the fore in community enterprise. He served as a trustee of the town of Sehome in 1888 and later as councilman-at-large for the city of Whatcom. Throughout the years he was an active member of the Chamber of Commerce and served on many important committees. He was one of the first presidents of the Whatcom County Agricultural association, and he also had served on the board of education. He did not care, however, to figure prominently in matters outside of business circles, where he indeed measured up to high standards as a foremost merchant. When he arrived on Bellingham bay there was no dock at Sehome, it being necessary for the steamboats to anchor near the shore and lighter the passengers and freight to the beach in small boats, so he built the first Sehome wharf and operated it for a number of years. During the early '80s times were far from prosperous on the bay, but Mr. Morse managed to give employment for the men of the community and helping to make revenue for the dock.
In his political views Mr. Morse was a lifelong republican. He was influential in establishing the First Baptist church in Bellingham and remained one of its most valued members and officials up to the time of his death. He was also a worthy exemplar of the teaching and purposes of the Masonic fraternity and was a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and belonged to the Mystic Shrine. In a modest and unpretentious manner he performed many charitable and philanthropic acts during his long residence on the bay. He ever had the welfare of the community at large at heart, and in his death the city of Bellingham sustained the loss of one of its foremost business men and highly respected and esteemed citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 34-37.
This well remembered farmer and honored citizen of Whatcom county, who is now numbered "with them that sleepeth," was a native of Norway, upon which country the state of Washington has largely drawn for its most enterprising and progressive citizens. Early in life Mr. Paulsen established those habits of industry and frugality which insured his success in later years. Coming to this locality, he secured a tract of raw land, which he developed into a good farm and a comfortable home, with many of the comforts and conveniences of life, and he became one of the most highly esteemed citizens of his community, where his sterling qualities of character were fully appreciated by those with whom he came in contact.
S. Paulsen was born in Norway on the 20th of August, 1868, and his death occurred on the 11th of January, 1925, in the fifty-seventh year of his age. He was a son of Paul and Engeborg (Petersen) Larsen, both of whom also were natives of Norway, where the father, who is now deceased, was a farmer, also following the fishing industry in winter. The mother is still living in her native land. Our subject secured his education in the public schools of Norway and worked for his father until the age of twenty-eight, when he started out on his own account, buying a farm, to the cultivation of which he devoted himself. He also sailed to some extent on the high seas, and being an all-round mechanic, he worked at carpentering, blacksmithing and other like occupations. In 1910 he came to America, locating in British Columbia, where for several years he was engaged in farming, also working a little at the carpenter's trade. In the meantime he bought forty acres of land near Custer, Whatcom county, and in 1915 he moved onto that place, which was covered with timber and brush, and began the clearing of it. About eight acres are now cleared and in cultivation, the remainder being devoted to pasture. The farm buildings, which are substantial in character and attractive in appearance, he built himself, and he also made many other improvements on the place, which he developed into a very desirable homestead. Mr. Paulsen engaged quite extensively in the chicken business, keeping about a thousand laying hens, and met with very gratifying success along that line. He also kept a few cows for dairy purposes. The hens are practically all of the White Leghorn variety, and he erected good henhouses, so that the flock is properly cared for.
On July 16, 1895, Mr. Paulsen was married to Miss Lena Ornsen, a native of Norway and a daughter of Ornt and Darten (Davidson) Olsen, farming folk of that county, where they spent their lives, both dying before Mr. Paulsen came to the country in 1912. No children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Paulsen, but Mrs. Paulsen is caring for two children of an "old country" friend, giving them the same careful attention that she would have give to children of her own. Mr. Paulsen was a faithful member of the Free Lutheran church, to which Mrs. Paulsen also belongs, and he was likewise a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He was a man of upright character and sterling integrity - a man who could always be counted upon to support every measure for the advancement of the community along material, civic or moral lines. Quiet and unassuming but genial and hospitable, he won a host of warm friends, among whom he was held in the highest confidence and esteem, and his memory is respected throughout the community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 313-314.
BERGIE L. PETERS
One of Bellingham's distinctive features is the United States plant introduction garden, of which B. L. Peters is manager, and his elevation to this important office is the merited reward of seventeen years of efficient, conscientious service. A native of Virginia, he was born in 1889 and in 1904 came to Bellingham with his parents, John and Josephine (Webster) Peters, who settled on a farm in Van Wyck township. B. L. Peters attended the public schools of the south and was fifteen years of age when the family migrated to the Pacific coast. He started to work in the bulb garden as a laborer and has practically grown up on this noted farm. He had devoted much time to the study of floriculture, acquiring an exhaustive knowledge of the subject, and has steadily progressed, becoming scientific aid and manager of the garden in 1923. Although young in years, he fully meets the requirements of the position, and his work has been highly commended. Mr. Peters is assisted by H. A. Houser, who also acts as scientific aid and has been associated with the garden for sixteen years.
This experiment station was established by the government in 1905 on Marietta road for the purpose of encouraging the production of tulips and was started with ten acres. P. H. Dorsett and Dr. David Griffiths, government officials, and Charles X. Larrabee and other public-spirited citizens became interested in the project and in 1916 the last named gentleman donated to the garden sixty acres of wild land in the vicinity of the grounds of the Bellingham Country Club. In the intervening period to the present time thirty acres of the tract have been cleared and a greenhouse one hundred by twenty-five feet in dimensions has been erected. The bulb house is a two story structure one hundred by forty feet in dimensions, and a nine room residence and a large barn have also been built on the land. The farm is conducted by the United States department of Agriculture and has become the bulb center of America. The garden produces many varieties of tulip, lily, narcissus, hyacinth and daffodil bulbs, and the propagating of Holland bulbs in being carried out here with marked success. The public receives the benefit of the scientific discoveries made at the station, and the farm has been of inestimable value to the people of this region and to the entire country. It presents an entranceing vision of beauty during the months of April and May, when the flowers have attained perfection, and the annual tulip festival has drawn to Bellingham tourists from every section of the United States. Conditions in this region are particularly favorable to bulb propagation and the garden is the only one in the country operating on this scale.
In 1914 Mr. Peters married Miss Alice Dunkle, a daughter of D. H. Dunkle, one of the early settlers of Bellingham and the children of this union are Violet and Coralee.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 313-314.
Whatcom county's history is not an old one, being the record of the steady growth of a community planted in the wilderness scarcely more than a half century ago, and this section of the state has reached its magnitude of today without other means than that of persistent and well applied industry. The people who redeemed the land from the wilderness were strong-armed, hardy men who hesitated at no difficulty and whom hardships had little to appal. Their efficient efforts have been fully appreciated by those who followed them and builded on the foundation which they laid so broad and deep. Among these early comers was the subject of this sketch, whose career here has been such as to gain for him an enviable standing among the best citizens of his locality.
Rudolf Schott was born in Mecklenburg, north Germany, on the 30th of April, 1871, and is a son of Fritz and Louisa (Beotefur) Schott, the former of whom was a shoemaker by trade, and both of whom were natives and lifelong residents of the fatherland, where they passed away. Our subject attended the public schools of his native country, remaining at home until he attained his majority, when he emigrated to the United States, locating in Nebraska, when [where?] he went to work as a farm hand, remaining there about five years. He then rented a farm in that state, to which he applied himself closely until New Year's day, 1900, when he came to Whatcom county. Five families in his community had banded together and sent one of their number to Whatcom county to investigate conditions. He reported favorably and the five families hired a railroad car, which brought them and their effects to Bellingham. They had to come by a round-about way, for a bridge was washed out, and they were sent from Seattle to Sumas, thence to Everson, where they stopped for a time, and then went on the Bellingham. After looking the country over, Mr. Schott and Charles Elsmer bought eighty acres of land near the Greenwood school, where the former remained about a year, and then, in 1901, he came to his present place, buying forty acres of land, to which he later added forty acres more. About one and a half acres of the land were cleared except for stumps, many of which were in good condition. Thus he was able to trade shingle bolts taken from the stumps on one and a half acres of cleared land for eighty thousand shingles, with which he roofed his new barn. He took off about sixteen thousand cords of shingle bolts from his first forty acres of land, and he now has about sixty acres cleared. He first lived in an old log house that was on the place when he bought it but later built a fine residence, which has since been the family home. In early days the old road to Lynden followed the river, and on the trip to town Mr. Schott would have to open about a dozen gates. When he first came here he took his butter to Bellingham, but later sold his cream. He raises good crops of potatoes and hay but is now giving his attention principally to dairy farming, keeping sixteen good milk cows, in the handling of which he has met with splendid success. With the exception of some grain, he raises practically all the feed necessary for his stock, and also has six acres in berries, which he has handled with success and profit. He keeps his farm well improved, being methodical and up-to-date in all his operations, and has gained a well deserved reputation as an enterprising and progressive farmer.
In 1897, in Nebraska, Mr. Schott was married to Miss Mary Gees, who was born and reared in that state, a daughter of John and Rika Gees, the former of whom was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, and the latter in Pommeirn, Germany, their marriage occurring in that country. They emigrated to the United States, locating in Springfield, Illinois, in the '60s, latter [later?] going to Nebraska, where they established their permanent home. To Mr. and Mrs. Schott have been born fourteen children, namely: George, who is married and has one child; William, who lives in Idaho, is married and has five children; Mrs. Lena Rolland, of Bellingham, who is the mother of five children; Ella, who is the wife of Edward Lehman, of Nooksack, and the mother of three children; Mrs. Ida Wilson, who is the mother of two children; Lucy, who is at home; Alma, who is the wife of Will Kirkman and the mother of one child; Rudy, who is married and has one child; and Arnold, Theodore, Elma, Inez, Marion and Leona. Mr. Schott has taken a citizen's interest in the public affairs of his community, having served for seventeen years as a member of the school board, in which capacity he rendered effective and appreciated service. In all possible ways he has cooperated with his fellow citizens in supporting measures for the advancement of the public welfare. He is a broadminded, progressive citizen, generous in his attitude toward all benevolent objects, and his genial and friendly manner and kindly and accommodating disposition have gained for him the unbounded esteem and good will of the entire community in which he lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 340-341.
John Simpson, one of the honored pioneers of northwestern Washington, has done much to develop the rich agricultural resources of Whatcom county, in which he has resided for forty-two years, and is now enjoying a well deserved period of leisure. He has filled township and county offices and in every relation of life has acquitted himself with dignity, fidelity and honor. He was born February 7, 1860, in Ontario, Canada, and his parents, Peter and Jessie (McDonald) Simpson, were natives of Scotland. The father, who was a miller by trade, made the voyage to Canada about 1856 and in that country his marriage occurred.
John Simpson was educated in the public schools of his native province and worked for his father until 1879. He then went to Victoria and thence to Granville, British Columbia, which was then called "Gastown." In February, 1880, he arrived in the locality where the city of Vancouver is now situated and in December, 1883, came to Whatcom county, Washington. He purchased a tract of one hundred and sixty acres, which property is now the site of the town of Everson. By patient toil he cleared the place of timber and brought the land under the plow. He was one of the early settlers in this section of the state and experienced many of the phases of frontier life. His well tilled fields yielded abundant harvests and from time to time he added modern improvements, eventually developing one of the finest farms in the county. Mr. Simpson was also the owner of a freighting outfit, which he operated from Bellingham to his ranch, using horses to transport the goods. He remained on the farm until 1920, when he sold the property, and has since lived retired in Everson.
In 1888 Mr. Simpson married Mrs. Annetta Harkness, a widow whose parents were Carl and Katherine Krohm, the former of whom died during her infancy. She was born in Australia and came to Whatcom county about 1878. She conducted a general store, established by her first husband at Nooksack Crossing, and in 1891 the business was moved to Everson, a distance of one mile. Mr. and Mrs. Simpson started the first store in the town and continued the business until 1900, when it was sold. Mr. Simpson is the father of two children: Jessie, who lives in Seattle; and Bertha, the wife of Jens Backer, of Everson.
Mr. Simpson is allied with the republican party and has been very active in public affairs. He was county commissioner during 1911-1912 and has been township supervisor. He is particularly interested in educational matters and was a member of the school board for nine years, in which connection he aided in starting the first schools in his neighborhood. He displayed rare qualities as a public servant and his work was highly commended. He is a Mason and also takes a prominent part in the activities of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. His wife is connected with the Rebekahs and he is also a member of the local camp of the Woodmen of the World. Mr. Simpson is affiliated with the Presbyterian church of Everson, which he aided in founding, and carries his religion into his daily life, possessing the true spirit of Christianity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 862-865.
GEORGE W. THORNE
Success in life depends largely upon the selection of a congenial field of labor, and that George W. Thorne has chose wisely and well is demonstrated by what he has accomplished. He is widely known as a diamond expert and conducts Bellingham's leading jewelry store. He was born in 1879 at Binghamton, New York, and his parents, Charles and Sarah (Kiddell) Thorne, were natives of England. They settled in New York state in 1871, soon after the close of the Franco-Prussian war. The father operated a tannery and was one of the first to use chemicals in that industry. He was survived by the mother, who died in November, 1925, at the age of seventy-seven.
George W. Thorne attended the public schools of the Empire state and also completed a course in a business college. In his youth he learned the watchmaker's trade and also mastered the jeweler's art. The study of precious stones and particularly of diamonds has constituted his life work, and his exhaustive knowledge of this interesting subject has placed him with the leading gem experts of the country. In 1908 he became connected with the Hanson jewelry store in Seattle and was later manager of the Hardy establishment, filling that position for two years. In 1923 Mr. Thorne came to Bellingham and on July 7 of that year became the proprietor of the Gibbs jewelry store, which he has since conducted. He specializes in watches and in diamonds, and his collection of these gems is the largest and finest in the city. His judgment in regard to these lines of business is considered infallible and he caters to a large and discriminating patronage, drawing his trade from a wide area.
In 1914 Mr. Thorne married Miss Florence Barash, of Seattle, and they have two children: Janet and Charles Morris, aged respectively seven and four years. Mrs. Thorne is a daughter of Morris and Fannie Barash, who migrated from Colorado to Washington, settling in Seattle in 1902. Her father conducted a mercantile establishment and is now living retired. Mr. and Mrs. Thorne are affiliated with the Episcopal church and he is an adherent of the republican party but has never aspired to public office. He is a Mason and an Elk and also belongs to the Rotary Club and the Chamber of Commerce. A man of keen intelligence, strong character and progressive spirit, he has stamped the impress of his individuality indelibly upon his work, and Bellingham is honored by his citizenship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 499-500.
CLARENCE D. THRELKELD
Clarence D. Threlkeld, proprietor of the celebrated Sanitarium Baths, 1208 Dock street, Bellingham, reputed to be the best equipped sanitarium baths in the northwest using the Battle Creek (Mich.) system of hydrotherapy, lightherapy, electrotherapy and massage, is a native son of the old Hawkeye state but has been a resident of Bellingham for almost twenty years and is thus thoroughly familiar with conditions here and with the history and the traditions of Whatcom county and this section of the state. Mr. Threlkeld was born at Liberty Center, Iowa, in 1886, and is a son of T. G. and Eliza (Spencer) Threlkeld. The father, a barber by trade, came to Bellingham in 1923 and is now living here.
Reared in Iowa, C. D. Threlkeld was given a high school and business college education and then turned his attention to the study of hydrotherapy and kindred curative methods under competent direction and became a registered nurse. Numbered among his classmates in this study was Miss Carrie B. Ruckman, who also became skilled in hydrotherapy and the like and became a registered nurse. In 1906 Mr. Threlkeld and Miss Ruckman were married and in 1907, the year in which Mr. Threlkeld attained his majority, they came to Bellingham and bought the sanitarium baths that in 1903 had been established there by Dr. Shryock and have since been in charge of the same, Mr. Threlkeld in proprietary charge and Mrs. Threlkeld in charge of the women's department of the institution.
This institution is located in the south wing of the Leopold hotel and all treatments given are under prescription of licensed therapeutists, the sanitarium recognizing a debt of obligation to the medical profession, whose kindly acts of courtesy have helped to place the natural therapeutic measures of the institution before the public. The proprietors of the institution are Seventh Day Adventists and their place of business is closed from 4 o'clock Friday afternoons to sunset Saturdays, but is open on Sundays. The old Shryock sanitarium was located at 1016 Elk street and Mr. and Mrs. Threlkeld remained there until April, 1913, when upon the completion of the Leopold hotel they occupied their present commodious and well equipped quarters, where they have all the up-to-date appliances for the practice of their curative arts. In addition to their business in town they have a fine chicken ranch on the McLeod road out of Bellingham, where they make their home, having there a pleasant residence equipped with all city conveniences. They have three children, two daughters, the Misses Isabel and Geraldine Threlkeld, and a son, Russell Threlkeld.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 414.
The honored subject of this sketch, now one of the older and practically retired farmers of his locality, has lived to see this section of the county develop from a primeval forest, inhabited by wild animals and a few settlers, to its present magnificent prosperity, elegant homes, fertile farms and thriving towns, and he has played no small part in this transformation. His early life here was marked by the hardest sort of toil, but during the years he made steady advancement and is now numbered among the prosperous and successful farmers of Whatcom county. Fred Weseman was born in Germany in 1848 and was there reared and educated to the age of thirteen years, his studies being completed after he came to this country. When he was three years old his father was killed in a stone quarry, and in 1861 his mother brought her three children to the United States, locating in Wisconsin, where she spent her remaining years.
Fred Weseman remained in Wisconsin, being employed at various occupations, until 1882, when he came to Whatcom county and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land, which was densely covered with timber and brush. Of this tract he sold eighty acres in 1890. When he came here no roads had been built in this locality, irregular trails being the only highway, and the woods were filled with wild animals, such as bears, deer and cougars. Mr. Weseman was compelled to pack in all of his goods and provisions, and he began life here with practically no conveniences of any sort. His first work was the erection of a typical small log cabin of that period, with its wooden, clay-lined chimney, after which he entered vigorously upon the work of redeeming the land. He has now cleared forty acres of the tract, most of the remainder being devoted to pasture. He gives his attention chiefly to dairying, for which purpose he keeps thirteen good Guernsey milk cows, some of which are registered animals. He raises sufficient grain and roughage for his stock and has done exceedingly well in this line of work. He also has a nice bearing orchard of pears, plums and apples, a part of which crop he markets. He has made many permanent and substantial improvements on his place and has a very comfortable and attractive ranch home.
In 1890 Mr. Weseman was married to Miss Minnie Roth, who was born and reared in Watertown, Wisconsin, a daughter of Carl F. and Wilhimina (Buth) Roth, the latter of whom was born in Germany, coming to the united States in 1857. Both of these parents died in Wisconsin. to Mr. and Mrs. Weseman have been born two children: Carl, who remains at home and is managing his father's ranch; and Adela, who is the wife of William P. Patrick and the mother of two children. Carl is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Mr. and Mrs. Weseman have always been deeply interested in educational affairs and both have rendered effective and appreciated service as members of the school board. Mr. Weseman has through all the years of his residence here stood staunchly for all that is best in community life, cooperating with his fellow citizens in measures for the advancement of the community along various lines. It is a far cry from the conditions of the early days, when he first came here, to present conditions, and he tells many interesting reminiscences of pioneer days. Money was scarce and for several years he worked in the lumber camps in the summer months, spending the winters in the clearing of his land. He did his own cooking and was compelled to pack his provisions long distances, going to Semiahmoo, by the way of Dakota creek. But those days are past and he is now enjoying the leisure to which his former years of toil so richly entitle him. Because of his sterling character, fine public spirit and friendly disposition, he occupies a high place in the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 285-286.
MERTON O. WIGHT
By a few general observations it is hoped to convey in the following lines some idea of the high standing of M. O. Wight, of Ten Mile township, one of the best known farmers of this community. Those who know him best will readily acquiesce in the statement that many elements of a solid and practical nature are combined in his makeup, which during the years of his residence here have gained for him an enviable reputation among the people of his locality. Mr. Wight was born in Lyon county, Kansas, on the 30th of May, 1866, and is a son of William H. and Sarah M. (Ford) Wight, both of whom were natives of New York state and whose marriage occurred in Michigan. William H. Wight went to California in 1850, making the long overland trip with an ox team, but later returned east by way of the Isthmus of Panama. From Michigan Mr. and Mrs. Wight moved to Kansas. At that time Indian scares were numerous, but they were fortunate in escaping any personal experiences with the redskins.
M. O. Wight secured his education in the public schools of Kansas and was reared on his father's farm until he attained his majority, after which he operated the home place for about a year. In February, 1888, he came to Bellingham, Washington, remaining just long enough to stock up with provisions, and then started out to locate some desirable land. Eventually he preempted one hundred and sixty acres at Tuxedo, near Glen Echo, but did not prove up on this land, selling his preemption rights. He then, in partnership with a brother, W. R. Wight, bought a quarter section of land in Ten Mile township, embracing his present place, and to reach the tract they had to come out by way of Ten Mile, and then travel west and south. They were unable to use the Guide Meridian road, as it was utterly impassable for a team. The land had not been cut over and a vast amount of labor was entailed in getting it cleared and in shape for cultivation, it being necessary to burn the timber at first, as they could not get it out of the place. However, the Telegraph road was already improved and the main highway on the east, and they found a market in Bellingham for their logs and shingle bolts. Wild cats, bears, deer and grouse were numerous, and in many ways the country was as primitive as in the days prior to the coming of the white man. Eventually, as they got the land cleared, they engaged in general farming, their main crop being grain. They succeeded in clearing about fifteen acres and lived there until 1891, when our subject sold his interest to his brother and returned to Kansas. He remained in the Sunflower state about twelve years and then, in February, 1903, again came to Whatcom county and bought eight and a half acres of the old place, all of which was cleared, and he has so improved and equipped the tract as to make of it a very comfortable and attractive farm home. He has prospered in the operation of this place and has long enjoyed an excellent standing throughout the community because of his industry, sound judgment and excellent qualities of character.
On October 9, 1889, Mr. Wight was married to Miss Ella Adams, who was born in Iowa, a daughter of L. B. and Margaret L. (Chalfant) Adams, the latter of whom was descended from an old English family. Mrs. Wight came to Whatcom county in 1884 to stay with her brothers, Scott and Leonard Adams. She also had tow other brothers, Everett, and W. P. D., who was the first state labor commissioner of Washington and is now living in Seattle. To Mr. and Mrs. Wight have been born three children: Laurel is the wife of Dr. Schultz, of Aberdeen, and the mother of two children, Nancy Anne and Geraldine. The village of Laurel of which Leonard Adams was the first postmaster, was named in her honor. Fay is the wife of Rush Thompson, of Shelby, North Carolina, and the mother of three daughters. Ford M., of Ferndale, was married to Esabel MacDonald, and they have three children, Donald, Gene and Ted. Mr. Wight has ever evinced a commendable interest in everything pertaining to the progress and development of his locality, and after his return from Kansas he served one term as township assessor. Quiet and unostentatious, and seeking the quiet ways of life rather than its tumult and strife, he has ever attended strictly to his won affairs, giving his support when needed to all measures for the betterment of the public welfare. Genial and kindly in all his social relations, he is generous in his attitude toward all worthy benevolent objects, and he has well earned the high place which he now holds in the confidence and regard of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 490-491.
CHARLES O. WILLIAMS
Among the citizens of Ferndale township who have created comfortable homes and surrounded themselves with valuable personal and landed property, stands C. O. Williams. With few opportunities except what his own efforts were capable of creating and with many discouragements to overcome, he has made a splendid success of life and has attained an exalted place in the estimation of his fellow citizens. C. O. Williams is a native of Vienna, Ontario, Canada, born on the 1st of July, 1874, and is a son of John H. and Susan F. (McAnderson) Williams. The father is a native of Ontario, Canada, and the mother was born in Scotland. They are now living on their farmstead in Canada, the father being eighty-four and the mother eighty-two years of age. They are the parents of five children, Rose, C. O., Cecil H., Nora and Mae.
C. O. Williams was reared on the paternal farm and secured his education in the public schools of that locality. He assisted his father, until he was twenty-two years of age, when he was married and went to work in brick yards, which line he followed for seven years. Then for about a year he engaged in farming in Canada, and in May, 1901, came to Whatcom county and was variously employed for seven years. In 1903 he bought forty acres in Ferndale township and applied himself to the task of clearing the land of the brush and stumps with which it was covered. He cleared twenty-five acres and in the course of time created a very comfortable home. He located on the ranch in 1909, erected a full set of farm buildings, substantial and attractive in character, and here he has been engaged in cultivating the soil and in raising poultry. He keeps about two thousand hens, and also milks a few cows, in addition to which he has a fine vegetable garden. Mr. Williams is fortunate in having a bountiful supply of water on his place and has installed a fine electric pumping plant, with the aid of which he may irrigate his farm. Several successive dry seasons have caused a comparative shortage of crops and this condition will now be avoided through irrigation. Mr. Williams is energetic and exercises wise direction in all of his operations, so that he has been able to realize a very fair measure of success from his farm.
On February 19, 1896, Mr. Williams was married to Miss Hattie H. Nickerson, who was born and reared in Canada, the daughter of William Henry and Angeline (Teall) Nickerson, the father a native of England and the mother of Canada. They became successful farmers in Canada, where the father is still living, the mother being deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Williams have been born four children, namely: Mrs. Erie Hansen, who is the mother of a daughter, Mernie; George Lewis, at home, who served in the World war as a member of the One Hundred Forty-second Canadian Infantry, serving four years overseas and sustaining five wounds; Alonzo H., who lives in Bellingham, and Lottie, who is the wife of Forest Loomer and the mother of two sons, Forest, Jr., and Malin B. The first three of these children were born in Canada and the last one in Ferndale township. Mr. Williams is widely recognized as a splendid citizen. His standard is a high one and he maintains it faithfully, being a man of lofty character, sturdy integrity and true to his ideals, such a man that the community is honored by his citizenship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 656-657.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page