PHIL CLEVE ADAMS
Phil Cleve Adams, a well known and successful clothing merchant of Bellingham for many years, departed this life on the 20th of August, 1922, at the age of forty-three years. He was born at Cleveland, Iowa, a son of John Adams, who was a native of England. During the period of his boyhood he made various removals in company with his father, who was a miner by occupation. He obtained his first position in a mining camp at Roslyn, Washington, being employed as solicitor for the grocery department of the company store. In this capacity he rode through the mountains on horseback.
On attaining his majority Mr. Adams removed to Seattle, where he secured a position in a men's furnishing goods store. Next he made his way to Sedro Woolley, where he embarked in the business on his own account with a capital of two thousand dollars, which he had saved from his earnings. At the end of two years he disposed of his interests there and took up his permanent abode in Bellingham, where he became proprietor of a men's furnishing goods and clothing store near the present site of the Northwestern National Bank. Mr. Adams occupied one room of the Exchange building during the erection of the Mason block, in which he conducted his store when the structure was completed. Subsequently he opened a women's clothing store adjoining, but he disposed of the stock soon afterward and conducted his two establishments in the Mason building for the sale of men's furnishing goods until about 1918, when he removed to the Exchange building, where he continued in business throughout the remainder of his life. The store has been under the capable management of George F. Benson since the death of Mr. Adams, whose widow is still the owner thereof. Straightforward and honorable in all his dealings, and studying the wishes of his patrons, Mr. Adams developed an extensive enterprise and became recognized as one of the prosperous and representative merchants of Bellingham. He won the proud American title of a self-made man, for the success which he enjoyed was the direct outcome of his untiring industry and his business ability.
Mr. Adams was twice married. He first wedded Catherine Ellis, who accompanied him to Bellingham, where she opened a millinery establishment. She passed away in 1912, leaving one child, who is also deceased. On the 1st of September, 1913, Mr. Adams was again married, his second union being with Lillian Braman, who was born at Bay City, Michigan, and whose parents were Frank and Agnes (Heyer) Braman, native Americans. She came to Bellingham, Washington, in young girlhood and after completing her schooling here spent a number of years in the employ of J. B. Wahl. Next she entered the service of Mr. Adams, who later made her his wife. Phil C. and Lillian (Braman) Adams became the parents of one child, who died in infancy.
In his political views Mr. Adams was a stanch republican, while fraternally he was identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. His life was an upright and honorable one in every relation and his death was sincerely mourned by a large circle of warm friends as well as by the members of his immediate family.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 62-63.
FRANK W. ALDRICH
The qualities which have made F. W. Aldrich one of the successful farmers of Ten Mile township have also won for him the esteem of his fellow citizens, for his career has been one of well directed energy, strong determination and honorable methods. His life history has been distinguished by the most substantial traits of character and his present high standing in the community has been well merited. Mr. Aldrich is a native of the state of Vermont, born on the 8th of April, 1865, and is a son of Mr. and Mrs. C. T. Aldrich, both of whom also were natives of Vermont. His mother, who died when he was but five years old, was a descendant of the historic Heldons, of the Mayflower. C. T. Aldrich was a veteran of the Civil war, having served as a member of the Ninth Regiment, Vermont Volunteer Infantry. He was descended from good "old-country" stock, his father, having been a native of Wales and his mother of Scotland. He became a millwright and general mill man, and eventually went to Elgin, Illinois, about 1870, and engaged in the contracting business.
F. W. Aldrich secured his education in the public schools of his native state, and after his father went west he remained with relatives until he was seventeen years of age, when he joined his father in Elgin and there learned the carpenter's trade. He remained in Elgin for about seven years and then, in December, 1888, came to Washington, locating in Tacoma, where he worked at the carpenter's trade until June, 1889, when he went to Olympia, Washington, where he followed the same occupation until 1899. During the following three years he lived in Bellingham, where he worked at the carpenter's trade and also did a good deal of tank building for breweries and other concerns. He then went back to Olympia, where he remained for three or four years, when he returned to Bellingham and worked as a carpenter until 1921. He then bought twenty acres of land in Ten Mile township, a part of the old McDonald homestead, and at once gave his entire attention to the improvement of the property. The place was badly run down and a good deal of repair work on the buildings was necessary in order to put them in first class condition, in addition to which he built new henhouses and made other substantial and needed improvements, which have made of the place a very attractive and desirable farm home. In the meantime he is devoting as much time as possible to the clearing of additional land and is meeting with encouraging success in all his operations. He is going into the chicken business on a large scale, expecting to have a thousand laying hens in 1926, and will continue to enlarge his flock to considerable size, as he has demonstrated the practicability and profit of this phase of farm work. He also keeps several cows and his fertile fields are producing all the necessary feed and grain, as well as large quantities of kale.
On October 1, 1891, Mr. Aldrich was married to Miss Amy Powe, who was born in Maine, a daughter of William B. and Carrie (Lynch) Powe, the former of whom was a native of England, while the latter was born and reared in Maine. To Mr. and Mrs. Aldrich have been born four children, namely: Ethel, who is the wife of F. H. Brown, of Olympia, and the mother of seven children; Josephine, the wife of J. E. Owens, of Bellingham; Chester W., of Salem, who is married and has one child; and Frank W., of Bellingham, who also is married and has one child. Mr. Aldrich is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association, while fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, which he joined in Elgin, Illinois, in 1888, and of the Woodmen of the World. Mrs. Aldrich is a member of the Neighbors of Woodcraft. Faithfulness to duty and strict adherence to a fixed purpose have been dominating factors in Mr. Aldrich's life, which has been crowned with well deserved success, and throughout this community he is held in the highest esteem by all who know him, for he has proven himself a splendid citizen in the best sense of the term.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 346-347.
CHARLES EDWARD ANDERSON
Charles Edward Anderson has experienced every phase of pioneer life in the west and throughout his career has made each day and hour count for the utmost. He is now a prosperous ranchman, residing in the vicinity of Clipper, and all that he possesses has been gained by honest labor. A native of Sweden, he was born February 11, 1865, and was but a few months old when his parents, Gustaf and Helen Anderson, made the voyage to the United States. They located at Eagle Harbor, Michigan, in the fall of 1865, remaining there for a year and a half, and the father then went to Douglas county, Minnesota, for the purpose of securing desirable farm land. There he met his brother, who had recently married, and went with him on the overland journey to Montana. They were four months in making the trip and were joined by the other members of the family eighteen months later. All settled at Unionville, Montana, four miles from Helena, and Gustaf Anderson lived for ten years in that state. On the expiration of that period he returned to Minnesota, purchasing two farms, and there both parents passed away.
Charles E. Anderson attended the public schools of Montana and Minnesota and aided his father in the tasks of plowing, planting and harvesting, becoming the owner of the homestead after the death of his parents. He resided for a time in Spokane, Washington, afterward returning to Montana, and in 1902 came to Whatcom county. He worked in the lumber camps and in the mills, afterward purchasing his present place of forty acres near Clipper. He has built a fine home, also improving the property with good barns, and has one of the best ranches in the valley. He raises the crops best suited to this region and also operates a well equipped dairy. He enjoys his work and keeps well abreast of the times, bringing to the cultivation of his farm a comprehensive knowledge of the details of modern agriculture and a progressive, open mind.
In 1889 Mr. Anderson married Miss Jennie Anderson, who was born in Minnesota and passed away in 1923. Their adopted daughter, Alice Elinor, is now the wife of C. E. Martinson, of Bellingham, and the mother of one child, a son. Mr. Anderson belongs to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and is connected with the lodge and encampment of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, also belonging to the Royal Neighbors. He is a socialist in his political views, and he conscientiously discharges the duties and obligations of citizenship. He was township treasurer for seven years, carefully safeguarding the public funds, and served for several years on the school board. Mr. Anderson is a man of strong character, thoroughly imbued with western enterprise and determination, and measured by the standard of usefulness, his life has been a successful one.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 405-406.
JAMES H. BAILEY
The life record of J. H. Bailey, who is numbered among the successful dairy and poultry farmers of Lynden township, has been comparatively uneventful, as far as stirring incidents or startling adventure is concerned, yet it has been distinguished by the most substantial qualities of character. It is the record of a well balanced mental and moral constitution, strongly marked by those traits which are of special value in a state of society such as exists in this country. He was born in eastern Tennessee on the 6th of October, 1861, and is a son of James and Ann (Heald) Bailey. Both of his parents were natives of England, the father having been born in Cornwall and the mother in Derbyshire. The father followed mining in the home country and on coming to Tennessee became a mine foreman.
J. H. Bailey received his education in the public schools of his home neighborhood and in his youth went to work in the mines, working there off and on until he was twenty-one years of age. He then went to Colorado, where he was employed in the copper and silver mines for about one and a half years after which he returned to his native state. He remained there about two years, at the end of which time he went to Nebraska, locating in Fillmore county, where he was engaged in farming until 1903, though during that period he spent one year in the mines of Montana. In 1903 he went to Fergus county, Montana, where he took up a homestead, to the improvement and cultivation of which he devoted himself for seven years. In 1910 he came to Whatcom county and bought sixty acres of land, comprising his present farm, and has devoted himself to it continuously since. When he acquired this land about five acres were partly cleared, but now has thirty acres in cultivation, the remainder being in pasture. Mr. Bailey has made many permanent and substantial improvements on the land, which he has developed into a very comfortable and attractive ranch, from the operation of which he receives a nice income. He confines his attention mainly to dairying and poultry, in both of which lines he has met with merited success. He keeps eight high grade Holstein cows and about one hundred and fifty laying hens, and he intends to very materially increase the number of hens. He has shown sound judgment and discrimination in the management of his individual affairs and his ranch is now one of the most desirable properties of its size in this section of the county.
In 1896 Mr. Bailey was married to Miss Lucy Eckley, who is a native of Nebraska and a daughter of J. C. and Mary (Warden) Eckley. The father was born in Ohio and the mother in New Jersey, and they were pioneer settlers of Nebraska, where the father followed the vocation of farming. To Mr. and Mrs. Bailey have been born seven children, namely: Paul, of Bellingham, who is married and has one child; Doris, who is the wife of A. E. Blowers, of Lynden, and has one child; Charles, who is married and lives in Bellingham; and Clarence, Robert, Thomas and Victor, who are at home. Mr. Bailey belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America and to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has taken an active interest in local public affairs and served for one year as a member of the school board of the Greenwood district. Even tempered, patient, scrupulously honest in all the relations of life, hospitable and charitable, he has long enjoyed an enviable standing in the confidence and esteem of all classes of people in his community, where his splendid traits of character are recognized and appreciated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 357-358.
Frank Blonden, proprietor of a well established automobile service station on Elk street in Bellingham and dealer in a general line of automobile accessories and supplies, has been a resident of this county since his boyhood. He was born in the state of Michigan, March 29, 1880, and was but three years of age when in 1883 his parents, Rasmus and Anna Blonden, came to Washington with their family and settled at Tacoma. In 1889 Rasmus Blonden moved with his family to Whatcom county and established himself on a farm in the Lynden neighborhood. He later became engaged in the real estate business in Bellingham and is now living retired in that city, being one of the county's well known pioneers. Mrs. Anna Blonden is deceased.
Frank Blonden finished his education in the Lynden schools, and he early became familiar with conditions based on the clearing of a woods farm, doing his part in developing the home place. As a young man he became engaged in the confectionery business in Lynden in association with his brother George and was thus engaged until 1918, when he sold his interests in that business to his brother and was for two years thereafter engaged in the poultry business. In September, 1920, Mr. Blonden opened the service station and automobile accessory store he has since been operating at the corner of Elk and Chestnut streets, this station having become one of the most popular in this section.
Mr. Blonden was united in marriage, in Bellingham, to Miss Ruby McCay, a daughter of Ebenezer McCay, the pioneer stage driver, and they have two children: Margaret and Kenneth Roland. Mr. and Mrs. Blonden are republicans and have ever taken a proper interest in local civic affairs and in the general affairs of the community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 894.
FRIDTJOF M. BRODAHL
To the development of the great empire of the west the Scandinavian countries have contributed man of courage and hardihood, essential to the upbuilding of a new country, and to this race belongs Fridtjof M. Brodahl, the owner of one of the finest ranches in the Ferndale district and a leader in all projects for public betterment. A native of Norway, he was born January 21, 1890, and when seventeen years of age came to the United States with his parents, Frederick and Gina Brodahl, who settled in Minnesota in 1907. They migrated to Whatcom county, Washington, in 1910 and the father purchased twenty acres of wild land in Mountain View township. He cleared the place and prepared the soil for the sowing of seed, eventually transforming the property into a productive farm. He spent the remainder of his life on the ranch, passing away in 1915, and the mother's demise occurred in 1924. To their union were born six children: Albert, who lives in Bellingham; Paul, also a resident of that city and the owner of a forty acre farm, which he rents; Marie, deceased; Fridtjof M.; Olga, the wife of Ole Hemmestad, who operates the homestead; and Mrs. Magnus Asplin, of Bellingham.
F. M. Brodahl was educated in his native land and on starting out in life for himself chose the career of an agriculturist. In 1918 he bought a tract of twenty-eight and a half acres in Mountain View township and has since been engaged in general farming, residing in the vicinity of Ferndale. He has a valuable orchard on his place, to which he is constantly adding improvements, and his methods of farming are both practical and progressive. He has a fine herd of cattle and has also made a success of poultry raising.
Mr. Brodahl married Miss Augusta Anderson, a native of North Dakota and a daughter of Engebrecht Anderson, who came to Whatcom county in 1911, purchasing a farm which is now operated by the subject of this sketch. Mrs. Anderson survives her husband and is still a resident of the county. Mr. and Mrs. Brodahl have two children: Herbert and Kenneth, aged respectively seven and three years. Mr. Brodahl has served his fellow townsmen in various capacities and exerts his efforts as readily for the public weal as for his own aggrandizement. He filled the office of school clerk for five years and is now acting as school director and township supervisor. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and also of the local Poultry Association. He is a young man of earnest purpose, worthy of trust and confidence, and a wide circle of loyal friends is indicative of his personal popularity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 905.
CLINT U. BROWN
C. U. Brown, one of the best known dairy and poultry farmers of Lynden township, has by his own unaided efforts worked his way from a modest beginning to a position of comfort and influence in his community. His life has been one of unceasing industry and perseverance, and the systematic and honorable methods he has followed have won for him the unbounded confidence of his fellow citizens. Mr. Brown was born in Buffalo county, Nebraska, and is a son of G. A. and Attie (Stinston) Brown, the former of whom was born in Illinois and the latter in Wisconsin. The father followed the vocation of farming up to the time of his death, which occurred in Nebraska in 1905, and his widow is now living in California.
C. U. Brown attended the public schools of his native state and remained on the home farm until 1905, when he came to Whatcom county. During his first year here he was employed as a farm hand and then, in 1906, bought sixty acres of land in Lynden township, much of the tract being covered with water during the winter seasons. It contained much good timber, chiefly cedar and fir, from which eighteen hundred cords of shingle bolts were taken. Mr. Brown put in a lot of hard work in the process of clearing the land and getting it drained sufficiently for cultivation, and he now has fifteen acres under the plow, the remainder being devoted to pasturage. When he came here what is now the Blaine-Sumas road was but a trail, and so thick was the timber and brush on his land that it took him three months to burn out and clear a place for his house. He is now devoting his attention chiefly to dairy and poultry farming, keeping a number of good cows, about two hundred and fifty laying hens and a number of hogs. His soil is fertile and productive and he raises good crops of hay and grain, enough to take care of his stock. He is a hard-working and painstaking farmer, knowing full well the value of time, and has gained an excellent reputation because of his industry and business ability.
In 1901 Mr. Brown was married to Miss Nina Niles, who was born and reared in Fullerton, Nebraska, a daughter of N. C. Niles, a farmer, who is now living in North Dakota. Mrs. Brown's mother died when the daughter was but a small child. To Mr. and Mrs. Brown have been born nineteen children, namely: Lloyd, Grace, Pearl, Gertrude, Walter (died in 1921), Donald, Mildred, Howard, Lila, Dorothy, Leon, Edward and Edna, twins, Fay and Fern, twins, Gene, Kenneth, Keith and one that died at birth. Mr. Brown is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He has taken a good citizen's interest in the general welfare of the locality where he lives and served one year as road overseer, while during his early years here he donated a good deal of time and labor to the building of roads. His relations with his neighbors have always been mutually pleasant and agreeable and he has been universally regarded as a splendid citizen, holding to a marked degree the confidence and good will of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 903-904.
Oscar Burman, who is a native of Sweden, has had an interesting career and his record has been marked by hard and persistent industry from his boyhood days, so that he is doubly able to appreciate the fine measure of prosperity which at length has crowned his life work. His sterling qualities of character have commended him to the good favor of all who know him and he is numbered among the substantial citizens of his adopted country. Mr. Burman was born in Sweden in 1846 and is a son of John and Eva M. (Lundren) Burman. When he was twenty-one years old his mother died and thereafter he devoted himself to the care of his father until the latter's death. The family home was in the country district, far from school, and his education was gained mainly through the tutorship of his mother, who carefully taught him the rudiments thereof. This he has liberally supplemented through the later years of his life by much reading and close observation of men and events so that he is now a well informed man on general subjects. His father had been a lifelong farmer and to the operation of the home farm the subject devoted himself until the former's death, in 1872.
In 1878 Oscar Burman came to the United States, locating in Howard county, Nebraska, where he engaged in farming and where he developed and improved three farms, each of which he sold when he had brought it to a desirable condition. During the great fair in Seattle he came here as a sightseer and liked the country so well that immediately on his return to Nebraska he sold his property there and came to Whatcom county, locating near his present place in Lynden township, where he bought twenty acres of land, to which he later added twenty acres more. He cleared twenty acres of this tract, on which he carried on dairy farming with pronounced success until 1922, when he sold the farm to his son-in-law and bought his present place, where he is living in comparative leisure, enjoying that rest to which his former years of toil so richly entitle him. While not very active in farming, his place gives him enough work to occupy his time, for a man of his industrious habit could not be satisfied or content with complete idleness.
Mr. Burman has been married three times, his first wife and their three children dying in the late '60s. In 1872 he was married to Miss Mariea Johnson, to which union were born four children, namely: Mrs. Hilda M. Isaacson, of Nebraska, who is the mother of four children; P. A., of Laramie, Wyoming, who is married and has a son; John Albert, of Sherman county, Nebraska, who is married and has a son; and a son who died in Sweden when a few months old. Mrs. Mariea Burman died in 1887, and in 1890 Mr. Burman was married to Miss Anna Maria Sundstrom, who was born near his old home in Sweden and who came with her parents, Peter and Katherine Sundstrom, to the United States in 1877, locating in Nebraska, where he marriage to Mr. Burman occurred. To this union have been born four children, namely: Mabel, who died at the age of thirteen years; Mrs. Edith Leonard, who lives on her father's old place in Lynden township and is the mother of two children; Emma, who died at the age of seventeen years; and Mrs. Eveline Fritzburg, of Preston.
Mr. Burman has been a man of rugged physique, else he could not have stood the arduous and continuous toil which has characterized his career, for he began his labors in the logging camps of his native land when but fourteen years of age. He has done his full part in the battle of life and now, in his later years, he can look back over a worthy and honorable career, feeling that he has performed his tasks faithfully and conscientiously. He is a quiet and unassuming man but possesses qualities which have gained for him universal confidence and respect.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 347-348.
ALEXANDER L. CALLAHAN
Alexander L. Callahan, a veteran of the World war, is serving for the second term as sheriff of Whatcom county and manifests the courageous spirit and fidelity to duty which he displayed on the battlefields of France. He has been a resident of Bellingham for a quarter of a century and for several years was intimately associated with building operations, doing much to improve and beautify the city. He was born January 25, 1873, at Scotch Grove, Iowa, a son of John O. and Anna (Macbeth) Callahan, the former a native of Ireland and the latter of Scotland. The father was a soldier in the Civil war and while in the service of the Union received injuries which resulted in his demise in 1882. After his death the mother went to Nebraska, settling on a farm, and there resided for many years.
Alexander L. Callahan was educated in the public schools of Nebraska and worked for a time in a flour mill. In 1891 he went to Indian Territory and acted as assistant to United States deputy marshal, patrolling the post line in a search for outlaws. After abandoning that adventurous life he returned to Nebraska and for two years followed the occupation of farming. In the meantime he had learned the carpenter's trade and in February, 1900, embarked in the contracting business in Bellingham. His ability soon won recognition and he was intrusted with much important construction work in the city. He remodeled the First National Bank and at the same time the Carnegie Library was erected at Fairhaven, Washington, supervised the work in the capacity of foreman. He also executed many large contracts and examples of his skill as a builder are to be seen in various parts of this district. After his retirement from the business Mr. Callahan joined the police force of Bellingham and was rapidly promoted, becoming a captain. Later he was acting chief and on January 1, 1916, was appointed deputy sheriff of Whatcom county.
In 1918 his loyalty and patriotism prompted him to offer his aid to the nation and he was accepted for military duty, joining Company L of the Engineers Corps. He was later transferred to Company E of the Thirteenth Engineers and next to Company A of the Five Hundred and Forty-sixth Engineers, with which he was sent overseas in August, 1918. He was made first sergeant of his company and participated in the memorable engagements in the Argonne Forest, spending several months at the front. He was assigned to duty with the First Army of American troops and served until July, 1919, when he was honorably discharged at Camp Lewis, Washington. Returning to Bellingham, Mr. Callahan resumed his activities as deputy and in January, 1921, was elected to the office of sheriff, in which he has since been continued. He never falters in the face of danger, performing his duties with thoroughness and efficiency, and is working earnestly and effectively to rid the county of the lawless element, thereby increasing public safety.
On December 4, 1898, Mr. Callahan married Miss Melosena Borcherding, of Nebraska, and they have became the parents of five children but Mabel, the fourth in order of birth, is deceased. Harland, the eldest, is a locomotive fireman in the employ of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad. He is married and has one child. Walter, an engineer, resides in Alaska and also has a wife and child. At the age of seventeen he enlisted in the Ninth Company of Coast Artillery and in January, 1918, sailed for France, remaining at the front until the close of the war. Gertrude is the wife of Miles Price, of Seattle, who was wounded while serving with the American Expeditionary Force, and they have two children. Birdine, the youngest member of the family, is the wife of Alvin Anderson, of Bellingham.
Mr. Callahan belongs to the local post of the American Legion and is the organizer and manager of its drum and bugle corps, which has been exceptionally well trained, winning two state prizes. He is also identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Woodmen of the World, the Yeomen, the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Knights of Pythias, and the Dramatic Order of the Knights of Khorassan. Mr. Callahan has a high conception of the duties and obligations of citizenship and has never violated a trust, enjoying to the full the respect and confidence of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 736-739.
LAWRENCE G. CHAPMAN
Among the experienced and capable business men who have aided in the development of Washington's logging industry is numbered Lawrence G. Chapman, widely known as manager of the Bellingham Boom Company. He was born in 1869 in Indianapolis, Indiana, a son of George H. and Hannah (Gilman) Chapman, the former a prominent lawyer of that city. Lawrence G. Chapman received a public school education, and his first position was with a lumber firm of Indianapolis. In 1889 he went to Stanley, Wisconsin, and for fifteen years was identified with the lumber industry of that state, and in 1904 he journeyed westward. For six years he was a resident of Idaho, and in 1910 he came to Washington, locating in Seattle, where he spent six years. He has since been manager of the Bellingham Boom Company, which controls unloading and rafting facilities at this point on the bay, with offices in the First National Bank building. Mr. Chapman give to the corporation the services of an expert, and during his tenure of office the business has been maintained at a high standard of efficiency.
On October 14, 1916, Mr. Chapman was united in marriage to Miss Theresa Walker, a native of Oregon. He belongs to the local Kiwanis and Country Clubs and is identified with the Masonic fraternity, likewise being one of the enterprising members of the Chamber of Commerce. His political indorsement is given to the republican party. He has faithfully discharged every duty and obligation in life and enjoys to the fullest extent the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 95.
It is a compliment worthily bestowed to say that Whatcom county is honored by the citizenship of John Coxson, well known farmer of Ten Mile township, for he has achieved definite success through his own efforts and is thoroughly deserving of the proud American title of self-made man. His has been an eminently active and useful life, during which he has not allowed material affairs entirely to absorb his attention, for he has earnestly supported all measures for the betterment of his community and has set an example in right living. Mr. Coxson is a New England Yankee by birth, born in the state of Maine in 1840, and is a son of John and Katherine (Knox) Coxson, the former of whom was a carpenter by trade. The mother was born on the shore of the bay of Fundy, at the mouth of the St. John river, a daughter of a ship builder, and her death occurred when our subject was very young. The latter was denied the privilege of a scholastic education, there having been no schools in his neighborhood, but throughout his life he has absorbed information from every possible source and is now a well informed man upon a wide range of subjects.
At the age of ten years Mr. Coxson went to sea as a sailor boy on one of the old-time sailing vessels, and so faithful was he in the performance of duty that three years later he became an ordinary seaman and eventually an able seaman. He served in the United States navy throughout the civil war, being on the Lancaster, an "admiral ship." Later he made voyages to practically every part of the world, sailing for about fifteen years, and then went to the Argentine republic, where he worked ashore for about four years. At that time Buenos Aires, now a city of over a million population, was a town of about three thousand people. He also spent some time loading cotton on the Rio Grande river, North, in South American, which empties into the Amazon river. Mr. Coxson next went to India, where he remained about six months, and was then on the Falkland islands and other places. Returning to the United States, he located in Michigan, where he engaged in farming and also became identified with the lumbering interests, working for a company engaged in the loading of boats. He homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land near the "Soo," but in August, 1888, he decided to go to the western coast.
Selling all his interests in Michigan, Mr. Coxson came west, landing at Samish, where he went to work in the Blanchard logging camp in October of that year. In the spring of 1889 he went to Bellingham and then established a boarding house at Chuckanut for C. I. Roth, which he ran for eight months. His next move was to Lummi island, where he bought thirty-five acres of land, of which only four or five acres were cleared. He cleared practically all of this tract and devoted himself to its cultivation for twenty-three years. He sold five acres of the land on the Point to the Carlisle Packing Company, who established there the second cannery in Whatcom county. Mr. Coxson then sold the place and bought the old Tilburn farm, near Geiser [Weiser?] lake, where he remained about three years, building a good house there. He then traded that place for property in Bellingham, where he lived for about a year, at the end of which time he traded the Bellingham place for his present farm, comprising forty acres of good land in Ten Mile township, about ten acres of which were cleared. He has cleared about ten acres more and now has a well improved and highly cultivated farm. He given his main attention to dairy farming, keeping a number of good grade cows, and raises all the hay and grain required for their feed. He is doing well and has a very comfortable home, surrounded by up-to-date conveniences and all the equipment necessary for the proper conduct of his business.
In 1884, in Michigan, Mr. Coxson was married to Miss Martha A. Bowman, a native of Ontario, Canada, and a daughter of Jacob and Mary (Hamilton) Bowman, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Canada. Mr. Coxson has done his part in the improvement and development of the country, and a number of years ago he performed good service as road supervisor. He is a lover of nature and wild animals, and while living on Lummi island he fed six deer through one entire winter, while during all the years of his residence here he has never shot a deer or pheasant, but has fed hundreds of them. Kindly and generous, he is noted for his hospitality, and in his social relations is friendly and genial, making all feel at home who enter his door. His many find personal traits have gained for him the unbounded confidence and esteem of all who know him, for all recognize him as a man of more than ordinary strength of character.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 904-905.
HON. ANDREW DANIELSON
For nearly a quarter of a century the Hon. Andrew Danielson has resided within the borders of Whatcom county, advancing steadily through hard work and the wise utilization of his opportunities. He is now a leader of real estate activity in Blaine and is also numbered among the able members of the state legislature, serving for a second term. A native of Iceland, he was born December 22, 1879, and his parents, Daniel Andrjesson and Hlif Jonsdottir, are both deceased. His father was a man of varied talents, acquiring skill in the trades of blacksmithing, shoemaking, carpentering and saddlemaking, and also followed the occupation of farming.
When a child of nine Mr. Danielson left his native land, and he was reared in the home of an uncle, who resided in Manitoba, Canada. He attended the public schools of the province and in 1902, when a young man of twenty-three, came to Blaine, Washington. He was a clerk in the Wolten mercantile establishment for four years, then bought a stock of groceries and hardware in partnership with O. O. Runolfson, and in 1915 opened a real estate office in Blaine. He has built and sold many houses, doing much to improve the town, and also writes insurance. He is a sagacious, farsighted business man, with a thorough understanding of the lines in which he specializes, and success has attended his well directed efforts.
On August 22, 1905, Mr. Danielson married Miss Bertha Ingo, also a native of Iceland, and they have two children: G. S. Svafa, a senior in high school; and Daniel I., also a student. Mr. Danielson is identified with the Knights of Pythias, the Independent Order of Foresters and the Masons, while his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He was a member of the town council for two and a half terms and has been justice of the peace for two terms. He was called to the Washington assembly in 1922 and his record won him reelection in 1924, when his majority was doubled by his constituents. He has served on the committee of municipal corporations other than first class and also on the appropriations, mines and mining, and dairy and live-stock committees. He votes on every question and is regarded as one of the most conscientious and progressive members of the house. Mr. Danielson entered upon his legislative duties with high ideals, from which he has never deviated, and his attitude toward every measure is determined by its effect on the public welfare. He has correctly solved life's problems and difficulties, discharging every duty and obligation to the best of his ability, and his personal qualities are such as make for popularity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 300-301.
Michael Dermody is too well known to the citizens of Lynden township to require any formal introduction here, for through a long period of years he has resided here and has contributed in a very definite way to the development and progress of this section of the county, at the same time gaining the unbounded respect of all who know him. He was born in Dover, New Hampshire, in 1849, and is a son of James and Mary (Shea) Dermody, both of whom were born and reared in Ireland, where they were married. In 1844 the father came to the United States, locating in Boston, and was followed about three years later by his wife and son. He was a cultured and well educated man, being a college graduate, but on coming to this country he worked at whatever employment he could find. Eventually he took his family to Portsmouth, New Hampshire, where he and his wife spent their remaining years, her death occurring in 1856 and his in 1889.
Michael Dermody received his education in the public schools of Portsmouth and worked on neighboring farms from the age of thirteen years until he was about twenty-three years old, when he learned the granite cutter's trade, at which he was employed for four years in Portsmouth, Springfield and other places. He then started for California, arriving in 1876, and remained there until the spring of the following year, when he went to Seattle, whence he soon afterward went out on the Snoqualmie, near Fall City, where he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land. In the following year he went to work near North Bend and, liking the natural prairie land in that locality, he and E. M. Cudworth bought two hundred acres in partnership, Mr. Dermody dropping his previous homestead entry. He remained in that locality six years and about two years after that sold the place. He then came to Whatcom and a little later to Lynden, where he went into the logging camp of the Washington colony, composed of settlers from Kansas, and here, during 1883-84, he logged on the present site of Lynden. In 1885 he located near his present ranch and took up a preemption claim of one hundred and sixty acres all swamp land heavily encumbered with cedar and spruce timber and brush. After proving up on this tract, he sold eighty acres, and in 1905, after clearing, ditching and draining about thirty acres, he sold the remaining eighty acres. In the meantime he had been looking after the Bacon & Ellis tract, adjoining his preemption land, and on selling the latter he moved onto this place, to which he has devoted his attention to the present time. This property was at one time the home of General McPherson and about sixty acres are now included in the Bacon & Ellis farm. The place is devoted to the raising of hay and oats, and the fertile and well cultivated soil returns splendid crops. Mr. Dermody is a thoroughly practical man in everything he does and has been very successful in his operation of the property. He is not married and is maintaining his own home on the place.
Mr. Dermody has been a witness of and an active participant in the splendid development which has characterized this section of Whatcom county. When he first came here there were no roads or public improvements of any nature. He and two others dug a ditch from the Jacobson place to the southeast corner of his tract, constructed a shallow flatboat and by this means pulled his household goods up to his property. During the years of his way to the improvement of local conditions, efforts which have been fully appreciated by his neighbors and fellow citizens. In 1887 he was appointed a member of the school board of the North Prairie district and rendered excellent service in that capacity. A man of kindly and accommodating disposition, he has long held an enviable place in the confidence and good will of all with whom he has come in contact and is regarded as one of the best citizens of his community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 341-342.
From an early period in our national history to the present time the people of Sweden have been coming to the United States and have been quick to seize the opportunities that have existed here for the strong of heart and hand. They have proved to be among our very best foreign born citizens, being not only thrifty and industrious but true to our institutions, loyal in their support of the government and possessing the essential qualifications of good citizenship. Among the sons of Sweden who have contributed of their efforts to the development of Whatcom county stands Andrew Erickson, who after a life of indefatigable industry and good business management is now practically retired from active affairs and is spending his years in honorable leisure in his comfortable home in Ferndale township.
Mr. Erickson was born in Sweden on the 29th of September, 1863, and is a son of Eric and Lica (Larson) Erickson, both of whom also were natives of that country, where they spent their entire lives. Our subject attended the schools of his native land, and he came to this country in 1893, settling in Iowa, where he remained about two years, going from there to Los Angeles, California, where he lived for about the same length of time. In 1897 he came to Whatcom county and for two years was employed in the timber. He then bought forty acres of land in Ferndale township, twenty-five acres of which he cleared. He later sold half of the land and in 1909 bought ten acres across the road from his original tract. This he cleared, and he now owns thirty acres of splendid, well cultivated land. By the exercise of sound judgment in all of his operations and through the hardest sort of labor over a period of years he gained a fine measure of success. He eventually built a comfortable and attractive home on the ten acre tract, leased the other land to his son and is now enjoying a much deserved rest. During his active years he kept five cows and about nine hundred hens, while fifteen acres of the original tract were under the plow. He has been a good business man, keen and sagacious, though never to the point of questionable dealing, all of his transactions being according to the highest code of honor. Because of his success and his splendid personal character he holds an enviable place in the confidence and regard of all who know him.
In 1895 Mr. Erickson was married to Miss Lizzie Headbom, who was born in Sweden, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Carl Headbom, both of whom were born and reared in that country, where they passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Erickson are the parents of two children: Emel, who operates his father's farm, is a native of Whatcom county, as is his wife, who was formerly Miss Dorothy Smith. The daughter, Mrs. Clara LaBounty, has a son John R.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 905-906.
CHARLES HENRY FISHER
Charles Henry Fisher, well known in educational circles of both the east and the west, is serving as president of the State Normal School at Bellingham and brings to the discharge of his important duties broad experience and a natural aptitude for the profession which he has chose as his life work. He was born April 25, 1880, in York, Pennsylvania, and after completing the curriculum of the public schools took a course in the Lebanon Valley College of that state. He was graduated from the Union Theological Seminary in 1907 and from the University of Pennsylvania in 1914, and also took postgraduate work at Columbia University. For a few years Mr. Fisher was one of the staff connected with the Young Men's Christian Association of New York city. He taught in high schools of Pennsylvania and New Jersey; was head of the history department at Trenton; was placed in charge of the department of education at the State Normal School in West Chester, Pennsylvania; and later occupied the chair of education and psychology at Swarthmore College. He was next connected with the state department of public instruction at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and from 1920 until 1923 was president of the State Normal School at Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania. His work in that connection attracted much favorable notice and in June, 1923, he was called to the presidency of the State Normal School at Bellingham, Washington. He possesses an aptitude for successful management and is rendering valuable service to the institution through the able administration of its affairs and the widening of its influence.
On August 4, 1909, Mr. Fisher was united in marriage to Miss Mary Naomi Light, of Lebanon, Pennsylvania, and they now have four children: Robert, William, Mary and Charles. Mr. Fisher belongs to the Phi Delta Kappa fraternity. He has been a student throughout life and is constantly striving to perfect himself in his work. He has written many interesting articles on subjects pertaining to educational matters and also enjoys an enviable reputation as a lecturer. Actuated by high ideals of service, he has risen rapidly in his profession, and the consensus of public opinion names him with the most able and progressive educators of the state.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 110.
BERT W. GROOM
Bert W. Groom, hardware merchant and veteran plumber of Bellingham, is the proprietor of a well established place of business on Eleventh street in that city. Though a native of the old Empire state, he has been a resident of the state of Washington and of Bellingham since the days of his young manhood, a period of almost thirty years, and has thus witnessed the development of the city from the days before it attained its present corporate name. He became established as a plumber here in 1897 and has ever since been connected with that trade, being now the oldest continuous contractor in the plumbing line in the city. To this business he years ago added a general hardware line and is thus also one of the veteran merchants here, with a name firmly established in commercial and industrial circles throughout the fine trade area centering in Bellingham.
Mr. Groom was born in the city of Niagara Falls, New York, in 1876, a son of Lyman D. and Mary F. (Crawford) Groom, the former of whom was a commissioned merchant. Both are now deceased. Reared in Niagara Falls, Bert W. Groom was educated in the schools of that city and early entered upon an apprenticeship to the plumber's trade, upon the completion of which he started out as a journeyman plumber and headed west, working his way to the coast. In 1897 he became employed in the hardware store of the McIntosh Hardware Company in the Fairhaven section of the present city of Bellingham, and he created the plumbing department of that company's store. In 1900, in association with E. M. Adams and A. A. Carter, he became engaged in the plumbing and hardware business on his own account, opening an establishment on Eleventh street in Fairhaven, which three years later came into the general Bellingham corporation. In 1907 Mr. Groom and John Tierney bought the Knights of Pythias building at No. 1208 Eleventh street, and in 1918 Mr. Groom acquired full ownership of the business, since when he has been carrying on the business independently, being the proprietor of one of the most complete general hardware and plumbing establishments in this section of the state. His store comprises four stories and full basement and covers a ground space of fifty by ninety feet, and he is amply equipped for all calls made upon him in the line of general plumbing contracting and hardware supplies.
In 1903, at Fairhaven, in the Fairhaven Presbyterian church, Mr. Groom was united in marriage to Miss Annie garland, who was born in Kansas, a daughter of Charles Garland, and they have two sons, Bert and Frank. Mr. and Mrs. Groom are republicans. Mr. Groom is a Royal Arch Mason and a member of the Kulshan Club. For six years (1916-1922) he served as a member of National Guard of the state of Washington, rendering service as a mechanic.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 109.
ARTHUR G. HADFIELD
It is a compliment worthily bestowed to say that Whatcom county is honored by the citizenship of A. G. Hadfield, whose fine farm is located in the northwestern section of the county. He has achieved definite success through his own efforts and is thoroughly deserving of the proud American title of self-made man, the term being one that cannot but appeal to the loyal admiration of all who are appreciative of our national institutions and the privileges afforded for individual advancement. Mr. Hadfield was born in Waukesha county, Wisconsin, in 1867, and is a son of A. and Eliza (Cooper) Hadfield. His father was born and reared in Liverpool, England, and after coming to the United States followed the trade of a shoemaker, in addition to which he also farmed. His death occurred in 1914. During the Civil war began buying cattle and norses, which line of business he followed until 1870, when he went to Iowa and engaged in farming on three hundred and twenty acres of land, to which he devoted his attention during the remaining years of his life. He was twice married, having twelve children by the first union and five by the second. His second wife, and the mother of the subject of this sketch, was born in England, becoming the wife of Mr. Hadfield after arriving in this country, and her death occurred in 1899.
A. G. Hadfield secured in education in the public schools of Iowa, to which state the family moved when he was but three years old. He was reared to the life of a farmer and remained on his father's farm until he had attained his majority, when he engaged in farming on his own account, renting land until 1905, when he came to Whatcom county. Here he continued his farming operations, renting the Calhoun farm at Pleasant valley, which he operated for four years, at a monthly rental of three dollars. He then rented the Dell Gooden place, where he remained for two years, and next moved to the David Hintz farm, which he rented for eight years. In the spring of 1919 Mr. Hadfield bought his present farm of twenty acres, on which he has done considerable clearing, fifteen acres being now cleared and in cultivation, the remainder of the land being in pasturage. He gives special attention to dairying, keeping five good grade milk cows, for which he raises his own feed on the farm. He has made many permanent and substantial improvements on the place and has shown himself a thoroughly practical and up-to-date farmer, doing thoroughly and well whatever he undertakes, and he has gained a high standing among his fellow agriculturists.
On April 5, 1892, in Mitchell county, Iowa, Mr. Hadfield was married to Miss Orrie Doane, who was born in DeKalb county, Illinois, in 1868, a daughter of Frank W. and A. M. (Thornton) Doane. Her father, who was a native of Vermont, lived successively in Illinois, Wisconsin and Iowa, and in 1907 came to Whatcom county, where his death occurred in 1909. Mrs. Hadfield's mother was born in Cook county, Illinois, and now lives at Custer, Whatcom county, with a daughter, Mrs. J. A. McDonald. They were the parents of eight children, four sons and four daughters. Mrs. Hadfield received her education in the public schools of Iowa, and she possesses many gracious qualities, being a popular member of the circles in which she moves. To Mr. and Mrs. Hadfield have been born two children: Beulah, who lives at home and who has taught twelve years in the public schools of Whatcom county; and Roy, who married Miss Nina Colby, of Blaine, and lives in Blaine. Mr. Hadfield is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He possesses to a marked degree those qualities which commend a man to the good opinion of his fellowmen, for he has not only been successful in his individual affairs but has also been not unmindful of the general welfare of the community, which he has endeavored to advance in every possible way. He is generous and accommodating in his relations with his neighbors and is friendly and genial in his social intercourse, so that he has won a host of warm and loyal friends, who admire him for his genuine worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 827-828.
ESTEN S. HOKLAND
A highly respected citizen of Delta township, who although an American by adoption only has had the interests of Whatcom county at heart ever since coming here, is Esten S. Hokland, a man who has won success in life because he has been persistent and has not permitted obstacles or hard work to thwart or discourage him. He came here without capital, but, liking the country and having faith in its future, he cast his lot with the people of this locality, and prosperity has crowned his well directed efforts. Mr. Hokland was born in Norway on the 21st of August 1890, and is a son of Sivertsen and Matilda Hokland, both of whom were born and spent their lives in that country. They were the parents of eleven children, namely: Petra, Sophie, Anna, Marsele, Esten, Alf, Magnus, Hilberg, Oscar, Peter and Anfen, of whom Alf and Anfen are deceased.
Esten S. Hokland attended the public schools of his native land and spent three years of his youth on his father's small farm, which he helped to cultivate in the summers, while in the winters he devoted himself to the fishing business, which is one of the principal industries of that locality. In April 1911, Mr. Hokland came to the United States, coming direct to Whatcom county and locating at Bellingham, where he lived for nine years. During the winter months he found employment in the sawmills of that locality, while in the summers he went to the Alaska fishing grounds. He was steady and industrious, carefully husbanding his resources, and in 1920 he bought forty acres of land in Delta township, seven miles southwest of Lynden. About an acre of the land was cleared and since he has had the land he has devoted his spare time to the clearing of the remainder, in which he has made good headway, and now has a splendid farm, in the operation of which he is meeting with well deserved prosperity. He keeps three good grade cows and his crops have been bounteous, so that he is comfortably situated and has a well improved and attractive homestead. The place had a very nice house on it when he took possession, and he has made other improvements, including the building of a garage in 1925.
Mr. Hokland was married January 18, 1915, to Miss Olga Mesford, who was born in Minnesota, a daughter of Hans and Jacobina Mesford, both of whom were born in Norway. The father came to the United States in 1881 and the mother two years later. They settled in Minnesota, where they remained but a short time, going from there to North Dakota, where they took up a homestead. They lived there until 1890, when they sold out and came to Kitsap county, Washington, where the father bought forty acres of land, to the cultivation of which he is now devoting himself, in addition to which he also conducts an insurance business. To him and his wife were born seven children, namely: Olga (Mrs. Hokland), James, deceased, Maurice, Ivan, Clarence, deceased, Grace and June. All of the living children are residents of the state of Washington. Mr. Hokland has shown himself to be a man of strong and alert mentality, deeply interested in everything pertaining to the advancement of the community along material lines, and today is recognized as one of the representative men of his locality, where he is held in high esteem because of his fine personality and his genial and friendly disposition.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 355-356.
WILLIAM S. HOOPES
William S. Hoopes, sales manager for the Morse Hardware Company and widely known in commercial circles throughout the northwest, has been a resident of Bellingham for more than twenty years and is thoroughly conversant with conditions as related to the fine trade area centering here. He was born in the village of Vermont, Fulton county, Illinois, June 17, 1873, and is a son of S. F. and Mary J. Hoopes, who in 1883 moved with their family from Illinois to Kansas and later to California, in which state they now are living retired, residents of Santa Cruz.
William S. Hoopes was ten years of age when he went with his parents from Illinois to Kansas and his education was finished in the high school at Stafford in the latter state. As a young man he went to Colorado and was there engaged in activities connected with the mines until 1903, when he came to Bellingham and as buyer entered the wholesale establishment of the Morse Hardware Company, with which concern he ever since has been connected, being sales manager since 1922.
In 1903, they year in which he became established in Bellingham, Mr. Hoopes was united in marriage to Miss Helen B. Husted of Sacramento, California, and they now have a pleasant home here. They are republicans and take an interested part in local civic affairs as well as in the general communal activities of the place in which they have for more than twenty years had their home, being helpful participants in all proper movements having to do with the advancement of the common welfare. Mr. Hoopes is a member of the Kiwanis Club, whose motto is "We Build," and is a firm adherent of the principles on which that motto is based. He is a veteran member of the United Commercial Travelers, is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and is also a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, having been affiliated with the Masonic order for many years, being at all times a loyal and exemplary representative of the fraternity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 436.
Nicolas Jerns, veteran Bellingham manufacturer and the proprietor of the oldest continuing shingle mill in Whatcom county, has ben here for more than thirty-five years and may thus very properly be accounted among the pioneers in the industrial life of this community. Mr. Jerns set up his shingle mill on Silver Beach in 1893, and he has for years been recognized as one of the leading manufacturers in his line in the state, the products of his factory entering the market in all parts of the United States, his invariable insistence on quality production long ago having gained for his shingles a reputation in the building trades that has created a wide and popular demand for them.
Mr. Jerns is a native of the old Hawkeye state, born in Johnson county, Iowa, May 2, 1862, and is a son of Jacob and Elizabeth Jerns, both of whom are now deceased. Jacob Jerns, a native of Germany, came to this country in 1849, following the unsuccessful political revolution in his native land in 1848, and in time he became a substantial farmer in Iowa. Reared on the farm, Nicolas Jerns remained in his home state until 1890, when he came to the coast and became employed in the mills in the Bay settlements here. For three years he was thus engaged, becoming thoroughly familiar with the process of manufacturing shingles, and in 1893, he established a mill of his own, settling on Silver Beach, Lake Whatcom. He has ever since been engaged in the manufacture of shingles at that point, gradually building up a plant that stands second to none in character of equipment and quality of product, and, as noted above, he is now the oldest manufacturer in his line in the county, his plant being a valuable asset to the industrial life of the community.
In April, 1898, Mr. Jerns was united in marriage to Miss Alice Montague, who was born in Ireland and who is a sister of Bernard Montague, a well known Bellingham merchant. To this union have been born six children: Mary, Josephine, Nicolas, John, Agnes and Bernard, all of whom are living save the last named. The Jernses are members of the Roman Catholic church and are republicans. Mr. Jerns is an active member of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce and is affiliated with the local council of the Knights of Columbus and the Catholic Order of Foresters.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 110-113.
Industry, thrift and perseverance constitute the basis of all prosperity, and possessing these qualities in abundance, Alex Johnson has worked his way steadily upward. Of hardy pioneer stock, he has gained renewed vigor by battling with difficulties and is now devoting his attention to the cultivation of the soil, residing in the Everson district. He was born in Dane county, Wisconsin, in 1868, and his parents, Knute and Julia Johnson, were natives of Norway. After their marriage they came to the United States and were eighteen weeks in making the voyage across the Atlantic, completing the trip in one of the old-time sailing vessels. They decided to locate in the middle west and in 1840 the father entered a homestead in Wisconsin, casting in his lot with its earliest settlers. He hewed a farm out of the wilderness and devoted the remainder of his life to the improvement of the place, on which the mother also passed away.
Alex Johnson attended the public schools of Dane county and aided his father in the operation of the farm, becoming well acquainted with agricultural pursuits. He remained on the homestead until he was twenty-one years of age and then came to Washington. After reaching Tacoma he secured employment in the lumber woods and also worked in the mines. In 1900 he came to Whatcom county and for several years was employed in the lumber camps. He went to Alaska in 1919 and for four years was engaged in mining in that country.
On October 23, 1924, Mr. Johnson was united in marriage to Mrs. Amelia Miller, of Lawrence township. They have a valuable ranch of seventy-six acres and their home is one of the best in the locality. Mr. Johnson is a practical farmer and brings to his occupation a progressive, open mind, keeping thoroughly abreast of the times. He is a republican but has never aspired to public office. He is much interested in everything that affects the development of the district in which he lives and manifests in his character the sterling traits of the race from which he sprang.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 892.
EDWIN P. JULIEN
In almost all American communities may be found quiet, retiring men, who never ask public favors but who nevertheless have by a life of right living and honorable conduct earned the sincere regard of all who know them. In this class is E. P. Julien, one of the elderly and retired resident of the county. Mr. Julien was born at Goshen, Indiana, in 1851, and is a son of Azriah and Ann (Meyers) Julien, the former of whom was a native of North Carolina and a potter by trade, while the mother was born and reared in Indiana. After the death of his father, our subject lived with an uncle and secured his education in the public schools at Elkhart, Indiana. He then learned the trade of a mason. Subsequently he came to the coast and first located at Victoria, British Columbia, while he later came to Olympia, from which place he went to Westminster and from there to Bellingham, during all of which time he worked at the mason's trade. In 1914 Mr. Julien went to Seattle, Washington, and for about a year was connected with a fish hatchery. After that he was with a candy company, in the shipyards and in other employment for about four years, and then, in 1918, he came to his farm at Semiahmoo. He had acquired this land in 1893, when he came here and remained about four years. He has a good farm, well improved and productive, but he is now retired and is making his home with his sister-in-law, Mrs. Emma A. Morgan, near Blaine. Her brother, E. H. Bruns, also makes his home with her.
In 1883 Mr. Julien was married to Miss Wilhemina S. Bruns, who was born in Chicago, Illinois, and whose death occurred in May, 1923. to them were born four sons, namely: Ray, who lives in Los Angeles, California; Edwin Lester, of Seattle, who is married and has two children; Harrison H., of Oakland, California, who is married and has one child; and Maurice, a twin brother of the last named, and who died at the age of three years. Mr. Julien is a man of fine personal qualities and among those who know him well he is held in the highest confidence and esteem.
Emma A. (BRUNS) MORGAN
Mrs. Emma A. Morgan was born at Chicago, Illinois, in 1859, and is a daughter of B. H. Bruns, who was born in Westphalen, Germany, February 22, 1823, and whose death occurred September 24, 1909, when eighty-six years of age. On July 4, 1843, he came to the United States with his father and family, eight in number. He has secured his education in his native land and it was in order that he might escape military service that the family emigrated from their home country. The paternal grandfather died at sea during the voyage, which took nine weeks and four days from Germany to New Orleans. The father located at Dunkel's Grove, eighteen miles from Chicago. He was a tailor by trade and in those early days in the middle west followed the example of so many other craftsmen and went from house to house, doing his work at each home where his services were required. Later he became the maker of coffins, as well as a sash and door maker, both of which callings were greatly appreciated among the pioneers. In April, 1870, Mr. Bruns left Chicago and came to Whatcom county with Governor Solomon's party and located the land where his farm was later established. He then returned to Chicago, but on November 1, 1870, he again came west, coming by railroad to San Francisco and going thence by boat to Portland, Oregon, where he hired a farmer's light wagon, with which he drove to Olympia, whence he went to his own place on a mule. He bought over a thousand acres of land on Birch bay, of which locality he was a pioneer, and here he became a prominent and influential citizen.
Mrs. Morgan was educated in the public schools of Chicago and completed her studies in the school which was built by her father near their home here. On October 15, 1890, she became the wife of Charles B. Morgan, who was a native of Maine. He went to Nome, where he remained about three months, and was then for several months at Prince of Wales island, after which he became interested in the fishing industry, having observed how plentiful the edible fish were. He went to the eastern states in order to interest capital in a company to exploit the fishing business, but was unsuccessful. He served for several years as a member of the board of county commissioners. To this union were born two children: Ina E., who lives with her mother, was married and has a daughter, Norina Estelle; and Virgil B., who lives in North Bellingham, was married to Miss Evelyn Nuvell, and has two children, Dorothy May and June Virginia. Mrs. Morgan lived in Blaine during the greater part of the time of her marriage until about 1903, after which she lived with her brother for about three years. Since that time she has in a small way engaged in farming and also runs Morgan's Cottonwood Beach Store, in which enterprise she is prospering. In connection with the store she controls about a quarter mile of beach frontage, along which are bath houses, summer cottages and other conveniences for the pleasure of summer vacationists. At one time she tried homesteading in Idaho but did not prove up on the land and returned home to take care of her mother. She is a woman of sound business ability, tact and judgment, is successful in her individual affairs and has also gained an enviable place in the respect and esteem of the entire community in which she lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 213-214.
EDWARD STEWART KALE
Edward Stewart Kale, president of the C. S. Kale Canning Company of Everson and well known in Whatcom county, has been a resident of this section since the days of his early childhood, being a member of one of the pioneer families. There are few men in the county who have a better acquaintance with the history of the rise and progress of the now well established and flourishing community and of its development since the days when it was practically a wilderness. Born in Iowa in 1878 Mr. Kale was four years of age when in 1882 his parents, C. S. and Charlotte E. (McNeil) Kale, came to the Territory of Washington with their family and settled on a homestead farm just south of where the village of Everson came into being in 1892. The father, who died in 1920, was founder of the canning company which bears his name and was one of the substantial and progressive pioneers of the Everson neighborhood. He was also a good farmer and developed a good piece of farm property. In 1915, in association with his sons, Edward S. and Albert A. Kale, he took over the cannery that in 1913 had been established at Everson by the Nooksack Valley Fruit Growers Association and reorganized it under the firm name of the C. S. Kale Canning Company, of which company he continued the head until his death, when he was succeeded by his son, Edward S. Kale, now president of the company. The plant occupies a block (fifteen lots) in the village of Everson and is equipped in thoroughly up-to-date fashion for the business there carried on. It has an annual capacity of sixty thousand cases of canned goods, besides twelve hundred barrels of berries, and during the season as many as two hundred and fifty persons are employed in its operation. The plant is electrically driven, the best modern machinery being used to insure efficient expedition of operation, and it maintains its own railway siding. The products mainly are marketed under the popular "Nooksack" and "Everson" brands, which find a wide distribution throughout the country. A considerable portion of the output also is sent out under the trade name of dealers and distributors who buy in quantity but all have the fine quality that has created the wide demand for the products of this admirably directed cannery - one of the best in the northwest. The management of the business is in the hands of Edward S. Kale and his brother, A. A. Kale, whose continual insistence on standard quality production has done so much to popularize the products of their plant in the markets supplying a discriminating trade. The third brother of this family, Jessie A. Kale, continues to operate the old home farm and the family is well established in this county.
Edward S. Kale, as noted above, was but a child when he came into the wilderness of Whatcom county in 1882. He was reared on the home farm in the Everson neighborhood, finishing his education in the public schools under the tutelage of Professor Bradley. He early became interested in carpentering and for some years was engaged in the building trades, ten years of that time being employed outside his home community. When in 1915 the C. S. Kale Canning Company was organized he took an active part with his father and brother in the establishment of the business in Everson and has since been thus engaged, being widely known in canning circles throughout the northwest. In addition to his business he has other interests of a substantial character, including a place on the directorate of the Rockdale store, and is an influential factor in local commercial and industrial circles.
On June 16, 1904, Mr. Kale was united in marriage to Miss Lela May Fenton of the neighboring city of Blaine and they have four children, Elvin, who is now in college, Margaret, James and Mary Lou. They have a pleasant home at Everson and have ever taken an interested and helpful part in the general social activities of the community. Mr. and Mrs. Kale are republicans and are properly interested in local civic affairs. Mr. Kale is a member of the Woodmen of the World.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 751-752.
DAVID E. LAIN
David E. Lain, one of Bellingham's able attorneys, is a man of more than one talent and was formerly well known as an electrical engineer, while his inventive genius has been used for the benefit of the lumber and fishing industries. He was born July 31, 1861, in Minisink, Orange county, New York, of which county his parent, Lebbeus L. and Arminda (Terry) Lain, were also natives. His father was born in Minisink, and the grandfather, David Lain, was a son of William Lain, who was also born in the town of Minisink, New York, and established the Lain homestead there in 1785. His wife was a granddaughter of Richard Mather, of colonial days. L. Lain was an agriculturist and also was engaged in merchandising. He was born in 1831 and passed away in 1913 at the age of eighty-two years, while his wife reached the ninetieth milestone on life's journey.
David E. Lain was graduated from Cornell University in 1885 with the degree of Electrical Engineer and achieved prominence in that profession. He was associated with Rudolph Eickemeyer and Stephen D. Field, the latter a son of Governor Jonathan Field of Massachusetts, having charge of the electrical department, and he designed special machinery in electric traction. In 1901 he came to New Whatcom, now known as Bellingham and while seeking to regain his health lived for some time on a ranch near the town. He was much benefited by the outdoor life and derived both pleasure and profit from the performance of the daily tasks of the agriculturist. Since 1915 Mr. Lain has enjoyed an enviable reputation as a patent attorney. He has been intrusted with many important inventions, and several valuable inventions are the product of his creative brain.
In 1888 Mr. Lain married Miss Adena M. Bonham, of New York, who finished her education at a young ladies seminary in New York state. Three children were born to them. Marion, the eldest, is the wife of R. K. Smith, of Bellingham, and the mother of one child, Roderick K. David L. and Genevieve are at home. The son served for eighteen months during the World war. Mr. Lain is a Royal Arch Mason and a consistent member of the Baptist church, while his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He has ever been a deep student, constantly striving to broaden his field of usefulness, and his labors have been manifestly resultant.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 838-841.
Throughout his career August Lind has made each day count for the utmost, never fearing that laborious effort which must always precede success, and one of the model farms of Lawrence township is the visible result of his intelligently directed activities. A native of Sweden, he was born in September, 1861, and when a young man of twenty came to the United States with his mother and stepfather, Ole Bensen. They first located in the city of Chicago and later moved to the state of Indiana.
In February, 1890, Mr. Lind came to northwestern Washington and for a year was employed in a sawmill at Whatcom. In the spring of 1891 he went to Sumas but at the end of eleven weeks returned to Bellingham. He was in the service of the Bellingham Bay Improvement Company until the fall of 1892 and then purchased a tract of ten acres in Lawrence township. He gradually added to his holdings until he had accumulated eighty acres of land, but his present ranch comprises forty-seven acres. He is thoroughly familiar with agricultural conditions in his district and knows the best methods of coping with them. His fertile soil has been enriched by systematic work and the place is improved with a fine home and good barns. He has found dairying a profitable industry and keeps a herd of pure bred Jersey and Holstein cattle.
Mr. Lind has five children: Lilly, who lives in Seattle; Edith, who is married and lives in Bellingham; Herbert, who also makes his home in that city; Alice, who is living in Seattle; and Mabel, a resident of Bellingham. Mr. Lind belongs to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and is a republican in his political convictions. He served on the school board for four years and for many years has filled the position of road boss. He has demonstrated his public spirit by word and deed and his course has at all times marked him as a citizen of worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 895-896.
The true western spirit of progress and enterprise is exemplified in the lives of such men as Lyman Matthews, one of Whatcom county's honored native sons, whose energetic nature and laudable ambition have enabled him to conquer adverse circumstances and advance steadily on the road to prosperity. Such a man is a credit to any community, for his career has been ordered according to the highest standards of honor and integrity, and he stands high in the esteem of his fellow citizens. Mr. Matthews was born on the old Matthews homestead near Ferndale, Whatcom county, on the 18th of May, 1882, and is a son of Charles W. and Angelica Matthews, who are referred to at length on other pages of this work. He was educated in the Anatole school in Ferndale township, and after completing his studies he went to work in the timber camps in Whatcom county, following that work here for several years. He then went to British Columbia, where he was employed for several years, and then returned to Whatcom county. In 1920 Mr. Matthews bought eighty acres of land in Delta township, the tract being densely covered with timber and brush, and to the clearing of the land he devoted his energies. He now has about twenty acres cleared and under cultivation, his main crops being hay, grain and potatoes. He keeps seven good milk cows and is making preparations to embark in the chicken business on an extensive scale. A comfortable house was on the farm with Mr. Matthews bought it and in 1921 he built a good barn, in addition to which he has made other substantial improvements, enhancing the value of the farm, which is now a very desirable property.
In 1913 Mr. Matthews was married to Miss Inez Jordal, a native of Iowa and a daughter of Nels and Carrie (Christensen) Jordal, the former of whom was a native of Norway and the latter of Wisconsin. Nels Jordal came to Whatcom county in 1899 and engaged in farming, which vocation he has followed to the present time. His wife died January 17, 1924. They became the parents of five children, all of whom are living, namely: Inez, Bryan A., Mrs. Hassie May Nyquist, Blanche, who teaches school in Oregon, and Arthur Howard. Mr. and Mrs. Matthews are the parents of a daughter, Eunice, who was born December 24, 1913, and is now in school. Mr. Matthews is a man of great energy and industry, idleness being entirely foreign to his nature, as has been evidenced by the splendid progress made by him in the development and cultivation of his ranch. He is an experienced logger and during the past five years has, during the periods when relieved from farm work, been engaged in hauling logs from the Canadian boundary to the Iverson mill, keeping four good draft horses for this purpose. During the course of an honorable career he has been successful in all that he has undertaken and has at all times enjoyed the confidence and good will of those with whom he has been associated either in a business or social way.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 356.
Among the up-to-date and progressive citizens of Lynden township, Fred Mauer has attained a high place in public esteem, for he has not only created a fine and productive farm, but his enterprising spirit has led him to establish other lines of business which have also proven successful. Because of his accomplishments and his marked business ability, as well as for his fine personal character, he is eminently entitled to representation among the leading men of his community. Mr. Mauer was born in Germany in 1865 and is a son of Gotfried and Sophia (False) Mauer, both of whom were lifelong residents of the fatherland, where they passed away, the father dying when our subject was sixteen years of age. Gotfried Mauer was a man of considerable prominence in his locality, being a forest overseer and having thirty-three thousand acres under his supervision.
Fred Mauer received a good education in his native land, attending the public schools, this being supplemented by four years of special work, by appointment, in a "Real" school. Then for a time he was employed in a tile and pipe factory, after which he worked on a railroad, and also learned telegraphy. In May, 1892, Mr. Mauer came to the United States, on his honeymoon trip, and went direct to Creston, Iowa, where relatives of his wife were living. There he obtained work on a railroad section gang, working thus for five years, and then, desiring to become established on his own account, he came to Lynden township, Whatcom county, and bought eighty acres of land near Everson. The land had been burned over but was still heavily incumbered with logs and brush. He at once entered upon the task of clearing this tract and now has about thirty acres in cultivation, the remainder being devoted to pasture. When he came here there were no roads leading to his land, but he built one himself, and this enterprising spirit has been evidenced in all of his operations. He is giving considerable attention to the dairy business, keeping eleven good grade cows, for which he raises his own feed, and he is making preparations to go extensively into the chicken business. Soon after locating here, Mr. Mauer discovered a bed of fine clay on his property and, having a technical knowledge of tile and brick making, he conducted some experiments along that line with the clay. He was satisfied with the results but did nothing further until 1917, when he engaged in the making of brick and drain tile, as well as building blocks, establishing the Hampton Clay Works, which has a capacity of three thousand tile and ten thousand bricks per day, which is practically all sold to the local trade. He has installed electric power and employs several men besides his sons, who give valuable assistance in the operation of the mill. He has also established a shingle mill, with a capacity of from eight thousand to ten thousand a day, but he runs this mill only to supply orders, carrying but a small stock of shingles. He is a mechanical genius, building his own kiln and the splendid home in which he lives, and making many other permanent and substantial improvements on the place, which is now numbered among the valuable and desirable farms of this locality.
Mr. Mauer was married in Germany, in 1892, to Miss Auguste Neuhold, a native of that county, and their trip to the United States was their honeymoon. Mrs. Mauer has been a true helpmate to her husband, who she has encouraged and assisted in every possible way. They are the parents of six children, namely: Alfred, who lives in Aberdeen, Washington; Bernard, who had three years of service with the Three Hundred and Sixty-first Infantry Regiment, both during and after the war; Annie, who is the wife of Charles Harvey, of Seattle, and has three daughters, Hazel, Loraine and Muriel; Elizabeth, who lives in Seattle; and Albert and Adolph, who remain at home.While Mr. Mauer has never held or sought public office, he has been an earnest worker for the advancement and improvement of his community, cooperating with his fellow citizens in every possible way to that end. He is a member and liberal supporter of the Lutheran church. Genial and friendly, courteous and accommodating, he has won a high place in the esteem and confidence of his fellow citizens, who respect him for what he is and for his accomplishments.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 356-357.
HOWARD J. MERRILL
Howard J. Merrill, a member of one of the old and prominent families of Blaine, is widely known as a customs broker and has also extended his operations to the lumber industry, in which he has likewise achieved success. He was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1888 and is a son of J. G. and Gertrude L. (Stewart) Merrill, the latter a native of St. Johns, New Brunswick. The father was born in the state of New Hampshire and cast his lot with the pioneers of Minnesota. He came to Blaine in 1886 and two years later brought his family to this locality, in which he operated a sawmill for some time. He was subsequently connected with the Alaska Packers Association, and he is spending the sunset period of life in the enjoyment of a well earned rest.
Howard J. Merrill was an infant when the family home was established in Blaine, and his education was acquired in its public schools. Before reaching his majority he became a customs broker and has since continued in the business, being exceptionally well informed on everything pertaining thereto. He has built up a large organization and conducts the only enterprise of the kind in Blaine. He also figures prominently in the lumber business as president of the Saginaw Shingle Company, which cuts one hundred and eighty thousand shingles per day and furnishes employment to twenty-four men. He has the fine perspective and executive capacity of the man of large affairs and in the operation of the mill has secured a high degree of efficiency.
In 1911 Mr. Merrill married Miss Maude Copestick, of Seattle, and their children are Elizabeth and Enid. In 1917 Mr. Merrill responded to his country's call to arms and was assigned to duty in the quartermaster's department. He was honorably discharged in April, 1919, and resumed his business activities in Blaine. He belongs to the local post of the American Legion and to the Forty and Eight Club, the social branch of that organization. He is nonpartisan in his political views, regarding the qualifications of a candidate as a matter of first importance, and his fraternal associations are with the Eagles and the Elks. Endowed by nature with keen mentality, Mr. Merrill has made good use of his opportunities, accomplishing everything that he has undertaken, and his progressive spirit and commendable traits of character have established him high in public esteem.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 402-403.
WILLIAM H. MEYER
Among the productive industries essential to Bellingham's growth and prosperity is that of the Western Woodworking Company, of which W. H. Meyer is the executive head, and for seventeen years he has ably and successfully guided its destiny. He was born November 6, 1878, in Red Wing, Minnesota, in which state his parents, W. H. and Meta Meyer, settled in pioneer times, his father embarking in the sash and door business.
The year 1905 witnessed the arrival of W. H. Meyer, Jr., in Seattle, Washington, and soon afterward he went to San Francisco, California. He spent a short time in the Golden state and in April 1906, came to Bellingham. The Western Woodworking Company was established at Dock and Laurel streets in 1906 by G. W. Meyer and E. C. Schumacher, who purchased the business of Dowd & Hallett and started with a force of about six men. In 1924 the plant was moved to No. 1604 Elk street, now State street, on which the company has a frontage of two hundred and seventy-five feet, and the property comprises about seven acres of land. The sawmill has a capacity of twenty-five thousand feet of lumber per day and the firm has constructed a dry kiln which has a capacity of three hundred thousand feet per month. The company manufactures showcases, etc., and the plant is equipped for interior work of all kinds. The firm is noted for its fine cabinet work and has about forty employes. Since the death of his brother, G. W. Meyer, in July, 1909, the subject of this sketch has been president of the company, and the other officers are R. H. Meyer, vice president; A. L. Meyer, secretary; and F. E. Meyer, treasurer. All are business men of high standing and are thoroughly acquainted with the line of work in which they specialize.
Mr. Meyer combines a capacity for detail with broad vision and administrative power and in the operation of the industry has secured maximum efficiency at a minimum expenditure of time, labor and materials. He is deeply engrossed in his work, for which he reserves all of his energies. In politics he maintains an independent course, regarding the qualifications of a candidate as a matter of first importance. A man of liberal views and tolerant spirit, he typifies the progressive tendency of the age and occupies a secure place in the esteem of Bellingham's citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 406.
EDWARD H. MILLER
The growth and prosperity of a community are dependent upon the individual success of its citizens, and through his constructive labors in the real estate field Edward H. Miller has rendered signal service to Bellingham. A native of Wisconsin, he was born September 22, 1878, and was but five years old when his parents, John G. and Margaret Miller, came to this county, settling in Whatcom, now known as Bellingham. The father is one of the city's honored pioneers and has reached the venerable age of eighty-three years, but the mother has passed away.
Edward H. Miller attended the public schools and after his education was completed became connected with the timber business. In 1904 he opened a real estate and insurance office in Bellingham and is now conducting his operations on a large scale. From time to time he has made judicious investments in realty and owns much valuable property in the city. He builds two houses per month and has contributed materially toward the architectural adornment of the locality, transforming unsightly vacancies into attractive residential districts. He displays initiative, foresight and administrative power in the control of the business, and he is also a director of the Union Trust Company and the Whatcom County Abstract Company.
In 1913 Mr. Miller married Miss Frances Gragg, who was born in Missouri and was engaged in teaching for some time. They have become the parents of two sons: John Edward and Robert. Mr. Miller belongs to the Kiwanis Club and along fraternal lines is connected with the Masons and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is also a member of the Bellingham Association of Realtors and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. Mr. Miller has made the "square deal" a principle of his life and is deserving of high commendation for what he has accomplished as a city builder.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 402.
One of the fine truck farms in the vicinity of Bellingham is that owned and operated by David Moors, a successful agriculturist and for twenty-five years a resident of Rome township. He was born January 4, 1859, near Quebec, Canada, and his parents, Jonathan B. and Lorinda (Sausson) Moors, were also natives of the province of Quebec. His father was the first white child born in Beckwith township and in 1885 left the Dominion, entering a homestead in North Dakota. He developed the tract and followed the occupation of farming in that state until his death in 1897, while the mother passed away in 1901. To their union were born twelve children, six of whom are now living.
David Moors was educated in the public schools of Quebec and remained in his native country until he reached the age of twenty. In 1879 he crossed the border into the United States and or some time was employed in cutting timber in the lumber camps of northern Michigan, also working as a log driver. In 1885 he homesteaded a quarter section in Pierce county, Wisconsin, and for six years devoted his energies to the development of the place, which he sold in 1901. He then came to Whatcom county, Washington, and purchased a tract of thirty acres in Rome township. He built a small house on the property, which was covered with brush and trees, and began the task of clearing his land. He now has fifteen acres under cultivation and the balance is used for pasture. He keeps a few cows and has a flock of sixteen hundred hens, raising poultry on an extensive scale. He is well informed on matters pertaining to this industry, which has brought prosperity to many residents of the county, and is also an expert truck gardner, marketing his produce in Bellingham. He enjoys his work and is a thorough believer in scientific methods.
In April, 1885, Mr. Moors married Miss Catherine Jane Keller, a native of Canada and a daughter of Phillip and Mary Ann Keller, both lifelong resident of the Dominion. To the union of Mr. and Mrs. Moors were born four children, of whom Mrs. May Cannon is the eldest. She has a family of seven children: Elwyn, Winnell, Evelyn, Willard, Berwyn, Liveva and Patricia. Her sister, Mrs. Gertrude Campbell, has become the mother of one child, Lois. Their brother, Clarence D., is married and has a son, Burton W. Claud B., the youngest member of the family, is a bachelor and resides on the homestead.
Mr. Moors is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Raisers Association and also belongs to Camp Wahl of the Modern Woodmen of America. He is an earnest worker for the good of his district and recently entered upon his third term as a member of the board of township supervisors. He served for eighteen years as a county road supervisor and is largely responsible for the fine public highways in this part of the state. He regards a public office as a trust given him by the people and his record is an unblemished one, winning for him the unqualified esteem and confidence of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 641.
ELI F. NESBITT
Although one of the more recent additions to the citizenship of Bellingham, E. F. Nesbitt is a business man of ripe experience, well qualified to manage the interests of the Northern Grocery Company, of which he is part owner, and his activities are also directed into the field of agriculture. He was born in 1869 and is a native of Iowa. After his graduation from high school he attended the normal school at Peru, Iowa, and then engaged in teaching, following that profession for a number of years. As a young man he went to Oklahoma and opened a real estate office in Norman, also maintaining an abstract department. He conducted the business for six years and next established a retail grocery in Norman. Mr. Nesbitt prospered in his undertakings and decided to broaden the scope of his activities, choosing Altus, Oklahoma, as the scene of his operations. There he spent eighteen years, building up a large wholesale grocery business, and on the expiration of that period came to Washington. He arrived in Bellingham, July 1, 1923, and purchased an interest in the Northern Grocery Company, of which he is now vice president and manager, while J. C. Lang acts as president.
The business was established in 1909 and was built up and conducted by E. F. Drake until his retirement in 1922, and its history is a record of continuous and healthful growth. The establishment is located at No. 1204 Railroad avenue, in a building fifty-five by one hundred and forty feet in dimensions, and the company has excellent shipping facilities, using its own siding. The firm has the exclusive agency for the distribution of the Del Monte canned goods in this section of the state and also sells the Reliance and Selecto brands, manufactured especially for its use. The company has a force of six traveling salesmen, who cover the territory north of Everett, and conducts a large wholesale business, also dealing through jobbers. The undertaking was founded upon the principles of honor and integrity, to which the firm has always consistently adhered, ever realizing that the confidence of thousands of loyal patrons is its most valuable asset, and the men at the head of the corporation are capable executives of keen intelligence and high standing.
In 1895 Mr. Nesbitt married Miss Ida Ferebee, of Nebraska, now deceased, and two sons were born to them, namely: Carl, who is engaged in the wholesale grocery business in Oklahoma; and George, who operates his father's ranch. Mr. Nesbitt's second union was with Miss Laura Hutton, of Kansas, to whom he was married in 1907, and they have three sons: Wilbur, Arthur and Joseph.
Mr. Nesbitt owns a valuable farm of one hundred and thirty acres and makes
his home on the property, which is situated in the vicinity of Bellingham.
He has a fine herd of Jersey cattle and also raises poultry on a large scale.
He enjoys country life and is well informed regarding all modern developments
along agricultural lines. He votes the democratic ticket, and while a resident
Nebraska Oklahoma, he became a charter member
of the Rotary Club, of which he was made president. He has closely allied
his interests with those of Bellingham and has adopted as the guide-posts
of his life those principles which constitute the basis of all honorable
and desirable prosperity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 403-404.
ERNEST C. NOLTE
Among the successful farmers and dairymen of Whatcom county none takes precedence over Ernest C. Nolte, who is managing and operating his splendid farm south of Everson. He has demonstrated his eminent fitness and aptitude for the work to which he is applying himself and has gained a high reputation among his fellow citizens in that community.
Mr. Nolte was born in Bellingham in 1897 and is a son of George and N. F. (Adamson) Nolte, further reference to whom is made in the sketch of Charles F. Nolte, which appears elsewhere in this work. After receiving a practical education in the public schools at Bellingham, Ernest C. Nolte came to his present farm in 1916, and he has since devoted his every energy to it. The farm comprises one hundred and thirty-six acres, over half of which is cleared, while the remainder is largely devoted to pasturage. The place is splendidly improved, containing good farm buildings, and the fertile and well cultivated fields produce good crops of hay and grain. Mr. Nolte has about thirty-five head of high grade Holstein cattle and a registered sire, the grade of the stock being constantly improved, the purpose being eventually to have purebred cows only. Up-to-date methods of operation are employed, including milking machines, and the farm in so managed as to attain maximum results with a minimum amount of labor and expense.
In 1918 Mr. Nolte was married to Miss Eva Pritts, who was born in Whatcom, a member of one of the county's old and prominent families, her parents being W. B. and Lulu Maple (Sefton) Pritts. Her father was born in Pennsylvania and was there reared to the life of a farmer. At an early day he came to Washington with his father, who homesteaded a tract of land in Skagit county. Mr. Pritts came to his present farm in Nooksack township about twenty-three years ago. His wife was born in Illinois and in early life was brought to Whatcom county by her parents, her marriage to Mr. Pritts occurring in Nooksack. To Mr. and Mrs. Nolte has been born a son, Ernest E.
Ernest C. Nolte has proven himself a good citizen in the best sense of the term, for he has not only been successful in his individual affairs but has also cooperated with his fellow citizens in all local efforts to advance the interests of the community. A man of splendid character and forceful personality, he has so ordered his actions as to win a high place in the esteem and confidence of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 109-110.
FRANK M. PETERSEN
Frank M. Petersen in a worthy representative of the agricultural interests of Whatcom county, possessing to a notable degree that progressive spirit which promotes public good and conserves popular interests while advancing individual prosperity. He is of the second generation of his family to be identified with Whatcom county and he has attained an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of the people of his community. Mr. Petersen is a native of Whatcom county, having been born at Ferndale on the 24th of March, 1892, and is a son of John C. and Mary (Jensen) Petersen, both of whom were born and reared in Denmark. They emigrated to the United States in 1883 and first located in Minnesota, where they spent a few years. About 1886 they went to Los Angeles, California, where they lived about eighteen months, and then, in 1887, came to Whatcom county. The father went to work near Blaine, being engaged in clearing land for two or three years, and then preempted one hundred and sixty acres of land two miles east of Blaine. Later he sold that tract and bought twenty acres one and a half miles east of Ferndale, which he cleared of the stumps and brush which covered it, and then sold it in 1900. About 1899 he bought eighty acres of land on the Nooksack river, one and a half miles south of Ferndale, and which at that time was practically all covered with brush and timber. He cleared it, developing the place into a good farm and living there until 1919, when he retired and is now residing in Bellingham, having leased the farm to his son, Frank M. He is also the owner of another fine ranch along the Nooksack river, near Ferndale. To Mr. and Mrs. Petersen were born three children, namely: Frank M.; Mrs. Carrie Bergsma, who died February 26, 1926, leaving three children, Howard, Leslie and Margaret; and Mrs. Myrtle King, who has a son, Robert.
Frank M. Petersen was educated in the public schools of Ferndale, graduating from the high school, and he remained with his father until the latter retired from the home farm, when he leased it and has continued to operate it to the present time. He is energetic and persevering, thoroughly understands every phase of agriculture, and exercises sound judgment and wise discrimination in the operation of his place. The farm is well improved and, under his able management, is returning a handsome reward for the labor bestowed on it. Mr. Petersen keeps twenty head of good Holstein cattle and ten head of young cattle. He has most of the land in hay and grain and has about five acres in sugar beets. He is progressive and up-to-date in his ideas and has won a good reputation among his fellow farmers for his enterprising spirit. He is a member of the Pomona Grange and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association.
Mr. Petersen was married May 20, 1919, to Miss Mamie Newell, who was born and reared in Iowa, a daughter of William B. and Laura (Eastman) Newell, the latter of whom is deceased, while the father is still living in Iowa, where he follows the occupation of farming. Mrs. Petersen received a good education and taught school prior to her marriage. She is a member of the Bellingham Chapter, D. A. R., being eligible on three lines of ancestry. Mr. and Mrs. Petersen have two children, Mary Ellen, born September 14, 1920; and Nelda Claire, born May 18, 1922. Mr. Petersen is a man of influence in local affairs, is thoroughly in sympathy with all movements looking toward the betterment or advancement of the community, and enjoys the unbounded respect and confidence of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 668-671.
WILEY C. RITCHIE
The prosperity and substantial welfare of a town or community are in a large measure due to the enterprise and foresight of its citizens. It is the progressive, wide-awake men of affairs who make the real history of any locality and their influence in shaping and directing its varied interests is difficult to estimate. W. C. Ritchie, for a number of years one of Ten Mile's successful farmers, and now actively connected with the work of the county dairymen's association, is one of the enterprising spirits who have contributed to the welfare and prosperity of his community, and he is well deserving a specific mention in a history of this section. Mr. Ritchie was born in North Carolina on the 17th of July, 1870, and is a son of M. W. and Rebecca (Rodgers) Ritchie, both of whom also were natives of that state. The father was a blacksmith by trade. When the subject of this sketch was but a small lad the family moved to Kentucky, where they remained about eight years, and then went to Minnesota, where the father died. The mother died in Missouri.
W. C. Ritchie secured his education in the public schools of Kentucky and Minnesota, and he then learned the trade of a blacksmith, and also became an expert engineer, being employed for a number of years as an engineer on the Great Northern Railroad in Minnesota. He was always in touch with farming, living on a farm during part of his early life. In 1906 he came to Whatcom county, locating in Bellingham, where he built and set up the machinery for his brother's mill. He also ran a locomotive for a lumber company for several years. In 1907 he bought his present farm of fifteen acres, to which he later added twenty acres. The original tract was covered with a heavy growth of timber, which was cut off for his brother's mill at Alki, and eventually he got that tract entirely cleared, while the twenty acres tract is all slashed. He has developed his farm into one of the best ranches of its size in this locality, and he is here devoting his efforts mainly to dairy farming, keeping six milk cows and four head of young stock. He raises his own feed and has so managed the place as to derive a nice income therefrom. Being an expert mechanic, he has frequently been called upon to do repair work in logging camps, and is also a truck repairman, in addition to which he does a good deal of blacksmithing. About 1921 Mr. Ritchie began hauling milk to Bellingham for the dairy association, for which purpose he employed two trucks, collecting milk from parts of Ten Mile, Van Dyke, Lawrence and Rome townships, and he hauls more milk to this station than does any other man.
On June 16, 1895, Mr. Ritchie was married to Miss Susannah Meisel, who was born in Minnesota and whose parents are deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Ritchie have been born ten children, namely: Mrs. Esther Welch, of Bellingham, who is the mother of two children; Jennings; Leonard, of Renton, who is married and has one child; Lloyd; Alton, who died at the age of thirteen months; and Max, Ione, Wilfred, Ruth and Arthur. Mr. Ritchie has been active in local affairs, having been a member of the school board for about six years, while he has been a member of the board of supervisors for three years, being at this time chairman of the board. He was formerly a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. He is keenly alive to every opportunity for improving local conditions, an evidence of which was his sinking of a well, four feet in diameter and one hundred and thirty-six feet deep, on his place. He installed an electric pump and supplied water to three of his neighboring farmers, a service greatly appreciated, as this neighborhood was very dry. He possesses to a marked degree all the essential elements of good citizenship, and because of his fine public spirit and his splendid record since coming to this locality he has won and retains an enviable standing here.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 354.
REED C. ROSSON, D. D. S.
Dr. Reed C. Rosson, who has been actively engaged in the practice of dentistry at Bellingham since December, 1913, is recognized as one of the able representatives of the profession in Whatcom county. His birth occurred at Cherryvale, Kansas, in the year 1882, his parents being George W. and Margaret Rosson, both of whom are deceased. Having decided upon a professional career, Reed C. Rosson began preparation therefor as a student in the Western Dental College of Kansas City, Missouri, from which he was graduated in 1907. During the two succeeding years he was engaged in practice in Kansas, his native state, and then in 1909 made his way westward to Washington and opened an office in Seattle, where he remained until December, 1913. At the latter date he came to Bellingham, where he has continued to the present time.
In 1922 Dr. Rossen was united in marriage to Grace Shield, of Bellingham. He belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Fraternal Order of Eagles and is also a member of the Masonic fraternity. In politics he is independent.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 899.
HARRY G. SMITH
Only that can coordinate, centralize and make for unity which administers to the welfare of all. On the other hand, whatever makes for the general welfare will be found to include the individual as well. This is the goal of the Washington Cooperative Egg & Poultry Association, and its phenomenal success amply demonstrates the value of collective marketing and selling. Each year in its history has been marked by notable progress in its splendid work. Members of the organization owe much to the broad vision, unfaltering courage and keen sagacity of those upon whom the burden of direction and administration has fallen, and in this connection Harry G. Smith, the efficient manager of the business at Bellingham, is deserving of particular mention.
A native of Ohio, Mr. Smith was born April 21, 1873, and his education was acquired in the public schools of Missouri. In the latter state he entered the poultry business and in 1902 came to Washington. He resided in Seattle for eighteen years and in 1920 came to Bellingham as manager of the local branch of the Washington Cooperative Egg & Poultry Association. He is devoted to the interests in his charge and his efforts have been beneficially resultant. He is thoroughly conversant with the details of the poultry industry and his work has elicited strong approbation.
The association was organized in 1917 by G. M. Caylor, George H. Griffiths, G. E. Van Horn and several others and is the outgrowth of the Kulshan Poultry Association, composed of a group of egg producers who pooled their output, which was sold in Seattle. It was started with one hundred and fifty members and practically no capital, and today it has more than thirteen hundred and fifty members in Whatcom county alone. It has forty-six hundred stockholders, a paid up capital of five hundred thousand dollars and an authorized capital of two million dollars. The officers are: S. D. Sanders, president and general manager; George H. Griffiths, vice president; and Frank J. Swayne, secretary-treasurer. The association has storage capacity at Bellingham for ten thousand cases of eggs and two cars of dressed poultry. The Lynden plant will accommodate three cars of eggs and three cars of dressed poultry. The members receive market prices and better for their products, in addition to an annual dividend of eight per cent on every dollar loaned the association through the deduction of one cent per dozen. This is a well organized, efficiently conducted business, and the magnitude of its operations is indicated by the fact that in 1924 the association paid to its members over one million two hundred fifty thousand dollars for eggs and poultry. The gross business for 1923 was four million, two hundred and seventy-eight thousand, five hundred and forty dollars, and in 1925 it passed the ten million dollar mark. Ten receiving stations have been established and a fleet of twelve trucks is of great value to the members in delivering feed and collecting eggs. In 1917 the egg receipts were fourteen thousand, two hundred and fifty eight cases and in 1925 they amounted to five hundred and forty-two thousand, one hundred and twelve cases. Aside from the shipments to New York eggs were marketed in Elmira, Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Buffalo, Detroit and Chicago, as well as Miami, Florida, and also Alaska and the Hawaiian islands. Eastern sales of eggs and poultry are made through the Pacific Egg Producers Cooperative, Inc., of which Earl W. Benjamin is sales manager, with offices at No. 178 Duane street, New York city. The western Washington eggs command a premium on the New York market because of their exceptional quality and are helping to make the northwest famous. The association retains control of the product until placed in the hands of the final purchaser, thus eliminating all in between speculators. The general offices are situated in Seattle, and branches are maintained at Lynden, Bellingham, Mount Vernon, Everett, Alderwood Manor, Tacoma, Oak Harbor, Aberdeen and Winlock. The association operates four mills, located at Bellingham, Everett, Lynden and Tacoma.
This great industry meets an economic need also. It does not impoverish the country but enriches the soil. The logged-off land, adapted to no other branch of agriculture, is converted into a profit-paying business. The land, buildings, equipment and stock of the members of the association are valued at more than thirty-five million dollars. Two out of every three families own automobiles; more than half of the homes are lighted by electricity and equipped with running water and bath rooms. Egg checks are received weekly by the members and dividend checks paid at the end of each year. Thus these poultrymen are valuable citizens, who are not only building their own individual communities but form one of the greatest and wealthiest business organizations of the northwest. The association ranks with the largest and most progressive institutions of the kind in the United States. Washcoegg, its official publication, is issued weekly and furnishes to the public the members of the association vital information and statistics relative to the activities and achievements of the organization.
In February, 1900, Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Miss Ola Carter, of Oklahoma, and they have three children: Harry, Dora and Ina. Mr. Smith is connected with the Lions Club and the Modern Woodmen of America, while his political views are in accord with the tenets of the democratic party. A business man of broad experience, mature judgment and pronounced ability, he has contributed materially toward the prestige of the association which he represents and his worth as a citizen is uniformly conceded.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 404-405.
OLIVER H. SPRAGUE
O. H. Sprague is a creditable representative of the agricultural element of Whatcom county, and he has earned a high reputation for enterprise, industry and honor. He was born in Arkansas on the 11th of January, 1852, and is a son of A. D. and Wilhelmina (Sager) Sprague, the latter of whom was a native of Germany, whence she came to this country with her family, who settled in Arkansas. The father was born at Springfield, Illinois, and in 1869 he crossed the plains with an ox team, locating at Olympia, Washington, where he remained until his death, which occurred in 1875. He had been engaged in teaming and freighting and also owned some farm land. O. H. Sprague had preceded his parents to this state, but they were accompanied here by seven other children, namely: Katherine, who died in Olympia; Alameda, deceased; Etta, who is the wife of George Gilbach, of Olympia; Ada, the wife of Dr. J. W. Mowell, also of Olympia; Alice, the wife of Edward Rabbeson and now deceased; Frederick of Portland, Oregon; and Roderick, who died in 1923. The eldest child, Belle, became the wife of David Dodd, of Idaho, and is now deceased.
O. H. Sprague attended the public schools of Arkansas and completed his studies in the schools of Olympia. He then worked in logging camps until 1886, making his headquarters at Olympia, and in March, 1888, he came to Whatcom county and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land on Kendall creek. The only entrance to his land was by trail, no roads having been built through that section, so that he was unable to removed any of the fine timber off his place for several years, burning many magnificent cedar logs. He proved up on the land and remained there until 1907, having cleared about forty acres. Mr. Sprague then bought one hundred and sixty acres of land on the river near Deming, about ten acres of which he cleared, and he was engaged in dairy farming there until 1909, when he sold the place, after which he went to San Juan island, where he bought one hundred and sixty acres of land. He cleared ten acres of the tract and lived there until 1917, when he came to his present farm in Ten Mile township, comprising forty acres of fine land. The former owner had cleared thirteen acres and had built a good house and barn and otherwise improved it, so that Mr. Sprague was able to at once engage in dairy farming, in which he has continued to the present time, having met with a very fine measure of success. He has cleared about twenty acres more of the land and raises splendid crops of hay, grain and roughage for the stock, and he sells his milk to the Carnation milk plant at Everson, keeping from ten to fifteen good grade cows. He is enterprising and energetic in his methods and has exercised sound judgment in all his operations, and the success which has come to him has been the legitimate result of his well directed labors.
In 1887, at Seattle, Washington, Mr. Sprague was married to Mrs. Henrietta (Clark) Hodgekinson, who was born in England and who came to this country alone in 1881, locating in Illinois. Her parents, Joseph and Charlotte (Keeling) Clark, were natives and lifelong residents of England, where both died. Mr. Sprague's career has been a long, busy and useful one, his activities in a material way adding to his individual prosperity, while at the same time he has been interested in the welfare of his fellow citizens and the community in general. He has never allowed the pursuit of wealth to warp his kindly nature but has preserved the warmth of his heart for the broadening and helpful influences of human life, being a kindly and generous friend to all, and throughout the community he is held in high regard.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 63-64.
VIRGIL D. THOMASON
Virgil D. Thomason, one of Bellingham's well known realtors, has long been identified with this line of activity and is recognized as a business man of keen sagacity and thorough reliability. He was born September 14, 1881, in Grant county, Indiana, and was a child of eight years when his parents, Franklin and Jennie (McCracken) Thomason, migrated to Nebraska. In that state the father followed the occupation of farming until death terminated his labors, and the mother now lives in Bellingham.
Virgil D. Thomason received the benefit of a high school education and was reared on the home ranch, becoming thoroughly familiar with the work of plowing, planting and harvesting. As a young man he was engaged in farming and stock raising in Nebraska, and in 1900 he came to the Pacific coast, locating in Bellingham. In 1904 he returned to Nebraska but at the end of four years again made the trip to Bellingham, where he has since resided. For several years he was employed as a real estate salesman, becoming thoroughly acquainted with the business, and since 1917 he has been an independent operator. He opened an office on Elk street and is now located at No. 1318 Cornwall avenue. He conducts a general real estate business but specializes in farm lands, and he also writes insurance. Mr. Thomason has an intimate knowledge of the worth of all property in this section of the county, and many important transfers of realty have been effected through his agency. He has never taken advantage of another in a commercial transaction, faithfully executing the many trusts reposed in him, and he has prospered in his undertakings.
In 1906 Mr. Thomason married Miss Edith L. McEwen, of Nebraska, and to their union has been born one child, Oren Duane. Mr. Thomason belongs to the Bellingham Real Estate Association and the Chamber of Commerce and in politics is a republican. He has never lost his interest in agricultural pursuits and is the owner of "The Meadows," a fine dairy farm, situated near Laurel, Washington. He has a wide acquaintance and many steadfast friends in Bellingham, and his success has resulted from unceasing effort, tenacity of purpose and a willingness to assume the cares and responsibilities of business life.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 122.
GEORGE S. TOWN
It is always pleasant and profitable to contemplate the career of a man who has made a distinctive success of life and won the honor and respect of his fellow citizens. Such is the record of the well-known farmer whose name appears at the head of this sketch, than whom a more whole-souled or popular man it would be difficult to find within the limits of the township where he has his home. G. S. Town was born in Fillmore county, Minnesota, on the 25th of March, 1858, and is a son of Salem and Eliza (Reid) Town. The father, a native of New York state, died in 1898, and the mother, who was born in Ireland, died in Texas about 1890. Salem Town moved to Iowa in 1866 and bought eighty acres of land in Harrison county, to the cultivation of which he devoted the remaining active years of his life.
G. S. Town received his educational training in the public schools of Iowa and remained on the home farm until seventeen years of age. From that time he was variously employed until 1882, when he went to Walla Walla, Washington, where he remained four years. He then returned to Iowa, remaining there until 1889, when he again came to Washington and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land in Clallam county, which he proved up and sold six years later. After his marriage, in 1898, he went to Seattle, where he lived about a year, followed by four months in Roche Harbor, Washington. In 1899 he bought a livery stable in Deming, Whatcom county, to the operation of which he devoted himself for about eighteen months. In 1901 Mr. Town bought forty acres of land in Ferndale township, to which he later added forty acres more, and from that time to the present the cultivation of this ranch has occupied his entire attention. When he secured the land it was entirely covered with brush and stumps and a vast amount of labor was required to get it into shape for cultivation. He cleared off forty acres, which he devoted to general farming, raising all the crops common to this section of the state. He keeps also ten head to cattle and three horses. He has made many permanent and substantial improvements on the place, which now ranks among the choice farms of this locality, has exercised sound judgment and excellent taste in all his operations and is accounted one of the enterprising and progressive men of his community, his record since settling here having been such as to gain for him the admiration and respect of all who know him. He is deeply interested in everything pertaining to the welfare or advancement of the locality in which he lives and co-operates with his neighbors in all movements for the betterment of the community.
In 1898 Mr. Town was married to Mrs. Ruth Vail, who was born in England and who died February 11, 1922. At the time of her marriage to Mr. Town she was the mother of seven children by her former marriage, of whom four are now living: W. J., Gus R., Mrs. Maud Van Horn, who lives in California, and Leslie, who married Miss Grace Bartel and they have four children: George, born January 7, 1918; Jacob, born April 1, 1919; Anna Violet, born March 22, 1921, and Richard, born August 21, 1922. Mr. Town is a member of Ferndale Lodge, No. 395, Woodmen of the World. A man of genial and friendly disposition, he easily makes friends and is extremely popular among his associates.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 641-642.
Examples that impress force of character on all who study them are worthy of record in the annals of history wherever they are found, and by a few general observations it is hoped to convey herewith some idea of the high standing of Cornelius Voskamp, one of the leading farmers and dairymen of his section of Whatcom county. Those who know him will readily acquiesce in the statement that many elements of a solid and practical nature are united in his makeup and which through a series of years have gained for him well deserved success and prominence in his community. Mr. Voskamp is a native of Ottawa county, Michigan, born on the 16th of January, 1881, and is a son of Martin and Gertrude Voskamp, both of whom were natives of Holland. They came to the United States in 1870 and settled at Grand Rapids, Michigan, where the father was employed at various line of work for about four years. Then, at about the time of his marriage, he rented a tract of land, on which he carried on farming operations until 1900, when he came to Whatcom county and bought eighty acres of land in Delta township, eighteen acres of which were cleared and on which stood a small house and a good-sized barn. He at once applied himself to the clearing of the remainder of the land and at the time of his death, in 1917, he had sixty acres cleared and under cultivation. His wife passed away in 1884. To this worthy couple were born four children, namely: Mrs. Mary Hendrick, who lives in Michigan; P. G., who lives in Seattle, Washington; Cornelius, the immediate subject of this sketch; and Mrs. Margaret Marlink, who lives in Holland, Michigan.
Cornelius Voskamp attended the public schools of his native state and remained at home until his marriage. He accompanied the family and their removal to Washington and on the death of his father he bought out the other heirs to the estate, so that he is now the owner of the eighty acres comprising the homestead. Splendid improvements have been made on the place, including the erection of an attractive house in 1909 and an excellent barn in 1911. The homestead is nicely located on a paved highway and its general appearance is inviting and reflects great credit on those who have effected the various improvements made here. Prior to 1919 the place contained fifteen good grade cows, but in that year Mr. Voskamp started a herd of pure-bred registered Ayrshire cattle, buying three cows and four heifers, as well as a registered bull, from George Parberry, of Mountain View. Our subject now owns thirty-two head of registered stock, the pride of the community, and which has been shown at the leading fairs in this section of the state. In 1923 he took first prize on his herd, first prize on an aged cow, first and second prizes on one year old heifers and several more prizes at the Northwest fair held at Lynden. He did not exhibit in 1925, the year having been so abnormally dry that the cows were not in condition for show purposes. In this and many other ways Mr. Voskamp has shown a progressive disposition and has won a high reputation for his energy and up-to-date ideas relative to the various phases of farm management and operation. He is an active member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and is deeply interested in everything that in any way pertains to the prosperity and advancement of his community. He is an earnest advocate of good roads, in the securing of which for this locality he has been an influential factor.
On June 19, 1918, Mr. Voskamp was married to Miss Anna Roo, who was born in Holland, Michigan, a daughter of Albert and Margaret Roo. Her parents were natives of Holland, whence they came to the United States in 1862, locating in Michigan. There they lived until 1901, when they came to Whatcom county, buying a ranch, to the farming of which Mr. Roo devoted himself for several years. He recently moved to Lynden, where he is now living, retired from active labor. To him and his wife were born four children: Jennie, Charles, Anna and Ralph. Mr. and Mrs. Voskamp have three children, namely: Martin A., born November 28, 1919; Marguerite Irene, born January 13, 1922; and Alvin, born September 2, 1925.
Mr. Voskamp is easily the peer of any of his fellows in the qualities that constitute correct manhood and good citizenship. He possesses not only those powers which render a man efficient in the material affairs of life but also those strong social qualities which commend a man to the good opinion of those about him. In his daily affairs he manifests a generous regard for his fellow citizens, and as a large-hearted, whole-souled gentleman no one in the community merits and commands more fully the confidence and good will of the people generally.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 338-339.
F. B. WALTON
Of honored pioneer stock, F. B. Walton is a true product of the west, endowed with the progressive spirit of the age, and his name is known throughout Washington in connection with the theater business. He is one of the influential citizens of Bellingham and has depended upon his own efforts for advancement, converting his opportunities into tangible assets. He was born January 6, 1881, in Albany, Oregon, and is a son of C. W. and Susie L. Walton, who traveled overland from Indiana to the Pacific coast, experiencing the dangers and hardships incident to life on the frontier. The father engaged in farming, also dealing in grain, and is now living retired in Bellingham, where he has made his home since 1914.
After the completion of his high school course F. B. Walton entered the dry goods business, with which he was connected for eleven years, and then became a vaudeville actor. He traveled for two years and with his brothers, Chester and Charles, presented a singing sketch which won popular favor. In 1912 he embarked in the motion picture business in Idaho and later operated the Majestic Theater in Spokane, Washington. He subsequently built and controlled a theater at Colfax, Washington, and in 1918 returned to Bellingham, purchasing the American Theater. This is now the property of Bellingham Theaters, Inc., which also owns the Grand, the Egyptian, the Rialto and the Dream. The corporation was formed August 10, 1922, and is controlled by the following officers: William C. Southern, president; F. B. Walton, vice president and general manager; W. S. Quimby, treasurer; and C. C. Keplinger, secretary. They have expended a large sum in remodeling the above mentioned houses, which are now provided with every accessory of the modern theater, and the highest quality of entertainment obtainable is furnished to patrons. Mr. Walton has thoroughly systematized the business under his expert management the company is making rapid strides.
On August 17, 1913, while engaged in business in Idaho, Mr. Walton was united in marriage to Miss Rose Armfield, a resident of Sandpoint. Mr. Walton is a director of the Washington Association of Motion Picture Theater Owners and along fraternal lines is connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He belongs to the Rotary Club and is one of the energetic members of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce. He is allied with the republican party and heartily endorses every movement destined to prove of benefit to his city, in which he is highly esteemed.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 403.
Gustav Waschke, farmer of Ferndale township, is an example of all that constitutes true manhood and good citizenship, and none stands higher than he in the confidence and esteem of the community. His career has been characterized by duty faithfully performed and by industry, thrift and wise-directed efforts he has gained well merited prosperity. A native of Minnesota, he was born on the 6th of September, 1884, and is a son of Gottlieb and Bertha (Matzke) Waschke, who were natives of Germany, where they were reared, educated and married. They came to the United States about 1880, settling in Minnesota, where they lived until 1899, when they came to Whatcom county and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land near Ferndale. They have been successful in their business affairs and still live on that place, though they have sold off all but fifty acres of their original ranch.
Gustav Waschke attended the public schools of his home neighborhood in Minnesota and completed his education in the schools of Whatcom county. He remained at home with his parents until his marriage, in 1909, when he bought forty acres of land on section 26, Ferndale township, practically all covered with brush and stumps. He applied himself with energy to the task of clearing the land, has prepared twenty acres for the plow, and has here devoted himself closely to its cultivation. It is particularly well adapted to the raising of potatoes, in which Mr. Waschke has been eminently successful, to such an extent that locally he is called the "Potato King." In 1924 from two and a half acres of potatoes he netted eight hundred and twenty-two dollars, due not only to the enormous yield, but also to the fact that he raises only the best varieties, which always command the top market price. Mr. Waschke keeps ten good grade Jersey cows, has a large flock of hens and carries on general farming. He has recently built a fine, new modern home, well arranged, with modern conveniences, and very attractive in appearance, and they are now very comfortably situated.
On June 18, 1909, Mr. Waschke was married to Miss Agnes Matzke, who was born in Germany and came to the United States with her parents in 1903. Her father died December 14, 1917, and her mother is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Waschke are the parents of two children, Theodore, born August 10, 1913, and Arnold December 18, 1916. In every relation of life Mr. Waschke has been true to himself, and therefore true to all with whom he has had dealings. He is known throughout the community as a competent and enterprising farmer and his fine personal qualities have won for him the respect and good will of all who know him. He takes a commendable interest in the welfare of the locality in which he lives and cooperates with his fellow citizens in the advancement of measures calculated to better the moral, civic or material welfare of the locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 640-641.
FLORENCE E. WERTMAN
Florence E. Wertman, one of the successful representatives of the teaching profession in Whatcom county, has been engaged in educational work at Bellingham since 1909 and has served as principal of the Columbia school during the past four years. Her birth occurred at Freeport, Illinois, her parents being John and Sarah (Ault) Wertman, who were natives of Pennsylvania and Ohio, respectively. The father came of French-German lineage, while the mother was of Scotch descent. By trade John Wertman was a carriage maker.
Florence E. Wertman left her native state for Nebraska at an early age. After the completion of a high school course at Sioux Falls, South Dakota, she matriculated in the State Normal School at Spearfish, South Dakota, from which she was graduated. Subsequently she returned to Illinois for university work in Chicago, where she specialized in pedagogy. Going back to South Dakota, she first engaged in teaching at Whitewood and later at Lead, that state. The year 1909 witnessed her arrival at Bellingham, Washington, where she became a teacher in the Columbia school and subsequently spent a number of years as an instructor in the Roeder school. Thereafter she was made school principal at Silver Beach, thus serving until she returned to the Columbia school at Bellingham, of which she has been principal for the past four years. An experienced, able and successful educator, her efforts have been a factor in the intellectual development of the community.
In politics Miss Wertman maintains an independent attitude, believing that the qualifications of a candidate are of more importance than his party affiliation. In religious faith she is a Baptist. She has membership in the Business and Professional Women's Club and enjoys an extensive and favorable acquaintance in Bellingham and Whatcom county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 663.
Among the citizens of Whatcom county who were born under a foreign flag but who have proven themselves loyal and worthy citizens of their adopted country, is Tim Wierstra, who because of his indomitable industry and excellent traits of character has won a high place in the esteem of the entire community in which he lives. Mr. Wierstra was born at Sneek, Holland, on the 26th of November, 1900, and is a son of W. and Matja (Bosma) Wierstra. His father was born in that country in 1855, a son of J. and Christina (Wit) Wierstra, both of whom were natives of and spent their entire lives in Holland. W. Wierstra, who was a farmer by vocation, spent five years in the national army of Holland, part of the time in active field service and the remainder of the time under call. In 1910 he brought his family to the United States, coming direct to Whatcom county and buying ten acres of land in Sumas. The tract was covered with stumps and brush, but he went to work with a will and in the course of time cleared all the land. In 1920 he bought his present place of forty acres, of which he has cleared a number of acres, and is here carrying on a prosperous dairy business. He keeps twelve cows, most of which are good grade Holsteins, and ships his milk to the Carnation milk plant at Everson. His fields are well cultivated and he raises sufficient grain and roughage for his stock. He is a man of sterling character and is well liked throughout the community.
Tim Wierstra attended the public schools of his native country and completed his education at Sumas, this county, to which place he came with his father in 1910. He has remained with the latter to the present time, having assisted him in the work of clearing the land and improving the home farm. However, he works out most of the time, and he has driven a truck for the Columbia Valley Lumber Company, of Everson. A man of steady and industrious habits, he has proven faithful in every position which he has held and has earned the confidence and respect of all with whom he has come in contact. He is the youngest of four children born to his parents, the others being: Christina, who remains in Holland, is married and has four children; Jouke, who lives in Montana, is married and has four children; and Mrs. Johanna Westhof, of Clearbrook, this county, who is the mother of two children.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 354.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page