Emil Anderson is widely known as one of the honored citizens of Delta township, where he has for a number of years been prominently identified with the farming and poultry interest of the locality. His well directed efforts in the practical affairs of life, his capable management of his business interests and his sound judgment have brought him prosperity, his life demonstrating what may be accomplished by a man of energy and ambition who is not afraid of hard work and has the perseverance to continue along the lines which he has mapped out. Mr. Anderson was born in Sweden on the 7th of June, 1883, and is a son of Ole and Anna (Larson) Anderson, both of whom also were natives of Sweden. The father died in 1896 and the mother is now making her home with her son, the subject of this sketch. They were the parents of two children, the subject and a sister, Amy, who died in September, 1918.
Emil Anderson attended the public schools of Sweden, completing his education in the high school at Seattle, Washington, and also taking a commercial course in Wilson's Business College in that city. He had come to this country in 1906, and he became superintendent of the Isaacson Iron Works in Seattle, holding that position for five years. In 1920 Mr. Anderson came to Whatcom county and bought thirty acres of land in Delta township, seven miles northwest of Lynden, and he at once went to work on the clearing of the land, which was covered with stumps and brush. He cleared part of the tract, which he put under the plow, raising hay and grain, and also engaged in the chicken business, in which he has met with very encouraging success. He has built a good barn and house and also has a good chicken house, twenty by one hundred and forty feet in size. He keeps two thousand laying hens, which he has found to be a very profitable source of income. He also devoted a part of his time to the teaching of the violin, in which he is an expert. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association.
On August 13, 1918, Mr. Anderson was married to Miss Esther Axlund, a native of Minnesota and a daughter of A. P. and Christine (Engman) Axlund. Her parents, who were natives of Sweden, came to the United States in 1882 and settled in Minnesota, where they lived until 1899, when they came to Lynden, Whatcom county, and bought thirty acres of land, on which they established their home and spent the remainder of their lives, the mother passing away November 10, 1908, and the father December 1, 1915. To this worthy couple were born five children, namely: B., who lives at Lynden; Joseph, who also lives in Lynden; Esther, Mrs. Anderson; and Levi and Reuben. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are the parents of three children, namely: Doris, who was born in Seattle, June 12, 1919; Sterling, born on the ranch near Lynden, March 5, 1921; and Eveline, born June 15, 1923. Personally Mr. Anderson is a courteous and genial man, pleasant and companionable, and by right living and fine public spirit he has gained an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 198-199.
ROBERT JAMES B. ATKINSON
One of the conspicuous figures in agricultural circles in the vicinity of Ten Mile is R. J. B. Atkinson, who has gained an excellent reputation as a man of energetic habits and progressive methods. His useful career has conferred credit on the community and his splendid qualities of character have won him the respect of the entire locality.
Mr. Atkinson was born in Napierville county, in the province of Quebec, Canada, in 1857, and is a son of Abraham and Caroline (Struthers) Atkinson. The former was a native of England, whence he came to America in early boyhood, and the latter was born in Canada, of Scotch antecedents. Our subject secured his education in the public schools, and he remained on the home farm for several years, also spending about two years in Vermont. Later he went to Michigan, where he spent five years working in the woods and at other occupations, and in 1887 he came to Washington, stopping for a short time in Portland, Oregon, en route. Locating at Seattle, he went to work in the woods and a year or two later came to Bellingham, where he was similarly employed. He also did timbering in coal mines for a brief period. In 1894 Mr. Atkinson went to Glen Echo and bought the rights to forty acres of raw land, which contained some good cedar timber. He cleared this tract sufficiently to enable him to prove up on it, remaining there two years, and he then returned to Bellingham and bought a home on Meridian street, where he lived for four years. At that time he also continued his logging. For a while he was employed in shipbuilding and hewed out the keel of the ship Fulton. He then located on a tract of land near his present farm, where he remained for a year or two, and in 1904 he bought the place where he now resides, moving there in the spring of 1905. It was wild and uncleared land, only the cedar having been cut off, and the only highways to the locality were trails.
Mr. Atkinson devoted himself closely to clearing and improving the tract and in the course of time developed a splendid farmstead, where he is still living. About twenty acres of the land are cleared, the remainder being in pasture, and he is carrying on dairy and poultry farming, with success and profit. He keeps six cows and has about seven hundred and fifty chickens, which number he intends to increase to two thousand. He owns his own breeder and runs only high grade stock, while he raises all the feed and roughage necessary for his stock. Mr. Atkins also has a good bearing orchard for private use, and he and his family are very comfortably situated.
On December 25, 1895, Mr. Atkinson was married to Miss Laura Allen, who was born in Fannin county, Texas, a daughter of William and Lydia (Mullins) Allen, the former of whom was a native of Arkansas and was a soldier in the Confederate army during the Civil war, while the latter was a native of Tennessee. To Mr. and Mrs. Atkinson have been born nine children, namely: Alma, born in 1896, who is the wife of George Kometz, of Bellingham, and has two children; Arthur Allen, born in 1898, who is at home; Barnard True, born in 1899, who also is at home; Stella, born in 1901, who is the wife of B. Hindman and has a daughter, Bettie; Philip James, born in 1902, who is married and lives at Ten Mile; Robert William, who was born in 1904; and Gilbert Miles, Ruth Zella and Edgar Levi, all of them having been born in Whatcom county
Mr. Atkinson was formerly a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows but is not now actively connected with that order. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. Mrs. Atkinson is a member of the Meridian school board and of the Farm Bureau. They are both vitally interested in everything pertaining to the progress and welfare of their community and earnestly support every measure for the advancement of the public good. They move in the best social circles of the neighborhood and are deservedly popular among their associates.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 19-20.
One of the public-spirited and successful farmers of Ten Mile township, Whatcom county, is Charles Bentley, who withholds his cooperation from no movement which is calculated to promote public improvement. What he has achieved in life proves the force of his character and illustrates his steadfastness of purpose. His advancement to a position of independence and honor in his locality is the direct outcome of his persistent and earnest labors, and he holds a high place in public esteem.
Mr. Bentley was born in Wilson county, Kansas, on the 24th of December, 1875, and is a son of David and Edith (Boyer) Bentley, both of whom were natives of Illinois. The father died in Kansas in 1880, and his widow later became the wife of John F. Shettler, who in October, 1882, brought the family to Bellingham, Whatcom county. From there they had an Indian paddle them up the Nooksack river to Ferndale, where they stayed for a few months, and the father then homesteaded land at what was at the time called Yeager, in Ten Mile township. The tract was heavily timbered and in the process of clearing the land it became necessary to burn a large amount of fine timber. In the early days there they traded at Marietta, and as there were no roads they were compelled to pack all of their provisions and flour on their backs. Mr. Shettler worked out in the neighborhood, picking hops and doing other work in order to earn money for their current expenses, and eventually they cleared about twenty acres of the land. Our subject has a brother and a sister - Nathan, of Bellingham; and Minnie, who is the wife of Ed Kenoyer, who is represented in a personal sketch on other pages of this work.
Charles Bentley received a good public school education and remained at home until 1892, when he learned the printing trade, at which he was employed for several years. He then returned to school for a short time and subsequently went to work in shingle mills, following that occupation for a number of years in and around Bellingham. At the end of that time he went to Anacortes, where he followed the same line of work for six months, after which for a year he was employed in Pellet & Johnson's shingle mill in North Bellingham. He then came to Ten Mile, where he owned a small ranch, and worked for six or eight months in a shingle mill there, also working for about the same length of time in the Meridian mill.
In 1902 Mr. Bentley located on his present place, which then comprised twenty acres but which he has increased to thirty-three acres, all of which is now cleared and in cultivation. When he bought the land it was rough and uncleared, and a good deal of ditching was required to drain the tract properly. He is at present devoting much of his attention to dairy and poultry farming, keeping a good herd of Guernsey and Jersey cattle, while his chickens are White Leghorns of the Hollywood and Tancred strains. His well cultivated fields produce abundant crops of hay, grain and roughage, and he is so operating and managing his farm as to realize a very satisfactory return therefrom. He has made permanent and substantial improvements on the place and has a very comfortable and attractive home.
In 1898 Mr. Bentley was married to Miss Eva Kenoyer, who was born in Indiana, a daughter of John and Emmeline (West) Kenoyer, who were pioneer settlers of that state. The family came to Washington in March, 1884, and located in Ten Mile township, Whatcom county, having come by boat from Portland to Seattle and thence to Bellingham. Mr. Kenoyer's brother, Henry, preceded them to this locality, and here, in section 15, the father homesteaded a tract of land, having walked out to the place from Bellingham. He devoted his attention to the clearing of the land and also was during the greater part of his remaining years identified with the sawmilling business in this locality. His death occurred in 1919. To him and his wife were born four children, namely: Eva (Mrs. Bentley), Edward, Joseph, and Mrs. Sadie Piper, now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Bentley have become the parents of four children, namely: Otto, who is connected with the Farm Bureau at Bellingham; Wallace, who is in the employ of Dodge Brothers at Bellingham; Gladys, who is teaching at Paradise; and Woodrow. All of the children are living at home.
Mr. Bentley is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association, while fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. A wide-awake, energetic farmer, he is giving his close and painstaking attention to the details of his work and does well whatever he undertakes. He has worked hard for what he now possesses and is deserving of the respect and esteem of his fellowmen, for his record is one of which he may justifiably be proud. Mr. Bentley maintains a keen interest in everything affecting the welfare of his community, cooperating with his fellow citizens in all measures for the advancement of the public good, and he is rightfully numbered among the leading men of his locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 20-21.
JOHN HENRY COUNCILMAN
Improvement and progress may well be said to form the keynote of the character of J. H. Councilman, well known farmer and one Whatcom county's representative citizens. He has not only been interested in the advancement of his individual affairs but his influence has been felt in the upbuilding of the locality. The prosperity which he enjoys is the result of energy rightly applied and has been won by commendable qualities. Mr. Councilman is a native of the state of Illinois, where he was born on the 25th of July, 1856, and is a son of William H. and Rachel (Conrad) Councilman, both natives of the state of New York. In 1863 the family went to Minnesota, where the father bought one hundred and sixty acres of land and devoted himself to farming operations. It was necessary for him to haul his wheat by ox-team sixty miles to the Mississippi river, but he persevered, created a good homestead, and there spent his remaining years, dying at Plainview, Minnesota, in 1874. He was survived many years by his widow, whose death occurred in 1921. They were the parents of seven children, four of whom are still living, namely: J. H., the subject of this sketch; Walter, deceased; Mildred; Frank, deceased; Harriet, deceased; William H. and Susie R.
J. H. Councilman received the major portion of his education in the district school near his Minnesota home and his boyhood days were devoted to work on the farm. On the death of his father, when he was eighteen years of age, he took charge of the home place and ran it until 1906. In that year he went to Alberta, Canada, and took up one hundred and sixty acres of land, acquiring also another tract of similar size, to the cultivation of which he closely devoted himself for five years. He then came to Ferndale, Whatcom county, and bought ten acres of land near Ferndale, on which he now lives and where he is very comfortably situated. He keeps chickens and cows and has a fine cherry and apple orchard, from which he derives a nice income, and also receives the income from the one hundred and sixty acres of wheat land which he owns in Alberta. His home is very attractively situated on the new concrete highway and is a very comfortable and conveniently arranged place, which he keeps well improved in every respect.
In 1881 Mr. Councilman was married to Miss Lilla Stewart, a native of New York state and a daughter of Charles and Ann (Martin) Stewart, both of whom are natives of that state. Mr. and Mrs. Councilman have three children, namely: Charles H., who was born in Minnesota, is married and lives in Bellingham, this county; Claud S., who also is married; and Alice Ruth, who lives at home and is employed in a bank in Bellingham. These children were all provided with good educations and are well and favorably known throughout this locality. Mr. Councilman is a member of Bellingham Camp, M. W. A., and is also a member of the Grange. In a straightforward, conservative manner, Mr. Councilman has always performed the duties of citizenship, his support being depended upon in the furtherance of any laudable movement having for its object the betterment of the public welfare. He enjoys a wide acquaintance among the best citizens of this locality, many of whom are included in the circle of his warm friends, who esteem him for his genuine worth as a man and citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 494.
DON HOWARD DENTON
Don Howard Denton is well known to automobile owners of Bellingham as the proprietor of one of the best service stations in the city, and in this line of activity he is a pioneer. He was born November 20, 1883, in Howard City, Michigan, and his parents, Alexander H. and Nettie (Keith) Denton, have passed away. The mother's birth also occurred in the Wolverine state and the father was a native of New York. He came to Bellingham in 1899 and in 1900 returned to Michigan for his family, spending the remainder of his life in this city.
Don H. Denton attended the public schools of his native state and during vacation periods worked in his father's grocery store. He was seventeen years of age when his parents migrated to Bellingham, and he was employed in various capacities until 1906, when he accepted a position with the Standard Oil Company. He was made local manager and was here when the first service station was started in Seattle. Soon afterward one was established in Bellingham and Mr. Denton furnished gasoline to the first automobiles that came to the city, using the crude method of a bucket and funnel in filling the tanks. In 1921 he opened an automobile service station at No. 107 West Magnolia street and in 1925 moved to Grand avenue, securing a location opposite The Fair. The building is fifty by one hundred and thirty-two feet in dimensions and of brick and concrete construction. Mr. Denton sells oil, gas and automobile accessories and conducts a business of large proportions. He has the leading greasing station in Bellingham and was the first dealer in the city to adopt the Alemite system of lubrication.
In 1912 Mr. Denton married Miss Rachel E. Smith, a daughter of George S. and Sara E. Smith, who made the journey from Kansas to Washington in 1900. Mr. Smith was one of the pioneer grocers of Bellingham and served on the city council, working at all time for the best interests of the community. Mr. Denton is a thirty-second degree Mason and Shriner and belongs to Bellingham Chapter of the Eastern Star, with which his wife is also connected. He is a member of the Rotary Club and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He is deeply engrossed in business and has an expert knowledge of the line in which he specializes. His probity, enterprise and ability are well known to the business men of Bellingham and have met with a rich return of personal regard as well as a substantial measure of success.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 716.
PHILIP L. DONOVAN
As a member of one of the foremost families of Bellingham, Philip L. Donovan occupies an enviable place in social circles of the city, and he is also numbered among its enterprising young business men. For several years he was prominently identified with the logging industry but is now a dealer in automobiles. He was born in Bellingham on the 16th of October, 1893, and is a son of John Joseph and Clara Isabel (Nichols) Donovan. His father is one of the pioneer lumbermen of Whatcom county and a man of superior business ability who has long been classed with the industrial leaders of the Pacific northwest. A detailed account of the family is published elsewhere in this volume.
Philip L. Donovan supplemented his public school education by a course in the Worcester Polytechnic Institute of Massachusetts, for which he studied mechanical engineering, and was graduated with the class of 1915. For four years he was purchasing agent for the Bloedel-Donovan Lumber Mills, being connected with the logging department, and in the fall of 1918 embarked in the logging business on his own account. He was thus engaged for six years and on April 16, 1924, purchased the business of Charles R. Simpson, becoming agent for the Maxwell cars. Later he added the Chrysler machines but discontinued these lines in April, 1925, and secured the agency for the Hudson, Essex and Cadillac cars, of which he is the distributor in all parts of Whatcom county except the Sumas district. Mr. Donovan is assisted by three capable salesmen and maintains a well equipped repair shop, in which he employs five experienced mechanics. He is a close student of everything pertaining to the automotive trade and his technical knowledge is supplemented by keen sagacity and administrative power -qualities inherited from his father. His sales are increasing rapidly and the outlook of the business is very encouraging.
In 1916 Mr. Donovan married Miss Hazel Hart Prigmore, whose father was one of Seattle's distinguished jurists, and they have two sons, Arnold M. and Robert W. Mr. Donovan is a Catholic in religious faith and belongs to the local council of the Knights of Columbus. He is president of the Bellingham organization of Boy Scouts and in 1925 served the Kiwanis Club of this city in a similar capacity. He is a popular member of the Bellingham Golf & Country Club and one of the energetic workers of the Chamber of Commerce, of which he is a trustee. He is a junior member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party. He lends the weight of his support to every worthy public project, and his record sustains the high reputation which has ever been borne by the family.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 804-805.
In placing the name of Oscar Ebe, well known and successful farmer, in the front rank of Delta township's citizens, simple justice is done to a biographical fact recognized throughout his community. A man of good judgment, discretion and business ability of a high order, he has managed his affairs with success and has so impressed his individuality upon the community as to gain recognition as an enterprising and public-spirited citizen. Mr. Ebe was born in Baden, Germany, on the 10th of November, 1890, and is a son of Joseph and Josephina Ebe, both of whom were natives of the country, where the father followed the occupation of farming. Of the seven children born to them, three are now living: John, Julia and Oscar.
Oscar Ebe secured his educational training in the excellent public schools of his native land and remained under the parental roof until 1913, when he emigrated to the United States. He first stopped at Topeka, Kansas, where for four years he was employed on a farm. In 1917 he came to Goldendale, Klickitat county, Washington, where he was employed until 1919, when he came to Whatcom county and bought fifty acres of land in Delta township, six miles southwest of Lynden. The tract was all cleared and contained a good set of farm buildings and a silo. Mr. Ebe has shown himself to be a competent and capable farmer, and he has raised bounteous crops on his land, the 1925 crop of potatoes being an especially good one. His man field crops are hay, potatoes and corn, the latter being raised chiefly for ensilage. He has fifteen good grade cows and a nice flock of laying hens and keeps the place well improved in every respect, being a methodical and progressive man in all phases of his work.
Mr. Ebe was married, December 6, 1919, to Miss Lena Kloker, who was born at Goldendale, Washington, a daughter of Joseph and Dora Kloker, both of whom were natives of Germany. Her parents came to the United States in 1885 and 1870 respectively, and they were married in this country. They lived in Iowa for three years and then went to California, where they remained but a short time, going from there to eastern Oregon, where the father was engaged in farming for two years. He then located at Goldendale, Washington, where he worked at various employments for a few years after which he located on a homestead of eighty acres belonging to Mrs. Kloker, in the operation of which he was very successful, being able eventually to add five hundred and sixty acres to the original tract, and also acquiring another tract of six hundred and forty acres.Mr. and Mrs. Kloker retired from active farming about eight years ago, and the ranch is now operated by their son Carl. Five children were born to this worthy couple, namely: Aloys, born September 5, 1920; Dora, born January 3, 1922; and Frances, born August 29, 1923.
Mr. Ebe is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. Fraternally he is a member of the Bellingham Council, Knights of Columbus. He is a public-spirited man in all that the term implies, being interested in all enterprises tending to promote the general welfare and withholding his support from no movement for the good of his locality. His personal relations with his fellowmen have been mutually pleasant and agreeable, and being obliging and straight-forward in all the relations of life he has gained an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of all who have come in contact with him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 909-910.
Few citizens of the western part of Whatcom county are more widely or favorably known than is Andrew Erickson, who after a long and honorable career as a farmer is now practically retired from business affairs. His life has become a part of the history of the community in which he has made his home for many years, and his long and honorable business career has brought him before the public in such a way as to gain for him the esteem and confidence of his fellowmen. Keen perception, tireless energy and honesty of purpose, combined with mature judgment and every-day common sense, have been among his most prominent characteristics, and while laboring for individual success and for the material interests of the community he has also been not unmindful of the moral welfare of the people among whom he has mingled.
Mr. Erickson is a native of Norway, his birth having occurred in 1863, and he is a son of Eric and Karen Erickson, both of whom lived and died in their native land. They were the parents of three children: Ole and Michael, both deceased, and Andrew. The last named received a good, practical education in the public schools of his home neighborhood and then for five years was employed as a clerk in a store. In 1881, desiring a field of better opportunity for personal advancement, he came to the United States, locating in Minnesota, where he lived for six years. In 1887 Mr. Erickson came to Washington, stopping first at Tacoma and then going to Puyallup, where for three years he was employed in the hop yards. He then went to Snohomish county, Washington, and bought fifty-five acres of land, seven miles north of Marysville, and at once applied himself to the pioneer's task of clearing his land, which was covered with heavy timber. He built a comfortable house, developed the place into a valuable farm and lived there until 1908, when he sold it and, coming to Everson, Whatcom county, bought forty acres of land one mile northwest of Everson. This land was partly cleared, and he carried on the clearing and improvement of the place until 1912, when he sold it and bought fifty-five acres southeast of Nooksack, part of which he cleared, selling it in 1919. He then bought one and a half acres of land located about a mile and a half due east of Everson, on which he built a nice, modern home, and here he is now living in comfortable retirement, enjoying that leisure which is his just due after his many years of hard and unremitting toil.
Mr. Erickson has proven himself a true and loyal citizen of his adopted country and has taken a commendable interest in the public affairs of his community. In 1918 he was elected township supervisor and is a member of that board at the present time, having served as its chairman for three years. Politically he gives his support to the republican party and takes a firm stand for all that is best and most elevating in community life. A man of fine character and forceful personality, he has long wielded a beneficent influence in his community and has won and retained the unbounded respect and confidence of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 321-322.
CLARENCE C. FISHER
Among the valuable citizens of Bellingham is Clarence C. Fisher, a business man of broad experience and proven worth and a prominent figure in mercantile circles of the city. His father, Horace L. Fisher, was a native of Illinois and passed away in that state. He was a descendant of Asa Fisher, who served in the Continental army, and five brothers of the latter also aided in winning American independence. After the death of Horace L. Fisher his widow, Martha E. (Appleton) Fisher, came to the Pacific northwest with her two sons, Herbert E. and Clarence C., and established her home in Bellingham.
Clarence C. Fisher first came to the city on Christmas day of 1889, remaining a short time, and returned July 4, 1890. He became interested in the banking business and was also treasurer of the local street railway company. In 1896 he went to the east, spending two years at Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, with the Overman Wheel Company, and in 1898 returned to Bellingham. He has since been connected with the Morse Hardware Company, one of the oldest and largest corporations of the kind in this part of the country, and now has charge of the finance department. He is well informed on everything pertaining to the trade, and his ably directed labors have been essential to the growth of the business, to which he has given twenty-seven years of faithful, efficient service.
On June 28, 1892, Mr. Fisher married Miss Cora B. Dodge, of Newport, New Hampshire, by whom he had four children, but Richard C., the fourth in order of birth, is deceased. Those who survive are Dorothy Rose and Clarence Appleton; and Harold D., born October 20, 1897. On April 6, 1926, to Harold D. and Ethel B. Fisher, was born a son, Harold D., Jr. Mrs. C. C. Fisher and her daughter are connected with the Washington Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution and all of the family are members of the Baptist church. Mr. Fisher votes the republican ticket, and his life has been guided along the lines which govern honorable, upright manhood and citizenship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 540.
B. JULIUS FOCK
For forty years a resident of the state of Washington, B. J. Fock has intimate knowledge of the various phases of frontier life in this region, and a highly productive farm in the vicinity of Bellingham is the visible result of his well directed labors. A native of Germany, he was born July 8, 1868, in the city of Hamburg, and his parents were John S. and Geisha (Wolfe) Fock, the former a fisherman. The son was educated in his native land and in 1885, with a youth of seventeen, came to the Pacific coast region. He lived for two years in Tacoma, Washington, and in 1887 entered a homestead in Snohomish county, casting in his lot with its earliest settlers. He proved up on the land, which he at length converted into a fertile tract, and was also in the employ of the government. He carried the mail from Stanwood to Glenwood and walked each day a distance of thirty-five miles over the narrow, uneven trails, bearing upon his back a fifty pound sack. In the performance of this valuable service to the pioneers of Washington he endured many hardships and faced many dangers, never faltering in the discharge of his duties. In those early days the redmen roamed through the forests, and Mr. Fock readily mastered their language, so that he was able to converse fluently with the Indians. He came to Bellingham in 1903 and now owns and operates a thirty acre ranch near the city. He has a small herd of valuable cows and his land is rich and productive, yielding abundant harvests. He is identified with the lumber industry, cutting shingle bolts which he sells to the mills, and in this manner adds substantially to his income.
On the 29th of January, 1908, Mr. Fock was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Ellen Mayher, a native of Riverton, Iowa, and a daughter of John and Katherine Mayher, the former of whom was an agriculturist. Both parents are now deceased. Without party bias, Mr. Fock considers the qualifications of the respective candidates and casts his ballot for the man whom he considers best qualified for office. He has well earned the right to the honorable title of "self-made man" and his actions have been invariably marked by that consideration toward others which is the outward expression of a kind and sympathetic nature.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 189.
AMOR D. FOSTER
In one of the most exacting of all callings has Amor D. Foster attained distinction, being generally recognized as one of the most successful teachers in Whatcom county. He is a well educated, symmetrically developed man, and his work as an educator has brought him prominently to the notice of the public, the result of which is a demand for his services where a high standard of professional excellence is required. A man of scholarly tastes and studious habits, he keeps abreast of the times in advanced educational methods and his general knowledge is broad and comprehensive.
Mr. Foster was born in Kelso, Cowlitz county, Washington, in December, 1880, and is a son of R. J. and Frances (Vann) Foster. His father was born and reared in Illinois, whence he crossed the plains with an ox team in 1872, locating first in Monticello, Washington, and later going to the Cowlitz river, in Lewis county, of which locality he was a pioneer. Our subject's mother was born in Arkansas, and her death occurred near Chehalis, Washington, at the age of sixty-nine years, her husband dying there at the age of seventy-four years.
Amor D. Foster secured his early education in the district school at Cowlitz Bend, following this by attendance at the high school at Castle Rock, from which he graduated. He then attended and was graduated from the State Normal School at Bellingham, and this was supplemented by special work at the University of Washington and later at the Washington State College. He also took a course in scientific agriculture at the State Agricultural College at Pullman and special correspondence work in agriculture with the University of California. After leaving the normal school, Mr. Foster began teaching school during the winter, while during the summers he gave his attention to agriculture. For two and a half years before taking up his normal school work, he taught at Sulphur Springs and Toledo, and he later was a Quincy, Washington, for three years, being in charge of the grade school and the high school. Then for one year he was principal of the high school at Elma, after which for five years he was at the head of the Kittitas union high school. During this period he was working into vocational agricultural work, and in 1918 he accepted his present position in Ten Mile township as superintendent of the Meridian consolidated schools, including seven grade schools and the high school.
During 1921-22 Mr. Foster did not teach, spending that period on his farm of twenty acres, which he had purchased in 1912. When he bought the place no clearing had been done, but during his summer vacations he had applied himself closely to the clearing and improvement of the tract, eleven acres of which are now cleared and in cultivation, the remainder of the land being devoted to pasture. He gives his attention largely to chickens and to fruit, in the handling of which he has been very successful. He raises about three thousand chickens a year and intends to enlarge this phase of his work, which is both pleasant and profitable. He also keeps a number of cows, and he finds this to be a good combination, as the skim milk is utilized for the chickens, while the fertilizer is used in the fine cherry orchard which he has started. To a great extent he is using the farm as an experimental and development farm in connection with his school work, and he has found it very practical and beneficial in that respect.
In 1910 Mr. Foster was married to Miss Dolly Jennings, who was born in Kansas. Her family came to Oregon in 1900 and later came to Marysville, Washington. Mr. and Mrs. Foster are the parents of one child, Helen, now twelve years old. Mr. Foster has taken an active interest in everything affecting the welfare of the farmers and poultrymen of the county. He is a member of the Poultrymen's Hatchery, for the past five years has been president of the Whatcom County Poultry Association and is a former president of the Whatcom County Farm Bureau, as well as a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Fraternally he is a member of the Bellingham Lodge No. 151, Free and Accepted Masons. Broadminded and tolerant in his views, he is at the same time a man of firm and well founded opinions, with the courage of his conviction as to the great issues of the day. His influence throughout the community has always been on the right side of every moral issue, and he gives earnest support to every measure for the advancement or betterment of the public welfare. Kindly, generous and friendly, as well as able and conscientious in the discharge of his duties, he has long held an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of the entire community and is deservedly numbered among the representative residents of Whatcom county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 17-18.
Roy Franklin, an enterprising and energetic young dairyman of Mountain View township, was born on a farm in Michigan, January 11, 1892, and is a son of W. H. and Adaline (Chatterson) Franklin, who were born in the province of Ontario, Canada, and who have long been residents of this county, now living in Mountain View. W. H. Franklin's father, Benjamin Franklin, a native of the Empire state, born in Albany, New York, established his home in Canada but never relinquished his American citizenship. After his marriage W. H. Franklin established his home on a farm in Michigan and there remained until 1899, when he closed out his holdings there and returned to Canada, he and three of his sons homesteading a section of land in Alberta. He "proved up" on that claim and remained there for six years, at the end of which time he disposed of his farm to advantage and returned to the United States. Selecting Washington as a place of residence, for five years he was located in Forest Grove. In 1910 he bought the place on which his son Roy is now living and there remained until his retirement in 1916.
Roy Franklin was seven years of age when his parents moved to Alberta and was fifteen when they came to this state. He grew up familiar with farming processes and upon coming here took a helpful part in the labors of developing the home place. He was attentive to his studies and his work in the public schools was supplemented by a course in a business college at Bellingham. When the war came on he rendered service in the mechanics division of the Students Army Training Corps, stationed at Pohman. Since 1916 he had been giving supervisory attention to the operations of his father's farm and after a time bought the place, establishing his home there after his marriage. For two years, 1920, 1921, he was engaged in the garage business in Bellingham and his acquaintance throughout the county thus was widely extended. Mr. Franklin has a well improved place of forty acres and in addition to general farming is successfully engaged in dairying, having a fine herd of graded Guernseys and a registered herd leader of that strain.
On March 13, 1920, Mr. Franklin was united in marriage to Miss Alice Moles of this county and they have two children, a daughter, Dorothy Burnetta, and a son, Roy Vincent. Mrs. Franklin was born in Peoria, Illinois, and has been a resident of Whatcom county since 1904. Her father, the Rev. J. W. Moles, a widely known clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal communion, is now located at Custer in this county. Mr. and Mrs. Franklin have a pleasant home and take an interested and helpful part in the general social and cultural activities of the fine community in which they live.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 845-846.
CLARK T. GOFF
The record to Clark T. Goff is the story of a man who entered the business world in a lowly capacity and through the force of his personality and the strength of his mental endowments has risen to a place of leadership in mercantile circles of Blaine, which numbers him among its most valuable citizens. He was born in 1883 at Morris, Illinois, and is a son of the Rev. M. L. and Martha (Bevins) Goff. His parents went to Mendocino, California, in 1905 and later Rev. Goff was called to Anacortes, Washington, as pastor of the Baptist church. Subsequently he moved to Bellingham and is now living retired in that city. By example as well as precept he pointed out to others the higher course in life and his religious instruction proved a tangible force for god in the various communities in which he labored.
Clark T. Goff attended grammar school and high schools of Illinois and at the age of sixteen years began his commercial career, securing a position as delivery boy. He conscientiously performed the tasks allotted to him and as he acquired experience was advanced from time to time, eventually becoming manager of the dress goods department of the store of the John Bressmer Company of Springfield, Illinois. He arrived in Bellingham, Washington, in 1910 and for five years was assistant manager of the Montague & McHugh store. In 1915 he came to Blaine and embarked in business as a member of the firm of Goff & Winter, dealers in dry goods and ladies' wearing apparel. He was active in the conduct of the business until 1921, when he reentered the service of Montague & McHugh, leaving Mr. Winter in charge at Blaine. Mr. Goff acted as manager of the Bellingham store until the death of Mr. Montague on July 9, 1923, when he returned to Blaine, and in May, 1924, purchased the interest of his partner. Mr. Goff has since controlled the business, which is operated under his name, and now has a fine stock, valued at twenty-five thousand dollars. His store in twenty-five by eighty feet in dimensions and three clerks are required to serve the trade. In the conduct of the establishment he brings to bear mature judgment, administrative power and an expert knowledge of the business, acquired by years of practical experience. He has never resorted to questionable methods in order to attract custom(ers) and a large and rapidly increasing patronage is indicative of the prestige enjoyed by the house.
In 1920 Mr. Goff married Miss Margaret Ladd, formerly of South Dakota and previous to her marriage a teacher in the public schools of Blaine. To this union has been born a son, Thomas Ladd, aged three years. Mr. Goff is identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and cast his ballot for the candidates of the republican party. He shapes his conduct by the teachings of the Congregational church and is accorded the respect which the world ever yields to the self-made man.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 597-598.
Charles Grell, who achieved an international reputation as a chef, has long been identified with the hotel business, and Everson numbers him among its most influential citizens. A son of Philip and Emily (Klause) Grell, he was born in 1869 at Strassburg, which was then located in French territory. He had the benefit of a high school education, and in Paris, France, he mastered the details of pastry cooking, later being employed in the Continental Hotel of that city. While in the service of one of the grand dukes of Russia he traveled throughout Europe and aided in making the arrangements for many notable entertainments. Mr. Grell was widely recognized as an artist in his line of work, and in 1890 he went to San Francisco, California, as chef for Delmonico, afterward serving the Poodle Dog, the Granada Hotel and others of note in the same capacity. In 1900 he opened the Granville Hotel in Everson, Washington. It contains twenty-two rooms and is one of the most popular hostelries in northwestern Washington. The hotel is famed throughout the county for the excellence of its cuisine and nothing has been overlooked that would add to the comfort and well being of its patrons. With a capacity for detail Mr. Grell combines an economic knowledge of modern food values and a specialized grasp of the art of inn keeping which amounts almost to an inborn talent, and he has clearly demonstrated his faith in Everson's future by extensive investments in real estate.
In 1893 Mr. Grell was united in marriage to Miss Emily Bushby, a native of England, and two children were born to them. The daughter, Alma, is a graduate of the Granville Finishing school and the wife of H. T. Campbell, who is connected with the Seattle music house of Bush & Lane. They have become the parents of two children, Emily Louise and Ronald Richard. The son, Milton Philip Grell, is in the employ of the Carnation Milk Products Company, and he also enjoys an enviable reputation as a violinist.
Along fraternal lines Mr. Grell is connected with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is an adherent of the republican party and his public service covers five years of work as school director. Genial, warm-hearted and sincere, he has a host of friends in the west, and in winning success he has at the same time contributed toward Everson's prestige and progress.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 95-96.
FRANKLIN F. HANDSCHY
The banking institutions of a city are a fair index of its commercial character and the centers around which all the movements of trade gravitate. The history of the Bellingham National Bank is closely linked with that of the city which it serves, and among the men of enterprise and integrity responsible for the growth and prestige of the institution is F. F. Handschy, one of its officers and founders. The bank was chartered September 24, 1904, and opened its doors to the public on the 3d of January, 1905. It was capitalized at one hundred thousand dollars, and Victor A. Roeder was elected president. William G. Brown, now deceased, was chosen vice president and F. F. Handschy became cashier. The capital stock was increased to two hundred thousand dollars in 1909 and this sum has remained unchanged. The statement of its condition, issued June 30, 1925, shows a surplus of three hundred thousand dollars and deposits amounting to two million, eight hundred and thirty-three thousand and forty-two dollars. The present officers are Victor A. Roeder, president; William McCush, first vice-president; Charles F. Nolte, second vice-president; F. F. Handschy, cashier; and H. P. Jukes, E. P. Sanford and E. D. Bates, assistant cashiers. Its board of directors is composed of H. P. Jukes, William McCush, F. F. Handschy, Robert W. Battersby, E. P. Sanford, Charles F. Nolte and V. A. Roeder. On December 1, 1913, the bank moved to its present home, an imposing structure, five stories in height and built of concrete. It is listed in Class A and contains every facility of the up-to-date banking establishment. Since its founding the spirit of conservatism has always guided the activities of the institution and a desire for rapid expansion has never been permitted to overrule the feeling of caution which has served to protect the interests of the depositors and stockholders. The steady advancement of the bank has made it a helpful ally of Bellingham's business corporations, young and old, which, like the institution, are growing along constructive, progressive lines.
Mr. Handschy was born in Huron county, Ohio, in 1866 and was but two years old when his parents moved to Illinois. He was educated in that state and after the completion of his high school course went to Kansas, in which he located in 1884. He arrived in Bellingham in 1890, when a young man of twenty-four, and was appointed deputy county treasurer. In 1900 he was elected county treasurer and served for two terms, proving an able and faithful custodian of the public funds. In 1904 he aided in organizing the Bellingham National Bank and throughout the period it is existence has filled the office of cashier. With a comprehensive understanding of every phase of banking, he has labored earnestly and effectively to broaden the scope of the institution, and his well known trustworthiness is one of its most valuable assets. He is an adherent of the republican party and has long been prominent in fraternal affairs. He is a Knight Templar Mason and Shriner, a past grand chancellor of the Knights of Pythias of Washington and is also identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. His rise in the business world is a attributable to his natural sagacity, keen powers of observation and devotion to duty, and public opinion bears testimony to his worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 379-380.
SIDNEY E. HARMAN
Bellingham is a monument to the combined labors of many enterprising business men, and among the most prominent is Sidney E. Harman, a well known contractor, who has done much to improve and beautify the city. A native of Quebec, Canada, he was born February 19, 1852, and in the same year his parents, William and Mary (Arnold) Harman, crossed the border into the United States, settling in New York.
Sidney E. Harman received a public school education and was reared on his father's farm, assisting him in the work of tilling the soil. In Vermont he learned the carpenter's trade, and in 1877 he went to Minnesota, entering the field of contracting. He came to Whatcom in 1888 and was one of the early building contractors of this locality, continuing his operations here for twenty-five years. He then moved to Centralia, Washington, and for some time conducted a sash and door factory. He returned to Bellingham in 1921 and resumed his work as a contractor. He builds and sells homes and has greatly enhanced the value of property in the neighborhoods in which he has operated. His buildings are pleasing to the eye and constructed for real utility and the comfort and convenience of their inmates. He is an acknowledged leader in this line of activity and is a business man of broad experience and keen sagacity.
On September 5, 1880, Mr. Harman married Miss Mary A. Meek, and two children were born to them. The son, F. D., is a graduate of the State University and superintendent of the electric light plant in Seattle. He is married and has two children. The daughter, Elsie, is the wife of Rollin Owen and resides in Idaho. Mr. Harman is identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party. A life of intense and well directed activity has brought him prosperity, and although he has reached an age when most men relinquish the burdens of business, he still remains at the head of his affairs, retaining the priceless possession of physical and mental vigor. His work has been of direct benefit to the city, and his many good qualities have drawn to him a large and ever widening circle of sincere friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 564-565.
DELOS E. HILL
The late Delos E. Hill, veteran painter and decorator, who died at his home in Bellingham in 1912, was one of the pioneer business men of that city, for years widely known throughout this region, and it is but proper that in this definite history of the county in which his interests were so long centered there should be set out some brief tribute to the good memory he left at his passing, together with some mention of the character of his life and services here.
Mr. Hill was a native of the old Empire state, born in the village of Prattsburg, in Steuben county, in 1861, and was a member of one of the old families of New York. He was brought up in his home town, was given good schooling and early became a proficient painter and interior decorator, a vocation he followed all his life, active in the trade in him home state until his arrival in Washington in 1890, the year after this state was admitted to the Union. Upon coming to the coast Mr. Hill took up his residence in the Bay settlements which in 1903 were consolidated under the name of Bellingham, and opened up a paint shop in the Pike building, there entering upon his long career as local painter and interior decorator. As occasion and the increasing demands of the expanding city required he moved from time to time to various locations, was located on Elk street and later on Cornwall avenue and prior to his death in 1912 was a member of the firm of Sutcliffe & Hill, doing business on Holly street.
In 1885, in Prattsburg, New York, Delos E. Hill was united in marriage to Miss Anna Hayward, who was born in Prattsburg, that state, and who survives him. To that union were born three sons, Harry Hayward, Joseph (deceased) and Ray Hill, the last named making his home with his mother. These sons were given a college education, Harry H. Hill, now living in Seattle, married Daris A. Miller and has one child, Stirling M. Hill. He is a Mason and is also affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. Since the death of her husband Mrs. Hill has continued to make her home in Bellingham, with the exception of a year spent in New York and a year spent in Tacoma, and is quite pleasantly situated here, residing at 319 Magnolia street.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 291-292.
Herman Holz, who has long been considered one to the leading dairy and poultry farmers in Ten Mile township, was not favored by inherited wealth or the assistance of influential friends, but in spite of this, by persevering industry and the exercise of sound judgment, has attained a comfortable station in life, while at the same time he has made his influence felt for the good of his community. He is a native of Germany, born in 1870, and is a son of William and Matilda Holz, the former dying in his native land, while the mother is still living there.
Herman Holz received his education in the public schools of his home neighborhood and then worked as a farm hand until about eighteen years of age, when, desiring a larger and better field for individual advancement, he emigrated to the United states, locating in Wisconsin, where he obtained employment in a carriage shop. He held that position six years and then went to Indiana, where he spent three years as a carpenter and cabinet worker. In 1896 Mr. Holz came to Washington, locating in King county, where he followed his trade for sixteen years, and in 1910 he bought and moved onto his present place, which comprises about one hundred acres. When he acquired the land only about four acres of it wa cleared, but by untiring labor he has cleared between sixty-five and seventy acres. He has erected substantial and well arranged farm buildings and made many other important improvements on the ranch. He keeps fourteen cows and about one thousand laying hens, from both of which sources he derives a comfortable income. His fine, fertile fields produce abundant crops of hay and grain and he also raises enough corn for ensilage purposes. About twenty-three acres of his land is tile drained and mr. Holz neglects nothing that should be done in the way of farm work.
In 1898 Mr. Holz was married to Miss Sarah Ernst, a native of Richardson county, Nebraska, and a daughter of Christian and Emma (Beeseiker) Ernst. The father, who was born in Germany, crossed the Atlantic to America when a youth of sixteen years and became a farmer of Nebraska. Subsequently he removed to Kansas, in which state he spent the remainder of his life, passing away in Osborne county. The mother, Mrs. Emma Ernst, who birth occurred in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, resides in Seattle, Washington, with her children. Mrs. Sarah Holz came to Washington at the time of the great Seattle fire. By her marriage she has become the mother of twelve children, namely: William, of Bellingham, who is married and has two children; Frederick, who is manager of the dairy department of the state hospital at Sedro Woolley; Benjamin, who lives on the Axton road, is married and has two sons; Wallace, who remains at home; Mrs. Dorothy Parker, who resides at Ten Mile and is the mother of one child; Albert, Oswald, Walter, Helen, Emma, Leslie and Donald. Frederick, Dorothy and Wallace Holz are high school graduates, and the first named spent one year as a student in the State College of Washington at Pullman.
Mr. Holz has long been a member of the Grange warehouse and earnestly supports all other enterprises for the benefit of the farmers. He did considerable free road work for a number of years and has always been ready to cooperate with his neighbors in any direction for the advantage and welfare of the general public. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. He is a man of broad views, sound business judgment and energetic habits who does will whatever he undertakes, and his career here has been such as has gained for him the unbounded confidence and esteem of the entire community in which he lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 724-725.
Among the citizens of Whatcom county who have, by virtue of their strong individual qualities, made their way to high standing among their fellow citizens, in Phillip Hong, a successful farmer of Ferndale township, where the family has for a number of years been well and favorably known. He was born in Minnesota on the 22d of March, 1899, and is a son of P. K. and Ranghild (Glosimodt) Hong, both of whom were natives of Norway. P. K. Hong came to the United States in 1872, locating in Minnesota, where he took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres, being one of the pioneer settlers in his community. He cleared his land, created a fine home and continued to live there until 1910, when he came to Whatcom county and bought fifty-five acres near Ferndale, all of which, excepting about ten acres was cleared. It is now all cleared and here Mr. Hong, by indomitable energy and persevering industry, developed one of the best farms in his locality. Three acres were planted to orchard and on the place there are twelve good milk cows and a pure-bred Guernsey bull. The land is devoted to diverse farming and gives bountiful returns for the labor bestowed upon it. He is also the owner of eleven acres of land on the Nooksack river, a half mile north of Ferndale, and there he is now living, being practically retired from active affairs. In 1921 he leased the land to his son Phillip, who is now operating it with skill and good judgment, the results of his efforts stamping him as a thoughtful, up-to-date and enterprising farmer. To P. K. and Ranghild Hong were born seven children, namely: Knut, Christine, Ben, Melvin, Phillip, Theodore and Pearl. Christine is the wife of Peter Petersen and they have four children.
Philip Hong received his education in the public schools of Minnesota and Ferndale, having been eleven years of age when the family came to Whatcom county. He lived on the home farm continuously since coming here and, as stated above, has leased the homestead from his father and is now successfully farming it. He is a member of the Dairymen's Association of Whatcom County and takes a commendable interest in everything pertaining to the agricultural or dairying interests of the community. He is quiet and unassuming man, but possesses a genial and social nature, having won a host of warm friends throughout the community where he lives, and makes a good impression on all with whom he come in contact.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 581-582.
One of the up-to-date farmers and poultry men of Whatcom county is Ben Johnson, of Ferndale township, who has worked hard for what he now possesses, knows how to appreciate the true dignity of labor and to place a correct estimate on the value of money. Nevertheless, he is liberal in his benefactions and stands ever ready to support with his influence and means all measures for the welfare of his community. A man of broad views and sound judgment, he is well informed on public affairs, exercising the duties of citizenship in a conscientious manner. Mr. Johnson was born in 1863, in Halmstad, Sweden, and is a son of Person Johnson, who spent his entire life in that country.
Ben Johnson secured some education in the schools of his neighborhood in early life but when twelve years old ran away from home and went to sea as a cabin boy on a Norwegian vessel. He was a sailor for three years, and then quit his ship in Halifax, Nova Scotia, from which place he worked his way to the United States. He lived in Indiana for a few years and in 1884 he came to Washington. He soon returned east, however, but again, in 1888, came back to Washington. The first man he worked for at that time was Ezra Meeker, probably the most widely known pioneer of this section of the country, being at that time called "The Hop King." Mr. Johnson was employed on the building of the first wagon road from the Highland, connecting with the road on the reservation between Seattle and Tacoma. For him, finally locating in Seattle, where he lived until 1893, working at the butchering business. He next went into the timber country, where he worked for a few years, and in 1896 bought forty acres of land near Jordan, which he cleared and developed into a good farm. In 1906 he sold that place and bought a fifty-acre tract in Pleasant Valley, a part of which he cleared, making his home there until 1918, when he sold it and bought twenty-seven and a half acres, located one and a half miles southwest of Ferndale, which he brought under cultivation, and now has one of the most comfortable homes and best cultivated and improved farms in this locality. He carried on general farming operations and also pays considerable attention to poultry, keeping about twelve hundred chickens, and also a few cows. His land is tile drained and, under Mr. Johnson's careful and intelligent management, the soil produces large crops. He enjoys a reputation throughout his community as a man of enterprising and progressive methods, is painstaking and methodical in all that he does and has well deserved the prosperity which has rewarded his efforts.
In 1922 Mr. Johnson was married to Miss Idelia Coffel, who was born and reared in Texas. She is a lady of gracious personality and kindly manner, and has long enjoyed marked popularity in the circles in which she has moved. Mr. Johnson too possesses the sort of disposition and manner that make favorable impression on all with whom he comes in contact and he has an enviable standing in the confidence and respect of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 492-493.
RUSS S. LAMBERT
A man of many talents, which he has put to good use, Russ S. Lambert has been active in the legal profession as well as in the fields of politics and mining, and for thirty-five years Sumas has numbered him among its loyal and valuable citizens. He has aided in framing the laws of his state and has creditably filled many public offices of trust and honor. He was born September 16, 1867, in Belvidere, Illinois, of which town his mother, Cassie (Hale) Lambert, is also a native. His maternal grandfather, Oliver Hale, was a resident of Pennsylvania and in 1837 migrated to the middle west, casting in his lot with the early settlers of Illinois. John C. Lambert, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Dover, Maine, and followed the occupation of farming as a life work. His widow stills makes her home in Belvidere, Illinois, and has reached the venerable age of eighty years.
After the completion of his public school course Russ S. Lambert entered the Bloomington Law School, from which he was graduated in 1889, and after his admission to the bar he practiced for a year in Illinois. He arrived in Whatcom, now Bellingham, Washington, in 1890 and in December of that year opened an office in Sumas, where he has since followed his profession. He is an attorney of high standing and his clientele is extensive and important. In association with John Post and L. G. Van Valkenberg, he located the property comprising the Lone Jack mine, known as the Post Lambert group, near Mount Baker, Washington. They were the first to discover gold in this district and Mr. Lambert disposed of his interest in the mine to good advantage. He is president of the Garrison Brothers State Bank and wisely guides the destiny of the institution, displaying keen sagacity in the solution of intricate financial problems.
On July 23, 1891, Mr. Lambert married Miss Carrie Swail, of Belvidere, Illinois. She was a daughter of William B. and Louise M. Swail, and she passed away January 29, 1918. To their union were born four children. Louise M., the eldest, is the wife of Edgar Thomas, a well known merchant of Sumas, and they have three children. Sidney, a teacher in the Sumas high school, is also married and has one child. Esther A. is the wife of Arthur Moe, who is a customs inspector and lives in Sumas. John W., the youngest member of the family, is attending high school. Mr. Lambert is a Mason and has been master of Fidelity Lodge No. 105, F. & A. M. He belongs to Bellingham Lodge No. 104, of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and has held all of the chairs in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a "stand pat" republican and during the sessions of 1899, 1905, 1907 and 1909 was a member of the state legislature. He represented the forty-first district in the state senate for the sessions of 1921 and 1923 and was largely instrumental in securing passage of the law prohibiting the making of a substitute for butter. While in the house he was the author of the corporation fee bill and throughout his tenure of office exhibited a zealous and watchful regard of public rights. Mr. Lambert has always stood for constitutional representative government, never trimming his political sails to catch a passing breeze. He was supervisor of the Washington forest preserve during 1900-1904 and acted as city attorney of Sumas for many years. He was school director for a number of years and for three terms was mayor of Sumas. He stood firmly for law and order and during his administration many improvements were inaugurated. Mr. Lambert never used political office as an avenue to personal aggrandizement, regarding it rather as a trust given him by the people, and his deep interest in the public welfare has been manifest in tangible efforts for the general good.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 139-140.
HENRY B. LITTLE
One of the best remembered men of the western part of Whatcom county, whose memory is revered by all who knew him, is the late H. B. Little, whose death occurred in Manitoba in 1905. He was a man of energetic and industrious habits and spent his energies through a life of strenuous endeavor to make the most of his opportunities, while in all the relations of life he proved true to every trust. He possessed a sociable nature and by his genial and kindly attitude toward those about him won the respect and confidence of everyone. He was known as a man of upright character and honest motives and his integrity of purpose was beyond question. Mr. Little was born in Ontario, Canada, on the 22d of December, 1847, and was reared and educated in that locality. He was reared to the life of a farmer, which vocation he followed, also working at the carpenter's trade. He remained in Ontario until 1877, when he went to Michigan, where he remained until 1898, and then went to Manitoba, Canada, where for four years he was engaged in farming. In 1902 Mr. Little went to San Juan island, where he was engaged in truck gardening for about a year, at the end of which time he moved to Bellingham, where he lived for a few months. Then, because of failing health, he went back to Manitoba in the fall of 1904, remaining there until his death.
While living in Michigan Mr. Little was married to Miss Maggie J. Proctor, who also was born in Ontario, Canada, a daughter of William and Julia (Shore) Proctor, the latter of whom likewise was a native of Ontario. The father was born in Ireland, from which country he was brought to Canada when six years old, and there he followed the vocation of farming. To Mr. and Mrs. Little were born thirteen children, namely: Milicent, now deceased, who was the wife of W. W. Hatch and left four children; Vernon, who lives in Manitoba and who is married and has four children; Elmer, who lives in Bellingham, and who also is married and has four children; Ernest, now living on his mother's place, who is married and has two children; Mrs. Lina Bond, of Bellingham, who is the mother of two children; Pearl, who died at the age of about six and a half years; Henry, who lives on a farm near his mother's place and is married and has seven children; Mrs. Eva Merk, of Strandel, who is the mother of five children; Mrs. Ella Martin, of Bellingham, who is the mother of four children; Alice, who is engaged in teaching at Hoquiam; Myron, who met death by drowning in 1925; Myrtle, who is the wife of Harvey Loop, of Astoria; and Merrel, of Bellingham, who is married and has one child. Mr. Little was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows in Ontario, and of the Ancient Order of Gleaners, which order he joined in Michigan.
After the death of her husband, Mrs. Little and her children moved back to Bellingham, where they remained until the spring of 1906, when she bought eighty acres of land, a part of the old Roeder ranch, and entered upon the task of developing a farm. Only about one acre of the land was cleared and the only highway to the place was a trail from the Noon road. They did their trading at Bellingham, the trip requiring practically a day. Mrs. Little lived on this place about twelve years and then bought a home in Bellingham, where she lived until 1925, when she returned to her farm, where she is now residing. The land is all cut over and about fifteen acres are cleared and in cultivation. For many years the farm was devoted to the raising of general crops and dairying, but Mrs. Little is now making preparations to go extensively into the chicken business, which has proven a successful line of work in this section. She is a woman of excellent business qualities, possessing sound judgment and excellent discrimination, and because of her energy and tact she has won a splendid reputation among her neighbors and friends. She has a charming personality, is kindly and generous and among her host of warm and devoted friends is held in the highest esteem for her genuine worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 377-378.
HUGH D. McKAY
One of the owners of extensive farming interests in Whatcom county is Hugh D. McKay, whose valuable property has been acquired through his own efforts, his persistency of purpose and his sound business judgment, and the prosperity which is the reward of earnest effort is his today. He is easily the peer of any of his fellows in the qualities that constitute correct manhood and good citizenship, possessing not only those powers which render men efficient in the material affairs of life, but also that combination of finer qualities that mark refined social intercourse. Hugh McKay is descended from sterling old Scottish stock, his paternal grandfather, Donald McKay, who was born in Sutherlandshire, Scotland, having been a typical Highlander, of the famous Clan McKay. He emigrated to Ontario, Canada, in the early '30s, at which time that part of Canada was a virgin forest. He and his sons hewed out of the forest a tract of six hundred and fifty acres, comprising one of the finest farms in that section of the country, and on his death the father left to each of his children a portion of the place.
Hugh D. McKay was born at Underwood, Ontario, Canada, on the 28th day of June, 1874, and is a son of Donald and Mary (McNeil) McKay, both of whom were natives of Canada, the father having been born at Embro, Oxford county, Ontario, and the mother on Prince Edward island. They are both now deceased, the father dying in 1915 and the mother in 1917. Hugh D. McKay secured his education in the public schools of Ontario and remained at home, taking charge of his father's ranch until marriage. In 1907 his father's ranch was sold and he then went to Vancouver, British Columbia, and engaged in teaming, which he followed for about six years. He next rented two hundred and fifty acres of land on Mud bay, which he operated for three years, and then became superintendent of a thousand-acre ranch, on which was a large dairy of fifty cows and one hundred head of stock altogether. He managed that place for three years and in 1920 came across the line to Whatcom county and bought two hundred and eighty-five acres of land in Ferndale township, on Nooksack river, comprising an unusually fine tract, and he is now devoting himself closely to the cultivation of the land and the general operation of the ranch. He keeps fifty-five good grade Holstein cows and some young stock, a herd of pure-bred Ohio improved Chester hogs and derives a nice income from these sources. He is farming two hundred acres of the land and has twenty-five acres in sugar beets. He has been very successful in the handling of his field crops and in 1925 had a remarkable oats crop. Methodical, businesslike and up-to-date in his operations, he was won a wide reputation as a progressive and enterprising farmer, and has met with a very satisfactory measure of success since coming to this locality. He has his place well equipped with modern machinery, including milking machines, and is keeping a number of draught horses also for heavy work about the farm.
On June 24, 1903, Mr. McKay was married to Miss Mabel Caskey, who was born and reared in Ontario, Canada, the daughter of James and Deborah (Harrison) Caskey, both of whom are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. McKay have been born six children, namely: Deborah, born in Ontario, Canada, March 3, 1906, is the wife of John McDonald and the mother of two children, Annie and Margaret; Allan, born in British Columbia, July 27, 1909, is now a student in high school; Donald, born April 28, 1911, is in high school; Kenneth, born June 17, 1913; George, born May 1, 1915, and Malcolm, born March 1, 1918. Mr. McKay is a charter member of Underwood (Ontario) Lodge No. 328, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a gentleman of fine personal qualities, possessing to a marked degree the essential elements of good citizenship and he, by his success, his high character and his friendly disposition, has gained an enviable standing among his fellow citizens. He has been ably assisted in the management and operation of his farm by his wife and family, of whom he is justifiably proud.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 683-684.
JULIUS E. NORDBY
J. E. Nordby is too well known in his section of Whatcom county to need formal introduction to the readers of this work. Eminently a self-made man, honestly earning every dollar in his possession, he ranks with the most enterprising and successful of his compeers and has won a name and reputation which place him among the leading citizens of his community. Mr. Nordby was born in Norway on the 27th day of January, 1867, and is a son of Evan and Maren (Guldbrasen) Nordby, who were born and reared in Norway. The family came to the United States in 1883, settling at Park River, North Dakota, where the father homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land and also preempted a like amount, and to the cultivation of this land he devoted the remainder of his active life, his death occurring there about 1909. The mother died in 1895. They were the parents of seven children, Guldbren, Martinus, Eleasa, Marie, Evan, J. E. and Mauritz.
J. E. Nordby received his education in the public schools of his native land and remained at home until the removal of the family to the United States. On his arrival in North Dakota he rented a ranch, to the operation of which he devoted his time until 1887, when he went to the Big Bend, Washington, where in the spring of 1888, he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres and bought eighty acres more. He planted this land to wheat until 1903, when he sold out and went to Douglas county, Washington, where he bought a stock ranch, which he conducted until 1911, when he sold it. He then came to Whatcom county and bought eighty acres near Ferndale, which he kept about a year and then sold, buying eighty five and a half acres two and a half miles northeast of Ferndale. The greater part of the land was cleared, in addition to which he cleared twenty acres more, and he now has about sixty-five acres in cultivation, raising diversified crops, principally hay and grain. He also has a nice two-acre orchard of bearing trees, and keeps twenty-one good grade milk cows of the Holstein breed. He is a wide-awake, energetic farmer, thoroughly understands his business, and is being rewarded with a gratifying measure of prosperity. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. In 1920 Mr. Nordby bought twenty acres of land one mile northeast of Ferndale, on which, in 1922, he built a fine modern house, with all conveniences and attractive in appearance, and there he and his wife and youngest child now live.
On December 20, 1894, Mr. Nordby was married to Miss Clara Martin, who was born in Minnesota July 20, 1879, the daughter of Peter and Aleta Martin, both of whom were natives of Norway, whence they came to this country, settling in Minnesota. Mr. and Mrs. Nordby are the parents of seven children: Martha, born March 31, 1897, died December 14, 1903; Evan, born July 6, 1899, was married, September 20, 1923, to Miss Ellen Burke; George, born June 15, 1901, was married, January 3, 1923, to Miss Trulah Morgan; Lewis, born March 30, 1904, was married, June 27, 1923, to Miss Ella Byers, and is now living on his father's large ranch, which he has leased; Thelma, born October 4, 1907; Kaspar, born August 14, 1911; and Clara, February 3, 1915, are in school. Personally Mr. Nordby is a man of excellent character and has long been recognized as a man of sound business judgment and sound discretion. Because of his success, and his friendliness, he ha won and retains the confidence and regard of all fellow citizens who have come in contact with him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 557-558.
In all that constitutes true manhood and good citizenship, the subject of this sketch, one of the best known and most substantial of Whatcom county's farmers, is a notable example, and none stands higher that he in the confidence and esteem of the community honored by his citizenship. His career has been characterized by duty faithfully done, and by industry, thrift and wisely directed efforts he has acquired a liberal share of this world's goods, being now able to enjoy a richly earned retirement from active business. Charles Norderum was born in Norway in 1850 and is a son of T. and Carrie Norderum, both of whom also were natives of that country. In 1860 they emigrated to the United States, locating in Minnesota, where the father entered a homestead about thirty miles from LaCrosse, and there he and his wife spent their remaining days. Our subject attended a school near Christiania, Norway, and completed his studies in the public schools of Minnesota. He remained with his father until he was about seventeen years of age, when he bought a tract of government land in Minnesota, on which he lived for a number of years, after which for a few years he was in South Dakota.
About 1890 Mr. Norderum came to Whatcom county, stopping in Bellingham for a year or two, after which he went to Lynden and bought twenty acres of land. This he later traded for a forty acre tract near his present place, and which at that time was covered with timber. At the time he left that place, five or six years afterward, he had most of the tract cleared. On leaving that farm he came to his present place, consisting of forty acres of fine land, but which at that time was uncleared. During the years that he has lived here he has cleared the land and brought it up to a high state of cultivation, raising abundant crops. At the time of his arrival there was but little settlement in this community, and the only highway to Lynden was a crooked trail. There is today not a person living between here and Everson who was here when he came. Hay and grain raising demanded the major part of his attention during his first years here, but he later turned his attention largely to dairy farming, which he conducted with success until about 1919, when he rented the farm to his son Charles and is now practically retired. The latter is carrying on the dairy business, keeping fifteen good grade milk cows and shipping the milk to Everson. He raises his own feed and roughage, and also raises good crops of potatoes, beans and berries. The farm is well improved and presents a marked contrast to its condition when our subject first came to it. Then it was surrounded by a veritable wilderness, and conditions were so primitive and wild that on occasion he shot deer from his doorstep.
In 1869 Mr. Norderum was married to Miss Mary E. Ottestad, who was born in Norway and came to the United States with her family about 1865. She died in Nooksack in 1920. To their union were born five children: Mrs. Clara Gooding, who died in 1922, was the mother of three children. Ben, who lives in Tacoma, is married and has two children, the eldest of whom also is married and has two children. Theodore, of Nooksack township, is married. Charlie, who now rents and operates his father's farm, was married to Miss Dorothy Dougherty, a daughter of Thomas and Jessie (Terwilliger) Dougherty. The former is deceased, and his widow lives in Seattle. The youngest child, Mrs. Mary Morningstar, lives in Nooksack and is the mother of four children. To Charlie and Dorothy Norderum also has been born a child. Our subject has long held an enviable place throughout this community, for he has been a man of broad views and decided opinions, giving his earnest support to all measures designed to be of advantage to the general welfare. He is pleasant and friendly in his social relations and enjoys marked popularity.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 715-716.
Distinguished for their industry, thrift and honesty, which qualities in the inhabitants of any country will make that country prosperous and respected, no people who have cast their lot in Whatcom county are more worthy of esteem than those of Norwegian blood. From that nation came Birger Olsen, who is numbered among the successful farmers of Ferndale township, where he operates a well-improved tract of land. Mr. Olsen was born in Norway, August 2, 1887, and is a son of Albert and Carrie (Melker) Olsen, who were farming folk in their native land. The father also owned a fishing schooner and a few small boats. He was in the United States a few years but eventually returned to Norway, where he now resides. To him and his wife were born four children, Mrs. Alberta Brereton, Birger, Alfred and Hilmar.
Birger Olsen received a fair education in the public schools of his native land, completing his education in the public schools of the United States, to which he came in 1905. He came direct to Whatcom county and for five years was engaged in the fishing and lumbering businesses. In 1910 he bought forty acres of land in Ferndale township, all covered with brush and stumps, but he cleared it and has since devoted it to general farming, in which he has met with a very gratifying measure of success. Besides raising all the crops common to this locality, he gives considerable attention to the dairy business, owning fourteen good milk cows, some of them being thoroughbred Jerseys. He has made permanent and substantial improvements on his place, which now compares favorably with the other ranches of his section of the county. Mr. Olsen is still interested in the fish business and is engaged in that industry in Alaska. They have a new, comfortable and attractive home, the other buildings on the place also being well built and commodious, and modern and up-to-date machinery enables the work to be done at a minimum of labor and expense.
In April, 1910, Mr. Olsen was married to Miss Bertha Waschke, a daughter of Gottlieb and Bertha (Matzke) Waschke, who were natives of Germany. The father came to the United States in 1881, was married the following year, and for many years was a farmer in Minnesota, having bought land there in 1886. Eventually he came to Whatcom county and bought one hundred and sixty acres in Ferndale township, which he developed form a wilderness into a good farm, and there he is still living, though he now owns but fifty acres of the original tract. To Gottlieb and Bertha Waschke were born ten children, John, Gustav, Ernie, Lizzie, Henry, Ida, Elzie, Bertha, Marie and William. To Mr. and Mrs. Olsen have been born four children, namely: Frances, born December 10, 1911; Clarice, January 31, 1913; Elva Gayle, November 17, 1914; and Wilda. All are attending school. Mr. Olsen is a man of kindly spirit, friendly in his relations with his neighbors, and accommodating when he can be of service to others. He stands for all that is best in community life and is deservedly held in the highest esteem throughout the community. Mrs. Olsen is a lady of splendid personal qualities, hospitable and generous, and is well liked by all who know her.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 682.
The late George Omli, who died at his farm home near Ferndale, January 31, 1921, was one of the pioneers of Whatcom county and had done well his part in development work here. It is thus but proper that in this history of the county in which he long made his home there should be presented some slight tribute to his memory. Mr. Omli was of European birth but had been a resident of this country since the days of his young manhood and of Whatcom county since 1889, having come here with his family about the time the agricultural development of this region began, and the remainder of his life wa devoted to the task of clearing and improving the place on which he settled some time after coming here. Mr. Omli was born in the kingdom of Norway, November 18, 1845, and was thus in his seventy-sixth year at the time of his death. He was reared in his home land and was there educated for teaching but did not follow that profession. In 1869, when in his twenty-fourth year, he came to the United States on a prospecting trip, joining that great stream of Scandinavian immigration which set in toward the northwest country here about that time. He located in Wisconsin, where in the next year he was joined by his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Omli, and the other members of the family, which contained nine children. Thomas Omli and his wife spent the remainder of their lives in Wisconsin, and the family is still well represented there.
George Omli engaged in farming in Wisconsin and was thus occupied in that state for seventeen years, at the end of which time he moved to Baker county, Minnesota, and there resided for something more than two years. In 1889 he came with his family to Whatcom county, arriving at Bellingham bay on November 11 of that year. For a while he was engaged in railway construction work at Happy Valley and then settled down to farming, starting as a renter on the Hoferkamp [Hofercamp] place and later going to the farm of Samuel Barrett, then county auditor, where he remained for five years. He then operated the Archie Morrison place for a season, and later for five years occupied the Sneat place. In 1902 he bought the forty acres now occupied by his family, established his home there and on that place spent the remainder of his life, becoming a successful dairy farmer. Since his death his widow continues to make her home there and with those of her children who remain at home is energetically carrying on operations, having a good dairy plant and a fine start in the poultry business. Mrs. Omli and her two daughters at home are members of the local Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry, and she also is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and of the Poultry Association. The family is affiliated with the Lutheran church.
It was on October 3, 1884, at Black River Falls, Jackson county, Wisconsin, that George Omli was united in marriage to Miss Julia Thompson, and to that union were born eleven children, seven of whom were born in Whatcom county, Mr. and Mrs. Omli having had four children when they came here in 1889. Mrs. Omli also is a native of the kingdom of Norway and was but a child when she came to this country with her parents, Alex and Rainae (Drangstevet) Thompson, the family locating in Wisconsin, where she received her education. Her father became a substantial farmer in Wisconsin and in 1890 joined the party with which the Omlis also were identified and came to Whatcom county. Her mother's last days were spent in Ferndale and her father died in Seattle. All of Mrs. Omli's children are living save one, Thomas Omli, the firstborn, who died November 25, 1913. Her second son, Albert Omli, continues to reside on the home place. Sophie, the eldest daughter, married George Peterson, now supervisor of Mountain View township, and has five children. Oscar Omli, the third son, is unmarried and continues to make his home on the home place. Rachel, the next daughter, married John Macauley of South Bellingham and has a son. Carl Omli is unmarried and lives at home, giving his attention chiefly to the fisheries. Clara has been twice married and by her first husband has three sons. She now is the wife of a Mr. Bertrand, of Seattle. Emma is the wife of Raymond Hemme, a Pleasant Valley farmer. Robert Omli, the youngest son, is at home with his mother. Miss Anna Omli is now living in Seattle, and Ella, the youngest daughter and last born of this interesting family, married Harry Welch and is living in Bellingham.
Albert Omli, the eldest son, was born at Blair, Trempealeau county, Wisconsin, December 28, 1885, and was thus four years of age when in 1889 his parents established their home in this county. He grew up here, thoroughly familiar with pioneer conditions. He was educated in the Ferndale schools, going to the school that then was being conducted on the east side of the river, and from the days of his boyhood he was a helpful factor in the labors of his father's farm, always working on the farm during the winter. For nine consecutive summers, ending in 1921, Mr. Omli and his brothers Oscar and Carl were employed in Alaskan operations, logging or fishing, the greater part of the time being spent in the employ of the Pacific-American Fisheries, and four of these summers were spent in Behring sea. The leisure he now has from the operations of his mother's dairy farm is employed in the local "traps" of the Pacific-American Fisheries, and he is an expert in these operations, as are his brothers. The three brothers, Albert, Oscar and Carl, are members of the local aerie of the Fraternal Order of Eagles and are widely known throughout the countryside.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 921-922.
Charles Oxford, proprietor of a well kept poultry ranch in the Noon neighborhood, is a native son of Whatcom county and his interests ever have centered here. He was born on a pioneer farm in the Ferndale neighborhood in 1882 and is a son of Thomas and Maria (Wynn) Oxford, the latter a daughter of Thomas Wynn, one of the real pioneers of this section of Washington, mentioned elsewhere in this work. Thomas Oxford, also a pioneer of this county and a substantial landowner in the Ferndale neighborhood, is a native of Australia, born at Victoria, in December, 1843, a son of Thomas and Eliza (Chymouth) Oxford, natives of England, who became residents of Australia about 1840. The elder Thomas Oxford became one of the substantial men of the Melbourne settlement, owning there a section of land that now is included within the limits of the city. The junior Thomas Oxford grew up at Melbourne, had is schooling there and as a young man engaged in gold mining operations. In 1876 he came to the United States, landing at San Francisco on the Fourth of July of that year, and was for two years employed in mining operations in California and in the Black Hills field. In 1878 he came into the Bay country and entered a claim to a quarter section of land in the Ferndale neighborhood and settled down to the task of clearing and improving it. In the summer of 1879 he married Maria Wynn and established his home on that place, where he and his wife are still living, honored pioneers of that region. They are the parents of nine children, all of whom are living save one, and the family is quite well established in this county.
Reared on the home farm in the vicinity of Ferndale, Charles Oxford, the eldest son and second in order of birth of the family was educated in the Ferndale schools and from the days of his boyhood was an active and helpful factor in the labors of improving and developing the farm, remaining there until 1921, when he established his home on the ten acre tract on which he is now carrying on his poultry business. This was a tract of stump land when he took it over and he has improved it in admirable shape, building up a plant there in which he now is able to accommodate no fewer than one thousand hens. He is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association and his operations are carried on in accordance with the best methods of modern poultry raising, so that he is meeting with substantial and well deserved success.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 805.
August Potter is the popular and efficient postmaster of Van Zandt and an enterprising young merchant whose progress has been commensurate with his industry and ability. He was born October 30, 1891, and is a native of Ohio. His parents, M. S. and Ollie (Dodge) Potter, migrated to Washington in 1906, settling in Whatcom county, and the father purchased a quarter section in the vicinity of Van Zandt. He brought the land to a high state of productivity and followed agricultural pursuits until his demise in 1918, while the mother passed away in 1916.
August Potter received a public school education, and he was fifteen years of age when the family came to northwestern Washington. He aided his father in tilling the soil and then started out for himself, working for six years in lumber camps. He handled milk for six years, and in 1922 he embarked in merchandising at Van Zandt, purchasing the business of Mrs. C. E. Potter, who had opened the store in 1920. He has a large and carefully selected stock of general merchandise and is recognized as an honest dealer whose word is always to be relied upon. His business is conducted according to up-to-date methods and his trade covers a wide area.
On October 31, 1910, Mr. Potter married Miss Mae Elizabeth Hamilton, a native of Little Rock, Arkansas, and a daughter of J. E. and Armittie (Porter) Hamilton. Mrs. Potter is one of a family of fourteen children, eleven of whom survive. Her parents came to Whatcom county in February, 1900, and settled on a farm near Deming, which property is still their home. Mrs. Hamilton has twenty-six grandchildren, and in their society she renews her youth. Mr. and Mrs. Potter have two children: Keith, who was born October 30, 1920; and Oliver, born September 5, 1923. Mr. Potter is a stanch adherent of the republican party and for three years was road overseer. He ably discharged the duties intrusted to his care and has made an equally creditable record in the office of postmaster. He gives his best efforts to every task that he undertakes and his energy and stability of character are well known to the residents of Van Zandt, who speak of him in lauditory terms.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 794.
ARMIEGER H. PRATT
Armieger H. Pratt, who has for a number of years been successfully engaged in the real estate business at Bellingham, has resided within the borders of Whatcom county for a period of forty-three years and has therefore been a witness of its remarkable development and progress. His birth occurred in Boston, Massachusetts, on the 5th of September, 1852, his parents being William Davis and Helen (Howe) Pratt, natives of Bristol, England, who immigrated to America in the '40s of the past century and settled in Boston. The father, who was a sea captain, at one time had a line of ships of his own out of Bristol. It was about 1858 that he abandoned a sea faring life and removed to Oswego, New York, after which he was a sailor on the Great Lakes until the time of his enlistment in the Union army in the latter part of 1861. Two years later he became sick and was discharged. Recovering from this illness, he reenlisted and served until the cessation of hostilities. His son, William H. Pratt, enlisted in the Union army at the age of eighteen years and served throughout the period of the war, receiving several serious wounds. The latter spent nine months in Andersonville prison and was paroled just before the end of the conflict. When the war was over, William Davis Pratt, broken in health, returned to Oswego, New York, where he spent the remainder of his life in retirement passing away in 1876. He gave his political support to the republican party and attended the services of the Episcopal church. William D. and Helen (Howe) Pratt were the parents of three sons and two daughters, namely: Thomas, Elizabeth, William H., Ella and Armieger H. The wife and mother departed this life in 1856 and in the following year William D. Pratt was again married, his second union being with Mary Sweeney, a native of Nova Scotia. To them were born three children: Thomas and Mary, who died in infancy; and Sarah Jane, who is the wife of John Cole and now resides at Oswego, New York.
Armieger H. Pratt acquired his education at Oswego and there embarked in the produce and commission business at the age of eighteen. Several years later his brother, William H. Pratt, became associated with him in the enterprise, which they continued together until 1883, when A. H. Pratt made his way to Washington, settling in Whatcom county as a young man of thirty-one. His first work here was in connection with securing the right-of-way on the Bellingham Bay & British Columbia railroad. Subsequently he turned his attention to the contracting business, which claimed his time and energies until 1889, when he entered the express and ice business in partnership with John Stenger. He was thus active until about 1903, when he entered the real estate field, in which he has remained continuously to the present time, having an office in the Pratt building on Elk street, Bellingham. He has an intimate knowledge of property values and is thoroughly familiar with the realty upon the market. Mr. Pratt has negotiated many important transfers and is accorded an extensive clientage, for his vision is broad and his judgment sound in relation to those matters which claim the attention and demand the energies of the successful real estate man.
On the 16th of December, 1872, Mr. Pratt was united in marriage to Harriet Hall, a daughter of Alexander and Margaret (Simpson) Hall, the former born in Belfast, Ireland, of Scotch parentage, and the latter a native of Oswego, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Pratt became the parents of three children: William D., Hariett E., and Elizabeth May, who is deceased. Mr. Pratt is a republican in his political convictions. He made a commendable record as councilman during the years 1900 and 1901 and has also served as road overseer and school director in Woodlawn township (district 31), which was named by him and his wife. Both are consistent members of the Presbyterian church, of which Mr. Pratt has been a deacon for many years. He is also a worthy exemplar of the teachings and purposes of the Masonic fraternity and has served as master of the blue lodge. In 1884 he was a member of the Knights of Labor. His has been an upright and honorable life in every relation and the circle of his friends is a wide one.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 142-143.
GEORGE W. QUIMBY
Among the old and honored citizens of Whatcom county who because of their long and useful lives are deserving of specific mention in the history of this county, stands George W. Quimby, who after an active and interesting career is now making his home with his son Fred, in the vicinity of Everson. He is a man of strong and forceful personality, who has made an indelible impress on the lives of those with whom he has come in contact, and no man in his community enjoys to a greater extent the admiration and respect of the people generally. Mr. Quimby is a native of Wisconsin, born in 1842, and is a son of O. A. and Emmanda (Crippen) Quimby, both of whom were natives of Vermont. The father was a blacksmith by trade and was a man of eminently respectable standing in his community.
George W. Quimby had but little opportunity for attending school but he had an ambition for learning and throughout his life has been a close and studious reader, and he is consequently a well informed man. At the age of nineteen years he enlisted for service in the Civil war, in which he served five years and two months, his last regiment being the Thirty-second Wisconsin. He had a splendid war record, among his special services being that of a scout under General Sherman on the march from Atlanta to the sea. He last served under General Howard, and because of his splendid service he was promoted to the rank of captain, in which capacity he commanded a company of colored troops. He took part in a number of important battles and campaigns and since the war he has written a history of the "march to the sea." On his return to civil life Mr. Quimby returned to Wisconsin and devoted his attention to farming. Eventually he went to South Dakota, where he took up a homestead, on which he lived about one and a half years, at the end of which time he went to Nebraska and engaged in the real estate business along the frontier. Then, moving father south, he started the town of Verdigre, Nebraska, in which enterprise he was successful. After remaining in Nebraska about ten years, Mr. Quimby, in 1898, came to Whatcom county, locating in Bellingham, where he remained about four years, during which time he carefully inspected the various sections of the county, looking for a location that suited him, for he was a that time practically retired and wanted a place of pleasant and convenient surroundings in which to reside. He afterward located near Lynden, where he lived for three or four years, or until his wife's death, in 1918, after which he lived with his children until about 1923, when he lost his sight, since which time he has made his home with his son Fred.
Mr. Quimby was married in 1865 to Miss Mary E. Stevenson, a daughter of George Stevenson, who was born in Germany and who was the captain of one of Stephen Girard's ships. Mrs. Quimby died in 1918. To Mr. and Mrs. Quimby were born seven children, namely: Mrs. Rosina Cleveland, deceased; Mrs. Manie Beck, deceased, who left two children; Mrs. Maud Smith, of Bellingham, who is the mother of four children; Fred, who is married and is living on the present home place, and is the father of three children; Walter, who is married and is living in British Columbia; Willard, of Bellingham, who is married and has seven children; and Mrs. Verdie Parker, of Lynden, who is the mother of three children. There are also eleven great-grandchildren.
Mr. Quimby has always taken an active part in public affairs in the various communities where he has lived, and while living at Creighton, Nebraska, he served as justice of the peace. On one occasion, during a trial, one of the lawyers was especially annoying to the court. Finally, the justice adjourned court for five minutes in order to "lick" the lawyer, preferring to do that rather than fine him for contempt of court. The lawyer and the justice were ever afterward good friends. Also while living in Creighton, Mr. Quimby acted for a while as editor of a newspaper. He belongs to that class of substantial citizens who, while their lives may not show any meteoric qualities, always, by their support of the political, moral and social status for the general good, promote the real welfare of their respective communities. Fidelity of purpose, keenness of perception, unswerving integrity and sound common sense have been the marked characteristics of his makeup, and these qualities, together with his genial and friendly manner, have won for him the sincere respect and esteem of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 378-379.
PORTER W. ROBERTS
One of the functions of a work of this character is to take recognition of those citizens of the county of Whatcom who stand distinctively representative in their chosen spheres of endeavor, and in this connection there in eminent propriety in according consideration to P. W. Roberts, who is one of the successful and enterprising farmers of the Sumas valley and a man who has long enjoyed to a marked degree the respect of his fellow citizens. Mr. Roberts is a native of the state of Indiana, born on the 8th of March, 1862, and is a son of William and Clara (Harper) Roberts, both of whom were natives of Switzerland county, Indiana. The father was a farmer by vocation, but as a side line he ran a store boat on the Ohio river. Both parents died in their native state. They had thirteen children, of which number eight are living.
P. W. Roberts attended the public schools in his native county, and at the age of thirteen years he went to work on neighboring farms. When seventeen years old he moved to Iowa, where he worked for two years. He was industrious and economical of his financial resources, so that at the end of that time he was able to buy a team of horses, and he engaged in farming on his own account on a tract of rented land. He was thus occupied for two years and then, in 1883 went to Nebraska and took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in Holt county, of which locality he was a pioneer. He broke the prairie sod with oxen, made many improvements, created a good farm and lived there until 1900, when he came to Whatcom county. After inspecting this locality, he bought eighty acres, four miles east of Sumas, built a small house and then set himself to the task of clearing the land, which was covered with timber and brush. After living there two years he bought sixty acres close by, a few acres of which had been cleared. He now has fifty-three acres of this land cleared and in cultivation and has developed it into a splendid farm. In 1911 Mr. Roberts built a good barn and in 1923 erected a fine, modern house. His land is fertile and well cultivated and he raises fine crops of hay, oats and peas. He also has a nice berry patch and a good, bearing orchard. He likewise keeps a number of milk cows, which he has found a very desirable auxiliary to the farm.
In 1882 Mr. Roberts was married to Miss Mary Hamilton, who was born and reared in Indiana, a daughter of Weaver Hamilton, now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Roberts were born five children: Ralph, who was born in Nebraska, was graduated from high school and from a normal school in Indiana and is now teaching school in Vancouver, Washington. He is married and is the father of seven children. Eugene, also born in Nebraska, was graduated from high school and taught school for three years but is now living on the eighty acre farm which he bought from his father. He is married and has three children. Ray, born in Nebraska and now living in Sumas, is a high school graduate. He is married and has two children. Fay, who was born in Washington, is married and lives in California; and Mrs. Alma Busser lives in California and is the mother of a daughter. Mr. Robert's mother had the honor of attending school under the instruction of Edward Eggleston, author of "The Hoosier Schoolmaster."
Mr. Roberts is an active member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, of which he was one of the organizers and a charter member. He is an earnest advocate of the best educational facilities and of improved roads, which he believes are vital to the welfare of any community. He has been a close observer of modern methods and is a student of whatever pertains to his life work, and he has therefore met with encouraging success. He is proud of his state and of the community in which he lives, being zealous for their progress and prosperity. Because of his fine public spirit, excellent character and friendly disposition, he has won and retains to a marked degree the respect and esteem of all with whom he has come in contact.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 599-600.
RAY H. SLADE
Ray H. Slade is one of the worthy native sons of Whatcom county and is clearly entitled to representation in the permanent record of the annals of his community, for he belongs to that enterprising and progressive class of citizens who have contributed in a very definite degree to the latter-day progress and prosperity of the county. He was born in Lynden on the 8th of December 1886, and is a son of Harvey S. and Aliene (Ogle) Slade, natives respectively of Michigan and Ohio, and who are mentioned at length elsewhere in this work.
Ray H. Slade secured his early education in the public schools of Lynden, after which he took a course in the Seattle Business College. His first employment was as a bookkeeper for a logging company, following which he was in the employ of various stores in Lynden. He then became connected with the Lynden station of the Washington Co-operative Egg and Poultry Association a few months after the establishment of the station at this place, and he has remained with this important concern ever since, now occupying the position of accountant. Mr. Slade long ago demonstrated his ability along that line and his absolute faithfulness to duty, and he is held in the highest esteem by his associates in that organization. The Lynden station has grown in importance and in volume of business until it is one of the most prosperous branches of this egg and poultry association, an organization which has accomplished great things for the farmers of Washington.
In 1912 Mr. Slade was married to Miss Merth Baldwin, who was born at Beaver City, Nebraska, a daughter of W. S. and Susan (Hines) Baldwin, the former of whom is a successful and well known contractor in Bellingham. To their union has been born a son, Erwin, who is now attending the public schools. Fraternally Mr. Slade is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. He has long been prominent and active in local public affairs, having rendered effective and appreciative service as a member of the city council and as city treasurer. He has served for three terms as a member of the board of directors of the Northwest Washington fair, one of the most successful organizations of the kind in the state. Mr. Slade has proven an honorable member of the body politic, rising in the confidence and esteem of the public, and in every relation of life he has never fallen below the dignity of true manhood, being essentially a man among men, while personally he is friendly and unassuming in his relations with those about him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 100-103.
GEORGE M. SoRELLE
At the time of his passing in 1921 the late George M. SoRelle, a well known realtor at Bellingham, had resided on the Pacific coast for nearly thirty-five years and had been an active and influential factor in the development of Bellingham. He was a native of the Lone Star state, born in the year 1858, his parents having moved to Texas from Georgia, being members of old families in the latter state. The SoRelles are of French descent and have been represented in this country since colonial times.
George M. SoRelle was reared in Texas and was sent to Knox College, Galesburg, Illinois, to finish his education, being there graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Science. On his return to Texas he engaged in teaching school until the spring of 1887, when he came to the coast and cast in his lot with the settlers of the Bay colony. During his first year here Mr. SoRelle was employed as a teacher in the Whatcom school, his associate in teaching there having been Miss Austin. He then became actively engaged in the general real estate business, a line in which he did very well and in which he continued until after the "boom" days carrying on through the '90s. His activities later carried him into enterprises in California and Alaska, for several years being engaged in the realty business in the Golden state. Failing health at length compelled his retirement and his last years were spent in Bellingham, but he died in Los Angeles, October 29, 1921.
On September 26, 1887, at Whatcom, now Bellingham, Mr. SoRelle was united in marriage to Miss Belle Hammer, and to this union were born four children. Lillian and Vivian, born July 24, 1888, were the first white twins born in the City of Whatcom, and Lillian, who died in infancy, was the first baby buried in Bay View cemetery. Vivian, who was graduated from Washington University, married Ruskin Williams, an artist, now living in New York, and has a daughter, Dorothy Ann. Mildred, who was graduated from the State Normal School at Bellingham, married H. E. Barnhart, now living at Okanogan, Washington, and has four children, James G., Robert W., Arthur SoRelle and Elizabeth Jane. Wiley A. SoRelle, the only son, is a veteran of the World war with a record of twenty-seven months of service and is now living in Deming. He married Minnie Bell Austin and has one child, Barbara Gene.
Mrs. SoRelle, who for years has been connected with the operations of the South Bellingham postoffice, has been a resident of this community for forty years and is one of the best known women in the county, quite active in affairs here since her coming to the Bay settlements in 1887. She was born in West Virginia, and is a daughter of Captain A. B. and Emma R. (Miller) Hammer, also natives of that section of the Old Dominion which under the stress of war times split off as West Virginia in 1862. Her father was a veteran of the Civil war, going into the service as a private and coming out with a captain's commission. He was a member of one of the old colonial families of Virginia and was a grandson of a veteran of the Revolutionary war. His wife was a member of an old colonial Quaker family of northwestern Virginia. Captain Hammer who was a lawyer by profession, moved with his family to Christian county, Illinois, when his daughter Belle was but a child and later was engaged in practice at Mound Valley, Kansas. When the lands now comprising the state of Oklahoma were taken over from the Indians in 1889 he began practice in Oklahoma City and was elected the first judge of the court under territorial jurisdiction there. Mrs. SoRelle received her education in the schools of Kansas and Texas and in the latter state was engaged in teaching school for three years. She came to Whatcom county, Washington, in September, 1887, and during the following winter was employed as a teacher in the old Sehome school house, which was the first school house erected in what now is the city of Bellingham. She continued as a teacher for some time, her last term being conducted in that building in the year in which it was abandoned for school purposes. In 1904 she became connected with the operation of the local postoffice and since 1907 has held a permanent position, being stationed in the South Bellingham office. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and is affiliated with the Daughters of Rebekah and with the Order of Yeomen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 878-881.
WILLIAM R. STEPHENS
William R. Stephens represents an old and prominent family of Whatcom county and is one of the prosperous agriculturists of Acme township. He was born July 10, 1871, in Ontario, Canada, and his parents were Thomas H. and Elizabeth (Edlin) Stephens, the former a cabinetmaker. He was educated in the public schools of his native province and in 1898 came to Whatcom county. In 1901 he bought a tract of twenty-one acres in the vicinity of Acme and was engaged in general farming for several years. He brought to his occupation a true sense of agricultural economics and never allowed a foot of the land to be unproductive. He now rents the land and is enjoying a well earned period of leisure.
In 1901 Mr. Stephens married Miss Clara J. Hurd, a native of Wisconsin and a daughter of William George and Josephine Hurd, both now deceased. They migrated from that state to Minnesota, and Mr. Hurd was called to public office, serving as county sheriff. To Mr. and Mrs. Stephens has been born a daughter, Ada Irene. Mr. Stephens is an adherent of the republican party but has never been an aspirant for political honors. He has made his own way in the world and is a man of genial disposition, esteemed by a wide circle of friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 927.
EDWARD W. SWANSON
Among those who have been most active in furthering the interests of Ferndale and especially its commercial development is numbered Edward W. Swanson, who for more than twenty years has been recognized as one of the leading merchants of the town, while he also figures prominently in other walks of like. He was born in Eureka, California, in 1884, and his parents, Joseph and Anne Swanson, were pioneers in the settlement of that state. They came with their family to Whatcom county, Washington, in 1892 and the father purchased a tract of one hundred and sixty acres in Delta township. The land was covered with a dense growth of trees and through arduous labor Mr. Swanson cleared one hundred acres. He was engaged in agricultural pursuits for many years and through unabating industry and modern methods transformed the place into a fine farm, supplied with many improvements. He now rents the property, living retired in Ferndale. His wife is deceased.
Edward W. Swanson was eight years old when his parents came to Whatcom county, and his education was acquired in the public schools of Blaine. He was graduated from the Wilson Business College of Seattle in 1903 and then became a clerk in the employ of Walton Brothers, well known merchants of that place. In 1905 Mr. Swanson started a department store in Ferndale and was engaged in general merchandising until 1924, when he erected a modern building, which he now occupies, handling groceries exclusively. His stock is the best the market affords and his progressive business methods and well known reliability have brought him a large and rapidly increasing patronage. He owns an entire block and has two buildings, one of which has a frontage of one hundred and fifteen feet and the other of sixty-five feet. His store has a frontage of twenty-five feet, and the remainder of the space is leased. Mr. Swanson derives a good income from his real estate investments, and he also controls the business of the Ferndale Grain Company, which he formed in 1922. He buys, sells and ships grain, which is stored in his warehouse, situated on a railroad siding, and conducts both a retail and wholesale business. Under his expert direction the enterprise has rapidly expanded and the firm enjoys a large trade. He has been equally successful in financial affairs and aided in organizing the Citizens Bank, of which he is now a trustee. Reared on his father's ranch, he acquired a practical knowledge of the details of agriculture, in which he has never lost interest, and he is the owner of one of the finest dairy farms in the county.
In 1907 Mr. Swanson married Miss Selma Bentzen, of Lynden, Washington, and three children have been born to them, namely: Earl, a youth of sixteen, who assists his father in business; and Eloise and Gerald, aged respectively fifteen and eight years. Mr. Swanson is a Royal Arch Mason and casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party. He has never been remiss in the duties of citizenship and served for two terms on the town council, standing at all times for measurers of reform, progress and improvement. Thoroughly inbued with the spirit of enterprise, he has focused his energies in directions where fruition is certain, and in winning success he has also contributed toward the advancement of his community, in which he is highly esteemed, for the principles of truth and honor have constituted his guide in life.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 676-679.
WILLIAM B. VANDER GRIEND
The sterling qualities of his Dutch ancestors are manifest in the character of William B. Vander Griend, who has worked his way steadily upward in the financial world and now occupies an influential position in banking circles of Lynden, representing one of the old families of this district. He was born October 20, 1884, in the kingdom of Holland, and was but a year old when his parents, Marius and Adriantje Steena (Vaandrager) Vander Griend, made the voyage to the United States, settling in Charles Mix county, South Dakota. In 1889 they migrated to Firth, Nebraska, and in March, 1901, came to Whatcom county, Washington. The father purchased a tract of one hundred and twenty acres three miles northwest of Lynden and devoted the remainder of his life to the task of cultivating his land, which he brought to a high state of development. He responded to death's summons in 1913, and the mother passed away in 1925. The homestead is still owned by the family and is one of the most desirable farms in this section of the country. To Mr. and Mrs. Vander Griend were born eleven children, eight sons and three daughters. One daughter died in 1921 and two live in Nebraska, while the sons are residents of Whatcom county.
William B. Vander Griend attended the public schools and was reared on his father's ranch, aiding in the work of plowing, planting and harvesting. He completed a course in a commercial college and in 1907 entered the Lynden State Bank in the capacity of bookkeeper. His work was performed with accuracy and conscientiousness, and he was promoted to the position of cashier in August, 1919, when the institution was nationalized. It has since been operated under the name of the First National Bank, of which P. M. Surrurier is president. The business was established in 1905 as a private bank and is the pioneer financial institution of Lynden. It has a capital stock of fifty thousand dollars. It is classed with the strongest moneyed institutions of this part of the state, and the steady growth of the bank makes it a helpful ally of local business, young and old, which, like the institution, is expanding along constructive, progressive lines. Mr. Vander Griend has faithfully served the bank for nineteen years and is one of its most able and popular officials.
In 1915 Mr. Vander Griend married Miss Ada Jane Hoover, a native of Nebraska and a daughter of Cyrus and Clara Hoover, now residents of Fresno, California. To this union have been born three children: Clara Adrianna, Adrianna Ada and Jane Lenore. Mr. Vander Griend and his wife are members of the Second Christian Reformed church, and in politics he is a republican but not a strong partisan, voting independently at local elections. Enterprising, efficient and trustworthy, he has progressed far on the highroad which leads to success, and his many friends in Lynden speak of him in terms of high regard.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 136-139.
GUSTAF R. WAHLSTRAND
Among the natives of Sweden who have honored their adopted country by their upright lives and their enterprising and progressive spirit is Gustaf R. Wahlstrand, of Ten Mile township, who has not only been eminently successful in his individual affairs but has also proven himself a splendid citizen of the commonwealth, giving his support to all worthy measures for the advancement of the public welfare. He was born in 1872 and is a son of Frederick A. and Charlotte (Wass) Wahlstrand, both of whom also were natives of Sweden, where the father followed the occupation of a carpenter. In 1883 they came to the United States and located in Central City, Nebraska, where they remained about seven years. The mother died in that state and the father later moved to Minnesota, where he passed away.
Gustaf R. Wahlstrand attended the public schools of his native land and in 1883 accompanied his parents on their immigration to the United States. He remained in Central City, Nebraska, for seven years, working at the carpenter's trade and also farming to some extent, and in 1891 he came to Bellingham, Whatcom county, and made his home with his brother, Herman Wahlstrand, a personal sketch of whom appears on other pages of this work. He was engaged in logging at Lake Whatcom and other places in this section of the country and also made an eight months' trip to Alaska, going as far as Skagway, but he did not go through to the gold fields. On his return to Bellingham, he was variously employed for a time, and in 19901 he bought twenty-two acres of land in Ten Mile township, where he now lives. A small clearing had been made on the land and a house was partly constructed, but otherwise the tract was unimproved in any respect. He has cleared about fifteen acres and has erected a good house and other necessary farm buildings, doing most of the carpenter work himself. He is giving considerable attention to dairy farming, keeping a herd of good grade cows, and also raises fruit and vegetables, while he likewise has nice run of laying hens. He has a fine bearing orchard, the principal fruits of which are apples, cherries, pears and prunes. In former days Mr. Wahlstrand hauled his produce to Bellingham, which, in the absence of good roads, was a long and tiresome trip. Gradually conditions improved and roads were built, and during the last ten years Ten Mile township has come to the front as a desirable place in which to live. Mr. Wahlstrand has devoted himself closely to the operation of his farm and the success which has crowned his efforts has been well deserved.
In 1901 Mr. Wahlstrand was married to Miss Gertrude Barrows, who was born in Wisconsin, and her death occurred in 1909. She was a daughter of A. and Emma (Van Valkenberg) Barrows, both of whom also were natives of Wisconsin. She came to Washington with her parents in 1888 when she was but a child, her father homesteading a farm at Lake Whatcom. To Mr. and Mrs. Wahlstrand were born three children, namely: Millard, employed as a plumber in Bellingham; Alice, who keeps house for her father; and Edith, who lives at home but is employed in Bellingham. Mr. Wahlstrand is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and gives his support to all measures or enterprises affecting the prosperity and welfare of the farmers. He is a man of sterling qualities of character, straightforward and candid in all his dealings, and enjoys to a marked degree the confidence and esteem of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 318.
CHARLES E. WARSING
A celebrated moralist and biographer once remarked that "There has scarcely passed a life of which a judicious and faithful narrative would not have been useful." With the truth of this opinion in view, it is deemed especially desirable to present the leading facts in the commendable career of a man who by indomitable industry, patience and sterling integrity has won a leading place among the representative men of his community. The career of Charles E. Warsing presents a notable example of those qualities of head and heart which overcome obstacles and make them stepping stones to higher things. Mr. Warsing is a native of Washington county, Missouri, born on the 27th of October, 1864, and is a son of Samuel Warsing, who was born in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, November 8, 1826, and died February 10, 1907, in the eighty-first year of his age. He remained in his native state until 1850, when he moved to Washington county, Missouri, which was his home until 1888, when he moved to Oregon. Two years later he came to Fairhaven, Washington, and remained there until his death. Our subject's mother, who bore the maiden name of Delilah Prough, was born in Blair county, Pennsylvania, November 15, 1841, and died March 18, 1915, at the home of her son Charles. To Mr. and Mrs. Warsing were born five children, namely: Charles E., the subject of this sketch; U. S., who is connected with the latter in Business; F. M., who is United States marshal at Pandle, Alaska; Mrs. Mary E. Doyle, of Seattle; and Isabel, now Mrs. John Bullock, of Bellingham.
Charles E. Warsing received his education in the district schools of his native state, being compelled to walk between four and five miles in order to attend, and receiving about three months of schooling each year. He worked on his father's farm during his youth and later went to work in a flour mill in that locality. After coming to Oregon he was employed in a lumber yard, and then moved to Fairhaven, Washington, where he remained about fifteen years. In 1907 Mr. Warsing and his brother, U. S., bought one hundred and eighty acres of land in Rome township, about eighteen acres being cleared at that time. They continued to improve the tract until at the present time about seventy-five acres are cleared, and the place also contains a good house which they built. In 1918 they sold that farm and moved to Bellingham, where they lived until January, 1922, when they came to their present place in Lynden township and engaged in the chicken business under the partnership name of Warsing Brothers. The place was well improved, containing a good set of farm buildings, to which they have added as necessity has required, and in the line of work to which they are devoting themselves they are achieving pronounced success, being recognized as among the leading poultrymen of this section of the county. They keep about seventeen hundred laying hens of the White Leghorn breed, for the care of which they have adequate and well arranged henhouses. They thoroughly understand every detail of the business, and in the twelve months from October 1, 1924, to October 1, 1925, they marketed two hundred and six thousand eight hundred and seventy-two eggs.
Mr. Warsing was married, January 2, 1922, to Mrs. Mary Wilson, who was born in Illinois, a daughter of G. M. and Josephine (Benson) Adams, both of whom were natives of Niagara county, New York. Mr. Warsing has always taken a commendable interest in local public affairs and while a resident of Rome township held public office, having been a member of the first board of supervisors, in which position he served for several years, while he was also assessor there for two years. He is a thoroughly practical man in all that he undertakes. He likes the chicken business, in which he has met with such gratifying success, and has also be successful in the raining of early potatoes for market. He is a man of fine personality, sound business judgment and discrimination, and the popularity which he enjoys throughout the community has been well merited.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 461-462.
CHARLES H. WESSEL
Among the favorably known and representative citizens of Ten Mile township is C. H. Wessel, who has by his indomitable enterprise and progressive methods contributed in a material way to the advancement of his locality and during the course of an honorable career has met with success in his individual affairs, being a man of energy, sound judgment and honesty of purpose.
Mr. Wessel was born in 1871, in Madison, Wisconsin, and is a son of Chris and Louise (Hugo) Wessel, both natives of Germany. The father came to the United states when he was about twenty years of age and became engaged in farming in Wisconsin, where and his wife are still living. Our subject attended the public schools of his home neighborhood but is largely self-educated, having always been a close and studious reader and keeping in close touch with the great issues of the day. He remained on his father's farm until he was about twenty-two years of age, when he started out on his own account. A few years later he went to Iowa, where he was engaged in farming and was variously employed for six years.
In 1907 Mr. Wessel came to Everett, Washington, where he remained about eight months, when he went to La Conner's Flats, in Skagit county, remaining there about a year, and in November, 1908, he came to Whatcom county and bought forty acres of land in Ten Mile township, to the improvement and cultivation of which he has since closely devoted his energies. When he acquired the land a couple of acres had been cleared and an old house stood on the place. He has persevered in his efforts to develop the tract and now has about seventeen acres of the land cleared, while thirteen acres are in pasture, ten acres having been sold. Practically all the work on the place has been done by him, and he now has a very attractive and desirable farm. He has devoted his attention mainly to dairying, keeping a nice herd of good grade milk cows, and he has met with well deserved success in his individual affairs. He is now building a modern residence which will add materially to the value of the property.
In 1898 Mr. Wessel was married to Miss Frieda Kruse, who was born in Germany, a daughter of William and Dorothea (Koch) Kruse. The Kruse family came to the United States in 1883, and both parents are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Wessel have been born five children, namely: Zilpha, a graduate of the State Normal School at Bellingham, who is now engaged in teaching east of the mountains; Irene, who is also a teacher; Mrs. Margaret Schafer, of Bellingham; and Lillian and William, who are at home. Mr. Wessel is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He is an alert, public-spirited man, keenly interested in everything affecting the welfare of the community, and among those who know him he is held in high esteem because of his excellent qualities of character.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 16-17.
None of the people who make up our cosmopolitan population have better habits of life than have those who came came originally from Sweden - the qualities of thrift, stability, honor and soundness of judgment forming their principal basic elements - and wherever they have settled they have become important factors in the affairs of their respective communities. Of this excellent race come Gust Westergreen, one of the early settlers and successful farmers of Nooksack township. Mr. Westergreen was born in Sweden on the 11th of February, 1864, and is a son of John and Anna (Erickson) Westergreen, both of whom spent their lives and died in their native land, the father dying at the age of seventy-five years and the mother when ninety-three years old. They were the parents of three children, the subject of this sketch, and Emma and August, both of the latter being deceased.
Gust Westergreen secured his education in the excellent public schools of his native land and then went to work in the woods, following that occupation until 1884, when, at the age of twenty years, he came to America. He first located in Manitoba, Canada, where he remained for a few months, and then, in August of that year, he came to Washington and went to work for the Northern Pacific Railroad. A year later he went to southern Oregon and entered the employ of the Southern Pacific Railroad, with which he remained about six months. He then returned to Seattle and soon afterward sailed for Alaska, in the fishing business. After spending one summer in that occupation, he came back to Washington and again went to work for the Northern Pacific Railroad, between Sumas and Nooksack, remaining at that work about a year, at the end of which time he went into the lumber woods as an employee of P. Gillis & Sons. In 1888 Mr. Westergreen took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in section 24, range 4, east, in Nooksack township, and at once went to work at the formidable task of clearing the land of the timber and brush which encumbered it. He met with innumerable obstacles in the early days on that homestead, one of the big drawbacks being the entire absence of roads in his immediate vicinity, so that it was necessary for him to pack in his stove and other furniture and stores. In the course of time he cleared thirty-five acres of that tract and carried on his farming operations there with very gratifying success until 1920, when he deeded the ranch to his son, Albert Philip, and bought eighty acres of timber and brush land in section 13, two miles north of Everson. He has twenty acres of this land cleared an in cultivation and has created a very comfortable home here, where he is still living. He carried on a diversified system of farming, raising the crops commonly planted in this locality, and also keeps a number of good milk cows.
Mr. Westergreen was married, January 9, 1893, to Miss Selma Soderquist, who was born in Sweden and who was orphaned in babyhood by the death of both of her parents. She came to the United States in 1892. Her death occurred September 20, 1922. To Mr. and Mrs. Westergreen were born six children, namely: Mrs. Janet Huntley, who is the mother of seven children - Lewis, Laura, Lillian, Lester, Dewey, Geneva and Delbert - and lives at Camas Valley, Oregon; Mrs. Freda Larson, who lives on a ranch near Everson and is the mother of two children, Philip and Lawrence; Albert P., who is represented in a personal sketch on other pages of this work; Willie and Anna, who died in infancy; and Mrs. Ellen Sealund, who lives on a twenty-acre farm three miles east of Everson. All of these children were born on the old homestead in Whatcom county. Mr. Westergreen is a very public-spirited man and has supported every measure advanced for the betterment of the community, being especially interested in good schools and improved roads. He was one of the organizers and a charter member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He has held worthy prestige in agricultural circles and has been regarded as a substantial man of affairs, wielding a potent influence among those with whom his lot has been cast, having won definite success and having shown what a man of right principles, honesty of purpose and determination can accomplish by persistent effort. He stands "four square to every wind that blows" and is eminently deserving of the high position which he occupies in the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 292-293.
SAMUEL W. WORTHEN
None of the states of the Union can boast of a more heroic band of pioneers than those who came to and settled Washington, and particularly Whatcom county. In loyality, intelligence and capacity they have had no superiors. Many of them came from the New England states and in their daring, perseverance and accomplishments they have been the equal of those who settled Missouri and California, their hardships, privations and earnest labors contributing to the establishment of one of the foremost commonwealths in America. Among this band of early settlers was S. W. Worthen, whose splendid ranch is located in Lynden township, where for many years he has been numbered among the progressive and prosperous citizens of the community. He was born in Orleans county, Vermont, in 1869, and is a son of C. F. and Mary L. (Boyd) Worthen, both of whom were natives of New Hampshire and are now deceased. They had celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary. The father followed the vocation of farming and lived in Lynden since 1905. He was a veteran of the Civil war, having served as a private in Company H, Fifteenth Regiment, Vermont Volunteer Infantry. To him and his wife were born the following children: C. W., who was killed in 1901 while at work in a logging camp; George W., who is mentioned in a personal sketch elsewhere in this work; S. W., the subject of this sketch; Alfred, who died in 1902; Edward, who died in 1903; Ethel, who died in 1905; Ralph, who died in 1904; Leona; Viola, who is the wife of George Gustin, of Lynden; and Edith.
S. W. Worthen secured his education in the public schools of Vermont and then worked at various employments until February, 1888, when he came to Whatcom county with his brother, G. W. For a time he worked in logging camps, cut shingle bolts and did other work and also bought much timber, which he cut and delivered along the Nooksack river. He cut many thousand logs which he floated down the river and delivered at Ferndale for from three dollars to three dollars and a half a thousand. In 1894 Mr. Worthen bought twenty acres of land, the nucleus of his present farm, and to this he added from time to time until he is now the owner of one hundred and ninety acres of good land. He has cleared fifty acres, forty acres more are cleared excepting for the stumps, and the remainder is devoted to pasturage. He also rents eighty acres adjoining for pasturage purposes. Mr. Worthen called Lynden his home until 1912, since which time he has lived on his farm. A radical transformation has taken place here since he first came, the wilderness then having been practically undisturbed, with wild animals roaming at will. Mr. Worthen was a member of a hunting party which killed eight bears and three deer in one week. A vast amount of hard labor was required to get the land in shape for cultivation, for in addition to the removal of the timber it was necessary to drain much of the lower lying land. The size of some of the forest giants may be appreciated from the statement that Mr. Worthen cut eight cords of shingle bolts from one cedar tree hat had been left by loggers. Mr. Worthen has been devoting his attention mainly to dairy farming, milking thirty-five cows, and also keeps a registered sire. He has about eighty head of cattle altogether, and keeps about fifty sheep, with registered bucks. He raises splendid crops of hay, oats and barley, so that he is under the necessity of buying very little feed. He is thoroughly practical and up-to-date in all his operations and does thoroughly and well whatever he undertakes, enjoying a high reputation throughout his community as an enterprising and progressive farmer.
In 1903, in East Charleston, Vermont, Mr. Worthen was married to Miss Blanche Beede, who was born in New Hampshire and whom he had known there. She is the daughter of Aaron and Mary (McGaffey) Beede, both lifelong residents of New Hampshire, where they passed away. To Mr. and Mrs. Worthen were born seven children, namely: Alfred, who is married and lives at Lynden; Neal, who is married and lives on the home place; and Annie, Hugh, Leona, Mildred and Wilson. Mr. Worthen is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association, while fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Woodmen of the World and the Grange. He formerly served as supervisor of his township and has long taken an active interest in local public affairs, cooperating in all movements for the upbuilding of the community and the advancement of the public welfare. He is a man of sterling character, upright in all his business transactions and straightforward in all his relations with his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 293-294.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page