In the upbuilding of the Pacific northwest the Scandinavian races have played an honorable part, and among those sturdy Norsemen who have proven valuable citizens of Whatcom county is numbered Martin Anderson, a prosperous agriculturist of Acme township. A son of Andreas and Talleta Hanson, he was born January 10, 1867, and was reared and educated in Norway. Following the example of many of his fellow countrymen, he sought the opportunities of the new land across the sea and in 1899 came to Washington. He spent a year in Seattle and then located in Whatcom county. In his native land he had learned the ship carpenter's trade, which he followed until 1907, and he then purchased a forty acre tract in Mountain View township. Mr. Anderson cultivated the place until 1920, when he sold the property and bought one hundred and twenty-nine acres in Acme township, becoming the owner of the Ulick homestead, one of the oldest in the county. In 1925 he built a modern home, and he has added many other improvements which have enhanced the value of the ranch. He knows the best methods of tilling the soil and keeps in close touch with all new developments along agricultural lines. He has pure bred cattle and finds dairying a profitable business.
In 1897 Mr. Anderson married Miss Ingeborg Kylyengstead, also a Norwegian, and they became the parents of seven children. Andreas, the second in order or birth, met death by drowning in 1919, when a young man of twenty. The others are: Thora, the wife of John Parisi, of Seattle; Reuben and Ruth, twins, the latter a teacher in Hawaii; and Elis, Edward and Margaret, all of whom are at home. Mr. Anderson belongs to the Farm Bureau and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He exercises his right of franchise in support of the candidates and measures of the republican party but has never aspired to public office. His has been a life of quiet devotion to duty, but his worth has won recognition, and throughout the township he is spoken of in terms of high regard.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 682-683.
ERNEST W. BAER
Throughout an active and interesting career duty has ever been the motive of action of E. W. Baer, one of the progressive farmers of Ferndale township, Whatcom county, and usefulness to his fellowment has not been by any means a secondary consideration. He has performed well his part in life, and it is a compliment worthily bestowed to say that this locality is honored in his citizenship, for he has achieved definite success through his own efforts and is thoroughly deserving of the proud American title of self-made man. Mr. Baer was born in Monroe county, Illinois, on the 15th of August, 1865, and is a son of John and Barbara (Welsh) Baer, both of whom were born and reared in German. John Baer came to the United States in the late '40s and fought in the Mexican war. At the close of the war he settled on one hundred and sixty acres of land in Monroe county, Illinois, farming altogether two hundred acres, and he continued on that farm during the remainder of his life, his death occurring in 1900. His wife died in 1902.
E. W. Baer secured his education in the public schools of his native county and then, in 1887, came to Whatcom county. He was variously employed until 1890, when he bought twenty-five acres of land in Ferndale township, along the Nooksack river, the land being at that time covered with brush and stumps. He cleared this tract and put it under cultivation, and later added two other tracts of sixteen and twenty-one acres respectively, so that he is now the owner of sixty-two acres of good land, well improved in every respect, and which under his skillful management has returned him a good income. He keeps fourteen good Holstein cows and about five hundred chickens, while the land is devoted to general crops, such as are common to this locality, mainly hay, grain and potatoes. He is a wide-awake, up-to-date farmer, keeping in close touch with the most approved ideas relative to the various phases of his work, and has won a high reputation among his fellow agriculturists. Mr. Baer was one of the organizers of the Farmers Mutual Telephone Company, of which he is still a member, and he is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association, while he and his wife are members of the Pomona Grange.
In June 1899, Mr. Baer was married to Miss Clara Lubcke, who was born in Germany, a daughter of John Lubcke, who came to Whatcom county in 1888. He was a sailor by occupation but retired and bought a small tract of land in this county, on which he lived until his death, which occurred in 1900. His wife died in German in 1885. Mr. and Mrs. Baer are the parents of three children, namely: Mrs. Alice Bellinger, who was a school teacher prior to her marriage and is now living in Ferndale; Earl, who is now a student in the State Agricultural College at Pullman, Washington; and Warren H., who is a graduate of the Laurel high school and is now living at home. Personally Mr. Baer is a man of marked force of character and a pleasing personality, elements which have won for him the confidence and esteem of the people of his community, and he is recognized as being one of the leading farmers of Ferndale township.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 931-32.
CLARENCE E. BALLER
One of the most progressive residents of Whatcom county is Clarence E. Baller, of Ten Mile township whose indomitable courage, persistent and aggressive efforts and excellent management have brought to him well deserved prosperity. He has ever been ready to lend his aid in pushing forward the wheels 'of progress and advance the prosperity of his community, and his career has been one well worthy of the high esteem in which he is generally held.
Mr. Baller is a native of Whatcom county, having been born at Bellingham on the 15th of June, 1891, and he is a son of Frank J. and Barbara E. (Ziegelmier) Baller. His father was a native of Wisconsin, from which state he moved to Illinois. There he lived until 1888, when he came to Whatcom county, locating at Bellingham, where for several years he served as gardener to Fort Bellingham. In 1893 he bought a tract across the street, comprising thirty acres, to which he later added thirty acres more. The land was heavily timbered and the only highway to it was merely a trail. However, he applied himself vigorously to the task of clearing it and eventually had thirty acres cleared and in cultivation. He resided there until his death, which occurred in 1912, while his wife, who was a native of Illinois, died in 1921. They were the parents of two children: Frank W., born in Illinois, who now lives near Grays Harbor and who is married and has three children; and Clarence E. The father was a man of industry and sterling qualities. He was interested in the general welfare of the community and rendered effective service for many years as a member of the school board.
Clarence E. Baller received his education in the Victor school and remained on the home farm, assisting his father until the latter's death. He subsequently bought the place on which he now lives, comprising ten acres of heavily timbered land, all of which is now cleared. Some idea of the thick growth of timber on the place may be gained from the statement that Mr. Baller cut ten cords of shingle bolts on the lot where the house now stands. He has given his attention mainly to the chicken business, his place being known as "Baller's Jubilee Hatchery," which has a capacity of thirty thousand eggs. He keeps three thousand laying hens and during the summer months ships an average of thirty cases of eggs a week, being an independent marketer. Mr. Baller ships chickens to all parts of Whatcom county and a good many to outside points, his stock being commended generally by those who have bought from him. He keeps white Leghorns, of the Hollywood strain, and is painstaking and careful in his handling of this phase of the business. Starting the enterprise about seven years ago with four hundred yearling hens, he as steadily and gradually increased his business until today he is enjoying a very satisfactory measure of success. About 1918 Mr. Baller built the present home, which is a very comfortable and well arranged house, and for about four years afterward he worked in shingle mills.
In 1915 Mr. Baller was married to Miss Minnie Moffett, who was born in Minnesota, a daughter of John and Nettie (Rollins) Moffett, and to them have been born two children, Billie M. and Barbara E. Fraternally Mr. Baller is a member of Bellingham Lodge No 151, Free and Accepted Masons. In his business he has been a close observer of modern methods and is a student at all times of whatever pertains to his life work. He is universally recognized as a splendid citizen, one of Whatcom county's leading men of affairs. Progressive in all that the term implies, a man of sturdy integrity, sound business judgment, fine public spirit and generous heart, he has long enjoyed the unbounded esteem and hearty good will of all with whom he has come in contact.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 32-33.
J. RUSSELL BOLSTER
Energetic, capable and determined, J. Russell Bolster has achieved noteworthy success as a dealer in automobile tires and is generally regarded as one of Bellingham's enterprising and reliable young business men. He was born April 4, 1889, in Abilene, Kansas, and is a son of James F. and Mary (McLean) Bolster, both natives of Pennsylvania. They were numbered among the early settlers of Kansas and in 1890 came to Bellingham, which was then a frontier town. James F. Bolster was Bellingham's pioneer building contractor and on Eldridge avenue, on the bank of Squalicum creek, he erected the first brick residence here, also operating the first brickyard. Later the family moved to Spokane, Washington, but returned to Bellingham after a few years, and the father was long identified with construction operations in the city, contributing materially toward its upbuilding and improvement. He migrated to California in 1922 and is now serving as president of the firm of J. F. Bolster & Company, a Los Angeles corporation.
J. R. Bolster attended the public schools of Bellingham and after completing his studies served an apprenticeship to the plasterer's trace. For some time he was associated with his father in the contracting business, and many examples of his skill and handiwork are to be found in the best buildings of the city. In 1916 he established a business of his own, equipping a shop for the vulcanizing and repairing of tires. It is located at No. 1314 Railroad avenue and is twenty-eight by one hundred feet in dimensions. Mr. Bolster also handles the Diamond and Goodrich tires and employs five experienced men. He has a thorough knowledge of this branch of the automotive industry and through good management and honorable dealing has developed the largest business of the kind north of Seattle.
In 1913 Mr. Bolster was united in marriage to Miss Ayreness Roeder, a native
of Bellingham and a daughter of Victor A. and Effie B. (Ebey) Roeder. The
grandfather, Captain Henry Roeder, secured as a donation claim a tract of
three hundred and twenty acres of land, which constitutes a part of the present
site of the city, and he was one of its early realtors. His son, Victor A.
Roeder, was born on this property and after completing his education joined
his father in the real estate business, eventually becoming one of the largest
operators in this field. He did much to improve and beautify the city and
in 1904 aided in organizing the Bellingham National Bank, of which he was
made president. He has been a dominant force in the upbuilding of the
institution, which has become one of the strongest banks of the state, and
in Bellingham he has long been recognized as an authority on financial matters,
as well as an expert realtor, while his integrity is above question. Mr.
and Mrs. Bolster have a family of four children: Phoebe Elizabeth, Annabel,
Rosemary and James Frederick. Mr. Bolster is a Scottish Rite Mason
and has taken the fourteenth degree in the order. He is also identified with
the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Optimists Club. He cast his
ballot for the candidates of the republican party but has never entered the
political arena. He is in thorough sympathy with every movement for the
betterment of his community and is highly esteemed by Bellingham's citizens,
with whom his life has been passed.
(History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 690-691.)
Additional Notes: James Frederick Bolster was born March 5, 1858 in
Fayette County, Iowa to James and Hannah (Niffen) Bolster and died March
4, 1959 at age 100 in Los Angeles County, CA. J. F. Bolster and wife, Mary
were the parents of at least two daughters, Helen born abt. 1896 in WA and
Mary F. born abt. 1900 in WA.
(1860 census Fayette Co., IA; 1920 census Olympia, WA; CA Death Index)
TYRA P. BOWMAN
One of the well kept ranches of Acme township is owned and operated by Tyra P. Bowman, whose life from an early age has been one of unceasing industry, and his record illustrates the power of honesty and perseverance in insuring success. He was born February 26, 1863, and is a native of Louisiana. In 1875 his parents, Mathew and Nancy (Tuberville) Bowman, went to Texas, and two years later the father passed away on his farm in the Lone Star state.
Tyra P. Bowman attended the public schools of Colorado and Texas and at the time of his father's death was a boy of fourteen. Although the youngest member of the family, he assumed the burden of caring for the mother and successfully cultivated the homestead, on which he planted a pecan orchard. In 1887 he made his way to Wickersham, Washington, and for fourteen months he was employed in the lumber camps of Whatcom county. He then returned to Texas and remained in that state until 1895, when he again journeyed to Washington. Leasing a tract in Whatcom county, he cultivated the place for a short time and then purchased fifty-five acres of land in Acme township. He has brought the soil to a high state of development, his buildings are good, and the farm reflects the progressive spirit of its owner. He has a well equipped dairy and receives substantial returns from his systematically conducted labors.
In 1890 Mr. Bowman married Miss Della Darnell, a native of Texas and a daughter of John Darnell. To this union were born ten children, but Ross is deceased and another child died in infancy. Those who survive are: Charles, who spent fourteen months overseas with the American Expeditionary Force and is now married, making his home in Wickersham; Jessie, the wife of Arthur Haldeman, who owns a ranch near the town; Mary, who is living with her husband, Benjamin McClure, on her father's farm and has become the mother of four children; Ruby, who is the wife of Peter Meyer, a well known ranchman of this locality, and has one child; Dewey, a teacher by profession; Wesley, who is married and lives at Twin, Washington; Florence, who is engaged in teaching; and Pearl, a high school pupil.
Mr. Bowman is connected with the Loyal Order of Moose and his political allegiance is given to the democratic party. He has been a serviceable factor in general advancement, acting as road boss for a time, and for five years has been chairman of the board of supervisors, while for a considerable period he has been a director of the school board. He has worthily earned the right to the distinctive title of "self-made man," and his unselfish nature, marked public spirit and many commendable qualities have drawn to him a wide circle of loyal friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 680.
OLIVER P. BROWN
Oliver Perry Brown had been successfully engaged in the practice of law at Bellingham for a period covering nearly three decades when he passed away on the 1st of April, 1919, at the age of sixty-five years. His birth occurred at Clarksville, Johnson county, Arkansas, in 1854, his parents being Newton and Sarah Brown, who were natives of Virginia and Tennessee, respectively, and represented families long established on American soil. The grandparents were born in the Old Dominion.
O. P. Brown supplemented his early education by a college course at Cane Hill, Washington county, Arkansas, and following his graduation began reading law under the direction of his uncle at Van Buren, Arkansas, where in due time he was admitted to the bar. At the end of about ten years' residence in Van Buren, he came to Washington in 1890 and took up his permanent abode in Bellingham. It had been his intention merely to make a visit here, but he found the location so attractive that he decided to remain. Mr. Brown was engaged in the legal profession at Bellingham throughout the remainder of his life, his success in a professional way affording the best evidence of his capabilities in this line. While a strong advocate with the jury and in his appeals before the court, he preferred and during his later years confined himself largely to his widely varied office practice, specializing in commercial law. He was identified with several of the leading business interests and also on several occasions was retained as special attorney by the city. Much of the success which attended him in his professional career was undoubtedly due to the fact that in no instance did he permit himself to go into court with a case unless he had absolute confidence in the justice of his client's cause. Basing his efforts on this principle, it naturally followed that he seldom lost a case in whose support he was enlisted. Mr. Brown was always interested in farming and farm problems, and at different times he owned and developed several tracts of land and was the owner of a dairy farm at Nooksack, which is now being leased by his widow. At the time of his death he was president of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, of which he was one of the founders. He also organized the first Farm Loan Bank in Whatcom county.
In January, 1889, Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Mary Vaughan, who was born at Fayetteville, Arkansas, and spent her girlhood at Fort Smith, that state. Her parents, John and Anna Vaughan, were natives of Tennessee and Arkansas, respectively, while her grandparents were Kentuckians and her great-grandparents and great-great grandparents were all born in Virginia. Mary Vaughan attended Daughters College in Kentucky and managed the home of her parents until the time of her marriage. She has one son, Vaughan Brown, who was born at Bellingham, (then New Whatcom) Washington, in 1893 and following his graduation from the University of California spent three years as a law student in the University of Washington. He saw overseas service during the period of the World war, as a member of the first company formed at the University of Washington, and remained in the army for two years. Vaughan Brown is now practicing law in Bellingham.
O. P. Brown was one of the active leaders of the democratic party and in his earlier years was always an active campaigner, although he never but once sought office himself. He was a member of the Knights of Pythias and was active in numerous civic and charitable affairs, being one of the organizers both of the Y. M. C. A. and Y. W. C. A. and at one time a trustee of the former organization. Himself a nonsectarian, he attended the Christian church, of which his wife was a charter member.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 529-530.
JOHN C. COMPTON
Long a resident of Deming township, John C. Compton has aided materially in the development of its agricultural resources, and having reached the seventy-seventh milestone on life's journey, his is living retired, enjoying the peace and contentment that come from results achieved and tasks well done. He was born October 4, 1848, in Jersey county, Illinois, and his parents, Clayton and Lucinda (Knee) Compton, were among the early settlers of that state. The father was a native of New Jersey and the mother's birth occurred in Ohio.
John C. Compton spent his boyhood on the homestead, and his educational advantages were very meager, as his youth was a period of hard and unremitting toil. For about seventeen years he was employed as a farm laborer in the middle west and in the fall of 1873 went to California. He spent a few years in the Golden state and then returned to Illinois, purchasing a farm, which he cultivated for some time. After selling the place he went to Arizona, following the occupation of mining, and later journeyed to San Francisco, California. There he took a boat bound for Seattle and arrived in that city in 1889. In the fall of the same year he came to Whatcom county and preempted government land near the present site of Deming. He operated the ranch for many years and brought the land to a high state of development, from time to time adding needed improvements to the property. During this period he also acquired valuable timber land, which he subsequently sold to advantage. In 1895 Mr. Compton purchased his present home of two acres adjacent to Deming and planted his orchard. He has built a good home, and his income enables his to enjoy all of the comforts and many of the luxuries of life.
In 1886 Mr. Compton married Miss Sophia Caroff, a native of Illinois, and Daniel Augustus, their only child, is at home. He went to France with the American Expeditionary Force and spent sixteen months abroad, serving with the Twentieth Engineers. Mr. Compton is identified with the Masonic order and his political views are in accord with the platform and principles of the democratic party. He has never been neglectful of the duties of citizenship and during the early days was a member of the school board. He has played well his part, conscientiously discharging every responsibility of life, and receives the respect which is ever accorded honorable old age. With a correct understanding of life's values and purposes, Mr. Compton has wisely conserved his powers, being well preserved in both mind and body, and vividly recalls his experiences as a western pioneer.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 633-634.
Endowed by nature with a splendid physique, and possessing the equally necessary quality of mental alertness, John Connell achieved international fame as a wrestler. He has sought fortune in the mines of Alaska and is now operating in real estate, making his home in Bellingham. He has had an interesting and picturesque career, visiting many parts of the world, and he regards this city as an ideal place of residence. A native of Iowa, he was born March 20, 1874, and his parents, John and Tena Connell are both deceased. He received a public school education and in 1898 joined the rush of gold seekers to Alaska, where he spent two years. He then became a professional boxer and wrestler and in 1910 participated in a boxing match in Mexico, winning the national middleweight championship of that county at the end of fifteen rounds. His skill in these sports was exhibited in various sections of the globe, and in 1910 at Payret Theater in Havana, Cuba, he was the winner of the international jiu jitsu contest but lost the title six months later. He has thrice visited Alaska and located some valuable mines in that country.
In 1916 Mr. Connell came to Bellingham and for several years was engaged in the potato business. He opened a real estate office in 1922 in partnership with Raymond A. Nienaber and G. W. Mullen, under the firm name of Connell, Nienaber & Mullen, and in the intervening period a number of important deals have been consummated through his instrumentality. On January 26, the firm became Connell & Nienaber. He has studied the question from the standpoint of the purchaser as well as of the man who handles property, and he is doing much to improve the city.
On July 9th, 1912, Mr. Connell married Miss Irene Robinson, of Nebraska, and they have three children: Evelyn, Roy and James, all of whom are at home. Mr. Connell belongs to the local Real Estate Association. He is a man of high principles, capable and progressive in business, and is a citizen of worth to the community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 249.
BYRON C. CRABTREE
In nearly every community there are individuals who by innate ability and force of character rise above their fellows and win for themselves conspicuous places in public esteem. In this category is B. C. Crabtree, who has been identified with the history of Whatcom county for over thirty-five years, his mature life having been closely interwoven with the growth and development of the northwestern part of the county, while his career as a progressive man of affairs has been synonymous with all that is honorable and upright in citizenship. Mr. Crabtree is a native of Illinois, and he was born in 1864, a son of George and Jane (Fillmore) Crabtree. The family came to Lynden, Whatcom county, in 1889 and remained here six years.
B. C. Crabtree did not come in the family party. He accompanied a load of cattle and came by the way of Sehome, and it took him from nine o'clock in the morning until ten o'clock that evening the drive the cattle from that place to Lynden. In crossing the river he used the ferry which was located about a half mile below the present Guide Meridian bridge. He also brought a team of horses with him and for about six years after his arrival was engaged in teaming and freighting. The first day he was here he hauled sawdust for a Mr. Judson, and he was the only teamster here for some time afterward. Eventually he bought twenty acres of land where his present home is located, and while living in Lynden he made a number of improvements on the place, including the erection of a house and barn. About 1895 he moved out to the farm and has since remained there, operating the place and teaming when his services are required. When he came to this locality the Guide Meridian road had not been constructed, but he cleared the site of the road in order to reach his place. The timber had been burned from his land, but it was incumbered (sic) with young trees and brush, and a good deal of hard work was necessary before the tract was ready for cultivation. Mr. Crabtree now has eighty acres of good land all cleared and producing splendid crops. Altogether he has bought and cleared almost one hundred acres in Delta township, which land is owned by his children. He is giving his main attention to dairying, keeping thirty registered Jersey cows, comprising one of the finest herds in Whatcom county. He raises his own hay and grain and usually has several acres in potatoes. He also keeps two hundred Buff Orpington hens and has been very successful in the chicken business.
In 1888 Mr. Crabtree was married to Miss Mary Handy, who was born in Minnesota, and they became the parents of six children, all of who were born in this county, namely: Arthur, of Delta, who is married and has six children; Mrs. Laura Cole, of Great View, Washington, who is the mother of three children; Harry, of Delta, who is married and has three children; May, at home; and two who died in childhood. They also have adopted and reared two children, Henry and Katherine, to whom they have given the same careful attention that they have to their own sons and daughters. Mr. Crabtree is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, of which he was a director for three years; belongs to the Whatcom County Poultry Association and was a director and for a number of years president of the old Lynden Creamery. He is a good business man, exercising sound judgment in all of his affairs, and the success that he has achieved has been well merited.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 131.
CARL S. DAHLQUIST
The store of Carl S. Dahlquist, who has been successfully engaged in business as a grocery merchant of Bellingham during the past twenty-three years, was the first of its kind in his neighborhood. A native of Sweden, he was born on the 25th of November, 1879, his parents being Nels and Bertha Dahlquist. The father is still living, being now a retired citizen of Whatcom county, Washington, but the mother has passed away.
Carl S. Dahlquist acquired a public school education in his native country and was a youth of thirteen years when in the fall of 1892 he arrived at Bellingham, Washington. Here he clerked for four years in a grocery store conducted by an uncle and next was engaged in the livery business on his own account for two years, while subsequently he made his way to Alaska. It was in 1903 that he embarked in the grocery business at Bellingham, opening a store at No. 507 Potter street. Twelve years later, in 1915, he erected a store building at the corner of Potter and Humboldt streets, where he has since carried on his business, and he has been accorded a patronage of extensive and gratifying proportions. He carries a general line of staple and fancy groceries and enjoys an enviable reputation as a straightforward and reliable merchant who does everything in his power to please his customers.
In 1907 Mr. Dahlquist was united in marriage to Miss Wendela Larson, a native of Sweden, who arrived in Bellingham, Washington, as a girl and here made her home with an uncle, A. J. Wickman, until she entered matrimony. By her marriage she has become the mother of two daughters, Evelyn and Dolores. In exercising his right of franchise Mr. Dahlquist supports the men and measures of the republican party. He has membership in the Chamber of Commerce, the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Scandinavian Fraternity of America and has become widely and favorably known throughout the community in which he makes his home.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 517-518.
HUGH W. DIEHL
No man occupies a more enviable position in commercial circles of Bellingham than does Hugh W. Diehl, who has achieved notable success as a dealer in automobiles and for many years has devoted his attention to this line of business. He was born at Mattoon, Illinois, in 1880 and was but ten years of age when his parents, John and Minnie Diehl, came with their family to Bellingham. His father was an expert carpenter and his work was of much value in connection with the upbuilding of the town, which was then a small settlement.
Following his graduation from the Bellingham high school Hugh W. Diehl entered the bicycle business, with which he was connected for ten years. After the decline of that industry he turned to the automobile business and was the first exclusive Ford dealer in the city, while he now enjoys the distinction of being the pioneer in this line in the state. In 1909 he organized the Diehl Motor Company in association with Charles Simpson, and this relationship was continued until 1922. Mr. Diehl then purchased the interest of his partner and has since controlled the business, filling the office of president. Its first home was on Holly street and larger quarters were later secured at No. 206 Prospect street. In 1914 the business was moved to its present location at the corner of Dock and Champion streets. The building is one hundred and ten by one hundred and twenty-six feet in dimensions and two stories in height. The shop contains the most modern equipment and the firm employs fifty men, eighteen of whom are skilled mechanics. The company has the local agency for the Lincoln and Ford cars and sells from five to seven hundred machines per year. Mr. Diehl is an aggressive business man, endowed with exceptional ability, and has perfected one of the largest organizations of the kind in this part of the country. He has a highly specialized knowledge of the automotive trade and has founded his success on concentrated effort and honorable business methods.
In 1910 Mr. Diehl married Miss Elizabeth Sowders, a daughter of Lee Sowders, one of the early settlers and building contractors of Bellingham. The children of this union are Robert and Dorothy, aged respectively twelve and nine years. Mr. Diehl belongs to the Rotary and Country Clubs and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, and is a republican in his political views. He has aided in pushing forward the wheels of progress in Bellingham and the welfare and advancement of his city is a matter in which he takes much personal pride. He has a wide acquaintance in the county and his genial personality and sterling worth have drawn to him an extensive circle of steadfast friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 131.
WILLIAM EARL DORR
A fine ranch in Marietta township is the property of William Earl Dorr, a typical westerner and a member of a pioneer family that has been represented in this locality for a period of forty-three years. He was born April 22, 1885, at Wiser Lake, Whatcom county, and his parents were William H. and Ida (Frost) Dorr, the latter a native of New Jersey. The grandfather, Ebenezer Dorr, was a native of New York and as a young man migrated to the west, locating in Iowa. He took up government land in that state, of which he was one of the early settlers, and in later life moved to Whatcom county, Washington. His son, William H. Dorr, was born in Iowa and in 1882 arrived in Seattle, Washington. A year later he entered a government claim near Lynden and on the land he built a trapper's home of cedar logs. In order to reach that remote section he journeyed by canoe up the Nooksack river and then took the trail to Lake Wiser. By persistent effort he cleared the land of timer and brought it under the plow. As the years passed he reaped the full harvest of his labors, and he remained on the place until his demise in 1921. The mother is still living.
William E. Dorr was educated in his native county, attending a primitive school house constructed of logs hewn by his father, while the desks were made by each family in the district. In 1916 he entered business life, operating a line of automobile stages from Lynden to Bellingham and also between Ferndale, Bellingham and Blaine. Possessing executive force and excellent judgment, he was successful in the venture and at the end of nine years was able to retire. He sold the business in June, 1925, and purchased a tract of three acres, situated on the bay shore in Marietta township. His farm is small but will improved and highly productive. His home contains eight rooms and is provided with all modern conveniences. He brings to his occupation an intelligent, open and liberal mind and a keen interest in all modern agricultural developments.
On September 21, 1909, Mr. Dorr married Miss Bessie Constant, a native of Missouri and a daughter of Edward and Nancy Constant. To Mr. and Mrs. Dorr have been born four children: Philip, Priscilla, William Henry and Robert. Mr. Dorr preserves an independent course in politics, placing the qualifications of a candidate above the narrow limitations of partisanship, and is a man of broad and liberal views and fine character, esteemed and respected by all with whom he has been associated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 187.
JOSEPH H. FITCH
With diligence and determination as his outstanding qualities, J. H. Fitch has accomplished what he has undertaken, and one of the leading mercantile establishments of Marietta is the visible result of his well directed labors. He is a native of Monroe, Michigan, and his parents, James and Lucy Fitch, are both deceased. He was reared on his father's farm and received a public school education. His first money was earned by working in the lumber woods of Michigan, and when he had saved a sufficient sum he embarked in the logging business. Mr. Fitch came to Whatcom county in 1901 and opened a store at Maple Falls, furnishing the miners with supplies. He was one of the pioneer merchants of that locality, in which he spent eleven years. He has since been engaged in general merchandising at Marietta and carries a large and carefully selected stock, so that he is always prepared to supply the needs of the public. Years of experience have made him thoroughly familiar with the details of the business and a large and rapidly increasing patronage is evidence of his commercial standing.
On September 19, 1888, Mr. Fitch was united in marriage to Miss Annie L. Vilburn, of Grand Rapids, Michigan, a daughter of Joseph Vilburn, and well known lumberman of that state. Mr. Fitch is a republican but has never aspired to public office. He is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, being a charter member of Lodge No. 451, at Rogers, Michigan, and also belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. Mr. Fitch is planning to retire from business, retaining his residence in Marietta, and will devote a large part of his leisure time to hunting and fishing, his favorite sports. He takes the interest of a good citizen in public affairs, and a useful, upright life of quiet devotion to duty has enabled him to win and retain the esteem of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 150.
Among those who came to northwestern Whatcom county when this section was still very largely in its primitive stage was Carl Fullner, who has not only been an actor in the drama which has witnessed the passing of the old and the introduction of new conditions in this locality but has also gained an enviable reputation as an enterprising and progressive farmer and public-spirited citizen. A native of German, he was born on the 20th of January, 1859, and is a son of Frederick and Mary (Necks) Fullner, who were farming folk in that country, where both died. Our subject was educated in the public schools of the fatherland and was reared under the parental roof. From the ages of twenty to twenty-four years he served in the German national army and then was for four years employed in flour mills.
In 1887 Mr. Fullner emigrated to the United States, going direct to Nebraska, where many relatives of his were living, and there he remained about three years. In 1890 he came to Whatcom county, expecting to secure a homestead, and lived in Whatcom county about a year, in the meantime carefully looking over the county for a site that suited him. Eventually he bought twelve acres where he now lives and some time later bought twenty-seven acres more, the land being densely covered with timber and brush, while the only highway in that locality was a trail along the river. Mr. Fullner immediately applied himself to the task of clearing the land, though most of his work on the place was done in the winter time, as he worked out during the summers in order to earn ready money to keep him going until the farm should become productive. He now has his entire tract cleared and in an excellent state of cultivation, while the major improvements on the place include a comfortable and attractive house and a substantial and commodious barn, with other necessary farm buildings. He gives his attention chiefly to dairy farming, for which purpose he keeps about eighteen cows, and he also keeps a nice flock of chickens. His fertile fields produce enough hay and grain to supply the stock, while a splendid vegetable garden keeps the table well supplied. He also raises some sugar beets for his cows and pigs.
In 1884 Mr. Fullner was married to Miss Louisa Peel, who was born and reared in Germany, where her parents died, and to their union have been born eleven children, namely: Powell, who lives at Lawrence, this county, and is married and has two sons; Mrs. Annie Berkove, who lives in Oregon and is the mother of eleven children; Edith, at home; Emile, who is married and lives at Lawrence and is the father of a son; Mrs. Mitta Robinson, who lives in California and is the mother of a daughter; Emma, who lives on a homestead in Idaho; Franz, who is married and lives at Greenwood; and Max, Agnes, William and Otto, who remain at home. Emile was in the service of his country during the World war, getting out spruce lumber for airplanes during his entire period of service. Franz also enlisted and trained with the infantry at Camp Worden, being just ready to go overseas when the armistice was signed.
Religiously Mr. Fullner is a member of the Lutheran church. He has always been active in advancing the best interests of his community, among his first contributions to its progress having been when in the early days here he helped to construct some of the first roads through this section of the county. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. Energetic and discriminating in his work, he has accomplished much since coming to this locality and has so ordered his career as to win the unbounded respect and esteem of his fellow citizens, while among those with whom he associates he is regarded as a man deserving of the highest measure of confidence.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 874-875.
ALICE (KIRKMAN) GOODWIN
The name of this estimable woman is a familiar one to the people of the western part of Whatcom county, where she has long maintained her home, and the brief record of her life, outlined herewith, will be read with interest by her many friends and acquaintances, who have learned to prize her for her beautiful character and estimable personal qualities. Mrs. Alice Goodwin is a native of the state of Illinois and a daughter of Arthur and Agnes (Perry) Kirkman. Her father was born in England about 1836 and died September 30, 1908, and her mother was born in Scotland in 1840 and passed away September 4, 1908. They were the parents of seven children, namely: Edward, deceased; William, who lives at Nooksack; Alice, the subject of this sketch; Arthur, who lives in eastern Washington; Robert A., who is represented by a personal sketch elsewhere in this work; Andrew, who lives at Van Buren, Nooksack township; and O. A., who also is represented on other pages of this work. Arthur and Agnes Kirkman came to the United States in 1857, locating in Peoria county, Illinois, of which locality they were pioneers, and there the father conducted farming operations until 1878, when hee came to Whatcom county, traveling by railroad from Illinois to Sacramento, California, thence by boat to San Francisco, by another boat to Seattle, Washington, and again by boat to Whatcom county, four days being required to make the trip from Seattle to Bellingham. It required three weeks to make the trip from Illinois to Bellingham. On his arrival here, Mr. Kirkman filed on a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres near Van Buren, Nooksack township, the entire tract being densely covered with timber and brush. He at once built a log house and entered upon the herculean task of clearing the land and getting it in shape for cultivation. He was successful in his labors and eventually bought more land, so that at the time of his death he was the owner of three hundred and forty acres of good land, on which he lived continuously from the time he came here. He was a man of sterling qualities of character and attained a high place in the esteem of his fellow citizens throughout the community.
Alice Kirkman received a good, practical education in the public schools at Van Buren and remained at home until her marriage, on March 24, 1883, to G. D. Goodwin. To this union were born eight children, namely: Elmer, who is married and has two sons, George and Otis; one who died in infancy; William, who lives at Palo Alto, California, is married and has two sons, Donald and Leonard; Mrs. Maud Zwaschka, who died April 11, 1922, and who was the mother of two children - Blanche, born November 11, 1910, and Bert, born January 2, 1913; Mrs. Edith Flotre, who has adopted the two children of her sister Maud; Blanch, who has a good position in a bank in Los Angeles, California; Alfred, who lives at Arcata, California, is married and has a son, Delbert; and Delbert, who remains at home with his mother and operates the home farm.
Mrs. Goodwin is the owner of seventy-seven acres of good land in Nooksack township, fifty acres of which are cleared, the remainder being in pasture. The ranch is well improved and is one of the best farms in this locality. She keeps eighteen good milk cows and four horses and has a good house and commodious barn, as well as a silo. The cultivated land is devoted mainly to hay and grain, with a small tract of sugar beets, while enough corn is raised to fill the silo. Mrs. Goodwin is a woman of tact and good judgment. She directs the operation of the farm, with her son's assistance, in a businesslike manner, and is enterprising and progressive in her methods. She is kindly and hospitable in her social relations and no one in this community enjoys to a greater measure the unbounded confidence and esteem of the people.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 333-334.
W. B. HART
W. B. Hart is one of the substantial business men of Everson, and for twenty-two years he has made his home within the borders of Whatcom county. He was born August 30, 1875, in Independence, Kansas, and his parents, Silas A. and Harriet A. (Graham) Hart, were both natives of Ohio. The father was a captain in the Union army and served under General Sherman during the memorable march to the sea. After the Civil war Captain Hart settled in Alabama and remained in the south until 1879, when he established his home in Kansas. He was engaged in merchandising for several years and in later life followed the occupation of farming.
After the completion of his high school course W. B. Hart attended a normal school at Fort Scott and was also graduated from the Kansas City Business College. He entered the lumber industry in Missouri and spent three years in that state. In 1904 he came to Washington and at Ferndale was identified with the operation of a shingle mill. He also conducted a general store in partnership with Edward Brown and prospered in his undertakings. In 1922 he came to Everson, where he has since been engaged in general merchandising as a member of the firm of Scott & Hart, which enjoys a large trade. Mr. Hart owns valuable real estate in Ferndale and Seattle, Washington, as well as in the east and derives a substantial income from his investments.
In 1903 Mr. Hart was married, in Kansas City, to Miss Mamie G. Hume, of Missouri, and Katherine, their only child is now the wife of C. C. Bryan, of Seattle, Washington. Mr. Hart is identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and gives his political allegiance to the republican party. He lends the weight of his support to all worthy public projects, and that he is a sagacious, farsighted business man is indicated by the success of his ventures.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 861.
FRANK M. HASKELL
Frank M. Haskell, a scion of one of the old and prominent families of Bellingham, enjoys an enviable reputation as a plumbing contractor and is successfully following in the business footsteps of his father, who was long a leader in this field of endeavor. A son of Edwin Nelson and Mahala (Shell) Haskell, he was born December 11, 1894, and has always resided in Bellingham. The mother was born in Topeka, Kansas, and has lived in this city since 1888. The father was a native of Stillwater, Maine, and became an expert plumber. In 1889 he opened a shop in Bellingham, forming a partnership with a Mr. Bonnie, and in 1892, at Fort Bellingham, established the first fish cannery on Puget sound. He operated the industry for two years and then returned to the plumbing business, in which he continued until his death in March, 1913, having been a member of the well known firm of Monroe & Haskell.
Frank M. Haskell was graduated from the Bellingham high school and under the careful training of his father mastered the technicalities of the plumber's trade. He was an apt pupil and at the age of nineteen took charge of the business, which he has since managed. It was conducted for many years at No. 1163 Elk street and in 1924 was moved to its new home at No. 1223 on the same thoroughfare. The company takes contracts for plumbing and sheet metal work and furnishes employment to nine men. In work of this description the firm has no superiors, and under the progressive management of Mr. Haskell the business has been greatly enlarged.
In 1918 Mr. Haskell was united in marriage to Miss Lucinda Lockwood, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Lockwood, early settlers of this locality. Mr. Lockwood is chief engineer for the Bellingham Light & Power Company and stands high in his profession. Mr. and Mrs. Haskell have two sons, Edwin and Murray. Mr. Haskell is a Mason and has taken the fourteenth degree in the Scottish Rite. He is also identified with the Fraternal Order of Eagles and the Lions Club. Politically he is not bound by party ties but casts his ballot for the candidate who he considers best qualified for office. A young man of substantial worth he has brought additional prestige to an honored name, and his record is a credit to the city of his birth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 934.
CHARLES M. HENDERSON
The representative and honored citizen of Delta township whose name forms the caption to this sketch has been distinctively the architect of his own fortunes, has been true and loyal in all relations of life and stands as a type of that sterling manhood which ever commands respect and honor. He is a man who would have won his way in any locality in which fate might have placed him, for he has sound judgment, coupled with great energy and business tact, together with upright principles, all of which invariably make for success. By reason of these principles, he has won and retains a host of warm and devoted friends throughout his community. Charles M. Henderson is a native of Sweden, where his birth occurred on the 28th of December, 1859, and is a son of M. and Mary (Nelson) Henderson, who spent their entire lives in Sweden.
Charles M. Henderson attended the public schools of his home neighborhood, completing his studies sometime later in night schools while living in Chicago, Illinois. He remained at home until 1882, when he emigrated to the United states, locating first in Grand Haven, Michigan. He next went to Muskegon, Michigan, where he remained about a year, and then spent five years in Chicago. In April, 1889, Mr. Henderson came to Washington, living in Seattle for about a year, and then came to Whatcom county and, in partnership with his brother John, bought one hundred and sixty acres of land, all of which was heavily covered with timber and brush and through which there were no roads. The immediately went to work and cleared off about fifty acres of the land, which they put into cultivation and that same year built a house on the place. This was occupied until 1917, when a fine, modern home was built and is now occupied by the family. Mr. Henderson carries on general farming, raising very satisfactory crops, and in 1925 had an unusually fine crop of corn, the immediate locality being very free from early frosts. He keeps fifteen milk cows and about three hundred laying hens, form both of which sources he derives a nice income. He has made many permanent and substantial improvements on the place, which now ranks among the valuable and well managed farms of the township. Mr. Henderson is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has always been enterprising and progressive in his methods, as was evidenced a s far back as June 19, 1890, when he brought the first wagon into the district, it being drawn by ox teams over the very poor roads which existed here at that time. It took him fourteen hours to drive from Bellingham, a distance of less that twenty miles.
On June 6, 1885, Mr. Henderson was married to Miss Martha C. Soderberg, a native of Sweden, and the daughter of P. O. and Martha (Lars Kelso) Soderberg, and they are the parents of six children, namely: O. W., who lives in Alaska, is married and has twin children, Robert and Evelyn; Lena, who lives in Seattle, is the wife of Lee Kilgour [Kilgore] and the mother of six children, Roy, Verna, George, Willie, Addie Lucile and Doris Dean; Manford E. is married and has a son, Sherwood Ford; Mrs. Mamie Schar has a daughter, Betty June; Mrs. Ruth E. Bibbius; Mrs. Ellen J. Krause has a son, Sherman Charles. The mother of these children died September 24, 1925. Mr. Henderson's career has been characterized by persistent and untiring industry, guided by sound and discriminating judgment, and the success which has accompanied his efforts has been well deserved. He has taken a good citizen's interest in public affairs, especially such as relate to the welfare of his community, and stands for better schools and good roads. He is a man of forceful individuality and throughout his section is held in the highest regard by all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 723-724.
CLINTON WOODBURY HOWARD
For thirty-six years a member of the Bellingham bar, Clinton Woodbury Howard enjoys the distinction of being the city's oldest practicing attorney and ably upholds the dignity and honor of his profession. He has filled public offices of trust and responsibility and is also prominently identified with business affairs. He was born July 25, 1864, in Lima, Ohio, and his parents De Witt Clinton and Christiana (Rankin) Howard, were also natives of that state. His father was a clergyman of the Episcopal church and his influence was a strong factor for good in the communities in which he labored.
In 1885 Clinton W. Howard completed a course in Griswold College at Davenport, Iowa, and then entered the law department of the University of Michigan, from which he was graduated in 1887. After his admission to the bar he located at Mount Pleasant, Iowa, and there followed his profession until October, 1889. He then came to Washington and since November 1, 1889, has practiced in Bellingham with much success. Nature endowed him with a keen intellect, and his analytical powers and careful preparation of his cases have brought him a large and lucrative clientele. He was city attorney of Fairhaven in 1891 and in 1892-93 was assistant county attorney, while during 1912-13 he served as United States District Judge of the Western district of Washington, ably administering the affairs of that tribunal. Judge Howard is much interested in development work and was one of the three organizers of the Bellingham Coal Mines, of which he is a trustee. He is performing a similar service for the Bellingham Bay Improvement Company and the Bellingham Securities Syndicate, Inc. He has faithfully discharged every duty, and his standing in the community is indicated by his selection for these important positions.
On December 17, 1902, Judge Howard was united in marriage to Miss Beth McCord, a daughter of R. P. McCord, of Madison county, Kentucky. Judge Howard belongs to the Country and Cougar Clubs of Bellingham and is a charter member of the Fairhaven lodge of Masons. He is identified with the commandery and has taken the thirty-second degree in the order. He has crossed the hot sands of the desert with the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine and is also a charter member of the local lodge of Elks, and he has been master of the Masonic lodge. He is also a member of the Rainier Club of Seattle and was the first secretary of the Cascade Club of Fairhaven. His professional affiliations are with the Whatcom County, Washington State and American Bar Associations, and during 1910-11 he served as president of the State Bar Association. He is an adherent of the republican party and one of the progressive members of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce. Judge Howard stands for everything that is truly American in citizenship, strongly opposing the menace of Bolshevism, and his professional colleagues and the general public unite in bearing testimony to his high character and genuine worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 489-490.
CHARLES A. JOHNSON
The career of Charles A. Johnson, of Delta township, is too well known to the readers of this work to need any formal introduction here, for he has long been prominently identified with the agricultural and public life of this section of the county, whose interests he has ever had at heart. He is progressive in all that the term implies and is straightforward and unassuming in all the relations of life. Mr. Johnson is a native of Illinois, where he was born April 16, 1883, a son of J. G. Johnson, who was born in Sweden June 6, 1845. The father came to the United States in the spring of 1871, locating first at Laporte, Indiana, where he lived eight years, and then went to Illinois, which was his home until 1883. In that year he came to Washington, settling at Seattle, where he lived for a few months, and then for three years was employed on a farm in Mason county. In August, 1883, he sent for his family, and in 1886 again located in Seattle, where he remained for nine months. He then came to Whatcom county and in the spring of 1888 took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres. He at once entered upon the task of clearing this land and getting it into cultivation, and the same year built a good residence, in which the family has lived ever since. In 1874 Mr. Johnson was married to Mrs. Marie (Johanson) Nymen, who by a former marriage had four children, August, Carl A., deceased, Swen Gustav, deceased, and Jennie C. To the subject's parents were also born four children, Mathilda, Sarah A., Amanda and Charles A. Amanda, who is the wife of Anton Stein, lives in Custer township.
Charles A. Johnson received his education in the public schools of Whatcom county and after leaving school went to work in the lumber camps and shingle mills, which line of employment he followed for some time. He then took charge of his father's ranch, helping to clear the land, and is now in active management of the place, his father having for many years been in poor health. The parents live in the original house built on the farm, and the son and his family are living in a new home which he built. The land is now practically all cleared and in splendid cultivation, returning bountiful crops for the labor bestowed upon it. He raises hay and grain and root crops. Mr. Johnson keeps seven good Guernsey and Jersey cows and eight hundred laying hens. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Associating, the Whatcom County Poultry Associating and the Whatcom County Farm Bureau.
On March 12, 1913, Mr. Johnson was married to Miss Anna Christina Kelso, who was born and reared in Nebraska, the daughter of Charles and Carrie (Nelson) Kelso, who were born in Denmark, the father in 1865 and the mother in 1866, and they came to the United States in 1882, settling in Iowa, where the father engaged in farming, and also worked at the carpenter trade. He is now living near Ferndale, Whatcom county. He and his wife became the parents of eight children, Anna C., Rose, Cyril, Ray, Fred, Oscar, Lena and Florence. To Mr. and Mrs. Johnson were born two children, Myrtle, December 18, 1913, and Bernice, May 5, 1916, both now in school. Mr. Johnson takes a deep interest in everything pertaining to the welfare of the community, being specially interested in education and good roads. In 1918 he was elected a member of the board of supervisors and has served as chairman of the board during the past five years. He also served six years as a member of the board of school directors of Sunrise school district. Mr. Johnson is a man of genial and affable disposition, easily makes acquaintances, among whom are many warm and loyal friends, and in his relations with his neighbors he is always courteous and accommodating. He has performed his full duty in all the relations of life and is held in deservedly high esteem by all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 803-804.
For forty-three years Hugh Macaulay has been a leader of agricultural progress in Lawrence township and his name is inseparable associated with the history of its development. A native of Canada, he was born March 15, 1856, in the province of Nova Scotia, and his parents were Norman and Margaret (McLean) Macaulay. He was reared on his father's farm and received a public school education. In 1880, when a young man of twenty-four, he went to Leadville, Colorado, and in 1883 came to Washington. He preempted land in Lawrence township in which he was the third settler, and has seen the trackless wilderness transformed into a prosperous farming community with all the advantages of modern civilization. Mr. Macaulay also homesteaded one hundred and twenty acres and has some of the best land in the county. He has a fine threshing outfit and through wise management and scientific methods has developed one of the model farms of the state.
In 1886 Mr. Macaulay married Miss Annie
also a native of Nova Scotia, and they have become the parents of five children.
Norman, the eldest, was the first white child born in Deming. He married
Mildred Cook and is employed as a scaler in logging camps of Washington.
His brother Murray is engaged in merchandising at Deming. Margaret was married
to Robert Graham, who conducts a drug store in Bellingham. Jessie is the
wife of Judson Van Lue [or Liew] and resides at Clearlake, Washington. John
is operating the homestead and has a wife and two children.
Mr. Macaulay is adherent of the republican party and served for six years on the school board, making a fine record in that connection. His work has marked a distinct advance in agricultural standards in Lawrence township and his career has been conspicuously useful.
More about Hugh and Annie Macaulay
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 609.
Ethel Mathewson, who conducts the popular Mathewson's Millinery at Bellingham, as attracted an extensive patronage to her establishment not only by reason of her skill as a designer but because of her marked ability as a business woman. Born at Portage, Wisconsin, she is a daughter of Frank and Alice (Thompson) Mathewson, who were natives of Ohio and Rhode Island, respectively. When still very young she began learning the millinery business with the firm of Way & Merrill at Pardeeville, Wisconsin, and subsequently was employed by various other millinery concerns, specializing in the designing of hats. It was in 1922 that she traveled westward across the continent to Whatcom county, Washington, and took up her abode at Bellingham, where she entered the millinery conducted by Mrs. Grace Belford, who had established herself in business in the Exchange building about 1920. About two years later the millinery was moved to the Alaska building. In January, 1925, Miss Mathewson purchased the Belford shop, which has since been known as Mathewson's Millinery. She carries the popular millinery lines, including the Gray-Bel, which she handles exclusively. Miss Mathewson specializes in made-to-order hats and is very successful in her chosen field of endeavor.
In Bellingham, her adopted city, Miss Mathewson has won an extensive circle of warm and admiring friends. She is a student of Christian Science and is a member of the Business Women's Club.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 659.
Among the industrial leaders of northwestern Washington is John McCush, who operates the Ferndale Canning Company and who is a business man of ripe experience and pronounced ability. He was born in Michigan in 1864, a son of Murdoch and Mary McCush, the former of whom passed away in that state. After his death the mother started for the Pacific coast with her family of six children and in 1891 established her home in Bellingham, Washington, where her demise occurred in 1907.
John McCush was educated in the public schools of Michigan and was in that state when the lumber industry was at its height. He decided to enter that line of activity and for several years was identified with the business, at one time operating a shingle mill. In 1916 he took charge of the business of the Ferndale Canning Company, established as a cooperative concern in 1914, and later bought the controlling interest in the corporation. The plant is a frame building one and a half stories in height and covers three-quarters of an acre. It contains every appliance to facilitate the work, which is performed under perfectly sanitary conditions, and has a daily capacity of fifteen tons of fruit and vegetables, which amount when canned is equal to about eight hundred cases. The company cans cherries, raspberries, blackberries, loganberries, gooseberries and strawberries, as well as string beans and corn, and its products, known as the Ferndale and Custer brands, are sold to the jobbing trade. The output of the house ranks with the best on the market and is sent to many points in the east and the middle west, as well as Europe. During the period of greatest activity the company employs one hundred and seventy-five persons and its payroll for the season amounts to forty thousand dollars. Mr. McCush devotes deep thought and study to the business, stimulating its growth by well devised plans and systematic methods, and has perfected an industry of large proportions.
In 1902 Mr. McCush married Miss Minerva Waples, who passed away in 1907, leaving two children, Jack and Mary. His second union was with Mrs. Katherine Chapman, of Bellingham, whom he married in 1910. They reside at Bellingham in an attractive home at No. 830 Garden street. Mr. McCush has taken the thirty-second degree in the Masonic order and is a Noble of the Nile Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Seattle. He is a republican in his political views but has never sought office as a reward for party fealty. He has never deviated from the path of honor and rectitude and is known as a capable, farsighted and discriminating business man, fully alive to conditions in the modern commercial world and possessing the energy and resourcefulness necessary to cope with them successfully.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 491.
Among the men of experience and ability who have aided in raising the standards of agriculture in Whatcom county is numbered Albert Mock, one of its honored pioneers and for nearly forty years a resident of the Wickersham district. A son of George and Elizabeth (Conklin) Mock, he was born December 16, 1850, and is native of Indiana. The father sacrificed his life for the Union cause and the mother was left with a family of six children to care for.
Albert Mock received a public school education and when a young man of twenty went to Kansas, entering a tract of land from the government. He proved up on the claim, becoming the owner of a productive ranch, and spent several years in that state. He was also in Missouri and Arkansas and in the spring of 1887 came to Whatcom county, taking up a homestead adjoing the present site of the town of Wickersham. This was an isolated district containing no roads, and frontier conditions prevailed. Mr. Mock has sold all of the timber on his ranch and retains but forty acres of his original holdings. He has a small dairy and his home is supplied with many modern conveniences. The rich soil yields bountiful harvests and the place is pervaded by an air of neatness and prosperity. Having reached the sunset period of life, he had laid aside its heaviest burdens and now supervises the operation of his farm.
In 1873 Mr. Mock married Miss Samantha Innis, now deceased, who was born in Indiana, and they became the parents of six children: Grace, the wife of Charles Schwab, an agriculturist, whose ranch is situated near Sedro Woolley; Ernest; Gertrude, deceased; Bertha, who died in childhood; Goldie, who has also passed away; and Clarence. The younger son is cultivating the homestead, and he has a wife and two children, Ross and Richard. Albert Mock is a republican in his political convictions and has always evinced a deep and helpful interest in movements for the general good. He served for seven years as road overseer and was long a member of the school board. With a clear conception of life's values and purposes, he has never wavered in the performance of duty, and no resident of this community stands higher in the esteem of its citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 562-563.
GUS and JOHN E . NORSTROM
One of the enterprising and successful business men and public-spirited citizens of Whatcom county is the gentleman whose name forms the caption to this sketch. He has been progressive and up-to-date in his methods and has long been numbered among the leading citizens of his locality. Gus Norstrom is a native of Whatcom county, born in the city of Bellingham on the 18th of December, 1884, and is a son of John E. and Johanna (Norling) Norstrom, both of whom were natives of Sweden. Their marriage occurred in Seattle, Washington, in 1882. The father, who had learned the carpenter's trade in his native land, emigrated to this country and located in Dakota territory, where he took up a homestead, to the cultivation of which he devoted himself for a time. He went to Seattle in the early '80s and in 1883 came to Whatcom county and located at Whatcom, where he established what was probably the first steam sawmill in this county, it being located on the bay end of G street. He remained there until 1890, when he moved to South Everson and located about a quarter mile from his son's present farm, the country there being covered with fine timber, which encouraged him to build a mill. He built the first viaduct in Bellingham, being the owner of a pile-driver, and did considerable contracting over a number of years. In the late '90s he moved to the place in South Everson, where he died in 1915, after a long and active life. He is survived by his widow, one daughter, Mrs. Louisa Mecklem, and the subject of this sketch, all of whom are living at South Everson.
Gus Norstrom received his educational training at the old Roeder school, and he was thereafter with his father in all his operations until the latter's death, since which time he has devoted his attention to the operation of the mill. He has a well equipped plant and turns out a general line of dimension stuff and finished lumber, for which there is a ready market, and also makes silo lumber. He thoroughly understands the handling of timber and the management of mill work and is meeting with splendid success, having gained an excellent reputation as an energetic and hustling business man.
On October 12, 1920, Mr. Norstrom was married to Miss Irene Krouse, who was born at Elk Creek, Nebraska, a daughter of Fred and Lettie (Brooks) Krouse, both of whom are still living, her father, who is a farmer, having been a former resident of Whatcom county. Fraternally Mr. Norstrom is a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Woodmen of the World. He is a man of earnest life and is straightforward and candid in all his dealings, while in his social relations he is genial and friendly. He has taken a commendable interest in the public affairs of his community and supports all measurers for the betterment of the locality in any way. Because of his consistent life and his success in business, he has attained a high place in the esteem and regard of the entire community, where his worth as a man and a citizen have been recognized and appreciated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 857.
Among the representative farmers of Whatcom county, August Nyman is entitles to special mention. He has devoted himself closely to the cultivation and development of his farm, having carried on his work with that discretion, foresight and energy which are sure to find their natural sequence in definite success. Having always been a hard worker, a good manager and a man of conservative habits, and being fortunately situated in a thriving new community, it is no wonder that he has gained the high place he now occupies among his fellow agriculturists, for while advancing his individual affairs he has also contributed in a very definite way to the general upbuilding of his locality. Mr. Nyman is a native of Sweden, born December 8, 1862, and is a son of Andrew and Mary (Johnson) Nyman, both of whom also were natives of Sweden. They brought their family to the United States in 1867, locating in Indiana, where the father was accidentally killed in 1872, while working in the woods. They were the parents of four children: August, the subject of this sketch; Gustav, deceased; Carl E., deceased; and Mrs. Jennie Nelson, who lives in Bellingham, Whatcom county. Some time after the death of Mr. Nyman, his widow became the wife of J. G. Johnson, and the family moved to Illinois, where they remained until 1883, when they came to Washington, Mr. Johnson homesteading one hundred and sixty acres of land in Whatcom county, which he developed into a fine place.
August Nyman received his educational training in the public schools of Illinois and accompanied the family on their removal to Washington in 1883. He located in Seattle, where he lived for about two years, and then came to Whatcom county and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land. Later he relinquished this tract for a moderate consideration and returned to Seattle, where for seven years he was employed as gardner, coachman and man-of-all-work by J. M. Coleman, a prominent and wealthy man of that city. On leaving that position, Mr. Nyman again came to Whatcom county and assisted his step-father in the clearing of the latter's land and the development of the farm. After his marriage, in 1889, be bought eighty acres of the homestead, to the improvement and cultivation of which he at once devoted himself. He first built a small house of split cedar lumber and then went to work clearing the land and getting it into cultivation. He now has about forty acres cleared and raises splendid crops of grain, potatoes and hay. He also has a nice bearing orchard and keeps from seven to ten good grade Jersey and Guernsey cows. He has been indefatigable in his efforts and his labors have been with well deserved success, his farm now being numbered among the best in the locality. In 1909 Mr. Nyman built a comfortable and attractive home, while in 1911 he erected a substantial and commodious barn, and everything about the place indicates him to be a man of good judgment and excellent taste. Mr. Nyman is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has taken a commendable interest in local public affairs and served for twenty years as a member of the school board.
Mr. Nyman was married, November 27, 1889, to Miss Caroline Amelia Jacobson, a native of Denmark and a daughter of Jacob and Maria (Christian) Jensen, both of whom were also natives of Denmark. He parents are both deceased, the father dying in 1873 and the mother in 1902. They had nine children, five of whom are living: Mrs. Christian Jacobson, Mrs. Caroline Nyman, Anton E., Anna and Mrs. Jacobine Jensen. To Mr. and Mrs. Nyman have been born four children: Mrs. Cora Sennes, who was born in Seattle, September 4, 1890, has a daughter, Dorothy May, born January 28, 1921, and she now lives on forty acres of the home place, near Laurel. Lawrence A., born on the home farm May 3, 1897, lives in Stockton, California. Andrew D., born January 13, 1900, was married to May Murphy and lives in Seattle. Philip A., born March 11, 1902, and who lives in San Francisco, California, was married April 18, 1925, to Miss Esther Simon, a native of San Francisco. Mr. Nyman has performed well his part in life and it is a compliment worthily bestowed to say that the locality is honored in his citizenship, for he has achieved definite success through his own efforts.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 337-338.
NICHOLAS J. OLSEN
N. J. Olsen has spent many years of his life in Whatcom county and his persistent and commendable efforts have benefitted himself and the community alike. He has been successful in his individual affairs, and he has also used his influence wherever possible for the promotion of enterprises calculated to be of lasting benefit to the community, besides taking a leading part in all movements for the advancement of the locality along social and moral lines. He was here in the pioneer period and has been a witness of the great changes that have taken place here during the last forty years, having seen the wilderness give way to as fine farms as can be found in this section of the state. Mr. Olsen was born in Bergen, Norway, on the 2d of September, 1865, and is a son of Joseph and Nicoline Olsen, both of whom were lifelong residents of Norway, where they passed away. The father was a market gardener by occupation. To him and his wife were born eight children, namely: Oliver, Andrew, N. J., Anders, Jenny, deceased, Anna, deceased, Rachel and Nicoline. All of the living children, excepting the subject of this sketch, are still residing in their native land.
N. J. Olsen was educated in the public schools near his home and also attended a seminary for one and a half years, thus securing a good education. During his school years he also had considerable cadet work. On completing his studies, Mr. Olsen took a position as shipping clerk with C. Brandt, the largest furrier in Bergen, remaining with him for six years. In 1887 he came to the United States, locating in Rushford, Fillmore county, Minnesota, where he was employed on farms for about a year. He then went to St. Paul and took a position in the depot of the Great Northern Railroad, but he eventually returned to Rushford and went to work on the farm of C. W. Gore, with whom he remained about a year. He next came to Whatcom county and went to work for David Wight, a farmer, in the Nooksack valley, where he remained two years. He also worked in the shingle mills and sawmills for the Gillies Manufacturing Company at Nooksack for several years. About 1892 Mr. Olsen bought thirteen acres of land one mile north of Nooksack, to which he later added twenty acres and then five acres, a total of thirty-eight acres. The land was thickly covered with cedar and fir timber and brush, but he set himself to the task of clearing it off and getting the land in shape for cultivation. He built a small house, which was later rebuilt and which was added to in 1907, making a very comfortable and commodious home. He now has twenty acres of his land cleared and in cultivation, the remainder being in pasture. He keeps twelve Jersey cows and a registered Jersey bull and has been very successful in the dairy business, in which he specializes. His field crops are mainly hay, grain and peas, practically all of which he feeds to his stock. He has used good judgment in all his operations and the prosperity which has crowned his efforts has been well deserved.
Mr. Olsen was married, October 15, 1896, to Miss Hilma Swanson, who was born at La Crosse, Wisconsin, a daughter of William and Charlotte Swanson, the former of whom is still living, while the mother passed away October 8, 1921. They were the parents of eight children, namely: Mrs. Ann Gillies, Hilma, Mrs. Selma Jones, Frank, Charles, deceased, Tilly, deceased, Mrs. Ida Mason and Edward. The last named was born in Washington, the others having been born in Michigan and in Minnesota. Mrs. Olsen's parents were both natives of Sweden and came to the United States in 1873. They settled in Marquette county, Michigan, where they remained for nine years, and then moved to Minnesota, which was their home for seven years, at the end of which time they came to Nooksack, Whatcom county. The father was a successful contractor and builder until about 1921, when he retired from active business, and he is now living in Bellingham. To Mr. and Mrs. Olsen have been born eight children: Josephine, who was graduated from high school and from the state normal school, is now engaged in teaching in Charleston, Washington. William, who lives at Index, Washington, was graduated from high school and had one year of normal school work. He is married and has two children, Grace and Robert. Charles, who also was graduated from high and normal school, is at home. Archie, who had two years of high school work, is now serving in the United States navy. Cecil had two years of high school work. Mildred is now in high school, as is Hazel. Nellie is deceased.
Fraternally, Mr. Olsen is a member of the Nooksack Lodge No. 192, Free and Accepted Masons, of which he is a past master and is now secretary. He has always taken a deep interest in public affairs, being especially earnest in his advocacy of improved roads and good schools, and served for eight years as a member of the board of trustees of the Nooksack high school. He is universally regarded as a good citizen, having ever shown a disposition to support all measures for the advancement of the community, while in his own life he has exemplified the highest type of correct living. He is a friend to all men and no citizen of this community is held in higher regard.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 179-180.
WILLIAM H. PINCKNEY
William H. Pinckney, was born in Michigan in 1843 and is of English stock. The immigrant ancestor left his home in Yorkshire in 1649 and aided in the early colonization of American. His father, Joshua B. Pinckney, was one of the distinguished officers of the Black Hawk war and in 1832 was colonel of the Second Regiment of militia. He married Hannah Mills, a native of New Hampshire and of Scotch lineage. She was also of pioneer stock, and both the Pinckney and Mills families were represented in the Continental army by gallant soldiers who aided in winning American independence. Joshua B. and Hannah Pinckney went to Michigan at an early period in the history of that state and in 1856 started for Iowa with their family of six children. They drove across the country with two teams of oxen and settled on the Big Sioux river in 1857. They migrated to the Pacific coast in 1873 and settled in western Washington when this was a frontier district. Their sons, Charles and John M., remained in Iowa and both engaged in Indian warfare.
At Elk Point, South Dakota, in 1873, William H. Pinckney married Miss Anna Jackson, whose grandfather was a cousin of General Andrew Jackson, and in the same year they journeyed westward to Seattle, Washington, by way of the Union Pacific Railroad. Mr. Pinckney bought a forty acre tract adjacent to the town site of Semiahmoo, now Blaine, and lived on the place until the winter, when he revisited Iowa. In 1877 he returned to Washington, spending a year in Whatcom county, and in 1878 located in Seattle. He was one of the early real estate dealers of that city, opening an office in the old Union block, where he remained until the building was destroyed by the memorable fire of 1889. He continued his operations in Seattle for several years and then sold the business to the well known real estate firm of West & Wheeler. He was a member of the police force of Seattle for four years, acting a night captain for a time, and he also built four residences in the city. He was a leader in many large development projects and handled what was known as the Pleasant Valley addition, in which he built a road at a personal cost of four hundred and seventy-five dollars. He did much to improve and beautify Seattle, which he left in 1893 to take up his abode on a ranch at Semiahmoo. For several years he operated the place, devoting his attention to general farming, and after selling the ranch came to Blaine, where he has since made his home. His real estate activities have been a source of great benefit to the town, and he also sold fire insurance, prospering in both lines of business. Having reached the venerable age of eighty-two years, he is enjoying a well earned period of leisure, and no resident of the community occupies a higher place in the esteem of its citizens.
Mr. Pinckney is an independent republican and has filled public offices of trust and responsibility. He was justice of the peace for some time and was later elected police judge of Blaine, holding that position for several years. While at Sioux City, Iowa, he enlisted in Company E of the Northern Border Brigade, in August, 1862, following the Indian massacres in that region, and afterward joined Company L of the Seventh Iowa Volunteer Cavalry, under Captain S. P. Hughes, serving in all for two and a half years in upper Missouri. He belongs to Reynolds Post, No. 32, G. A. R., which he joined at Blaine in 1913, having previously been a member of Stevens Post of Seattle, and is also identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
His son John J. Pinckney, was born August 9, 1875, at Elk Point, South Dakota, and attended the public schools of Seattle, where he afterward read law. He was admitted to the bar in 1903 and opened an office in Blaine, where he has since practiced. He is the possessor of a keen, analytical mind, and years of experience and intensive study have ripened his ability, bringing him a large and lucrative clientele. He never enters a court room without preparation as thorough as time and means render possible, and he wins a large percentage of his cases, convincing by his concise statement of the law rather than by word painting. He acts as city attorney and is counsel for the Home State Bank of Blaine. He is secretary and a trustee of the Blaine Investment Company and is also a successful orchardist, owning a valuable fruit farm of eight acres. he specializes in the production of fine cherries for which this region is noted, and his property is situated near the town.
On June 29, 1904, Mr. Pinckney was united in marriage to Miss Grace M. Scaman, a native of Blaine, and they have become the parents of a daughter, Dorothy, at home. Mr. Pinckney is an adherent of the republican party and his contribution to the general good covers service on the city council of Blaine. He is a Mason and is also identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He has progressed through the medium of his own efforts and what he has accomplished represents the fit utilization of his time, talents and opportunities. Mr. Pinckney typifies the enterprising spirit of the west and is a man whom to know is to esteem and admire.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 491-492.
BLAINE COUPLE WED FIFTY YEARS
Mr. and Mrs. William Pinckney celebrated their golden wedding anniversary yesterday at their home on Fourth street. Anna Jackson was born in New Brighton, Beaver county, Pa., in 1852. She is a descendant of Andrew Jackson and taught school in Pennsylvania, Iowa and Dakota. William H. Pinckney was born in Salem, Washtanaw county, Mich, in 1843. In 1856 he came with his parents and four other children 1,000 miles by ox team and wagon and settled on the Big Sioux river in Iowa. In 1862 they were driven off their homestead by Indians in the Minnesota massacre. He then, with his brother, John, enlisted in the Company Rangers of the border regiment and then he enlisted in Company L, Seventy-fifth volunteer cavalry of Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. Pinckney were united in marriage in 1873 at Elks Point, Dakota territory. A son was born to this union, John J. Pinckney, now an attorney of this city. They came to Seattle in 1878, where Mr. Pinckney engaged in the real estate business with Arthur Wright and started what is now the West & Wheeler office. At the time of the big Seattle fire Mr. Pinckney was located by himself in the Union block. After the fire he had his office in a tent, then back into the same building, with a Fred West as partner, who is still in Seattle in the West & Wheeler office. They came to Semiahmoo and ranched on eighty acres for seven years, then moved to Blaine, where Mr. Pinckney again had a real estate office. He has been police judge for seventeen out of twenty-one years that he has lived here and still holds the office.
From The Bellingham Herald, March 17, 1923 (Special to The Herald)
EDWARD C. PORTER
Edward C. Porter, formerly and for years a well known cement contractor and highway builder, now living on the Norman place in the immediate vicinity of the village of Custer, is a native of Whatcom county and his interests ever have centered here. He was born on a pioneer farm in the Custer neighborhood, October 18, 18889, and is a son of James A. Porter, who is still living here and concerning whom further and fitting mention is made elsewhere in this work, he being one of the pioneers of Custer township.
Reared at Custer, E. C. Porter was educated in the local schools and was associated with his father in the latter's farm and dairy operations until his marriage at the age of twenty-two, when he engaged in dairying at Ballard, a suburb of Seattle, where he remained for about two years, or until January, 1915, when he returned to the home place at Custer and for a year lived there. He then engaged in the paving business and was for several years thus employed, doing much work at Blaine and also on the highway between Deming and Acme. He likewise established a cement plant and was for some time engaged in the manufacture of cement pipe and concrete blocks. He then resumed farming, taking a half interest in a reclamation project at Lake Terrill in Mountain View township, and in 1925 established his home at his present place of residence, the old Norman place in the near vicinity of Custer.
It was on August 25, 1912, at Bellingham, that Mr. Porter was united in marriage to Miss Merle Norman, and they have five children: Harriet, Margaret, Marion, Ruth and Edward Charles. Mrs. Porter was born in South Dakota and is a daughter of Charles R. and Rosa M. (Beach) Norman, the latter of whom was a native of Massachusetts and died June 20, 1922. Mrs. Norman's childhood was spent in Massachusetts. Her parents moved with their family to Michigan and her education was finished in the university at Ann Arbor in that state. She became a teacher and was for seven years thus engaged, teaching in South Dakota at the time of her marriage. The late C. R. Norman, who died at his farm home in the vicinity of Custer, December 14, 1921, was born in the city of Ashtabula, Ohio, and became one of the pioneers of Whatcom county. His parents were natives of England and were married after quite a romantic adventure. At the very time his mother, Mary Ann Taylor, was crossing the Atlantic with her parents there was in another sailing vessel a young, ambitious and energetic man working his passage over. His vessel was in a violent storm and he was rescued by the ship on which she was sailing. They had known each other but slightly in England, but neither knew the other was crossing to America. They were again separated, to meet once more some years later and tell their stories to each other, and on August 12, 1849, they were married. Thirteen children were born to them, one of whom, Charles R., after finishing his education at Iowa University, went to South Dakota to teach and took up a homestead. He was married in that state and remained there until 1891, when he came to the coast and became one of the first permanent settlers on Lummi island, opening a store there. He also taught school. In 1898 he moved to Fairhaven and was threreafter engaged in the mercantile business at that place until 1912, when he established his home on the farm in the immediate vicinity of Custer, an eighty acre tract, and there spent the remainder of his life, having been one of the substantial and useful citizens of that community. To him and his wife were born five children, Mrs. Porter having four brothers, and the family is well established here.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 813-814.
HENRY J. PYEATT
The history of western Whatcom county was made by the pioneers; it was emblazoned on forest trees by the strength of sturdy arms and a gleaming ax and written on the surface of the earth by the plow. They were strong men and true who came to found a new community - those hardy settlers who built their first plain domiciles, grappled with the giants of the forest and from the wilderness evolved the fertile and productive fields which now mark the landscape. To establish a home amid such surroundings, and to cope with the many privations and hardships which were the inevitable accompaniments of such a life, demanded invincible courage and fortitude, strong hearts and untiring hands, and the names and deeds of the early pioneers should be held in perpetual reverence by those who now enjoy the fruits of their toil.
Among these "old timers" of Whatcom county is Henry J. Pyeatt, who is now spending the later years of his life in comfortable retirement in Lynden, working only as he pleases to while away the time. He was born in Arkansas in 1854 and is a son of John and Ada M. (Tenant) Pyeatt, both of whom also were natives of that state and the former of whom died when our subject was but a small boy. The maternal grandfather, Thomas H. Tenant, was a pioneer Methodist preacher in Arkansas, and one of his sons, John Tenant [Tennant], was one of the earliest settlers at Ferndale, Whatcom county, where he conducted one of the first real estate offices in that locality. About the time of the Civil war our subject's family moved to Kansas, where he received his education, attending three months each year at a school three miles from his home. Before and after this three mile walk he put in his time at farm work, so it is hardly likely that he lacked for physical exercise. He was the sole support of his mother and sister and he bravely did his part. He subsequently went to Texas, where he remained for two years , and then returned to Kansas, where he remained until 1883, when he came to Ferndale, Whatcom county, and went to work for his uncle, John Tenant. In that year he and his mother took up homesteads in Delta township, which they proved up. Mr. Pyeatt relates that in 1888, when the time came for him to go to Bellingham to prove upon his land he found a six foot fir log across the road on the way down. He had no time to spare, and hastily unhitching his horses he led them around the obstruction, then took down the wagon and passed it piece by piece over the log, putting it together again on the other side, and proceeded on his way, arriving at Bellingham just in time.
At that time there were no roads in this locality and all the family provisions had to be carried in from Ferndale. During their first six months here their nearest neighbor was three miles away. Wild animals and birds were plentiful and the pioneer table did not lack for choice fresh meat. The land was heavily timbered, and on our subject's land was some of the finest cedar in this section to the county, but in 1884 a forest fire swept through it and spoiled the best timber. The young growth and brush was so thick that a man could hardly swing an ax, but in the course of time these conditions were conquered and eventually Mr. Pyeatt cleared eighty acres of his tract, besides doing a good deal of draining, and a fine and fertile farm was developed out of the wilderness. Mr. Pyeatt devoted his attention mainly to dairying, in which he met with splendid success. In 1920 he practically retired from active affairs and has since been living in Lynden.
In 1887 Mr. Pyeatt was married to Miss Laura J. Ferguson, who was born in New York state, a daughter of Benjamin Ferguson. She came to Whatcom county in 1883, and her death occurred in 1909. To Mr. and Mrs. Pyeatt were born eight children, namely: Bayard A., who lives on the home place and is married and has two children; Ada J., who keeps house for her father; Alvin L., who is married and who enlisted for service in the World war and was in training camp when the armistice was signed; Ina R., who is the wife of H. E. Fritz, of Lynden, and has two children; Ralph H., who is married and lives in Lynden, and who was also in military training camp when the armistice was signed; Preston T. who is married and had one child, now deceased, and who was in training camp when he was taken with the "flu," which disabled him from further service; and Esther J. and Paul G., who are at home. Mr. Pyeatt has always been deeply interested in the progress and welfare of his community, especially in educational affairs, and he rendered effective service as a member of the Woodland school board. He also served several times as road supervisor. His religious membership is with the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he has long been active. During his early years here he donated many days' labor to the building of roads, and relates that on one occasion he and two neighbors put in sixty-three days on the construction of the road to Ferndale. At one point they ran into eighty rods of water and induced the county commissioners to appropriate two hundred dollars for a bridge over that place, which netted about a dollar and a half a day for the three men. Mr. Pyeatt is a man of sterling character, candid and straightforward in all his relations with his fellowmen, and his influence has always been on the right side of every moral issue. He has been a potent factor in the affairs of his community for many years and his unremitting efforts for the public welfare have been recognized and appreciated by his fellow citizens, among whom he enjoys the highest measure of confidence and regard.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 923-924.
Among the successful farmers and prominent citizens of Ten Mile township, Whatcom county, is Joseph Rainford, who commands to a marked degree the respect and confidence of the people generally. The qualities of keen discrimination, sound judgment and general business ability that enter very largely into his make-up have been contributing elements to the material success which has crowned his efforts. A native of England, he was born in Liverpool in 1869 and is a son of George and Sarah (Mills) Rainford, the latter of whom died in her native land.
George Rainford was a ship carpenter, and he followed the sea for eighteen years, making thirteen trips from Liverpool to Calcutta, his first voyage at sea having been made at the age of seventeen. He was aboard the ships transporting troops during the Crimean war, and he made a voyage to Calcutta before England took possession of it. In 1871 he came to the United States and located in Chicago, where soon afterward he lost all his working tools in the great fire of that year. He then traveled to all parts of the country, stopping wherever he could obtain employment, building barges and doing other mechanical work of any sort that he could find. About 1885 he came to Whatcom county and homesteaded the present home farm, walking all the way from Idaho to Tacoma, with a pack on his back. The land was wild and heavily timbered, but he applied himself with vigor to the improvement of the place and in the course of time cleared about twenty-five acres. Conditions in the locality were primitive, the only entrance to the place being over the old Telegraph road, which runs through the property. Wild animals were numerous, especially bears, but they soon disappeared before the onward march of civilization. Much fine timber had to be burned, as at that time there was no market for it. The homestead has been well improved in many respects and is now a well equipped and valuable farm.
Mr. Rainford devotes his attention mainly to dairying, shipping his milk to the Carnation plant at Everson, to which he has been hauling milk for seventeen years, collecting it in his locality. He also does considerable miscellaneous hauling. In former days, before they shipped their milk, Mrs. Rainford churned, often making three hundred pounds of butter a month. They keep seven good grade cows, for which they raise all the required feed on their own land. Our subject has lived on this place continuously for a period of nearly forty years, and he has been a witness of the splendid development of this locality.
In April, 1907, Joseph Rainford was married to Mrs. Minnie L. Clifton, nee Martine, who was born in Iowa but was reared in Missouri. She is a daughter of J. F. and Mary Ann (Schofield) Martine, both of whom were natives of New York city. On the paternal side Mrs. Rainford is descended from sterling old French Huguenot stock, while her maternal ancestors were early colonists in this country, having received a land grant from George III. By her first marriage Mrs. Rainford became the mother of three children, namely: Mrs. LaPerria Morgan, of Kirkland; Harold of Ten Mile, who married Miss Nora Lavery of Olympia, and is the father of two children, Donald and Joseph; and Mary, of Seattle. To Mr. and Mrs. Rainford have been born three children, Josephine, Lloyd and Orville, all of whom are at home.
Mr. Rainford has long been active in connection with local public affairs, having served as ditch commissioner and as a member of the school board. He helped to clear the Kirkland townsite and in early days donated a good many days of labor to the construction of the roads in this locality. Fraternally he is a member of the Woodmen of the World and was formerly a member of Everson Lodge No. 200, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a man of acknowledged business ability and sterling qualities of character, being kindly and generous in his attitude toward benevolent and charitable objects and genial and friendly in all his social relations.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 218-221.
One of the best known and most highly esteemed citizens of Whatcom county was the venerable farmer, George Roessel, of Ferndale township, a pioneer who did his full share in the development of the western part of the county, which he honored by his citizenship for more than forty-five years. During the years of his residence here he gave his support to churches and schools and to all measures for the public good, his name having been synonymous with honorable living in all the relations of life. He had a wide acquaintance among the representative people of this locality, many of whom were included within the circle of his warm personal friends. Mr. Roessel was a native of France, and his birth occurred on the 15th of April, 1843. His parents, Henry and Elizabeth Roessel, who also were natives of that country, came to the United States in 1833, locating in Buffalo, New York, and later settled at Lancaster, that state, where they remained for three or four years and then returned to France. In 1843, soon after the birth of the subject of this sketch, they again came to this country, going to Buffalo, where the father ran a hotel and also worked at the carpenter trade. He lived there during the greater part of his life and died there about 1875, while his wife died at that place in 1865.
George Roessel secured his education in the public schools of New York state, and in December, 1862, he enlisted in the Twenty-seventh New York Light Artillery, under the command of Captain Eaton. He served his adopted country faithfully until the close of the war and received an honorable discharge at Fort Erie, New York. After his marriage, in 1866, he went to Mount Clemens, Michigan, where he was employed at the carpenter's trade and as a house and boat builder. He helped build most of the hotels at Mount Clemens, as well as many good residences. In 1872 Mr. Roessel came to Whatcom county, Washington, and bought forty acres of land in Ferndale township, proceeding at once to the task of clearing off the dense growth of brush and the logs and stumps which covered it. In this he was successful and at length found himself in possession of a splendid farm, to the cultivation of which he closely devoted himself during the subsequent years, or up to the time of his retirement, in 1920. In 1885 he built what was at that time one of the finest country homes in Whatcom county and two years previously had erected a large and commodious barn; also about that same time he planted a fine orchard. He kept about twenty cows and made a specialty of butter, for which he found a ready market. He was an intensely practical man and always did thoroughly and well whatever he undertook, and he enjoyed a high reputation for his progressive spirit. After coming to Whatcom county, Mr. Roessel also did a large amount of carpenter work and building. He built the Catholic church at Ferndale in 1892, the G. A. R. hall at Ferndale and a number of schools and farm houses in this county.
In June, 1866, In New York city, Mr. Roessel was married to Miss Elizabeth Deal, a daughter of Adam and Elizabeth Deal, both of whom were natives of Strasburg, Germany. Mrs. Roessel died in 1915. To Mr. and Mrs. Roessel were born seven children, as follows: George, deceased; Henry, who lives at Kent, Washington; Fred, Philip, Mrs. Lena Bonner, Mrs. Bessie Knowles, and Mrs. Emma Pauster [Poster], who lives in Skagit county, Washington. Fred has four children, Philip also has four children, Lena has five children and Emma has one child. Mr. Roessel was one of the grand old men of Whatcom county and was held in affectionate regard by all who were fortunate to be included in his list of acquaintenances. He passed away September 15, 1925.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 181-182.
ROBERT M. ROGERS
R. M. Rogers was a native of the state of Ohio, where he was reared and educated. At the outbreak of the Civil war he enlisted and served faithfully for three years and three months. He was reared to the life of a farmer and also learned the trade of a blacksmith. In 1881 he came to Whatcom county, locating on Dakota creek, where he bought what was known as the Kingsley ranch, comprising one hundred and sixty acres of good land. Being a blacksmith, he was offered a free site for a shop and one hundred dollars in cash if he would locate at Blaine. However, he did a great deal of this kind of work among his neighbors, by whom his services were greatly appreciated. At that time Dakota creek was the only means of transportation to the Sound, and thence to Whatcom and other points. It was necessary to go to Semiahmoo Spit for supplies, and in other ways the settlers were handicapped, owing to the almost entire absence of roads and direct means of communication. The supply of provisions and other necessities was brought to Semiahmoo once a week by boat, and if those who wished flour or other staple supplies were not there when the boat came, they were unable to get any until the next boat trip, a week later. When Mr. Rogers bought the land it was densely covered with timber, the only improvement being a small log cabin, while a frame house had been started. Mr. Rogers completed the building and succeeded in clearing about forty acres of the land, twenty acres more being slashed. On his death , which occurred in 1916, he was very active in local public affairs, served for many years as a member of the school board and in other ways showed a commendable interest in the welfare and progress of the community. He was a most likeable (sic) man, kindly and generous, and enjoyed the good will and esteem of all who knew him.
While on a furlough home during the Civil war, Mr. Rogers was married to Miss Meribah Stewart, who was born in Lynn county, Iowa, a daughter of John Stewart, a native of Indiana. To Mr. and Mrs. Rogers were born eight children, namely: Mary C., widow of the late J. H. Kagey; Belle, the wife of E. M. Thayer, who lives on the old homestead, and they have two children; Theodosia, the wife of Robert Sparks, of Drayton, and the mother of one child; Nellie, the wife of J. B. Lathrop and the mother of one child; John W., who was born in Kansas, December 30, 1880; Wilbur; Olive, who died when about fourteen years of age; and Flora, who died in babyhood.
JOHN W. ROGERS
John W. Rogers was born in Kansas, December 30, 1880, and was about three years of age when brought to Washington and to Whatcom county. He received his education in the Excelsior public school and then took a course in the State Normal School at Bellingham. Thereafter he devoted himself to working on his father's farm, spending much of his time in getting out timber, in which work he is an expert, taking out only the select trees and leaving the others for more growth. Thus he is showing a commendable foresight that would be worth billions of dollars to the country were such a rule followed generally. He is engaged principally in dairy farming, keeping seven high grade Guernsey cows, and also has been very successful in the raising of fruit, growing apples, cherries, pears and plums. He raises enough hay and grain to feed his stock, and he has shown sound judgment and discrimination in the management of the place. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and takes a keen interest in everything pertaining to the welfare of the farmer and dairyman. In the management of the farm he is ably assisted by his brother, Wilbur Rogers, who is a practical and energetic worker, a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and popular in the social circles in which he moves. John W. Rogers has long been numbered among the enterprising and progressive farmers of the community and has ably sustained the splendid reputation which the family has always enjoyed throughout this section of the county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 892-893.
HENRY and ROBERT J. SHIELDS
Robert J. Shields, one of the well established farmers, landowners and dairymen of Mountain View township, his home there commanding a wonderful view of majestic Mount Baker, is a member of one of the pioneer families of that neighborhood and has been a witness to and a participant in the development of that region since early settlement days. Though a Canadian by birth Mr. Shields has been a resident of this country since his infancy and of Whatcom county for more than fifty years and thus counts himself as much an American as though indeed "to the manner born," for all his conscious recollections have to do with this country.
His birth occurred on a farm in the province of Ontario, July 2, 1864, and he is a son of Henry and Eliza Jane (Wallace) Shields, the latter also born in Ontario, her parents having located there upon coming from Ireland in 1840. The Wallaces were County Cavan folk in Ulster.
Henry Shields, one of the pioneers of Whatcom county, was born in County Kerry, Ireland, and became a resident of Ontario in 1847. In 1865 he moved with his family to the United states and settled in Pocahontas county in northwestern Iowa, homesteading a farm there twenty-five miles from the nearest town and eighteen miles from his nearest neighbor. In the next year the Wallaces joined him in that locality and the two families were thus reunited in that pioneer settlement. In 1876 Henry Shields, having proved up on his homestead tract and brought the same to cultivation, sold the place to advantage and following his pioneering instinct came with his family to Washington and homesteaded a quarter of a section of land in Mountain View township, this county, and there established his home, he and his family taking up the task of clearing and improving this. That was in the days of "the forest primeval" in that section of the county, when Indians still were in the country and wild game abounded. On that pioneer farm Henry Shields spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring in 1913, he then being seventy-three years of age. His wife died in 1925, when eighty-three years of age. They were the parents of nine children and their descendants in the present generation form a quite numerous family connection.
Robert J. Shields was but an infant when in 1865 his parents established their home in Iowa and he was twelve years of age when in 1876 the family came to Whatcom county, where he has since resided, now properly accounting himself one of the pioneers of the county. He here attended school and he grew to manhood, familiar with the labors of clearing and developing a timber farm. After his marriage he continued to reside on the home place and is now the owner of half of the original quarter section there, his eighty being well improved and profitable cultivated, with sufficient of the native timber standing to add to the picturesqueness of the place. In addition to general farming Mr. Shields gives considerable attention to dairying and poultry raising and has long been recognized as one of the substantial and progressive farmers of the neighborhood. On this place still is standing the old home, erected by his father in 1877 and which is now treasured as a fitting relic of pioneer days in that region. Mr. Shields is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and of the local grange of the Patrons of Husbandry and he and his family are affiliated with the Congregational church.
It was on the day before Christmas, in 1891, that Mr. Shields was united
in marriage to Miss Isabella Sinclair Brown and they have two daughters,
Jessie Lillian, wife of A. W. McKinney of Pleasanton, California, and Genevieve
Alice, who is at home with her parents. Mrs. Shields was born in Pocahontas
county, Iowa, and is a daughter of David W. and Isabella (Sinclair) Brown,
the latter of whom is still living, now making her home just over the line
in British Columbia. She was born in the Orkney islands, off the coast of
Scotland, and was three years of age when in 1848 her parents came
with their family across the water and settled in the province of Ontario,
Canada, where she grew to womanhood and was married. In 1865, the year in
which the Shields family settled in Pocahontas county, Iowa, the Browns also
settled in that county and in 1877 came to the northwest. After a year spent
in the Mountain view neighborhood they moved to British Columbia and settled
Hull's Hall's Prairie neighborhood, where Mr.
Brown died in 1912 and where Mrs. Brown is now living. To them were born
eleven children and their descendants in the present generation comprise
a numerous family.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 829-830.
JOHN ROBERT SMITH
One of the venerable pioneers who remains to tell the story of the wild animals, the Indians and the far-flung forests of Whatcom county is J. R. Smith, residing near Sumas, one of the first settlers in the Nooksack valley and a man whom to know is to honor, for his life has been a long and useful one. The history of this locality and that of his own career during the past forty-three years are pretty much one and the same, for during this momentous period he has not only been eminently successful in advancing his individual interests but has also contributed in a very definite way to the improvement and progress of the locality in which he has lived. Mr. Smith was born in Ray county, Missouri, on the 22d of February, 1850, and is a son of Nathan and Mary (Bateman) Smith, both of whom also were natives of Missouri, though their families were originally from Virginia and Kentucky respectively. The father was a farmer by vocation, following that line of work up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1851. He was survived nearly a half century by his widow, who passed away in 1900. They were the parents of two children: William, deceased; and the subject of this sketch.
J. R. Smith attended the public schools of his native state and remained on the paternal farmstead until 1879, when he went to Colorado, where he followed mining for four years. In the spring of 1883 he came to Washington, locating in Kent, King county, where he spent the summer in logging camps. In the fall of that year he came to Whatcom county and located on one hundred and seventy acres of land, at the time unsurveyed and which was located three and a half miles southeast of Sumas. There were then no roads in that locality, and the land was covered with a heavy growth of timber. He began operations on the place by building a good hewed-log house, which at that time was the best house in the valley, and then turned his attention to the clearing of the land. During that period, in order to earn money for current expenses, he also worked at such employment as he could find in the neighborhood. He cleared about fifteen acres, built a new frame house in 1892 and a barn in 1893, and continued to operate the farm until 1897, when he sold it and bought sixty-three acres of land one and a half miles southeast of Sumas, the place being partly cleared. He has completed the clearing of this tract, which he has developed into a good farm, from which he derives a very satisfactory income. His land is planted to grain and beans, and he raises hay for his stock. He keeps eight good cows and some laying hens, and he maintains the farm at the highest standard of excellence.
Mr. Smith was married, February 23, 1870, in Orrick City, Ray county, Missouri, to Miss Judieth Louise Williams, who was born and reared in Ray county, Missouri, a daughter of Conway and Eliza (White) Williams, the former of whom was a native of Missouri and the latter of Virginia. Mr. Williams was a farmer during all of his active years, and he died on his homestead in Missouri. To him and his wife were born six children, namely: William B., deceased, George M., Merritt, deceased, Julia, Judieth and James, who lives on the old homestead in Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. Smith have been born six children: Mrs. Minnie Good, who lives in British Columbia, is the mother of five children - Jane, Lena, John, Elzie and Merrill. Mrs. Eliza Martin, who lives in Bellingham, is the mother of four children - Frank, Etta, Rita and Guy. James who lives in Bellingham, has three children - Hazel, Lida and Theodore. Claud, who lives on a part of the home place, is married and has three children - Dorothy, Fred and Allan. Guy, who lives near Sumas, is married and has four children - Stanley, Norman, Alfred and John R. Robert G. is married and has a daughter, Berry May. Mr. and Mrs. Smith also have thirteen great-grandchildren, and to this family belongs the remarkable record of never having had a death in the family since the marriage of the subject and his wife, a period of over fifty-five years.
Mr. Smith is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and takes a deep interest in everything pertaining to the prosperity and welfare of the farmers and dairymen of the county. He is a man of broad views, sound judgment and well formed opinions on the questions of the day. He has had all the experiences of the typical pioneer, including the hardships and privations, and fully appreciates the wonderful transformation that has taken place in this section of the state since he came here. He also saw effective service as a forest ranger, having spent ten years in that work in the Mount Baker district at Darrington in Washington. Politically he has always given his support to the republican party and has taken an active interest in political affairs, having served as a delegate to a number of state conventions of his party. He served on the Sumas election boards for several years. He owned and managed the Grand Central hotel at Sumas from 1889 to 1891. He and his wife are earnest members of the Advent Christian church at Sumas, to which they give generous support and of which he was one of the original builders. He is a strong advocate of improved roads and the best of local educational facilities - in fact, everything pertaining to the welfare and prosperity of the community receives his earnest cooperation. Because of his business success, splendid character, fine public spirit and genial personality, he has long held an enviable place in the community in which he lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 587-588 and The Bellingham Herald February 24, 1934.
A substantial and progressive farmer of Whatcom county is John Spedding, who after years of arduous and earnest toil and many discouraging experiences has attained a satisfactory measure of prosperity and is now numbered among the leading citizens of his community.
Mr. Spedding was born in Cumberland, England, in 1860, and is a son of John and Hannah (Spedding) Spedding, both of whom also were born and reared in Cumberland. The father, who followed the vocation of a blacksmith, died in 1872, and his widow afterward became the wife of J. Warwick, with whom she came to Whatcom county in 1892. Here she spent her remaining years, her death occurring at Bellingham in February, 1925. The subject of this sketch received his educational training in the public schools of England, and he was reared by his grandfather, with whom je remained until 1887, when he came to the United States. He proceeded directly to Whatcom county, where he was employed for a time at various occupations, and he became foreman of the Pioneer Livery Stable, owned by Nolte Brothers, which he ran for about fourteen years. When he first came to Bellingham there were very few teams of horses in Whatcom county.
In January, 1905, Mr. Spedding bought seventeen acres of land in Lynden township and rented the Nolte farm. The tract he bought was partly cleared, but it was necessary to remove a vast number of stumps and much brush before the land could be plowed. Later Mr. Spedding bought the ten acre tract on which he now lives. It was badly encumbered with stumps, all of which he has removed. He has also bought several other tracts of land and cleared them up, in this way having very considerably contributed to the development and improvement of the locality where he lives. He is now devoting his attention mainly to dairy farming, keeping about twenty head of registered Holstein cattle, and he raises hay and some grain on his farm, as well as good root crops, chiefly English sweet turnips and mangel. He has been very successful in the handling of cattle and is numbered among the progressive dairy farmers of this section of the county.
In 1886, in England, Mr. Spedding was married to Miss Isabella Lowes, who was born in Cumberland, England, a daughter of Joseph and Jane (Edgar) Lowes, both of whom died in their native country. To Mr. and Mrs. Spedding have been born four children, namely: Hannah Jane, who is the wife of B. Bollerud, of South Everson, and the mother of two children; Kitty, who died at the age of thirteen years; Mrs. Alice Leek, of Bellingham, who is the mother of one child; and Alta, who lives at home and who is bookkeeper for the Kale Cannery Company. All of the daughters are will educated, having attended the State Normal School at Bellingham, and they have taught school.
Mr. Spedding has long been an active participant in the public affairs of his community, having served as one of the first supervisors after the organization of Lynden township, and for seven years he was a director of the Roeder school district. He is also vice president and director of the Nooksack Valley State Bank, at Everson. Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. Among the interesting reminiscences of his early days in this county, Mr. Spedding recalls that while living on the first place he bought, known as the Ritchie farm, the Nooksack river rose to flood state and during one night washed out four acres of his land, his buildings and stock being saved only by exerting the most strenuous efforts both day and night during the danger period. Personally, Mr. Spedding is a man of strong personality, candid and straightforward in all his relations with others, genial and sociable among his neighbors and kindly and generous in his attitude toward those less fortunate than he. Because of these attributes he has won and retains to a marked degree the confidence and esteem of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 115-116.
Notwithstanding the fact that the little republic of Switzerland is one of the small countries of the world, it has sent a large number of settlers to the United States and, being thrifty, willing to work and strictly honest in all of life's relations, they have proven to be among our best citizens, loyal to our institutions and public-spirited in their attitude toward the welfare of their respective communities. Among this number stands George Steiner, a well known farmer and enterprising citizen of Ferndale township, being the first Swiss to settle in that township. He was born in Switzerland on the 20th of May, 1881, and is a son of Charles and Martonolia (Marty) Steiner, who were lifelong residents of Switzerland. The father followed farming and was a highly respected citizen of his locality. To him and his wife were born four children, namely: Charles, who remains in his native land; Frank, who lives in Sumas, Washington; George, the subject of this sketch; and Mary, who lives in Tacoma, Washington.
George Steiner attended the public schools of his home neighborhood, remaining with his parents until 1903, when he emigrated to the United States, coming direct to Whatcom county. He bought the Pat Connelly place consisting of seventeen acres in 1905 and operated it until 1908. He operated rented land for several years and also a dairy until 1919, when he bought eighty acres of land from Thomas Slater in Ferndale township. The land, which is located along Nooksack river, was practically all cleared, and to the cultivation of the soil he at once applied himself, raising hay and grain principally, with some sugar beets. He keeps thirty head of pure bred Holstein cows and ten head of young cattle, having been the first man to bring pure bred Holstein cattle into Ferndale township and has been very successful as a breeder of this type of dairy cattle. He also keeps four head of horses. He has made many fine improvements on his farm, including the erection of a fine new barn, forty by eighty feet in size, in 1924, and he built a cow barn, thirty-six by eighty-seven feet in size, with stalls for fifty cows.
On November 25, 1908, Mr. Steiner was married to Miss Anna Ulrich, also a native of Switzerland and a daughter of John and Sophie (Fassbind) Ulrich, both of whom are still living in Switzerland. They are the parents of six children, Albert, John, Sophie, Anna, Louise and Mina. Mr. and Mrs. Steiner have three children, namely: Anna, born August 9, 19009; Freda, born July 2, 1911; and Ida, born March 6, 1913. The two eldest are students in the high school at Ferndale.
Mr. Steiner is a member of the Pomona Grange and of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. A plain, straightforward, unassuming man, he has always given close attention to his business affairs, in which he has realized a fine measure of prosperity, and has at the same time not been neglectful of his duties to his community, advocating and supporting every movement calculated to benefit the same in a material, civic or moral way, and he therefore enjoys to a marked degree the confidence and esteem of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 652-655.
CHARLES T. TAWES
Charles T. Tawes, one of the successful farmers of the western part of Whatcom
county, who passed away December 11, 1918, was a man whom everybody liked
because of his business ability, his success, his fine public spirit, his
social nature and his genial and kindly attitude towards all with whom he
came in contact. He was a native son of Whatcom county, having been born
in Bellingham on the 4th of December, 1862. His parents, McKinney Thomas
and Mary (Bird) Tawes, were natives of Maryland and Dublin, Ireland,
respectively. The father, who was a sailor, went to San Francisco, California,
about 1852, and remained in that city until 1856, when he was married. In
the following year he came to Whatcom county, Washington, and took up one
hundred sixty acres of land on the Nooksack river on May 22, 1862, which
land was located near Ferndale and was covered with stumps and a dense growth
of brush. At that time wild animals, principally wolves and cougars, were
so plentiful that the pioneers were compelled to lock up their pigs and calves
at night to protect them from the wild animals. Mr. Tawes was a pioneer in
the full sense of the term and his early years here were characterized by
hard and continuous toil until he had cleared his land and gotten it under
cultivation. He resided on the farm until his death, which occurred there
in 1898, but during a few years of this time he was employed as engineer
by the Bellingham Bay Coal Mining Company. His wife passed away in January,
1919 . They were the parents of four children, Mrs.
Annie Ray, Charles T., Mrs. Emily Mohrmann Bearse and John Q.
Charles T. Tawes received his education in the public schools of his home neighborhood and rendered valuable assistance in clearing the home farm, remaining with his father until his marriage, in 1889, when he went to housekeeping on forty acres of the old homestead, where he established a fine home and lived during the remainder of his life. He was an energetic and capable farmer, exercising sound judgment in all of his operations, and his efforts were rewarded with a very gratifying measure of success. He made many permanent and substantial improvements on the place, developing it into a very comfortable and attractive homestead and he gained the reputation of a progressive and up-to-date farmer. He was very fond of hunting and, being a splendid marksman, he usually bagged his full share of game. He was a member of the lodge of Knights of Pythias at Ferndale. Personally, he was a man of many likable qualities, being upright in character and affable and friendly in all his social relations, generous in his attitude towards benevolent and charitable objects and always ready to cooperate with his fellow citizens in any good work or for the betterment of the public welfare along any line. He was in every way a splendid citizen, and his memory remains as a blessed benediction on all who knew him.
On November 26, 1889, Mr. Tawes was married to Miss Edith Wheeler, who was born in Cass county, Iowa, a daughter of John D. and Forbina (Hicks) Wheeler, the former a native of New York state, and the latter of Ontario, Canada. On the paternal side the family was Welsh and English descent and was English on the maternal side. John D. Wheeler came to Whatcom county in 1885, locating at Ferndale, where he conducted a store for five years and also served as postmaster. He died in Bellingham in 1905 and is survived by his widow, who is now seventy-six years of age. To him and his wife were born six children, namely: Ida, who became the wife of T. B. Wynn; Edith, now Mrs. Tawes; Mrs. Maud Slater; Mrs. Belle Wampler; Oliver J., deceased, and Mrs. Grace Hanlon. Mr. and Mrs. Tawes became the parents of four children: Kenneth J., born February 27, 1891, was married to Phoebe Rahorst and they have three sons, Jack K., born August 11, 1922, Richard and Robert, twins, born July 24, 1924. Ira C., born March 2, 1893, was married to Boletta Jacobsen and they have two children, Dorothy Marie, born July 21, 1923, and Howard V., born July 22, 1925. Amos W., born March 29, 1905, is a graduate of the Ferndale high school and is now a student in the State Normal School at Bellingham.
Since the death of her husband, Mrs. Tawes has taken over the management and operation of the farm, which she is directing with skill and good judgment, ably carrying forward the work so splendidly established by Mr. Tawes. She keeps ten good high grade cows, a pure bred Jersey bull and two hundred laying hens, while the land is devoted to diversified farming, raising principally hay and grain. She is a member of the Pomona Grange, the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom Poultry Association. A lady of agreeable manner, hospitable disposition, good tact and wise discrimination, she has long enjoyed the sincere esteem and respect of the community and is a popular member of the circles in which she moves.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 906-909.
Prominent among the worthy representatives of the pioneer element in the county of Whatcom is Charles Tyrall, who has for many years been a forceful factor in the growth and prosperity of Delta township and as such has gained an enviable reputation throughout that locality. He is a native of Sweden and first saw the light of day December 2, 1860, and he is a son of John and Mary Johnson, both of whom were natives of that country, where they passed away, the father dying in 1869.
Mr. Tyrall attended the public schools of his home neighborhood and remained under the parental roof until 1882, when he emigrated to the United States, going at once to Nebraska, where he remained until 1890. In the spring of that year he came to Bellingham, Whatcom county, and in the following year bought eighteen acres of land in Delta township, to the clearing of which he applied himself. Mr. Tyrall states that in the early '90s times were so hard here and money so scarce that if he could have raised the price of a postage stamp he would have written to his friends in Nebraska to send him money with which he might return east, for he would have abandoned his land here and willingly gone. But fortunately for his future, he did not have the price of the stamp and so remained here to carve out his destiny. He built a small house in 1891, lived in it for a number of years and then, in 1905, built a large and more comfortable home. He built a barn in 1903. Although his life here was begun under such inauspicious circumstances, he gradually forged ahead financially and at length found himself on the road to prosperity. In 1922 he bought one hundred and twenty-eight acres of land cornering on his home place, and he is now engaged in clearing this tract and getting it under cultivation. He raises fine crops of hay and grain and keeps about four hundred laying hens and four good Guernsey cows, and he is now very comfortably situated, as the reward of his patience and persistency and in the development of his property, which is ranked among the good farms of the township. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association.
Mr. Tyrall was married in 1888, at Omaha, Nebraska, to Miss Mary Palmquist, who is a native of Sweden and a daughter of Jonas Johnson. They have a daughter, Mrs. Ruth Edith Strandberg, who lives in Bellingham and is the mother of three children, Gordon, Violet and Russell. Mr. Tyrall has been a persistent advocate of good roads and during his residence here has donated over one year's work to the building of roads in this county, thus giving a practical demonstration of his belief in the value to the community of good highways. In many other ways he has shown a public-spirited interest in the general welfare of the community. He is a good business man, exercising sound judgment in all his affairs, and fair dealing characterizes all his business transactions, while his courtesy and accommodation is evidenced in his relations with his neighbors. He has worked hard and earnestly for that which he possesses, and his present prosperity is but the legitimate fruitage of his well directed efforts.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 214-215.
No history of the development of Acme township would be complete without special reference to the Ulrich family, whose members have contributed materially toward its progress along agricultural lines. Edward Ulrich, one of the honored pioneers of this district, was born in Berlin, Germany, February 20, 1837, and came to Whatcom county on the 22d of October, 1886, joining his brother Julius, who has located in Acme township in 1882. They were among the earliest settlers in this section of the state and each entered a homestead, eventually transforming the wild land into a fertile and productive farm, supplied with modern improvements.
On February 21, 1864, Edward Ulrich married Miss Annie M. Rach, who was born in Brumberg, Germany. She arrived in Whatcom county in the spring of 1886, bringing with her two of the children, and at the home of Julius Ulrich awaited the coming of her husband in the fall of that year. Their family numbered eight children. Emil, the eldest, died in 1918. He married Mrs. Anna Honrath, by whom he had a son, while by her first union Mrs. Ulrich had become the mother of three daughters. Oscar died when a boy of seven, and Julius responded to the final summons in 1917. Fred passed away in Germany, and Laura is also deceased. William operates the homestead in Acme township and is classed with its most progressive agriculturists. He is one of the Spanish-American War Veterans and also belongs to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He married Miss Bertha Ehlers, a daughter of Jacob and Catherine (Kracht) Ehlers, and they have one child, Catherine. Edward, the seventh in order of birth, died in 1907. Carl married Miss Pearl Eaton and makes his home in Bellingham. All of the family are of the Lutheran faith and the sons give their political support to the republican party, possessing all of the qualities of useful and desirable citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 651.
HENRY A. WHITE
Among the men of initiative, enterprise and ability who have stimulated the pulse of trade in northwestern Washington, none occupies a higher place in public esteem than does Henry A. White, the pioneer druggist of Whatcom county and for many years one of the outstanding figures in mercantile circles of Sumas. He was born in 1853 and is a native of Rock county, Wisconsin. His parents were Anson and Mary J. (Kidder) White, the former of whom was a Union soldier. He was a member of the Thirty-second Wisconsin Infantry and was killed August 22, 1864, on the field of battle. In later life his widow came to the Pacific coast, establishing her home in Bellingham, Washington, and there spent her remaining years.
Henry A. White had the benefit of a high school education and attended the normal school at Whitewater, Wisconsin. He was employed for some time as a drug clerk, utilizing every opportunity to learn the business, and in 1874, when a young man of twenty-one, he opened a store of his own in Riverside, Minnesota. He subsequently sold the business, having decided to locate in Kansas, and he spent six years in the Sunflower state. In 1883 he came to Washington, settling in Whatcom on the 17th of June. He established the first drug business north of La Conner, locating on the corner of Fourteenth and C streets, and later purchased property at No. 903 West Holly street, erecting a substantial building, of which he is still the owner. There he conducted the business until 1909, when he moved his stock to Sumas, and he now has the leading drug store of the town. Mr. White has made this business his life work and is an expert pharmacist, well acquainted with the chemical combination of drugs. He is content with a moderate profit and his work is performed with the utmost thoroughness. He maintains a high standard of service and is always to be relied upon in filling prescriptions, so that his business prestige has steadily increased and his patronage has assumed extensive proportions. He is also a prosperous agriculturist and owns a fine ranch in the county.
On the 14th of February, 1883, Mr. White married Miss Jessie Edson, now deceased. She was the daughter of G. M. and Ellen (Gillespie) Edson, the latter a native of Ohio. Her father was born in New York state and became one of the pioneer physicians of Iowa. He passed away in the Hawkeye state and the family afterward moved to Kansas. They migrated from that state to Washington and in 1883 settled in Whatcom. Mrs. White's brother, Edward Edson, is mayor of Lynden and since 1891 has been engaged in the drug business in this community. Mr. White's second union was with Laura M. Lewis, to whom he was married May 4, 1916. He is identified with the Masonic order and was a second master of the lodge at Bellingham. He is an independent voter in politics, but has never aspired to public office. His life has been one of quiet devotion to duty and his record proves that the old-fashioned virtues of industry, honesty and singleness of purpose still constitute the key to prosperity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 157-158.
FREDERICK J. WOOD
The astute, enterprising and sagacious business man is at once the mainstay and the motive power of every community in which he is found, and of this type is Frederick J. Wood, of Bellingham, at the head of one of the largest lumber industries in the Pacific northwest. He was born at Stanton, Michigan, in 1869, and his parents were E. K. and Marian S. (Thayer) Wood. The father was a native of New York and in 1866 migrated to Michigan, state while the lumber industry was at its height, becoming one of its large producers, and in 1892, however, he had made a timber investment at Grays Harbor in 1884 when the business began to decline, transferred the scene of his activities to California. Prior to this he had invested in timber at Grays Harbor, Washington, in 1884. In California he laid the foundation for the large business now controlled by his son Frederick J., and was long numbered among the foremost lumbermen of the Pacific coast region. He remained at the head of the industry until his death in 1917. His widow passed away in 1922. He was a man of superior ability and measured up to high standards in very relation of life.
Frederick J. Wood received his higher education in Olivet College of Michigan, being a member of the class of 1890, and then became associated with his father in the lumber trade, gradually mastering the technicalities of the industry. As time passed he assumed heavier responsibilities and at his father's death was able to take entire charge of the business, of which he has since been president. It was incorporated February 5, 1895, as the E. K. Wood Lumber Company and this style has remained unchanged. The first officers were E. K. Wood, president, and C. A. Thayer, secretary. They established yards in Los Angeles and San Francisco, California, and operated a mill at Grays Harbor, Washington. Being desirous of acquiring another mill in this state, E. K. Wood sent two experts to examine properties but both sent in an unfavorable report, and Mr. Wood then selected his son Frederick for the mission. He was at that time a young man of thirty-one years and after viewing the plant at South Bellingham he realized its value. He advised the firm to buy the property in the event of the election of William B. McKinley, thus insuring the restoration of protective tariff measurers, and accordingly in 1900 they purchased the mill from the Bellingham Land Company. Later the E. K. Wood Lumber Company bought large tracts of timber in this region and remodeled the plant, which has a capacity of one hundred and seventy-five thousand feet of lumber every eight hours. In 1923 they built a modern mill at Anacortes, Washington, electrified the plant, and they now have a total capacity of five hundred and fifty thousand feet of lumber per day, working in eight-hour shifts. The company has seven large steamers for transporting its product and each is capable of carrying from seven hundred and fifty thousand to two million, one hundred thousand feet of lumber. The firm has a general office in San Francisco with retail yards at San Pedro, Los Angeles, Oakland, Berkeley, Santa Ana and Huntington Beach, California, with a buying and selling office at Portland, Oregon, and also sells direct to the trade. The corporation utilizes the services of about thirteen hundred and fifty men and its payroll when running two shifts amounts to more than a half million dollars per year at Bellingham alone. Mr. Wood owns personally a half interest in a large proposition in the province of British Columbia, Canada, where they have over five hundred employes (sic), and through the exercise of tact, kindness and consideration he has secured the good will and earnest cooperation of those who serve him. No detail of the business escapes his observation and in the direction of his affairs he displays notable wisdom and administrative power. Under his expert guidance the business has constantly expanded until it is now classed with the largest lumber organizations in the northwest and in the operation of this important industry he has obtained maximum efficiency with a minimum expenditure of time, labor and material. He has never deviated from the high principles upon which the business was founded, and for thirty years the firm name has been synonymous with enterprise, integrity and reliability.
In 1891 Mr. Wood married Miss Anna Bale, of Lakeview, Michigan, and the children of this union are Warren B., who assists his father in the conduct of the business; and Marian Ann. Mr. wood is a Knight Templar Mason and has taken the thirty-second degree in the Scottish Rite Consistory. He is also identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Bellingham Country Club and the Country Club of Berkeley, California. He is a director of the First National Bank of Bellingham and exerts a strong influence in the control of its affairs. He casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party, and his connection with public affairs covers two years' service on the Fairhaven city council. Mr. Wood has played well his part, ably continuing the constructive work begun by his father, and his record reflects credit upon the honored name he bears.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 118-121.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page