From colonial days the little country of Holland has sent to this country many of her best citizens, who have to a very marked degree been prominent in the development of our country and its resources, and included in the present population of Whatcom county are many enterprising and progressive farmers and business men who belong to that people. Among these stands John Bosman, whose dairy and poultry farm is well located in Lynden township, where he has gained a high standing among his fellow citizens. He is a native of Holland, born on the 16th of September, 1873, and is a son of William and Nellie (Kneisvorberg) Bosman, the former of whom was a ship builder by vocation. They are now deceased, the father and mother both dying when the subject was but a small boy.
John Bosman received his education in the public schools near his home and remained with his uncle during the years of his youth. He was fortunate in the drawings for military service, as he drew a high number, which relieved him from service. On March 27, 1893, he left his native land for the United States, believing that he would here find conditions more favorable for individual advancement than in his own country. He first located in Michigan, where for a few years he worked on farms in the summertime and in the woods during the winters. In 1896 he went to Minnesota and a month later was employed in construction work on the Great Northern Railroad in the Dakotas and Montana. After two months of this work he gave up that job and thereafter for about six years was employed in various localities in the country, at railroad work, as a harvest hand and in other lines of employment. In 1901 Mr. Bosman came to Lynden, Whatcom county, and worked at such employment as he could find for a time, and he then bought ten acres of land in Lynden township, where he lived until 1912. The tract was heavily covered with timber when he bought it, but eventually he cleared it all and created a good farm, on which he carried on dairy farming, and also bought ten acres more adjoining, which he likewise cleared and put into cultivation. He then rented the Neurer place for two years, at the end of which time, in 1914, he bought the place where he now lives, comprising forty acres of good, fertile land. Three acres were cleared when he acquired the tract, but he now has it practically all cleared and has made many permanent and substantial improvements, the ranch being considered one of the best farms of its size in this locality. He devotes his attention mainly to dairying and the poultry business, in both of which he has met with pronounced success. He keeps fifteen milk cows of good grade, and six hundred White Leghorn chickens, of the Tacred strain. In the operation of his farm he has showed sound judgment and discrimination, and prosperity is crowning his efforts.
In 1906 Mr. Bosman was married to Miss Alice Hendricks, who was born in Michigan, a daughter of H. H. and Hattie (Dobbins) Hendricks, both of whom were natives of Germany, whence the father, who was a farmer, came to this country in the early '80s. The mother came with her family to Whatcom county in 1897 and to Lynden in the following year. To Mr. and Mrs. Bosman have been born twelve children, namely: William, Herman H., Nellie, Henry, Elizabeth, Hendrika, John, Benjamin, James, Jennie, Albert J. and Peter. Mr. Bosman is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has always been interested in the welfare of his community and at one time rendering appreciated service as a member of the school board of the Riverside district. Possessing the old-fashioned but substantial ideas of honesty and uprightness, he has made an indelible impression on the minds of all with whom he has been associated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 260-261.
JAMES E. BOWEN
J. E. Bowen is widely known as one of the enterprising and successful farmers of Whatcom county, where he has lived for many years, prominently identified with the agricultural interests of his locality. His well directed efforts in the practical affairs of life, his capable management of his business interests and his sound judgment have brought him very satisfactory rewards for the labor he has expended and he occupies an enviable place in the esteem of his fellow citizens. J. E. Bowen was born in Glasgow, Scotland, on the 23d of March, 1855, and is a son of James E. and Sarah (McIntyre) Bowen, also natives of Scotland. The father, who was a bookbinder by trade, came to the United States in 1864, and here spent the remaining years of his life, dying in 1868. His wife moved to Missouri, where her death occurred in 1894. They were the parents of four children: J. E.; Mrs. Sarah Jones, who lives in Missouri and is the mother of six children; Mrs. Elizabeth Post, who lives in Manitoba, Canada, and is the mother of six children; and Mrs. Susan Crosby, who lives at Prosser, Washington, and has three children.
J. E. Bowen was about nine years of age when brought to the United States. He secured his education in the public schools of Iowa, and was then employed at various occupations until 1875, when he began railroading, his last job prior to that time having been as pilot's helper on the Missouri river, at which he was employed two years. In railroad work he proved to be a capable and efficient workman and when twenty-one years of age was promoted to the position of locomotive engineer. He worked for the Northwestern Railroad for a number of years and in 1887 came to Seattle, Washington, and worked as an engineer for the Northern Pacific Railroad. In 1919 after a long and honorable record in railroad service, he quit that line of work and, coming to Whatcom county, bought thirty acres of land in Ferndale township. He cleared about ten acres and put it under cultivation, has made a number of fine improvements on the ranch and has a very comfortable and attractive home, where he is spending the golden sunset years of his life, leisurely enjoying that rest to which his years of labor so richly entitle him.
Mr. Bowen was married, July 2, 1881, to Miss Melinda A. Gray, who was born in New York, the daughter of Isaac B. and Elizabeth (Sands) Gray, both of whom were also natives of the Empire state. The father, who was a wheelwright by trade, died in his native state in 1863, and his widow, who later came to Washington, died here in 1900. To this worthy couple were born two children, Mrs. Bowen and Sarah Adelaide, who became the wife of George Haven and the mother of four children. She died at Florence, Washington, on August 24, 1903. To Mr. and Mrs. Bowen were born the following children: Sarah Elizabeth, who became the wife of C. E. Holt and the mother of two sons, E. C., Jr., and Bruce B.; Charlotte Candace, who became the wife of Edward Larsen, of Olympia, Washington; Susan; Charles and Harriet, twins, the former of whom studied music in Italy and is now a music teacher in Bellingham; Edith, who became the wife of N. F. Dibble, of Bellingham, and has a son, N. F., Jr.; and James E., who was married to Miss Genevieve Jones and lives in Bellingham. Mr. Bowen is a man of fine personal character, genial and affable, kindly and generous, and during the years that he has lived in this locality he has gained a high place in the esteem of all who have come into contact with him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 749-750.
ROBERT L. BRIDGES
Among the well known commercial institutions of Bellingham is that of the Modern Electric Company, which owes its success to the untiring efforts and able management of R. L. Bridges, an aggressive, farsighted young business man. A native of Missouri, he was born in 1888 and is a son of James B. and Louise (Lee) Bridges. After the completion of his high school course he entered the University of Colorado, which he attended for two years, and then spent a year at the University of Washington, devoting his attention to the study of electrical engineering. He was a railroad employe for a few years and was next connected with a fish cannery. He came to Bellingham in 1922 and in partnership with Mrs. L. L. Bridges and Miss N. L. Bridges purchased the business of the Modern Electric Company, of which he has since been manager. He is alert to every new avenue opened in the natural ramifications of the trade and is constantly enlarging the scope of the undertaking, possessing an initiative spirit and the requisite executive force. The business was established in 1912 by H. E. Mills and was later acquired by Martin Brothers, whose stock was subsequently purchased by Mr. Mills. He remained at the head of the business until it was sold to the present owners. The firm carries a complete line of electrical goods, including washing machines, lamps and vacuum sweepers, and there is also a fine lamp shade department. They store is situated at No. 1322 Cornwall avenue and is seventeen by one hundred and twenty feet in dimensions. The business is conducted along progressive lines and patrons of the house are always assured of a "square deal."
On January 15, 1916, Mr. Bridges married Miss Olive Carter, of Seattle, Washington, and to this union has been born a son, Robert Ward. Mr. Bridges is liberal in his political views, refusing to submit to the dictates of party leaders, and casts his ballot for the man whom he regards as best fitted for the office to which he aspires. He is a director of the Kiwanis Club and along fraternal lines is connected with the Masonic order. He is one of the energetic members of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce and loyally supports every project destined to prove of real benefit to the city with which he has allied his interests.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 239.
For many years John Brooks, a well established and widely known realtor at Bellingham, was employed in a vocation which required almost constant travel, during the course of which he visited pretty much all of the United States and Canada. In 1909 he settled down at Bellingham and has ever since been quite content to regard this as his permanent home, for he stoutly maintains that in all his travels he has never found a locality that offers more desirable advantages as a place of residence than does this beautiful Bay city and the fine trade area centering here. From the time he came here Mr. Brooks has been one of Whatcom county's most enthusiastic boosters and he has done well his part as a community builder. It is but proper, therefore, that in this definite history of the community in which his interests have become so firmly centered there should appear a brief mention of his life and experiences.
Mr. Brooks is a Canadian by birth, born at Douglastown in the province of New Brunswick, October 18, 1866, and is a son of Thomas and Isabel Brooks, the former of whom was a building contractor. He was there reared and under his father's direction early took to the carpenter's trade. After being thus employed for some time he engaged in spool turning and for five years was plant foreman. He was next manager of the Singer Sewing Machine Company for fourteen years, in the maritime province, and for fourteen years was employed as a commercial traveler on the staff of this company. It is a matter of just and continuing pride on the part of Mr. Brooks that during this long period of responsible service with the company he never was required to give bond.
Mr. Brook's travels carried him throughout New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, through Quebec and other parts of Canada, into the state of Maine and other New England points, and into the coast country, including a comprehensive canvass of the state of California. In February, 1909, he visited Bellingham and was so greatly impressed with the situation here that he resigned his position as a commercial traveler and established his permanent home in this city. For a time, while "getting the lay of the land," Mr. Brooks was variously employed in Bellingham, and he then entered the realty and insurance field. He has since been thus engaged, with present offices at No. 302 West Holly street, and is one of the best known and most energetic realtors in this section of the northwest. During the time of the notable "boom" in Vancouver, British Columbia, Mr. Brooks took an active part in promotion enterprises there, and he has been an influential factor in promoting many of the best of the community expansion projects that have been undertaken throughout this section during the time of his residence here. He is a member of the Bellingham Realtors Association and is widely known in general realty circles throughout the state.
Mr. Brooks has been twice married. In 1884 at Newcastle, he was united in marriage to Miss Annie Robertson, who also was born in New Brunswick and who died in 1898. To that union were born five children: H. J. W. Brooks, who is now a resident of Vancouver; J. T. Brooks, a resident of Bellingham; Clyde Brooks, who is associated with his father in the realty and insurance business; Annie the wife of Robert Van Wingerden, of Bellingham; and Jennie, deceased. On April 25, 1900, Mr. Brooks married Miss Janet Stewart, also a native of New Brunswick, and they have a pleasant home in Bellingham, residing at No. 2330 Cornwall avenue. During the time of his residence in New Brunswick, years ago, Mr. Brooks took an active part in the activities of the Orangemen's Association and was for some time a grand officer of that organization there.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 113-114.
BERNICE (FOSTER) BRYANT
Mrs. Bernice Foster Bryant, widow of Harry W. Bryant and for years a resident of Whatcom county, now residing at 2515 Meridian street in the city of Bellingham, was born at Gualala in the state of California and is a daughter of C. R. and Jennie M. (Albee) Foster, both of whom were born in Machiasport, Maine. The former, now a resident of Bellingham, is a veteran of the Civil war, his service having been rendered in the navy. In 1866 C. R. Foster came to the coast by way of the Isthmus, and settled in Mendocino county, California, where he engaged in the lumber business until 1880, when he came to Washington Territory and located in Seattle, where he was employed as a stationary engineer. In 1904 Mrs. Bryant's mother died and in 1909 her father came to Whatcom county and bought a small tract of land about two miles out of Bellingham, there making his home until his retirement in 1921 and his removal to Bellingham, where he now lives. They had two children, Mrs. Bryant and a sister, now deceased. Mr. Foster is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and also is affiliated with the Ancient Order of United Workmen.
Bernice Foster was but a child when her parents took up their residence in Seattle and she was there reared, receiving her education in the public schools. On April 3, 1899, she married Harry W. Bryant, a railroad man (locomotive fireman), connected with the train service of the Great Northern Railroad Company, who later became shipping clerk in the dock offices of the Northern Pacific Railroad Company in Seattle, and who died April 24, 1904. Mrs. Bryant has two children, a son, Clyde F., a veteran of the World war, and a daughter, Nina Q., who married Roy A. Foster, of Bellingham, now has two daughters, Loretta Jean and Florence Irene. Clyde F. Bryant, now serving as fourth officer on the steamer "President Jackson," out of Seattle in the Orient trade, rendered service in the navy during the time of this country's participation in the World war. He is a member of the Masonic order. Mrs. Bryant is a member of the Congregational church and is a republican.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 310.
JAMES KENNARD BURCHETTE
James K. Burchette, who is now serving his fourth term as city treasurer of Bellingham, has filled the position of treasurer or deputy continuously since January 1, 1912, and in the efficient and faithful discharge of his official duties has proved himself entirely worthy of the continued confidence and support of his constituents. His birth occurred near Mountain City, Johnson county, Tennessee, September 22, 1875, his parents being William H. and Mary Jane (Newland) Burchette. His maternal grandparents were Kennard C. and Celia G. (Sutherland) Newland. Kennard C. Newland was born at Wytheville, Virginia, in 1821, and there, after attending the public schools, engaged in farming, while later he moved to Johnson county, Tennessee, where he also followed agricultural pursuits. In 1861, responding to the country's call for military aid, he enlisted in the Union army as a private in Company G, Thirteenth Tennessee Cavalry, with which he served until 1865, or for four years, participating in many hotly contested engagements and proving his valor and loyalty on many a southern battlefield. He died at the old home in 1912 at the age of ninety-one. William H. Burchette, the father of James K. Burchette, also saw service in the Union army, after which he devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits and politics, having served the county in various official capacities during his active business career. He died at the old home he loved so well in 1899. His widow resides in Virginia.
James K. Burchette supplemented his public school education by a business college course. He began working on his father's farm when a youth of fifteen and had attained the age of twenty when he made his way westward to Monmouth, Illinois, where he was engaged in agricultural labors for three years, while subsequently he spent one year on a farm in Stafford county, Kansas. In 1899, however, he heard the call of the wet and journeyed to the Pacific coast, taking up his abode at Bellingham, Washington, (the New Whatcom), where for several years he was employed by the Whatcom County Railway & Light Company (now the Puget Sound Power & Light Company), serving in various capacities. In 1904 he returned east to Columbus, Ohio, where he entered the employ of the Columbus, Delaware & Marion Railway Company in the train service, later being promoted to a position in the general office at Delaware, Ohio, where he remained until 1910. Returning to Bellingham, he again became identified with the Puget Sound Power & Light Company. It was on the 1st of January, 1912, that he assumed the duties of deputy city treasurer of Bellingham. He was elected city treasurer in 1915 and received public endorsement of his first term's service by reelection in 1917. He next served two terms as deputy city treasurer and in 1923 was again elected to the office of treasurer, which position he now holds in a highly acceptable and creditable manner.
On the 11th of September, 1903, Mr. Burchette was married, in Seattle, Washington, to Miss Jennie Florence Elder, of Bremen, Ohio, a daughter of the late Joseph J. Elder, a prominent druggist. They are the parents of two sons: Norman Robert and Theodore Elder.
Mr. Burchette is an active member of the Christian church. He gives his political allegiance to the republican party, casting his first vote for Major William McKinley, for president, in 1896. He is affiliated with the Woodmen of the World, also belongs to the Sons of Veterans and is a member of the Optimist Club. He is deeply interested in athletics and his hobby is baseball. Mr. Burchette is widely and favorably known as one of Bellingham's representative and esteemed citizens and able public officials.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 767-768.
WILLIAM M. CALHOUN
The man who achieves success solely through his own efforts and strength of character is deserving of the highest commendation, and of this type is William M. Calhoun. Deprived of those advantages which are the right of American youth, he endured great hardships in his struggles for existence, and the conflict with adversity has developed the finest qualities in his nature. In the hard school of experience he has mastered life's problems and difficulties, and he is now a successful business man, ranking with the foremost merchant of Bellingham.
Mr. Calhoun was born in Greene county, Ohio, November 23, 1869, and his parents, Newton J. and Anna J. (Lewis) Calhoun, were early settlers of that state. The father was a native of North Carolina and the mother was born in Virginia. In 1876 it became necessary for her to bear most of the burdens of providing for the family, and William M. Calhoun, then a child of seven, was reared in a home of poverty. His mother traded a single barrel shot gun for the first violin he had ever seen, and he learned to play a simple little tune in a week's time and afterward earned a little money through his skill as a musician. From the age of ten to fourteen he blacked boots and worked in stave factories. He worked ten hours a day for fifty cents and had for his lunch a repast of fat meat, cornbread, beans and sorghum molasses. He did everything in his power to aid his mother, who died from neglect and overwork when he was fourteen years of age. She was buried by the county and Mr. Calhoun and his two brothers were given away, after undergoing a course of inspection similar to that to which slaves were subjected. He was thin, having been so long deprived of nourishing food and the proper care, and weighed only sixty-one pounds. He had suffered from hunger and privation and overwork, but he was now suffering a greater hunger, that of human sympathy. Growing tired of the conditions, when nobody seemed to care, he ran away at the end of a few months. He went to Greencastle, Indiana, slipped into a freight car and rode to St. Louis, Missouri. From there he beat his way down through southern Missouri and landed in Cherryvale in the stock pens in southeastern Kansas in the early morning on the 10th of November, 1884. Here he spent three years, working on a farm from twelve to sixteen hours each day for his board and clothes, and then hired out at ten dollars per month. At the age of twenty-one he had had but little schooling and his earthly possessions consisted of a pony, bridle and saddle. He then hired out to Mr. W. H. Powell at fifteen dollars per month and there met a young woman who had just returned from the university. He was determined to get an education, but the farm work and hard study proved too great a strain, and while ill with the fever he was nursed tenderly back to health by the members of his employer's family. The girl from the university read from the books of the best authors to him and loaned him books to go to school. Determined to secure an education he completed the courses of the sixth, seventh and eight grade in one year, at the age of twenty-two, after having suffered a severe attack of brain and typhoid fever which almost cost him his life. Following his recovery, and failing in his attempt to obtain a teacher's certificate, he became discouraged and was ready to give it up, as the reverses seemed more than he could stand. The girl from the university had loaned him the books for his school work, had encouraged him and had pointed out the finer things, and unconsciously she gave him that human sympathy that he had longed for, but he was down in the grades and she in the university, and there was such a deep, wide space between them. Not willing to give up, he entered the normal school, and when he had finished the course he was encumbered with an indebtedness of over five hundred dollars.
After receiving his license Mr. Calhoun secured a position in a country school and within three months the fame of the school had spread throughout the county. He had begun his career as an educator at Cherryvale and in order to continue his work was compelled to take a second examination much more difficult than the first. He proved to the examining board that the examination was not practical, being of too technical a nature, and showing that a teacher is not made by the answering of a list of test questions. He was made a high school principal at Northborro, Iowa, and established an enviable reputation as an educator, served on the teachers' examining board and devoted eleven years to the profession of teaching. The last year of Mr. Calhoun's teaching career was spent as an instructor in the high school at Cherryvale within five blocks of the stock pens where he had landed some years before.
Having a desire to see the big open spaces of God's great out-of-doors, in 1904 Mr. Calhoun turned his attention to merchandising, entering that field at Walla Walla, Washington, and in 1913 he located on a ranch in Whatcom county. He followed the occupation of farming for five years and in 1918 came to Bellingham. He was made sales manager of the Northwest Hardware Company and in July, 1921, began his independent business career, securing a location at No. 1237 Elk street. At first he handled hardware and furnishings for the home, but he now deals in furniture and rugs exclusively and has one of the finest lines in Bellingham. He started the business with a small capital and is now conducting an establishment that would do credit to a city of metropolitan proportions. He is well informed on everything pertaining to the trade and through judicious advertising, able management and honest dealing has won and retained a large share of public patronage.
In five years Mr. Calhoun bridged the space that separated him from the girl of the university, (Miss Nana M. Powell) and on November 22, 1895, he married her. She is a native of Henry, Illinois, and a daughter of William H. Powell, who migrated to Kansas in 1881. Mr. and Mrs. Calhoun were never blessed with children of their own, but they adopted a little girl, Mabel, some twenty years ago. She is now a young woman of twenty-five years and is the wife of George Leif, a well known construction engineer of Tacoma, and they have a son, William George.
Politically Mr. Calhoun is not bound by party ties but casts his ballot for those men and measures that he believes will best conserve the public weal. He belongs to the Optimist Club, the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Loyal Order of Moose and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. His own struggles as a youth have made him sympathetic toward other unfortunate children, and the assistance which he has rendered to poor, unfortunate boys constitutes one of the outstanding achievements of his career. He has many time gone to the juvenile court, stood up for the delinquent boys, paid the fines imposed and had them paroled to him, and not a single boy has ever turned him down. Three years ago one boy came in to his store asking for help. Mr. and Mrs. Calhoun took the lad home with them, cared for him and loved him. This boy had come to Bellingham with his guardian, a man who was under a one thousand dollar bond for a crime he had committed. The boy was graduated from Whatcom high school last June and is now associated with one of the leading banks in Portland, Oregon, while the man is in the penitentiary at Walla Walla.
Through the school of hard knocks, Mr. Calhoun early learned that deep down within ourselves, far under the outer layers of consciousness, is a power that far transcends the power of any conscious mind, and its power is little short of devine; that fate is always kind - it lets us choose at the great cross roads of decision; that life is always generous - it permits us to build anew over the ruins of past mistakes, to grow exquisite gardens in the barren fields of wasted years. He chose right, at those great cross roads of decision, long before the river of time flowed on into the ocean of years.
Mr. Calhoun is very eloquent in pleading the cause of the delinquent boy, proclaiming that many delinquents are sentenced to the reformatory as a direct result of a cause, while the cause is still permitted to exist. He has give deep thought and study to the "boy question" and believes that the preservation and reclamation of the youth is the salvation of the home, church, school and nation. Some of the leading magazines have complimented him on his service in this connection. His is a splendid record of achievement and should serve as a source of inspiration and encouragement to the youth of our land, proving what may be accomplished by the individual who has the courage to dare and the will to do.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 830-834.
JOHN C. CAMPBELL
The true western spirit of progress and enterprise is strikingly exemplified in the career of John C. Campbell, a well known poultry man of Ferndale township, whose energetic nature and laudable ambition have enabled him to conquer many adverse circumstances and advance steadily to success. Such a man is a credit to any community and he has long been recognized as one of the leading citizens of Whatcom county.
Mr. Campbell was born at Garnkirk, Lanarkshire, Scotland, on the 4th of December, 1854, and is a son of William and Margaret (Kane) Campbell, both of whom were natives of Argyle, Scotland, and are deceased, the mother passing away in 1872 and the father in 1910. William Campbell was a mine boss and was a man of strong character and sterling habits. John C. Campbell attended the public schools of his native land and then was employed in the strip yards in Greenock, Scotland. In 1873 he went to Cape Town, South Africa, where he remained only about six months, going from there to Adelaide, South Australia, where he spent two and a half years in prospecting and mining. About 1878 Mr. Campbell came to the United States, landing at San Francisco, whence he went to Placer county, California, where he was employed in the mines about a year. He then went to Arizona and was in the employ the the Mexican Central Railroad, for two years in Arizona and old Mexico. On quitting the railroad business he came to Tacoma, Washington, and a short time later went to Idaho, where he spent one winter in prospecting. From there he went to Boulder, Montana, where for two years he was employed by the Bank of Helena to do assessment work in the mines, and later engaged in the livery business for two years. In 1891 Mr. Campbell removed to Clallam county, Washington, where he took up a homestead, on which he lived for about six years.
Selling it in 1901, Mr. Campbell came to Whatcom county and bought forty acres of land, located on the Pacific highway, in Ferndale township. It was covered with brush and timber and to the clearing of this land he at once applied himself with energy, so that in the course of time he found himself in possession of as fine a tract of cultivable land as was to be found in that locality. Here he carried on general farming, kept some cows and also chickens. In the spring of 1919 Mr. Campbell concentrated his energy and attention on the chicken business, which he had decided was a sound commercial proposition. To this end, he stocked up with Barred Plymouth Rock hens, but eventually changed to White Leghorns, which he kept about three years. However, his experience with the last named breed was not entirely satisfactory and he changed back to the Plymouth Rocks, of which he now keeps eight hundred and fifty laying hens, at one time having the largest Plymouth Rock poultry farm in the state. He maintains his own electric hatchery and broodery and all products are marketed locally. Mr. Campbell has built two fine chicken houses, one being twenty by two hundred feet in size, and the other twenty-four by eighty-four feet, and also a brooder house, eighteen by sixty feet, all being fully equipped in every respect, including electricity. Mrs. Campbell keeps an accurate account of all receipts and expenditures in connection with the chickens and statements show a very gratifying profit in return for the year's effort. She is a member of the board of directors of the Barred Plymouth Rock Club of the state of Washington. The flock owned by Mr. and Mrs. Campbell is the largest flock of pure bred Barred Rocks in Washington and they are deservedly proud of the splendid success which they have had with their hens.
On November 30, 1889, Mr. Campbell was married to Miss Maude M. Marlette, who was born in Minnesota, a daughter of James H. and Mary L. (Bamber) Marlette, both of whom were natives of Ohio. Her parents are now deceased, the father dying in November, 1908, and the mother in May, 1924. The Marlette family moved to North Dakota inn 1882, where the father followed his trade, that of a millwright, for three years, and they then moved to Alhambra Springs, Montana. To Mr. and Mrs. Campbell have been born three children: Margie M., born August 27, 1890, in Montana, is the wife of N. A. Dameron, a native of Nebraska and they now live at Hamilton, Skagit county, Washington. They have four children, Elwyn Gordon, Neil McRae, Mary Lucille and Kenneth Campbell. Loren, born on August 14, 1892, is camp superintendent for a large logging company in Whatcom county. He owns five acres of land and a nice home near Bellingham. He is married and has five children, Leroy, Jack, Allan Clyde, Lorna Maude and Peggy. Clyde Gordon, born March 26, 1897, graduated from the State Normal School at Bellingham, and then entered the State University, where he was graduated in 1924, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He was a member of the Coast Artillery during the World war and served as top sergeant at Fort Casey and Fortress Monroe, Virginia, where he was training for an officer when the war came to a close. On July 26, 1925, he was married to Miss Grace M. Riggs, who possesses a life diploma from the State Normal School. He is now the head of the history department in the high school at Olympia, Washington.
Mr. and Mrs. Campbell are ardent supporters of every movement for the betterment of the community along material, civic or moral lines, and they occupy an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 896-899.
MARIA (FERGUSON) McLEOD CLARK
In touching upon the life history of Mrs. Maria McLeod Clark, one of the best and most favorably known women in the vicinity of Ten Mile, it is not desired to use extravagant praise, yet it is purposed to relate those facts which have shown the distinction of a true, useful and honorable life - a life characterized by perseverance, courage, energy and charity. To do this will be but to reiterate the dictum pronounced upon her by the people who know her best.
Maria Sutherland Ferguson was born in Nova Scotia, a daughter of John and Maria (Sutherland) Ferguson, both of whom were natives of Scotland, whence they immigrated to the New World, settling in Nova Scotia. Maria S. Ferguson received a good education in the public schools of her home neighborhood, and in 1875 she became the wife of John McLeod, who also was a native of Nova Scotia, a son of George and Annie (Munroe) McLeod, natives of Scotland. In 1869 John McLeod had made a trip to the Pacific coast, visiting Seattle, and had formed a favorable impression of this section of the country, and in 1877, leaving his wife and daughter at home, he again came here, with the intention of founding a home. Three years later he was joined by his family, the daughter, Janie, being then about five years of age. In 1883 Mr. McLeod entered a homestead near McLeod lake, now called Green lake, his land being located in the midst of a dense timber tract. While living here he worked in logging camps most of the time, clearing the land as he could between times, and during this period he was ably assisted by Mrs. McLeod, who in those early days showed the spirit of the true pioneer, enduring the hardships and privations of pioneer life that they might build for the future. The country was extremely primitive in all essential respects and wild animals, such as bears, deer and cougars, roamed the woods around their place. They lived there for seven or eight years and then, after proving up on the homestead, Mr. McLeod sold it and preempted eighty acres of land near the present home of the family. They made many improvements on this tract, creating a comfortable home, and the family lived there about twenty years, much of the land being cleared and four hundred and eighty fruit trees planted and growing well.
On June 29, 1896, Mr. McLeod was accidentally killed in a timber chute in British Columbia, and during the ensuing years Mrs. McLeod worked hard, running the ranch and raising her children. As a usual thing she went to Bellingham for the winter, returning to her ranch in the spring and operating it during the summer. She lived on that place seventeen years after her husband's death, and by her courage and bravery in carrying on her affairs she won the respect and admiration of all who knew her. When they first located on this place the nearest highway, the Telegraph road, was two and a half miles away. Their early trading was done at Bellingham, but later Prouty's store afforded them more convenient trading accommodations. Mrs. McLeod milked the cows and churned her butter. She obtained good prices for butter, eggs, hogs, and other products of the farm, and she succeeded in educating her children, sending them to school at Bellingham. In 1919 she sold the farm.
In April, 1912, Mrs. McLeod became the wife of Washington Clark, and in the following November they moved to the present family home at Ten Mile. Mr. Clark is a native of West Virginia, where he was born March 27, 1850, and at the age of two years he was brought west by his parents, who located in Illinois. He was reared and educated there, and when twenty-one years old he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land in Jewel county, Kansas, on which he lived until about twenty-five years ago, when he came to Whatcom county. He has been married twice and by his first union had a son, La Rue, who is living near Sumas, this county. To Mr. and Mrs. McLeod were born three children: Janie became the wife of Charles Hagler, and they had one child, Ivan D., who died when about a year old. Mrs. and Mrs. Hagler also are deceased. Clarissa M. lives in Vancouver, British Columbia. Clarence, born in 1885, is married and lives at Butte, Montana. Mrs. Clark is a woman of splendid personal qualities, kindly and gracious in manner, and by her commendable life she has won a high place in the love and esteem of her many friends throughout this locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 38-39.
JOHN C. F. COLLINS
J. C. F. Collins, veteran optometrist of Bellingham and widely known in his profession throughout this section of the northwest, has been a resident of Whatcom county for more than twenty years and is thus thoroughly familiar with conditions here. He was born in the city of Belvidere, Illinois, September 7, 1862, and is a son of James and Susan (Howe) Collins, natives of New York state. The former gave his life to his country while serving as a soldier of the Union during the Civil war, his death occurring in a military hospital in 1863. His widow survived him for forty-four years, her death occurring in Illinois in 1907.
Reared in Illinois, J. C. F. Collins had a high school and business college education and was variously employed until the early '90s, when he took up the study of optometry and became a competent and licensed optometrist. For six years he was engaged in the practice of this profession in Illinois and Michigan and then moved to Nebraska, locating at Central City, where he remained until 1903, in which year he came to Washington and opened an office in Bellingham. Not long afterward he changed his location to the village of Lynden but in 1908 returned to Bellingham and has since been engaged in practice here with a well equipped office at 1312 Cornwall street.
In 1892 at Chicago, Mr. Collins was united in marriage to Miss Olive L. Fausey, who was born in Ohio, daughter of L. W. Fausey, and they have three children, Grace, Marion and Robert. Mr. and Mrs. Collins are republicans and have ever given proper attention to local civic affairs as well as to the general social activities of their home town. Mr. Collins is a member of the locally influential Optimists Club and is also affiliated with the Knights of Pythias.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 421.
That period of the nineteenth century embracing the two decades between 1880 and 1900 was characterized by the immigration into Whatcom county of the pioneer element which has made the county very largely what it is today. These newcomers were heroic, study and sincere people, such as constitute the strength of the commonwealth. It scarcely appears probably that in the future another like period can occur, when such a solid phalanx of strong-minded, brawny-armed men and noble, self-sacrificing women will take possession of a new country. The period to which reference is made, therefore, cannot be too much or too well written up, and the only way to do proper justice to it is to record the lives of those who led the van of civilization and laid the foundations on which the present prosperous communities are built. Among these sterling pioneers stands William Crawford, Sr., who is still, at the age of eighty years, comparatively hale and hearty and holds an honored place in his community. Mr. Crawford was born in Ontario, Canada, on the 3d of January, 1846, and is a son of William and Margaret Ann Crawford, both of whom were of Scottish birth. They came to Canada about 1815, and there the father followed the carpenter's trade for many years, he and his wife dying in Ontario. Of the six children born to them, three are now living, namely: William, the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Margaret Ann McGuire, who lives in Lanark, Ontario, Canada; and Mrs. Sarah Ellen Derew, who lives in Kansas.
William Crawford, the immediate subject, received his education in the public schools of Lanark, Ontario, Canada, and then engaged in the lumber business, which commanded his attention until 1888, when he came to Whatcom county, Washington, and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land in Delta township, seven miles east of Blaine. The tract was densely covered with brush and stumps, the only improvement on the place being a small cabin. Mr. Crawford at once applied himself to the task of clearing the land and preparing it for cultivation, a tremendous task in view of the conditions which existed. His labors were finally rewarded and he developed the tract into a good farm, where he raised excellent crops of hay and grain. He kept eight good grade cows and about one hundred and fifty laying hens, and he enjoyed a satisfactory measure of prosperity. Eventually, feeling the weight of years, he sold a part of the homestead, retaining sixty acres, about twenty acres of which are cleared, the remainder being devoted to pasture. In 1893 Mr. Crawford built a fine house, containing nine rooms, bath and cemented cellar. In 1891 he built a good barn of split cedar lumber, cut from trees that stood on his place. At that time sawmills were scarce and the roads were too rough to permit the hauling of heavy loads over them. Mr. Crawford has rented his farm, and he and his good wife are living with their son, who is unmarried and is glad to have them with him.
On July 31, 1871, Mr. Crawford was married to Miss Eliza Ann Ferguson, who was born in Renfrew county, Ontario, Canada, a daughter of Robert and Mary Jane (Jenkins) Ferguson, the latter of whom also was a native of Canada. Her father, who was a native of Scotland, came to Canada in 1815 and settled in Renfrew county, where he followed the vocation of farming, being a pioneer of that locality, and there he and his wife died. Mr. Ferguson was twice married and was the father of seventeen children, twelve children being born to his first wife and five to the second. Of this large family, thirteen are now living, namely: Eliza Ann (Mrs. Crawford), George, Robert, Peter, John, James, Adam, Benjamin, Martha, Jessie, Laura, Agnes and Harry. Martha now lives on the old Ferguson homestead in Canada. To Mr. and Mrs. Crawford have been born two children: Mrs. Jane Eckford, who lives on a farm near Blaine, is the mother of three children; Henry, who is married and lives in Tacoma; Walter, who lives in California; and Roberta, who is at home. William, Jr., who was born in Canada, is now the owner of eighty acres of land in Delta township, fifty acres of which are cleared. He milks twelve cows and has been very successful and farmer and dairyman.
The senior Mr. Crawford has been a witness of and an active participant in the splendid development of Whatcom county in the last thirty-five years and is able to recite many interesting reminiscences of the early days here, when privation and hardship were the lot of all who pioneered in this locality. But none regrets those days, for the later years have compensated them for their early struggles and today none are held in higher esteem that are those "old timers," whose vision of the future held them true to their tasks. Mr. Crawford is a kindly and congenial gentleman, whose record in this community has been such as to gain for him the unbounded confidence and respect of all who know him, and he is clearly entitled to representation in the permanent record of the annals of his county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 867-868.
THOMAS S. DAHLQUIST
Thomas S. Dahlquist, a resident of Bellingham for nearly four decades, was successfully engaged in the grocery business until his retirement in 1912, since which time he has devoted his attention to the supervision of his invested interests. He was born in Skaana, Sweden, on the 3d of September, 1860, and he had attained the age of twenty-two when in 1882 he crossed the Atlantic to the United States and made his way to Chicago, Illinois, where he spent three months in visiting a brother. He then journeyed westward to Huron, South Dakota, where he took up a homestead claim and remained for six years.
On the expiration of that period, in the spring of 1889, Mr. Dahlquist came to Washington, going first to Tacoma, where he spent three months as a city employe, after which he took up his permanent abode at Bellingham. In that same year he embarked in the grocery business in association with C. H. Holmberg, and in May, 1890, he formed the partnership of Dahlquist, Halberg & Company, taking in as partners T. Thoraldson and Peter Halberg. The concern was subsequently incorporated as the B. B. Grocery Company, and Mr. Dahlquist continued active in its conduct until 1912, when he retired from the grocery trade, disposing of his interests to Byron Brothers. Through the intervening period of fourteen years he has given his attention to his various property interests, including valuable farm land. At one time he was engaged in the milling business, operating the old Geneva mill, which he later sold. His well directed efforts have been attended with gratifying success, and he has long been numbered among Bellingham's prosperous and representative citizens.
On the 15th of March, 1891, Mr. Dahlquist was united in marriage to Amelia Wangstad, who was born, reared and educated in Norway. She left her native land to visit an aunt in Minnesota and thence embarked on a western excursion trip in company with a number of young people, most of whom settled in Washington. Here she formed the acquaintance of Mr. Dahlquist, to whom she subsequently gave her hand in marriage. She assisted her husband in the conduct of his grocery establishment and has ever proved a loyal helpmate as well as a true companion to him.
Mr. and Mrs. Dahlquist give their political support to the republican party. The former has made a commendable record as a councilman of Bellingham, representing the sixth ward for one term, and the latter has also been active in public service. Mrs. Dahlquist has been particularly helpful in Red Cross work, serving as chairman of the first membership drive in Bellingham and acting as chairman of the production committee at the present time. Fraternally Mr. Dahlquist is affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Woodmen of the World and the Knights of the Maccabees, and Mrs. Dahlquist is a member of the Bellingham Music Club, the Civic Club and the Scandinavian Fraternity. Both are widely and favorably known throughout the city. Immigrating to the United States in early manhood, Mr. Dahlquist here found the opportunities which he sought and utilized them to such advantage that he is now enabled to spend his days in well earned ease.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 77.
TEUNIS De VALOIS
One of the successful agriculturists and respected citizens of western Whatcom county is T. De Valois, a man whose biography furnishes a splendid example of what may be accomplished through determined purpose, laudable ambition and well directed efforts. Starting out in life in modest circumstances, he has steadily worked his way upward, winning success in his chosen field of endeavor, and has attained a high place in the esteem of his fellow citizens. Mr. De Valois is a native of Holland and first saw the light of day October 3, 1860. His parents were C. and Marie (Tol) De Valois, both of whom were natives of the Netherlands, where both died. Our subject secured his education in the Christian school, in his native land, and remained at home until 1887, when, desiring a larger field for personal advancement, he emigrated to the United States. He settled in Sioux county, Iowa, where he was employed on farms for two years, after which he rented farm land for one year. In 1890 he bought two hundred and forty acres of land, to the cultivation of which he closely devoted his attention until 1903, when he sold that place and came to Washington, locating on Whidbey island, where he remained about six months.
Mr. De Valois then came to Lynden and bought forty acres of land in Delta township. The land was partly cleared and he completed this work, creating a fine farm, to the cultivation of which he applied himself with such success that in 1907 he was able to buy forty acres of land across the road, and in 1913 he also bought a like amount adjoining on the north, so that he is now the owner of one hundred and twenty acres of fine and well improved land, from which he harvests abundant crops, raising hay and grain on about one hundred acres. He raises hogs and also has twelve good grade cows and four hundred laying hens, from which he likewise derives a nice income. He has made a number of improvements on the place, including a good barn, an attractive and comfortable home and other necessary buildings such as are needed on an up-to-date farm. He is practical and methodical in his operations and his efforts are meeting with well deserved success.
On March 4, 1895, Mr. De Valois was married to Miss Roline Kok, who also is a native of Holland, born in the province of Drenthe, and is a daughter of John H. and Marjory (Ten Brink) Kok. Her parents were born and spent their lives in Holland, the father dying September 22, 1915, and the mother passing away about 1890. To Mr. and Mrs. De Valois have been born three children: Marie and John C., who were born in Iowa; and Margaret M., born in Washington, who attended the State Normal School in Bellingham in 1921 and is now teaching in the public schools of Lynden. The religious affiliation of Mr. De Valois and his family is with the Christian Reformed church at Lynden. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association, and is public-spirited, lending his earnest support to any cause that has for its ultimate object the betterment of his locality along material, civic or moral lines. For these things and his fine character and forceful personality he is eminently deserving of the confidence and esteem which is accorded him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 865.
JOHN A. DINKEL
One of the leading dairy and poultry farmers of Whatcom county is J. A. Dinkel, the owner of a fine, well improved farm in Ten Mile township. His has been an eminently active and useful life, but the limited space at the disposal of the biographer forbids more that a brief mention of the leading events in his career. He is a man of marked influence in local public affairs and is thoroughly in sympathy with all movements for the improvement or advancement of the community, where he has always been regarded a a man of sterling honor and worth.
Mr. Dinkel was born in Germany and is a son of John and Magdalena (Klenk) Dinkel, farming folk, who never left their native land. Our subject secured a good education in the public schools of his native country and remained there until he was fifteen years of age, when he immigrated to the United States, landing at New York city. He then went to Trenton, New Jersey, to visit relatives, and for two years was employed in rolling mills there, after which he went to the woods of Michigan, where he was engaged in lumbering for five years. At the end of that time he came to California, locating first in San Francisco and later in the Sacramento valley, where for six months he was employed at various occupations. During the ensuing fifteen years he was engaged in logging in Sierra county, California, and in 1889 he came to Whatcom county, locating on a homestead south of Samish lake. The land was very heavily timbered, and he remained there for three years, clearing a couple of acres, and then returned to California, remaining there until his marriage in 1896.
On his return to Whatcom county Mr. Dinkel located on his present farm of forty acres in Ten Mile township, where he has since remained. His land was a veritable wilderness when he bought it, no attempt at clearing it ever having been made, but he went to work energetically and in the course of time developed a good and productive farm, on which he has made many permanent and substantial improvements. When he came here the only highway to his place was a mere trail and he was compelled to construct a road from the Smith road to his land. Wild animals were numerous and on more than one occasion he drove bears and deer from his garden. He has about twenty acres of land cleared and has erected a nice set of farm buildings. During his first years here he had a rather hard time of it, his only income being derived from outside work as a woodcutter. He is devoting himself chiefly to the dairy business, having ten good grade cows, and he raises sufficient grain, hay and other feed, as well as corn for ensilage. He also has a nice run of laying hens.
In 1896 Mr. Dinkel was married to Miss Alice V. Ball, who was born and reared in Sierra county, California, a daughter of William V. and Maressa I. (Vaughn) Ball, both of whom were natives of Tennessee, from which state Mr. Ball went to California during the historic gold rush of 1849. To Mr. and Mrs. Dinkel have been born five children, namely: Maressa I., who married Silas F. Murray and lives east of the mountains, and they have two children; Florence E., who married Charles Zipser, of Berkeley, California, and is the mother of one child; one who died when nine days old; Grace M., who is teaching school near Fort Klamath, Oregon; and Virginia, who is in high school. The three eldest daughters are all graduates of the State Normal School at Bellingham.
Mr. Dinkel is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association, as well as of the Grange, while fraternally he is a charter member of Wahl Camp, Modern Woodmen of America. He has long taken an active and interested part in local public affairs, having in the early days, under the old law, served for two years as road supervisor. He has served for seven years as a member of the board of supervisors, and he also served for eleven years as a member of the Harmony school board, being recently elected for another term. He is a man of generous and kindly impulses, giving liberally to worthy benevolent objects, while in all his social relations he is genial and friendly, and he richly merits the high place which he holds in the confidence and respect of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 33-34.
PETER D. DYKSTRA
Among the farmers of Whatcom county who have achieved success along steady lines of action and have attained influential places in their respective communities, specific mention should be made of the subject of this sketch, who stands high in popular esteem and confidence. P. D. Dykstra was born in Holland in 1857 and is a son of D. P. and Jennie (Visser) Dykstra, the latter of whom died when the subject was but six years old. The father was a native of Holland, where he lived for many years, and in 1894, at the age of eighty-one, he came to Whatcom county, living here until his death, in September, 1914.
P. D. Dykstra received a good education in the schools of his native land and remained in that country until 1884, when he emigrated to the United States, locating in Iowa, where he worked on railroads, and also learned the trade of a plasterer. In 1896 he went to Oak Harbor, Whatcom county, remaining there until March, 1898, when he located near Lynden. In 1900 he bought his present farm, comprising fifteen acres, which at that time was virgin land, covered with timber and brush. He slashed the timber, but during the first few years he worked out in order to secure money for current expenses. Eventually he succeeded in clearing all of his land, and he has created a very comfortable and attractive home. His well cultivated fields produce good crops of feed, and he gives special attention to dairying, keeping six or seven good cows, in the handling of which he has been successful, as he also has been with his chickens, keeping three hundred of the White Leghorn breed. He is an energetic and persevering worker, neglects nothing relating to his farm work, and has gained an excellent reputation as an enterprising and progressive farmer.
Mr. Dykstra has been twice married. In 1889 he returned to Holland and was married to Miss Grietje Wiersma, who died in 1914. To this union were born six children, namely: Jennie and Dora, who are unmarried and live in Seattle; David, of Lynden, who is married and has one child; Augusta, who became the wife of Bert Matter, of Lynden, and has one child; and Oscar and Henry, who are at home. In August, 1922, Mr. Dykstra was married to Miss Aleta Schmidt, their marriage occurring in Iowa. She is a native of Holland and is a woman of splendid character, kindly and tactful, and popular among her associates. Mr. Dykstra is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association, while his religious affiliation is with the First Christian Reformed church. In 1915 he went down into the Willamette valley, in Oregon, to investigate the possibilities of a Holland settlement there, but he did not like the land, which also was priced too high, and he made an adverse report on the project. From the time of his coming to this locality he has cooperated with his fellow citizens in all efforts for the betterment and advancement of the general welfare, among his first efforts being the cooperative building of roads, of which there were very few when he came here. He has attended closely to his business affairs but has never neglected his duties toward the community, and his fine public spirit has been appreciated by his fellowmen, among whom he is held in high esteem.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 241-242.
H. FRANK EGE
Clearly defined purpose and consecutive effort in the affairs of life will inevitably result in the attaining of a due measure of success, and in tracing the career of one who has attained success solely through his own efforts there comes into view the intrinsic individuality which made such accomplishment possible, while there is at the same time enkindled a feeling of respect and admiration. The qualities which have made H. F. Ege one of the prominent and successful men of Lynden township have also brought him the esteem of his fellowmen, for his career has been one of well directed energy, strong determination and honorable methods. Mr. Ege was born in Rock Island county, Illinois, in 1867, and is a son of P. D. and Charity (Marshall) Ege, the former of whom was a native of New Jersey and a farmer by vocation. The latter, who was a native of Rock Island county, was a cousin of John Marshall, the discoverer of gold in California.
H. F. Ege received his education in the public schools of Rock Island county and was reared to the life of a farmer, remaining with his parents until they died, at which time he was about thirty years of age. He then went to Canada, where for about six months he was employed running a steam plow. He next went to Iowa, where he was engaged in farming for about a year, at the end of which time went to the vicinity of Laramie, Wyoming, where he worked on big cattle ranches. He also took charge of a fire engine in Laramie about a year, having had practical experience with various types of engines. In 1912 he came to Goshen, Washington, where he was employed as a farm hand until 1914, when he bought his present farm of eighteen acres. The land was heavily covered with timber and brush and a vast amount of hard work was necessary in order to get it in shape for cultivation, but he now has about seven acres cleared and under the plow, while the remainder is good pasture land. He has confined his attention largely to the chicken business, keeping about twelve hundred White Leghorn hens, of the Hollywood strain, and ships an average of eight to ten cases of eggs a week, having run as high as twenty-one cases in a week. Mr. Ege knew nothing about the chicken business when he came here, but he has been a keen observer of up-to-date methods and has done a good deal of experimental work on his own account, the result being that he has devised a method of his own as to feeding, in order to secure the best results in egg production. He raises all his own feed and keeps his flocks in fine condition winter and summer. He has made a number of splendid improvements on his farm and now owns a very valuable and attractive property.
In 1915 Mr. Ege was married to Miss Mary Cavender, who was born in Kansas, a daughter of Marion Cavender, who brought his family to Whatcom county about 1888. To Mr. and Mrs. Ege has been born a son, Harrison, who is now attending school. Mr. Ege is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He is deeply interested in everything pertaining to the progress and welfare of the community and stands on the right side of every moral issue. He has won and retains the unbounded respect and confidence of the entire community, because of his energetic methods, sound business judgment and splendid personality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 421-422.
Perhaps the most vivid impression gained by the visitor to this wonderful Sound region is that of the amazing "newness" of things. When one considers that all that has been effected here in the way of the great works of man has been accomplished within the period of the lives of men still vigorous and active in affairs, there is indeed cause for wonder. Visitors from the older settled sections of the east find it difficult to realize that this is so. The thought grown upon them and they presently begin dimly to realize that the apparently impossible has been accomplished - that practically within a single generation there has been built up here a community as complete and as stable as those in the coastal states on the other side of the country that have been two hundred years in the building, and it is while in contact or conversation with Hugh Eldridge that this impression is forced home with especial distinctness. Mr. Eldridge has observed and participated in this development practically from the beginning. His life and that of the community are synchronous. His mother was the first white woman on the scene in Bellingham bay. Into the family of his parents came one of the first if not the first white child (an elder brother, Edward, long deceased) born in the bay country. His father was a man of force and distinction in the formative days of the community and he grew up familiar with the latter's extensive operations, being an important personal factor in their extension, taking his part in civic affairs and in community building, so that ever since there has been a settled and orderly community here the name of Hugh Eldridge has been prominently identified therewith. Paraphrasing another, Mr. Eldridge properly may say: "All of this I saw and much of it I was," when reference is made to the development of Whatcom county.
Hugh Eldridge, postmaster of the city of Bellingham, a former auditor of Whatcom county, realtor, promoter and town builder and for many years one of the leading men of affairs in this region, is a native of Bellingham, born here when the place was but a sawmill site and logging camp on the bay. He was born December 14, 1860, and is a son of Edward and Teresa (Lappin) Eldridge, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. Reared at Bellingham, Hugh Eldridge was educated in the local schools and when eighteen years of age became actively associated with his father's affairs, giving particular attention to agricultural and general community development. In 1886, when twenty-five years of age, he was elected auditor of Whatcom county, an expression of confidence on the part of the electorate in one of his years that he has never ceased to appreciate. By reelection he served in that important office until January, 1891, and then became one of the organizers of the Fairhaven & New Whatcom Street Railway Company, being one of the most active and influential promoters of the affairs of that organization. He was elected president of this company and thus continued until it was taken over by the General Electric Company in 1895. He then gave his undivided attention to the affairs of the considerable estate which had come into his hands following the death of his father in 1892, and the development of these interests has been his chief material concern since then. On July 1, 1898, Mr. Eldridge was appointed by President McKinley to serve as postmaster at Bellingham, and he continued to serve in that capacity for eighteen years or until 1916. In November, 1921, Mr. Eldridge again was appointed postmaster at Bellingham and he is now thus serving. He is an ardent republican and has for many years been recognized as one of the leaders of that party in this district, and he is a member of the local lodge of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
On February 23, 1893, in Bellingham, Mr. Eldridge was united in marriage to Miss Dellisca J. Bowers, who died in March, 1910, without issue. On the 24th of June, 1922, Mr. Eldridge was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Clara Burleigh, the widow of Walter A. Burleigh of Seattle, Washington. For over sixty-five years Mr. Eldridge has been a resident of Bellingham, the oldest native-born son of that city, witnessing its development and taking an active part in all movements that have appertained to the progress and advancement of the community, and, as has been written of him by another commentator, "his substantial traits and kindly qualities have gained for him the warm and enduring regard of all with whom he has been associated from his boyhood to the present."
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 149-150.
The death of the late Carl Elsner removed from Whatcom county one of her substantial and highly esteemed citizens, and the many beautiful tributes to his high standing in the world of affairs and as a man and a citizen attested to the abiding place he had in the hearts and affections of his myriad of friends throughout this locality. He was a native of Germany, born on the 10th of September, 1858, and his death occurred on the 8th of December, 1922, at the age of sixty-four years. His parents, both of whom are deceased, never left the fatherland. He secured a good, practical education in the public schools of his native land and remained with his parents until 1883, when he came to the United States, locating in what is now called Berlin, Nebraska. Because of poor health he had been excused from military service in his native land, and on coming to this county he adopted out-door life, engaging in farming in Nebraska, to which he devoted himself there until 1899, when he came to Whatcom county, stopping at Fairhaven about a month. He then bought forty acres of land in Ten Mile township, comprising the present family home. Later he added twenty acres but afterward sold ten acres, so that the farm now comprises fifty acres of fertile and productive land. The tract was covered with stumps and brush and part of the land was under water, the only improvement on the place being an old house, which he fixed up and occupied for a time, later building the present comfortable and commodious home.
Conditions when Mr. Elsner first came here were far from encouraging, his experiences in the face of obstacles beginning before he even moved onto his land. They came here by the way of Everson, where they were held up for a time on account of the bridge there being washed out. However, he had the true pioneer spirit and bravely applied himself to the taks of clearing the land and getting it in shape for cultivation. It is now practically all cleared and the improvements which Mr. Elsner placed on the farm have made it a most valuable and desirable property. At first he carried on general farming operations but later devoted his attention mainly to dairying, for which purpose he kept a nice herd of good grade milk cows. Formerly they separated the milk, selling only the cream, but they now ship the entire product. Chickens have also proven a profitable enterprise, and for both poultry and stock the farm produces a sufficiency of hay, oats and green stuff. Mr. Elsner carried on his operations with sound judgment and discrimination, and his labors were rewarded with a very satisfactory measure of prosperity.
In 1882, in Germany, Mr. Elsner was married to Miss Emily Hagemeister, who was born in Germany and who still lives on the home farm in Ten Mile township. To Mr. and Mrs. Elsner were born twelve children, namely: Frank of Lynden, who is married and has five sons; Fred, who is married and lives in Seattle; Alfred, who remains at home; Albert, who died at the age of two weeks; Mrs. Magdalena Miller, of Ten Mile, who is the mother of seven children; Carl, of Ten Mile, who is married and has two children; Anna, who is the wife of E. Klander, of Ten Mile, and is the mother of two children; Minnie, who remains at home; John, of Idaho, who is married and has two children; and Henry, Rudolph and Walter, who are at home and who were born on the present farm, the other children all being born in Nebraska. Mr. Elsner was always deeply interested in everything pertaining in any way to the progress and welfare of his community, having served for many years as a member of the Greenwood school board, and also on the township board of the Ten Mile district, of which he was secretary. During his early days here he also served as a road boss. His religious affiliation was with the Lutheran church, of which he was a liberal supporter, while fraternally he was a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He was a member of the Grange, and five of the children are now members of the Ten Mile Grange.
The beginning of Mr. Elsner's career was characterized by hard work and honest endeavor and he owed his rise solely to his own persistent and well directed efforts. He was universally recognized as a splendid citizen, of lofty character, sturdy integrity and unswerving honesty. During the pioneer period he shared fully the hardships and difficulties of those trying times. He was one of the sturdy figures upon whom the burdens of the new community fell, and he struggled devotedly with others in bringing about the resultant development. Hand and heart and purse were always open to the necessities of his neighbors, and the record of those years is one of tireless and unselfish devotion. He was a good husband and father, faithful and loving; a good citizen and friend, constant and reliable; a man in the fullest sense of the word, who at all times commanded the unbounded confidence and esteem of the entire community which was honored by his citizenship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 273-274.
BENJAMIN B. FISHER
This well known farmer of the Sumas valley represents the type of men who conserve the best interests of the community of which they are citizens. He is not a showy man, caring little for display, but is simply a plain, industrious farmer, who worked hard for what he possesses, has provided well for his family, has done his duty toward his fellowmen and has made a good neighbor and citizen. Such men are a credit to any locality, and he is well entitled to representation in this work. Mr. Fisher was born in Douglas county, Oregon, on the 3d of December, 1866, and is a son of John and Sarah (Olmstead) Fisher, the former of whom was a native of Germany, while the mother was a native of this country. Both are now deceased, the mother dying when the subject of this sketch was but a baby, while his father passed away in 1890. John Fisher was brought to the United States in 1823, when about one year old, the family settling in the east, where he was reared to manhood. Eventually he went to St. Louis, Missouri, where he established a saddlery shop, which he ran until 1849, when he went to California with the rush of gold seekers. He was successful in his mining operations and lived there until about 1856, when he went to Roseburg, Oregon, where he opened a saddlery and harness shop. He also homesteaded and preempted three hundred and twenty acres of land, being one of the first settlers in that locality. At one time he was burned out by the Indians but succeeded in fighting them off, and he lived there during the remaining years of his life. To him and his wife were born twelve children, all of whom were born on this old homestead.
B. B. Fisher received his education in the public schools of Roseburg and remained at home until nineteen years of age, when he went to the coast and followed lumbering for five years. During the next two years he followed mining and then turned his attention to the carpenter's trade, at which he was employed for seven years. Afterward he engaged in the stock business in Oregon for eight years, and during that time he took up a homestead and bought other land. In 1904 Mr. Fisher sold his interests in Oregon and coming to Sumas, Whatcom county, bought eighty acres of raw land, which was densely covered with cedar, spruce, vine maple and stumps. The tract, which was three miles south of Sumas, was a part of the Peter Saar homestead. He built a small house and barn entered upon the tremendous task of clearing the land and getting it in shape for cultivation. It is now practically all cleared and produces abundant crops of hay, grain, peas, potatoes, beans and sugar beets, and he also has a nice berry patch. He keeps fifteen pure-bred Jersey cows and a registered sire and has been very successful in the dairy business. He built a more commodious house in 1907 and a splendid barn in 1909, and has made other substantial and permanent improvements which have added greatly to the value of the ranch.
In August, 1901, Mr. Fisher was married to Miss Mary Breshears, who was born in Missouri, a daughter of Clarissa Breshears. Mrs. Fisher has a sister, Mrs. Frances Otingner. To Mr. and Mrs. Fisher have been born two children: Alva E., born August 12, 1902; and Glenn B., born September 26, 1912. Mr. Fisher is a member of the Whatcom County Dairyman's Association, of which he was one of the organizers, and of the Whatcom County Farm Bureau. He has long been active in local public affairs, having served one term as township supervisor and nine years as a member of the school board, rendering effective and appreciated service. Fraternally he is a member of Sumas Lodge No. 85, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a man of sterling character, possessing the essential qualities of good citizenship, and has long held an enviable place in the confidence and good will of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 185-186.
Jacob Fox, a veteran orchardist and horticulturist of Mountain View township and proprietor of a well improved and well kept place on rural mail route No. 2 out of Ferndale, is one of the pioneers of the county. When he came here forty years ago the section in which he settled was a veritable wilderness and all the hazard and hardship of frontier life confronted him, but he overcame the difficulties and in good time became one of the substantial men of the community. For a quarter of a century Mr. Fox has been a member of the school board in his district, a record of service perhaps unequaled in the county, and during that time has done much to advance the standards of the schools of that community. He also was for many years overseer of highways in his home district and in that capacity did much to bring about a solution of the better roads problem in that part of the county.
It also must be said for Mr. Fox that he was perhaps the first man in his neighborhood to recognize the horticultural possibilities of that region and he holds the record of having been the first man in Whatcom county to raise strawberries for the market. A natural born horticulturist, he brought his strawberry beds to a high state of cultivation and at one time was raising no fewer than one hundred varieties of this luscious table delicacy. He also had as many as fifteen or twenty varieties of blackberries and the same of raspberries and his operations along these lines did much to introduce standard horticultural methods in this county and throughout northwestern Washington. Of late he has given his chief attention to his fruit growing operations and he has a fine orchard of about four hundred choice bearing trees. Mr. Fox started in there with a homestead tract of one hundred and twenty acres, but after he cleared this, in that operation burning timber that today would be of very great value, he simplified his work by selling off a good part of this tract and devoting himself to intensive horticultural and orchard pursuits, his place now consisting of thirty acres of admirably developed land. When Mr. Fox settled in this community in 1886 there were but two spans of horses in his part of the county, one the property of Henry Shields and the other of Edward Brown, who were pioneers of that region. Other conditions were in much the same primitive state and when in a reminiscent mood he has many an interesting story to tell of the days when bears and other wild game were numerous throughout that section.
Mr. Fox was born in Kalamazoo county, Michigan, fifteen miles south of the city of Kalamazoo, in 1849, and is a son of Jacob and Loretta (Shuge) Fox, who were born in Pennsylvania and who became pioneers of Michigan, where they settled in 1844. Reared to farming, Jacob Fox, Jr., attended school in Kalamazoo county and remained at home until after his father's death in 1872, when he closed out his holdings in Michigan and went to Nebraska. In 1886 he sold out in Nebraska and came to Washington, going first to Seattle. Two months later he entered a homestead tract of one hundred and twenty acres and settled down to the difficult tasks of proving up on his claim, in due time securing title, and he and his wife have since made their home there. In 1923 Mr. and Mrs. Fox celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of their marriage, the golden wedding being a happy occasion for them and their many friends throughout the county.
In 1873 Mr. Fox was united in marriage to Miss Linda Haynes, daughter of Basil and Rebecca (Scaden) Haynes, natives of Ohio, who were among the homesteaders in Nebraska and who is 1886 came with Mr. Fox to Whatcom county where the remainder of their lives was spent. To Mr. and Mrs. Fox have been born nine children, six sons and three daughters, all of whom are living save one son, Edward Fox, the seventh in order of birth, who died in 1918, leaving a widow. Charles is the eldest of this family. Ida, the eldest daugther, married James Fields and is now living in Bellingham. Ella, the second daughter, married William Martin, also of Bellingham, and has two children. Gertrude, the youngest daughter, married F. Bailey, of Seattle, and has one child. Jesse, the second son, is now living at Bellingham, is married and has one child. Blaine is the next son. Archibald married Miss England and is now living at Bellingham. During the time of this country's participation in the great war he enlisted, was trained at Camp Lewis and detailed for service in the Spruce division of the army. Albert Fox, the youngest son, also a veteran of the World war, with an overseas record, was in the artillery division of the American Expeditionary Forces in France and during that period of service was for some time detailed as a clerk of the headquarters company of the command to which he was attached. He married Miss Timons and is living at home, engaged in teaching.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 837-838.
To a great extent the prosperity of the agricultural sections of our great country is due to the honest industry, sturdy perseverance and wise economy which prominently characterize the foreign element which has so largely entered into our population. In this class may be mentioned John Gardene, who by reason of indefatigable labor and honest effort has not only acquired well merited material prosperity but has also richly earned the high esteem of all with whom he has been associated. Mr. Gardene is a native of Sweden, his birth occurring in 1850, and he is a son of Peter and Walborg Gardene, both of whom are deceased and who never left their native land.
John Gardene attended the public schools of Sweden and was then employed on neighboring farms and in the logging camps until 1889, when, learning of the splendid opportunities for individual advancement in the United States, he came to this country. He came direct to Whatcom county and homesteaded eighty acres of land, four miles east of Everson, and at once proceeded to the laborious task of clearing it of the timber and brush with which it was densely covered. He lived there until 1905, when he bought forty acres of land west of the homestead, which also was covered with trees, and he cleared all of this land. He built a house here, followed soon after by a substantial barn and a silo, and he has here developed a splendid ranch, being now very comfortably and pleasantly situated. He keeps seven milk cows and several head of young stock and devotes his land to the raising of the crops common to this locality, grain and hay being his main crops. He is an indefatigable worker and despite his years is still active.
Mr. Gardene has been married three times, first, in 1889, to Miss Sophie
Anderson, who was born in Sweden, December 17, 1855, and who died July 22,
1901. To this union were born four children, of whom the only survivor is
Alfred who lives in Bellingham. On July 26, 1905, Mr. Gardene was married
to Miss Lena Larson, who died January 27, 1907, without issue. On March 14,
1909, Mr. Gardene was married to Mrs. Nickalina (Steen) Knudson, who was
born in Norway, April 12, 1862, a daughter of Crist and Rebecca Steen, both
of whom died in their native land. Mr. and Mrs. Knudson were married in Norway
and came to the United States in 1890, Mr. Knudson homesteading a tract of
land in Granite Falls, Snohomish county, Washington, where they lived until
1906, when he sold that place and bought fifty acres of land in Ten Mile
township, Whatcom county. There his death occurred, April 14, 1906, after
which his widow lived there until her marriage to Mr. Gardene. To Mr. and
Mrs. Knudson were born eleven children, namely: Mrs. Lena Desnoer, whose
son Roy, born October 20, 1909, is now a soldier in the Philippine islands;
Crist; Mrs. Tena Byrum, who lives near Everson and is the mother of five
children - Willie, Everett, George, Viola and Robert; Margaret, who received
a good education and is employed in an office in Los Angeles, California;
Emma, deceased; Fred, deceased; Maerer, deceased; Mrs. Alma Ostrum, who is
the mother of three children, Winston, Echo and Gordon; Mrs. Etta
Webstergreen Westergreen, who is the mother of two sons,
Richard and John; Mildred, who is employed in the courthouse at Seattle;
and Alfred, deceased. The three children first named were born in Norway
and the others in Washington.
Mr. Gardene is a member of the Whatcom Country Dairymen's Association and takes a commendable interest in everything pertaining in any way to the prosperity or welfare of his community. He is a man of mature judgment and marked business ability, does thoroughly and well whatever he undertakes and has long enjoyed an excellent reputation among his fellow citizens because of his splendid character and fine personal qualities. He is a very friendly man and has a kindly greeting for all with whom he comes in contact.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 297-298.
Among those persons who have by virtue of their strong individual qualities earned their way to a high standing in the esteem of their fellow citizens, having by sheer force of character and persistent effort won their way to places of influence in the community stands Shapleigh Geiger, of Ten Mile township, who enjoys well deserved popularity throughout his section of the county. He was born in Lincoln county, Missouri, in 1850, and is a son of Jacob and Martha (Dudley) Geiger, both of whom also were born in that county, their respective families having been pioneer settlers in that locality.
Shapleigh Geiger received his education in the public schools of his home neighborhood and was reared on his father's farm. Later he acquired a farm of his own there, to which he devoted his attention until December, 1892, when he came to Bellingham, Whatcom county, where for seven years he had charge of the coal bunkers for the Blue Canyon Coal Company. In 1899 he bought one hundred and twenty acres of land in Ten Mile township, none of which was cleared. He at once devoted his energies to the task of clearing the land, all of which he logged, and he cleared about six acres. He gave his attention largely to dairying and to the raising of chickens and horses. Mr. Geiger has always been greatly interested in horses and has raised many fine animals since locating here. In 1925 he sold all the land excepting one acre, on which he erected a store building and residence, and here he is now living. He carries a complete and well selected stock of such goods as are demanded by the local trade, in connection with which he also conducts an oil and gas station. He has been very successful in this enterprise, and all his dealings with the public have added to his reputation as a man of honor and fair dealing.
On March 2, 1879, Mr. Geiger was married to Miss Abiah Jenkins, who was born and reared in Lincoln county, Missouri, though their marriage took place in St. Charles county, that state. She is a daughter of John and Elvira (Ervin) Jenkins. Her great-grandfather, Malcolm Henry, was the first territorial governor of Missouri and was a colonel in the Revolutionary war. He was a Scotchman by birth and immigrated to North Carolina, afterward coming to Missouri when the latter was a territory, and he was a member of the convention that organized Missouri into a state in 1820. He is buried in Lincoln county, Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. Geiger have been born six children, namely: Walter S., who was killed by an accident in the coal bunkers at Bellingham when he was seventeen years old; Grace; Lindley, who is married and lives as La Conner; Shapleigh, Jr., who died in 1921; Hugh B., of Gold Bar; and Mrs. Ora Nichols, of Cordova, Alaska. Mr. Geiger has witnessed and has had a part in the splendid development which has characterized this section of the state. When he came here the public highways were largely but trails, and some of them were impassable in bad weather. He gave a half mile of the East-West road and has himself done a good deal of free work on the building or roads throughout this locality. Essentially public spirited, he has in every way cooperated with his fellow citizens in all efforts to build up the community, and he has been a vital factor in its development. In his individual affairs he has manifested a spirit of enterprise and progress that has enabled him to accomplish much, and today he enjoys to a great measure the sincere respect and confidence of the people of his locality generally. Mr. Geiger is a man of strong character, patriotic and loyal, and he takes justifiable pride in the fact that he is a great-grandson of Betsy Ross, to whom is credited the making of the first flag of this country.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 334-337.
Henry Gerke, a representative and honored citizen of Ten Mile township, has been distinctively the architect of his own fortunes. True and loyal in all the relations of life, he stands as a type of that sterling manhood which ever commands respect and honor. He is a man who would have achieved success in any locality where fate might have placed him, for he possesses sound judgment, coupled with great energy and upright principles, by reason of which he has won and retains a host of friends.
Mr. Gerke was born in Germany in 1865 and is a son of B. and Theresa (Hoppe) Gerke, also natives of that country where both spent their entire lives. Henry Gerke was reared under the parental roof and secured his education in the public schools of his home neighborhood. At the age of seventeen years he left home and went to sea, and he was thus engaged for a number of years, being employed about New York harbor until he reached the age of twenty-one, when, in 1886, he came to California. Until 1893 he was employed in steamboat service on the Sacramento river, starting as a deck hand, and he was a mate when he gave up that work.
Because of ill health, Mr. Gerke had come up to Whatcom county in 1891 and had spent a few months here, becoming fairly well acquainted with the country, and in the spring of 1893 he bought his present place of eighty acres in Ten Mile township. The land had been logged but was otherwise uncleared, the only improvement on the place being part of an old house which had been built by old Major Corwin, and the only highway was a trail. Mr. Gerke has devoted his efforts to the improvement and cultivation of his land and has been rewarded with a very satisfactory measure of success. For several years he was engaged in the wood business, hauling many loads to Bellingham, where he found a ready sale, and he now has about ten acres of his land cleared and in cultivation, raising hay and grain for feed. His attention is given mainly to the dairying business, for which purpose he keeps twelve cows. He has made many splendid improvements on his place and has a very comfortable and attractive farm, in the management of which he has shown fine judgment and untiring industry.
Mr. Gerke has been twice married, first, in 1895, to Miss Kittie Busby, who died in 1901, leaving two children, Charles H., at home, and Gladys, who died in 1918. In 1904, Mr. Gerke was married to Miss Phoebe A. Hopkins, who was born at Kent, Washington, and was brought to Whatcom county in 1887, when but a baby. Her parents, who were pioneers in this state, were Madison and Alice Martha (Rogers) Hopkins, both of whom are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Gerke have been born three children: Eugene Madison, Alice Martha and Roger Paul. On the maternal side Mrs. Gerke is descended from old Mayflower stock. Both are well known throughout this community and are numbered among the popular members of the circles in which they moved, Mr. Gerke having gained a well established reputation for his business ability, his indomitable efforts and his desire to contribute in every possible way to the well being and progress of his section of the county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 31-32.
JAMES S. GILDAY
J. S. Gilday is a native son of Whatcom county and a member of one of its honored pioneer families which has figured in the growth and development of this favored locality. He himself is one of the public-spirited men of the vicinity where he lives, not only laboring for the successful promotion of his individual affairs but also cooperating in all movements or measures for the betterment of the community along material, civic or moral lines.
Mr. Gilday was born at Blaine in 1892 and is a son of Robert and Alice (Bowey) Gilday. His father came to Whatcom county in 1890 from Leeds county, Ontario, Canada, and for a number of years was employed in the sawmills of this locality, also doing considerable logging. He then engaged in the feed business, and he is now engaged in the chicken business in partnership which his son-in-law, J. V. Erickson, in Custer township. His wife is a native of Plymouth, England. To these worthy parents were born two children: J. S., the subject of this sketch; and Cora, the wife of J. V. Erickson, who is principal of the Birch Bay public schools.
J. S. Gilday attended the public schools and then had two years of work in the State Agricultural College at Pullman, after which he engaged in the garage business, and he followed that line until the United States entered the World war, when he enlisted in the Machine Gun Company of the Thirteenth Division, with which he was in training at Camp Lewis for six months. After his discharge from the service, in 1919, he returned to Blaine and established the Blaine Auto Company, in the management of which he has met with splendid and well deserved success. He carries a full line of accessories, sells gas, oil and other supplies and maintains an efficient service department, where repairs are quickly and carefully made. He has gained a splendid reputation because of the painstaking and reliable work turned out of his repair shop, and all his relations with the public have been conducted according to the highest business ethics.
In 1918 Mr. Gilday was married to Miss Jennie Olson, who was born in Stanwood, a daughter of John Olson, of Ferndale, this county. To their union has been born a son, James Stanley, Jr. Fraternally Mr. Gilday is a member of the Knights of Pythias and the American Legion. He is a man of earnest purpose and upright life, who keeps in close touch with the leading issues of the day, on which he holds definite opinions, and he is regarded by his fellow citizens as a man of more than ordinary ability and worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 32.
HARRY M. GOODRICK
With the history of progress in Bellingham the name of H. M. Goodrick was long closely and prominently associated, and his death in November, 1924, deprived the city of a business man of high standing and one of its leading merchants. A native of New York state, he was born in 1865 and when thirty years of age migrated to Washington. He first located in Geneva and in 1903 embarked in the saw-reconditioning business in the basement of the building occupied by the Morse Hardware Company. In 1905 he moved to Railroad avenue and started an establishment of his own, becoming a dealer in mill supplies, saws, belting, etc. His trade increased steadily and in 1922 he was forced to seek larger quarters, moving to No. 1125 Cornwall avenue. He was a recognized leader in the lines in which he specialized and through good management, unremitting application and honorable, straightforward methods developed a business of large proportions, remaining at its head until his demise.
Mr. Goodrick married Miss Annie Scharlau, who was born in Germany and came to the United States during her girlhood. To this union were born four children, of whom Austin is the eldest. He is married and resides in Vancouver, British Columbia. Blanche is the wife of Paul Dolstead, of Lynden, Washington, and the mother of two children. Ralph married Miss Vera Carlson, of Bellingham, by whom he has a daughter, Eileen. He is successfully conducting the business founded by his father and is ably assisted by his brother Arthur, who is a member of the association of United Commercial Travelers. H. M. Goodrick was affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen of America. His life was a busy and useful one and his integrity in business affairs, his loyalty and patriotism in matters of citizenship and his fidelity to the ties of home and friendship were qualities which won for him the high and enduring regard of all with whom he was associated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 203-204.
ROY E. HAGIN
Specific mention is made within the pages of this work of many of the worthy citizens of Whatcom county, men who have figured in the growth and development of this favored section of the commonwealth and whose interests have been identified with its every phase of progress, each contributing in his sphere of action to the well being of the community in which he resides and to the advancement of its normal and legitimate growth. Among this number stands Roy Eugene Hagin, of Sumas, who owns some splendid farm land in that locality and is widely known as an expert millwright. He was born in Illinois on the 27th of June, 1876, a son of Albert and Mary (Bennett) Hagin, the former of whom was a native of Illinois and the latter of Iowa. The father went to Oregon about 1879, remaining there a year, and then came to Washington, stopping at Seattle. At that time he could have bought ten acres of what is now the heart of that city for one thousand dollars. After a short stay in Seattle, Mr. Hagin came to Clearbrook, Whatcom county, and took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres, four miles north of Everson. He cut and slashed twenty acres of the timber, but a year later he abandoned that place and bought one hundred and sixty acres of the Cummins homestead, fifteen acres of which were cleared and on which stood a good log house. He cleared the remainder of this land, developed it into a good farm and lived there until his death, which occurred in November, 1909. His widow survived him a number of years, passing away in 1917. They were the parents of six children, namely: Mrs. Lottie Jamieson, of Tacoma, Washington; Roy E., the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Grace Turuer (sic), of Spokane, Washington; Edward, who lives on the home farm; Mrs. Nettie Kaden, who lives at Monroe, Washington; and Miss Cora.
Roy E. Hagin was educated in the public schools of Clearbrook and he then devoted himself to assisting his father on the farm until his marriage. He then turned his attention to the occupation of millwright and saw filer, in both of which lines he is acknowledge to be an expert. During the past twelve years he has been with C. L. Miller, at Sumas. He owns a nice, attractive home in Sumas and also owns part of the old homestead farm.
On April 18, 1908, Mr. Hagin was married to Miss Nellie E. Jones, who was born in Minnesota, a daughter of Henly and Anna (Folsom) Jones, the former of whom was a native of Michigan and the latter of Minnesota. The father, who was a saw filer by trade, came to Washington in 1889 and, locating at old Whatcom, followed his vocation there for several years, retiring from active work about 1912. His death occurred April 29, 1922, and his widow is now living at Everett, Washington. To him and his wife were born three children, namely: Nellie E., (Mrs. Hagin); Robert F., who lives in Lynden; and Paul K., of Norfolk, Virginia, who has been in the United States navy for seventeen years, serving on transport ships during the World war. To Mr. and Mrs. Hagin have been born four children, namely: Leonard E., born December 31, 1909; Gladys, born May 17, 1911; Dorothy, born January 21, 1917; and Robert E., born November 12, 1923. Mr. Hagin has long been numbered among the substantial and dependable men of his community, having shown himself the possessor of those attributes which make for good citizenship. He supports all measurers for the public benefit and works in every possible way for the material, civic and moral welfare of his fellow citizens. Because of these qualities he has attained a high place in the esteem of all who have come in contact with him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 240-241.
Mathias Hansen, who has been a resident of Whatcom county for over forty years, is numbered among the "old timers" of his locality and has played a large part in the progress and development of his section of the county. A man of earnest purpose, well directed efforts and public-spirited interest in the general welfare, he has so ordered his career as to receive the unbounded respect of the entire community. Mr. Hansen was born in Denmark in 1857 and is a son of Hans and Lena (Mathiesen) Hansen, farming folk, who came to the United States in the '90s and are now living in Sumas, Whatcom county, where the father, at the age of one hundred and seven years, is conducting a mercantile business.
Mathias Hansen secured his education in the public schools of his native land and was reared on his father's farm. Because of being underweight he was not called for military service, and in 1880 he emigrated to the United States, coming direct to California, where for three years was employed at various occupations. In 1883 he came to Lynden, Whatcom county, and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land, comprising his present farm. The condition of the country here at that time was anything but inviting, the locality being so densely timbered that it was necessary for him to bring a surveyor with him in order to locate his land. His first trip here was made by way of Ferndale, where he crossed the river, which he then followed up to his location. There were no roads and even practically no trail between his place and Lynden. Peter Hansen, who though bearing the same family name was not related to him, came with him and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres adjoining his tract. They were compelled to pack everything in on their backs during the first three years of their residence here, but in the course of time they and their neighbors cooperated in the building of a road. Mathias Hansen's first act was to build a hewed-log cabin, which is still standing. Wild animals and fowls were numerous, and deer and pheasant meat, with an occasional bear steak, furnished a variety of meats for the daily menu of the early settlers.
For a while after coming here Mr. Hansen worked out in order to secure ready money until he could get his farm in shape for cultivation, and those early years were strenuous ones. He now has twenty-six acres of his land cleared, the remainder being devoted to pasture. In the early years he gave his attention to the raising of beef, though afterward he did a good deal of logging, but in recent years he has again turned his attention to the raising of beef and veal for the market, now having about twenty head of cattle on his place. About 1890 he built a second house, commodious and well arranged, and he is now very comfortably situated. He is a man of quiet manner but possesses to a marked degree the essential qualifications of good citizenship, and his career has been such as to win for him the confidence and good will of all with whom he has come in contact. He has been deeply interested in the progress of his locality and has supported all movements calculated to advance the public welfare in any way.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 418.
LAWYEL E. HIGGERSON
Lawyel E. Higgerson, proprietor of "Red's" cafe, 1320 Cornwall avenue, Bellingham, and widely known throughout Whatcom county, is a native of Illinois but has been a resident of Bellingham since the days of his boyhood, being but eight years of age when in 1901 his parents, F. M. and Laura (Ash) Higgerson, came with their family to Whatcom county and settled on a farm near Bellingham. Lawyel E. Higgerson supplemented the education received in the Bellingham schools by a course in college at Canton, Ohio, and in 1915 in that city was united in marriage to Miss Sadie Montgomery, daughter of C. C. Montgomery of Canton. They have one child, a son, Howard E. Higgerson, born in 1917.
Upon his return to Bellingham in 1915 Mr. Higgerson embarked in the restaurant business and in 1918 bought an interest in Martin's restaurant. On April 8, 1923, he sold that and established his present place at 1320 Cornwall avenue, to which he gave the name of "Red's" Cafe, and has since been quite successfully engaged in business there. This cafe is equipped in a thoroughly up-to-date fashion, with seating capacity for about seventy persons, and it has acquired a wide reputation for the excellence of its cuisine and the high standard of its service. From twenty to twenty-five persons are employed in the establishment, to which Mr. Higgerson gives his personal attention, and the popularity attained by the cafe has caused it to become recognized as one of the fixed institutions of the city.
Mr. Higgerson is a member of the locally influential Optimists Club, an indefatigable "booster" in behalf of the general interests of his home town, and is also affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Fraternal Order of Eagles.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 870.
NELS JACOBSON, SR.
Nels Jacobson, Sr., one of the most successful and best known farmers of Lynden township and one of Whatcom county's representative citizens, was not favored by inherited wealth or the assistance of influential friends, but in spite of this, by industry, perseverance and wide economy, he has attained a comfortable station in life. He is easily the peer of any of his fellows in the qualities that constitute good citizenship, for he not only possesses those powers which render a man efficient in his business affairs but also has that broadminded and public-spirited interest in the general affairs of the community which has rendered him a potent factor in the improvement and progress of the locality in which he lives. Mr. Jacobson was born in sweden in 1859, a son of Jacob and Cecelia (Falk) Jacobson, both of whom also were natives of that country, where the father, who was engaged in the mercantile business, passed away. The mother came to the United States and located in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1904, but later came to Whatcom county and made her home with her son Nels until her death.
Nels Jacobson attended the public schools of his native land and then entered the army for the prescribed period of military service, but after twenty-one days he was relieved of further service. He then learned the trade of a machinist, which vocation he followed there until 1881, when, desirous of a larger field of opportunity for individual advancement, he immigrated to the United States. He first stopped in Chicago, Illinois, where he followed his trade for two years, at the end of which time he went to Minneapolis, Minnesota, and entered the employ of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad, where he worked as a machinist for ten years. In 1902 Mr. Jacobson came to Whatcom county and bought one hundred acres of the old Shagren ranch, part of which land was fairly well cleared. Later he bought an additional forty acres and cleared about thirty acres of that tract. He is still the owner of this land, but in 1916 he located on his present farm of twenty acres in Lynden township, where he is devoting his attention mainly to the dairy business. He keeps twenty-two good milk cows, some of which are registered stock, and his well cultivated fields produce practically all the feed required on the ranch. About 1910 Mr. Jacobson established the first herd of registered Guernsey cattle in this part of the county, but he sold the herd in 1918. Of late years he has not been as active in the operation of the farm as formerly, his two sons having assumed the major portion of the work, and he is now able to enjoy the leisure to which his former years of effort have entitled him.
In 1883 Mr. Jacobson was married to Miss Johanna Monson, who was born and reared in Sweden and is a daughter of Mons and Johanna Atlas, both of whom also were natives of Sweden, where the mother's death occurred. The father served in the Swedish national army. About 1888 he came to the United States but died several months afterwards. To Mr. and Mrs. Jacobson were born ten children: Annie died August 17, 1890, at the age of four years. Charlie, who died in 1919, was married and left a son, Carl. Arthur is married and lives near his father's farm. Olga is the wife of Leon Barton, of Lynden, and is the mother of one child. George, who lived north of Lynden, was married and had three children. He died November 25, 1925. David lives on his father's farm. Mary, twin sister to David is the wife of Levy Axlund, of Lynden, and they have two children. August died in 1915. Nels, Jr., is married and lives on the home farm. Mrs. Edith Baldwin resides in Bellingham.
Politically Mr. Jacobson is an earnest and active supporter of the republican party and is now the representative of his district in the state senate. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He was interested in the old Lynden Creamery, of which he was president for about ten years, and also a director before the plant was sold to the Dairymen's Association, and he is now a director of the latter organization, which he likewise served for one year as president. He has been treasurer of Lynden township continuously since its organization and is a member of the board of directors of the People's Bank at Lynden. His religious affiliation is with the Lutheran church, to which he gives generous support, as he does to all worthy benevolent and charitable objects. He has always stood ready to identify himself with his fellow citizens in any good work and extended his aid to advance any measure for the best interests of the community along material, civic or moral lines. A man of genial and kindly manner, he enjoys a wide personal acquaintance and has a host of warm and loyal friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 454-457.
REV. NILS EDWARD JOHNSON
Rev. Nils Edward Johnson filled the pastorate of the Swedish Baptist church at Bellingham from 1914 until the date of his death, which occurred December 12, 1918, when he was forty-six years of age. He was born in Vermland, Sweden, on the 4th of August, 1872, and spent the period of his boyhood in his native country, where he received his early education. It was in 1890, when a youth of eighteen, that he immigrated to America and came direct to Whatcom, Washington, passing through to Portland, Oregon, where he remained for one year. After studying and working for a time he entered the Swedish Theological Seminary of Chicago, Illinois, from which he was graduated on completing the four-year course in 1899. During the periods of summer vacation he preached in Canada.
Following his graduation from the Swedish Theological Seminary Rev. Johnson accepted the pastorate of the Swedish Baptist church at Wilmington, Delaware, where he remained for two years. Subsequently he filled the pulpit of the Second Swedish Baptist church at Brooklyn, New York, for ten years, after which he served as pastor of the First Swedish Baptist church at Cleveland, Ohio, for four years. On the expiration of that period, in 1914, he came to Bellingham, Washington, and here he continued as pastor of the Swedish Baptist church throughout the remainder of his life. His consecrated labors as a servant of the Master were fraught with splendid results, and in his passing Bellingham sustained the loss of an able and well beloved divine. At the time of his death Rev. Johnson was president of the Ministerial Association in Bellingham and of the Washington Swedish Baptist Conference.
On the 10th of April, 1900, Rev. Johnson was united in marriage to Ida W. Lysander, whose birth occurred in Vermland, Sweden, January 12, 1887, and who came to America when about seventeen years of age. she made her home with relatives in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, until the time of her marriage. Rev. and Mrs. Johnson became the parents of a daughter and two sons. Florence, who was born at Brooklyn, New York, completed a high school course at Bellingham, Washington, and was later graduated from the University of Washington in Seattle. She specialized in chemistry, and she received the Master's degree from Mills College of Oakland, California. Miss Johnson is an honorary member of Sigma Xi, the national science fraternity, and an honorary member of Iota Sigma Pi, the national chemistry fraternity, and she is social director at the State Normal School in Bellingham for the year 1926. Edward Johnson, also a native of Brooklyn, New York, and a graduate of the Bellingham high school, was a member of the 1922 freshman crew at the University of Washington, which institution he is still attending. He has membership in the Delta Tau Delta fraternity. Clifford Johnson, a high school graduate, is in the service of the Standard Oil Company at Seward, Alaska.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 342-345.
BYRON L. JONES
Like the majority of men who have achieved a full measure of success, Byron L. Jones has risen to the top through hard work and tenacity of purpose, and as the founder and head of the Bellingham Tug & Barge Company he has become a dominant figure in maritime circles of the Pacific northwest. He was born in 1870 and is a native of Ponca, Dixon county, Nebraska. His parents, J. W. and Alice I. (Eddy) Jone, had made the journey from Minnesota to Nebraska in 1868, and the father entered land from the government, being one of the pioneer farmers of that region. In later life he migrated to Florida.
Byron L. Jones attended the public schools of Nebraska and performed his share of the work on his father's large horse ranch. When he was nineteen years of age the family went to the south, and for a number of years he was engaged in the lumber business in Florida in association with his father and brother. He came to Whatcom county in 1907 and for several years acted as a log scaler, working in the lumber woods of northwestern Washington. In 1912 he organized the Bellingham Tug & Barge Company, venturing into a field of activity of which he had no knowledge, and in the intervening period he has developed the largest corporation of the kind on the Pacific coast. Mr. Jones is president of the firm, which operates a fleet of eight tugs and four barges for the transportation of logs, sand, gravel, coal and lumber to Alaska and points on Puget sound. The company also takes charge of the unloading and rafting of all logs shipped into Bellingham over the Northern Pacific, Great Northern and Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroads and during 1924 unloaded and rafted one hundred and fifty-five million feet of logs. Forty men are required for this work and about fifty are utilized in operating the tugs and barges. A keen judge of human nature, Mr. Jones has been very fortunate in the selection of his employes, and he has made it a rule that faithful, competent service should be rewarded with promotion as opportunity offers, treating his men at all times with justice and consideration. To the solution of the many perplexing problems presented to him as chief executive he brings the poise, wisdom, vision and administrative power of the man of large affairs, always clear-headed and prepared for any emergency. He has created a splendid organization and is now making important additions to his equipment and working force.
In 1893 Mr. Jones was united in marriage to Miss Anna Hinkle, of Missouri. Jettie, their only child, is the wife of Donald B. Stewart, of Bellingham, and the mother of a son, Donald B., Jr. Mr. Jones is vice president of the Rotary Club of Bellingham and is also connected with the Chamber of Commerce and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. Strong and purposeful, his activities have been directed along steadily broadening lines of greater usefulness. It is men of this progressive type who constitute the bone and sinew of the nation. They take no backward step and their attainment of a goal means not a temporary triumph but a permanent conquest.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 422-425.
THOMAS J. McCOLLUM
The life record of T. J. McCollum is a story of earnest endeavor that has carried him steadily onward past many obstacles and difficulties, and he is now numbered among the prosperous agriculturists of Rome township. He was born January 24, 1859, in Illinois, and his parents were William and Hulda (Woodward) McCollum, the latter a Canadian. The grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. James McCollum, were natives of Scotland, and their son, William McCollum, was born in Illinois. In that state he followed the occupation of farming until the outbreak of the Civil war, when he enlisted in the Union army, and served until the cessation of hostilities, passing away in 1866. In the family were two children: Sarah, deceased; and T. J.
T. J. McCollum was a child of seven when his father died, and he was reared by an uncle, with whom he resided until nineteen years of age. He was educated in the public schools of his native state, and in 1878 he started out in life for himself, buying an eighty acre tract in Jackson county, Illinois. He cut the timber on his land and cleared sixty acres, which he cultivated for several years. About 1885 he disposed of the property and opened a general store in Vergennes, Illinois. The building was burned soon afterward and he lost nearly all of his stock of merchandise. After a trip through the west he returned to Illinois and for a number of years was employed on farms. When he had accumulated a sufficient sum he purchased a small ranch, which he later sold, and about 1896 went to Missouri. There he leased a farm, which he operated for four years, and in 1900 came to the Pacific coast, locating in eastern Washington. At Lind he erected a building, in which he was engaged in general merchandising for one and a half years, and then sold the business. In Adams county he homesteaded a quarter section and proved up on the claim, converting it into a fertile farm. He specialized in the growing of wheat and there remained until February, 1905, when he disposed of the property. Coming to Whatcom county, he bought a tract of forty-four acres, situated on the highway in section 6, Rome township, and entered upon the arduous work of clearing the land. He now has seven cows of good grade and two heifers. He raises hay, grain, potatoes and strawberries, and his methods of farming are the expression of the latest scientific discoveries along agricultural lines. His buildings are substantial and his place is well improved and wisely managed.
On April 9, 1896, Mr. McCollum married Miss Rosalia Koch, who was born in Missouri. She is a daughter of Edward and Rosalia Koch, natives of Germany, and her father is now living in the province of Alberta, Canada. Mr. and Mrs. McCollum became the parents of nine children: Dillard, deceased; Willard, who completed a high school course; Gilbert, who is at home; Edward, who is married; William, still at home; Jacob, who is also with his parents; Rosie, a high school student; Albert, who is a pupil in the seventh grade;; and Ralph. Mr. McCollum is a member of the Rome Grange and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Along fraternal lines he is connected with the Woodmen of the World, belonging to Cypress Camp, which he joined at Ardeola, Missouri. He served for six years on the township board and is always to be found in the van of movements for the advancement and benefit of his district in which he has a wide acquaintance and many true friends, who are thoroughly appreciative of his worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 639-640.
This biographical memoir has to do with a character of unusual force, for John McDonald, whose tragic death, by automobile accident, in 1907, was deeply regretted by all who knew him, was one of the ablest, best known and most popular citizens of his section of Whatcom county. While he carried on business in such a manner as to gain a comfortable competency for himself and family, he also belonged to that class of representative citizens who promote the public welfare while advancing individual success. There were in him sterling traits which commanded uniform confidence and regard, and his memory is today honored by all who knew him and is enshrined in the hearts of his many friends.
John McDonald was a native of Rosshire, Scotland, and a son of Roderick McDonald, who was a celebrated veterinarian in the north of Scotland. He learned the trade of cabinetmaking after completing his public school education, and in 1875 emigrated to the United States, locating in North Dakota. There he became the owner of an entire section of land, one hundred and sixty acres of which he had taken up as a homestead, buying the remainder. He applied himself intelligently and with success to the cultivation of this land until about 1884 when he was married, remaining in North Dakota until 1891. In the latter year he brought his family to Whatcom county, Washington, and engaged in the contracting business, in which he met with success, following that vocation until his death, which occurred in California. He was an able business man, exercising sound judgment and discrimination in all of his operations and was absolutely honest in all of his transactions, thus establishing himself in the confidence and esteem of the people. He did much building through this section of the state in the sixteen years in which he was engaged as a contractor, erecting many of the important buildings, including the county poorhouse and many of the better class of residences. He successfully carried through whatever he undertook and his word was absolutely to be relied upon.
In 1884 Mr. McDonald was married to Annie Ferguson, a native of Inverness, Scotland, and a daughter of Donald and Annie (Bain) Ferguson. Her father had a wide reputation as a successful horse breeder, and was also the owner of a fine herd of Shorthorn cattle. His death occurred about 1910 and his wife passed away in 1908. They were the parents of seven children, namely: Margaret, deceased; Jessie, Barbara; Annie, Mrs. McDonald; John, William and George, deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. McDonald were born ten children: Mrs. Annie Christensen, of Bellingham; Mrs. Margaret Nygren; Roderick, who is married and has a son, Jack, who volunteered in 1915 for service in the World war and served until the close of that struggle; Mrs. Ruth Cannon, who is the mother of a daughter, Neila May; Mrs. Israel White, who is the mother of three sons, Donald, Eugene and Theodore; John, who is married and has two daughters, Annie and Margaret; Mrs. Dora Frederickson, who has a daughter, Beverley; Mrs. Georgina Ballinger, who has two children, Lee and Betty Jane; Mrs. Evelyn Hynote, the mother of a daughter, Donna Marie; and James, who lives at home with his mother. All of these children received good, practical educations and several of the daughters are accomplished musicians.
About 1903 Mrs. McDonald moved to a twenty-acre ranch in Ferndale township, where she has a comfortable and attractive home, her son James assisting her in the management and operation of the place. She keeps eight high grade Jersey cows and carries on general farming. She has a good silo, which is always filled for winter feed. On Mrs. McDonald's ranch stands one of the first schoolhouses built in Whatcom county, called the Anatole school, probably built about 1880. Mrs. McDonald is now very pleasantly situated and, because of her good business judgment, her courage in going on with the business affairs of the family alone, her splendid personal qualities and her friendly and accommodating manner, she enjoys the admiration and esteem of the entire community. Mr. McDonald was a man of marked individuality and left the indelible impress of his personality upon the lives of all with whom he came into contact. He always stood ready to identify himself with his fellow citizens in any good work and extend a co-operative hand to advance any measure for the betterment of the community, and by reason of these commendable characteristics, coupled with a genial, gentlemanly address and a heart of charitable and hospitable impulses, he occupied an enviable place in the confidence and respect to do a kindly act, even when it was not always convenient to himself. He was a lovable man, an honored and respected citizen and a true friend.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 649-650.
Edward McParland of the Union Iron Works of Bellingham is a well known representative of iron manufacturing interests in this section of the state, in which line he has been engaged for the past quarter of a century. A resident of Whatcom county since he was a boy, he was born in Ireland, January 23, 1883, and was ten years of age when his parents, Frank and Mary McParland, came to Whatcom county with their family in 1893 and settled on a farm, where the father continued actively engaged in farming until his retirement. Both he and his wife spent their last days here.
Edward McParland was ten years of age when he came here with his parents in 1893. He grew up on the home farm, finished his education in this county and instead of "sticking to the farm" became attracted to the iron workers trade and became a skilled foundryman, he and his brother, Frank, learning the foundry trade in Bellingham. In 1905 they became engaged in the foundry business on their own account, setting up a plant which since has been developed into the present extensive business of the Union Iron Works on Grant street. In 1907 John Hood and John Borchard became connected with the enterprise established by the McParland brothers and have since been connected with the firm. Frank McParland continued his connection with the firm until his death on August 4, 1918. Edward McParland has ever retained his interest in this establishment, his connection therewith now covering a period of more than twenty-five years, and he is widely known in manufacturing circles throughout the state. In 1912 he married Miss Helen Halverson of Bellingham and they have a pleasant home in that city.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 569.
William Morrison, vice president of the Morrison Mill Company, operating at Bellingham, Blaine and Anacortes, one of the best known lumber concerns in the northwest as well as one of the oldest continuing enterprises of the kind in the state of Washington, has been a resident of Whatcom county for the past thirty-five years.
He was born in the city of Quebec, May 24, 1867, and is one of the six sons of William and Elizabeth (Clarkson) Morrison. In the early '90s he became connected with the lumber industry in this county and operating as the Morrison Mill Company has become recognized as one of the influential factors in this industry in the state of Washington and throughout the great northwestern timber country. His father operated a lumber mill in the town of New Glascow and it was there that he became familiar with the details of the lumber business. In the fall of 1892 he came to Whatcom county, where he joined his elder brother, who had, acting on the initiative of Robert C. Morrison, the family "pathfinder" in the Nooksack country, embarked in the lumber business in the Ferndale district the year before, and he ever since has been engaged in the lumber and box shook business here, being vice president of the Morrison Mill Company, which the brothers organized in 1893. This company now has plants at Bellingham, Blaine and Anacortes, with a combined capacity of three hundred and fifty thousand feet of lumber a day. The Morrison Mill Company built their first box factory in connection with their sawmill at Ferndale, in 1892, it being the first factory of its kind on the coast. This was the start of their present box factories which now ship box shooks to all the principal markets of the world.
William Morrison makes his home in Bellingham; is a member of the Presbyterian church, as are his brothers, and gives his support to the general social, civic and cultural activities of the community of which he for so many years has been a helpful and influential personal factor. The Morrison Mill Company has for many years been one of the large employers of labor in this section of the state and its influence in general development here has ever been exerted along proper and systematic lines. When the local historian of the future essays the task of reviewing the elements that may be regarded as basic in the development movements of this generation grateful recognition must be made of the work the Morrison brothers have accomplished.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 172-175.
Among the younger representatives of business interests at Bellingham is N. Schuman, vice president and secretary of the Schuman Steel & Machinery Company. A native of Russia, he was born on the 1st day of September, 1898, his parents being L. and Dora Schuman. The year 1903 witnessed the father's arrival at Bellingham, Washington, where with his wife and the younger children of the family he joined his son, Dave Schuman, who had settled here in 1900.
It was in 1906 that L. Schuman and his son, Dave Schuman, established the Bellingham Junk Company on West Holly street, while three years later a removal was made to No. 1011 West Holly street. During the past five years the business has been conducted in a store, twenty-five by one hundred and twenty-five feet, which the company owns at No. 1010 West Holly street and the dimensions of which are fifty by one hundred feet. The Bellingham Junk Company, incorporated in 1919, was organized as the Schuman Steel & Machinery Company in 1924, and the following officers were elected: Dave Schuman, president; N. Schuman, vice president and secretary;; and L. Schuman, treasurer. The concern handles new and second-hand machinery, steel, logging and mill supplies and has developed an extensive and profitable enterprise of this character.
N. Schuman, whose name introduces this review, belongs to the Chamber of Commerce. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and with the local organization of the Independent Order of B'nai B'rith, of which he has been president for two terms and is now serving as secretary. A young man of excellent executive ability and genuine personal worth, he has gained well deserved popularity in both social and business circles of Bellingham.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 763-764.
CALVIN A. SCRIMSHER
Of honored pioneer stock, Calvin A. Scrimsher has an intimate knowledge of frontier life in the Pacific northwest, and as a worthy member of one of Washington's territorial families he is well entitled to representation in this volume. He has lived in the state for forty-five years, following agricultural pursuits during the greater portion of the time, and now owns and operates a fine ranch in Rome township. He was born April 23, 1864, in Nebraska, and his parents, Charles G. and Rachel (Elmore) Scrimsher, were natives of Illinois. The father went to Nebraska about 1862 and was among the first settlers of Richardson county, in which he made his home until about 1874. When the district became thickly populated he sought a more isolated region and journeyed to Kansas with a team and wagon. He was engaged in farming in the Sunflower state for six years and in 1880 joined a wagon train bound for Washington. There was no road over the mountains and he was obliged to pack his outfit on horseback across the Cascades. The family reached Sehome, Washington, in November 1881, and soon afterward Charles G. Scrimsher took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in Ten Mile township, of which he was one of the earliest settlers. Through arduous effort he removed the brush and trees from the tract, clearing about thirty acres and for many years his energies were devoted to the cultivation and improvement of the ranch. His life was terminated February 24, 1901, and the mother passed away May 28, 1910. She was born March 26, 1843, and the father's birth occurred on July 27 of the same year. They were highly respected in the community in which they resided and reared a family of ten children, eight of whom are now living.
Calvin A. Scrimsher attended the public schools of Nebraska and Kansas, and he was a youth of sixteen when the family made the trip to Washington. He aided his father in tilling the soil and when he attained his majority started out for himself, entering a homestead in section 28, range 3, of Ten Mile township. He built a small house and applied himself tot he task of clearing the land, eventually transforming the place into a productive farm, on a portion of which he planted an orchard. He sold the property in 1900 and bought another ranch in the same section. He brought more than half of the land under the plow and there resided for seven years. In 1907 he decided to enter another field of activity and disposed of the place, opening a real estate and insurance office in Bellingham. He was successful in the venture and conducted the business until 1915. He then moved to Marietta and for five years operated a ferry across the Nooksack river, owning the boat and also a good home in the town. On the expiration of that period Mr. Scrimsher returned to Bellingham and remained in the city until March, 1925, when he purchased a tract of twenty acres in Rome township. A portion of the land is improved and he is planning to establish a large poultry ranch here. He has made a close study of this industry, which is followed extensively throughout the county, and will undoubtedly succeed in the undertaking, for the word fail has no place in his vocabulary.
On June 30, 1895, Mr. Scrimsher married Miss Mabel E. Dewey, a native of Kansas and a daughter of George B. and Emma (Romine) Dewey. Her mother was born September 22, 1846, in West Virginia, and has reached the venerable age of seventy-nine years. The father was born February 14, 1841, in Ohio, and he was a cousin of Admiral George Dewey, who achieved renown in the Spanish-American war. George B. Dewey engaged in merchandising in Kansas and in 1888 started for Washington. He spent the first winter in the Cascade mountains, being unable to reach the coast owing to the deep snow, and then purchased a ranch in Van Wyck township. He operated the farm for several years and then leased the property, afterward buying a ten acre tract, on which he resided for some time. Having decided to retire, he located in Bellingham but was not content to remain inactive and purchased twenty acres of land in Mountain View township, where he spent the remainder of his life, passing away April 8, 1918. There were ten children in the family, and Mr. and Mrs. Scrimsher have become the parents of three children: Mrs. Freda M. Stewart, Mrs. Flossie McCollum and Vernie T.
Mr. Scrimsher is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Raisers Association, and along fraternal lines he is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America, belonging to Wahl Camp, No. 7357. His life has been one of unceasing industry, directed into constructive channels, and his record sustains the high reputation which has ever been borne by the members of this well known family.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 632-633.
JOHN H. STENGER
John H. Stenger, now deceased, who was one of Bellingham's best known citizens, was a native son of the northwest country. He had been a resident of Bellingham for more than thirty-seven years and was thoroughly familiar with the various steps that have marked the progress and development of this community from its pioneer stage. He was born in the Canyonville settlement in Douglas county, Oregon, a son of Lenard and Elizabeth (Stinger) Stenger, who had crossed the plains in a covered wagon in 1852 from Peoria, Illinois, and who in the fall of 1884 left Oregon with their family and came to Whatcom county. John H. Stenger had been engaged in the cattle business in Oregon, and had done well there and thus came into Whatcom county pretty well circumstanced. He bought the Colony mill here which he operated for five or six years, at the end of which time he sold his mill and built the Bellingham Hotel, a popular old hostelry, which he operated for many years or until his death, February 7, 1919, being for years one of the best known hotel men in the state of Washington. He also helped to promote the street railway but later sold his interest.
On February 21, 1887, John H. Stenger was united in marriage to Miss Clara Fouts, also a member of one of the pioneer families of the Bellingham Bay settlements, and to this union four children have been born, three of whom are living: A son, Carl W. Stenger, is an engineer connected with the Pacific-American fisheries in Bellingham, and two daughters, Mrs. Cecil Rhinehart of Bellingham and Mrs. Mona Gwinn of Seattle. Mrs. Rhinehart has a son, John James, and Mrs. Gwinn has a son, Wm. Forest. Mrs. Stenger was born in the village of Hopeville, Clarke county, Iowa, a daughter of William H. and Martha (Sullivan) Fouts, and was about eight years of age when in 1873 she came with her parents into the Bay settlements, where she since has resided, being thus one of the real pioneers of Bellingham, for she has seen this city grow from what properly may be regarded as having been its pioneer stage, there having been little here at that time save the coal mines to give promise of what was to come in the way of development. Her father, the late William H. Fouts, concerning whom further mention is made elsewhere in this work, was one of the pioneer merchants of Bellingham, was for ten years, during the '70s and '80s, county superintendent of schools, taught what may be regarded as having been the first public school in Bellingham, was for years postmaster and was in other ways one of the active and influential promoters of the community in the days of its early development. He died January 25, 1924, and at his passing left a good memory. Mrs. Stenger grew up in Bellingham, attended the school presided over by her father, who was a college trained man, and finished her education in the high school of Central Cities, Nebraska, making her home during that period of study with her grandparents, who were residents of that place. Upon her return from school she took her place in her father's store, helping as clerk and bookkeeper and also as an assistant in the work of the post office during the time of her father's incumbency in that office, and was thus engaged until her marriage. She has a wide acquaintance throughout this section of the state, her friends being many. She is interested in the welfare and progress of the community and votes with the democratic party as did Mr. Stenger, who along political, business and other lines contributed to the permanent progress and upbuilding of his community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 298-299.
S. E. TAYLOR
S. E. Taylor, manager of the Bellingham branch of the Independent Truck Company of Everett and a member of the board of directors of that company, is widely known in overland transportation circles throughout the northwest. He is a native of the Badger state but has been a resident of the Evergreen state since childhood and a resident of Bellingham since 1920, when the company with which he is connected established its branch office and station in that city. Mr. Taylor was born in the village of Iola, Waupaca county, Wisconsin, in 1899, and was three years of age when in 1902 his parents, R. B. and Marietta Taylor, came with their family to Washington and established their home in Everett, where the former is now in business as the district salesman for the Dupont Powder Company.
Reared at Everett, S. E. Taylor finished his education in the high school there and then became engaged in business with his elder brother, E. R. Taylor, the two establishing a motor truck line between Everett and Arlington, a milk and freight route between Seattle and Fort Sumner, and other lines. In 1923 the three Taylor brothers, E. R. Taylor, who had established the business in Everett in 1914; and S. E. and E. C. Taylor, incorporated the Independent Truck Company and have since been carrying on business under that name, with offices and stations at Everett, Bellingham and other points convenient to the territory they cover. In 1920 the Bellingham branch was opened, with station on Council street, and in 1922 moved to the company's present quarters at 1310 Railroad avenue. This company maintains daily service from Seattle, covering points north to the Canadian line and operating no fewer than forty-three trucks and trailers, all save seven of which are of more than five-ton capacity, and almost one hundred men are employed. The officers of the company are as follows: President R. B. Bovee, of Everett, and secretary-treasurer and general manager, E. R. Taylor, of Everett, these, with S. E. Taylor, E. C. Taylor, C. H. Bovee and Charles Leo, forming the directorate. S. E. Taylor has been the manager of the Bellingham branch of the company's extensive service since 1923 and is recognized as a definite factor in the commercial and industrial life of the city, being one of the best known and most energetic young business men there.
On December 20, 1919, at Everett, S. E. Taylor was united in marriage to Miss Borkhild Hendrickson of that city, and they have two children: Juanita Marie and Spencer Jack. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor have a pleasant home in Bellingham and since taking up their residence there have given their interested attention to the city's general social activities. They are republicans and take a proper interest in civic affairs. Mr. Taylor is a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 886-889.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page