PETER P. ANDREAS
P. P. Andreas comes from far-away Sweden, which country has sent such a large number of enterprising and worthy citizens to this country, especially to the west, where they have had an important part in the development of the country, and where they have gained material success. Mr. Andreas was born in the southern part of Sweden, jUne 8, 1863, and is a son of Peter and Kate Andreas, both of whom were lifelong residents of that country. He received his education in the public schools of his native land and remained there until he had attained his majority, when, in 1884, he emigrated to the United States. He first located in Red Wing, Minnesota, where he lived for two or three years and then went to North Dakota, where he took up a homestead. He planted that land to wheat, in the raising of which he was fairly successful, and there he lived seventeen years. He then sold and went to British Columbia, where he bought twenty acres of land near the state line, on which he followed farming for seven years. In 1910 he again sold and, coming to Whatcom county, bought forty acres near Ferndale, where he has since carried on general farming, in which he has been rewarded with a very gratifying measure of success. He keeps six high-grade Guernsey cows, a pure bred bull and about three hundred hens. He raises grain and hay mostly and in all his operations exercises sound judgment and a nice discrimination that have enabled him to carry on his operations without failure in any particular line.
In 1909 Mr. Andreas was married to Miss Nellie Torbenson, who was born and reared in the state of Wisconsin, the daughter of Carl and Mary Torbenson, both of whom were natives of Norway and who settled in Wisconsin, where they spent a number of years, later moving to the state of Washington, where their deaths occurred. To Mr. and Mrs. Andreas have been born three children, Carl, Annie and Dorothy. The Andreas home is located on the new concrete highway, and the place is maintained in a high state of improvement, the buildings being well arranged and attractive, while all the farm operations are carried on in an up-to-date manner, modern machinery being employed and everything being so arranged as to produce the largest results with minimum labor and expense. Mr. Andreas is a man of great energy, is painstaking and careful in everything he does and his success is but the result of the thoughtful and intelligent direction he has give to his work. Because of the fine record he has made here, his splendid character and excellent personal qualities, he has gained and retains an enviable place in the esteem of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 609-610.
ORVIN C. BARNARD
By a straightforward and commendable course, O. C. Barnard has made his way to an enviable position in the agricultural world of Whatcom county, winning the hearty admiration of the people of his community and earning a reputation as an enterprising, progressive man of affairs. He was born in Venango county, Pennsylvania, on the 13th day of November, 1866, and is a son of Joseph D. and Ellen (Benson) barnard, the father a native of Crawford county, Pennsylvania, and the mother of Genesee county, New York. Joseph D. Barnard was a farmer by occupation, but also did considerable work in the oil fields having assisted in drilling the third oil well put down in Oil City, Pennsylvania, about 1860. In 1862 he enlisted for service in the Civil are, in which he bore an honorable part until the close, when he returned to Pennsylvania and again engaged in the oil business. In 1871 he moved to New York state and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land near Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, where he remained until 1895, when he retired and located in Ohio, where his death occurred in 1910. His wife is still living. To this worthy couple were born seven children, four of whom are living, namely: Frank, born May 18, 1860, and now deceased; O. C.; Inda, born June 5, 1868, who died in infancy; Arthur, born September 13, 1870; Allie, born November 29, 1872; Von, who was born May 12, 1874, and died May 14, 1879; and Frona, born March 2, 1880.
O. C. Barnard attended the public schools of New York state and also Sugargrove Seminary, in Pennsylvania, for two years. On leaving school he went to the oil fields at Bradford, Pennsylvania, where he was employed until 1892, when he went to Oakdale, Pennsylvania, where he was identified with the oil business for about eighteen months. He then moved to Conneaut Lake, New York, which was his home for two years, at the end of which time he went to Findlay, Ohio, and was connected with the oil business there for about ten years. In 1903 Mr. Barnard came to Bellingham, Washington, and went to work as a mill wright, in which he met with success, having built about ten saw and shingle mills in this part of the state. In March, 1916, he bought twenty acres of land in Ferndale township, near Laurel, the land being entirely unimproved and covered with brush and stumps. He has cleared about half of the land which he has devoted to general farming, raising diversified crops, and also keeps four good Jersey cows and a thousand chickens. In 1920 he built a fine, modern house, of six rooms, comfortably arranged and attractive in appearance, and also has a chicken house twenty-eight by one hundred and twenty-two feet in size, a garage, work shop and tool shed. He does thoroughly whatever he undertakes and now has a very cosy and valuable home. Mr. Barnard is a member of the Pomono Grange, the Whatcom County Poultry Association and the Whatcom County Farm Bureau. He is keenly interested in horticulture and has planted about his place many varieties of fruit and nut trees, all of which, under his care, are thriving nicely. He is a firm believer in irrigation and is planning to install an irrigation system on his place.
On February 12, 1890, was consummated the marriage of Mr. Barnard to Miss Maggie J. James, who was born in Venango county, Pennsylvania, the daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Foster) James, the former engaged in the oil business. To Mr. and Mrs. Barnard has been born a daughter Rhea F., who is now the wife of John Pinckney, of Aberdeen, Washington. She is a graduate of the high school and the State Normal School at Bellingham, and also attended the State University two terms, after which she taught school for eleven years. Strong and forceful in his relations with his fellowmen, Mr. Barnard has gained the good will and commendation of all with whom he has come in contact, retaining his reputation for integrity and high character. He public-spirited interest in everything pertaining to the general welfare has led him to support all laudable movements for public improvement, and he is well liked by all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 835-836.
CAPTAIN CHARLES E. BASFORD
Captain Charles E. Basford, who for fifty years was one of the best known mariners in the coastwise trade on this side of the Pacific, left the sea in the spring of 1925 and is now living comfortably retired in Bellingham, being one of the honored pioneers of Whatcom county. He has been here since 1872 and has thus seen this community develop from its "day of small things," taking an active part in that development.
Captain Basford was born in Iowa in the year 1860 and when but a child was bereft by death of his parents. When he was ten years old he had come to be a sufficiently skilled teamster to be intrusted with the care of a team driving over the prairies of Iowa for two years and thus earning his railroad fare west. With the Armstrong family he came into Whatcom county in the fall of 1872, the party settling at what is now Blanchard, Skagit county but which then was included within the larger county of Whatcom. In the summer of 1873 he worked on a cattle ranch and in the next year had come to be a sufficiently adept rancher to be intrusted with the job of shearing sheep. In the fall of 1874 he got a job as a cabin boy on the bark "Osborn," a sailing vessel at that time well known along the coast, and thus began his career as a mariner, which he followed with continuing success in these waters until his recent retirement after a period of half a century.
Captain Basford's rise to a master's berth was rapid. When sixteen years of age he was certified as an able seaman. He then was sailing on the old Germania, freighting coal from Bellingham Bay to San Francisco under command of Captain Baker. After a time he quit the "windjammers" and took service on steamers with the Moran brothers, and during the years 1878-79 was one of the crew of the mail boat "Dispatch," from Port Townsend to outlying ports on this coast and in the islands. In 1880, when nineteen years of age, he successfully passed examination and got his mate's papers. For two years he served as mate on the Dispatch and was then mate on the Liza Anderson running between Olympia and Victoria. In 1886 Captain Basford earned his master's license and from that time until his recent retirement had a varied and interesting career as skipper, twenty years of this service being with the Newhall line as master of the Buckeye and the Islander. Among other vessels of which he was at one time or another captain may be mentioned the Kingston, the Lydia Thompson, the Evangel, the Burton and the Morning Star. In the spring of 1925 Captain Basford resigned and returned to land, buying a ranch near Everson and expecting, as so many retired seafaring men have expected with more or less anticipation of success, to go into the chicken business, a line in which his hosts of friends wish him all kinds of good luck.
(typing errors) ... to Miss Ella O'Bryant, who died in 1901. To that union were born four children but the daughters, Nora and Laura are deceased, and one son, Fred, who was a steamboat man is also deceased. The other son, Irving L. Basford, is Chief Engineer for the Standard Oil Company. The elder daughter, Nora, married Alfred Bull and died in 1924. On January 1, 1902, in Vancouver, British Columbia, Captain Basford married Miss Mae V. Hansard and to this union one child has been born, Charles Edmund, a veteran of the World war, who studied navigation in the University of Washington and is now a licensed pilot, operating in the waters between San Francisco and Sacramento. He was but sixteen years of age when in 1917 he entered the service, enlisting in the Marine Corps, and he had more than two years of service, his discharge not coming until some time after the close of the war. He is a member of the Masonic order. Mrs. Basford was born in Geauga county, Ohio, of which state her parents also were natives. Her first acquaintance with Whatcom county was made in 1888 but for some years before returning to Bellingham she was a resident of Colorado.
Captain Basford is a Scottish Rite Mason and Mrs. Basford is a member of the local chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star, both taking an earnest interest in Masonic affairs. They reside at No. 1313 Garden street, Bellingham and are quite pleasantly situated there.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 782-785.
Among the successful agriculturists and poultrymen of Whatcom county, whose efforts and influence have contributed to the material upbuilding and improvement of their respective communities, Henry Bierlink, of Delta township, occupies a conspicuous place. In his career he has exemplified the truth of the statement that the greatest results in life are often attained by simple means and the exercise of the ordinary qualities of common sense and perseverance, and today no man in his locality has to a greater degree the esteem and regard of his fellow citizens. Mr. Bierlink was born in Ottawa county, Michigan, on the 28th of November, 1882, and is a son of Fred and Johanna (Kaptein) Bierlink, both of whom were born in Germany. The parents came to the United States in May, 1881, locating in Ottawa county, Michigan, where the father bought forty acres of land and rented forty acres, and to the cultivation of this he devoted his attention until 1898. He then came to Lynden, Washington, and bought twenty acres three and a half miles northwest of Lynden. He cleared this land of brush and timber, and in 1900 bought forty acres more, which also was encumbered with fallen timber and brush. Clearing this, he created a splendid farm, on which he lived until his death, May 28, 1907. His widow is still living. They became the parents of four children, Henry, Gerrit, deceased; John; and Anna, who died in infancy.
Henry Bierlink secured his education in the public schools of Michigan and Washington and remained at home until his marriage. In 1909 he and two of his brothers bought forty acres of land about four miles northwest of Lynden and in 1910 they added thirty acres more across the road from the first purchase. The land was densely covered with logs and brush, but they cleared this all off and farmed the land together until 1914, when they divided the property. Henry Bierlink is now owner of sixty acres of splendid land, a part of which is devoted to the raising of hay and grain, the remainder being in pasture. He keeps sixteen Jersey cows, some of which are pure bred, and a pure bred registered bull, besides ten head of young stock. He has also gone extensively into chicken raising and has built a good chicken house. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has just completed the building of a nice, commodious barn and one of the finest modern homes in the township, and he and his family are very comfortably situated. They are members of the First Christian Reformed church in Lynden, to which they give generous support.
On August 15, 1912, Mr. Bierlink was married to Miss Johanna C. Meenderinck, who was born in North Dakota, a daughter of Bernard and Nancy (Van Mersberger) Meenderinck, natives of Holland. Her father was a farmer in his native land until 1880, when he came to the United States and located in North Dakota, where he operated a farm until 1905, when he came to Whatcom county and bought thirty-five acres of land near Lynden. After operating that place for about nine years, he retired and moved to Lynden, where he spent his remaining years, his death occurring July 16, 1925. He was not long survived by his wife, who passed away September 16, 1925. Of their nine children, five are now living. Mr. and Mrs. Bierlink have three children: Johanna K., born July 1, 1915; Nella H., born May 11, 1917; and Bertha Ann, born October 26, 1921. Mr. Bierlink takes a commendable interest in local public affairs, giving his support to all measures for the advancement of the community and has long been considered one of the most influential and enterprising men of his district. Because of his success, his high character and his friendly manner, he has attained a high place in the esteem and confidence of his neighbors and fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 787-788.
Peter Blom, one of the substantial and well established pioneer farmers and dairymen of Mountain View township, proprietor of a well kept place there on rural mail route No. 2 out of Ferndale, is of European birth but has been a resident of this country since the days of his young manhood. When he settled on his homestead in 1888 the highway had not penetrated that far into the wild and his approach to the place was by way of the old woods trail. Much of the year this trail was practically impassable by reason of the mud and when he was building his first cabin he had to wait for three weeks to get nails from the village on account of the mud. His first stove he carried on his back to the cabin. He started in a long cabin of his own construction and with an ox team to use in his clearing operations. "Varmints" still were numerous in that section and he had to be on a constant lookout for bears and wildcats. For more than twelve years Mr. Blom carried on there alone, a bachelor, cooking his own meals and giving a woodsman's care to the cabin, and then he married and put up a better house. By that time he had cleared his original "forty" and had bought an adjoining tract of ninety-one acres, the place on which he and his family are now very pleasantly situated. Mr. Blom has seen that neighborhood grow to its present thriving state and knows just how every step in this amazing progress was made, for he is one of the community builders. When in a reminiscent mood he has many a good story to tell of the days when the wilderness was being brought under the claim of civilization and being made responsive to the needs of the settlers. These stories are very entertaining to the young people of the neighborhood, who can only wonder how the pioneers got along amid the conditions which he so graphically describes.
Mr. Blom was born in the Vesterbotten district of Norrland in the kingdom of Sweden, September 11, 1864, and is a son of Bruer O. and Sarah Gustava Blom, the latter of whom, daughter of Bertel, is still living in her native Sweden home at the age of eighty-five years. B. O. Blom, a Swedish farmer, died in 1922, being then eighty-six years of age. Peter Blom grew up to farming, attended the schools of his home village and remained on the farm with his father until he was in his twenty-third year when, in 1887, he came to America and proceeded to Seattle, which at that time was giving glowing promise of its later wonderful development. In the following winter he worked in a brickyard in the city and then, following his impulse to get onto the land, came to Whatcom county and bought a timber "forty" in Mountain View township and settled down to clear the place and make a farm out of it. With willing hands and a stout heart he entered upon that task, "baching" in his lonely cabin, and in time got the place cleared and found himself in a position to take on more land. In 1899 he bought the tract of ninety-one acres on which he now makes his home and he now has a well developed farm of more than one hundred and thirty acres, improved in up-to-date fashion and profitably cultivated. In addition to general farming Mr. Blom has long been giving much attention to dairying and poultry raising and is doing well along these line, his products being disposed of through the Whatcom County Dairymen's and the Poultry Association, of both of which influential cooperative bodies he is a member. He has about two thousand White Leghorns and clears from his place more than twenty cases of eggs a week.
It was on October 13, 1901, that Mr. Blom was united in marriage to Mrs. Mary Marta (Ericson) Braunlund (sic), who had become a resident of Bellingham in 1891. She was born in Sweden and is a daughter of N. E. and Anne Helen (Lundeen) Ericson, both of whom died in their native country and the former was a member of the police force in the town of Harrison. Mrs. Blom was first married in Sweden and in 1886 came with her husband and their little daughter to the United States, landing at New York with fifty-five dollars remaining out of the savings they had counted on setting them up in a new home on this side. They purposed to join kinfolk in Iowa but when they reached Chicago they had but five dollars remaining. Through the aid of the Scandinavian Colonization Society they were enabled to proceed to Iowa and settled at Arthur, Ida county. In 1891 they came to the coast country and located at Bellingham, where Mr. Braunland (sic) died in 1895. By her first marriage Mrs. Blom was the mother of five children, namely: Lillian A., who married George Taylor and died in 1907; Margaret J., wife of John Phillips of Seattle; Elroy, who also is living in Seattle; Esther, with of Henry Roeder of Bellingham, and Arthur Braunland, who is farming on Anderson creek. Mr. and Mrs. Blom are members of the Lutheran church and stand for progress and advancement in all that pertains to the social, material, civic and moral interests of the community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 852-853.
JOHN C. BORCHARDT
John C. Borchardt of the Union Iron Works of Bellingham and one of the veteran manufacturers of that city, engaged in his present business for the past twenty years, was born in Illinois, June 18, 1881, and is a son of H. M. and Henrietta (Sileke) borchardt, the latter of whom died in 1889. H. M. Borchardt came to Whatcom county with his family in 1902 and was employed in the Fairhaven mills for many years or until his retirement. He still makes his home in Bellingham.
Reared in Illinois, John C. Borchardt was educated in the schools of his home place and early became apprenticed to the blacksmith's trade, a vocation in which he was well skilled when he came to Whatcom county with his father in 1902. That was the year in which he came into his majority and he ever since has been a resident of this county. Upon his arrival here he became employed in the Burpee & Letson foundry and was thus engaged until the fall of 1907, when in association with John A. Hood and Frank and Edward McParland, he started out in business for himself, he and his partners on the 1st of September opening their foundry on Grant street, where they since have engaged in business, operating as the Union Iron Works, with a record of large production and a wide demand for the products of their foundry. This concern has a well equipped plant, with a frontage of one hundred and fifty feet on Grant street, and does a general foundry business. With the exception of Frank McParland, mention of whom is made elsewhere in this work and who died in the summer of 1918, the original members of the combination, Messrs. Borchardt, Hood and Edward McParland, are carrying on the affairs of the foundry and are doing well, being proprietors of one of the best established plants of its kind in this section of the state.
Mr. Borchardt is a republican and has ever given helpful attention to local civic affairs. He is affiliated with the fraternal organizations of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Loyal Order of Moose and take a proper interest in the affairs of those popular bodies.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 748.
FRANK N. BROOKS
Many of Bellingham's substantial business men have won success in the lumber industry, and one of the prominent operators in this field of activity is Frank N. Brooks, a true westerner, thoroughly imbued with the spirit of enterprise and determination. He is a native of Minneapolis, Minnesota, and after the completion of his public school course he entered Williams College, leaving that institution of learning at the end of a year. He spent two years as a student at the University of Minnesota and for four years attended the United States Military Academy at West Point. He was in the service of his country from May, 1917, until March, 1919, and now holds the rank of lieutenant colonel in the Officers Reserve Corps of the United States Army.
The Brooks Lumber Company was formed in 1914 by Frank C., William C. and Frank N. Brooks. The firm purchased standing timber in Michigan and leased a sawmill, establishing the main offices at Sault Ste. Marie. The business was conducted in Michigan until September 15, 1919, when it was moved to Bellingham, Washington, and in the intervening period the firm has built up a large wholesale trade. As president and manager of the company Frank N. Brooks has played the leading part in the development of the industry, keeping in close touch with all new developments in the trade, and the commercial transactions of the firm have always balanced up with the principles of honor and integrity. The subject of this sketch is also serving a president of the Warwick Lumber Company and in the conduct of the business displays mature judgment, progressive ideas and executive power, maintaining a high standard of efficiency in the operation of the plant.
In 1914 Mr. Brooks married Miss Frances Carver, of Brookline, Massachusetts, a suburb of Boston, and three children have been born to them. Mr. Brooks reserves the right of voting according to the dictates of his judgment, owing allegiance to no party, and casts his ballot for those men and measures that he deems will best conserve the public weal. He belongs to the American Legion and was commander of Bellingham Post in 1924 and state commander in 1925. He is a Scottish Rite Mason, a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Country, Rotary and Cougar Clubs. His life record is written in terms of honor and success, and a courteous manner and pleasing personality have drawn to him a large circle of sincere friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 785.
Possessing an aptitude for mechanical pursuits, Thomas Burns has continued in the line of activity for which nature intended him, and he conducts one of the largest machine shops in Bellingham. He was born in 1860 in the province of Ontario, Canada, and his parents, Robert and Eliza Burns, were natives of Ireland. They made the voyage to Canada in 1850, and the father followed the blacksmith's trade as a life work.
Thomas Burns was educated in the public schools of Ontario and afterward served an apprenticeship to the machinist's trade. He proved an apt pupil and was master mechanic at Sioux City, Iowa, for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad. He was one of the most capable men in that department of the road and remained with the corporation for eighteen years, establishing a highly creditable record of service. In 1900 he came to Bellingham and purchased the Bellingham Bay Iron Works, erected by the firm of Allen & Ruter in 1889. He has since conducted the plant, which contains a well equipped foundry, and the machine shop ranks with the best in this section of the state. Mr. Burns is an expert mechanic and closely supervises every detail of the business, never allowing an inferior article to leave his plant, which is maintained at a high standard of efficiency. He owns the frontage of half of the block on Railroad avenue and on this property has erected two modern buildings, in front of which a private railroad track has been laid. One of the buildings is used as a warehouse and the other is rented to Swift & Company, which Mr. Burns induced to locate here, a box car having afforded them temporary quarters for the business. The intervening space of eighty-two and a half feet is occupied by the old machine shop, and the original floor is still in use, being apparently in perfect condition. The shop is noted throughout Washington, and for more than a quarter of a century Mr. Burns has received the greater part of the local business in the lines in which he specializes.
In 1911 Mr. Burns was united in marriage to Mrs. Alma Vail, also a Canadian, and their beautiful home has been the scene of many enjoyable social gatherings. Mr. Burns is a republican but has never aspired to public office, preferring to discharge the duties of citizenship in a private capacity, and in this connection he has done much for Bellingham. He has stimulated its development along commercial lines and as one of the city's self-made men is well deserving of the respect accorded him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 382-385.
ALBERT N. BUSSING
A. N. Bussing, general agent at Bellingham for the Northern Pacific Railroad, is one of the old and trusted employes of that corporation and is widely and favorably known in transportation circles of the west. He was born March 18, 1870, in Mitchell, Indiana, and during his childhood his parents, John H. and Leila (Mockbee) Bussing, went to Springfield, Illinois. He attended the public schools of that city and began his business career with the Ohio & Mississippi Railroad, of which he became an agent and telegrapher. In 1890 at Tacoma, Washington, he entered the employ of the Northern Pacific Railroad and for thirty-six years has been identified with the company, acquiring a comprehensive knowledge of the complex details of transportation affairs. He was agent for the road in various parts of the northwest and in 1900 was sent to Bellingham as cashier. The line was extended to the city in 1902 and in 1904 Mr. Bussing was promoted to his present position - a merited reward of long and faithful service. He is one of the company's most capable men and his record is a highly creditable one.
On December 24, 1895, at Buckley, Washington, Mr. Bussing married Miss Elizabeth Kettring, a native of wisconsin, and three children were born to them, namely: Grace, who is the wife of F. A. Sherrer, of Canton, Ohio; John A., who is engaged in the practice of dentistry at Los Angeles, California, and James W., who is attending the State Normal School in Bellingham. Mr. Bussing is a thirty-second degree Mason and Shriner and is also identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He belongs to the Kiwanis Club and is a republican in his political views. His life has been one of quiet devotion to duty, and he is accorded the respect which the world ever yields to the self-made man.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 734.
ALEXANDER RUSSEL CAMPBELL
Alexander Russel Campbell, dean of civil engineers in this section of the state of Washington, has been a resident of Whatcom county for almost forty years and has been a witness to and a helpful participant in the development of this region. As county engineer during the time the "lines" were being definitely and permanently established here and as city civil engineer back in the days before New Whatcom and Fairhaven had settled their rivalry by becoming consolidated as Bellingham he did a useful work in the definite establishment of the city and his name ever will be connected with the history of the rise and progress of this community. In his private capacity as an engineer Mr. Campbell has specialized in the engineering features of the fisheries and has for many years been recognized as one of the leaders in his profession on the coast.
A native of Canada, he was born in the province of Nova Scotia in 1851, was reared amid a favorable social environment, given a college education and became a competent civil engineer, a profession he ever has followed. In 1876, when twenty-five years of age, he came to the Pacific coast. In 1883, he located in Seattle and began to take a hand in the engineering problems which confronted the people there in those days of feverish development. In 1888, when growing settlement along the bay in connection with the development of the lumber and fishing industries began to present engineering difficulties which required expert attention, he came here, arriving on September 1, and opened an office. His services immediately were in demand and it was not long until he was well established here, presently was called into public service and as county engineer and city civil service engineer rendered permanent and valuable aid.
In 1886, at River John, Nova Scotia, Mr. Campbell was united in marriage to Miss Catherine A. Sutherland, also a native of Canada, and they have a pleasant home in Bellingham. Mr. and Mrs. Campbell are members of the Presbyterian church and are republicans. Mr. Campbell is a member of the Bellingham Kiwanis Club, whose motto is "We Build," and has ever been a helpful promoter of the interests of his home town.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 410-411.
One of the successful farmers and highly respected citizens of Ferndale township is Robert Clarkson, who has worked hard for the competency which he now enjoys, and knows how to appreciate the true dignity of labor and to place a correct estimate on the value of money. Although born under a foreign flag, he is absolutely loyal to all of our national institutions and Whatcom county has been honored in his citizenship. Mr. Clarkson was born near Montreal, Quebec, Canada, on the 30th of May, 1864, and is a son of Joseph and Jane (Fulton) Clarkson, the father a native of Quebec and the mother of the north of Ireland. Joseph Clarkson was a prominent and extensive lumberman in Quebec, owning his own sawmills, and remained in that business until 1892, when he came to Washington to live, remaining here until his death, which occurred at Ferndale, January 2, 1900. His wife passed away December 17th of that same year. To this worthy couple were born seven children: Mrs. Maggie Hamilton, who lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, and is the mother of five children; John, deceased; Mrs. Annie Morrison, who lives at San Diego, California, and has a son; Joseph, deceased, who was married and the father of five children; Robert; Mrs. Agnes English, who lives in Montreal, Canada, and is the mother of two children; James, who owns and operates a sawmill in Okanogan, Washington, and is married and has a son.
Robert Clarkson was educated in the public schools of Canada and then worked at home for several years, after which he served as camp boss for seven years for one man in the lumber woods of Canada. On March 17, 1896, he came to Whatcom county, Washington, locating at Ferndale, and a few years later he and his brother Joseph established a shingle mill on Barrett lake, which they operated with success for about ten years. Owing to the fact that timber was too far away to haul with profit, they discontinued that business, and in 1903 Robert Clarkson bought seven and three quarter acres of land, about one and a half miles east of Ferndale, and entered upon the task of clearing it of the brush and stumps which encumbered it. In 1918 he bought fifty-three acres adjoining his first purchase but later sold that tract. He has bought and sold several ranches in this county, generally buying the unimproved land, and then clearing it and selling it at a good profit. He is also the owner of a fine, well-improved ranch of thirty acres near Lynden. In 1907 Mr. Clarkson built a fine, modern, eight-room house on his farm, conveniently arranged and equipped with electricity. He also has an electrically-driven pumping plant for irrigation purposes. In 1910 he built a commodious and well-arranged barn and in every way has maintained his place at a high state of improvement. He is now retired from active business and is living in comfortable retirement in his cozy home.
On July 15, 1895, Mr. Clarkson was married to Miss Ellen Taylor, who was born in Quebec, Canada, the daughter of Henry and Mary Ann (Allen) Taylor. Her parents were both also natives of Canada, where her mother is still living, her father having passed away July 28, 1887. He was a successful farmer and a man of eminent standing in his community. To him and his first wife was born a son, John, while to his union with Mary Ann Allen were born seven children, William, deceased, Robert, Ellen, William Henry, Mrs. Elizabeth Bottomley, Mrs. Alicia Quinn and Richard. The last-named enlisted from Montreal in the Thirteenth Battalion of Royal Highlanders of Canada, Became a sergeant, and was killed in action in France, May 23, 1915. In every essential manner Mr. Clarkson has measured up to the true status of good citizenship and no man in his entire locality stands higher in the confidence and esteem of the people that he.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 611-612.
WILLIAM T. CORCORAN
Among the best and most favorably known families of Lummi island is that of Corcoran, a creditable representative of which William T. Corcoran, who was born in the state of Illinois in 1861 and is a son of John and Marcia (Stapleton) Corcoran, the former of whom was a native of Ireland and a farmer by vocation, while the latter was a native of Illinois and a member of an old pioneer family of that state. William T. Corcoran received his education in the public schools of Illinois and Kansas, the family moving to the latter state when he was eight years old. He remained on his father's farm there until the age of twenty-two years, when he went to Iowa. He was engaged in farming there for about two years, when he returned to Kansas and for four years farmed in that state. He then went to Nebraska, and taking up a preemption claim operated it for three or four years, at the end of which time he went to southeastern Kansas and was employed in the coal mines for about three years. He then returned to his home neighborhood in Kansas, where he was employed in construction work on the Rock Island railroad, remaining there until 1898, when he came to Whatcom county, staying at Fairhaven for a few months and then coming to Lummi island.
For several years Mr. Corcoran was engaged in fishing and in the woods, and in 1902 he bought the land on which he now lives, and which at that time was covered with logs, stumps and brush. He applied himself to the task of clearing the tract and getting it into cultivation and now has about twenty acres cleared. He carries on general farming, raising all the crops common to this locality, and also keeps cows, sheep and hogs, while he has likewise been successfully engaged in the chicken business, keeping a nice run of laying hens. He has always taken an active part in local public affairs, having been a member of the first township board of supervisors, and serving two term in that position. He has also served several terms on the school board, and during the early years here he did a good deal of free work on the roads.
In 1890 Mr. Corcoran was married to Elizabeth Chappell, who was born in England, a daughter of J. G. and Maria (Denton) Chappell, who brought their family to the United States when the daughter was about five years old. To Mr. and Mrs. Corcoran were born eleven children, namely: Alfa, who is the wife of Frank Leelye, of Lummi island, and the mother of six children; Mrs. Lora Sturn, of Lynden, who is the mother of three children; William A., who lives on the home farm, is married and has one child; Hattie, who is the wife of Moses Tuttle, of Lummi island, and the mother of four children; John D. Jr., the next of the family; Annie, who is the wife of George Brown, of Bellingham, and has one child; Margaret, who is the wife of L. Epler, of Portland, Oregon, and has one child; Dennis, who died at the age of two years; and Cliff, Helen and Catherine, who are at home. Mr. Corcoran is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association and of the Grange. He has a wide reputation as a reliable and trustworthy man. Genial, friendly and accommodating he enjoys a wide acquaintance and has a host of warm and loyal friends, who hold him in high esteem.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 732-733.
CHARLES J. CURTAIN
A well equipped machine shop is the property of Charles J. Curtin, a man of ability, enterprise and determination and for more than twenty years a well known figure in business circles of the city. He was born August 6, 1875, and is a native of South Bend, Indiana. In 1890 he came to the state of Washington with his parents, Jerry and Lottie Curtin, who established their home in Olympia. About 1908 they moved to Whatcom county, in which the father spent the remainder of his life, devoting his energies to the cultivation of the soil. After his death the mother went to Oregon and is now residing in Bend.
Charles J. Curtin attended the public schools of Indiana, and he was fifteen years of age when the family made the journey to the Pacific coast. He learned the blacksmith's trade, which he followed in Olympia, and in 1905 come to Bellingham, opening a shop on Elk street. He later conducted business on Chestnut street, afterward returning to Elk street, and in 1921 moved to his present location at No. 210 Prospect street. He is the proprietor of the Automobile Spring Shop and an expert mechanic as well as an astute business man. He is one of the best known blacksmiths in the city and his services are in constant demand. He draws his trade from a wide area, and many who patronized his shop when he first located in the city are still numbered among his customers, for his work has always given the highest satisfaction.
In 1899 Mr. Curtin was united in marriage to Miss Martha Springman, of Olympia, and two children were born to them, namely: Florence, who is the wife of Charles Plumb, of Bellingham; and Charles L., who resides with his parents. Mr. Curtin votes the republican ticket but has never entered politics. He is active in fraternal affairs, however, and is connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the United American Mechanics, the Eagles and the Woodmen of the World. He is also a Scottish Rite Mason and has taken the fourteenth degree in that order. His life has been one of unceasing application and all that he now possess has been earned by honest labor. Each day's tasks have been performed with thoroughness and fidelity, and the citizens of Bellingham speak of Mr. Curtin in terms of high regard, estimating him at his true worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 701.
JOHN H. DOLAN
Business enterprise in Bellingham finds a worthy representative in John H. Dolan, the owner of a first class cafe and one of the city's self-made men. A son of James and Marie Dolan, he was born January 7, 1893, and is a native of Ludington, Michigan. His father died in that state and in 1902 the mother came to Fairhaven, now known as Bellingham. The subject of this sketch was then a boy of nine, and his education was acquired in the local schools. His first commercial venture was in the meat business, with which he was connected for four years, and in 1913 he opened a restaurant in the city. Later he engaged in this business in other parts of Washington, also going to California, and in 1920 returned to Bellingham. He has since been the proprietor of Dolan's Cafe, which is situated at No. 1207 Cornwall avenue and which seats sixty-five persons. He is skilled in the culinary art, and the fine dinners for which the restaurant is noted are prepared by his own hands. He is also an astute business man and through good management and high class service is rapidly building up a large and desirable clientele.
On November 2, 1916, Mr. Dolan was united in marriage to Miss Esther Cole, of Centralia, Washington, and they have two sons: John H., Jr., and Jerome Walter. Mr. Doland is a Mason and has taken the Fifteenth degree in the Scottish Rite. He is also connected with the Fraternal Order of Eagles and the Benevolent Order of Elks. He is a tireless worker and a young man of progressive spirit and fine character, known to his many friends as "Jack."
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 411.
Dietrich Ebeling, one of Bellingham's veteran business men, very properly may be referred to as the "dean" of the retail meat dealers of the city, for he has been engaged in business longer than any other man now active in that line here. It was in 1892, more than ten years before Bellingham came into its present corporate name, that he began selling meat here and he has been a witness to and a participant in the changes that have been wrought in the commercial life of the city since he took up his residence here.
Mr. Ebeling is a native of Germany, born September 2, 1873. When sixteen years of age he came to this country, his objective being the city of Chicago. Upon his arrival there he came in touch with influences that directed his feet toward the coast country and in that year, 1889, he arrived in the Fairhaven settlement on the Bay. He retains a distinct recollection that at the time work was just beginning on the grading of Harris street. A lively lad, he found no difficulty in obtaining employment and for several years he worked in the hotel in Fairhaven. In 1892, when nineteen years of age, Mr. Ebeling became employed in one of the local meat shops and in 1895 he and his brother, William Ebeling, opened a meat shop of their own at 1109 Harris avenue. They were successful from the start and as the business expanded they extended their interests to include the proprietorship of two more meat shops, one in the Beck block and one on Twenty-first street. They carried on these three shops until 1903, when they sold out to Frey & Company and in 1904 Dietrich Ebeling became established in business at 1111 Harris avenue, and has since been quite successfully engaged in business there, his occupancy of this site now covering a period of more than twenty years and constituting him one of the real veterans in the commercial life of the city.
In 1901, in Bellingham, Mr. Ebeling was united in marriage to Miss Louise Richter, who was born in the village of Owen, on the Ohio river in Clark county, Indiana, and who, in 1900, came to Bellingham, where they have a pleasant home. They are republicans and have ever given proper attention to progressive movements of the community in which they so long have been established. Mr. Ebeling is a member of the Washington Club and of the Kulshan Club and is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 731-732.
ANDREW G. ERICKSON
For more than twenty-five years Andrew G. Erickson has resided on his well kept place in Mountain View township, and he is recognized as one of the pioneers of that section of Whatcom county, for when he settled on his first "forty" there in the Ferndale neighborhood in the closing year of the past century no established roads were laid out in that region and but little clearing had been done. He thus is one of the men who helped clear the land here and bring it under cultivation, having been active in the development of this region from its primeval state, and he is thoroughly acquainted with conditions prevailing in that section of the county, for he has watched the gradual building up of the locality.
Mr. Erickson is a native of Sweden but has been a resident of this country since the days of his young manhood. He was born November 3, 1865, and his parents were named Eric and Anna, the latter having been a daughter of Anders. Born and reared on a farm, A. G. Erickson attended the schools of his home community and grew up familiar with the ways of farming in his native land, also becoming an experienced timberman. In 1890 when in his twenty-fifth year, he came to America and proceeded out to Washington, locating at Bellingham in that same year. He became connected with the operations of the lumber mills there and was thus engaged until two or three years after his marriage in 1896, when he established himself on his present place in Mountain View township, where he has since made his home. The well built modern house in which Mr. Erickson and his family now live is partly made up of the original house erected there when he and his wife settled on the place in 1898 and which was included in the plans for rebuilding when his present up-to-date dwelling was erected. Upon settling there Mr. Erickson bought a tract of forty acres of uncleared land and began the arduous task of clearing and improving it. He later bought an adjoining "forty" and thus now has a well kept place of eighty acres, on which he is quite successfully carrying on general farming and dairying, and he also has a good orchard of prunes, cherries and apples. Mr. Erickson is a member of the Whatcom County Dairy Association. He has ever given a good citizen's attention to local civic affairs and served for some time as a member of the local school board.
In 1896, at Bellingham, Mr. Erickson was united in marriage to Miss Tilda Klingberg, who also was born in Sweden and who was about fifteen years of age when she came to this country with her parents, the family settling in South Dakota. She came to Bellingham in 1896, the year of her marriage. Mrs. Erickson died in December, 1911. She was the mother of three children, the first born of whom, Ellen May, died when seven years of age. The other two, Carl Harold and Bernice Elvera, remain with their father on the home farm and are helpful factors in the continued development and improvement of the place. The Ericksons reside on rural mail route No. 3 out of Ferndale and are very comfortably situated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 43-44.
WALTER A. GERMAIN
Thoroughly imbued with western enterprise and energy, W. A. Germain is directing his labors into constructive channels and is well known in business circles of Bellingham as the founder and head of the Northwestern Auto Electric Company. He was born in 1894 and is a native of Everson, Whatcom county. The father, W. T. Germain, was a native of Nova Scotia, Canada, and came to Washington in 1885, settling in Everson. His widow, Rose (Harkness) Germain, was born in Chehalis, Washington, and now resides in Bellingham.
W. A. Germain completed a course in the Whatcom high school and received his higher education in the University of Washington, from which he was graduated in 1917 with the degree of Electrical Engineer. He responded to the call to the colors, serving for six months in the United States army, and then went to Portland, Oregon, where he taught school for one term. On his return to Washington he located in Bellingham and in 1919 organized the Northwestern Auto Electric Company, of which he has since been the president. Robert Cousins acts as secretary and treasurer and Richard Hammond is also financially interested in the business. It was started on Elk street and in 1920 was moved to its present location at No. 1215 Commercial street. The company occupies the ground floor and basement of a building sixty-two by one hundred and fifteen feet in dimensions and has storage accommodations for thirty-six cars. This is one of the most complete electrical shops in the city and carries U. S. L. batteries, automobile lights, generators and other appliances. The firm employs an experienced bookkeeper and has three capable men in the shop. Mr. Germain has a thorough understanding of electrical science and this knowledge is supplemented by business acumen and executive force. Expert service is furnished to patrons of the shop, and since its inception the business has enjoyed a rapid growth.
In 1918 Mr. Germain married Miss Clara Cantwell, of Vader, Washington, and the children of this union are: W. A., Jr., and John Robert. Mr. Germain is a member of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and his political views are in accord with the principles of the republican party. He is an able exponent of his profession and is a "live wire" in the city with which he has allied his interests.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 699.
JOHN C. GILLIES
The office of biography is not to give voice to a man's modest estimate of himself and his accomplishments, but rather to leave upon record the verdict establishing his character by the consensus of opinion on the part of his neighbors and fellow citizens. In touching upon the life history of John C. Gillies the writer aims to avoid fulsome encomium and extravagant praise; yet he desires to hold up for consideration those facts which have shown the distinction of a true, honorable and useful life - a life characterized by perseverance, energy and well defined purpose. To do this will be but to reiterate the dictum pronounced upon him by the people who have known him long and well.
Mr. Gillies was born in Kent county, England, in February, 1868, and is a son of Peter and Annie (Milne) Gillies, the former of whom was born at Berwick-on-Tweed, Scotland, January 11, 1831, and the latter at Elgin, Scotland, in 1830. The father went to England in young manhood, and as a machinist, took charge of the mill construction for the Nash Machine Company, large manufacturers of paper mill machinery. In 1869 he emigrated to the United States, locating in Clay county, Kansas, where he homesteaded a tract of land, to the operation of which he devoted himself until 1881, when, in company with his son, Peter, he came to Whatcom county, Washington. The family took up three claims, amounting to four hundred and eighty acres, in the Sumas valley, one and a half miles north of Nooksack. The land was covered with a heavy growth of good timber and they erected a sawmill, and later a grist mill on Sumas creek, which was the first grist mill in Whatcom county. It was operated for several years, was later rebuilt on a larger scale and was run until 1910, when they sold it. The father died in 1897 and the mother in 1900. They were the parents of five children, namely: Mrs. Annie McGrath, who died in Bellingham, August 27, 1925, at the age of sixty-six years; Peter, who now lives in Seattle, Washington; George, of Sumas; William Milne, who was a successful merchant of Seattle for many years and died there February 26, 1918; and John C. of Seattle.
John C. Gillies received his educational training in the public schools of Kansas and Whatcom county. After completing his studies, he remained at home for a time and then went to New Westminster, British Columbia, where he worked for two years. Returning to Nooksack, he farmed in partnership with his brother George and engaged in the sawmill business, buying more land in order to insure a good supply of timber. He was successful in this enterprise but in 1898 turned his attention to the undertaking business, in which he has continued to the present time. He has gained a high reputation in this line because of those who require his services and his friendly and sympathetic disposition, qualities which are especially appreciated in his particular profession. In 1923 Mr. Gillies built a fine new mortuary in Sumas, complete in all its appointments and one of the most modern in Whatcom county. His brother George has remained identified with him in business affairs and, in addition to the undertaking business, they also own a large and well stocked hardware store in Sumas, as well as several hundred acres of land in the Sumas valley. For the past twenty years he has also carried on his undertaking work in British Columbia and in 1922 was honored with the presidency of the British Columbia Funeral Directors Association. After serving in that position for one year, he was elected secretary of the organization and filled that office two years.
In June, 1899, John C. Gillies was married to Miss Alice R. Bumstead, who was born in Kent county, England, a daughter of George T. and Cordelia (Hall) Bumstead, also natives of that country and now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Gillies have been born four children, namely: Mrs. Ethel B. Bristol, of Lynden; Mildred A., who is now teaching school in Glacier, this county; Clayton Oliver, who died October 20, 1907, at the age of three and a half years; and Wilma C., who is now a student in high school. The two eldest daughters are graduates of the State Normal School at Bellingham.
In Mr. Gillies' makeup are evidenced the sterling characteristics of his Scottish ancestry, and his career here has been such as to gain for him a place among the representative men of his county. He has at all times stood stanchly for all that is best in community life, supporting all measures for the advancement of the public welfare and giving generously to local benevolent and charitable organizations. He has not been an idle spectator of the great changes and wonderful development of his section of the county, but has been an active participant in the work of upbuilding this favored locality. He is a man of wide general information and holds decided views on the great questions of the day; has exerted a beneficent influence in his community and everything affecting the material, civic or moral status of the people receives his earnest consideration. Because of his business ability and success, his fine public spirit and his forceful personality, he has long enjoyed an enviable standing in the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens throughout this section of the county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 692-697.
JOSEPH H. GRIFFIN
Joseph H. Griffin, who was brought to Whatcom county by his parents when a little lad of four year, is a veteran of the World war and since his return from overseas has lived retired at Bellingham save for the supervision of his property interests. His birth occurred at Bismarck, North Dakota, in 1885, his parents being Mr. and Mrs. L. N. Griffin, the father a native of the state of New York, while the mother was born in Norway. It was in the year 1889 that L. N. Griffin came to Whatcom county, Washington, settling at Fairhaven (now Bellingham), where he engaged in the buying and selling of property. He also became a prominent factor in the public life of the community and for a number of terms served as mayor, his administration being characterized by many measures of advancement and reform. In his death, which occurred on the 29th of February, 1920. Bellingham sustained the loss of one of its valued and highly respected citizens. He is still survived by his widow, who is a devoted member of the Presbyterian church and is also well known and highly esteemed in Bellingham.
Joseph H. Griffin supplemented his grade school education by a course of study in the Fairhaven high school and after putting aside his textbooks spent about seven years in the logging camps. Subsequently he turned his attention to the automobile business, which claimed his time and energies until the United States became involved in the World war, when he enlisted in the Ninth Regiment of Marines. The years since his return to civil life have been spent in retirement except for the management of his property interests. He is a worthy exemplar of the teachings and purposes of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to the blue lodge, in which he has filled all of the chairs and to the chapter, the commandery and the Mystic Shrine. In Bellingham where he has resided from early life, the circle of his friends is almost coextensive with the circle of his acquaintances.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 918.
ANUGS and GEORGE HOFFMAN
Commercial activity in Acme has received marked stimulus from the members of the firm of Hoffman Brothers, general merchants and for more than twenty years influential factors in local business circles. The firm is composed of Angus and George Hoffman, natives of Ontario, Canada, and sons of Henry and Annie (McMillan) Hoffman. They were reared on their father's farm, and in 1898 Angus Hoffman came to Washington. He lived for a year in Snohomish and in 1899 went to the Klondike, spending four years in the mines of that country. He returned to Washington in 1903 and clerked for a year at Acme in a store owned by his uncle, Hugh McMillan. The year 1899 witnessed the arrival of George Hoffman in Snohomish, and for some time he conducted a restaurant at that place. In 1904 he came to Acme and joined his brother in purchasing the McMillan store, formerly owned by Al Brant, who acquired the business from Lawson Parker. The building was erected in 1901 by Mr. Parker, who established the second store in the town, and for a quarter of a century the business has been in continuous operation. The present owners are enterprising merchants and capable business men of high standing. Their stock includes groceries, dry goods and ready-to-wear garments and their patronage is drawn from a wide area. They have always maintained a high standard of service and their success is based upon strict observance of the Golden Rule.
In 1917 Angus Hoffman married Miss Mae L. Turkington, a native of Acme. she was born July 19, 1891, and her parents, William and Augusta Turkington, came to Whatcom county in the '80s, casting in their lot with its early settlers. The children of this union are: Wilma, Edgar and Jean, aged respectively seven, three and two years.
George Hoffman is a strong advocate of educational advancement and has served for three terms on the Acme school board, of which he is still a member. In 1907 he was married to Miss Minnie Frisk, who was born in Kansas in 1888. She is the daughters of K. J. and Christina Frisk, who was born in Kansas in 1888. She is a daughter of K. J. and Christina Frisk, natives of Sweden and pioneers in the settlement of Whatcom county. Mr. and Mrs. George Hoffman have become the parents of five children: Edwin, Harry, Mabel, Clara and Melvin James.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 776.
EARL F. HUBBARD
Earl F. Hubbard, a young man of exceptional ability and sagacity, is successfully managing the interests of the Bellingham Implement Company and worthily sustains the traditions of a family whose members for four successive generations have devoted their energies to his line of business. He was born May 12, 1895, in Medford, Oregon, and is a son of Fort and Theresa (McKee) Hubbard. The latter was also born in that state, to which her father, John McKee, journeyed from Missouri in 1852, enduring all of the hardships of frontier life. Fort Hubbard, Jr., was a native of Iowa and migrated to Oregon in 1882, establishing a farm implement business. He was a son of Fort Hubbard, Sr., who was one of Iowa's pioneer dealers in farm implements. His father was the New York agent for the John Deere implements in 1837, when this well known inventor made his first plows, which were produced in a blacksmith shop, and the Hubbard family enjoys the distinction of being the oldest in the United States to engage continuously in this business.
Earl F. Hubbard received his higher education in the Oregon Agricultural College and his business training was acquired under the expert guidance of his father. For eighteen months he was a member of the Oregon National Guard, enlisting the day after the United States declared war against Germany, but was not called upon for overseas service. In July, 1919, he entered the employ of the Walla Walla Implement Company of Washington and was later appointed manager of the business in that city. Since February, 1923, he has been manager of the Bellingham Implement Company, which was incorporated March 15, 1921, with Robert Lord as the first president. He was succeeded January 15, 1925, by Benjamin C. Keitor, and Edward Jones acts as treasurer, while Mr. Hubbard is filling the office of secretary in addition to his managerial duties. His detailed knowledge of the business is supplemented by mature judgment and executive ability of a high order, and he has succeeded in keeping the company not only in line with but also in the lead of it competitors. The business was first situated at No. 100 Grand avenue and on February 15, 1925, was moved to its new home at No. 1217 Railroad avenue. The building is fifty-five by one hundred and ten feet in dimensions and two stories in height. The firm handles the John Deere line of farm implements and has the exclusive agency for Whatcom county, Orcas island and Linit island. It also deals in seeds, harness and supplies for poultry raisers, dairymen and apiarists. The company carries the most complete stock in the county and its trade covers a wide area. Three salesmen are employed in the establishment, and the success of the house has been founded upon straightforward dealing and high ideals of service. The business means much to the farming community and is essential to the development of this district.
In 1914 Mr. Hubbard was married to Miss Marie Norman, a daughter of Wylie Norman, a well known poultryman of Medford, Oregon and to this union have been born three children: Marguerite, Wayne and Robert. Mr. Hubbard is a Royal Arch Mason and is also identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He belongs to the Rotary Club and his political allegiance is give to the republican party. Although still a young man, he has advanced far on the highroad which leads to success, and a large circle of loyal friends attests his personal popularity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 697-698.
EDMOND T. HUMES
Edmond T. Humes, a veteran of the World war, is now engaged in the drug business and is rapidly coming to the front in mercantile circles of Ferndale. He was born August 25, 1891, in Seattle, Washington, and his parents, Thomas J. and Alma E. (Roberts) Humes, were natives of Indiana. The father was a talented lawyer and in 1882 established his home in Seattle. His legal acumen and well known probity led to his elevation to the bench and for eight years he was judge of the superior court of Seattle. He dispensed justice with an even hand, proving a natural arbiter of human differences, and also made a fine record as mayor of the city, an office with he filled for eight years. While a resident of Alaska he was made district judge, and his demise occurred in the country in 1904. He was a distinguished representative of his profession. The mother long survived him, passing away in 1921.
Edmond T. Humes attended the public schools of Seattle and in 1907 took up the study of pharmacy. He was employed in various drug stores, and in June, 1917, he entered the service of his country, joining the Eighteenth Engineers. He went overseas with the American Expeditionary Force and was made sergeant of his company. He remained abroad for two years and was wounded while at the front. He spent five months in a hospital and in June, 1919, received his honorable discharge. Returning to his home, he obtained a position as a drug clerk and later continued his pharmaceutical studies. graduating from the University of Washington in March, 1924. Hen then came to Ferndale and on September 22, 1924, opened a drug store in partnership with Earnest D. Whitby. The firm handles the Lilly, Squibbs and Mulford remedies, carrying a large stock of drugs of the best grade, and makes a specialty of prescription work, exercising the utmost care in serving patrons. The partners are young men of scientific knowledge and practical experience in the drug trade, and the business is making rapid strides as a result of their combined efforts.
On November 20, 1920, Mr. Humes married Miss Elizabeth Marks, of Seattle, a daughter of J. L. and Alice Marks, and to this union has been born one child, Betty Mae. Mr. Humes is a republican in his political views but has never aspired to public office, preferring to discharge the duties of citizenship in a private capacity. He belongs to the American Legion and the Disabled Veterans Association and along fraternal lines is identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He has never been afraid of hard work, knowing that industry and perseverance constitute the basis of success in all lines of endeavor, and he possesses many exemplary traits of character, as his fellow citizens attest.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 733-734.
FRANK A. JENNINGS
Frank A. Jennings, known throughout Baker township as a broadminded man of marked public spirit, is prominently identified with dairying, one of the greatest wealth producing industries of western Washington, and from an early age he has depended upon his own resources for a livelihood. He was born April 19, 1865, in Chenango county, New York, and his parents, Simeon and Cynthia (Gibson) Jennings, both passed away in the Empire state.
Frank A. Jennings was reared on his father's farm and attended the public schools. When a youth of fifteen he became a wage earner and in 1883 went to Michigan, obtaining employment in the lumber woods. In 1885 he left the wolverine state and next spent two years in Illinois. In 1887 he started for the Pacific coast, with Oregon as his destination, and in the fall of 1889 came to Washington. He entered a homestead one-half mile east of the present site of Van Zandt and established his home in the midst of a wilderness. There were no roads and the forests were filled with game of various kinds. Through strenuous effort he succeeded in clearing the land and prepared the soil for the sowing of seed. He eventually developed a productive farm, which he sold to advantage in 1905, and purchased his present ranch of one hundred and twenty-seven acres, situated a mile south of Van Zandt, in a very desirable location. He has thirty-five acres under cultivation and the balance is in timber and pasture. He has a fine dairy and also raises poultry for the market. His work is performed with thoroughness and system and he receives good returns from his labors.
In December, 1891, Mr. Jennings married Miss Clara Schnorbuss, a daughter of frank Schnorbuss, now deceased, who took up a homestead in the Nooksack valley about 1885 and was one of the earliest settlers in the district. To Mr. and Mrs. Jennings were born three children: Henry, who resides with his parents; Ida, who is the wife of John Thomas, a well known ranchman of this locality, and has three children; and Irving, at home. Mr. Jennings belongs to the Whatcom County Association of Poultry Raisers and also to the Association of Dairymen. He is allied with the republican party and is always found in the vanguard of every movement for public betterment. He takes a deep interest in educational matters and served for eighteen years on the school board. He is chairman of the board of supervisors of Baker township and has acted in this capacity since the time the township was formed. He has displayed rare qualities as a public servant and his life presents an excellent illustration of what constitutes good citizenship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 411-412.
CHARLES A. JOHNSON
The valuable forests of Washington have brought to the state many men of ability and enterprise, and among those who have achieved success in the lumber industry of the northwest is numbered Charles A. Johnson, a well known sawmill operator of Deming township. He was born March 8, 1883, and is a native of Wisconsin. He parents, Charles P. and Anna Beatrice (Christian) Johnson, migrated to Minnesota in 1889 and in 1910 came to Washington. The father settled on a ranch near Vancouver and there spent the remainder of his life. His demise occurred in 1914, and the mother is now living in Aberdeen, Washington.
Charles A. Johnson was a boy of six when the family went to Minnesota, and his education was acquired in the public schools of that state. In 1905 he obtained work in the mills at Grays Harbor, Washington, and was thus engaged until 1911. He next became a traveling salesman, representing the Alaska Lumber Company for some time, and then went to Canada, spending two years in Vancouver. He was engaged in the logging business in the Fraser valley of British Columbia for eight years and in the spring of 1924 returned to Washington, purchasing a mill and logging outfit in Deming township. He has been very successful in his undertakings and is now the owner of two mills, employing about twenty men. His detailed knowledge of the industry is supplemented by executive power, and in the operation of the business he has secured maximum efficiency with a minimum expenditure of time, labor and material.
In 1909 Mr. Johnson was united in marriage to Miss Louise Maude O'Connell, of Minnesota, and they have three children: Marjorie Ann, Richard and Burnell. Mr. Johnson is a Scottish Rite Mason and is also connected with the Eastern Star and the Modern Woodmen of America. He is liberal in his political views and uses good judgment in voting, supporting the candidate whom he considers best qualified for office. He has never been afraid of hard work and owes his rise in the business world to concentrated effort, coupled with the ability to meet and master situations. He resides in Sumas and is highly esteemed by his business associates and those with whom he has been brought in contact in other relations of life.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 690.
Throughout an active and interesting career duty has ever been the motive of action with Ed Kenoyer, one of the early settlers and well known farmers of Ten Mile township, and usefulness to his community has by no means been a secondary consideration with him. Thus strong and forceful in his relations with his fellowmen, he has gained the good will and commendation of his associates and the general public, retaining a reputation for integrity and high character.
Mr. Kenoyer is a native of Indiana, born in 1869, and is a son of John and Emmeline (West) Kenoyer, who were pioneer settlers of the Hoosier state. The family came to Washington in March, 1884, and located in Ten Mile township, Whatcom county, having come by boat from Portland to Seattle, and then to Bellingham. The subjects uncle, Henry Kenoyer, had preceded them to Ten Mile township and here, in section 15, the father homesteaded a tract of land. The subject and his father walked out to the place from Bellingham, Mr. Nolte hauling their goods over the old Telegraph road. The original timber stood on the land, and, as they found it impossible to sell the timber and shingle bolts, they were compelled to burn them. They built a small log cabin, in which the family lived during their first years here. In that same year the subject's father and uncle bought a small sawmill, the first in the township, and set it up, and thereafter they were able to utilize much of the best of the timber. Wild game was plentiful, as were native pheasants, so that their table did not lack for fresh meat, while fishing also was good. After running the mill until 1890, John Kenoyer sold his interest therein to his brother and devoted his attention solely to the improvement and development of the farm, which he sold after getting a portion of it cleared. Thereafter he followed the sawmill business during the greater part of his remaining days, his death occurring in 1919.
Ed Kenoyer attended the public schools in Indiana and completed his studies in the Ten Mile school. He remained with his father until about 1905, when he located on his present farm, about forty acres of which he has cleared and in cultivation. He is devoting his attention mainly to dairy and poultry farming, in both of which lines he has met with excellent success, being now numbered among the prosperous farmers of his locality. He keeps thoroughbred Ayrshire cattle and his fertile fields produce an abundance of hay and grain. He is progressive and up-to-date in his methods and does well whatever he undertakes, so that he has gained a fine reputation among his fellow agriculturists.
In April, 1900, Mr. Kenoyer was married to Miss Minnie Bentley, who was born in Kansas, a daughter of David and Edith (Boyer) Bentley, both of whom were natives of Illinois, and the former of whom died in Kansas in 1880. After his death, his widow became the wife of John F. Shettler, who brought his family to Whatcom county in 1882, and they now live on the northwest road. They came by way of Bellingham, from which place they hired an Indian to paddle them up the Nooksack river to Ferndale. After a few months there, they came to Ten Mile township, at what was called Yeager, where Mr. Shettler took up a homestead. With Mrs. Kenoyer came two brothers: Nathan, who now lives in Bellingham; and Charles of Ten Mile township. To Mr. and Mrs. Kenoyer have been born two children: Hazel, who is attending the State Normal School at Bellingham; and Duayne, who is in high school. Mr. Kenoyer has taken an active interest in local public affairs and has served for four years as a member of the township board. Fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He is the record of a well balanced mental and moral constitution, strongly influenced by those traits of character which are ever of special value in a progressive state of society. He takes an active part in all efforts to advance the farmers' interests, being a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association, and throughout the community he commands confidence and respect.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 277-278.
LOUIS W. KING
Among the well known ranchers of Mountain View township is numbered Louis W. King, a scientific agriculturist and a young man of progressive ideas. He was born in Pomona, Kansas, in 1898, and is a son of William N. and Almetta (Warman) King. The father arrived in Bellingham, Washington, in 1908 and a year later became the owner of a forty acre tract in Mountain View township. Through patience and industry he accomplished the arduous task of clearing the place and preparing the soil for the production of crops. He resided on the property until 1919, when he purchased four acres of land in the vicinity of Ferndale and is now devoting he attention to the raising of poultry. The mother passed away in 1904, while the family was living in Kansas.
Louis W. King was ten years of age when his father came to Whatcom county, and his early education was acquired in the public schools of Mountain View township. He remained at home until 1918, aiding in the work of plowing, planting and harvesting, and then enlisted in the United States navy, serving for three months during the World war. He afterward entered the Washington State College of Agriculture and was graduated with the class of 1923. He is now renting his father's ranch and brings to its operation an intelligent, open and liberal mind and a comprehensive grasp of everything relating to the occupation of farming. His work is carefully planned and systematically conducted. He keeps a fine herd of Guernsey cattle for dairy purposes and is rapidly coming to the fore in his chosen line of activity.
In 1921 Mr. King married Miss Retah Schell, a native of Idaho, in which state her parents, Charles and Emma (Burnett) Schell, were married. The latter was a native of Wyoming and the father was born in Pennsylvania. The Burnett family were among the early settlers of Wyoming and later migrated to Idaho. Mr. and Mrs. Schell journeyed from Idaho to Washington, locating first in Everett, and then came to Whatcom county. In association with his father Mr. Schell purchased a tract of forty acres in Mountain View township and his father Mr. Schell purchased a tract of forty acres in Mountain View township and brought the land to a high state of development, subsequently selling the property. To Mr. and Mrs. King has been born a son, Louis W., Jr. Mr. King is not allied with any political faction and votes according to the dictates of his judgment, supporting the candidate whom he deems best qualified for office. He belongs to the American Legion and is also a member of the Grange and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, as well as of Alpha Gamma Rho, a college fraternity. A young man of enterprise and ability, he keeps in close touch with all new developments along agricultural lines, and concentrated effort is carrying him steadily toward the goal of success.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 917-918.
There is no better or more law-abiding class of foreign-born citizens in the United States that are those who came from Holland and have created comfortable home and productive farms here and Whatcom county has been particularly fortunate in the characters and careers of those who have located here. Among this number is John Kranendonk, of Lynden township, a man who, beginning at the bottom of the ladder, has steadily climbed without other assistance than that of his own strong arms and his will and determination to succeed and is today numbered among the representative men of his locality. Mr. Kranendonk was born in Holland on the 9th of December, 1865, and is a son of John and Jaapje (Van Besoojen) Kranendonk, both of whom died before our subject left his native land. The father followed truck gardening and also handled flax extensively. They would buy the growing fields, harvest it when ready, take the product home and cure and prepare it for market, and then send it to Rotterdam and England.
The junior John Kranendonk attended the public schools of his home neighborhood and at the age of twenty years entered the national army, where he served about one and a half years. He then remained with his father until the latter's death, and in 1900 he emigrated to the United States. He first located in Minnesota, where he remained about nine months, and then, at the solicitation of his brother, Arie, who was in Bellingham, he came to Whatcom county, arriving in November, 1900. He spent the winter in Lynden and then, with his brother, bought forty acres of land just south of the river. They lived there about five years, slashing the entire tract, and our subject then bought another forty acre tract, which he also slashed, living there for five years. In 1910 John Kranendonk returned to Holland on a visit to his sister, remaining there two years, during which time he was married. In 1912 he again came to this country and located near Galveston, Texas, where an attempt was being made to establish a Holland colony. However, Mr. Kranendonk decided that it was too warm there for permanent residence, and in September of that same year he came again to his Lynden place, on which he did not locate, however, but bought another place of twenty acres. He has this place entirely cleared and a fine set of farm buildings erected, these and other improvements making it one of the most comfortable homes in the locality. Here he gives the major portion of his attention to dairy farming, keeping eight good grade milk cows. He separates his milk, selling the cream and feeding the skim milk to his hogs, of which he has a nice herd. He also keeps about two hundred laying hens, and from both of these sources he derives a nice income. He raises his own hay and roughage but buys the necessary grain.
While in Holland, in 1912, Mr. Kranendonk was married to Miss Elizabeth Van Prooyen, a native of that country and a daughter of Abraham and Adrian (Visser) Van Prooyen, farming folk and both of whom are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Kranendonk have been born three children: Adriana, Jaapje Anna and Johanna, all of whom are in school. Mr. Kranendonk is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. His wife is an active member of the Reformed church. Mr. Kranendonk has earnestly striven, ever since coming to this country, to reach the highest ideals of upright citizenship, and the consensus of opinion among his fellow citizens is that no man excels him in that respect, for he has actively supported and advocated every measure for the advancement or betterment of the community along all lines, while his private life has been such as to gain for him the confidence and respect of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 735-736.
IVAR B. MOEN
The United States has no better citizens than those contributed by the Scandinavian countries, and of this type is Ivar B. Moen, a self-made man, who is classed with the leading merchants of Lawrence. A native of Norway, he was born September 2, 1883, and remained in that country until he reached the age of seventeen years. Responding to the call of adventure, he came to the United States in 1900 and allied his interests with those of the west, spending eight years in Northland Minnesota. In 1908 he came to the state of Washington and at Lawrence was employed for some time as a clerk, later working at Sumas and at Bellingham in a similar capacity. On January 1, 1925, Mr. Moen decided upon an independent venture and in partnership with Henry C. Halverson purchased from the Mundel estate a general store at Lawrence. They are dealers in groceries, dry goods, boots and shoes, flour and feed and enjoy a large trade. Their merchandise is always as represented and the prices are reasonable. The partners are men of high standing, well informed regarding commercial affairs, and under the capable guidance the future of the business is assured.
The Lawrence post office is conducted in the store and Mr. Moen is filling the office of postmaster. He is liberal in his political views, voting for the best man, irrespective of party, and conforms his conduct to the teachings of the Lutheran church. Earnest, energetic and purposeful, he has steadily advanced toward the goal of his ambition and is well satisfied with his choice of a location, loyally supporting every measure for the general good.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 610.
JAMES L. MONAHAN
James L. Monahan, a dealer in automobile supplies, has spent much of his life in Bellingham, and a well conducted, rapidly growing business testified to his enterprising spirit and executive capacity. He was born May 13, 1893, in the state of Texas, and his parents, James A. and Emma (Marsh) Monahan, were natives of Ireland. They were among the early settlers of the Lone Star state, and the father was engaged in railroad work for several years. In 1896 he brought his family to Montana and for nine years operated a ranch in that state. In 1905 he came to northwestern Washington and is now conducting an employment office in Bellingham.
James L. Monahan attended the public schools of Montana and aided his father in the cultivation of the home farm. He afterward worked in the lumber woods of Washington and as he became more experienced acted as a log scaler, subsequently becoming a steam engineer in logging camps. He was connected with the lumber industry until 1920, when he returned to Bellingham and accepted a position in the establishment of a Buick dealer, with whom he remained for four years. On July 1, 1924, Mr. Monahan perfected his plans for an independent venture and leased the ground floor and basement of a building on the corner of Elk and Chestnut streets. Here he opened a fine garage and repair shop, fifty-five by one hundred and five feet in dimensions, and in a brief period has established a profitable business, employing about seven experienced men. He handles hard rubber tires and other automobile accessories, and his repair shop is equipped with every appliance necessary for first class service. He is courteous, obliging and trustworthy and has secured a large percentage of the tourist trade.
In 1916 Mr. Monahan married Miss Ada Carpenter, a daughter of Fred and Ada Carpenter, pioneers of Everett, Washington, and to this union has been born one child, Margaret Ada. Mrs. Monahan lived for a time in Montana and her marriage occurred in Shelby Junction, that state. Mr. Monahan follows an independent course in politics, casting his ballot for the candidate whom he considers best qualified to conserve the public weal, and along fraternal lines he is connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He brings to his daily tasks the energy and enthusiasm of youth and is endowed with every quality essential to success in business life.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 702.
NELS P. NELSON
N. P. Nelson, an influential member of the Scandinavian colony of Acme township, has won success as an agriculturist and also figures prominently in public affairs. He was born April 5, 1864, and is a native of Denmark. He severed home ties when a young man of twenty-four, arriving in this country December 9, 1888, and spent a few months in Wisconsin. He went from that state to Minnesota, in which he lived for one and a half years, and in the autumn of 1889 came to Washington, first locating in Seattle. In 1891 he entered a homestead in the vicinity of Mosquiteo lake but did not prove up on his claim. He purchased a thirty acre tract in Acme township, which he afterward sold, and in 1909 bought his present ranch of thirty-five acres. He has built a modern home and made other improvements on his place, which is constantly increasing in value. He has seventeen acres under cultivation and a considerable portion of the land is used for pasture. He operates a well equipped dairy, keeping a fine herd of high grade Jersey and Guernsey cattle for this purpose, and also raises poultry. His products bring a good price on the market. He likewise acts as bookkeeper for the Bellpak Lumber & Timber Company of Van Zandt, a position which he has filled since the organization of the business in 1919.
In 1890 Mr. Nelson married Miss Carolina Christianson, who was born in Denmark and came to the United States during her girlhood. To this union were born seven children: William R., who went to France with the American Expeditionary Force and sacrificed his life for his country; Arthur G., who is manager of the Bellingham flour mill of Albers Brothers and ha a wife and two children; Victor, who is a shingle sawyer at Everett, Washington, and has a wife and child; Walter, who operates the homestead; Naomi, who resides with her parents; Alice, the wife of Frank Eckley, of Seattle, and the mother of one child; and Oliver Wendell, who was graduated from the State Normal School at Bellingham and is engaged in teaching at Grandview, Washington.
Mr. Nelson is nonpartisan in his political views and casts his ballot for those men and measures that he deems will best conserve the public weal. He has been township clerk from the time of the organization of Acme township, making a fine record in the office, and served for many years on the school board, of which his wife is now a member. He belongs to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and along fraternal lines is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Nelson is a broadminded man of high principles and a progressive, public-spirited citizen who would be a valuable acquisition to any community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 701-702.
ROELOF "RALPH" B. NYMEYER
The qualities which have made R. B. Nymeyer one of the prominent successful residents of Delta township have also brought him the esteem of his fellowmen, for his career has been one of well directed energy, strong determination and honorable methods. It would be hard to find in this section of the county a more progressive and industrious agriculturist and dairyman than he, and his record has been such as to gain for him the unstinted praise and commendation of all who know him. Mr. Nymeyer was born in Holland, on the 10th day of April, 1866, and is a son of Berend and Anna Maria Nymeyer, also natives of the Netherlands. In 1885 the family came to the United States, locating at Hull, Sioux county, Iowa, where the father rented land, on which he successfully carried on farming operations until 1898, when he retired to a comfortable home which he had bought in Hull, and there spent his remaining years, dying in May, 1908. His wife preceded him in death a number of years, having passed away in 1891. They were the parents of six children, five of whom are now living.
R. B. Nymeyer secured his education in the public schools of his native land and in 1884, at the age of eighteen years, came to the United States, settling in Iowa. He learned the carpenter trade, in which he became an expert, and followed that occupation for sixteen years. In 1900 he came to Lynden, Whatcom county, near which place he bought twenty acres of land, partly cleared, and at once proceeded to clear the remainder and get it under cultivation. He built a house on the place and lived there four years when, in 1905, he traded that property for forty acres of land in Delta township, four miles northwest of Lynden. This was burned-over land, covered with fallen cedar timber, and this he at once proceeded to clear up and burn. He was successful in the operation of this place and in 1908 bought forty acres across the road in Lynden township, which he has also cleared, being now the owner of eighty acres of splendid and well improved land, in the operation of which he is meeting with pronounced success, being a man of industrious habits and good judgment. His main crops are hay and grain, for which the land is particularly well adapted, and he also keeps twenty good grade Holstein cows and about two hundred laying hens. In 1907 Mr. Nymeyer built a good barn and remodeled the home, while everything about the place indicates the owner to be a man of ability and discrimination. He is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Religiously, he and his family are members of the First Christian Reformed church at Lynden, to which he gives generous support. He was for twelve years president of the Christian (Ebenezer) school and has always been deeply interested in education and an earnest advocate of good roads.
On August 5, 1893, Mr. Nymeyer was married to Miss Jane Heeringa, daughter of Peter and Sarah (Siebesma) Herringa, who were born and reared in Holland, where the father died in 1880. His widow is now living in Lynden, at the age of eighty-four years. To Mr. and Mrs. Nymeyer have been born eight children, namely: Ben, born May 27, 1894, is married and has four children, Marie, Ralph, John and Jeannette; Peter, born July 22, 1896, died November 7, 1907; Martin, born September 27, 1898, is married and has four children, Irene, Jeanette, Clarice and Ruth A.; Mrs. Sadie Brink, born December 16, 1900, is the mother of two sons, Arend and Ralph; Marinus, born March 1, 1903, Anna Marie, born August 11, 1905, Ralph, September 19, 1907, and Pieternella, April 3, 1910, are the younger members of the family. Marinus and Ralph operate the home farm for their father and are ably assisted by their sisters, Anna Marie and Pieternella. In every relation of life Mr. Nymeyer has been true to the highest principles of honor, has been an earnest advocate of the best things in community life and his influence has ever been exerted on the right side of every moral issue. He is a man of broad views, is generous in his giving to worthy objects, is friendly in his social relations and enjoys to a notable degree the esteem and confidence of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 785-786.
LORENZO D. PANGBORN
Those who came to northwestern Whatcom county in the early days of its settlement and bore the hardships and privations necessarily incident to pioneer life well deserved the prosperity which came to them later as the fruition of their labors, and they well merited the privilege of retirement from active affairs to enjoy in leisure the golden Indian summer of their lives. Among this heroic band of first settlers is numbered L. D. Pangborn, now of Lynden, a man whose career in this county has gained for him esteem and respect. Mr. Pangborn was born at Onarga, Iroquois county, Illinois, on the 5th of March, 1845, and is a son of R. B. and Margaret (Harper) Pangborn, the latter of whom was born in Buchanan, Pennsylvania, and died in Illinois. R. B. Pangborn was born in Essex county, New York, where he was reared. He moved to Columbus, Ohio, but eventually located in Iroquois county, Illinois, where he lived until coming to Lynden, Whatcom county, where his death occurred at the age of ninety-three years. He had followed farming during his active years and enjoyed in a large measure the respect of all who knew him.
L. D. Pangborn attended the public schools of his native county and completed his studies in Grand Prairie Seminary, in Illinois. He was reared to the life of a farmer, but after remaining a short time on the home farm he engaged in teaching school, in which vocation he was employed for a number of years, doing some farming during vacation periods. In 1883 he came to Washington and for two years taught in Spokane College, at Spokane Falls. In 1885 he came to Lynden and engaged in the real estate business under the name of the Pioneer Real Estate Company, being the first to engage exclusively in that business here. Later he took a partner into the business. Some time after coming here Mr. Pangborn established the Pioneer Press, which was the first newspaper in this section of the county, and he ran the paper for several years, when he sold it. He then went into the country, about six miles northeast of Lynden, where his sister, Olive Pangborn, had preempted one hundred and sixty acres of land in 1883, she and her brother, the subject, having been induced to come to this locality through the representations of a brother-in-law, Professor J. J. Swim, who was teaching in Seattle. It was a tract of virgin land, wild and uncut, and with only a trail leading to it. Mr. Pangborn devoted himself closely to the improvement of the property, clearing about twenty-five acres. About 1920 their property was destroyed by fire and they then returned to Lynden, where they are now living. Our subject had bought forty-five acres of the old home place, which he later sold, and his sister has also sold her part of the estate. Besides the loss by fire, Mr. Pangborn's poor health was an important reason for his leaving the farm. He had been successfully carrying on general farming operations, oats and potatoes being his chief soil crops, and also gave some attention to dairying, keeping ten good grade cows. His early years on the farm were marked by hard toil, amid most uncomfortable conditions. At first it was necessary to pack in all provisions to his place, there being no roads, and considerable ditching had to be done in order to drain the soil. Wild animals, such as bears, deer and cougars, were frequently seen, and in many ways their early life here was marked by discomfort and privations.
Mr. Pangborn was always deeply interested in the progress and improvement of the community with which his interests were identified and contributed in every possible way to its betterment. To him is given the credit for writing the first descriptive pamphlet of upper Whatcom county, which was published about 1887, and which was a very comprehensive and well written statement of essential facts, bearing on the soil, productiveness, timber, climate, crops, costs and other subjects that would interest prospective settlers. He organized the first Sunday school (Methodist) in Lynden and was its first superintendent. He was an active member of the Methodist Episcopal church, serving for many years as a member of the official board of the church at Lynden, and was also a member of the Community Service Club. He is a veteran of the Civil war, having been a member of Company G, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which he served about six months during 1864-65. Those who know Mr. Pangborn well are unstinted in their praise of his superior ability, upright character and genial and affable disposition, qualities which have won for him the confidence and good will of all who have come in contact with him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 915-916.
KINGSLEY B. PEASLEY
A product of the west, K. B. Peasley is thoroughly imbued with the spirit of enterprise and determination, and his rapidly expanding powers have carried him into important relations. He is now numbered among the successful business men of Bellingham and concentrates his attention upon the hardware trade. A native of California, he was born in San Francisco, and his parents, Elbert and Eva Peasley, were among the early settlers of that city, to which they journeyed from Muscatine, Iowa. The father subsequently moved to Seattle, Washington. He is now deceased, and the mother has also passed away.
K. B. Peasley attended the public schools of Palo Alto, California, and his higher education was received in the Washington State College. He filled various positions and in 1913 entered the employ of the Seattle Hardware Company. He found the work congenial and his keen intelligence enabled him to assimilate readily the details of the trade. He was steadily advanced, and in 1923 he came to Bellingham as assistant treasurer of the Northwest Hardware Company. He has since occupied this office, and he discharges his duties with thoroughness and efficiency, doing all in his power to further the interests of the corporation. F. H. Knight is president of the company, which was incorporated in 1902. The business was purchased from William Frizell, who established the enterprise in 1899, and for twenty-seven years it has served the residents of this locality. The company carries a complete line of light and heavy hardware, also handling lumber supplies, and conducts both a wholesale and retail business. The trade extends throughout northwestern Washington and three traveling salesmen are employed. The firm has a two-story building with a frontage of one hundred and sixty five feet on Bay street, and a depth of one hundred and twenty-five feet, which is used as a warehouse, while the main building, on Holly street, is three stories in height, with a depth of one hundred and ten feet and a fifty foot frontage. Theirs is one of the most progressive hardware houses in this section of the state and owes its success to unswerving allegiance to the high standard of service upon which the business was founded.
In 1913 Mr. Peasley married Miss Margaret Dickinson, a daughter of Philip E. and Susannah Dickinson, and the children of this union are Elbert Dickinson and Margaret. Mr. Peasley belongs to the Lions Club and is a republican in his political views. He owes his rise in the business world to the faithful performance of each day's tasks, and his ability and ambition insure his continuous progress.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 789-790.
HANS L. PETERSEN
Hans L. Petersen, a sterling son of Denmark, who has become one of the honored and respected citizens of Whatcom county, has in every way merited the success he has achieved in a material way and the esteem which is accorded him by his fellowmen.
Mr. Petersen was born in 1864 and is a son of Peter and Katherine (Jespersen) Hansen, the former of whom was a weaver by trade, and both of whom spent their entire lives in their native land. Our subject attended the public schools of his native country, and because of an accident to one of his eyes he was relieved from the customary military service. After leaving school he was employed as a cow herder until April, 1884, when he immigrated to the United States, locating in Door county Wisconsin, where a brother was engaged in farming. He remained with his brother for two years, but he suffered from the extreme cold, at one time having all of his toes frozen, and determining on a change he went to Chicago in 1886 and bought a ticket for Seattle.
After arriving here Mr. Petersen was for about six months employed in logging camps and then went to Sehome and was employed in railroad construction work on the Bellingham Bay & British Columbia Railroad. For some time thereafter he made Bellingham his headquarters, being employed at various occupations until 1891, when he went to California. After remaining there two years, he returned to Bellingham for a six months stay, following which he was again in California for two years. In 1895 he returned to Whatcom county and in partnership with his brother-in-law, Michael Larson, bought a quarter section of land that included his present farm, which now comprises thirty-five acres. In those early days the old Telegraph road was the only highway leading north from Bellingham, and the nearest road to his land was the Axton road, which was in such poor condition that he could not get through on it with his team. About five acres of his land had been cleared and there was a small log house on the place, but the remainder of the land had not even been logged. The timber was practically of no value to him, as there was no local demand for logs or shingle bolts, so he was under the necessity of burning much fine timber. He now has about thirty acres of his land cleared and in cultivation, the remainder being pasture land. When he first came here money was scarce and he had to barter in order to procure what he desired, and he frequently worked out in order to secure a little ready money.
However, in the course of time conditions improved, and during later years Mr. Petersen has been getting along very well, his earnest efforts being rewarded with a very fine measure of success. He is now giving his attention largely to dairy and poultry farming, keeping four good grade cows and about a thousand chickens, in the handling of which he has been very successful. Indomitable energy, untiring perseverance and sound judgment have been the contributing elements to his prosperity and have earned for him the sincere respect of his fellow citizens. He has built a good set of farm buildings, including up-to-date chicken houses, and he is very comfortably situated.
In 1919 Mr. Petersen was married to Mrs. Michael (Downs) Pool, who came to this country about 1916. After the death of his brother-in-law his sister had kept house for him for many years. By a straightforward and commendable course, Mr. Petersen has made his way from a somewhat humble environment to a respectable and independent position, earning a reputation as an enterprising, progressive man of affairs and a broadminded, upright citizen, so that today he stands deservedly high in the confidence and good will of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 9-10.
WILLIAM E. REICHERT
Though a Pennsylvanian by birth and a middle westerner by rearing, William E. Reichert is now a rancher and orchardist in Mountain View township, proprietor of a well kept and profitably operated place on rural mail route No. 2 out of Ferndale. He has been a resident of Washington for almost forty years, covering much of the pioneer period as well as the era of later development. In association with his father he became connected with the lumber industry at Seattle in 1888, later transferred his operations to Whatcom county and has for years been one of the well known and substantial citizens of this county.
Mr. Reichert was born in the Keystone state March 21, 1867, and is a son of D. J. and Catherine (Sellinger) Reichert, both natives of Pennsylvania and members of old families there. The father was reared on a farm and upon attaining man's estate became a lumberman, presently moving from Pennsylvania to Michigan and thence to Wisconsin, engaged in the lumber industry in those states. He then went to Duluth, Minnesota, where he was located until 1888 when, attracted by the glowing stories then reaching points east, concerning the possibilities for development here, he closed out his interests in that city and established himself in the lumber milling industry at Ballard, now a part of Seattle. He became the owner of considerable tracts of timber land in various parts of the state and was for years a prominent figure in the lumber industry in Washington. D. J. Reichert died at his home in Seattle in February, 1894. He and his wife were the parents of eight children, of whom the subject of this sketch was the fourth in order of birth, the others being as follows: S. E., now living at Anacortes, who is married and has five children; Watson O., who died in 1869; George M., a soldier in the Philippines during the Spanish-American war, being killed in battle at Manila, February 5, 1899; Sylvester L. of Duluth, who is married and has three children; Ida May, who married J. A. Ritchie of Seattle and has twelve children; Harry W., who is now living in Portland, and Charles D. of Seattle, who is married and has two children.
William E. Reichert was twenty-one years of age when in 1888 he came with his father from Duluth to Seattle and for some years thereafter he was engaged with his father and his brothers in the lumber industry in that city. When the gold rush set in toward Alaska in the latter '90s he took a trip to the gold fields but presently returned and settled down in Whatcom county, becoming engaged in saw milling at Wickersham, where for about ten years he operated a sawmill and shingle mill with twelve hundred acres of timber land back of him. During the time of his residence at Wickersham he married and about three years later, in 1909, he and his wife established their home on their present place in Mountain View township, where they are very pleasantly situated. Mrs. Reichert owned here a tract of forty acres and Mr. Reichert bought an adjacent tract of eighty acres. On this he has a fine pear orchard of ten acres. He has about sixty acres of the place cleared and the remainder is devoted to a range for his sheep, of which he has a fine flock of seventy head or more, one of the few successful sheep men in the township.
On July 3, 1906, at Wickersham, Mr. Reichert was united in marriage to Mrs. Nellie L. (Morsman) Johns, widow of T. P. Johns, who died at his home in Cherry county, Nebraska, in 1899. Mrs. Reichert is a daughter of the late W. H. Morsman, who left Nebraska in 1888 and became one of the pioneers of Whatcom county. Mrs. Reichert is one of the seven children, two sons and five daughters, born to her parents. Her mother, Mrs. Maudena (Potter) Morsman, died in 1917 and her father in July, 1925. Both were natives of Vermont and members of old families of the Green Mountain state, whence they moved to Wisconsin, thence to Iowa and on to Nebraska, from which state in 1888 they came to Washington and here spent the remainder of their lives, useful pioneers of the Ferndale neighborhood.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 853-854.
ROBERT A. and THOMAS W. REID
Thomas W. Reid, secretary of the Reid Brothers Company of Bellingham, proprietors of sheet metal and boiler works in South Bellingham and manufacturers of the widely known and justly popular "Economy" steam and hot water steel heating boilers, has been engaged in business here in association with his brother, Robert A. Reid, for more than a quarter of a century, during which period they have built up a business which has long given them high standing in the general commercial and industrial life of this community. The Reid brothers are Canadians, born in the maritime province of Prince Edward Island, and are sons of Thomas and Candis Reid, whose last days were spent in Bellingham, the former dying in 1922 and the latter in 1925. They were the parents of eight children, six of whom are living. In 1885, during the youth of Robert A. and Thomas Reid, the father moved with his family from Prince Edward Island to Cape Vincent, New York, and it was there that the brothers finished their schooling and learned the rudiments of the trade which in good time they exercised so advantageously.
It was in 1899 that R. A. and T. W. Reid came to Bellingham and established themselves in business here as boilermakers and sheet metal workers, setting up a plant at the foot of Harris avenue. As the demands of a growing business required they presently set up a new plant on Ocean Dock and there continued until 1915, when they bought their present site on Tenth street, between Filmore and Douglas streets, and erected an up-to-date plant occupying ground space one hundred by sixty feet, at the same time expanding their operations to meet the continually growing demand for the products of their factory. In 1905 this concern was incorporated as the Reid Brothers Company, of which Robert A. Reid is president and Thomas W. Reid secretary. They specialize in the manufacture of the "Economy" boiler, made of steel throughout, and with all joints electric are welded, leaving no lap joints or rivets to leak or corrode, and have thus created a product which has come to be in wide demand throughout the excellent trade area centering at Bellingham. Among the other products of this plant are steel tanks which are in wide demand among discriminating buyers.
Robert A. Reid, the elder of the brothers, was born in 1867 and was sixteen years of age when his parents moved from Prince Edward Island to Cape Vincent, New York. He was given a public school education and early turned his attention to sheet metal working, becoming a skilled craftsman. Attracted by the possibilities, then becoming so generally apparent, offered by settlement in this section of the northwest country, he and his brother came to Bellingham in 1899, where he has since been engaged in the manufacturing business. In 1895, at Winnipeg, Canada, R. A. Reid was united in marriage to Miss Etta Debman, who was born in England and became a resident of Winnipeg. They have one child, Russel E., who is associated with the operations of the Reid Brothers Company and who in 1920 married Miss Ronald Newlen of Ferndale, this county. Mr. Reid is a Knight Templar Mason, a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Rotary Club.
Thomas W. Reid was born September 24, 1869, and was thus about fourteen years of age when his parents moved from Prince Edward Island to Cape Vincent, New York, in which place he finished his education and grew to manhood, becoming a skilled worker in sheet metal and kindred products. In 1899, in association with his brother, he became engaged in the manufacturing business at Bellingham and their enterprise, progressive methods and the excellent workmanship of the plant has brought them continued and growing success. Thomas W. Reid is an active member of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce and has long been recognized as one of the leaders in the general business affairs of the city.
In 1899, the year in which he became a resident of Whatcom county, Mr. Reid was united in marriage to Miss Imogene Turnbull of the state of New York, and they have a pleasant home in Bellingham. They are republicans and support all measures for public improvement. Mr. Reid is a member of the Washington Club, is a Knight Templar and Scottish Rite Mason and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine. He is also affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 734-735.
TOBIAS A. ROGERS
T. A. Rogers, one of the well known and influential men in Ferndale township, belongs to that class of substantial citizens who by their support of the moral, political and social status for the general good, promote the real welfare of their respective communities, and are therefore rightfully included in the list of representative residents of the county. Mr. Rogers has been a witness of and participant in much of the development work in this locality and has borne his full share in the effectual efforts to maintain the fine moral standard which has ever been in evidence here. A native of Texas, where his birth occurred on the 23d of April, 1856, he is a son of Anderson and Elizabeth (Butler) Rogers. His parents were natives of Indiana, the father born March 25, 1825, and the mother April 20, 1828. They are both deceased, the father dying in Indiana August 25, 1858, and the mother in Lockwood, Missouri, October 29, 1911. Anderson Rogers was a blacksmith by trade and in 1854 went to Texas, where he remained about three years, and then returned to Indiana, where he spent his remaining days.
T. A. Rogers secured his education in the public schools of Indiana and then learned the trade of a saddler and harnessmaker, at which he was employed for several years, eventually going into business on his own account. In 1878 he went to Graham county, Kansas, where he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land, and also secured a tree claim of one hundred and sixty acres. He devoted himself closely to the cultivation of this land for fourteen years, and in 1892, went to California, locating at Ventura, where he engaged in the meat business. After following that business for five years, he bought a small fruit ranch at Riverside, California, but later traded that for a small property at Redlands, California, in order that his children might have better educational advantages. In 1904 Mr. Rogers came to Yakima, Washington, and, leasing land on the old Indian reservation, which he cultivated for five years. He then came to Whatcom county, in 1908, and bought forty acres of brush and stump land, which he cleared, developing a splendid homestead. He carries on general farming, raising hay and corn, and latter used as ensilage, and keeps from eight to twelve good grade cows and has one thousand Plymouth Rock hens. He has made many permanent and substantial improvements on the ranch, which is now one of the most valuable of its size in this locality. Mr. Rogers is eminently public-spirited, as was shown when, in 1909, he bought one of the first log houses built in Ferndale, took it apart, marking the logs carefully, and then rebuilt it on his ranch, thus preserving one of the community's landmarks for future generations.
On August 13, 1878, Mr. Rogers married Miss Flora McCullough, who was born in Indiana, a daughter of Samuel and Mary (Duerry) McCullough. Her parents were natives of Virginia and Ohio, respectively, but spent their last years in Indiana. Mr. McCullough served eight years as a county commissioner of Jasper county, Indiana, and in early days in that state was prominent in politics. He was a close personal friend of Clem Studebaker, of South Bend, and of ex-Vice President Schuyler Colfax. Samuel McCullough was appointed Indian agent under the Grant administration but owning to his family did not accept the appointment. He was active in both politics and church work. He died in 1883 and his wife in 1876. They were the parents of seven children, two living - Mrs. Rachel Faris of Medarysville, Indiana, and Mrs. Rogers. To Mr. and Mrs. Rogers have been born three children, Earnest M., born in Kansas, July 10, 1870, and educated in California, is now engaged in mining in the latter state. He married Miss Marvel Pierce in November, 1925; Mrs. Elizabeth E. Chapman, born in Indiana, October 29, 1883, and now living at Ferndale, has a son, Roger W., born December 16, 1911; Leroy A., born in Kansas, April 9, 1887, graduated from the high school at Redlands, California, from the State Normal school at Ellensburg, Washington, and in 1914, from the Washington State University at Seattle. He was principal of the Franklin school, at Tacoma, and is now principal of the John McCarver school at Tacoma. On August 30, 1919, he was married to Miss Lillian Gahagan, a native of Minnesota. Leroy is a veteran of the World war, having served nine months overseas. He was honorably discharged in France and reached home in July, 1919. For the last fifteen years his wife has been principal of the McKinley school in Tacoma, being one of the leading educators of that city.
Mr. Rogers is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and of the Whatcom County Poultry Association. Politically he gives his support to the republican party and takes keen interest in public affairs, particularly such as concern the welfare and prosperity of his community. He and his wife are earnest members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Custer, to which they give generous support. They are deservedly proud of their children, who are honoring them by their daily lives, and they are in their own records exemplifying the highest elements of character. Because of their fine public spirit, their business success and their genial and hospitable dispositions, they have long held high place in public regard.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 698-699.
CAPTAIN ALEXANDER ROY
Captain Alexander Roy is one of the best and most favorably known men in western Whatcom county and, after a long and honorable career as a navigator, he is now permanently located in one of the most beautiful and attractive spots in the county, where he expects to make his permanent home, enjoying in a large measure the fruits of his years of earnest toil in other fields of effort. He was born in London, England, in 1882, a son of W. H. and Georgina (Hall) Roy, both of whom died when he was about ten years of age. He received a limited education in the public schools of his home city, and when ten years of age went to sea as a cabin boy. By faithful attention to duty, he was advanced to deck boy, and then became an ordinary seaman. At the age of sixteen years he was on a "four-master," which on its first trip came around Cape Horn to Puget sound in 1897. He left the ship and remained here, settling at Seattle in 1899. In 1901 he entered the employ of the Pacific Pack & Navigation Company, which later became the Pacific-American Fisheries, and remained with that company for twenty years. He started with them as a deck hand, but was successively promoted until, in 1905, he became a captain and retained that position as long as he remained in the service. From 1901 to 1913 he worked around Puget sound and from 1913 to 1921, was sent each year to Alaska in the spring, returning in the fall, his headquarters being at King Cove and Port Maller. While there his duties consisted largely in piloting ships in and out through the intricate and dangerous passes of that coast. He also, while with the Pacific-American Fisheries, served as captain of fishing boats and also performed some land duties. In 1921 Captain Roy quit the sea and located on a tract of land at Lake Samish, which he had bought in 1913, and here he is developing the place into a summer resort, all the surrounding conditions and environment being favorable to such an enterprise. He has a little over forty-five acres of land, to which he has succeeded in having a road built, and here he has erected a number of cottages for rent, while the old homestead cabin, which was built there by Marion Grey, the original homesteader, will be utilized as a summer cottage. He had a hard time getting things established at the outstart, for there was no road and all building material had to be brought in by row boats, but since 1923 that difficulty has ceased to exist. The land was densely covered with alder and brush, but about ten acres of it is now cleared and the improvements already made augur well for the future popularity of the place for those desiring an ideal vacation spot. Captain Roy is also planning to engage in the chicken business.
Captain Roy was married, at South Bellingham, to Miss Ida Lundeen, who was born in Minnesota, the daughter of Peter and Ingeborg Lundeen, who came to Tacoma when Mrs. Roy was but an infant. The Captain has taken commendable interest in local public affairs, having served as chairman of the township board for three years up to 1925, and served one year as president of the Township Officer's Association of Whatcom county. He was also for two years clerk of Crescent township. He is a man of fine personal qualities, candid and straightforward in all his relations, and genial and friendly in his social life. Because of these qualities and his splendid record, both on sea and land, he has long been held in the highest esteem by all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 610-611.
OTTO A. SANDWICK
Otto A. Sandwick, proprietor of a confectionery and tobacco shop, news stand and soft drink parlor on Harris avenue, has been in business there for more than twenty years. He is of European birth but has been a resident of this country since the days of his boyhood and of Bellingham for more than a quarter century. Mr. Sandwick was born in the kingdom of Norway, May 10, 1876, and was sixteen years of age when he came to the United States in 1892. For five years he was a resident of Michigan and then went to Minnesota, where he remained two years, at the end of which time he came to Washington and located in the Bay settlements, where he since has made his home, thus being familiar with every step of the progress that has been made in and about Bellingham during the past quarter of a century.
For some time after his arrival here in 1899 Mr. Sandwick was variously employed and in 1904 opened a confectionery store on Harris avenue and became actively engaged in business in Bellingham, being now one of the old established merchants of the city. He makes his own candies and the products of his establishment have for years had a high reputation throughout this trade area. His place is well stocked and furnished in a manner fitting to the demands of the times and has long been considered one of the most popular places of refreshment in the city.
In 1905, in Bellingham, Mr. Sandwick was united in marriage to Miss Olga Jacobson, daughter of J. N. Jacobson, one of the pioneers of Bellingham, and they have a daughter, Olive, and two sons, Joseph and John. Mr. and Mrs. Sandwick are members of the Lutheran church and are republicans.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 733.
ISAAC M. SCOTT
Of pleasing address and quiet appearance, frank and kindly in manner, is the old pioneer citizen and Civil war veteran, I. M. Scott, of Blaine, where he is held in high regard. He is an honorable, upright gentleman, true to himself and to others, and his influence in the community has always been potent for good. Like many of the enterprising citizens of Whatcom county, Mr. Scott hails from the old Hoosier state, but many years of his life have been spent in this locality, and he has lived to see and take part in the wonderful development of this region. He was born in Leavenworth, Crawford county, Indiana, in 1846, and is a son of Samuel and Levinia (Williamson) Scott, the latter a native of Virginia. The father was also born in Virginia, whence he went to Kentucky and then to Indiana, where he established his home for a time. In 1849 he and two of his sons started on the long overland trip to California, but he and one of the sons died on the way. He was the father of nineteen children, seventeen sons and two daughters.
I. M. Scott received he educational training in the public schools of his native state, and on the outbreak of the Civil war he enlisted in the Forty-ninth Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with which he saw much arduous and dangerous service in the southland. He was wounded in Sherman's first attack on Vicksburg and was furloughed home. On his recovery he again went to the front and served until the close of the war. He then returned to his native county and there remained until 1875, being employed at the carpenter's trade and as a sheet metal worker. In 1875 he went to St. Louis, but owing to his wife's poor health he went from there to New Mexico and to California, where she became much improved. He then went to Portland, Oregon, and obtained employment for a time in the car shops. Later he went to Tacoma, Washington, where he secured the contract to build a pile driver to be used in the building of the bridge at Puyallup. He then came to Whatcom county and took up a homestead at Excelsior in 1880. Soon afterward he came to Blaine, at about the time the township was laid out, and after a short stay here returned to the ranch, where he remained until 1885, when he again came to Blaine, and he has lived here continuously since. For a time he was employed as a carpenter and builder and later was in a hardware store and tin shop until his retirement from active affairs some years ago, since which time he has lived quietly in his comfortable home here, enjoying the leisure to which his years of labor so richly entitle him. He sold the old homestead which he entered in 1880, disposing of it in smaller tracts.
Mr. Scott was married, in St. Louis, to Miss Mary A. Lightfoot, who was born at New Brighton, England. She had been orphaned by the death of both of her parents in England and while still young was brought to the United States by relatives who were connected with the post office department at St. Louis. They have never had any children of their own, but they have reared and cared for two children of Mr. Scott's brother, who died in Alaska, namely: William Farnum, who was killed at Hamilton in 1906; and Oscar Farnum, who was but seventeen months old when they took him, and who is now a farmer in Custer township. He was married and is the father of five children. These boys were never legally adopted by Mr. and Mrs. Scott but received the same tender care that would have been given children of their own. Mr. Scott is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. He has taken a deep interest in the affairs of his locality during all the years of his residence here and has been especially active in educational affairs. He was one of the very early directors of the Excelsior school district, before the Blaine district was organized, and helped to secure and build the first schoolhouse in the district, which was also one of the first in this part of the county. He has kept closely in touch with public affairs, and during his active years he was a potent factor in the advancement and progress of his community. No man in the locality is held in higher esteem than is Mr. Scott, owing to his honorable record and his splendid character.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 914-915.
DAVID W. SMITH
Many lines of activity have profited by the ripe experience and keen sagacity of D. W. Smith, who for twenty years has contributed his share toward Bellingham's development along commercial and industrial lines, and he is now a successful automobile dealer. A native of Huron county, situated in the province of Ontario, Canada, he was born December 16, 1865, and was a youth of fifteen when his parents, Farquhar and Janet (Nil) Smith, migrated to South Dakota. The father was a carpenter and building contractor and in later life took up government land near Huron, South Dakota. He spent his remaining years on that property, and the mother still lives at Huron.
After the completion of his public school education D. W. Smith served an apprenticeship to the coppersmith's trade, which he followed for eleven years. On the expiration of that period he opened a hardware store in Huron and continued the enterprise until 1900, when he turned his attention to the real estate field. He left Huron in the fall of 1903 and spent the winter in Cuba, afterward going to Wisconsin. He lived for a year in that state and in August, 1905, located in Bellingham. He first engaged in the real estate business in association with S. D. Cooley, and in 1907 he entered the logging industry, with which he was identified for six years. His next venture was in the canning business, on which he concentrated his energies for about three years, and in October, 1916, he purchased an interest in the business of Stanley Wait, who in the spring of that year had secured the agency for the Chevrolet cars. In the spring of 1918 the latter sold his share in the concern to the subject of this sketch, who then formed a partnership with his brother, D. F. Smith, who came to Bellingham in 1900 and who is an expert mechanic. He was first a member of the firm of Warren & Smith and later became one of the proprietors of the Whatcom Machinery Depot, subsequently following the occupation of farming. The brothers have the Whatcom county agency for the Chevrolet machines and control the Smith Motor Company, in which they are partners. They have a completely equipped repair shop, and the extent of the business is indicated by the fact that about thirty employes are required for its operation. In 1919 the partners erected a modern building especially for their use, purchasing ground at the corner of Elk and Magnolia streets. The structure is two stories in height and one hundred and ten by one hundred and twenty-five feet in dimensions. The members of the firm are business men of high standing, and their annual sales now amount to a large figure.
In 1902 D. W. Smith was united in marriage to Miss Florence Hatch, of Huron, South Dakota, a daughter of Reuben Hatch, a prosperous agriculturist. Mr. Smith has attained the Knight Templar degree in Masonry and is also connected with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party and is one of the influential members of the Chamber of Commerce. His interest in the welfare and progress of the city is deep and sincere and time has proven his worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 747-748.
HOWARD C. THOMPSON
Unceasing application, clear mental perception and most careful preparation are indispensable elements in the life of every man who achieves success in the legal profession, and that Howard C. Thompson is lacking in none of these requisites is indicated by the fact that he is numbered among the leading attorneys of Bellingham, where he has practiced for nearly twenty years. A son of William and Laura (Porter) Thompson, he was born January 15, 1878, in Champaign county, Illinois. In 1882 his parents migrated to Nebraska, where his father was engaged in farming until his demise. The mother is still a resident of that state.
Howard C. Thompson received his higher education in the University of Nebraska, from which he was graduated in June, 1901, with the degree of LL.B. In the fall of that year he was elected judge of Merrick county, Nebraska, and acceptably filled the office, serving for four years. He went to Idaho in 1906 and a year later migrated to Washington, locating at Seattle in January, 1907. He spent but a few months in that city and has since practiced in Bellingham, under his own name. He has a thorough understanding of statute and precedent and correctly applies his knowledge to the points in litigation. He has been retained as counsel in much important litigation and the years have brought him a large and lucrative clientele. He was appointed assistant county attorney and served for one term.
In 1908 Mr. Thompson married Miss Philomena McKivett, a native of Nebraska, and they have three children: Marshall, Mary and James. Mr. Thompson casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party and is a Catholic in religious faith. He belongs to the Knights of Columbus and is also connected with the Modern Woodmen of America. He owns a seventy acre farm on the Hannagan road, on which he resides, and he utilizes scientific methods in the cultivation of the soil. He keeps in close touch with the latest developments along agricultural lines and has converted his land into a rich and productive tract, supplied with many modern improvements. Mr. Thompson holds to high standards in the field of professional service and enjoys the unqualified respect of his fellow practitioners and the general public as well.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 794-795.
CLARICE L. VanEMAN
For more than twenty years Miss Clarice L. VanEman, teacher of mathematics in the Fairhaven high school, has been connected with Bellingham city schools and is widely known in educational circles throughout this section of the state. Born in the city of Leavenworth, Kansas, she is a daughter of Andrew R. and Frances E. (Glasgow) VanEman, the latter a native of Ohio and the former of Pennsylvania, both members of old colonial families represented on this side of the water for seven or eight generations. The VanEmans are of the old "Pennsylvania Dutch" stock and the name is found widely represented throughout the country, now variously rendered VanEman, Vaneman, Vanemman and in some instances Vandeman.
When Miss VanEman was not yet two years old, her parents moved with their family to Lewis and Clark county, Montana, where her father became engaged in farming and where she was reared. She was graduated from the Great Falls (Mont.) high school, had further schooling in the University of Washington and in the University of Michigan and from the latter was graduated in 1903, majoring in mathematics and botany. While continuing her studies Miss VanEman was for some years engaged as a teacher in the schools of Great Falls and in 1904 came to Washington and became engaged as a teacher in the Fairhaven school at Bellingham, with which she has since been connected, teacher of mathematics and botany, and now recognized as one of the valued members of the effective staff of the city schools. Miss VanEman is a member of the American Association of University Women and of the local organizations of teachers and has a wide acquaintance in her profession. She is a member of the Congregational church and has ever taken an interested and helpful part in the general social and cultural activities of the community in which she cast her lot more than twenty years ago, a choice of location she never has had occasion to regret. She resides in the Stephen Court apartments and is quite pleasantly situated there.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 277.
WALTER B. WHITCOMB
Walter B. Whitcomb, a former president of the Whatcom County Bar Association and for twenty-five years engaged in the practice of law in this county, with offices in Bellingham since 1910, was born in Farmer City, DeWitt county, Illinois, April 5, 1874, and is a son of John B. and Mary A. (Kirby) Whitcomb, both of whom were born in that same state, members of pioneer families there, the latter a daughter of Richard Kirby, a native of New Jersey. John B. Whitcomb was a son of Francis Whitcomb, a New Hampshire man who had become one of the pioneers in McLean county, Illinois, and who was a contemporary and acquaintance of Abraham Lincoln. In the early '80s John B. Whitcomb moved with his family into the Dakota country, took an active part in public affairs there and served for some time as a member of the territorial legislature. Upon his retirement he and his wife came to the coast and their last days were spent in Seattle.
Reared in Illinois and Dakota, Walter B. Whitcomb was given good schooling and in 1896, when twenty-two years of age, was graduated from the University of Minnesota and the next year received from that institution his master degree. Admitted to the bar in 1896, he decided on a settlement here and in 1901 located at Bellingham. In 1902 he opened an office at Blaine and was there engaged in practice until 1910, when he returned to Bellingham and became associated in practice with Governor Mead, a mutually agreeable partnership which was maintained until the latter's death in 1912, since which time Mr. Whitcomb has been carrying on his practice independently. During the administration of Governor Hart he served as director of public works in the state of Washington. He is a member of the board of trustees of the State Normal School at Bellingham and has in other ways given his interested and helpful attention to public affairs. Mr. Whitcomb is an active and influential member of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce, is a member of the Country Club and is affiliated with the Masonic order, in which he has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, and is also a member of the Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He belongs to the local Kiwanis Club, the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
On June 4, 1902, at Bellingham, Mr. Whitcomb was united in marriage to Miss Mazie Burrows and they have two children, Rollo R., born in 1903, now (1926) a student in the State University, and Catherine, who also attends the university. Mrs. Whitcomb is a daughter of James S. and Elizabeth C. Burrows, who came to Bellingham in 1889, Mr. Burrows engaging in business here as a shoe merchant, and both he and his wife spent their last days here. The Whitcombs have a pleasant home in Bellingham and have ever taken an interested and helpful part in the general social and cultural activities of the city and of the community at large.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 412.
CLAUDE E. WILSON
Claude E. Wilson is one of the enterprising young business men of Blaine and a native son whose record reflects credit upon the community. He was born April 25, 1890, and his father, Rufus A. Wilson, was a native of New Hampshire. He was a stationary engineer and come to Whatcom county, Washington, about 1886, locating in Blaine. He was employed by Alaska packers for a considerable period, and he reached the age of sixty-nine years, passing away June 10, 1923. In Iowa he had married Miss Laura B. Tyson, who is a native of that state and still resides in Blaine.
Claude E. Wilson was a pupil in the grammar and high schools of Blaine and afterward took up the study of telegraphy. In 1907 he was made local depot agent of the Great Northern Railroad and acted in that capacity for eight years. In 1915 he entered the mercantile establishment of Wolten & Montfort as one of the partners and has since remained with the firm. He fills a responsible position and his fidelity to duty and thorough knowledge of the business have made his services of great value to the firm, which enjoys a large patronage.
In 1915 Mr. Wilson married Miss Evabel Brown, a native of Custer, Washington, and a daughter of James and Annabel (Aiken) Brown. The children of this union are Bonnie Jean and Barbara June, aged respectively six and five years. Mr. Wilson is a republican in his political views and his fraternal associations are with the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is a loyal supporter of every movement for the benefit of his community and possesses many commendable traits of character, as his fellow citizens attest.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 276-277.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page