Coming to the new world with no assets save youth, energy and determination, Bernhard Anderson has overcome many obstacles by untiring effort, and personal experience has made him familiar with the various phases of pioneer life in the west. He is the owner of one of the valuable farms of Rome township and his life record is written in terms of honor and success. A native of Sweden, he was born February 26, 1863, and his parents, Andrew and Helen Anderson, were lifelong residents of that country. They had two sons, but Andrew, the first born, is deceased.
Bernhard Anderson attended the public schools of Sweden and completed his education in the United States, to which he transferred his allegiance in 1882, when nineteen years of age. He worked on farms in Minnesota and also on a railroad. At Fargo, North Dakota, he was employed in the roundhouse of the Northern Pacific Railroad Company, and he next obtained a position on a large wheat farm near Castleton, that state, where he spent five years. In 1888 he came to Washington, first locating in Tacoma, and at the end of a few months moved to Seattle. For some time he executed contracts for clearing land and in 1889 arrived in Sehome, Washington. For four years he worked in logging camps and sawmills of Whatcom county and afterward was employed in sawmills of Bellingham until 1913. He then came to Rome township and purchased a forty-acre tract on Anderson creek, where he has since made his home. He has twenty acres under cultivation and the balance is in pasture. He raises hay and root crops and keeps a herd of ten cows, all of high grade. His ranch is situated on a paved highway and modern equipment facilitates the work of the fields. He has a comprehensive knowledge of agricultural pursuits and his work in carefully planned and methodically performed.
On December 12, 1901, Mr. Anderson was married to Miss Anna Christianson, who was born in Sweden and came to the United States during her girlhood, arriving in Bellingham in 1892. She is one of a family of seven children whose parents, Christian and Elna (Lofgren) Nelson, were lifelong residents of Sweden. Her father passed away in 1924 and the mother's demise occurred in 1923. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have three children. Elmer E., the eldest, was born February 19, 1903, and is a graduate of the high school at Bellingham. Gladys E., born April 12, 1904, also completed a course in the high school of that city. She afterward attended the State Normal School and is now engaged in Teaching at Okanogan, Washington. Her sister, Evelyn C., was born November 4, 1907, and after her graduation from the Harmony high school entered the State Normal College at Bellingham, which she is now attending.
Mr. Anderson is a man of progressive ideas and an ardent champion of good roads and improved educational facilities. He is a strong advocate of the Grange and believes thoroughly in co-operation among farmers, realizing the value of concerted effort. He is treasurer of the Rome Grange and a charter member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He served for three years on the township board and for eight years was connected with the Bellingham fire department. He has exerted his powers as readily for the public good as for his own aggrandizement, and his life record serves to illustrate what constitutes good citizenship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 666-667.
HOMER J. BIRNEY, M. D.
Dr. Homer J. Birney, a highly esteemed member of Ferndale's medical fraternity, has back of him many years of professional experience and enjoys the distinction of being the oldest practicing physician in Whatcom county. He was born at Cadiz, Ohio, in 1855. His parents, Hamilton and Rachel (McKee) Birney, migrated to Illinois in 1878, settling on a farm, which the father converted into an attractive and desirable property, supplied with many modern improvements.
In preparation for a professional career Dr. Birney entered Rush Medical College of Chicago and was graduated with the class of 1882. He opened an office at Heyworth, Illinois, in 1882 and there spent eight years. In 1890 he located in Whatcom, Washington, which was then a pioneer district, and his was the first buggy brought to the county. For twenty-seven years he followed his profession in Whatcom and his scientific knowledge and superior skill brought him patients from a wide area. Throughout life Dr. Birney has been a constant and untiring student, ever seeking a higher field of usefulness, and his learning has been broadened by postgraduate work in Chicago, in Johns Hopkins University at Baltimore, Maryland, and also in the medical centers of Europe. He remained abroad for a year and since 1917 has practiced in Ferndale, owning a farm near the town. While a general practitioner, he has done much surgical work and performed the first Caesarean operation in the county.
In 1883 Dr. Birney married Miss Mae Kelley, of Normal, Illinois, and their
union was severed by her death in
1916 . She had become
the mother of one child, Ethel L., who is now the wife of Fred E. Laube,
of Bellingham. On the 4th of July, 1922, the Doctor married Miss Sophia Richards,
whose family have lived in Ferndale for many years. She is very prominent
Dr. Birney takes the interest of a good citizen in public affairs and for two terms was a member of the Whatcom school board. He is a Royal Arch Mason and is also connected with the Fraternal Order of Eagles. He served two terms as president of the Whatcom County Medical Society and is also a member of the Washington State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. Dr. Birney is a distinguished exponent of his profession, and his affable manner, cheerful disposition and kind heart have won for him strong and enduring friendship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 543.
I. B. CARMAN
It is proper to judge of a man's life by the esteem in which he is held by his fellow citizens, who witness his conduct in all the relations of society, business and public affairs and are therefore competent to judge of his character. In this connection it is not too much to say that I. B. Carman, of Nooksack, has ever stood high in the esteem of his neighbors and acquaintances, for his conduct has been honorable in all the relations of life, his duties as a citizen have been well performed and in business he has been successful and enterprising. Mr. Carman is a native of Mason county, Illinois, his birth occurring on the 25th of September, 1848, and his is the only survivor of the eight children who blessed the union of Israel and Charity (Curry) Carman, both of whom were natives of New York state. During the big cholera epidemic of 1833, the father took his family to Illinois, floating down the Ohio river by boat to the Mississippi and then being towed up that river to Bath, on the Illinois river, in Mason county, and there he spent the remainer of his life, his death occurring in 1848. After his death the family moved to Nebraska, the mother buying a ranch in Johnson county, where she spent her remaining days, passing away in 1872.
I. B. Carman was educated in the public schools of Mason county, Illinois, and was reared to the liffe of a farmer, which occupation he followed in Illinois, Nebraska and Missouri. He had learned the carpenter's trade and also followed that line of work to some extent. In 1889 he sold out his interests and came to Nooksack, Whatcom county, where he went to work as foreman of building operations for M. J. Heney, a big railroad contractor, and Mr. Carman practically built the town of Nooksack. In 1893 he bought thirty acres of heavily timbered land, two miles north of Nooksack, to the improvement of which he applied himself with vigor and energy. He built a good house, created a good farm and lived there until 1919, when he moved to a small farm at Nooksack which he had purchased in 1910. He has this place largely planted to berries, and also raises berries on his other farm, deriving a very satisfactory income from this source. His field crops are mainly hay and peas, which he feeds to the fine herd of dairy cattle which he keeps. He has been an active worker and has accomplished much in the way of improvements. He was the first public auctioneer in Whatcom county, and during the years since he entered this line he has had charge of many public sales and sold many farms and stores, as well as other property.
Mr. Carman was first married to Miss Mellisa Towns, of Nebraska, a daughter of J. Towns, and to them was born a son, J. W., a native of Missouri. He (J. W.) has been twice married, having by the first union two children, Jessie and Lena, and two by the second, Margaret and Conrad, and he now lives in Spokane, Washington. On July 4, 1893, I. B. Carman was married to Miss Kate Bulmer, who was born in Darlington, England, a daughter of John and Jane (Morrell) Bulmer, both of whom also were natives of that country, the father born October 16, 1835, and the mother October 27, 1831. Jane Morrell was long a favorite servant in the household of Lord Byron, the poet. John Bulmer was proud of the fact that he had thrown a railroad switch on the Darlington & Stockton Railroad for the first locomotive built in England. He was a tailor by trade and followed that calling in England until 1870, when he came to the United States, locating in Clay county, Kansas, where he homesteaded eighty acres of land, to which he later added by purchase eighty acres. To the improvement and cultivation of this tract he devoted himself until 1891, when he came to Whatcom county, locating in Nooksack, where he spent his remaining years, his death occurring in 1900. To him and his wife were born the following children: John, G. D., Thomas, deceased; Joseph, who lives in Bellingham; Emma, the wife of Fred W. Handy, of Nooksack; and Mrs. Kate Carman. To Mr. and Mrs. Carman have been born three children, namely: Mrs. Margaret Johnson, born January 16, 1898, who lives at Clearbrook; Thomas Benjamin, born November 18, 1899, who remains at home; and Mrs. Annie E. Cloud, born October 7, 1901, who is the mother of two children, Elsie Margaret, born July 15, 1922, and Donald C., born February 12, 1925.
While Mr. Carman has so conducted his individual affairs in such a manner
as to gain a comfortable competence for himself, he also belongs to that
class of representative men of affairs who promote the public welfare while
advancing individual success. He possesses to a marked degree those sterling
traits of character which command uniform confidence and regard, and no man
in the community stands higher in the good will and esteem of the people
Note: According to his obit I. B. Carman and his first wife were the parents of seven children.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 163-164.
BENJAMIN FRANKLIN DOYLE
This vital, progressive age is one that demands of men distinctive initiative power if they are to attain success worthy the name, and in addition to this power is required self-reliance, determination and consecutive application in the pursuit of a definite purpose. All these attributes have been exemplified in the career of Benjamin F. Doyle, who has gained success and prestige in the agricultural world and who is distinctively the architect of his own fortunes. Mr. Doyle was born in Schuyler county, Illinois, on the 27th of February, 1863, and is a son of George Washington and Susan F. (Corbin) Doyle, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Illinois. The father was a farmer by vocation and was a man of sterling character, who commanded the respect of his fellow citizens. He died in December, 1869, and his wife passed away in October, 1872. They were the parents of ten children, namely: Martha, deceased, William Herbert, James P., deceased, John, Ellen, deceased, Nancy, deceased, Benjamin F., George M., Lucy and Fannie, deceased.
Benjamin F. Doyle is indebted to the public schools of his home neighborhood in Illinois for his educational training. He remained in that locality until 1878, when he went to Trinidad, Colorado, where for two years he was employed as a cook in hotels, later following that same occupation in New Mexico. He then went to Arizona and from there went to Salt Lake City, where for a few months he worked for the Oregon Shortline Railroad. He was next at Portland, Oregon, for a few months and then went to California, where he remained about eighteen months. In 1884 he returned to Portland and in the following year went to Tacoma, Washington, where he worked at hop picking for Ezra Meeker, the most noted pioneer of the northwest, whose farm was located at Puyallup. He then returned to Tacoma, where he was employed as a cook for eighteen months, and also cooked for the workmen who built the state asylum at Steilacoom, Washington.
In 1887 Mr. Doyle came to Whatcom county and filed on one hundred and sixty acres of land two miles east of Sumas. The tract was covered with timber and undergrowth and to the clearing of this land he at once applied himself with vigor, after building a small log house, which is still standing. He has lived on this place continuously to the present time, having cleared about forty-five acres of the land, and has developed a splendid farm. He has given special attention to dairying and has at times milked as many as thirty cows. At the present time, however, he keeps only six cows. Hay and grain are his principal crops, though he also raises some sugar beets. A part of the land is now leased and he is taking things more leisurely than in former days, being in comfortable financial circumstances and able to enjoy the fruits of his years of earnest and unremitting labor. During his entire career here there was only one break in his devotion to his farm work, when, in November, 1897, he went to the Klondike gold fields, where he remained until July 4, 1900. In addition to his home farm, he also owns three hundred and twenty acres of land in Franklin county, eastern Washington.
Mr. Doyle has never married, and his niece, Mrs. Jessie Capronia, keeps house for him. She has a son, Grant A. Capronia, who is now a student in the Sumas high school. Mr. Doyle has been a good citizen, giving earnest support to all measures for the advancement or improvement of the community and giving generously to all worthy benevolences. Kindly and hospitable, he has long held an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 513-514.
For almost thirty years prior to his death in the summer of 1920 David Dunagan had been one of the well established and public-spirited farmers and citizens of Whatcom county, having been the proprietor of a well kept place in Mountain View township, rural mail route No. 3 out of Ferndale, where his widow still resides. At his passing he left a good memory in the community of which he long had been a part and in the development of which he had been a conspicuous contributing factor. It is but proper, therefore, that in this definite history of the country in which he long ago had chosen to make his home there should appear some review of his life and services as a slight tribute to that memory.
Mr. Dunagan was born near St. Joseph, Missouri, November 18, 1858, and he died at his home in Whatcom county, July 14, 1920, when in his sixty-second year. He was a son of J. F. and Mary (Milam) Dunagan, the latter of whom was born in Virginia, a member of one of the colonial families of the Old Dominion. J. F. Dunagan was a native of Missouri and a member of one of the pioneer families of that state. His parents had settled there upon moving from Tennessee, of which latter state they were pioneers. When but a lad David Dunagan moved with his parents from Missouri to Texas, and after residing for a time in that state the family moved to Washington county, Arkansas. His education was completed in the Arkansas State University, and for some years he was engaged during the winters as a teacher in the public schools of that state. In 1891, two years after his marriage, Mr. Dunagan came to Whatcom county and established his home on a tract of forty acres, a part of the Eldridge place in Mountain View township, and there he spent the remainder of his life. When he took over the place it was wholly unimproved, not a stick of timber having been cut, and he thus had before him the task of clearing and improving the tract. With commendable forethought he left about five acres of timber standing, and the Dunagan farm is thus adorned with a beautiful grove. In addition to his general farming, Mr. Dunagan gave considerable attention also to dairying and poultry raising, and he soon came to be recognized as one of the progressive farmers of the neighborhood. In his later years, as he began to relax from the more arduous labors of the farm, he became engaged as mail carrier on rural mail route No. 1 out of Ferndale and for thirteen years prior to his death was the carrier on that route. He was one of the best known men in the whole countryside. Mr. Dunagan was an ardent member of the Baptist church, as is his widow, and ever took an earnest part in church activities. He was also for some years a member of the school board in his district and was one of the leaders in the promotion of the school system in that part of the county.
It was on January 16, 1889, in Washington county, Arkansas, that Mr. Dunagan was united in marriage to Miss Emma Fulgham who, with their twelve children, survives him, and she is still living on the home farm, the operations of which are now being conducted under the general direction of her third son, James Dunagan. All of the other children are graduates of the State Normal School at Bellingham and several are now engaged in teaching. The eldest of the children, Miss Lucinda Dunagan, married Mathew Killingsworth and is now living in Garfield county. David F. Dunagan, the eldest son, is married and is living at Warland, Montana, where he is engaged in teaching. Miss Dessie May Dunagan, the second daughter, has been for some years engaged in teaching and is now (1926) finishing an advanced course in pedogogics in the Washington State University. Anna f. Dunagan, the next daughter, married Guy Fanning and resides in Garfield county. Albert Dunagan, the second son, is married and is now living at Whitefish, Montana, where he is engaged in the hardware business. The Misses Elizabeth and Lillian Dunagan (twins) are members of the teaching staff of the Whatcom county public schools. Miss Maud Dunagan also is a teacher, as are Fred Dunagan, the fourth son, who is teaching in Warland, Montana, and Miss Maybelle Dunagan, who is a teacher in the Cosmopolis schools in Grays Harbor county, this state. Miss Genevieve Dunagan, the last born of this interesting family, also is prepared for teaching service, being a graduate of the State Normal School in Bellingham.
Mrs. Dunagan was born in Arkansas and is a daughter of Elias and Mary (Garrison) Fulgham, both of whom were born in Tennessee. The Fulghams of this line in America are an old colonial family and were among the pioneers in the settlement of Kentucky in the days when that "dark and bloody ground" was part of the Old Dominion (Virginia). The Garrisons also are an old American family and were among the pioneers in Tennessee when that commonwealth was being prepared for settlement.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 124-125.
HENRY C. EHLERS
No name from the annals of the past in Whatcom county is more worthy of perpetuation on the pages of his county's history than is that of Henry C. Ehlers, whose death, which occurred May 2, 1924, was considered a distinct loss to the community which had been honored by his citizenship. He was a man of sterling character and forceful personality, a close reader and a deep thinker - a man of definite influence among those with whom he was brought in contact, and a man who at all times commanded the sincere respect of all who knew him. Mr. Ehlers was was a native of Germany, born on the 19th of November, 1853, and was a son of Frederick and Mary (Bennett) Ehlers, who spent their lives and died in that country.
Henry C. Ehlers attended the excellent public schools of his native land, where he remained until 1867, when he emigrated to the United States, landing at New York city. There he remained for three or four years, being employed as a clerk in a store, and during that period he acquired a quick command of the English language and mastered other studies by attending night school. In 1870 Mr. Ehlers made the trip across the continent to Sacramento, California, where for a few years he worked as a blacksmith and on farms. About 1873 he came to Washington, remaining in this state about a year and then went back to California, where he stayed but a short time. About 1880 he came to Whatcom county and took up a preemption claim to one hundred and sixty acres near Clearbrook, located on it and paid it out. In 1884 he sold that tract to his brother-in-law and took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres one mile west of Clearbrook, in section 6. He at once built a log house and bent his energies to the tremendous task of clearing the land. In 1894 he buildings were destroyed by the great forest fire of that year, but he immediately rebuilt them and continued to operate the farm until 1911, when he sold out and went to New York. After a stay of six months there, he returned to Whatcom county and bought one hundred and thirty-six acres of land at Glen Echo, two miles east of Everson. He remained there a few years and then sold out and bought twenty acres of land on the Boundary road, west of Clearbrook. Soon afterward he went to Alabama, where he remained about a year, and on his return to Whatcom county made his home near his son Fred until his death. He is survived by his widow, who now makes her home with her son James.
Mr. Ehlers was married, in August, 1885, to Miss Nancy Dobbs, who was born in Texas, a daughter of James and Ann (Easrus) Dobbs, both of whom were natives of the state of Arkansas. Mr. Dobbs was a pioneer settler in Texas, where he was successfully engaged in the stock business, running a big band of cattle. He was a resident of Texas from 1861 to 1883, when he went to Oklahoma and was engaged in farming until his death, which occurred in 1885. His wife passed away in January, 1861. To Mr. and Mrs. Ehlers were born four children, namely: Frederick, born May 12, 1886; James born October 15, 1887; John, who was born April 7, 1889, and died June 3, 1899; and Mrs. Laura Campbell. James Ehlers on thirty acres of the old homestead, which he and his mother own together. He is a high school graduate and is a thoroughly practical farmer, in which vocation he is meeting with splendid success. He pays considerable attention to dairying and raises excellent crops of hay, which he feeds to his own stock. He is also successful as a berry raiser, disposing of the fruit to canneries. He was married to Miss Adele Higginson and they are the parents of five children, namely: William, born June 6, 1914; Mary, born July 8, 1915; Arlene born December 10, 1917; Vera, born September 5, 1919; and Patricia, born March 17, 1924.
Henry C. Ehlers was a man of more than ordinary mental vigor. He was a deep student, especially of scientific subjects, and a few years before his death published a scientific work entitled, "The Mechanism of Nature," a work which in depth of thought and understanding of the forces of nature is considered to be twenty years ahead of its time. Though quiet and unassuming in manner, he nevertheless left an indelible impress on the minds of all with whom he came in contact, and his opinions were highly valued by those who had the privilege of intimate association with him. He was distinguished for his honesty, firmness of character and intelligence. A public-spirited citizen, he was ready at all times to use his means and influence for the promotion of the comfort and happiness of his fellowmen, and there was probably not another man in the vicinity in which he lived who was held in higher esteem by the people, regardless of sect, politics or profession. Measured by its accomplishment, its beneficence and its helpful optimism, the life of Mr. Ehlers had wide and emphatic significance, and his memory remains a blessed benediction on all who came within the range of his influence.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 478-481.
THOMAS R. ELLWOOD
Coming to Washington in territorial days, Thomas R. Ellwood had advanced with the progress of the state, never fearing that laborious efforts which is the basis of all success, and as one of the pioneer agriculturists and public-spirited citizens of Rome township he is widely known and highly respected. A native of England, he was born April 20, 1859, in Cumberland county, which abounds in lakes and streams and rolling farm lands and is one of the most picturesque and beautiful sections of that country. His parents were William and Margaret (Routledge) Ellwood, the former of whom reached the venerable age of ninety-two years, passing away in June, 1925, while the latter's demise occurred in 1919. Their lives were spent in England, and eight children were born to them, seven sons and a daughter, all of whom are living.
Thomas R. Ellwood attended the public schools of his native land, and after his education was completed he was employed along various lines. In March, 1884, when a young man of twenty-four, he responded to the call of the new world, and after his arrival in the United States he started for Tacoma, Washington. He spent some time in the Puget Sound country, finding employment in the lumber woods and in 1887 came to Whatcom and for about ten years worked in the woods, cutting timber by the cord. About 1888 he had purchased eighty acres of land in section six, Rome township, the tract being covered with timber and brush, and about 1897 he moved out to the ranch, on which he built a small house. He diligently applied himself to the task of developing the place, on which there is a fine grove of fir and cedar trees, and has cleared about twenty-five acres. He has a herd of six pure bred Jerseys and his principal crop is hay. He has made a thorough study of agricultural conditions in this region and knows the best methods of coping with them. His farm is well equipped and the work is systematically conducted.
On December 18, 1887, Mr. Ellwood married Miss Marilda Orchard, who was a native of Oregon, and their union was severed by her death on the 5th of March, 1905. She had become the mother of three children. The eldest, Mrs. Mary M. Condit, was born June 8, 1889, and makes her home in Oregon. She has two children, Maxine and Vivian, while Lawrence, the first born, is deceased. William M., the brother of Mrs. Condit, was born December 25, 1892, and resides in Los Angeles, California. He is married and has a son, Richard. Alice was born February 24, 1905, and is a graduate of the Harmony high school. In 1911 Mr. Ellwood was united in marriage to Miss Lena Wither, who was born in eastern Washington and passed away April 5, 1918. They became the parents of a daughter, Catherine Dorcas, who was born July 13, 1912, and is attending grammar school.
Mr. Ellwood enjoys the social side of life and is known to his many friends at "Tom." He possesses a generous, sympathetic nature and is constantly performing acts of kindness, being ever ready to aid those in need. He served for twenty-three years as school director and from the time the township was formed has acted as clerk of the board of supervisors. His long retention in the office is an eloquent testimonial to his worth, and no resident of the district has evinced a deeper interest in its welfare and progress.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 857-858.
HARRY A. GATES
Harry A. Gates is one of the progressive agriculturists of Deming township, to which he came as a pioneer, and he has also done important work in the field of public service. He was born March 30, 1868, in Cambria county, Pennsylvania, and his parents, H. A. and Mary Ann (Noel) Gates, were likewise natives of that state, in which both passed away. The father was a log scaler, and he fought for the Union during the dark days of the Civil war.
The public schools of the Keystone state afforded Harry A. Gates his educational opportunities, and in 1888, when a young man of twenty, he journeyed to the west, spending a year in Colorado. In 1889 he came to Whatcom county and entered a homestead in Deming township. It was covered with timber, and no roads or bridges had been constructed in this isolated district. He proved up on his claim and after years of unremitting toil converted the tract into a fertile farm, on which he built a substantial home and good barns, installing modern appliances to expedite the work of the fields. Mr. Gates retains sixty acres of the original property, on which he now operates a dairy and is also raising poultry for the market. He is a firm believer in scientific methods, and prosperity has attended his well directed efforts.
In 1892 Mr. Gates was married to Miss Caroline C. Riddle, a native of Texas, and their union was severed by her death in June, 1925. Her parents, J. W. and Susan Riddle, came to Deming township in 1887 and cast their lot with the early settlers of this district, the father taking up a homestead. To Mr. and Mrs. Gates were born six children. Anne, the eldest, is the wife of Edward Kline, the owner of a ranch in Deming township, and their family numbers six children. Guy, who operates a farm in this township, is also married and has three children. The others are: Harry, who is connected with the logging industry; Etta, who married Patrick Maguire and lives in Tacoma; Susan, at home; and Dorothea, who is attending the public schools.
Mr. Gates casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party and has a high conception of the duties and responsibilities of citizenship. He was township supervisor for several years, exerting his influence to secure many needed improvements, and for twenty years was a member of the school board, doing much to advance the standard of education in this locality. He is a member of the Grange, the Poultry Producers Association of Whatcom County and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Mr. Gates has labored effectively for the public good and enjoys in a marked degree that reward of the honest, upright citizen - the respect and confidence of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 278-281.
CHARLES R. GRAHAM
Commercial activity in Bellingham has been stimulated by the well directed efforts of Charles R. Graham, who has made the drug business the ladder by which he has climbed to success. A son of John and Emily Jane (Clapp) Graham, he was born in 1870 and is a native of Wayland, Michigan. The father was engaged in the grocery business in that state and in 1888 migrated to the Pacific coast, becoming a dealer in vehicles at New Whatcom, Washington, where he spent the remainder of his life. He responded to the final summons in 1913 and the mother passed away in 1903.
Charles R. Graham attended grammar and high schools of his native state and on starting out in life for himself secured a position as drug clerk. He found the work congenial and eagerly availed himself of every opportunity to learn the business, ow which he has made a life study. The Owl Pharmacy, of which he is now the proprietor, was established prior to 1889 by L. M. Hoag and L. De Champlain, who operated the business until 1899, when C. R. Graham purchased a half interest in the store, assuming the duties of manager. In 1907 Mr. De Champlain sold his stock in the concern to John A. Munch, whose share was acquired by the subject of this sketch in 1912. J. A. and H. H. Graham were also financially interested in the business. The latter passed away in 1919. C. R. Graham is the present owner and under his expert direction the business has rapidly expanded. In 1923 he opened branch stores in Cromwell and Magnolia, Washington, and his well known reliability has constituted one of the chief factors in the attainment of his success. He is an enterprising merchant and a capable executive whose plans are carefully formulated and promptly carried into effect.
In 1896 Mr. Graham was married, in Bellingham, to Miss Emma F. Sobers, a native of Kalamazoo, Michigan, and three children were born to them. Robert Lewis, the eldest, studied pharmacy and is now associated with his father in business. He is married and has three children. His brother, Frederick Albertson, is a student in the pharmaceutical department of the University of Washington, clerking in his father's store during vacation periods; and the sister, Mary Helen, is at home. Mr. Graham is allied with the republican party and has served as school trustee, taking a deep interest in educational matters. He has been one of the trustees of the Chamber of Commerce for several years and has served the Rotary Club in a similar capacity. He enjoys golf and is one of the popular members of the Bellingham Country Club. He belongs to Bellingham Bay Lodge, No. 31, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and is also identified with the Woodmen of the World and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. His advancement is not due to a fortunate combination of circumstances, but is the direct and legitimate result of his own efforts, and his fellow citizens attest his worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 922-923.
FRED E. HENSPETER
Among the successful farmers and public-spirited and popular citizens of northwestern Whatcom county, none takes precedence over Fred E. Henspeter, to whom belongs the additional distinction of being a native son of this locality. He comes of sterling old pioneer ancestry, his father having been one of the active participants in the splendid work of development in this locality over a considerable period of years. Mr. Henspeter was born at Birch Bay on the 8th of October, 1872, and is a son of Henry and Dorothy (Herbst) Henspeter, the former of whom was born in Schwerin, Germany, of a family of generations of farmers, while the mother was born in Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Germany, her father being a farmer and stone mason.
Fred E. Henspeter received his education in the public schools of his home township and than had ten weeks at the Northwest Normal School at Lynden. Since leaving school he has devoted himself closely too the operation of the farm, in which he has shown himself a most capable and up-to-date agriculturist, maintaining the farm at a high standard of improvement and raising splendid crops of such products as are usually grown in this locality.
In 1903 Mr. Henspeter was married to Miss Genevieve O. Lafond, who was born and reared in Scranton, Mississippi, a daughter of Godfrey Lafond, who is a native of Quebec, Canada, and is now living at the old soldiers' home in Orting. To Mr. and Mrs. Henspeter have been born three children, namely: Lenore, who lives in Bellingham; Winston C., who is in the United States navy; and Jessie G., who is at home. Fraternally Mr. Henspeter is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and the Grange. He has taken an active part in township affairs, having served for four years as clerk of the township, one year as treasurer and six years as assessor, while in many other ways he has shown a commendable and effective interest in the material, civic and moral progress of the community. He is a well educated man, through years of close and studious reading, and is a lover of books, possessing a splendid library of the old classics and the best of current works, among which he spends many enjoyable hours. He is a companionable man and an interesting conversationalist, kindly and affable in all his social relations, and few men in this locality are held in such high esteem.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 188.
Henry Henspeter was born in Schwerin, Germany and came to the United States
in 1849 locating in Pennsylvania, where he remained about six months, then
moved to Illinois, where he was engaged in farming for about five years.
In 1854 or 1855 he made the long overland trip, with ox teams, to California,
and for about three years was engaged in gold mining. He then returned, by
way of the Isthmus of Panama, to Illinois, where he bought eighty acres of
land in Cook county. He was married to Dorothy Herbst and remained on that
farm until 1870, when he went to Indiana and was engaged in the sawmill
and lumber business for a time. In 1871 he came to San Francisco, California,
on one of the first through trains, and from there by boat to Puget sound.
He first located at Steilacoom, later went to Seattle, and finally took up
a homestead on Fidalgo island, where he remained about six months, but did
not prove up on the land. In the meantime he had purchased property at Birch
Bay amounting to six hundred and thirty acres of raw and uncleared land.
He came to this place by water from Whatcom, B. H. Bruns and he chartering
a vessel, and he at once entered upon the task of clearing his land and getting
it into cultivation. He was an indefatigable worker and by perservering industry
succeeded in clearing about seventy-five acres, with the assistance of his
sons, and developed it into a fertile and productive farmstead, now one of
the best in this section of the county. He was a man of sound judgment and
keen foresight and had a well founded vision of the wonderful possibilities
of this section of the country, backing up his faith by his works. He was
a man of wide general information, having received a good education in his
native land, but though he talked English very well he never learned to read
that language. He was deeply interested in the welfare of his adopted homeland
and contributed in every possible way to the advancement and progress of
his community. His death occurred August 6, 1914, and his wife died December
To Henry and Dorothy Henspeter were born ten children, namely: Rose, who is married and has one child; Captain Louis, of Bellingham, who is married and has one child; Henry C., who lives near Tacoma; Ann, who is the wife of Byron Kingsley, of Blaine; August, deceased; Mrs. "Beany" Berryault, of Seattle; Emma, the wife of Richard P. Roberts; Fred E., who is the father of 3 children; Frank, of Mount Vernon, Washington, who is the father of six children; and Mrs. Carrie Mallott, of San Francisco.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 188.
The basic principles of practically all American institutions are English, and no people who have come to this country have so affected the destinies of the nation as have the English. They have proved to be the best of our foreign-born citizens, have been true to our institutions and have bravely defended our country in time of danger. Among the Englishmen who have proven potent factors in the development of Whatcom county is Harry Hinton, one of the successful and enterprising farmers and public-spirited citizens of Nooksack township. He was born in Lincolnshire, England, on the 18th of November, 1867, and is a son of H. W. and Mary Ann (Mitchell) Hinton, both of whom also were born in England, the father in March, 1842, and the mother in 1844. H. W. Hinton came to the United States in 1868, locating first in Wisconsin, where he remained two years, going from there to Iowa, where he followed his trade, that of a carpenter. In 1879 he came to Spokane, Washington, and bought a quarter section of land from the Northern Pacific Railroad. He cultivated this tract for twelve years and then, in 1891, sold it and coming to the Nooksack valley, Whatcom county, bought one hundred and sixty acres, four miles north of Everson. He applied himself to the task of clearing the land of the timber and brush which encumbered it and in the course of time developed a fine farm, on which he lived until 1910, when he retired, and he is now living in Bellingham, at the age of eighty-three years. His wife died in December, 1889. They were the parents of eleven children, of which number six survive, namely: Harry, Susan, William, Robert, Albert and Minnie.
Harry Hinton attended the public schools in Spokane county and then devoted himself to assisting his father until his marriage. In 1891 he had purchased forty acres of raw land, three miles north of Everson, and after his marriage he settled on this tract, to the clearing and improvement of which he devoted himself. He had learned the carpenter's trade, and to some extent he worked at that vocation for a number of years. He then devoted himself exclusively to his farming operations, built a small house, and was soon on the road to success. In 1906 he bought twenty acres adjoining his farm and is now the owner of sixty acres of good fertile land, thirty acres of which are under the plow, the remainder being in pasture and timber. Mr. Hinton keeps twelve good grade Jersey cows and a team of horses, and he devotes his arable land mainly to hay, grain and beans. He also has a good size berry patch and keeps about four hundred laying hens. He raises many varieties of fruit, of which Mrs. Hinton keeps a well stocked cellar, and they have a splendid vegetable garden, the table being thus well supplied.
On July 2, 1896, Mr. Hinton was married to Miss Augusta Smith, who was born in Wisconsin, a daughter of G. D. and Rose (Bowen) Smith, the former a native of New York state and the latter of Wisconsin. Mr. Smith came to Whatcom county in 1888 and homesteaded forty acres of land four and a half miles north of Everson. His first house there wa built of split cedar lumber. He cleared off about half of the land, was successful in his farming operations and lived there until his death on July 17, 1906. His wife is still living there. They were the parents of four children: Augusta, Esther, Maude, deceased, and Warren. To Mr. and Mrs. Hinton have been born seven children: Mrs. Ida Sollenger, born May 22, 1897, is the mother of four children - Edna, born August 30, 1919, Joseph, born December 2, 1921; Betty, born December 30, 1923; and Phyllis, born August 3, 1925. George, born January 26, 1899, is at home and has taken over the active management of the home farm. Robert, born March 11, 1902, was married to Miss Margaret Kirkman, and they have two children - Alvin Gene, born December 13, 1921; and Wilma, born November 2, 1923. Mrs. Helen Hannah, whose husband is instructor in manual training in the Nooksack high school, was born February 16, 1904, and is the mother of a son, Kedric, born March 15, 1925. Edna, born September 3, 1906, died August 8, 1925. Leo was born July 12, 1910, and Warren was born September 3, 1919.
Mr. Hinton is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has taken an active part in local public affairs, and he helped organize the township board of supervisors, of which he was a member for six years. He also served for six years as a member of the board of school directors. He earnestly supports every measure calculated to advance the best interests of the community along material, civic or moral lines and has long been considered one of the most substantial and influential citizens of the community. He is a man of broad general information and sound opinions on the public questions of the day, and his personal character has never been questioned.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 484-485.
HAKAN O. HOVANDER
The memory of the late H. O. Hovander, whose death occurred July 20, 1915, is revered by a host of friends and acquaintances among whom he labored, for in all the relations of life he proved signally true to to every trust. He was known as a true friend, a good farmer and a careful and able business man and one whose integrity of purpose was beyond question. He was born at Malma, Sweden, on the 6th of December, 1841, and was a son of Olaf Oleson and Elna (Person) Hovander, both of whom were natives and lifelong residents of that country.
H. O. Hovander was educated in the public schools of his native land and when twenty-one years of age came to the United States, locating first in Chicago, Illinois, where he obtained employment as a bricklayer, helping to rebuild the city after the big fire of 1871. He then returned to his native land, where he remained a few years, after which he again came to this country, a short time later returning to Sweden a second time. He was married there in 1879 and located in Stockholm, where he became an architect contractor and builder. In 1886 he brought his family to the United States and located at Los Angeles, California, remaining there two years, at the end of that time returning once more to Sweden, where he lived until 1896. In the hope of regaining his failing health he then went to Auckland, New Zealand, where he remained about six months, after which he came to the United States and located in Seattle, Washington, where he lived about a year. He then came to Ferndale, Whatcom county, and bought one hundred acres of land. This land he cleared and put under cultivation, creating a splendid homestead, and here he spent the remainder of his days, meeting with success in his operations and gaining a high place in the esteem and regard of all who knew him. In connection with his farming activities he also conducted a dairy, keeping about thirty head of cattle, and he likewise had about three hundred chickens. In 1898 he built a comfortable and attractive residence and made many other good improvements. In addition to the raising of hay and grain he gave considerable attention to the raising of sugar beets, for which his soil was well adapted, it being rich bottom land. He was essentially a man of affairs, sound of judgment and farseeing in what he undertook, possessing concentration of purpose and energy. To these qualities were added scrupulous integrity and uprightness in all his dealings. He was kindly and generous in his relations with others and possessed excellent traits of character, and his memory is an honored one.
Mr. Hovander was married in 1879 to Miss Leontine Louisa Leaf, a native of Sweden and a daughter of Golian and Louise (Larson) Leaf, both also natives of Sweden, where they spent their entire lives. Mr. and Mrs. Hovander became the parents of seven children: Hugo, who was born in Stockholm, Sweden, July 11, 1880, now lives in Bellingham, Whatcom county. He is married and has three children, George, Karl and Le Ella. Mrs. Elsa Stromee, born in Stockholm, Sweden, July 10, 1882, is the mother of a daughter, Eloise, born September 2, 1918. Otis, born in Stockholm, July 21, 1884, now lives at home with his mother, and he is a member of the Knights of Pythias at Ferndale. Angelo, born in Stockholm, August 21, 1889, is married and has a son, Harland, born December 22, 1922. Charlie, born in Stockholm, May 23, 1893, lives at home. During the World war he served overseas with the American forces and is now a member of the American Legion. Mrs. Ada Juvet, who was born at Malma, Sweden, is the mother of a daughter, Lorraine, born February 24, 1924. Vera, born in Ferndale, July 22, 1899, holds a splendid position in Bellingham. Mrs. Hovander is a member of the county Grange. Her two sons, Otis and Charlie, are now operating the ranch and are ably carrying forward the work so well inaugurated by their father. They are good business men and are energetic and progressive in their methods.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 158-159.
Energy is the key which unlocks the portals of success and perseverance constitutes the path to prosperity. Possessing these qualities in abundance, David Ireland has steadily progressed toward the goal fixed by his ambition and his name has long been an honored one in business circles of Bellingham, which for thirty-eight years has numbered him among its loyal citizens. He was born in Quebec, Canada, in 1864, and his parents, Francis and Mary Ireland, migrated in later life to the States, settling in Iowa. There the father was engaged in farming until death terminated his labors. The mother is still living.
David Ireland received a public school education and remained at home until he reached the age of seventeen, assisting his father in the cultivation of the soil. He began his business career as a clerk in a grocery store in Quebec and in 1887, when a young man of twenty-three, came to the state of Washington. He spent about a year in the city of Seattle and then located in Whatcom, becoming manager of the grocery store of Harrington & Smith. He filled that position for a year and in 1889 purchased the business in partnership with Albert Pancoast, with whom he has since been associated. They operated the store on West Holly street for twenty years and then moved to their present location at No. 1321 Commercial street, occupying a building thirty by one hundred and twenty-five feet in dimensions. They carry a full line of staple and fancy groceries, and the business is the oldest in the town. The firm has always followed a policy of honorable, straightforward dealing and each year has chronicled a marked increase in the volume of its trade.
In 1897 Mr. Ireland married Miss Laura C. Korthauer, formerly a teacher in the Whatcom schools, and David Kenneth, their only child, supplemented his public school education by a course in the Oregon Agricultural College. He belongs to its Alumni Association and is now in the employ of the Standard Oil Company. Mr. Ireland is one of the influential members of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce and exercises his right of franchise in support of the candidates of the republican party, while his fraternal affiliations are with the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He has fought life's battles unaided, developing that strength of character which never fails to win admiration and respect.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 393.
WALTER J. JEFFRIES
Unfailing energy and mental alertness are an executive's chief requirements, and being well endowed with these qualities, Walter J. Jeffries has won and retained a place of prominence in manufacturing circles of Bellingham. He was born February 24, 1886, in Newark, New Jersey, and is a son of Alfred and Elizabeth Jeffries, the former a jewelry broker.
After the completion of his public school course Walter J. Jeffries learned the jewelry business under the direction of his father and for some time was in the employ of Tiffany & Company of New York city. He also worked for the American Watch Case Company and then went to Canada. He was connected with the jewelry business at Fernie, British Columbia, and at Calgary, Alberta. At Vancouver, British Columbia, Mr. Jeffries began the manufacture of jewelry, and in 1921 he returned to his native land, establishing a factory in Bellingham, where he has since made his home. The output of his plant is sold to the retail stores and constitutes a fine example of skill in the goldsmith's art. He has a comprehensive understanding of the business, of which he has made a life study, and through wise management and honorable methods is rapidly building up an important industry.
In 1910 Mr. Jeffries was united in marriage to Miss Evelyn Murray, of Ottawa, Canada, and they have four children: Frank, Audrey, and Fred and John, twins. Mr. Jeffries gives his political allegiance to the republican party and is a member of the Lions Club and the Knights of Pythias. With efficiency as his watchword he has steadily progressed toward unqualified respect of Bellingham's business men.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 170.
There could be no more comprehensive history written of a community than that which deals with the life work of those who, by their own endeavor and indomitable energy, have placed themselves where they well deserve the title of "enterprising and progressive," and in this sketch will be found the record of one who has in every respect earned the admiration and esteem of his fellow citizens, who recognize in him the essential qualities of good citizenship. Charles Karn, whose splendid farm is located in Ferndale township, is a native son of Michigan, having been born at Goodwich, Genesee county, on the 5th of September, 1866, and is a son of Charles and Mary (Pemperene) Karn, both of whom were born and reared in Germany. The father came to the United States about 1850 and settled in Genesee county, Michigan, where he was employed at his trade, that of a cooper. His death occurred in 1886. His wife died in 1884. They had two daughters, Mrs. Sophia Hart, of eastern Washington, who is the mother of three children; Emma, Myrtle and Ola, and Mrs. Elizabeth French, now deceased, who had two children, Frank and Mary.
Charles Karn secured his educational training in the public schools of his home neighborhood and then became a sailor on the Great Lakes, following the sea for two years. In November, 1887, he came to Spokane, Washington, and during the ensuing two years he was employed in the lumber industry. He then went to Douglas county, in the Big Bend section, and took up one hundred and sixty acres of land, which he cultivated to wheat and other small grain for about seven years. At the end of that time he sold his farm and during the following two or three years was in charge of grain warehouses. In 1905 Mr. Karn came to Whatcom county and bought twenty acres in Ferndale township, the land at that time being entirely covered with brush and stumps. To the clearing of this tract he applied himself vigorously and in the course of time created a fine farm, devoting the land to the raising of grain. He is arranging to go into the chicken business, the practicability of which has been abundantly demonstrated in this locality. He is thoroughly practical in everything that he does, exercising sound judgment and discretion in all of his operations and laying his plans carefully and with wise discrimination. He is a man of fine habits, a genial and friendly disposition, generous and accommodating, and gives support to all measures for the improvement of the community in any way. Because of these commendable traits of character, he has attained an enviable place in the confidence and good will of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 657.
JOHN H. KINSEY
The record of John H. Kinsey contains no exciting chapters but is characterized by well defined purposes, which, carried to successful issue, have won for him an influential place and a high standing among his fellow citizens. His life has been one of unceasing industry, and the systematic and honorable methods which he has followed have resulted not only in gaining the confidence of those with whom he has had dealings but also in the advancement of his individual affairs. Mr. Kinsey was born in Wisconsin on the 27th of June, 1872, and is a son of Richard and Ann (Hull) Kinsey, both of whom were natives of England, and whose marriage occurred before they came to the United States. Richard Kinsey came to this country in 1870, locating in Wisconsin, where he lived until 1876, when he went to Fillmore county, Nebraska, where he homesteaded eighty acres of land and established his permanent home.
John H. Kinsey received his education in the public schools of Nebraska, and in 1889, when seventeen years of age, he came to Bellingham, Whatcom county; but he found hard times prevailing here and soon went back to Nebraska. From there he went to northwestern Missouri and thence to South Dakota, in 1893, where he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land in Lyman county, it being a part of the Great American desert. The woman who became his wife had also homesteaded a tract of land near him, and after their marriage they lived there several years, proving up on their land. In 1909 Mr. Kinsey again came to Bellingham and obtained employment in a grocery store, where he remained about two and a half years. He then went to Kickerville, Mountain View township, where he spent two years in the logging camps, at the end of which time, in 1914, he moved onto a twenty acre tract which he had bought near his present farm. He still owns that place, which he "slashed" and burned, and which is now devoted mainly to pasturage. In 1919 he bought forty acres, comprising his present home, and he has cleared fifteen acres of this land. He devotes his attention principally to dairying and the chicken business, keeping six good grade cows and about five hundred laying hens of the White Leghorn variety and the Hollywood and Tancred strains. He has been very successful in his operations since going into business on his own account and is now very comfortably situated. He has made some splendid improvements on his far, which is now considered a very desirable property.
Mr. Kinsey has been twice married, first in 1896, to Miss Lula Ray, who was born and reared in northwestern Missouri and whose death occurred in 1901, having lost three children. In 1905 he was married to Miss Lula L. Phelps, a native of Kansas and a daughter of Spencer and Lula Phelps, the former of whom is still living in Kansas. Mrs. Phelps was a first cousin of Jay Gould. To Mr. and Mrs. Kinsey have been born seven children, namely: Eben, Hazel, Levia, Verna, Harold, Evelyn and Gerald. Mr. Kinsey has evinced a commendable interest in the public affairs of his community, giving his support to all measures for the advancement of the public welfare, and by his consistent life and genial and kindly attitude toward all with whom he comes in contact he has earned a high place in the confidence and good will of his fellow citizens throughout the community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 178-179.
ROBERT A. KIRKMAN
The study of the life of the representative American never fails to offer much of interest, demonstrating a mastering of obstacles which has brought about most wonderful results. Robert A. Kirkman is a worthy representative of that type of American character and of that progressive spirit which promotes public good while advancing individual prosperity, and it is a compliment worthily bestowed to say that his community is honored by his citizenship. He was born in Peoria county, Illinois, on the 14th of December, 1877, and is a son of Arthur and Agnes (Perry) Kirkman, the latter of whom was born in Glasgow, Scotland. The father, who was born in Liverpool, England, came to the United States in 1855, locating in Illinois, to which state had come the year previous the woman who later became his wife. He engaged in farming, carrying on that vocation there until 1878, when he came to Whatcom county, Washington, locating at Sehome, now the city of Bellingham, when it was inhabited by only three families. From there he went to old Nooksack Crossing, where he lived about a year. He then bought a relinquishment three miles north of Everson and later preempted one hundred and sixty acres near by. He at once applied himself to the task of clearing the land, building a small log house, which was destroyed by fire about ten years later and was replaced by a larger hewed-log house, which made a comfortable and commodious home. He lived there about fifteen years, then sold part of the land, and on the remainder of the tract he and his wife spent practically the rest of their years. The mother died September 4, 1908, and the father on the 30th of the same month. They were the parents of seven children, namely: Edward, deceased, William, Mrs. Alice Goodwin, Arthur, Robert A., Andrew and Oliver Alfred.
Robert A. Kirkman was educated in the public school at Clearbrook and then devoted himself to assisting his father in the clearing of the land. When nineteen years of age he rented his father's ranch, which he operated until 1899, when he bought sixty acres, three and a half miles north of Everson, a few acres of which were cleared. He now has this land practically all cleared and in a fine state of cultivation. It is an excellent tract of bottom land, very fertile, and produces abundant crops, hay and grain being the main crops. He keeps fourteen good grade Holstein milk cows, from which he derives a nice income, and he is very comfortably situated. His farm is well improved and includes a good set of farm buildings, the barn having been built in 1901 and the house in 1906.
Mr. Kirkman was married, October 27, 1901, to Miss Maud Rarick, who was born in Michigan, a daughter of William and Margaret (Jaquay) Rarick, the former of whom was a native of New York state and the latter of Michigan. Her father, who was a farmer by vocation, came to Whatcom county in 1889 and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land three miles north of Everson. The tract was covered with timber and undergrowth, but he applied himself to the task of clearing it and getting into cultivation and in the course of time created a splendid homestead, on which land he lived until his death which occurred in March, 1925, at the age of eighty-nine years. He is survived by his widow. To this worthy couple were born five children, namely: Mrs. Lydia Wilcoxon, Whitney, Mrs. Ada Wilcoxson, William and Maud. Mr. and Mrs. Kirkman are the parents of six children, as follows: Mrs. Margaret Hinton, who is the mother of two children - Alvin, born December 13, 1921, and Wilma, born November 2, 1923; Herbert, born June 4, 1912; Elsie, born June 5, 1914; Florence, born December 23, 1917; Ada, born February 7, 1919; and Robert A. Jr., born May 28, 1921.
Mr. Kirkman is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and is deeply interested in movements affecting the prosperity and welfare of the farmers of his community. He has stood staunchly for every measure calculated to benefit the general public and his influence is always on the right side of every moral issue. He is a man of fine personal qualities, tolerant, broadminded, liberal in his support of benevolences and kindly and friendly in all of his social relations.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 372-373.
AUGUST, EDWARD C. & FRANK KUEHNOEL
In compiling this volume of representative citizens of Whatcom county occasion has been afforded to give the records of men in various walks of life, and at this juncture we are permitted to offer a resume of the career of one of the enterprising agriculturists of Ten Mile township, of which he is a native son and where he has spent his entire life, gaining a splendid reputation among the people of his locality. E. C. Kuehnoel was born in Ten Mile township in 1890 and is a son of August and Ernestine (Scharf) Kuehnoel, both of whom were natives of Germany, where they were reared and were married. The father followed the vocation of coal mining in his native land and on coming to the United States, in 1889, come direct to Washington, where he worked in the Blue Canyon coal mines for a short time, also working in other mines along the coast. In 1890 he bought a preemption claim of eighty acres on the Smith and Goshen-Everson road, a tract of heavily timbered land, and to the clearing of this place he applied himself with vigor, succeeding in getting about twenty acres in shape for cultivation. In those days, in the absence of good roads, timber and shingle bolts had but little value to the new settler, for he had no way of getting them to the mills. After living on that property about five years he sold it and then, about 1894, homesteaded the one hundred and sixty acres comprising the present home farm. This tract had been inhabited by several people, none of whom had proved it up. There were a few old buildings, sadly in need of repair, and about five acres of the land had been cleared, excepting the stumps, and were in cultivation. Now about sixty acres of the land are cleared, and the soil is fine and productive.
Mr. Kuehnoel was a hard-working man, perservering in his efforts and doing well whatever he undertook. He was broadminded and public-spirited, taking a commendable interest in everything affecting the development and welfare of the community. For a number of years he served as a school director, was a road overseer for several years and also served as treasurer of the township. His death, which occurred in 1915, was considered a distinct loss to the community which he had served so well and which had been honored by his citizenship. To him and his wife were born ten children, namely: Herman, who is married and lives at Anacortes; Emma, the wife of E. L. Scrimsher and the mother of three children; Edith, who is the wife of George Whitsell, of Ten Mile, and has seven children; Bertha, who lives in Bellingham; E. C., the subject of this sketch; Paul, of Bellingham; Rosie, the wife of Frank Templeton; Frank, who lives on the home farm, is married and has one child; Otto, of Bellingham, who is married and has one child; and Helen, who lives in Seattle. The mother of these children is now living with her daughter, Bertha, in Bellingham.
E. C. Kuehnoel received his education in the Wahl school, and he has spent his life at farm work. He and his brother Frank have rented the home farm from their mother and are now operating it with a very gratifying measure of success. They thoroughly understand every phase of farm work and are now devoting their attention mainly to dairy and poultry farming, keeping fifteen good grade cows and about eight hundred and fifty chickens. They raise good crops of hay, grain and green stuff and are maintaining the place at a high standard of excellence, it being considered one of the most desirable farms in this locality. It is a far cry from the present well improved and prosperous condition of the community back to the days when their father first came here. Then there were no roads worthy of the name in this immediate locality, and the father packed many a sack of flour all the way home from Bellingham, following up the old B. B. & B. C. right of way. Our subject and his brother have just finished helping put through an extension of the Noon road to their farm, which gives them a fine outlet. E. C. Kuehnoel is a hard-working, energetic man, possessing sound judgment and good business ability, and throughout the community he is held in the highest regard.
Frank Kuehnoel was married to Miss Tina Lamoreaux, who was born and reared in Ten Mile township, a daughter of O. D. and Margaret F. (Parker) Lamoreaux, both of whom were members of early families in this locality. To Mr. and Mrs. Kuehnoel has been born one child, Marvin. Frank and E. C. have devoted themselves very closely to the operation of the farm, and their enterprising and progressive methods have gained for them not only material prosperity but also the respect and esteem of their fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 371-372.
CHARLES and GEORGE LEHMAN
Among the practical and successful farmers of the Nooksack valley, none takes precedence over the Lehman brothers, whose splendid farm is numbered among the best in that locality, owing to their indomitable efforts, directed by sound and discriminating judgment. The elder of the brothers, Charles Lehman, was born in Chicago, Illinois, a son of Charles and Minnie (Knock) Lehman, both of whom were born and reared in Germany. In 1869 they came to the United States and located near Chicago, where for a while the father was employed in brickyards. Later he rented thirty acres of land and engaged in market gardening, supplying the retail trade and also retailing his own produce from wagons. He successfully followed that business until 1901, when he sold out and came to Whatcom county, buying one hundred and twenty acres of land in the Nooksack valley, a few acres of which were cleared, and he devoted himself closely to the improvement and cultivation of that place until his death, which occurred in 1908. His wife passed away in 1910. They were the parents of ten children, namely: Mrs. Lizzie Zamzow, of Nooksack; Mrs. Ida Meyer, of Chicago, Illinois; Charles; Edward, who is married and lives on the home farm; Mrs. Lena Munson, of Seattle; Mrs. Rose McGrath, who lives in Nooksack; George; Walter, who died when he was thirteen years old; and Benjamin and Willie, both deceased.
The junior Charles Lehman was educated in the public schools of Chicago and on leaving school devoted his energies to assisting his father in the gardening business. He accompanied his parents on their removal to Whatcom county in 1901 and after coming here spent the summers in work in the logging camps and the winters in sawmill work. In 1907 he bought a tract of one hundred and twenty acres one and a half miles east of Nooksack, it being mainly rough stump land, and at once began clearing it off. He now has about twenty-five acres in cultivation, the remainder of the land being devoted to pasturage. He has since admitted his brother George to a partnership in the ranch and together they run a successful dairy business, keeping twelve good grade cows and several hundred chickens. Charles Lehman's experience in market gardening has stood him in good stead here, and he has shown ripe judgment in his operation of the farm. He raises choice potatoes and also has an acre in gooseberries. Three years ago the Lehman brothers set out twenty acres of cherry trees, of the sour, or pie, variety, and this orchard is one of the finest of its age in the county, now producing several tons of fine fruit yearly. The trees are carefully cultivated and fertilized, and in a few years this will be one of the show orchards of Whatcom county. In all of their operations they believe in intensive farming, in order to secure maximum results, and they have gained a high reputation because of their methods and accomplishments. In 1903 they built a fine barn and are now well able properly to care for their stock and products. Both are members of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Though very busily occupied in their farm work, they never neglect their duty to the community and give their earnest support to every progressive enterprise or measure, and their hospitality and friendliness have brought them well deserved popularity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 843-844.
Among the oldest and most high respected citizens of Whatcom county, Washington, is William Logan of Bellingham, who after a long, active and honorable career is now enjoying well earned retirement from active affairs. He has passed through many and varied experiences and now, in the golden sunset years of his life, he can look back with a large measure of satisfaction over a life record characterized by consistency in motive and action, feeling that his years have been well spent.
Mr. Logan was born on the Isle of Man in January, 1837, and is now eighty-nine years of age. He is descended from sterling old Scottish ancestry, his grandfather having gone from the land of hills and heather to the Isle of Man at a very early day. Our subject's parents, William and Elizabeth (Carmode) Logan, were also natives of the Isle of Man, where they spent their entire lives, the father having pursued the occupations of farmer and herring fisher. The junior William Logan attended school for a time, but he disliked the enforced discipline of the school room so much that he ran away, so at the age of sixteen years he was bound out to a blacksmith for a period of five years. After three years he was released from his contract and in that year, 1856, he came to the United States, going direct to Brimfield, Peoria county, Illinois, where he went to work as a blacksmith for an old acquaintance from his native land. After one year there, he went to Victoria, Knox county, Illinois, where he followed his trade for about a year and then returned to Brimfield. While visiting there he went to Peoria to hear the Lincoln-Douglas debate and rode part of the way on the train with Mr. Lincoln. Afterward he went to St. Louis, and then to Pike county, Missouri, back again to St. Louis, thence to Kansas City and from there to Independence, Kansas. While he was in Missouri the Civil war broke out, and Mr. Logan was one of a number of Union sympathizers whom the Confederates rounded up. They shot two of the men and ran the others out of the community, Mr. Logan luckily escaping without injury. He then went to Kansas City, where he enlisted in the Union cavalry, with which he served for a few months, when he suffered an injury, his right leg being broken, and he was confined in a hospital for almost a year. Thereafter, during the duration of the war, her frequently acted as guide for the Union troops through Missouri. In 1865 he went to Labette county, Kansas, where he followed blacksmithing until 1882, when he came to Whatcom county for the winter. The old Sehome Hotel was vacant at the time and, the owners naturally being desirous of having it occupied, he rented it for two dollars a month, and spent the winter there. In the spring of 1883 Mr. Logan went to Birch Bay and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land, none of which was cleared but which did contain an old log cabin, while the only road into the land was an old trail. The woods were full of wild game and the place was literally a wilderness. Mr. Logan entered upon the task of clearing the land, and he eventually succeeded in removing the timber and brush from thirty acres and slashed the remainder. Here in the course of time he developed a good farmstead, which he cultivated with marked success, and he lived there continuously until 1920, when because of advancing years, he retired from active life and has since made his home in Bellingham. To Mr. Logan belongs the distinction of establishing the first blacksmith shop in Whatcom county, the building being located on the trail in Custer township, and here for many years he rendered efficient service to his neighbors. He followed this calling only during the winters, his summers for twenty-five years being spent with the Alaska Packing Association.
During the '70s, while living in Kansas, Mr. Logan was married to Miss Catherine Radcliff, who was born and reared in Illinois and whose death occurred at their home in Bellingham, November 14, 1922. Both of her parents were natives of the Isle of Man. To Mr. and Mrs. Logan were born the following children: John, who died about 1921, was married and had four children. Henry lives on a part of the homestead farm. Edward, who is an engineer and lives in Bellingham, is married and has one child. Harry, who is a member of the Bellingham police force, is married and has three children. Lester is married and is living with his father. Ella is the wife of Alfred J. White, of Blaine, and the mother of four children. Susie, who was the wife of Frank Ware, died in Idaho, leaving one child. Cora is the wife of Harry Congdon, of Seattle, and they have seven children. Grace is the wife of Thomas Allen, who owns a logging camp at Arlington, and they have one child. During the World war, Edward was in the United States navy and was in the transport service, making many trips back and forth between this country and France. Lester also enlisted for service and was in the training camp at Pullman.
Mr. Logan is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, belonging to the post at Blaine. He is a man of remarkable vitality and sprightliness for one of his advanced years and is a most interesting conversationalist, his personal recollections embracing many events of historic importance. He is a kindly and genial gentleman and among those who are so fortunate as to enjoy intimate acquaintance with him he is held in the highest esteem, while all respect and admire him for his genuine worth as a man and a citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 39-40.
MURRY D. MACAULAY
Murry D. Macaulay has long been a prominent figure in mercantile circles of Deming and represents one of the old and highly esteemed families of northwestern Washington. He was born March 29, 1889, in Whatcom county, and is a son of Hugh and Annie (Beaton) Macaulay, natives of Nova Scotia, Canada. They crossed the United States border, and in the fall of 1883 the father entered a homestead and preemption claim in Whatcom county. This region was then a wilderness into which few settlers had penetrated, and after years of unceasing toil he succeeded in clearing the land and bringing it under the plow. He is now the owner of one of the finest farms in the district, and his public spirit had led to his service on the school board.
M. D. Macaulay was reared on his father's ranch and attended the schools in the vicinity of his home. He soon became familiar with agricultural pursuits and aided in the operation of the farm until he reached the age of nineteen. In 1908 he came to Deming and purchased an interest in a meat market, forming a partnership with J. E. Kenney. With the exception of about two years Mr. Macaulay has since been engaged in this business, and the shop is one of the best in this locality. The firm sells only the best grade of meat, and a well deserved reputation for honesty and reliability has brought to it a large trade.
In 1915 Mr. Macaulay was united in marriage to Miss Pearl McLeod, of Bellingham, Washington, and they have three children: Hugh, Jean and Neil. Mr. Macaulay votes the republican ticket and takes the interest of a good citizen in public affairs, particularly in educational matters. He acts as chairman of the board of the grammar school and is clerk of the Mount Baker district union high school. He is connected with the Knights of Pythias and Independent Order of Odd Fellows and his wife is one of the Daughters of Rebekah. Mr. Macaulay is an enterprising young business man and a public-spirited citizen and measures up to high standards in every relation of life.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 565.
GEORGE W. McLAUGHLIN
George W. McLaughlin, a prosperous merchant of Glacier and well known throughout the county, is a native of Iowa and come of pioneer stock. He was born in Adel, Dallas county, December 5, 1875, and his parents, D. W. and Sarah (Tilton) McLaughlin, were among the early settlers of Iowa. The mother was a native of New Hampshire and the father was born in Adrian, Michigan. He was the son of George McLaughlin, who journeyed to Pike's Peak, Colorado. The latter was one of the first to locate at Wallace, Idaho, and in later life returned to Iowa, where he spent his remaining years. His son, D. W. McLaughlin, went to South Dakota in 1877 and established a dairy near Deadwood, selling milk to the soldiers on the reservation. He afterward returned to Iowa and opened a general store at Adel, and was later engaged in that business in the state of Minnesota and also at Enid, Oklahoma. In 1903 he came to Washington and for several years operated a farm near Bellingham. There he passed away in 1924, and his widow is still a resident of the city.
George W. McLaughlin received a public school education, and his first business venture was in the field of contracting. He lived for some time in Enid, Oklahoma, going from there to Bellingham, Washington, and in 1906 embarked in general merchandising at Maple Falls. He conducted the business for six years, establishing a liberal trade, and was also postmaster of the town. He remained at that place until 1912 and then went to Soap Lake, Washington, where he operated a stage for eight years. Mr. McLaughlin was engaged in the same business at Bellingham for about two years, and since 1921 he has been the proprietor of a general store at Glacier. He is an enterprising merchant and an honest dealer who has won the confidence and support of the public.
On December 18, 1901, Mr. McLaughlin married Miss Margaret Helen Reeves, a native of the state of New York and a daughter of S. B. and Helen Reeves. They were pioneers of Kansas and went to Oklahoma when the territory was opened up for settlement. To Mr. and Mrs. McLaughlin were born two children: George, who died when a child of nine; and Loma, aged eleven years. Mr. McLaughlin has been identified with the Woodmen of the World since 1903, and his connection with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows covers a period of eighteen years. He belongs to the encampment, and his wife is one of the Daughters of Rebekah. He is a republican in his political convictions and served for two years and township supervisor. He is a citizen of worth to the community and his progress along business lines has been commensurate with his industry and ability.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 751.
JAMES F. MEEK
Among the citizens of Ten Mile township who by their indomitable efforts, marked business ability, fine public spirit and strength of character have won a high place in public esteem, none takes precedence over the subject of this sketch, who for a number of years has been an important factor in the development and progress of this section of the county. J. F. Meek was born in Aristook county, Maine, and is a son of Adam and Rebecca (Watson) Meek, the latter of whom was born in New Brunswick and is now living in Bellingham, Whatcom county, at the advanced age of ninety-three years. Adam Meek was born in Ireland, of sterling old Scotch-Irish stock, and after living a number of years in Maine he went to Elk River, Minnesota, where he was engaged in farming until 1900, when he came to Whatcom county, buying a home in Bellingham, where his death occurred in 1907.
J. F. Meek secured his education in the public schools of Maine and Minnesota,
going to the latter state in 1872. He remained there for sixteen years and
then, in the spring of 1888, came to the Pacific coast, stopping successively
at Seattle, Tacoma and
Kle Cle Elum, looking over the country.
He then went to the Big Bend country, where he took up a preemption of one
hundred and sixty acres, which he proved up, and then returned to Cle Elum,
where he was employed in various occupations about one and a half years.
He next went to Seattle, where he remained a short time, after which he spent
six months in Auburn. In 1890 he came to Whatcom county and engaged in logging
at Samish lake, driving oxen and tending hooks in the logging camps until
about 1891, when he bought ten acres of land in Ten Mile township, the nucleus
of his present fine farm. Later he bought ten acres adjoining his first purchase
and still later bought thirty acres more in the same neighborhood. Of the
home farm he has about eleven acres cleared, the remainder being in pasture,
while he also has about eleven acres of the last tract cleared. When he came
here the land was all covered with virgin timber and comparatively little
settlement had been made in this vicinity. The nearest highway was the Smith
road, which was hardly more than a trail, and the Guide Meridian road was
about a mile and a quarter from his place. During those early years Mr. Meek
contributed of his time and labor in the construction of roads and in every
possible way helped to improve local conditions. In those days his principal
occupations were dairying, getting out shingle bolts and clearing the land,
so that he had little time for leisure or idleness. In recent years he has
turned his attention more to the chicken business, having over a thousand
laying hens, and also keeps four good grade milk cows. His well cultivated
fields produce all necessary feed for stock and chickens, and he is making
a splendid success of his farming operations. He has made many fine improvements
on the place, which he has brought up to a high standard of excellence, and
now has a very attractive and desirable home.
In the fall of 1890, in Minnesota, Mr. Meek was married to Miss Alice Eaton, who was born and reared in that state, a daughter of William and Hattie (Roberts) Eaton, both of whom are still living in Minnesota. Her father is a veteran of the Civil war, during which he took part in a number of the most important battles and campaigns. To Mr. and Mrs. Meek have been born three children: Roy, who married Miss Violet Edens and lives on the Smith road, specialized in manual training and taught school, but is now engaged in carpentering. He is the father of two children, Bettie and Geraldine. Mildred, who is the wife of Edward Gannon, is a graduate of the State Normal School at Bellingham and taught for nine years. Mr. Gannon is now principal of the grade school at North Bend. They have one child, Jack. Gladys is the wife of Charlie Peters, a contractor foreman, and they have three children, Gilbert, Robert and Wayne.
During all the years of his residence in this locality, Mr. Meek has cooperated with his fellow citizens in every effort to improve local conditions, and he has been honored with a number of official positions. In 1892 he was made road supervisor, serving for two or three years, and in 1905 became road boss of district No. 3, serving three years. He has been deeply interested in educational affairs and served for eleven years as a member of the Victor school board. He helped to organize a Sunday school at the Victor schoolhouse, which finally developed into a Methodist Sunday school. He was the first man to put gravel on the Guide Meridian road, thus starting a movement which culminated in the final improvement of the road to its present excellent condition. He was one of the organizers of the organizers of the Laurel Creamery, of which he was secretary for several years. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association and is president of the Poultrymen's Hatchery, a cooperative associating which owns a plant in Bellingham, with a capacity of one hundred thousand ducks per hatch. Politically Mr. Meek is a staunch supporter of the republican party and has served for twenty-five years as the committeeman for his district. Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in 1889 having joined Lodge No. 57, at Waterville, Washington, and he now belongs to Rising Star Lodge No. 202, at Bellingham, of which he is noble grand. He is also a member of Bellingham Encampment No. 43, and of Bellingham Lodge No. 57, Daughters of Rebekah. Progressive and enterprising in his methods, he has not only been successful in advancing his individual affairs but has also shown a fine spirit of mutual cooperation with his neighbors and fellow citizens, so that he is rightfully assigned to a place in the front rank of the representative men of his locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 339-340.
WILLIAM R. MOULTRAY
William R. Moultray, a pioneer of Whatcom county, was born in Crawford county, Missouri, September 10, 1852. His parents, William A. and Martha (Hopkins) Moultray, were natives of Kentucky but were among the early settlers of Missouri.
At the age of twenty young Moultray came to the territory of Washington, making his home at La Conner for three years. La Conner was then in Whatcom county but owing to a county division later is now in Skagit county. During 1857 he settled at the old Nooksack crossing, so called because it was at this point that the old trail leading from Whatcom to the Carabou gold mines had crossed the Nooksack river. Here he started a trading post near the present site of the town of Everson. While at that time several bachelors had settled in the vicinity of the old crossing, but two white families had located in the valley above the present town of Lynden, and the only means of getting supplies to the settlement was by Indian canoes up the river. This required making two long portages around huge log jams which blocked the river channel. With loaded canoes it took the Indians four to six days to make the round trip. During 1876 the settlers at the crossing, joined by a few, located along the old trail near Ten Mile creek, undertook the opening of the old Carabou trail so as to make it passable for wagon travel. This was accomplished by enterprising citizens at the bay contributing provisions, and the settlers camping by the roadside put in long hours until a narrow winding wagon road was opened through the forest from the crossing to the bay. Thus, during the fall of 1876, the first wagon road leading back from Bellingham bay to the Nooksack river was opened for travel, and the first teams which went over the road were hauling freight for Moultray's store at the crossing, which he conducted until 1887, when it was destroyed by fire. It was during the latter part of the '70s and the early '80s that the upper Nooksack valley was settled by homesteaders. To meet the growing demands for transportation it became necessary for Moultray to keep teams, pack and saddle horses at the bay, and so during the early '80s in company with one Jerry Lockwood, he built and operated the first livery barn in the town of Whatcom. It was located on the tide flats at the foot of E street. After the fire in the Moultray store he disposed of his interest in the livery barn and turned his attention to hop farming; but later, as the Seattle Lake Shore and International, now the Northern Pacific Railroad, and the Bellingham Bay and British Columbia, now the Milwaukee Railroad, were building their lines through the Nooksack valley to Sumas, he went into real estate with Michael J. Heney, one of the characters described by Rex Beach in the "Iron Trail." They laid out the townsite of Nooksack city, where they erected a magnificent hotel and store buildings; also with Morris McCarty, then county treasurer, laid out an eighty acre addition to Sumas city. This was during the good old boom days of 1889-90. During 1891 the boom suddenly disappeared, leaving the city builders rich in experience only. Then in company with C. S. Kale, also a pioneer of the crossing, Mr. Moultray went into the shingle mill business at Nooksack, again pioneering, for at that time the red cedar shingle had not been introduced beyond the local markets, which, being limited, they were forced to find outside markets for their products; so Mr. Moultray spent the season of 1892 introducing the red cedar shingle in the middle west. Later he bought the Kale interest and moved the mill near his timber supply, three miles south, where he built and operated a larger plant until the timber belt was cut out in 1903. Again turing to real estate, he operated in Bellingham, demonstrating his faith in the town by buying and improving business properties.
While leading a busy life Mr. Moultray has always found time to devote to
civic and political affairs. When the territory of Washington was admitted
as a state in
1899 , he was elected a member of the
first state legislature, serving as chairman of the road and highway committee
during the five months' session, when a solid foundation was laid for a great
In 1902 he was again elected a member of the state legislature, serving in the senate during the sessions of 1903 and 1905. It was during the latter session that a bill to dispose of the old university ten acre tract of land in Seattle was introduced. This tract was then out from the business section and its value somewhat speculative. The bill for its sale had the support of the university regents and faculty and also the King county members of the legislature, as well as the moral support of the other state institutions of higher education, and it seemed that if the measure were brought to a final vote it was sure to pass; but after being introduced it was referred to the educational committee of which Mr. Moultray was chairman. This committee, having faith in the future development of the state and in Seattle as its commercial center, considered disposing of the property a grave mistake. They delayed a report on the bill and by holding it in committee finally effected a compromise which saved to the University of Washington these ten acres of land, which at present is the business center of a great city.
In 1877 Mr. Moultray was united in marriage to Miss Lizzie Walker, a daughter of W. L. and Hannah Walker, who were pioneers of the Nooksack valley, having settled at the crossing in 1874. They reared a family of six children, three boys and three girls.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 542-545.
Among the leading and most successful chicken and egg men in Whatcom county is Herman Oordt, who after many years of persistent effort and untiring industry is now practically retired from active business and in the splendid home which he has recently built is enjoying the leisure which he has so richly earned. He has always been known for his enterprising and progressive spirit, and throughout the community of which he is an honored citizen his is held in the highest esteem. Mr. Oordt was born in Holland in 1869 and is a son of Andrew and Anna (Pen) Oordt, both of whom also were natives of that country. In 1890 they came to the United States, locating in Iowa, where the father died that some year, the mother's death occurring in 1906.
Herman Oordt attended the public schools of his native land and remained with his parents during his youth, working at various employments in the neighborhood. Three of his brothers were called into the military service of his country, but he was not called. In 1890 he came with the family to this country and was employed on the Iowa farm during the two following years. In the fall of 1892 he came to Florence, Oregon, where for about a year he was variously employed, principally in the sawmills. In 1893 he went to Seattle and for about six months was employed in a mill in South Seattle. He then went to oak Harbor, Whidbey island, where after working around for a time he started peddling groceries from a wagon, which business he followed for two years. In partnership with D. Zylstra he next started a store in the Kildahl building, which they conducted for two years and then sold. Mr. Oordt then went into the woods and for several years was employed in getting out shingle bolts. In 1900 he bought ten acres of his present farm, moving onto it in May of the following year. Later he bought ten acres adjoining, and he has cleared all the land excepting one acre. When he located on this tract the brush was so dense that he could not see the road from the front of the house.
In 1901, with commendable foresight, Mr. Oordt engaged in the chicken business, his initial start being with a hen and nine chickens, which he bought from Al Northern for one dollar. From this modest beginning he kept increasing his flock until in the course of time he found himself on the road to success in this line, and through the subsequent years he steadily progressed until eventually the "Lynden Poultry Yards" became one of the best known establishments of the kind in the county. Some idea of the growth of the business may be gained from the statement that he now has a hatching capacity of twenty-three thousand eggs a setting, and that in the spring of 1925 he sold between forty thousand and fifty thousand chicks. He keeps about five thousand laying hens, the eggs from which amount to an average of between thirty and thirty-five cases a week. He has twenty-two thousand square feet of cement floor, which is greatly responsible for the splendid sanitary condition which prevails here. No straw or cleaning from the houses is permitted to accumulate about the buildings but when loaded is immediately removed from the premises and spread on the fields for fertilizer. All the chicks sold from the Oordt place are from their own eggs, carefully selected for size, shape and color, and are from hens two years old and older. The plant represents an investment of about thirty-five thousand dollars and includes nine buildings devoted to the stock, not including the feed and storage buildings, barn or garage. Besides the subject and his two sons, two other men are constantly employed. The business is strictly independent of any association, the products of the plant being sold to the Fox River Butter Company at Seattle, a New York concern. Recently Mr. Oordt sold the business to his two sons, who are now running it under the name of Oordt Brothers, though Mr. Oordt still assists in the operation of the business. The ranch is well improved in every respect and includes one hundred and seventy fruit trees, such as cherries, plums and apples, which are now in fine bearing condition. Four milk cows are kept on the place, and most of the grain and green feed required for both poultry and cattle is raised on the farm.
In 1897 Mr. Oordt was married to Miss Hattie Veleke, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Veleke, and to them have been born eight children, namely: Anna, who is the wife of S. Louws, of Lynden, and has two children; Grace, the wife of Herman Heusinkveld, who lives on the old Peter Benson place, near Lynden; Arthur, who is one of the members of the firm of Oordt Brothers, and who was married to Miss Martha Houg; Maggie, the wife of Richard Biesheuvel, of Lynden; Andrew, who is Arthur's business partner; Elizabeth, at home; and two who died in infancy. It is noteworthy that, excepting Mr. Veleke, Mr. Oordt was the first Hollander to locate in this part of the county. Mr. Oordt is a member of the First Christian Reformed church, of which he was one of the organizers and to which he gives liberal support. He has for sixteen years been a member of the board of the Christian Primary Instruction free school. He is regarded as a good business man and an excellent manager, possessing sound judgment and keen foresight, and has ever enjoyed the respect and esteem of those who know him, for his friendly manner, upright life and public-spirited interest in the welfare of the community, being recognized as one of the foremost citizens of his locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 349-350.
VICTOR A. ROEDER
The life of Victor A. Roeder, president of the Bellingham National Bank and for many years one of the most influential personal factors in the development of the commercial and industrial interests of Whatcom county, is practically contemporaneous with that of the Bellingham settlement, for he has been a resident here from the time that may be regarded as the beginning of orderly settlement in this particularly favored section of the Sound country. Mr. Roeder was born in the old Roeder home at what is now the corner of Elm and Monroe streets in the city of Bellingham, August 13, 1861, and is the only surviving son of Captain Henry and Elizabeth (Austin) Roeder and the brother of Mrs. Lottie Roeder Roth, whose name adorns the title page of this work. A sketch of Captain Henry Roeder precedes this biography.
Reared at Bellingham, Victor A. Roeder spent his youth there and when fifteen years of age was sent back to his father's old home in Erie county, Ohio, to finish his education, and he there attended the schools of the city of Vermilion until he completed the high school course. Upon his return home he entered Heald's Business College in San Francisco and was thus further prepared to assume the business responsibilities that awaited him in connection with his association with his father's extensive and manifold interests in and about Bellingham. For some time he was concerned chiefly in realty operations, and he then became engaged in the mercantile business at Everson but presently relinquished that business, and thereafter until his father's death he was connected with the elder Roeder's affairs. When his father passed away, in 1902, he assumed the heavier responsibilities that then fell to him in proprietary charge, he and his sister, Mrs. Roth, inheriting a considerable estate. Meanwhile, in 1896, Mr. Roeder had been elected county treasurer and was thus in public service for four years, or until 1900. Four years later, in 1904, he became one of the active factors in the organization of the Bellingham National Bank and was elected president of that institution, which executive position he since has occupied, being one of the best known bankers in Washington, this service now covering a period of more than twenty years and constituting him one of the veteran bankers of the state. The Bellingham National Bank is capitalized at two hundred thousand dollars and has a fund of more than three hundred thousand dollars in its surplus and undivided profits account, while its deposits aggregate nearly three million dollars.
On October 6, 1886, in the village of Lynden in this county, Victor A. Roeder was united in marriage to Miss Effie B. Ebey, and they have a daughter and a son, namely: Ayreness, wife of J. R. Bolster, a Bellingham merchant; and Henry Victor Roeder, born in 1891.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 236-239.
SHIROD C. ROLAND
Shirod C. Roland, engaged in the auto wrecking business at Bellingham, also carries a complete line of automobile accessories and parts and has developed the leading enterprise of its kind in the city. His birth occurred at Ardmore, Oklahoma, on the 26th of September, 1893, his parents being J. M. and Lilly M. (Hill) Roland, natives of Texas and Illinois, respectively. It was in the year *1865 that his father and mother took up their abode among the pioneer settlers of Oklahoma. In 1912 J. M. Roland made his way to the Canadian province of Alberta, where he devoted his attention to farming pursuits for two years. At the end of that time, in 1914, he came to Whatcom county, Washington, and through the intervening period of twelve years has been successfully engaged in the contracting business at Bellingham.
Shirod C. Roland attended the public schools in the acquirement of an education and then entered the law department of the University of Oklahoma, but he found that a professional career had no appeal for him and at the end of two years abandoned his law studies. It was following his arrival at Bellingham, Washington, that he became a marine engineer, serving as engineer on the steamer Firwood when it was destroyed by fire off Atico Roads, forty miles from the Peruvian seacoast. Mr. Roland suffered serious burns in this unfortunate accident. In 1921 he embarked in the auto wrecking business at No. 1744 Elk street in Bellingham, where he has a building one hundred by one hundred feet. He furnishes employment to three men, and he also handles a full line of automobile parts and accessories. A well merited measure of success has attended his undertakings in this connection, so that he has already gained an enviable reputation as one of the prosperous and representative young business men of his adopted city.
In 1923 Mr. Roland was united in marriage to Miss Lillian Polly, a native of Missouri, and they have one child, Donahue. In politics Mr. Roland maintains an independent attitude, for he believes that the qualifications of a candidate are of more importance that his party affiliation. Fraternally he is identified with the Masons and the Eagles. His friends, and they are many, attest the sterling worth of his character and his many admirable personal qualities.
*Note: James Madison Roland was born in 1870.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 571-572.
Henry Schwarze, a veteran of the Civil war and one of the old time building contractors now living pleasantly retired in Bellingham, has been a resident of this city for more than thirty-five years and there are few men in Whatcom county who have a better or wider acquaintance than he. Though of European birth Mr. Schwarze has been a resident of this country since the days of his young manhood, served as a soldier of the Union before he had acquired his citizenship papers and has thus accounted himself as much an American as though indeed native and "to the manner born." He was born in Germany, in 1842 and was eighteen years of age when in 1860 he came to the United States, landing at Baltimore from a sailing ship. He proceeded westward to Freeport, Illinois, where he was employed as a carpenter, being thus engaged when in the next year the war between the states broke out. Though not yet a citizen of the country to which he had attached himself by adoption, Mr. Schwarze's freedom loving heart was stirred by the call for soldiers to defend the Union and he enlisted as a member of Company C, Forty-sixth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and with that gallant command rendered service for two years, coming through without hurt.
Upon the completion of his military service Mr. Swarze returned to Freeport and resumed work at his trade. On April 3, 1866, he secured his final citizenship papers and a year later married and established his home at Freeport, continuing there as a carpenter and builder for more than thirty years or until 1890 when he came with his family to the Sound country and became a resident of the settlements that thirteen years later became consolidated under the present corporate name of Bellingham. Upon his arrival here Mr. Schwarze bought the home site on which he still is living, 2500 Keesling street, and built the house which he and his wife now occupy. After he got his own house up he took an active part in the general construction work that was so rapidly progressing here and became one of the best known carpenters and builders in town. This line he continued to follow until his retirement in 1913, when past seventy years of age, and his time since then has been pleasantly occupied with his garden, in which he takes much interest, this garden covering the vacant lots which he owns adjoining his residence.
It was on March 14, 1867, at Freeport, Illinois, that Mr. Schwarze was united in marriage to Miss Minnie Kenne of that place and when in the spring of 1917 this venerable couple celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of their marriage, their "golden wedding", the occasion was made one of general congratulation and felicitation among their hosts of friends in the city and throughout the county. Mrs. Schwarze was born in Germany and was four years of age when her parents started with their family for America, bound for the port of New Orleans. Her father died while the vessel was making the passage over. Her widowed mother made her way with her children from New Orleans to Freeport, where kinsfolk were awaiting her, and she presently married again and settled down there, the daughter Minnie thus being reared in Freeport, where she was living at the time of her marriage to Mr. Swarze. Of the twelve children born to this union seven still are living, namely: Tristina, who married the Rev. Bard, now living in Missouri, and has one child; Mrs. Lydia Dresner of Bellingham, who has a daughter; George, a Bellingham carpenter, who married and has two children; Mrs. Louisa Kemmeran, living in Bellingham; Carl, a Bellingham carpenter, who married and has four children; Edwin, who is connected with the milling industry in Bellingham; and Otto Schwarze, a veteran of the World war, who also is connected with the lumber mills industry in Bellingham, as a shingleweaver. Mr. and Mrs. Schwarze are republicans and have ever taken an earnest interest in local civic affairs. Mrs. Schwarze is a member of the German Lutheran church. Mr. Schwarze is an active member of the local post of the Grand Army of the Republic and has for many years taken an interested part in the activities of that patriotic organization.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 442-443.
Among the men of sterling character who have for many years occupied a conspicuous place in the esteem of the entire community in which they live, Christian Seemuller is eminently entitled to specific mention. Though now in the golden sunset of life's journey and past the best years of his activity, he is still in full possession of his faculties and is as alert mentally as in the days of his prime, being still able to maintain general oversight of his ranch in Delta township. Mr. Seemuller was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, on the 2d of October, 1850, and is a son of George Frederick and Louisa F. (Neff) Seemuller, both of whom were also natives of Germany, where they lived and died. They were the parents of six children.
Christian Seemuller attended the public schools of the fatherland and then learned the trade of cabinetmaker. In 1873 he went to New Zealand, where he was employed for one and a half years in clearing land. He then went to Sydney, New South Wales, into the interior of which country he went on a prospecting trip. He remained there for a time and then for two years was employed on sheep ranches. He took up forty acres of land, to which he later added another forty acres, and farmed that land for five years. He then sold out, ignorant at that time of the fact that gold lay beneath the soil of his farm. On Christmas day, 1882, Mr. Seemuller landed at San Francisco, California, on the steamship Australia and went from there to Los Angeles, where he remained for a short time. He then went to British Columbia, where he was in the employ of the Central Pacific Railroad, and then, in the fall of 1883, he came to Whatcom county and took up a homestead in Delta township, his tract of one hundred and sixty acres being covered with timber and brush, with not a road built through it or near it. Nothing daunted, he set to work clearing the land, being on of the first homesteaders in that district. He built a house and a good barn, but he met with misfortune the first year, the buildings being destroyed by fire. They were promptly rebuilt, but again, during the great forest fire of 1894, he was burned out. Mr. Seemuller now has twenty-five acres of his land cleared and in cultivation, raising good crops of grain and hay, besides having a good vegetable garden. He also keeps five good milk cows and a nice flock of chickens. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association.
Mr. Seemuller has never married but finds plenty of companionship in his books, of which he is a great lover, having a well selected library of classical works and the best current literature. He is a well educated and widely informed man, holds positive opinions on the leading questions of the day and is a very interesting conversationalist. Genial and friendly in his social relations, he enjoys the respect and esteem of his neighbors and fellow citizens, who hold him in high regard because of his genuine worth as a man and a citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 162-163.
GEORGE SLATER Jr.
This biographical memoir deals with a character of unusual force and eminence, for George Slater, whose life chapter has been closed by the fate that awaits us all, was during the later years of his life one of the prominent citizens of Whatcom county, having come to this section in an early day, and he assisted in every way possible in bringing about the transformation of the county from the wild conditions found by the first settlers to its latter-day state of progress and improvement. While he carried on a special line of business in such a way as to gain a comfortable competence for himself, he also belonged to that class of representative citizens who promote the public welfare while advancing individual success. There were in him sterling traits which commanded uniform confidence and regard, and his memory is today honored by all who knew him and is enshrined in the hearts of his many friends.
Mr. Slater, whose death occurred October 1, 1897, was born in Chile, South America, on the 14th of February, 1856, and was a son of George and Elizabeth (Metcalf) Slater. George Slater received a good public school education in Bellingham, and on the completion of his studies he returned to the home farm in Ferndale township and operated the ranch for his father until his death. His career was marked by great energy, determined perseverance and excellent judgment, so that he won a high reputation as a man of more than ordinary capacity as a farmer and business man. Personally he was a man of splendid qualities, possessing to a marked degree those elements which commend one to the good esteem of his fellows. Genial and friendly, kindly and courteous, and accommodating when opportunity offered, he was well liked throughout the community and had many warm and loyal friends.
On November 2, 1892, Mr. Slater was married to Miss Agnes Ramsay, who was born in Airdrie, scotland, a daughter of Robert and Agnes (McAllister) Ramsay, both of whom were natives of Scotland. Robert Ramsay came to California in 1870 and lived there about a year, when he came to Whatcom county and took up one hundred and sixty acres of land in Ferndale township, to the improvement and cultivation of which he gave his attention until 1878, when he moved to the state of Indiana, where he lived for several years. He then came to Ferndale and took up another tract of one hundred and sixty acres of government land, on which he made his home and to the operation of which he devoted himself closely up to the time of his death, which occurred in January, 1910. His widow passed away October 14, 1924. to Robert and Agnes Ramsay were born eight children, namely: Elizabeth; Agnes, Mrs. Slater; Susan, who is the wife of Julius A. Shields; John, deceased; Mrs. Belle Pepper; and three who died in infancy. to George and Agnes Slater were born three children, namely: Elizabeth, who was graduated from high school and had two years of normal school work and is now living on the home ranch with her mother; George Jr., who is also at home; and Robert, who died September 11, 1911, at the age of fifteen years.
Mrs. Slater is now operating forty acres of the old homestead, on which she carries on general farming operations, with the help of her son, keeping a number of fine cattle and a large flock of chickens. The place is well improved and is maintained in excellent condition, presenting a very attractive appearance. The residence, which is set back from the highway, is surrounded by fine old shade trees, while a fine bearing orchard adds to the value and attractiveness of the farm. Mrs. Slater has shown excellent business judgment in her management of the place, and because of her ability and her gracious qualities of character she is held in high esteem throughout the community, being a popular member of the circles in which she moves.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 943-944.
JOHN F. TARTE
Few men of a past generation in Whatcom county were held in higher esteem than was the late John F. Tarte, who is now sleeping in the "windowless palaces of rest." His memory will long be revered by the host of people who knew and admired him, for he was a man who won popular commendation, owing to his sterling honesty, his charitable and hospitable nature and his readiness to help in the furtherance of any movement for the general upbuilding of the community. He was one of the sterling pioneer citizens to whom we owe so much, for he came here when the land was little more than a wilderness and, working hard and long, redeemed the fertile fields and the fine farm where he lived during his later years.
Mr. Tarte was born in Staffordshire, England, January 16, 1852, and his death occurred at Bellingham in 1920, when in the sixty-ninth year of his age. His father, John F. Tarte, also a native of England, came to the United States with his family about the time of the Civil war, and the ship on which they took passage was pursued by the Confederate frigate Alabama. They came to Esquimalt, Vancouver island, in 1863, and remained there until 1868, when they came to Bellingham. The father had worked in coal mines in England and on coming to Bellingham he worked as a foreman in coal mines for two years. In the early '70s he went to California creek, being one of the first settlers in that locality, and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of raw land.
Our subject was also employed for a time in the coal mines at Bellingham, working as a mule driver, but later he served as an engineer on several of the sound boats. After his marriage Mr. Tarte came to the present location of his farm and homestead one hundred and sixty acres of land, which was heavily covered with timber and brush, and he at once entered upon the work of clearing it and getting it ready for cultivation. At that time there were no roads in this locality, though the trail to Bellingham ran through his land, and wild animals were numerous. In the work of clearing the land Mr. Tarte was ably assisted by his sons, and together they cleared one hundred acres, gradually developing the place into one of the best ranches in this section of the county. A large tract has been reserved for pasturage, as considerable attention has been given to dairying, in which line they have been very successful. Sufficient grain and other field products for the stock are raised and there is also a fine vegetable garden, which supplies the table. The farm buildings are substantial in character, and the ranch is one of the most desirable in this locality.
In 1879 Mr. Tarte was married to Miss Mary Eleanor Smith, who was born in London, England, and came to this country with her parents in 1872. She is a daughter of James and Elizabeth Susanna (Winborn) Smith, both of whom also were born and reared in England, where the father was a freighter. On their arrival in this country they located in Connecticut, where they remained for two years, and then went to British Columbia, where they lived for a similar length of time. Mr. Smith then took his family to Seabeck, on Hood's canal, where they made their permanent home, and there both parents died. To them were born three children.
Mrs. Tarte received her education in the public schools of Connecticut, and her marriage to Mr. Tarte occurred after the family located at Seabeck. To Mr. and Mrs. Tarte were born seven children, namely: Rebecca Elizabeth, who became the wife of P. R. Jeffcott, of Woodland, and is the mother of six children; John F. Jr., who lives on a part of the old farm and who married Bess Behme, of Custer, and has one child; Frances M., who is the wife of J. L. Nicholson, of California, and is the mother of three children; Eleanor M., the wife of W. L. Wilder, of Custer, and the mother of two children; J. A., who also lives on a part of the home place and who married Laura Lee and has two children; Alice P., who is the wife of H. Lewis, of Ferndale, and the mother of two children; and Willetta M., who is the wife of H. Ferguson, of Mountain View, and has three children.
Mr. Tarte was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. He took a deep interest in the public affairs of his locality, being specially strong in his advocacy of good schools, and he was one of the original members of the school board, on which he served for thirty years. He was well equipped in all the essential elements of good citizenship, standing staunchly for those things most conductive to the well being of the community, and was long recognized as one of the leading and most influential citizens of his locality. Genial and kindly in all his social relations, he enjoyed a wide acquaintance throughout this section of the county, and he had many warm and loyal friends, who held him in high esteem because of his genuine worth as a man and a citizen.
Picture of Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Tarte appears on p. 147.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 146-149.
Descended from a long line of sterling ancestry and member of the oldest family on Lummi Island, of which his father was the first white settler, Marcus Tuttle is entitled to specific recognition in a work of this character. A life long residence here has but strengthened his hold on the hearts of the people with whom he has been associated and today no one here enjoys a larger circle of warm friends and acquaintances, who esteem him because of his sterling qualities of character. Mr. Tuttle was born on Lummi island on the 21st of May, 1882, and is a son of Christian and Clara (Shrewsbury) Tuttle, the latter of whom was a native of Crescent City, in northern California.
CHRISTIAN TUTTLE was born in Michigan in 1827, attended the public schools a few years, and then, while still a boy, ran away from home and going to New Bedford, Massachusetts, shipped for a voyage on a whaling vessel bound for Alaska. They made the long journey by way of Cape Horn, and on coming back to the home port, the young man returned to his home in Michigan. When the historic gold rush to California was at its height, he again made a sailing voyage around the Horn, stopping at San Francisco, and for a number of years devoted himself to prospecting for the yellow metal in California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho and British Columbia. He determined to go to Alaska in 1871 and on his way stopped in Whatcom county. Cruising around the Sound in a canoe, he was attracted by the appearance of Lummi island and decided to make permanent location here. He at once homesteaded one hundred and seventy acres of land and preempted one hundred and sixty acres, the latter tract comprising the present family home. He was the first permanent white settler on the island and lived here continuously up to the time of his death which occurred in 1902. When he came here the island was wild and primitive, there being no roads, stores or other marks of civilization, all communication with other parts of the island or mainland being by sailboat or canoe. He traded at Port Gamble and Utsalady, and during his early years here he worked out a great deal in order to earn money with which to support the family until such time as the land should become productive. He cleared between sixty and seventy acres and engaged in stock raising, his initial attempt being with sheep, to which later he added cattle. He was successful in this line of effort and created a fine farm and a comfortable home. He also planted a nice orchard and started a fine vegetable garden, both for family use only. He took a deep interest in the welfare of his community, contributing of his personal labor in the construction of early roads, and also served ably as a member of the school board. To him and his wife were born seven children, namely: Bertha M., who died when eighteen years of age; Marcus, the immediate subject of this sketch; Anna, who died when twenty-four years old; Christian, of Lummi island; Hiram, of Seattle, Washington; Moses, who is represented by a personal sketch on other pages of this work; and Clara, who died when but a few days old.
Marcus Tuttle received his education in the public schools of his home neighborhood, the first school here having been started on his sixth birthday. His school attendance here was limited to three months each summer, but he was able also to attend public school in Tacoma for ten or twelve months and later took a course in a business college in Seattle. He has done a good deal of work in the woods, and in 1921 he located on his present farm, to the cultivation of which he is closely devoting himself. He is doing a good deal of clearing and intends to devote the land to general farming and cattle raising. He is a wide-awake and energetic man, exercises sound judgment in all his operations and enjoys a high reputation throughout the community.
On June 12, 1916, Mr. Tuttle was married to Miss Phoebe Read, who was born in Oakland, California, a daughter of L. C. and Lizzie (Kneal) Read, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. Tuttle has been born a daughter, Laura T. Mr. Tuttle has taken a public-spirited interest in everything relating to the welfare or prosperity of the island, having served for one year as assessor and for six years as constable of his district, serving his constituents faithfully and conscientiously. He is a man of sound ideas, excellent judgment and straightforward manner, so ordering his actions as to win the unbounded confidence and regard of all with whom he has come in contact, and it is regarded generally as one of the representative men of his locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 401-402.
Christian Tuttle of Beach, Lummi island, was in the city yesterday. Mr. Tuttle was the first white settler on Lummi island and has resided at Beach for thirty years. He is now 74 years old but he feels and looks as if he were under sixty. He was a pioneer in four territories and was a resident of Michigan, California, Oregon and Washington when they were admitted to statehood. He has rounded Cape Horn three different times. First in 1845 when he came around on a whaler and whaled at Kanchatka and Kodiak island. He rounded the Horn again on the return home just in time to miss the flush of the first California gold strike at Sutter's mill, and in the spring of '49 he came back and landed at San Francisco. He followed gold mining from the San Joaquin to Queen Charlotte island, B. C., going to the latter diggings with the rush of 1852. Probably the first bona fide settlers of Bellingham Bay were in his party at Queen Charlotte; they were Ellis Barnes, who is 1852 settled on which is now known as the Clark farm at Marietta (and who was drowned near Fort Bellingham about 1858-60), and James Hedges, who at the same time settled on the site now occupied by the reservation town of Lummi. In 1862 Mr. Tuttle followed the stampede to the Columbia river and struck some of the best placer diggings he ever saw, about six miles below old Fort Okanogan. Mr. Tuttle is strikingly frontierish in appearance; he is of sturdy frame and height, tawny complexion, clear-eyed and wears a long gray beard and gray hair that plays on his broad shoulders. A wide, gray felt hat adds picturesqueness to the look of the study old argonaut.
From The Weekly Blade, April 17, 1901
HON. GUY E. VAN HORN
Hon. Guy E. Van Horn, a member of the state legislature, has filled other public offices of trust and responsibility and is also widely known as one of the pioneer poultrymen of Whatcom county. He resides in Marietta township and is a member of an old and highly respected family of this district. He was born July 10, 1878, in Blair, Nebraska, and is a son of William and Sarah (Williams) Van Horn, natives of Pennsylvania. At the time of the conflict between the north and the south the father offered his aid to the Union and served for three years and three months with Company E of the Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. In 1889 he migrated to Salem, Oregon, and in the spring of 1890 came to Whatcom county. He purchased a small tract in Marietta township, which at that time was a wilderness, and after years of unceasing toil finally succeeded in clearing his land and preparing the soil for the production of crops. Eventually he converted the place into a fertile farm and there made his home until his retirement. He has reached an advanced age, but the mother is deceased.
Guy E. Van Horn was a boy of twelve when the family came to Whatcom country, and his education was completed in the public schools of Marietta township. He aided his father in tilling the fields and worked for wages until he reached the age of twenty-four, and he has since operated the home farm, also owning an additional tract of sixty-seven acres in the township. He was one of the first men in the state to glimpse the possibilities of the poultry business, in which he embarked in 1902, and in this field of activity he has met with exceptional success. In 1907 he started to raise pure bred stock and now has six thousand hens, specializing in the best grade of white Leghorns. Mr. Van Horn employs four men and three women and enjoys the distinction of owning the largest poultry ranch in the northwest. His prosperity is the result of thorough, painstaking effort and a detailed knowledge of this industry, gleaned by intensive study and years of practical experience. In order to maintain a pure strain, the eggs for hatching are produced on his ranch, on which he has erected good buildings and installed every modern improvement, keeping not only in line with but also in advance of the times.
In 1901 Mr. Van Horn married Miss Mabel Eytcheson, of Wisconsin, a daughter of William Jasper Eytcheson, and eight children have been born to them. Evelyn, the eldest, is the wife of William Lewis, who assists her father in the conduct of the ranch, and they have a daughter, June. The other children are: William, Guy Elliott, Cecelia, Adele, Rose, Jean and John. Mr. Van Horn is an adherent of the republican party and represents his district in the Washington assembly. He carefully studies every question brought before the house and his advocacy of a measure is always an indication of his firm belief in its value as a factor in good government. He has been school director and township clerk and for several years was treasurer of the township. For two terms he has been a member of the board of township supervisors and in 1925 was made its chairman, doing much constructive work in this connection. He belongs to the Grange and was the first master of the local Grange. Mr. Van Horn aided in organizing the Washington Cooperative Egg & Poultry Association and for many years was one of its trustees. He possesses the spirit of self-reliance which carries the individual far beyond the ranks of mediocrity and enables him to become a power in his chosen field. He has played a dominant part in the upbuilding of Whatcom county's great poultry industry and ranks with those men whose careers have been conspicuously useful.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 160-161.
The life of William Visser, well known farmer and dairyman of Lynden township has been such as to elicit just praise from those who know him best, owing to the fact that he has always been true to the trusts reposed in him and has been upright in his dealings with his fellowmen, at the same time lending his support to the advancement of any cause looking to the welfare of the community at large. Mr. Visser is a native of Holland, born April 16, 1877, and is a son of Hans and Florence (Dykstra) Visser, the former of whom died in his native land. The widowed mother came to the United States in 1894 and afterward became the wife of Richard Stremler. She is now living in Grand Rapids, Michigan at the age of seventy-one years.
Because his mother left Holland, William Visser was rendered ineligible for military service. He received his education in that country and worked on neighboring farms for eight years. In 1898 he came to the United States, locating in Michigan, where for two years he was employed on celery farms, and in January, 1900, he came to Lynden, Whatcom county. During his first year here he worked in logging camps. In 1902 he rented the P. Benson farm, which he operated for four years, and then for three years he rented and operated the B. P. Nelson place. In 1909 he bought eighty acres of land comprising his present farmstead and immediately entered upon the task of clearing the tract, on which about the only improvement was an old barn. He has cleared seventy acres and has erected a good set of farm buildings, making a very attractive and comfortable home. He later bought sixty acres additional and is now engaged in clearing the latter tract. While he carries on a general line of farming, he devotes his attention principally to dairying, keeping twenty-five cows, mostly good grade Guernseys, together with a registered sire. He separates the cream, feeding the skim milk to the pigs and young stock, of which he keeps about forty head altogether. He also owns two hundred and fifty laying hens, which he has found to be a profitable source of income. He raises practically enough hay, grain and roughage on the place to feed his stock and poultry. The land is in a fine arable condition, much of it having been drained.
In 1905 Mr. Visser was married to Miss Hattie Roosma, who also was born in Holland, a daughter of Edward Roosma, who died in his native land, his widow afterward becoming the wife of P. DeJong, of Lynden. To Mr. and Mrs. Visser have been born eleven children, namely: Bessie, Flossie, Hans, Ida, Eddie, Dick, Pete, Annie, Jamie, Bert and William, all of whom received their educational training in the Ebenezer school, belonging to the Christian Reform church. Mr. and Mrs. Visser are active members of that church, to which they give liberal support. Mr. Visser has passed through the various stages of settlement in a comparatively new country and has been a witness of the wonderful development which has characterized this locality. In the early days here he drove a covered wagon one day a week to Bellingham, carrying his farm produce to market and bringing back provisions and feed. His record here has been marked by much hard work, but today he is enjoying the fruits of his labors and is very comfortably and pleasantly situated. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. Because of his business ability, his success and his many excellent personal qualities, he has attained and holds a high place in the confidence and regard of the community in which he lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 331-332.
ANDREW G. WESTLUND
Whatcom county has been especially fortunate in the character of her pioneers, who in many instances have been of the Scandinavian race - that race which appears to delight in difficulties, so successful have they been in overcoming them. These people have been brave, strong-armed, far-seeing, law-abiding citizens, patriotic and true to their adopted land and conscientious in the discharge of their every duty toward their fellowmen. Among this number in A. G. Westlund, who was born in Sweden on the 26th of February, 1862, a son of John and Kaysa Olson, farming folk who spent their lives in that country. The father was also a millwright, and he was a man of fine character and upright life. They were the parents of seven children, of which number three are now living.
A. G. Westlund received his education in the public schools of his native land, where he remained until 1882, when, at the age of twenty years, he emigrated to the United States. He first located in Minnesota, where he remained about five years. In 1887 he went to Spokane, Washington, where he lived for two years, and in the fall of 1889 he came to Whatcom county and soon afterward bought twenty acres of land in Delta township. The tract was incumbered with a dense mass of brush and stumps, but he courageously went to work and cleared the land, on which he built a house in 1890. He was successful in the operation of the place, and in 1915 he bought twenty acres additional, which he also cleared and put into cultivation. He raises fine crops of hay and grain and keeps four good cows, some young stock, and about four hundred and fifty laying hens. He has made many good improvements on the place, which in appearance compares favorably with any other farm in the community. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association.
In 1890 Mr. Westlund was married to Miss Fredrica Johnson, who also was born in Sweden, being a daughter of John and Christina (Gudholm) Johnson, the former of whom left his native land and came to the United States in 1880. He located in Minnesota, where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring at Redwing in 1905. The mother died in her native land in 1879. To this worthy couple were born eleven children, six of whom are now living. Mr. and Mrs. Westlund are the parents of two children: Milton, born October 11, 1900, was married to Miss Hilda Henderson, a native of this state; and Hartwig, who was born April 6, 1903, married Miss Virgie Clark and lives in Bellingham. Mr. Westlund has been of the highest type of progressive citizen, and the cause of humanity never had a truer friend than he. His integrity and fidelity have been manifested in every relation of life and he has always had the welfare of his community at heart, giving his support to all measures calculated to advance the best interests of the locality. His plain, rugged honesty, open-hearted manner and fine business judgment have gained for him the unbounded confidence and good will of all who have come in contact with him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 150-151.
EDGAR C. WILLET
True manhood and good citizenship have characterized the career of him whose name appears at the head of this sketch, and no man stands higher in the confidence and esteem of the people of his community. He has faithfully performed every duty incumbent upon him, and be his wisely directed efforts and commendable thrift he has acquired a fair share of this world's goods, besides earning an enviable reputation among his fellowmen. E. C. Willet was born in southern Michigan in 1859 and is a son of Charles and Lucy (Aldrich) Willet, the former a native of Seneca county, New York, and the latter of Ohio. The father was a cooper by trade but also followed farming until 1849, when he joined the gold rush to California. Both he and his wife are now deceased.
When E. C. Willet was six years of age the family moved up into the timber country of Michigan, where he was reared and where, as soon as he was old enough, he helped his father clear a tract of land and get it into cultivation. He received his education in the schools of his native state and remained on his father's farm until his marriage, after which he went to work in the woods and in sawmills, which occupation he followed until 1902, when he came to Whatcom county, locating in Bellingham, where he was employed for two years by the Larson Lumber Company. In 1903 he bought eighty acres of land, for which he paid twenty-five dollars down, and immediately entered upon the formidable task of clearing the land and getting it into cultivation. He has since sold forty acres of the original tract, and of the remaining forty acres he has about ten acres cleared, the remainder being devoted to pasture. In the early days here he had several unpleasant experiences with forest fires, which almost destroyed his home. On one occasion he was awakened in the night and found the fire almost to the house. Fortunately he had a plentiful supply of water, which he threw onto the house and the hay stack, and by his untiring efforts succeeded in saving both. Mr. Willet has now turned his attention to the chicken business, in which he is getting a good start, and is also experimenting in the growing of berries. His career here has been marked by the most strenuous sort of labor, but he is now realizing the fruits of his efforts and has a nicely improved and attractive home, the returns from the farm affording him a very comfortable living.
In February, 1884, Mr. Willet was married to Miss Jennie Draggoo, who was born in Indiana and whose death occurred August 11, 1922. She was a daughter of William and Hannah Draggoo, natives of Indiana, and both of whom are deceased, the mother passing away in 1925. To Mr. and Mrs Willet were born eleven children, namely: Lawrence, who met death by drowning in Lake Whatcom; Charlie, of Klamath, Washington, who is married and has one child; Mrs. Ruby Bariball, of Bellingham, who is the mother of three children; Mrs. Hazel Adrian, of the Fairview Hotel, Bellingham, who has two children; Carrie, who keeps house for her father; Howard, who is a student in high school; Ella, who is teaching at Klamath Falls; Orin, who is in high school; and three who are deceased. Fraternally Mr. Willet is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and of the Grange. He also belongs to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has a wide acquaintance throughout this section of the county, and because of his success, his energetic methods and his generous and kindly nature he has earned and retains the unbounded confidence and good will of the entire community in which he lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 332.
GEORGE A. WILLISON
A man of mature judgment, broad experience and keen sagacity, George A. Willison was a recognized leader in financial circle of Blaine, and his demise in August of 1917, was a great loss to the community. He was a native of Ontario, Canada, and was born January 10, 1854, a son of Stephen and Jane (Abrams) Willison. As a young man he went to North Dakota and on starting out in life for himself entered land from the government and eventually converted the tract into a productive farm, which he operated for many years, utilizing the most modern methods in the cultivation of the soil. After selling the property he came to Washington and in 1907 purchased a small ranch in the vicinity of Blaine. He also founded the Home State Bank, of which he was elected president, remaining at its head until about one year before his death. Under his wise guidance the business steadily expanded, at the same time influencing the growth of the locality, and the bank became recognized as one of the strong and reliable moneyed institutions of this part of the state. His fellow citizens regarded Mr. Willison as an authority on banking and frequently sought his advice in regard to investments and other financial matters.
In October, 1879, Mr. Willison married Miss Catherine A. Still, a daughter of David and Catherine still, and to this union were born eight children. Stephen, the eldest, is engaged in farming and lives in North Dakota. Katherine Jane is the wife of O. K. Middleton, a prominent business man of Blaine. James is also a resident of Blaine and has a wife and one child. Grace married Don Wilson, a well known merchant of Blaine and is married and has two children. Maude Lillian is the wife of Marshall Berton, of Blaine, and the mother of three children. Walter also follows the occupation of farming and makes his home in North Dakota. Clyde is married and is a resident of Seattle, Washington.
Mr. Willison was an earnest member of the Congregational church, with which he widow is affiliated, and in politics he was a stanch republican but never sought office as a reward for party fealty. He had the welfare of his community deeply at heart and was always ready to further every plan for its improvement. He was scrupulously honest in his dealings with his fellow citizens, who entertained for him the highest respect, and he left to his family the heritage of a good name - a possession which is more to be desired than great wealth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 143.
PAUL A. WOLTEN
Paul A. Wolten, merchant and financier, is one of the substantial business men of Blaine and represents an old and highly respected family of this community. A native of Germany he was born July 22, 1872, and was but six years old when his parents, Julius and Mary (Ziedler) Wolten, made the voyage to the new world. In 1878 they established their home in Potsdam, Minnesota, and there the father opened a shoe store, of which he was the proprietor for several years. In 1890 he came to Washington and entered the same line of activity in Blaine. Through honorable methods and good management he built up a prosperous business and is now living retired in Blaine. He has reached the venerable age of eighty-four years, but the mother passed away in 1913. To their union were born four children: Julius, who still lives in the fatherland; Mrs. Annie Kirkpatrick, a resident of Whatcom county; Paul A.; and William, who is engaged in the grocery business at Port Angeles, Washington.
Paul A. Walton was educated in the public schools of Minnesota and in 1890 came to Blaine with the family. He was employed as a clerk for three years and with his savings purchased a small stock of groceries. He was successful in the venture and from time to time has widened the scope of his activities, building an addition to his store, which now has a frontage of seventy-five feet. He is a dealer in hardware, crockery, groceries and farm implements and carries the largest stock of merchandise in Blaine. He is always prepared to supply the needs of customers and his unfailing courtesy and well known reliability have drawn to him an extensive patronage. He is also an astute financier and since its organization in 1908 has been vice president of the Home State Bank, of which Albert Still is president, while O. K. Middleton is filling the office of cashier.
In 1900 Mr. Wolten married Miss Roxie Wilson, a native of North Dakota and
a daughter of R. A. Wilson, one of the early settlers of Blaine. Mr. and
Mrs. Wolten have a family of ten children: Laura, who is living in Seattle;
and Leona, Norma, Paul, Alice, David, Wayne, Gordon,
Juanita and Nellie, all of whom are at home. Mr. Wolten is allied with the
republican party, and his contribution to the general welfare covers eight
years of service on the town council of Blaine. He is one of the energetic
members of the Chamber of Commerce, of which he has been president, and along
fraternal lines is connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
He has earned the legitimate reward of a life of industry and thrift and
at the same time has aided in pushing forward the wheels of progress in this
locality, in which he has a wide circle of sincere friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 274.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page