EDWARD THOMAS AARSTOL
The death of Edward Thomas Aarstol, which occurred December 22, 1921, removed from Lawrence township a progressive agriculturist and one of those valuable citizens whose lives of quiet devotion to duty constitute the foundation of the material prosperity of every community in which they are found. A native of Norway, he was born January 17, 1867, and there spent the period of his youth. In 1896 he sought the opportunities of the United States and wisely chose the west as the scene of his labors. He obtained work in the mills at Fairhaven, now known as Bellingham, Washington, and when he had saved a sufficient sum from his earnings returned to Norway for his bride. The young couple came to Whatcom county, and in 1898 Mr. Aarstol bought thirty acres of wild land in Lawrence township. He worked hard to clear the place and in time brought it to a high state of development. He closely studied the soil and climatic conditions, raising the crops best suited to this region, and also operated a dairy on his ranch. He built a good home and was constantly adding improvements to his place, which yearly increased in value. He was a strong advocate of scientific methods and did much to advance the standards of agriculture in his section of the state.
Mr. Aarstol married Miss Thomine Torkelsen, also a Norwegian, who survives her husband and is residing in the town of Lawrence but still retains the homestead. To their union were born five children: Selma, wife of Swen Swenson and the mother of two sons, Edward and Elmer; Thorold who is operating the home farm; Edy and Dora, who reside with their mother; and Jennie, a high school student.
Mr. Aarstol was a faithful member of the Lutheran church with which the family is also affiliated. He was connected with the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and his political views were in accord with the platform and principles of the republican party. He was a tireless worker and all that he possessed was won through his own exertions. He was scrupulously honest in his dealings with his fellowmen, and his intrinsic worth won for him the high and enduring regard of all with whom he was associated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 707.
CURTIS E. ABRAMS
Possessing an analytical, well trained mind, a studious nature and the capacity for hard work, Curtis E. Abrams has won and retained an enviable position in legal circles of Bellingham, which for twenty-one years has numbered him among its leading citizens. He has also devoted much time to fraternal affairs and is one of the most prominent Masons in the Pacific northwest. He was born November 29, 1874, in Stonington, Illinois, and his parents, Stephen and Mary Abrams, are both deceased. The father was an agriculturist and was a native of New Jersey, while the mother was a lifelong resident of Illinois.
C. E. Abrams supplemented his public school course by attendance at Shurtleff College in Alton, Illinois, and afterward studied law at Taylorville, that state. He was admitted to the bar in 1901 and practiced for two years in his native state. He was licensed to practice in Washington in 1904 and opened an office in Bellingham, where he has since made his home. He was first a member of the firm of Abrams & Abrams and later of that of Romaine & Abrams but is now practicing under his own name. He is regarded as an able advocate and a counselor whose advice is to be relied upon. He has established a lucrative clientele and wins a large percentage of his cases, convincing by his concise statement of the law rather than by word painting. He was appointed referee in bankruptcy in 1908 and acted in that capacity until 1912, faithfully discharging the trust.
In 1900 Mr. Abrams was united in marriage to Miss Sallie E. Clark, of Illinois, who has passed away. He is allied with the republican party but has never entered the political arena, preferring to remain in the background. He enjoys the social side of life and is a member of the Hobby Club, the Cougar Club and the Bellingham Golf & Country Club. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias and is a Scottish Rite Mason. In January, 1922, he was honored with the thirty-third degree in recognition of his services to the order, and he exemplifies in his life its beneficent teachings. Mr. Abrams has a high conception of the dignity and responsibility of his calling and enjoys the esteem of many friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 926-927.
Coming to northwestern Washington when this was a frontier region, Frank Andrle, Sr., played well his part in the work of development and progress, and as one of the pioneer agriculturists of Whatcom county he was widely known and highly esteemed. He was born in October, 1850, in Bohemia, now known as Czecho-Slovakia, and spent his youth in his native land. He came to the United States in 1878 and first located in the middle west. He purchased a quarter section in Kansas and for five years was engaged in farming in the Sunflower state. Selling the property, he came to Washington in 1883 and was one of the earliest settlers of Lawrence township, taking up a homestead of one hundred and thirty acres. There were no roads in the district, and in this isolated section he established his home, fully realizing the magnitude of the task confronting him. After years of patient toil he cleared the land and brought it under the plow. He enriched the soil by the most efficient methods of cultivation and his fields produced abundant harvests. He continued to reside on the place until his demise in 1916 and transformed it into a desirable property, supplied with may modern improvements. He was an honest, hard-working man and a good citizen, whose passing was deeply regretted by a large circle of sincere friends.
In 1889 Mr. Andrle was married to Miss Sophia Tikejs, also a Bohemian, and Frank, their only son, is now operating the homestead, utilizing the most modern methods in its cultivation. He is a young man of progressive ideas and is one of the valued members of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He married Miss Annie Suchy, and they have become the parents of three daughters, Annie, Sophia and Lottie, all of whom are attending school.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 945.
HERMAN A. BAUMAN
A study of the career of the late H. A. Bauman, one of the elderly and highly respected citizens of the vicinity of Everson, Whatcom county, cannot help but be instructive, for his life was so conservatively lived as to work no harm to others, while he permitted nothing to swerve him from what he felt was the right thing to do. He was born in germany on the 16th of November, 1845, and was a son of C. H. and Gassena (Kampmeir) Bauman, the former of whom was a miller by trade, and both of whom died in their native land. Our subject received a good, practical education in Germany, and he was a veteran of two great wars, the Prussian-Austrian war of 1866, in which he fought for the king of Hanover, and the Franco-Prussian war of 1870. He had learned the trade of a miller, at which he worked after the latter war until 1881, when he emigrated to the United States, going direct to Michigan, where he continued to follow his trade, being the first miller at Zeeland. Later he went to Falmouth, Michigan, where he was employed as a miller for five years. His employer, bing in a lawsuit, wished him to testify falsely, which he declined to do, and he left there, coming to Washington in 1889. He first located at Bay View, Skagit county, where he remained for a short time, and then, attracted by a boom, went to Anacortes, where he remained until 1896. He next came to Greenwood (Lynden), where he engaged in farming on ten acres of land, only a little was cleared when he acquired it, but he cleared it up entirely and lived there until 1917. Then, deciding to retire from active affairs, he came to live with his son, C. H. Bauman, who owns eighty acres of good land, and spent his remaining years in the enjoyment of that leisure to which his years of earnest effort entitled him.
In 1879 Mr. Bauman was married to Mrs. Margaret Bauman, the widow of his brother Johan, who had died some time previously. She was a native of Germany and a daughter of Wilson and Mary Horenga, the former of whom was a painter, and both of whom died in their native land. Mrs. Bauman died in 1912. By her first marriage she was the mother of a son, C. H. Bauman, of Seattle, who is married. To our subject and his wife were born two children, namely: Mrs. Annie Kilcup, who is the mother of a son, Dillon Kenneth; and William, a dentist in Newport, who is married and has one child. H. A. Bauman took an active interest in the public affairs of his community and rendered effective service as a member of the Greenwood school board. He began life practically at the bottom of the ladder, which he climbed to the top with no help but that of his industrious hands and sound common sense. He was a kindly and genial gentleman and enjoyed to a marked degree the respect and esteem of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 625-626.
GERALD ROY BICE, M. D.
Dr. Gerald Roy Bice, physician and surgeon, who is well known in medical circles of northwestern Washington, has been engaged in practice at Ferndale for sixteen years, and his fellow citizens have honored him with offices of trust and responsibility. He was born December 23, 1874, in Paris, Iowa, and is a son of Isaac and Mary C. (Brannaman) Bice, the latter of whom is deceased. The father followed the occupation of farming for many years, and he has reached the eighty-sixth milestone on life's journey.
After the completion of his high school course Dr. Bice attended Cornell College of Iowa and later entered the State University, from which he received the M. D. degree in 1903. He began his professional career in Kansas, in which he spent four years, and in 1907 went to Germany for postgraduate work. He also attended clinics in Chicago and in 1908 came to Washington. In 1909 he opened an office in Ferndale, and his broad scientific knowledge and skill in checking the progress of disease have brought him extensive practice. He is devoted to his patients and inspires respect and confidence in those to whom he ministers.
On November 18, 1903, Dr. Bice was united in marriage to Florence Newell, a native of Paris, Iowa, and a student of Cornell College, Iowa, and they are parents of three children, namely: Forrest, who is taking a pre-medical course at the University of Washington; Florence, who is attending high school at Ferndale; and Alden, who is also attending school. Mrs. Bice is a lineal descendant of John Alden and is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Bellingham chapter, and of the Order of the Eastern Star.
Dr. Bice is identified with the Woodmen of the World and in Masonry has taken the thirty-second degree. While his interest centers in his profession, he has also found time for participation in public affairs and was for some time a member of the common council of Ferndale. He was afterward called to the mayoralty and served in that capacity for two terms, wisely administering the affairs of the municipality. He has been vice president of the Whatcom County Medical Society and is also a member of the Washington State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. A student and a worker, Dr. Bice has steadily progressed in his profession and his worth to the community is uniformly conceded.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 466.
GEORGE H. BLANK
There is no positive rule for achieving success; yet in the life of the successful man there are always lessons which might well be followed. The man who gains prosperity is he who can see and utilize the opportunities that come across his path, and among the prominent and successful farmers of Lynden township is George H. Blank, who has long commanded the unbounded respect of his fellow citizens. The qualities of keen discrimination, sound judgment and executive ability enter very largely into his makeup and have been contributing elements to the material success which has come to him. Mr. Blank was born in the state of Illinois in 1862 and was taken by his parents to Iowa at the age of two years. They were Thomas and Charlotte (Lippard) Blank, the former of whom was born in Pennsylvania and was reared to the life of a farmer, while the mother was a native of Germany, whence she was brought to the United States at the age of eleven years.
George H. Blank secured but little school training, his experience embracing about one term in an Iowa school. His father died in 1885 and he remained on the home farm in that state until his mother's death, in 1896, when he sold the place, a large part of which he had cleared. He then went to Port Angeles, Washington, remaining in Clallam county about seven years. While there he bought sixty acres of raw land for three hundred dollars, cleared about twenty-five acres and otherwise improved the place, and then sold it for sixteen hundred dollars. Then, going to Skagit county, he bought twelve acres of land near Burlington, on which he did some clearing, residing there for four years, at the end of which time he sold it and bought two smaller places near by in Skagit county. It was virgin land and he cleared about twelve acres, built a house and barn and made a number of other improvements. In all these operations he was associated with his brother, John H., from whom he has never been separated for more than six weeks. He subsequently sold those places, took a contract to clear land at Lynden, Whatcom county, beginning in 1914, and cleared sixty-two and a half acres of an eighty acre tract within a period of two and a half years. He also assisted in building the barn and making other improvements, and also took care of the stock on the place on shares. After clearing the land he rented the place for five years, renewed the lease for two years longer and then, in 1923, bought the farm, which is now considered one of the most desirable in this locality. He is devoting his attention mainly to dairy farming, keeping from thirty-five to forty cows, as well as a registered Holstein sire. He has given close and constant attention to his business affairs and has met with well merited success.
On March 25, 1899, at Port Angeles, Mr. Blank was married to Mrs. Annie (Smith) Weir, who was born in England, a daughter of John Smith. She came to Port Angeles in the '80s and was the second white girl to locate in that place. By her union with Mr. Weir she had four children, namely: Mrs. Laura Bjerstedte, of Burlington, Washington; John, of Anacortes; Mrs. Mamie Johnson, of Seattle, Washington; and Ben, of Sumas. John and Ben both rendered valuable assistance in the clearing of the present homestead. Mr. Blank has long taken an active interest in public affairs and has served a number of times on county juries. While living in Iowa he was a member of the Iowa Legion of Honor but dropped his membership when he left that state. He belongs to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, of which he was one of the first members while Mrs. Blank is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association, having about two hundred and fifty White Leghorn hens, in the handling of which she has been very successful. Mr. Blank is a close observer of modern methods and is a student at all times of whatever pertains to his life work, throughout the community enjoying a high reputation as a progressive man. He is genial and friendly in his social relations, gives generously to all worthy benevolences and holds to a marked degree the confidence and good will of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 882-883.
HERBERT E. BROWN
Herbert E. Brown is proprietor of a well kept place of eighty acres in Mountain View township on rural mail route No. 2 out of Ferndale, where he is giving particular attention to his poultry raising, one of the leading men in that line in his section of the county. He is a native son of Whatcom county and his interest ever have centered here. He was born at Custer, February 15, 1893, and is a son of Edward and Matilda (Lopas) Brown, the former, accounted among the real pioneers of this county, having been a resident here since 1879. He is a son of Robert and Mary (Lucas) Brown, the former of whom died in Nebraska, while the latter came to Washington 1879 with her two sons, James and Edward, and her two daughters and settled on a homestead tract in Mountain View township. Further and interesting details relating to the Brown family in this county are to be found elsewhere in this work. Edward Brown and wife have five children: Herbert E., Earl D., a professional chemist, now connected with the operations of the plant of Procter & Gamble Company in Kansas City; Cora, wife of Clyde Creek of Bellingham; Myrtle, wife of Jared Davis of Custer township; and Ivy, wife of Alfred Mercy of Bellingham.
Reared at Custer, Herbert E. Brown supplemented his local schooling by two years study in the Bellingham high school and two years at the University of Washington, majoring in electrical engineering in that institution. For awhile after leaving the university he took part in his father's farm operations and then became employed as a steam engineer in the operations of the Campbell River Lumber Company and was thus employed during the time of this country's participation in the World war, engaged in essential war service work, a year of this period being spent in Canada. Upon his return in March, 1919, his father gave him the tract of eighty acres in Mountain View township on which he is now living, he and his family being quite pleasantly situated. This was a "cut-over" but uncleared tract when he took possession and he now has about twenty acres of it cleared, his attention being largely given to his dairying and poultry operations. He has a good little herd of Jerseys and something more than twelve hundred hens of the White Leghorn (Tancred) strain and is doing well in his operations, obtaining twelve or fifteen cases of eggs a week. Mr. Brown is a member of the Poultry Association and takes a proper interest in the activities of this helpful and influential cooperative agency. He is a member of the Kappa Sigma college fraternity.
On July 20, 1916, Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Nellie Abbott of Blaine and they have two children, John Edward, born in 1917, and Helen Ann, born in 1920. Mrs. Brown is a daughter of John and Annie Abbott, the latter of whom, a native of Germany, came to this country with her parents in the days of her girlhood. John Abbott, who died in 1913, was a native of New Hampshire and became a resident of Minnesota, from which state he moved to Washington many years ago and became one of the well known citizens of the Blaine neighborhood, where his last days were spent.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 849.
LEWIS J. BRUNHAVER
One of the public-spirited citizens of Ferndale township, Whatcom county, who withholds his cooperation from no movement which is intended to promote public improvement, is L. J. Brunhaver. What he has achieved in life proves the force of his character and illustrates his steadfastness of purpose. His advancement to a position of credit and honor in his locality is the direct outcome of his own persistent and worthy labors, and he is well deserving of the esteem which is accorded him by his fellow citizens. Mr. Brunhaver is a native of Plymouth county, Iowa, where his birth occurred on the 5th of March, 1881, and he is a son of John and Jane (Boterman) Brunhaver. His father was born in Germany, died in 1923, and his mother, who is still living, is a native of this country.
L. J. Brunhaver received a good, practical public school education in his home neighborhood and when old enough took charge of his father's farm, which he ran until it was sold in 1904. He then went to Big Bend, Washington, where he established a livery barn and engaged in breeding horses. In 1908 he homesteaded three hundred and twenty acres of land in the Big Bend and bought enough more to make a total of eight hundred acres, all of which he planted to wheat. He operated that place until 1917, when he sold it and spent a year on the coast. He next bought one hundred and sixty acres of land in the Methow valley, Washington, where he ran a dairy farm for three years, when he traded that property for one hundred and forty acres at Maple Falls, Whatcom county, where he remained one year but still owns the land. In June, 1923, Mr. Brunhaver bought eighty acres in Ferndale township, sixty acres of which was cleared, and he also leases one hundred and eighty acres adjoining the Claud Graham ranch. He has gone into the dairy business and has achieved a pronounced success. He keeps between fifty and sixty head of cows, leasing part of them, some of which are pure-bred Holsteins. He cultivates one hundred and fifty acres of land, and also has five acres in sugar beets, five acres in mangoes, four acres in silo corn, and he plants peas and vetch clover. He has a nicely improved ranch in every respect and is now very comfortably situated, with a gratifying income.
In October, 1909, Mr. Brunhaver was married to Miss Dora Howell, who was born and reared in Kentucky, a daughter of Henry and Alice Howell. They are the parents of five children, John, Harold, George, Roy and Alice. Mr. Brunhaver is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, the Whatcom County Farm Bureau and is closely in touch with all phases of community life, being an earnest advocate of all proposed measures for the advancement of the public welfare. He began life practically at the bottom of the ladder, which he has climbed to the top unaided, and has earned the enviable place which he now occupies in the ranks of the leading men of his community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 597.
ROBERT B. BURNS
Among those who came to Whatcom county, Washington, when the country was largely still in its primitive wildness is R. B. Burns, who has experienced all the hardships and privations undergone by those who first ventured into the wilderness here and who by their indefatigable labor and persistent industry carved out the fertile farms and established the comfortable home which now abound in this section.
Mr. Burns is a native of Scotland, having been born in East Linton, Haddingtonshire, in 1853, and he is a son of John and Agnes Wallace (Smith) Burns, both also natives of Scotland. Our subject's mother died when he was but seven months old, and the father, who was connected with the sawmill business, is also deceased. R. B. Burns secured his education in the public schools of his native land and was then apprenticed for six years to a merchant of his home town. He remained in that store for four years and was for two years in two other stores. In 1874 he immigrated to Canada, where he stayed with a brother for about a year, and in 1875 he and a brother went to Nebraska, where they engaged in farming for about six years, but they became discouraged through the ravages of the grasshoppers and in 1882 our subject came to Whatcom county and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land, comprising his present farm. The land was covered with timber, brush and stumps, one stump measuring twenty-two feet in diameter. The nearest road was two and a half miles away and he was compelled to use a canoe to go over to Lynden. He applied himself vigorously to the task of clearing the land, and in order to earn ready money to carry him through he usually went to O'Connor flat, in Skagit country, and worked during the summers. By repeating this program for a number of years he was enabled eventually to get his land cleared and the place improved, and he now has about forty acres cleared and in cultivation, the remainder being devoted to pasturage. In the early days he was greatly annoyed by wild animals, such as bears, deer and cougars, and he killed a number of them.
Mr. Burns is now devoting his attention largely to dairy and poultry farming, in which he has met with a very gratifying measure of success. He has about nine hundred laying hens of the White Leghorn variety and Tancred strain, while his dairy herd consists of thirteen Guernsey and Ayrshire cows, of good grade. He has a comfortable house and a commodious barn, while the building now used as a granary is an old split and hewed log house which was built over forty years ago and which is still in an excellent state of preservation.
In 1888 Mr. Burns was married to Miss Serena J. McElmon, who was born in Nova Scotia, a daughter of James and Catherine (Aikens) McElmon, both of whom also were natives of Nova Scotia, where they spent their entire lives. Mr. and Mrs. Burns are the parents of four children, namely: Gertrude Agnes, who is the wife of A. M. Burns and the mother of two children, Robert and James; Stella Catherine, the wife of Joseph Elenbaas of Lynden, and the mother of two children; Alice R., the wife of Fred Wolf, of North Dakota, and the mother of one child; and Ruth R., who lives at home and is teaching in the Roeder school at Lynden.
Mr. Burns has taken a commendable interest in the public affairs of his community, and he rendered effective and appreciated service as a member of the school board. He cooperates with his neighbors in all efforts to advance the general welfare of the locality and is looked upon as a man of more than ordinary ability and enterprise. Because of his industry, progressive spirit, hospitality and friendly disposition he has won and retains an enviable place in the confidence and good will of all who have come in contact with him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 42-43.
CLARENCE V. CARSON
C. V. Carson, a representative and successful young business man of Bellingham, is the president of the Carson Grinding Company, conducting a well equipped specialty machine shop. His birth occurred at Kansas City, Kansas, on the 20th of October, 1893, his parents being Bernard and Amy Carson, who have been residents of Texas since 1901. The father is actively engaged in the manufacture of ice in the Lone Star state.
C. V. Carson acquired a public school education in Texas, where he also studied mechanical engineering and mastered the machinist's trade. He had attained the age of twenty-eight years when in January, 1922, he came to Whatcom county, Washington, and settled at Bellingham, where he opened a cylinder grinding and machine shop at No. 221 Prospect street. Mr. Carson was the first man in the city to conduct a specialty shop for the care and repair of internal combustion automobile engines and the first to install a Heald grinder. The business is carried on under the firm name of the Carson Grinding Company, and the concern has well equipped lathes and all up-to-date facilities for the work undertaken.
On the 5th of December, 1924, Mr. Carson was united in marriage to Cecil Bishop, of Bellingham, where both are held in popular esteem. He gives his political support to the republican party, is a member of the Optimist Club and fraternally is affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 515.
Clarence Danielson is one of the citizens of Whatcom county who have built up highly creditable reputations and have distinguished themselves by right and honorable living. A well known farmer of Ferndale township, he is of the large band of foreign-born citizens who have done such a commendable work in the upbuilding of whatcom county. HIs prominence in the community in conceded and his deeds speak for themselves, for he has believed in helping others at the same time that he has labored for his own advancement. Clarence Danielson was born in Wahe, Sweden, June 26, 1871, and is a son of Daniel and Annie Swanson, both of whom were natives of and spent their entire lives in Sweden, the father dying in 1907 and the mother passing away in 1913. They were the parents of five children, Emma, August, Axel, Clarence and Christine.
Clarence Danielson attended the schools of his native land and completed his studies in the public schools at Moorehead, Minnesota. He came to the United States in 1892, and settled near Devil's Lake, North Dakota, where he was employed on large wheat farms, but he soon took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres, to the improvement and cultivation of which he devoted his energies until his marriage, in 1914, after which they moved onto Mrs. Danielson's ranch, where he carried on farming operations until November 9, 1918, when they came to Whatcom county and bought twenty acres of land in Ferndale township. Mr. Danielson has the land partly cleared and is raising hay, while he also keeps five cows and about four hundred chickens, from which they derive a very comfortable income. His old homestead farm in North Dakota he sold about eight years ago, but they still have Mrs. Danielson's farm of one hundred and sixty acres. Their present home is a very well improved and attractive place and they are comfortably situated in every respect.
Mr. Danielson was married February 22, 1914, to Miss Elsie Andreas, who was born in Sweden, the daughter of Peter and Kate Andreas, both of whom died in their native land. Mrs. Danielson is a lady of kindly manner and gracious qualities and has been a worthy helpmate to her husband, they working hand in hand towards the goal of success which they have at last reached. Mr. Danielson has much of the characteristic thrift and energy of the Scandinavian race, of which he is a very creditable representative, and while he reveres his native land, as is natural and right, he has been loyal to his adopted country and conscientiously performs the duties of citizenship. Because of his fine record he has earned and retains the warm regards and the good will of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 616.
CLAY C. DAVIS
Possessing that self-reliant nature which carries the individual beyond the ranks of mediocrity, Clay C. Davis has "made good," and his postgraduate work in the school of experience has well qualified him for the office of manager of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, in which connection he has established a notable record. A native of Missouri, he was born December 2, 1883, near De Kalb, in Buchanan county, of which his parents, John G. and Elizabeth Mahala Davis, are also natives, and the family is one of the oldest in the state. The father is a prosperous agriculturist and for forty-two years has owned and operated the farm on which he now resides. His father, Harrison Davis, was born in Virginia in 1801 and fought in the Texas rebellion of 1833. He settled in Missouri in 1830, and his demise occurred in 1878. The maternal grandfather, Jonathan Dittemore, was a native of Missouri and of Pennsylvania Dutch stock. He was a son of Adam Dittemore, who journeyed from the Keystone state to the middle west and established his home in Missouri early in the '30s.
Clay C. Davis attended the public schools and at the age of nineteen years entered the educational field, teaching for three terms. He then took a commercial course and obtained a clerical position with a railroad. He was identified with transportation affairs for four and a half years and was next in the employ of a wholesale hardware firm of Salt Lake City, Utah. A year later he became connected with the Jensen Creamery of that city, with which he spent seven and a half years, and during two years of that period was manager of the plant at Ogden, Utah. He then came to Washington and for one and a half years was auditor of the Seattle Title & Trust Company. In 1920 Mr. Davis came to Bellingham as manager of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, organized May 10, 1919, and has since filled this responsible office. His exhaustive knowledge of the dairy industry is supplemented by executive ability of a high order, and under his expert management this has become the largest and most successful cooperative association of the kind in the United States.
In 1916 Mr. Davis was united in marriage to Miss Esther Olive Johnson, of Salt Lake City, and they have three daughters: Esther Catherine, Virginia Elizabeth and Marjorie Ann. Mr. Davis is a Mason and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He belongs to the Lions Club, a business men's organization devoted to Americanism, and is also an enthusiastic member of the Chamber of Commerce. Alert, Energetic and purposeful, he never stops short of the attainment of his objective, and his achievements in promoting the dairy industry of northwestern Washington have been of great importance, bringing him widespread prominence and high commendation.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 925.
For forty years Henry Egley has been closely identified with the development and improvement of Whatcom county, during which time he has been rewarded with a very gratifying measure of prosperity, while at the same time he has consistently striven to work hand in hand with his fellow citizens in all efforts to advance the general welfare of the locality. He was born in Switzerland in 1853 and is a son of Christian Henry and Frances (Leaver) Egley, both of whom also were born in that country. Both are now deceased, the mother dying in Nashville, Tennessee, and the father in Lynden, Whatcom county, in 1902. The family came to the United States in 1869 and located on the Cumberland plateau with the Swiss colony, composed of fairly well-to-do families who had come from that country and settled together there. They cleared the land, built roads, established schools and made other improvements, spending practically all of their money, but they were too far from markets and the colony did not prove a success.
Henry Egley remained with his father and on the failure of the colony went with him to Colorado, and from there to California, whence, in 1885, they came to Lynden. Here both entered homesteads, the father taking up one hundred and sixty acres and our subject eighty acres, the former's entry being the land on which our subject now lives. The tract was heavily timbered, with a dense undergrowth, and the only entrance was over a poor trail. For a time it was necessary for them to pack all provisions in on their backs, but in 1886 the road to Lynden was opened, which made it possible to drive a team through. The father cleared about five acres of his land and our subject cleared about seven acres. When his father died Henry Egley moved onto the larger farm, selling his place when he had proved up on it, and he is now living in the old log house which his father built in 1892, it being the second house which he built on the tract. About thirty acres of the farm are now cleared and in cultivation and produce abundant crops of hay and grain. Mr. Egley keeps about twelve cows, and he has been very successful in his management of the place, on which he has made many good improvements.
In 1904 Mr. Egley was married to Miss Louise Johnson, who was born in Nova Scotia, a daughter of James William and Sophie (Marshall) Johnson. Her father was a native of Nova Scotia, though of English descent, while her mother was a native of South Carolina and a member of an old and prominent southern family. Mr. Egley has taken a deep interest in public affairs. In the early days he donated much of his time to the building of roads, thus contributing in a material way to the progress of the community. Wild animals were numerous when he came here, but owing to the heavy timber song birds were almost unknown. However, in later years, when the country became more open, the birds came back and are now plentiful. After a record marked by hard and unremitting toil, he can look back over a career well spent, in which duty has been conscientiously performed, knowing that he has the good will and hearty esteem of all who have come in contact with him, for he possesses to a marked degree those traits of character which commend a man to the favor of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 299.
CARL M. ERB, M. D.
Dr. Carl M. Erb, one of the well known physicians of northwestern Washington, has utilized every opportunity to perfect himself in his chosen calling and for more than twenty years has practiced successfully in Bellingham. A native of Michigan, he was born March 14, 1880, and is a son of Henry and Sarah Erb, both deceased. His higher education was received in the University of Michigan, from which he received the M. D. degree in 1902, and for a year was a intern in a hospital at Ann Arbor. He began his professional career at Bear Lake, Michigan, where he spent two years, and then took a course of study in New York city. He opened an office at Bellingham in 1905 and has since specialized in diseases of the eye, ear, nose and throat. He has devoted much time to postgraduate work and has a comprehensive understanding of these branches of the profession. He has been very successful in his combat with disease and time has ripened his ability, bringing him a large practice.
In 1920 Dr. Erb was united in marriage to Miss Mable McCombs, of Bellingham. He is a thirty-second degree Mason and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, and in 1913 served as master of the blue lodge at Bellingham. He is liberal in his political views and never supports a candidate unless firmly convinced of his qualifications for the office. He finds diversion in aquatic sports and is commodore of the Bellingham Yacht Club, which he aided in organizing in March, 1925. He is the owner of a fine yacht, named the Thetis, which was formerly rigged out as a sloop and was used on Long Island Sound as an auxiliary sailboat. It is fifty by fifteen feet in dimensions and has ample accommodations for forty persons. Dr. Erb brought the boat from New York to Bellingham bay under its own power and devoted eight months to the trip, which was made during 1923-24. He stands high in his profession and keeps in close touch with the achievements of science through his affiliation with the Whatcom County and Washington State Medical Societies and the American Medical Association. The Doctor enjoys the social side of life and has a wide circle of friends, whose esteem he has won and retained by his magnetic personality and intrinsic worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 660.
The best history of a community is that which deals with the lives and activities of the men through whose efforts the locality has been developed and improved, especially those who by their enterprise and progressive methods have forged to the front and have been successful in their individual affairs. Among this class in Whatcom county should be included Gust Erikson, one of the best known citizens of Park township, where he is the owner of a fine farm. He was born in Sweden in 1887 and is a son of John Gustave and Annie (Ransfeldt) Erikson, neither of whom ever left their native land, the father being now deceased.
Gust Erikson attended school in his native land, where he remained until 1906, when, at the age of nineteen years, he came to the United States. He came direct to Whatcom county, stopping first in Bellingham for a short time, and then went to Blue Canyon, where he obtained employment in the coal mines, working there almost twenty years. Meanwhile, in March, 1910, he bought his present home place, comprising one hundred and twenty-eight acres of good land, and the clearing of this tract he applied himself when not employed in the mines. When the mines played out and were shut down, Mr. Erikson devoted his entire attention to his ranch, and he has made considerable progress in its improvement and development. When he bought the place about one and a half acres were cleared, but he now has some fifteen acres cleared and in cultivation. He has erected all the buildings on the place excepting the house and has made many other permanent and substantial improvements, developing a valuable and desirable farm. He gives considerable attention to dairy farming, keeping a number of good grade milk cows, and also raises chickens and hogs. He has a nice orchard, now in full bearing, and also has a good berry patch.
On October 22, 1910, Mr. Erikson was married to Miss Regina Olson, who was born in Minnesota, a daughter of Andrew and Olive (Rolfshus) Olson, the former of whom was born in Norway and now lives at Lake Whatcom, while the latter, who was born in Iowa died in 1893. The father came to the United States in 1873, when fifteen years of age, and first located in Wisconsin, where he was employed at various occupations. In 1878 he went to Minnesota, where he remained until 1903, when he came to Whatcom county. He first located at Bellingham, but now, as above stated, lives at Lake Whatcom, where he is engaged in farming. To Mr. and Mrs. Erikson have been born three children: John, Louise and Marion, all of whom were born on the present home place. Mr. Erikson's ability and enterprise were long ago recognized and appreciated by his fellow citizens, among whom he has enjoyed an excellent reputation. He served for seven years as a member of the township board of supervisors and was road boss for one year, the road around the south end of the lake being constructed under his supervision. When he first came here there were no roads, and he was compelled to row to and from the Blue Canyon mine. Fraternally he is a member of the Blue Canyon Lodge, No. 182, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and is also a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Although a quiet and unassuming man, he possesses a forceful personality, and he has contributed in a very definite degree to the material and civic advancement of the community, while his admirable qualities of head and heart and the straightforward, upright course of his daily life have won for him the unbounded esteem and confidence of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 619-20.
JOE P. ESTERGREEN
Among the citizens of the Nooksack valley, Whatcom county, who have built up a comfortable home and surrounded themselves with valuable personal property, few have attained great success or attained a higher place in the esteem of the community than has Joe P. Estergreen, one of the most public-spirited citizens of that locality. He is regarded as a good business man and an excellent manager - a man who possesses sound judgment and keen foresight - and believes in pressing forward, keeping the wheels of progress ever moving up the steeps. Mr. Estergreen is a native of Sweden, born on the 17th of September, 1856, and is a son of Olaf and Brittalena Johnson, both of whom also were natives of Sweden. His grandfather, Andre Janson, was a soldier in the Napoleonic war from 1812 to 1815. The father of Joe P. Estergreen was a sailor and in 1848 his ship put into San Francisco harbor. At about that time gold was discovered in California and Mr. Johnson left his ship and went to the gold mines, following mining for about eight years. He took up claims where the city of Alameda is now located, but he was absent at the mines so long that Spaniards jumped his claims. He and his brother John bought a sloop and engaged in freighting on the Sacramento river from Stockton to San Francisco. Later Mr. Johnson returned to Sweden and bought a farm, to the cultivation of which he devoted his remaining years, his death occurring in 1896. To him and his wife were born eight children, of whom six are living.
Joe P. Estergreen was educated in the public schools in his native land and also attended high school. For a short time he was employed as a bookkeeper and then, in 1880, came to the United States. He first located in Illinois, where he remained about two and one-half years, and then went to San Francisco, California, where he lived for six months. In 1882 he came to Seattle, Washington, and in February of the following year went to Island county, where he was employed on a farm until fall, when he came to the Nooksack valley, Whatcom county, and took up a preemption claim of one hundred and sixty acres, three and one-half miles west of Sumas. Here he built a small log house and began clearing the land. He lived there two years, paid out on the land and then took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres two and one-half miles west of Sumas, which was also covered with a dense growth of timber. He ran a bunch of cattle, and he cleared off about twenty-five acres of the land, creating a good home, and there lived until 1901, when he sold the place and moved to his other farm, to the clearing of which he directed his attention. Later he sold a part of that tract and now owns about seventy-five acres, thirty-two and one-half acres of which are cleared and in cultivation, his main crops being hay, grain and beans. He also has a nice berry patch, and keeps eight good milk cows. He has prospered in his operation of this place and is accounted one of the enterprising and successful farmers of the Nooksack valley. In 1900 Mr. Estergreen built a comfortable and attractive house and in 1920 he built a substantial and commodious barn.
On November 1, 1897, Mr. Estergreen was married to Miss Malena Johnson, who also was a native of Sweden, a daughter of Jens and Edna Swenson, both of whom spent their entire lives in that country. Mrs. Estergreen, who came to the United States in 1891, is one of four children born to her parents, the others being Nels, Nellie and Hannah. To Mr. and Mrs. Estergreen have been born four children, namely: Norman, who is a graduate of the Sumas high school and who is married; Francis M.; Grace, who was graduated from the Nooksack high school and the State Normal School at Bellingham and is now teaching school at Oak Harbor, Washington; and Elphie, who is now in high school. Norman Estergreen, the first named, enlisted for service in the World war at the age of eighteen years and was sent overseas to France, where he remained for seventeen months.
Mr. and Mrs. Estergreen are earnest members of the First Swedish Lutheran church of Clearbrook, to which they give generous support. Politically Mr. Estergreen has long been a supporter of the republican party and has served as delegate to state conventions of his party. He is a stanch advocate of improved roads and good schools and every measure for the betterment of the community along material, civic or moral lines receives his active support. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. Because of his fine personal qualities and his ability he holds an enviable place in the confidence and esteem of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 466-467.
WILLIAM PERRY GABRIEL
Of honored pioneer stock, William Perry Gabriel has witnessed much of the actual "winning of the west," and his memory forms a connecting link between the primitive past and the prosperity of the present day. He is the owner of a valuable ranch near Wickersham and for nearly twenty years has lived in this district, in which he is widely and favorably known. In former years he was very active in public affairs and filled with credit every office to which he was called. He was born in Lane county, Oregon, in 1858, and his parents, William Jackson and Rebecca (Goodman) Gabriel, were natives of Boonville, Missouri. They were married in that town and in 1850 started on the long and perilous journey to Oregon, using oxen as a means of transportation. After many hardships and privations they finally reached their destination, and they were among the earliest settlers in that region. Everywhere were dense forests of tall pines, in which lurked many hostile redskins. Early in the '70s the father was killed by a half-breed Indian, and the mother passed away in the '80s.
W. P. Gabriel received such educational advantages as were afforded by the primitive schools of those days and at the age of sixteen became a wage earner, contributing his share toward the support of the family. In 1879 he came to Washington, obtaining employment at Cathalene, and later went to Canada. For several years he was a driver of ox teams in the province of British Columbia and about 1883 returned to the States. He engaged in the same line of work in the lumber camps of King county, Washington, and later went to Edison, Skagit county. He drove oxen for Patrick McCoy, Edward English, J. L. Davis and others and followed that occupation at Clearlake, Washington, before the town was founded. He located on a farm near Edison but cultivated the land only a short time and next turned his attention to the meat business. Later he revisited British Columbia, and in 1907 he entered the logging industry at Wickersham, Washington. He was identified with the business for several years and in 1918 decided to become an agriculturist. Mr. Gabriel bought a twelve acre tract near the town and now operates a fine dairy on his place. He also conducts a poultry farm and each branch of the work has proved profitable, for he is thorough, systematic and efficient, well informed on matter pertaining to the lines in which he specializes.
In 1891 Mr. Gabriel was united in marriage to Miss Mary Flynn, who was born in Michigan and came to Whatcom county during her girlhood. Mr. Gabriel is connected with the Loyal Order of Moose and casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party. He was road supervisor in an early day and served on the school board a quarter of a century ago. He acted as constable and game warden for twenty-seven years, establishing an enviable record in that connection, and for nine years he has filled the office of fire warden. Mr. Gabriel has a high sense of duty and honor and his life has been fraught with the accomplishment of much good.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 615-616.
With a natural inclination for mechanical pursuits, Joseph Goodwin has wisely developed this gift, and his business career is a record of continuous progress. He is one of the more recent additions to the citizenship of Bellingham and is well known in automotive circles as the owner of a fine garage. A son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Walker) Goodwin, he was born in 1882 and is a native of England. The father has devoted his life to mercantile pursuits and still resides in England, but the mother has passed away.
Mr. Goodwin received a public school education and afterward served an apprenticeship to the machinist's trade. In 1901 he made the voyage to Canada and located in Moosejaw, where he lived for eleven years. He was employed as a machinist by the Canadian Pacific Railroad and in 1905 established the first garage in Moosejaw. In 1911 he went to the province of British Columbia and in 1917 was made one of seven instructors in the British Columbia University for returned soldiers. He was later connected with the Vancouver branch of the Studebaker Company and was also head mechanic for the Hudson's Bay Company. In January, 1923, he allied his interests with those of Bellingham and opened the Holly Garden Garage in the old roller skating rink. He has a floor space of one hundred by one hundred and thirty feet and storage capacity for two hundred cars. He has a wrecking car and maintains a well equipped repair shop. Mr. Goodwin handles the hood make of tires, and a well merited reputation for expert service and fair dealing has brought him a large share of the local automobile trade.
In April, 1925, Mr. Goodwin was united in marriage to Mrs. Christina Margaret (Ross) McGregor, and in all that affects the development and progress of the city they are deeply interested. Mr. Goodwin in connected with the Fraternal Order of Eagles but has little time for other activities, as his energies are concentrated upon the task of upbuilding his business, and his enterprise, ability and strength of character insure his success.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 588-589.
EDWARD J. GORSUCH
Edward J. Gorsuch is a member of one of the prominent families of Ferndale and a young man of enterprise, determination and ability who is recognized as a "live wire" in connection with the development of the local hardware trade. He was born April 8, 1892, in King county, Washington, and his parents were Frank W. and Sadie C. (Atkinson) Gorsuch. The former was a native of Wisconsin and the latter was born in Illinois. They were among the early settlers of King county, Washington, and for many years the father was the owner of a general store at Vashon. In 1913 he came to Ferndale and purchased the hardware business of the firm of Clark & Giblin, whose establishment was situated in the east end of the town. Later he rented a store in the Knights of Pythias building and successfully conducted the business until his demise in 1920. He was a man of progressive ideas, a merchant of high reputation and a citizen of worth to the community.
His son, Edward J. Gorsuch, was educated in the public schools of King county and also had the benefit of a commercial course. He assisted his father in the store during vacation periods and soon became familiar with the details of the trade. As the years passed he assumed heavier responsibilities, and since the death of Frank W. Gorsuch he has controlled the business closely adhering to the high standards of service established by his father. In addition to a full line of hardware he carries a stock of paint, oil and building material, and under his expert direction the business has constantly expanded.
On August 4, 1914, Mr. Gorsuch married Miss Margaret Harmeling, a daughter of Stephen J. Harmeling, of Vashon, Washington, and the children of this union are Edward J., Jr., and Howard. Mr. Gorsuch casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party and along fraternal lines is connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He lends the weight of his support to every project destined to prove of benefit to the community, and the respect accorded him is well deserved.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 533.
MANLEY A. HAMILTON
Manley A. Hamilton, who death occurred December 9, 1925, was one of the well known agriculturists of Van Wyck township, in which he made his home for more than thirty years, and his life record illustrated the power of diligence and honesty in the attainment of prosperity. A native of Canada, he was born in the province of Ontario, december 12, 1856, and his parents were John M. and Matilda Hamilton. The family went to Iowa in 1878 and the father operated a farm in that state.
Manley A. Hamilton was educated in Ontario and attended school in Iowa for five months. He went from that state to Minnesota, in which he followed agricultural pursuits for a time, and from 1881 until 1884 lived in the province of Manitoba, Canada. He then returned to Minnesota, where he remained until 1889, when he came to Washington. He spent two years in Seattle and on the expiration of that period purchased a tract of land near Bellingham. He became the owner of a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres and retained fifty-eight acres of the original property. The land was covered with stumps, and he cleared twenty-five acres. The soil is fertile and produces abundant crops of hay, oats and peas. His standards of farming were high, and he equipped his place with modern, labor saving appliances, making many improvements which have increased its value.
In 1887 Mr. Hamilton was married, in Minnesota, to Mrs. Marie Hanson, whose father was one of the pioneer farmers of that state, and two children were born to them but both are deceased. The son, William A. Hamilton, married Miss Josephine Waters, by whom he had three children, and they now reside with their mother in Vancouver, British Columbia.
Like many broadminded, farseeing men, Mr. Hamilton maintained an independent attitude in politics and strove ever to advance the general good. He served for years on the school board in Van Wyck township and signed the first petition for rural free delivery in this district. His life was one of unceasing industry and his loyalty and public spirit made him a strong center of his community, where his passing was deeply mourned.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 626.
Peter Hansen is one of the valuable citizens whom the Scandinavian countries have furnished to the United States and is the owner of a productive, well improved farm in Lawrence township. He was born in 1861 and is a native of Denmark. In 1882, when a young man of twenty-one, he responded to the lure of the new world and first went to St. Paul, Minnesota, spending five years in that locality. In 1887 he migrated to South Dakota and took up a homestead on the Indian reservation. He developed the claim, which he afterward sold, and in 1905 came to Whatcom county, purchasing a tract of forty acres in Lawrence township. He has since cultivated this land and is engaged in general farming and dairying. He also raises poultry and receives substantial returns from his labors, which are guided by intelligence and sound judgment. Mr. Hansen is an experienced agriculturist and his methods are up-to-date and effective. He has built a modern home and good barns and is constantly enhancing the value of the property, which reflects his progressive spirit and energetic nature.
Mr. Hansen's first wife was Miss Annie Newhouse, now deceased. In 1914 he married Miss Elizabeth Peterson, a Norwegian, who came to northwestern Washington in 1899, during her girlhood. To the first union were born six children: Ruth, a professional nurse; Marie, who was married to Alfred Knutsen and is living in Bellingham; Clarence and Tony, both of whom reside in Skagit county, Washington; Esther, the wife of William Wright, of Los Angeles, California; and Carl, a young man of twenty, who ably assists his father in operating the homestead.
Mr. Hansen belongs to the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and is a republican in his political views but has never aspired to public office. Frank, genuine and unassuming, he has the faculty of making and retaining friends, and in a land unhampered by caste or class he has achieved the object of his ambition, enjoying the prosperity which results from a life of earnest endeavor.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 779.
PETER L. HEGG
In perusing the list of the men who have had a part in the clearing of the land and the development of the agricultural resources of Whatcom county, it is found that many of our most successful and enterprising farmers are natives of Sweden, a fortunate thing for the county, for these people are steady, industrious and reliable, have become splendid citizens of our republic and have contributed of their efforts to the development and progress of their respective communities. Among this number is P. L. Hegg, one of the best known citizens of Park township, with the farming interests of which he has been identified since 1913. Mr. Hegg was born in Sweden in 1865 and is a son of John and Brita (Ericksdotter) Hegg, who brought their family to the United States in 1881. They located in central Wisconsin, where the father worked in sawmills in the summer months, while during the winters he worked in the woods. Eventually he engaged in farming, and he and his wife spent their remaining years in Wisconsin, the father's death occurring there in 1924.
P. L. Hegg secured his education in the public schools of his native land and on coming to this country worked with his father in the woods and mills of Wisconsin until January, 1890, when he came to Whatcom county, locating first at Sehome and coming to his present place on Lake Whatcom in 1913. For a while after coming to this county he was associated with his brother, E. A. Hegg, who conducted a photograph studio. In 1897 he bought out his brother, who went to Alaska, and he conducted the business until 1907, when he closed the studio, the building being town down to make way to the new Alaska building. He then went to Alaska, where he remained during the years 1908 to 1910, working in a store, and then returned to Whatcom county and established a store in Bellingham, which he ran until 1913, when he bought fifty-six acres of land, comprising his present farm at Lake Whatcom. The only clearing done was a small space around the house which stood on the tract, and he at once applied himself with vigor to the further improvement of the property, erecting a barn and other necessary buildings and then removing the timber, logs and brush which covered the land. He now has about eleven acres cleared and in cultivation, hay, potatoes and berries being his principal crops. He is giving some attention to dairying, keeping five cows, for which he raises sufficient feed. He also has a nice bearing orchard, which adds to the value of the ranch.
Mr. Hegg is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He has taken an active interest in the public affairs of Park township, of which he is now treasurer. He served for six or seven years as township clerk and was for three years a member of the board of supervisors. Fraternally he was for a number of years a member of the Improved Order of Red Men. He owns a number of very interesting and valuable photographs of early scenes in Whatcom county, and he has long been interested in the splendid progress which this county has made since he first came here, and in which he has done his part. He is a man of sterling character, his strict integrity and fine public spirit having gained for him the unbounded confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens throughout this section.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 618-619.
James Hoag received no assistance at the outset of his career, but with ambition and confidence in his own powers he has steadily progressed along lines of general usefulness as well as individual success and has long been recognized as one of the most progressive agriculturists of Deming township. He was born March 7, 1868, in Huntington county, Indiana, and his parents were R. W. and Sabina (Tarn) Hoag, the latter also a Hoosier. The father was a native of New York state and engaged in farming and merchandising, also operating a sawmill.
James Hoag received a public school education and early in life began to provide for his own maintenance, losing his father when but ten years of age. He was employed along various lines in Indiana and in the fall of 1891 arrived in Deming. He worked for some time in the lumber camps of Whatcom county and then purchased a livery stable in Deming. He operated a stage line and also engaged in contracting. In 1905 he purchased a tract of twenty acres adjoining the town and has since devoted his energies to the development of this property. He has a fine farm, equipped with modern, labor-saving devices and improved with good buildings. His well tilled fields produce rich harvests, and he has also found dairying a profitable industry when conducted along scientific lines.
On July 2, 1895, Mr. Hoag married Miss Miriam Langdon, a native of Pennsylvania and a daughter of William and Jane D. (Jackson) Langdon. They migrated to Alameda, California, in 1886 and afterward went to San Francisco, where the father passed away. Mrs. Langdon and her daughter Miriam came to Deming township in 1893, and the mother bought from the government a relinquishment claim of eighty acres. She developed the tract and continued to make her home on the farm until her demise. To Mr. and Mrs. Hoag were born five children: Edna, now the wife of D. A. Vaughan, of Colfax, Washington; Harry, who lives in Bellingham and has a wife and daughter; James V., who resides in Bellingham and is also married; Fay, who was married to Chester Bott, the owner of a ranch near the Hoag homestead, and has two children; and Alice, aged eleven years.
Mr. Hoag is identified with the Knights of Pythias and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He has many sincere friends throughout Deming township, in which he has spent much of his life, and every project destined to prove of benefit to the district receives his strong endorsement and earnest support.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 660-663.
WILLIAM J. IRELAND
Through personal experience William J. Ireland has become well acquainted with many phases of pioneer life in the west, bearing his share in the work of progress and improvement, and although he has passed the Psalmist's allotted span of three score years and ten, time has dealt kindly with him. He is one of Bellingham's prosperous merchants and brings to his daily tasks both mental and physical vigor, finding true contentment in the performance of useful labor. He was born August 17, 1855, and is a native of Ontario, Canada. He is one of the seven children in the family of Richard and Marie Ireland and was but four years old when his father died.
Mr. Ireland was educated in the public schools of the Dominion and on starting out in life for himself chose the career of an agriculturist. In 1879, when twenty-four years of age, he went to South Dakota and entered a homestead, casting in his lot with the early settlers of the state. After years of arduous labor he converted the land into a productive tract, to which he added modern improvements from time to time, and also found time for public affairs. He was made auditor of Roberts county in 1893, filling the position until 1897, and for four years served as deputy county treasurer. In 1902 he came to Washington, opening a grocery in Bellingham, but soon afterward disposed of his stock and resumed the occupation of farming. He lived in the vicinity of Lynden, Washington, for a few years and then sold a portion of his land, going to Fergus county, Montana and returned to Bellingham, becoming the owner of the Van Wyck dairy store which he has since conducted. He is a reliable merchant, a business man of experience and ability, and has established a good trade.
In 1890 Mr. Ireland married Miss Alice Little, who was born in Minnesota and during her girlhood went to South Dakota. To this union were born four children, of whom Winnifred is the eldest. She is the wife of Robert Rittenberg, of Bellingham, by whom she has four children, two sons and two daughters. Her sister, Susan, is teacher of the violin in the Bellingham School of Music. Eva is the wife of Lee W. Day, of Bellingham, and the mother of three children. Ruth, the youngest member of the family, is engaged in educational work and resides in Oregon.
Mr. Ireland is a stanch adherent of the republican party and in former years was active in politics. Along fraternal lines he is connected with the Woodmen of the World and the Knights of Pythias. He has faithfully discharged every duty and obligation, having a keen sense of responsibilities of citizenship, and in the course of a long, upright and useful life he has won the esteem of many friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 707-708.
HUGH HERBERT JAMIESON
The late Hugh Herbert Jamison, for years a well established merchant at Lynden, where he died in the summer of 1922, and whose widow now is living in Bellingham, had been a resident of Whatcom county for more than thirty years and was widely known throughout this region. Mr. Jamieson was born in the maritime province of New Brunswick in 1859, of Scotch-Irish stock, and was there reared. As a young man he became a resident of Minnesota, where he remained until 1889, when he arrived in Washington and became connected with the logging operations of his brother, John Jamieson, in the Bay settlements. Some years later he bought the store at Clearbrook in this county and thus entered upon the mercantile career in which he engaged the remainder of his life. Five years later he sold his Clearbrook store and helped to organize a wholesale grocery establishment at Bellingham with which he was connected until 1904, when he bought the old Killdall [Kildall] general merchandise store at Lynden and moved to that place, creating there the widely known Farmers Mercantile Company, of which he was the head, and thus continued in business at that place until his death, August 8, 1922, being one of the best known and most successful merchants in the county.
On December 25, 1896, at Bellingham, Mr. Jamieson was united in marriage to Miss Cena M. Byron, who survives him and who is now making her home in Bellingham, residing at 830 Liberty street. She was born in the state of Maine, daughter of Josiah and Susan (Richardson) Byron, both members of colonial families in New England. Mrs. Jamieson has been a resident of Washington since 1890 and has three children: Cecil B. Jamieson, a veteran of the World war, who was graduated from the Lynden high school and from the University of Washington and is now living in Chicago; Ivan Jamieson, a student in the Bellingham high school; and Mrs. Rita S. Faunton, now living in Portland, whose education was finished in the Annie Wright Seminary.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 460-461.
Coming to the new world with no capital save youth, energy and ability, Olof Johnson has readily surmounted all obstacles and difficulties, never wavering in his purpose, and is now numbered among the prosperous agriculturists and highly esteemed resident of Lawrence township. He was born December 19, 1880, and is a native of Sweden. In 1906 he resolved to follow the example of many of his fellow countrymen who had come to the United States in search of fortune, and after his arrival in this country at once started for northwestern Washington. He obtained work in Bellingham, spending sixteen months in that city, and was then in position to rent land. He secured a place near Nooksack which he cultivated for two years, and on the expiration of that period bought a tract of forty acres in Lawrence township. The land was covered with stumps, but he now has twenty acres under the plow. He has built a good home, also adding other improvements, and has wrought a marked transformation in the appearance of the farm since acquiring the property. He has a fine dairy and keeps only the best grade of cattle.
On July 5, 1906, Mr. Johnson married Miss Anna Johnson, also a native of Sweden, and they have two children: Agnes, a girl of seventeen, and Elvin, aged fourteen years. They were also the parents of another daughter who died when but a month old. Mr. Johnson is connected with the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and has been affiliated with the organization since its inception. He is a progressive in politics and recognized the duties and obligations as well as the privileges of citizenship, exercising his powers as readily for the public weal as for his own aggrandizement. He has bee supervisor of Lawrence township and has also served on the school board. Mr. Johnson is loyal to every cause which he espouses and combines in his character all the qualities of a useful and desirable citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 946.
JOHN A. JOHNSTON
Dairying has become one of the chief industries of Whatcom county and among the leaders in this line of activity is numbered John A. Johnston, who for more than a quarter of a century has been classed with the progressive agriculturists of Mountain View township. He was born in the province of Ontario, Canada, in the year 1857, and his parents were Alexander and Catherine Johnston, the latter a native of Scotland. The father was born in Montreal, Canada, and followed the occupation of farming as a life work.
John A. Johnston was educated in the public schools of the Dominion and in 1876, when a young man of nineteen, came to the States. He lived in Michigan for two years and in 1878 journeyed westward, taking up a government claim in North Dakota. He was one of the early settlers of that state, in which he spent eight years, experiencing the hardships and privations of frontier life, and through patience and industry succeeded in converting his property into a productive farm. He arrived in Bellingham, Washington, in 1888 and became an employee of the Bellingham Bay Improvement Company. Mr. Johnston was in the service of that corporation for a number of years and in 1900 came to Mountain View township. He first rented land and later was able to purchase a farm. He now owns two hundred and forty acres and also works an additional tract of eighty acres on shares. He has no contract for the property which he rents, for his honesty is above question, and to his occupation he brings a keen sense of agricultural economics, never allowing a foot of the land to be unproductive. He has a highly specialized knowledge of the dairy industry and keeps a herd of blooded Guernseys and Holsteins, having about fifty milch cows. His buildings are thoroughly modern and sanitary and his equipment includes De Laval milking machines and gas engines. The high quality of his dairy products is the direct result of system and science in their preparation, and his ranch is one of the best in the township.
In 1885 Mr. Johnston married Miss Mary Ann Martin, also a native of Ontario, Canada, and to their union were born eight children. John, the eldest, served in the United States navy during the World war. He is married and operates a forty acre farm in Mountain View township. The others are: Harry and Alexander, at home; William ; Earl, who lives in Bellingham; Mamie, the wife of Chester Spearing, of Bellingham, and the mother of three children, a son and two daughters; and Jessie and Myrtle, who are still with their parents.
Mr. Johnston casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party and conscientiously discharges the duties of citizenship but has never aspired to public office. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and his fraternal affiliations are with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. He has led a busy and useful life, directing his energies into constructive channels, and through deep study and advanced methods has aided in raising the standards of dairying and agriculture in this section of the country, in which he has a wide acquaintance and many steadfast friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 919-920.
CHARLES M. JONES
Charles M. Jones proved his loyalty and devotion to his country by gallant service in the World war and is now numbered among the leading automobile dealers of Blaine. He was born in 1893 in Cedar county, Missouri, and is a son of W. B. and Elizabeth Jones. The latter passed away in that state, and the father brought his family of six children to Whatcom county, Washington, in 1903, locating in Bellingham. In 1904 he moved to Blaine and for many years was in the employ of the Great Northern Railroad Company, making his home here until his death in 1921.
Charles M. Jones attended the public schools of Missouri and completed his education in Blaine. He was employed along mechanical lines until 1917, when he entered the service of the nation, becoming a member of the First Balloon Company, and was later made sergeant. He was assigned to duty in the machine gun aircraft service and spent eighteen months overseas. He was stationed at the front for six months, being on active duty every day of that period, and was honorably discharged in June, 1919, at the end of two years' service. He returned to Blaine and on January 1, 1920, organized the Drayton Automobile Company, of which he has since been the president. He has the local agency for the Overland and Willys-Knight cars and maintains the most complete and up-to-date repair shop in the county. It is equipped for acetylene welding, and he has also installed a Willard storage battery, a lathe and a drill press. The business is conducted in a modern two-story building, fifty by one hundred feet in dimensions, and furnishes employment to three skilled mechanics. Mr. Jones closely supervises every detail of the work and manifests keen sagacity, marked foresight and executive power in directing the business, which is rapidly expanding.
In 1922 Mr. Jones married Miss Ola Hayson, of Burlington, Washington and they have a son, Charles L. Mr. Jones belongs to the American Legion and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. He is one of the earnest members of the Chamber of Commerce and gives his political support to the republican party. A young man of enterprising spirit, he has never feared that laborious effort which must ever precede ascendancy in all lines of endeavor, and his energy, determination and ability insure his continuous progress.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 939.
WILLIAM LOUIS LAMBERT
The late William Louis Lambert, who for years was one of the chief factors in the oyster industry that has been developed in the Pacific northwest, having been manager and chief stockholder of the Crescent Oyster Company of Crescent, British Columbia, was a well known citizen of Bellingham. He was one of the pioneers of the Puget Sound country and his interests had centered here since the days of his young manhood.
Mr. Lambert was born in Wisconsin in 1870 and came to the coast country with his father, a native of New York state, in the middle '80s. In the early '90s he had observed the native oyster beds in Boundary bay and in 1903 projected the enterprise of developing the same. Convincing a group of friends that there a fine field for exploration there he brought about the organization of the Crescent Oyster Company, was elected manager and in time acquired the controlling stock in the company. The profitable development of these oyster beds and the success of the company organized by Mr. Lambert are matters of common knowledge. Mr. Lambert continued active in this business, and in the promotion of other interests he also acquired here until his death, January 30, 1924.
On June 21, 1905, at the home of his bride in Bellingham, William L. Lambert was united in marriage to Miss Eva Charroin, who survives him. They had two children, Wilma Lois, now (1926) a student in Leland Stanford, Junior, University, and Evan Charroin Lambert, who is a student in Fairhaven high school. Mr. Lambert was a home-loving and book-loving man who cared little for social contacts beyond the few friends he most valued. Although on account of his business he was obliged to spend a great deal of time at Crescent, British Columbia, he maintained his home in Bellingham so that his family might have the advantages of city life and his children be educated in American schools. He was fair minded and generous and was greatly beloved by his employees. Mrs. Lambert was born in Wisconsin and is a daughter of the Rev. and Mrs. Victor Charroin, now living in Bellingham, of which city they have been residents for the past quarter of a century or more.
For some time after her arrival here in 1899 Mrs. Lambert was engaged in teaching school, first on Lummi Island and then in Bellingham schools, and was thus engaged until her marriage. Since her husband's death she has been devoting herself to the management of his estate. She attends St. James Presbyterian church, belongs to the Twentieth Century Club and is affiliated with Chapter F. P. E. O. and several civic organizations. She resides at 235 South Garden street.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 461.
HARRY A. LAUBE
One of the leading citizens and representative agriculturists of Whatcom county is Harry A. Laube, proprietor of a fine and well improved farm in Ferndale township. His has been an eminently active and useful life and he has become a man of large influence in his community, where his splendid personal qualities are recognized and appreciated by his fellow citizens. Mr. Laube is a native of Wisconsin, born on the 11th of September, 1882, and is a son of Charles and Margaret (Gumbar) Laube, the latter of whom was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The father, a native of Switzerland and of French descent, became a harness maker by trade. In 1882 he came to Whatcom county and took up a homestead near Blaine, which he lost, however, to a claim jumper. He then bought a rance on the Marietta road, after which he went back to Wisconsin, and in 1900 brought his family to this state. He is now retired and is living in Bellingham, where he owns considerable property.
Harry A. Laube was educated in the public schools of his native state, graduating from the high school at Brodhead, Wisconsin, and then learned the trade of a tinner, finishing his apprenticeship with Monroe, Blake & Haskell, in Bellingham. He followed that vocation for thirteen years but in 1912 he located on a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres which his father owned in Ferndale township. He milks thirty head of good grade Holstein cows, owns five pure bred cows, ten head of young cattle and a fine registered bull. He also has horses to do the farm work. He farms about ninety acres of land in addition to a fine tract of forty-five acres adjoining his father's ranch owned by him. He has personally cleared eighty acres of land which was covered with brush and cedar trees; carries on general farming, his crops being diversified in character; and he exercises excellent judgment in all his operations. Among the many fine improvements on the place is the electric system which he has installed, including a two-unit milking machine and a complete water system. He is progressive in all his ideas and, because of his indomitable energy, careful management and wise discrimination, he is realizing a splendid success in his work. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association.
Mr. Laube was married May 22, 1907, to Miss Edith Clift, who was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, but was only three years of age when brought to Washington by her parents, C. H. and Bessie (Foster) Clift, who settled here in 1891. Her father died in 1923 and her mother is now living in Bellingham. Mr. and Mrs. Laube are the parents of three children: Helen, born January 8, 1910, now a student in the Meridian high school; Carl Leo, born September 24, 1913, also attending school; and Harry A., born September 5, 1925. Mr. Laube is in thorough sympathy with all movements calculated to advance the interests of the community in any way, and his record has been such as to gain for him the unbounded confidence and good will of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 612.
JOHN L. LIKINS
John L. Likins, one of Bellingham's honored pioneers, has long been classed with the city's leading contractors and has also aided in framing the laws of his state. He was born in 1862 and is a native of Iowa. His parents were Leonard E. and Elizabeth (Hammoch) Likins, the former of whom was born in Virginia in 1832, while the latter was a native of Kentucky. They were among the early settlers of Iowa, and the father was engaged in farming and merchandising. They moved to Kansas about 1872 and in 1876 migrated to California, establishing their home in Amador county, where the father passed away, while the mother's demise occurred in Bellingham.
John L. Likins received a high school education and completed his studies in California. He came to northwestern Washington in 1883, when twenty-one years of age, and opened a grocery store in Whatcom. He was one of the earliest settlers in this locality and owned the first spring wagon brought to Whatcom county. He conducted the store for fourteen years and in 1897 embarked in the contracting business, in which he has since continued with the exception of a period of seven years, from 1913 until 1920, when he served as a deputy under the state fish commissioner. In 1909 he constructed the water mains from the reservoir to the city, and he also specializes in street, road and sewer work. He is unsurpassed in this field of activity and has filled many important contracts, controlling a large business.
In 1909 Mr. Likins was married, in Seattle, to Mrs. Sophia B. Studdert, a native of New York and a daughter of George and Sophia Beck. In 1888 her parents journeyed from Alabama to the Pacific coast, settling in Tacoma, Washington, and later moved to Friday Harbor. There Mr. Beck was engaged in farming until his demise, and his widow is now a resident of Seattle. Mr. Likins is allied with the democratic party and in 1897 was a member of the state legislature. He was chief of police of Bellingham during 1910-11. He made a creditable record in every office to which he was called, discharging his public duties with the same thoroughness and conscientiousness that he displays in the conduct of his private affairs. For forty-three years a resident of the state, Mr. Likins has been an important factor in the development of western Washington, and he well merits the trust that has been reposed in him, for his life has been productive of much good.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 596-597.
WILBERT G. LONGWOOD, D. D. S.
Dr. W. G. Longwood, who has been engaged in the practice of dentistry at Bellingham during the past fifteen years, has gained a well merited reputation as a skilled and able representative of this profession. He was born at Bloomfield, Iowa, on the 16th of July, 1884, a son of J. W. and Eliza (Cary) Longwood. The father, who devoted his attention to general agricultural pursuits throughout his active business career, is now living retired at Bellingham.
W. G. Longwood received his professional training in the Western Dental College of Kansas City, Missouri, from which he was graduated with the degree of D. D. S. in 1908. Thereafter he engaged in the practice of dentistry at Waverly, Kansas, until the 1st of January, 1911, in which year he came to Whatcom county, Washington, and opened an office at Bellingham. Through the intervening period, covering a decade and a half, he has devoted an extensive and lucrative practice in the field of his chosen calling, and his skill has become widely recognized.
On the 15th of July, 1915, Dr. Longwood wedded Miss Corinne Lachmund, of Seattle, Washington. They are the parents of a son and a daughter, Wilbert Louis and Rosemary Louise.
In his political views Dr. Longwood is a stanch republican. He belongs to the Optimist Club, of which he is now serving as president, and also has membership in the Country Club. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and with the Masonic order, in which he has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite and has crossed the sands of the desert with the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. Dr. Longwood cooperates in many measures for the public good, and he occupies an enviable position as a citizen, in his professional relations and in social circles.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 60.
Success is never known to smile upon the idler or dreamer and she never courts those who scoff at honest labor, only those who have diligently sought her favor being crowned with her blessings. In tracing the history of the prosperous and enterprising farmer whose name forms the caption to this sketch, it is found that his success has been gained by indomitable industry, well directed energy and the exercise of sound judgment, elements which enter very largely into every successful career. Carl Loreen is a native of Sweden and first saw the light of day September 19, 1868. He is a son of Bengt Loren and Anna (Bretta) Swenson, both of whom spent their lives and died in that country, where the father had been a lifelong farmer. To them were born eight children, four of whom died in infancy, the others being: Malcom who died in 1912; Mrs. Alma S. Estergreen; and Carl, the subject of this sketch, and Leonard, who lives at Clearbrook, Whatcom county.
Carl Loreen was educated in the public schools of his native land, where he lived until 1888, when, at the age of twenty years, he sought a field of larger opportunity for individual advancement and emigrated to the United States. In that same year he came to Washington and for a time was employed in sawmills and logging camps. In 1892 he bought twenty acres of land, comprising a part of the Estergreen homestead, and to the clearing of this tract he at once devoted his attention and energy. He has made many fine improvements on the place, including the building of a good barn in 1897, a comfortable and attractive house in 1902, a silo in 1914 and another silo in 1921, as well as other necessary farm buildings, so that today he is well equipped for up-to-date farming under the best of conditions. In 1898 he bought eighteen additional acres and now has all of his land cleared and under the plow, raising large crops of hay and sufficient corn to fill his silos. He gives special attention to dairy farming, keeping twenty head of milk cows and young stock, some of which are pure bred, and a registered bull. In addition to his home farm, Mr. Loreen also bought, in 1916, twenty acres of land three miles west of Sumas, and is now engaged in clearing it. In 1926 he bought ten more acres of land adjoining the twenty acre tract on the north side.
In 1902 Mr. Loreen was married to Miss Nida Josephine Larson, who was born and reared in Sweden, coming to the United States in 1900. To this union were born four children, namely: Hilding Gottfried, born March 24, 1903, who is a graduate of the Nooksack high school; Ruby Josephine, who was born in 1905 and died in 1908; Carl Oscar, born September 8, 1907, who was graduated from high school in May, 1926; and Ruby Agnes Anita, born December 16, 1909, who is attending high school. The mother of these children died December 16, 1909, and Mr. Loreen has never re-married, having devoted himself to the rearing of his children, the eldest of whom was but six years old when his mother died. He has bravely nurtured and cared for them and now they are a source of endless comfort and joy to him. Mr. Loreen is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, the Whatcom County Poultry Association and the Whatcom County Farm Bureau, as well as the Whatcom County Potato Grower's Association. His religious affiliation is with the First Lutheran church at Clearbrook, of which he is a liberal supporter. In every avenue of life's activities in which he has engaged he has been true to every trust, and by a life consistent in motive and action he has earned a high place in the regard and esteem of his fellow citizens, who appreciate his worth as a man and a citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 468-469.
MATHEW W. MARK
Mathew W. Mark, assistant postmaster of Bellingham, has been identified with this department of the government for more than twenty years, and merit has placed him in his present position of responsibility. He was born at Washington Court House, Ohio, in 1882 and is a son of Aden E. and Anna May Mark. His parents came to Bellingham in 1903 and for many years his father was prominently identified with construction operations in the city as a carpenter and building contractor.
In the acquirement of an education Mathew W. Mark attended the public schools of Ohio, after which he was engaged in teaching for a number of years. He was graduated from the Bellingham Business College in 1905, and in 1904 he had become an employe in the postal department of the United States government. He advanced through the various branches, conscientiously performing his work, and on January 1, 1919, his fidelity to duty was rewarded by promotion to the position of assistant postmaster. He is very capable and has thoroughly justified the confidence reposed in his ability.
In 1909 Mr. Mark married Miss Maude Adams, of Bellingham, a daughter of Charles and Elizabeth Adams, both of whom are deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Mark were born three children: Charles, a youth of fifteen; Frances, aged thirteen years; and Raymond, a child of about two years. Mr. Mark is a stanch adherent of the republican party and his fraternal affiliations are with the Yeomen, the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, while he also belongs to the Chamber of Commerce. He is a man of substantial worth and has many sincere friends in Bellingham, in which he has spent much of his life, working at all times for the best interests of the city.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 557.
JOHN L. MILLER
The name of John L. Miller, of Lake Whatcom, does not need to be introduced to the readers of this chronicle, for it has been intertwined with the history of this locality for many years, he being today one of the oldest inhabitants of Park township. The splendid success which has come to him is directly traceable to the salient points in his character, for he has carried to successful completion his well formulated plans, his industry and perseverance resulting in the accumulation of a valuable property, while he has at the same time gained the admiration and respect of all who know him. Mr. Miller is a native of Virginia, born in 1861, and is a son of Detrich and Elizabeth (Scovy) Miller, both of whom were born in Germany, the mother having been brought to the United States by her parents when she was but three years old. Detrich Miller was brought to this country at the age of five years, his father having come here to work on the construction of the James river canal, though he later turned his attention to farming in Virginia.
John L. Miller received his educational training in the public schools of his native state and the learned the trade of carpenter, though he also devoted part of his time to farming there. At the age of seventeen years he started out on his own account, working at his trade in many places, and at length reached Chicago, where he remained for ten years. He then left that city and gradually worked his way westward, reaching the coast in 1899. Shortly afterward he came out to Lake Whatcom and bought the old Douglas claim of one hundred and sixty acres, from the greater part of which the timber had been cut off. He set himself to the task of clearing the tract for cultivation, and in the disposal of the splendid logs which encumbered the land he cut over three thousand cords of shingle bolts. There were no roads at the south end of the lake and he had to come down the lake to his place by boat. Later he helped to construct a road through to Alger, it being nearly seven years after he went there before he had an outlet by wagon road. In those early days three passenger boats plied the lake, and Mr. Miller did his trading at Park and Bellingham. There were a number of mills along the lake and he disposed of his shingle bolts to these mills, this materially helping him during the time that he was preparing his land for cultivation.
Mr. Miller now has about twelve acres entirely cleared and eight acres partly cleared, while much of the remainder is devoted to pasture. Each year finds a little more of the land reclaimed for cultivation, and he has a very valuable and desirable property. He is materially assisted in his work by Towald Elnan, his wife's nephew. He has found by experiment that the soil is best suited for potatoes and that fruit does well here. He keeps a nice run of laying hens and some cows, his activity in the dairy business being restricted because of the fact that no milk gathering route touches his place. The climate is ideal, the proximity of the lake tempering the air, so that there are very few killing frosts. In the early days there were many ducks in this locality, and some wild animals, principally cougars. In view of the rapid disappearance of the tine timber for which this locality was noted, Mr. Miller is of the opinion that the clearing and cultivation of the soil is the natural method for the landowners of the township to follow in order to realize the most advantageous results. One of his prized possessions is a photograph of a dance which was conducted here many years ago on a stump that was sixteen feet in diameter.
In 1905 Mr. Miller was married to Miss Matilda Elnan, who was born in Norway, a daughter of Cornelius and Polnia (Olsen) Swenson, both of whom are deceased. Mrs. Miller came to the United States in 1899, alone, and located in Minnesota, where she remained for three years, at the end of which time she came to Whatcom county, where she met Mr. Miller. They have no children of their own, but they adopted a boy, Walter Miller, who at the age of sixteen years ran away and joined the navy, in which he was serving when his death occurred, from influenza, in 1919. Mr. Miller is one of the substantial and worthy men of this part of the county and has taken a commendable interest in everything pertaining to the welfare and prosperity of his community, cooperating with his fellow citizens in all efforts in improve local conditions. He has rendered effective service as a member of the board of supervisors of Park township, on which he served several terms, and because of his sound business judgment, enterprising and progressive methods and splendid personal character, he has long enjoyed the sincere esteem and good will of the entire community honored by his citizenship.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 616-617.
ALLEN MUNN, D. O.
Dr. Allen Munn, osteopathic practitioner at Bellingham, has been a resident of this county for the past twenty years and is one of the best known physicians in his school of practice in the state. He was born on a farm in the immediate vicinity of the city of Kirksville in Adair county, Missouri, May 29, 1858, and is a son of John and Amanda Jane (Knox) Munn, the farmer of whom was born in Ohio and the latter in Kentucky. John Munn, a substantial farmer, lived to the great age of ninety-six years. Both parents are now deceased.
Reared on the home farm, Allen Munn received his education in the public schools of the community and grew up a practical farmer, a line of activity which he followed until he was past forty years of age, when he became greatly interested in the theory and practice of the osteopathic school of healing. After preliminary study along this line he entered the Still College of Osteopathy at Kirksville, Missouri, and early in 1906 was graduated from that institution. Upon received his diploma Dr. Munn determined to enter practice in Bellingham and straightaway came here, arriving on March 7 of that year. He has ever since been a resident of this city, carrying on his professional practice, with present offices in the First National Bank building, and has done well.
On May 20, 1888, Allen Munn was united in marriage to Miss Willie Bell Knox, also of Missouri, and they have a daughter, Bessie, who became the wife of Thomas Nash of Bellingham. Dr. and Mrs. Munn are republicans and ever since taking up their residence in Bellingham have given their earnest attention to the general civic affairs of the city and county.s The doctor is a member of the local lodge of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 627.
The foreign born citizens of Whatcom county have had a very large and important share in the development and upbuilding of this locality, and among those of this class who have built up highly creditable reputations and distinguished themselves by right and honorable living is K. Radder, whose splendid farm is located in Lynden township. Mr. Radder was born in Holland in 1862 and is a son of C. and Jennette (Van Geest) Radder, both of whom spent their lives and died in their native land, where the father had for many years been a traveling peddler. Our subject secured his education in the schools of his home neighborhood and then for a few years was employed at various occupations. In 893 he came to the United States and homesteaded a tract of land in North Dakota, to the operation of which he devoted himself for seventeen years, but he finally decided that the winters were too cold, and in 1910 he came to Lynden, Whatcom county, and bought forty-one acres of land near the river. The tract had been partly cleared, but there were still many logs and stumps to remove before the land could be plowed. He developed that place into a good farm and lived there until 1921, when he sold it and bought twenty acres of land where he now lives. Here he has made a number of fine improvements, including a new and modern house, and the family is very comfortably situated. He gives his attention chiefly to dairying, keeping ten high grade Holstein cows. On his former ranch he raised large crops of grain as well as hay, but on his present place hay is the only field crop.
Mr. Radder is married and has eleven children, namely: Mrs. J. Haverman, of Norwood, who is the mother of two sons; Leonard, who is married and has a daughter; Harry, who is married and has three children; Cornelius, who is married and has two daughters; Mrs. Effie Kroontje, who is the mother of four children; Mrs. Cora Coster, who is the mother of a son; Mrs. Fanny Trost, who has a son; Mrs. Annie Blankenforth, who also has a son; and William, Peter and Jennette, who are at home. All but the first named are residents of Lynden. Mr. Radder is a member of the First Reformed Christian church, to which he gives liberal support. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and is active in the support of all measures calculated to better the interests of the farmers, poultrymen and dairymen of the community. In fact, he stands for all that is best in the everyday life of the locality where he lives, being an earnest advocate and a fine exemplar of right living, and possesses to a marked degree those qualities of character which characterize the ideal citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 877-8.
ALEXANDER D. ROSS
The rugged strength, determined spirit and high moral attributes of his Caledonian ancestors are manifest in the career of Alexander D. Ross, who sought and profited by the opportunities of the Pacific northwest and has worthily earned the right to the distinctive title of "self-made man." His activities as a sheep raiser brought him state-wide prominence, and he is now numbered among the largest landholders of Rome township, in which he has resided for more than twenty years. A native of Scotland, he was born January 13, 1869, in the town of Cupar, Fifeshire, and his parents, David and Annie (Donaldson) Ross, were lifelong residents of that county. The mother was a native of Kings Barns, Fifeshire, and the father's birth occurred at Falkland, in the same county. He was a farmer and specialized in the raising of sheep. To Mr. and Mrs. Ross were born ten children, four of whom reside in Scotland, two in Australia and four in the United States.
Alexander D. Ross received a public school education and remained at home until he reached the age of twenty, becoming thoroughly familiar with the work of the agriculturist and stock breeder. In 1889 he yielded to the lure of the new world and after his arrival in the United States started for the Pacific coast, reaching Seattle, Washington, at the time of the memorable conflagration which destroyed a large portion of the city. He was called upon for service and aided in extinguishing the flames. He remained in Seattle for six months and then went to eastern Washington and took a band of sheep on shares. He was a pioneer in this field, in which he soon demonstrated the qualities of leadership, and was the first man to take a band of sheep into the higher ranges of the Cascade mountains. He was engaged in the business for many years with notable success and gradually increased his flocks until eventually he became the owner of five thousand head of sheep. In 1904 Mr. Ross disposed of his interests in eastern Washington and located in the northwestern section of the state. He had visited Whatcom county in 1902 and purchased four hundred and eighty acres of land, situated in sections Nos. 17, 19 and 20 of Rome township, the old Foster homestead being included among his holdings. He had planned to convert this tract into a large sheep ranch but owing to heavy losses occasioned by coyotes and dogs was obliged to sell his flocks and abandon the business. An additional tract of forty-four acres has since been added, and Mr. Ross and his wife now own five hundred and twenty-four acres. A large portion of the property is unimproved land, on which he runs a few head of cattle, and he recently built a new home, which is supplied with all modern conveniences.
Mr. Ross married Miss Edna Lincoln, a native of Indiana and a lineal descendant of Abraham Lincoln. Her parents, William and Sarah (Burl) Lincoln, were natives of Ohio and were married in 1860. To their union were born seven children, all of whom are living. The mother was born in Toledo, and the father's birth occurred in Cincinnati, but his ancestors were Kentuckians. Mr. Lincoln followed the occupation of farming, and when the nation became involved in civil strife he enlisted in the Fifty-first Indiana Volunteer Infantry, remaining in service until the close of the war. He came to Washington in 1897, settling in Ellensburg, and there passed away in 1909, while his widow's demise occurred in the following year. Mr. and Mrs. Ross have a son, Donald Lincoln, who was born November 6, 1904, and in 1921 was graduated with honors from the Whatcom high school. He attended the State Normal School for a year and is now a senior at the University of Washington, where he has also made a brilliant record as a student. Mrs. Ross was engaged in educational work before her marriage and is at present teaching school in the Welcome district of Whatcom county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 945-946.
Among the many desirable citizens whom Canada has furnished to the United States is numbered Harry Sanderson, one of the successful poultrymen of Whatcom county. In 1902, when a young man of nineteen, he came to northwestern Washington and obtained work in the logging camps of Whatcom county. He was thus employed for a number of years and in May, 1922, purchased five acres of land in the vicinity of Bellingham. He now has a fine poultry ranch and his prosperity is based on scientific methods and untiring application.
In 1922 Mr. Sanderson was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Pedlow, and they have a son, Harry, Jr. Mr. Sanderson exercises his right of franchise in support of the candidates and measures of the democratic party and his interest in the development of his district is deep and sincere. He has lived in the county for over twenty years and enjoys the esteem of many friends, who are thoroughly appreciative of his good qualities.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 943.
Depending upon his own resources for advancement, Henry Schupp has achieved noteworthy success as a hotel operator and belongs to that select company of aggressive, farsighted business men who have made Bellingham what it is today, one of the most enterprising and prosperous cities in the state. He is a native of Germany but has lived in the United States since young manhood and is thoroughly American in thought, spirit and interest. He was educated in the public schools of his native country and in the night schools of Cincinnati, Ohio, and in 1889 he sought his fortune in the mines of Montana. He was also connected with the hotel business in that state. In 1900 he came to Washington. He spent two years in Olympia, associated with Leopold F. Schmidt, and in 1902 arrived in Bellingham. He at once entered prominently into the business life of the city, and with Mr. L. F. Schmidt built the Bellingham Brewery, which proved a successful venture. He is now secretary, treasurer and manager of Hotel Leopold, of which F. M. Kenny is vice president. It was opened May 25, 1913, and was named in honor of Leopold F. Schmidt, president of the company controlling the business. The building was erected in 1912 and 1913 by the Byron Hotel Company and the business was founded by Captain Byron, who constructed the Byron Hotel in 1906.
Hotel Leopold is centrally located and its furnishings, accommodations and service are modern and up-to-date in every respect. It is the largest hotel in northwestern Washington, containing two hundred rooms, one hundred of which are provided with private baths, and there are twenty-five sample rooms. The hotel is noted for the excellence of its cuisine and the main dining room has accommodations for two hundred guests. The tulip room will seat two hundred and fifty persons, and the hotel is thus able to accommodate some five hundred diners. Hotel Henry, under the same management, was established by Mr. Schupp at Bellingham in 1923 and has also found favor with the traveling public. It contains one hundred rooms and fifty baths and is the newest and most progressive hotel on Puget Sound. It reflects an atmosphere of refinement but not exclusiveness, for here "you can come as you are." The hostelry is comfortable, homelike and unequaled in many ways. This is the only hotel known to serve its guests in their rooms with a complimentary breakfast, consisting of a pot of coffee, toast, marmalade, butter and cream, the the polite request: "Don't tip the boy." That Mr. schupp has thoroughly grasped the art of modern hotel keeping is indicated by the high degree of efficiency maintained in the operation of the business, which reflects his foresight, capacity for detail and administrative power. He puts forth every effort to promote the comfort and well being of those who are his guests, and an ever increasing clientele is evidence of the prestige enjoyed by Hotel Leopold and Henry.
In 1888 Mr. Schupp married Miss Katherine Sengenberger, of Cincinnati, Ohio, and they have three adopted children: Katherine, who is the wife of Briggs Burpee, of Bellingham; Henry, a student in the State College, where he is taking a course in civil engineering; and Margaret, a high school student. Mr. Schupp is a stanch republican and a citizen who loses no opportunity to exploit the many resources and attractions of his community and state. He is a director of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce and served for several years on the board of park commissioners. He is a member of the Rotary and Country Clubs and the Washington Hotel Men's Association. He is also connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Fraternal Order of Eagles and the United Commercial Travelers. Mr. Schupp has a wife acquaintance among the tourists who visit this region each season in large numbers, attracted by its scenic grandeur. He is a gentleman of courteous bearing, genial nature and much personal magnetism, exceptionally well fitted for the business in which he is engaged, and numbers his friends by the thousands. His success is the merited reward of a life of well directed industry and his labors have been of signal service to Bellingham, in which he is highly esteemed.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 481-482.
ALBERT C. SENKER
Albert C. Senker, one of Bellingham's veteran and progressive merchants, is the proprietor of an old established cigar store on Holly street and is one of the best known men in Whatcom county. Though of European birth, he has been a resident of this country since the days of his childhood and has become thoroughly adapted to the new environment. He was born in the kingdom of Saxony, August 28, 1874, and was but a child when his father died. His widowed mother, Mrs. Ida Marie Senker, came with her children to America in 1881 and settled with kinfolk who had become established on a farm near Lincoln, Nebraska. There she presently remarried, and in 1884 the family home was changed to Portland, Oregon, young Albert's stepfather settling on a farm near that city.
Albert C. Senker was but seven years of age when he became a resident of the United States, and he was ten years old when the family moved to the coast country. He continued his studies in the schools of Portland until he was thirteen years old and at the age of sixteen he left the farm and came to Bellingham, where he became employed in Charles Shaeffer's cigar factory. That was in 1890. He spent a year in the Shaeffer factory, there becoming familiar with the rudiments of the cigar maker's trade, and he then returned to Portland and completed his apprenticeship in the Keller & Schwert factory in that city. In 1894 Mr. Senker returned to Bellingham and there established a cigar factory of his own. In 1900 he was made manager of the retail cigar store of Jacob Beck and two years later was also placed in managerial charge of Beck's theater, later known as the American theater, which Mr. Beck erected in that year, 1902. In 1908 Mr. Senker bought the cigar store at No. 109 Holly street, where he has since been engaged in business, and he is widely and favorably known in commercial circles throughout this section of the state.
It was on November 22, 1896, in Bellingham, that Mr. Senker was united in marriage to Miss Nellie J. Swearingen, and to them was born a daughter, Miss Halcie Gertrude Senker, who was graduated from the Bellingham high school in 1917. Mrs. Senker was called to eternal rest September 14, 1925, after a lingering illness of nearly three years. She was universally loved and respected by the people of Whatcom county. Mr. Senker is a republican and has ever taken an earnest interest in local civic affairs, as well as in the general social affairs of the city. He is a Knight Templar and Scottish Rite (thirty-second degree) Mason and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, and he is also a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Woodmen of the World, the Chamber of Commerce and the Rotary Club. As was written concerning him in a prior review some years ago, "he certainly deserves much credit for what he has accomplished, for from the age of sixteen years he has been dependent upon his own resources, working his way steadily upward through his close application, persistency of purpose and indefatigable industry."
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 462-465.
Henry Shagren, one of the officers of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, is the owner of a fine farm but resides in Lynden, and he represents one of the pioneer families of this section of the state. He was born March 26, 1877, and has always lived in this county, in which he is widely and favorably known. His father, August Klocke, was a native of Germany and came to Whatcom county in 1872, which year also marked the arrival of A. N. Shagren. Mr. Klocke took up a homestead, cleared the land and eventually transformed the place into a productive farm, on which he spent the remainder of his life. He responded to the final summons in 1912 and had long survived his wife, who passed away in 1886. To their union were born seven children, the youngest of whom was but a year old when the mother died.
Their son Henry was adopted by A. N. Shagren who is a native of Sweden and now makes his home with the subject of this sketch. The latter received a public school education, and he has always lived within a quarter of a mile of his birthplace. He was reared on a farm and early became familiar with the work of plowing, planting and harvesting. On starting out in life for himself he chose the career of an agriculturist and brought to his occupation an intelligent, open and liberal mind, adopting the most modern methods of farming. He worked diligently and systematically, bringing his land to a high state of development, and also raised Ayrshire cattle, his herd being composed of blooded stock. From time to time he increased his holdings, eventually becoming the owner of a valuable ranch of two hundred acres, which he has rented for a period of five years. He is now devoting his energies to the promotion of the interests of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, of which he has been treasurer and a director since 1921, contributing largely toward its success, and he is also a director of the People's State Bank of Lynden. He is a business man of high reputation and his cooperation is a valuable asset to the organization with which he is connected.
In 1905 Mr. Shagren was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Bonesen, a native of North Dakota and a daughter of Peter and Margaret Bonesen, who settled in Whatcom county in 1900. Mr. and Mrs. Shagren have become the parents of four children: Roland, Margaret, William and Henry. Mr. Shagren has served on the school board, also as county commissioner, which office he filled from 1913 until 1919, and has demonstrated his public spirit by both word and deed. His fraternal connections are with the Masons and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and he is also a member of the Grange and the Kiwanis Club. Mr. Shagren has always directed his energies into constructive channels and combines in his character all of the qualities of a useful and desirable citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 460.
Long a prominent official of the First National Bank of Ferndale, John Slater has contributed his share toward the upbuilding and prosperity of this locality and worthily bears a name which for more than sixty years has been inseparably associated with the history of development and progress in Whatcom county, in which his parents, George and Elizabeth (Metcalf) Slater, settled in 1858. They were natives of England, and his birth occurred in Nanaimo, British Columbia, on the 7th of July, 1865, when his mother was in Canada on a visit. His father superintended the work of drilling in the coal fields around Whatcom, locating a number of valuable mines, and in 1872 preempted a quarter section of government land two miles south of Ferndale. He resided on the place until his death and through systematic work and modern methods brought his land to a high state of productivity. He was also an able educator and enjoyed the distinction of being the first school superintendent in this part of the state. He gave his political support to the republican party and his interest in the welfare and advancement of his community was deep and sincere. His wife was a member of the Episcopal church and a faithful follower of its teachings. To Mr. and Mrs. Slater were born eight children, four of whom survive.
John Slater was reared on his father's farm and received a public school education. He acquired a practical knowledge of agricultural operations and his interest in this useful vocation has never diminished. For many years he devoted his energies to the cultivation of the soil, and he still owns a well improved ranch of one hundred and sixty acres, on which there is a fine dairy, but now rents the property. Having amassed a sum sufficient for his needs, Mr. Slater retired in 1905 and established his home in Ferndale. He is still active in financial affairs, however, and since its organization has been vice president of the First National Bank of Ferndale, aiding materially in promoting the growth of the institution. He was connected for a number of years with the Mount Vernon Condensery Company in the capacity of field man and had charge of all outside work, making contracts for securing and hauling milk and doing other work in connection with the conduct of the business.
On March 24, 1886, Mr. Slater married Miss Inda Mayfield, a native of Lawrence county, Indiana, and a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Campbell Mayfield, who came to Whatcom county about 1884. Her mother was one of the first white women to live in Ferndale and Mr. Mayfield was one of its earliest merchants. To Mr. and Mrs. Slater were born four children. Doy, the eldest, is the wife of H. L. Hughes, of Ferndale, by whom she has four children. Gladys Inda married H. J. Hammer, who is engaged in merchandising at Mount Vernon, Washington, and they have three children. Glenn J. attended the University of Washington but did not remain to graduate, for in March preceding, he enlisted in the aviation corps, going first to the Presidio and later to the aviation school at Berkeley and after completing his flying course went to France with the commission of first lieutenant in aviation, serving overseas eighteen months. He is now a captain in the reserve corps. He is married to Ruth Sylvia Thune and they have one child. He resides in Bellingham and is filling the position of deputy auditor. Verla became the wife of Gerald Hawley and their home is at Marysville, Washington.
Mr. Slater is master of the Ferndale Grange and along fraternal lines is identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, belonging to the lodge at Ferndale and the encampment at Bellingham. He is allied with the republican party and served for many years on the Ferndale school board, exerting his influence to secure for the district adequate educational facilities. He aided in forming the Association of Whatcom County Pioneers and has served as its treasurer and is now vice president and a director. His wife is a member of the association and also of the Washington society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. A lifelong resident of Whatcom county, Mr. Slater has witnessed remarkable changes as pioneer conditions have given way before advancing civilization, and his accounts of the early days are both interesting and instructive. He is loyal to every cause which he espouses and faithful to every duty, thus winning the approbation and esteem of his fellowmen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 461-462.
A. MACRAE SMITH, M. D.
For twenty-five years a member of Bellingham's medical fraternity, Dr. A. Macrae Smith is widely and favorably known in professional circles of northwestern, Washington and renders to his city that service which only the able, experienced practitioner is capable of giving. A native of Scotland, he was born in 1874 and was a child when his parents, Andrew and Elizabeth A. C. (Macrae) Smith, made the voyage to Canada. The father purchased a farm and devoted his energies to the cultivation of the soil, passing away in the Dominion.
Dr. Smith was graduated from McGill University in 1898, winning the M. D. degree, having secured the B. A. degree four years prior, and for a year was an interne in the Montreal General Hospital. He spent a year in the state of Colorado and in January, 1901, opened an office in Bellingham, where he has since resided. Although a general practitioner, he devotes much of his time to surgical cases and has successfully performed many difficult operations. He has acquired marked skill in his work and enjoys a large practice. He is a member of the Bellingham Clinic, and is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons, having been one of the charter members in the state.
In 1906 Dr. Smith married Miss Gertrude Ryan, a native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and a daughter of Richard and Katherine Ryan. Her father passed away in the Badger state and the mother then brought her family to Washington. She was one of the early settlers of Bellingham and for thirty-five years filled the position of librarian. She was admired and respected by all with whom she was associated and as a mark of respect all public offices in the city were closed during the hour of her funeral. To Dr. and Mrs. Smith were born three children: Katherine, who is attending the University of Washington; and A. Macrae, Jr., and Richard Ryan, public school pupils.
Dr. Smith is affiliated with the First Presbyterian church and casts his ballet (sic) for the candidates of the republican party. He belongs to the Bellingham Golf and Country Club and is also a Kiwanian. He is identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and in Masonry has take the Royal Arch degree. He served for one and a half years on the state board of medical examiners and is a member of the Whatcom County and Washington State Medical Societies and the American Medical Association. Dr. Smith has never lost the attitude of a student toward his profession, in which he has attained high standing, and he exemplifies in his life the sterling qualities of the Scotch race.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 547-548.
One of the best remembered and most highly respected citizens of the past generation in Whatcom county was the late T. Sorensen, a man whom to know was to respect and admire, for he led an exemplary life and aided in all movements looking to the material, civic and moral welfare of the community. He came to us from Norway, which fair country has sent so many enterprising and progressive citizens to our shores and who have aided us in pushing forward the wheels of civilization. Mr. Sorensen was born in Norway in January, 1852, and was a son of Soren and Karen Sorensen, both natives of that country. The father came to the United States in 1889 and after a few years died in Kansas. His wife died in Norway about 1900. Of the nine children born to them but two now survive: Goneris, who lives in Santa Cruz, California, and Beatrice, who lives in Norway.
T. Sorensen secured his education in the public schools of Norway and was then employed in the woods and in sawmills there. In 1871 he came to the United States and took up a homestead in Wabaunsee county, Kansas, of which locality he was a pioneer. He lived on that homestead until 1905, when he sold out and went to Montana, where he spent one summer. He then came to Nooksack, Whatcom county, and bought twenty acres of land two miles east of Everson. He also bought forty acres two miles east of Nooksack and later secured twenty acres adjoining. He cleared about twenty-five acres, erected a good house and a barn and devoted himself closely to the operation of the place until his death, which occurred March 14, 1914. About a year prior to his death he had also bought another tract of eighty acres adjoining his home farm, and Mrs. Sorensen is now the owner of one hundred and thirty-six acres of fine land which she cultivated with the assistance of her youngest son until leasing the land. She continues to give her attention to the dairy business, keeping nineteen good grade milk cows. The principal crops raised on the farm are hay, grain and peas, with a small acreage of sugar beets. Sufficient roughage is raised to provide for the cattle, while a good vegetable garden provides the table with everything in the way of vegetables.
On September 20, 1882, Mr. Sorensen was married to Miss Blenda Peterson, who was born in Sweden, a daughter of Peter and Anna (Andersen) Peterson. The father, who was a farmer, died in Sweden about 1902, while his widow lived until 1922, when she passed away at the age of ninety-three years. They were the parents of nine children, all of whom are living, namely: Christine, Blenda, Signild, Samuel, Engrid, John, Jemie, Lilda and Amanda. To Mr. and Mrs. Sorensen were born seven children, as follows: John A., who is married and has four children, Metta, Mary, Floyd and Barney; Floyd, who is married and has a son, Gordon; Samuel, who is married and has two sons, Helmer and Belford; Mrs. Anna Dodsworth, who has a daughter, Ruth Anna, and who is a missionary in the Methodist Episcopal church, for the past five years having been working at Malaysia, India, in the Straits settlement; Harry, who is married and is superintendent of the schools in Charleston, Washington; Theodore, Jr., who is married and has two daughters, Phyllis and Betty, and Otto M. L., who has been graduated from high school and expects to enter the State Agricultural College, at Pullman. Mrs. Sorensen and her son Otto are members of the Swedish Lutheran church at Clearbrook, Washington.
Mr. Sorensen is well remembered throughout this community as a man of rugged honesty, public spirit and a healthy interest in the welfare of those about him. He was kindly and generous in his attitude toward benevolent and charitable objects and gave freely of his means and his time in the furtherance of any worthy movement for the advancement of the public welfare. Friendly in manner and candid and straightforward in all his social relations, he earned and retained a high place in the confidence and esteem of all who knew him, and his memory remains as a blessed benediction on his family. Mrs. Sorensen possess tact and business judgment and is managing her affairs in a manner that has won for her respect and admiration.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 942-943.
ALBERT W. TUCKER
In every life of honor and usefulness there is no dearth of interesting situations and incidents; yet in summing up such a career as that of the subject of this sketch it is necessary to touch upon only the more salient facts, giving the keynote of his character. Albert W. Tucker has led an active and useful life and has gained an enviable reputation among his fellow citizens. He is a native of the state of Ohio, his birth occurring March 18, 1862, and is a son of Charles Douglas and Mary (Weston) Tucker, both of whom were born and reared at Alexandria, New York, the father's birth occurring December 15, 1815, and the mother's in 1817. The father was a farmer by vocation and also did a considerable business in contracting. To him and his wife were born nine children, namely: Edward, deceased; John, Mrs. Jennie Manigold; Albert W., subject of this sketch; Elizabeth, deceased; Lavinia, deceased; Hiram, who lives in Pennsylvania; Lena; and Clara, deceased.
Albert W. Tucker received his educational training in the public schools of Ohio and New York, and he remained with his father until 1881, when he went to Michigan and was employed in the logging camps for five years. He then returned to New York state, where he remained for three years, and then, in 1889, he came to Seattle, Washington, and for several years worked in the logging camps. In 1893 he took up a homestead in Maple Falls township, Whatcom county, and at once directed his attention to the clearing of the land, on which stood some fine timber. He built a cabin and sold the timber on the farm getting part of the land in shape for cultivation. In 1899 he bought one hundred and twenty acres of land near Kendale [Kendall], sixteen acres of which he cleared. In 1906 he sold it and, coming to Nooksack, bought thirteen acres of land one and a quarter miles north of Nooksack. This tract was partly cleared and he cleared the remainder, developing it into a splendid homestead, where he now lives and from which he is deriving a very satisfactory income, due to his careful management and sound judgment. His chief crops are hay, grain, peas and beans, and he keeps six good cows. He is up-to-date and progressive in his ideas and the general appearance of his farm indicates him to be a man of excellent taste and wise discrimination.
Mr. Tucker was married, December 6, 1903, to Miss Maggie Travelstead, a native of Illinois and a daughter of Jasper and Margaret Travelstead, both of whom are deceased, and who were the parents of nine children. To Mr. and Mrs. Tucker have been born three children, namely: Loren Kenneth, born August 21, 1905, who enlisted in the United States navy at the age of fifteen years, served one year, and is now living in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Golda Bernice, born March 9, 1910, who is a student in the high school at Spokane, Washington; and Byron Eugene, born December 29, 1920. Mr. Tucker is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, while fraternally he is a member of the Nooksack lodge, Woodmen of the World. He is what he is from natural endowment and self-culture, having attained his present standing solely through the impelling force of his own strong nature, possessing to a marked degree those powers which render a man efficient in the material affairs of life. He stands stanchly for everything that is calculated to advance the public welfare, and his splendid personal qualities are fully appreciated by his fellow citizens, who hold him in high esteem.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 216-217.
A man of naturally sound judgment and industrious and thrifty habits, characteristics of the race of which he is a descendant, Gerrit Veleke, whose fine farm is located near Lynden, Whatcom county, has so ordered his career as to be eminently eligible to representation in a work of this kind. He has by his strictly moral habits, close attention to his business affairs and fair dealing with his fellowmen risen to a high place among his associates and is considered a leading citizen of his community. Mr. Veleke was born in Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin, June 2, 1884, and is a son of Art and Clara (De Grotenhuis) Veleke, both of whom were natives of Holland.
The father was born April 10, 1849, and came to the United States in 1867, locating in Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin, where he devoted his attention to farming. Later he moved to St. Croix, where he remained for two years, and he was then for the same length of time at Oak Harbor. In 1896 he came to Lynden, Whatcom county, being one of the first Hollanders to locate in this community, and was instrumental in inducing other of his countrymen to come here. He engaged in farming here and in the course of time cleared up a good deal of land. He was a man of stanch integrity, indomitable industry and a good manager and enjoyed to a marked degree the respect of the entire community. Our subject's mother was brought to this country by her mother when eight years of age, locating in Wisconsin, where she met and married Mr. Veleke. To their union were born seven children, namely: Mrs. Hattie Oordt, who died in 1912; Lizzie, who is the wife of Garritt Schuyleman, of Lynden; Gerrit, the subject of this sketch; Jennie, the wife of P. A. Pyeatt, of Custer, this county; Cornelius, who died at the age of three years; Nellie, the wife of Charles Reed, of Bellingham; and Minnie, the wife of Bert Lamdaal, of Bellingham. The mother of these children died in 1913 and in 1914 Mr. Veleke was married to Miss Marie Brewer, who was born at Rotterdam, Holland, and they have one child, Elizabeth.
Gerrit Veleke received his education in the public schools of Oak Harbor, Wisconsin, and completed his studies after coming to Lynden. He remained on his father's farm until he was about eighteen years of age, when he started out on his own account being employed in various ways, later becoming deliveryman for the Kildall store. Then, in partnership with Harry Elder, he engaged in the mercantile business, handling groceries, feed and hardware, in which line he continued for about two years, when he sold his interest to his partner and turned his attention to his land, which he had bought in 1908. The original purchase was twenty acres, to which he later added another twenty acres. He moved onto the place in 1915 and at once entered upon the task of clearing it and getting it into cultivation. The tract had been cut over, though but a few acres had been cleared, and he now has his first twenty acres entirely under the plow, while about four acres of the other tract are cleared. He has made substantial improvements on the ranch, including a fine house and commodious barn. He gives special attention to dairying, keeping from twelve to fifteen good Guernsey cattle, and raises a sufficient amount of feed on the place to take care of his stock.
Mr. Veleke was married, July 26, 1905, to Miss Nellie DeHoog, who was born at Pella, Iowa, a daughter of Bastaan and Aria (Vandersyde) DeHoog, both of whom also were natives of Iowa. When she was but three weeks old her mother died, and in 1903 her father brought his family to Lynden, Whatcom county, where he has followed farming principally. To Mr. and Mrs. Veleke have been born three children, namely: Adria, Arthur B. and Bernece. Mr. Veleke has always taken a deep interest in local public affairs, and soon after moving onto his farm he was elected township supervisor. He became chairman of the board on his reelection, holding that position continuously since. He has been especially interested in the improvement of the highways and has been instrumental in having many new roads built. His religious connection is with the First Reformed church, to which he is a generous contributor. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. By a life of persistent and well applied industry, led along the most honorable lines, he has not only gained a gratifying measure of pecuniary independence but has also won what is of far more importance, the sincere respect and confidence of the entire community in which he lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 716-717.
John Waschke, one of the pioneer ranchers of Marietta Township, has lived in this part of Whatcom county for thirty-six years, and through his skill as an artisan, supplemented by his agricultural operations, he has aided materially in the development and improvement of Bellingham and the surrounding district. A native of Germany, he was born June 2, 1859, and received his education in the excellent schools of the fatherland. Filled with the adventurous spirit of youth, he came to the United States in his quest for fortune and for three years was engaged in cabinetmaking in Minnesota. He followed his trade at Stevens Point, Wisconsin, for two years, being employed in the car shops, and in 1890 came to Whatcom, Washington. He obtained a position with the Bellingham Bay Improvement company and remained with that corporation for ten years. He was an expert wood worker and built their first cars. He did much of the cabinet work in the Bellingham city hall, and examples of his fine craftsmanship are also to be found in the Lutheran church and many of the best residences of this locality. In 1901 he purchased a forty acre tract in Marietta township and has since resided on this property, which he has converted into a productive farm. His home is one of the best in this district and his dairy buildings are substantial, well equipped and immaculate. He raises the crops best adapted to the region, and he rents eight acres of his place. His work in carefully planned and systematically performed. His life has been one of unceasing industry, directed into constructive channels, and the respect accorded him is well deserved.
Mr. Waschke has become the father of three children: Edwin, deceased; Paul, who is married and resides in Bellingham; and Hilda, who is the wife of Bert Lamorx, of Seattle, Washington, and the mother of one child, a daughter. Mr. Waschke is an adherent of the republican party and shapes his conduct by the teachings of the Lutheran church.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 577.
GEORGE H. WHIPPLE
To record the real history of any community is to tell the stories of the lives of those who have by their efforts and influence contributed to the growth and development of that community, and in the following lines are briefly recounted the principal events in the career of one of the most highly respected citizens of Lynden township - a man who has consistently stood for all that is best in community life and has long enjoyed the respect of all who know him. G. H. Whipple was born in Green Lake county, Wisconsin, in December, 1854, and is a son of Lyman and Cheney Maria (Heath) Whipple, the former a native of New York state and the latter of Massachusetts. He secured a common school education and had carefully saved his money, with the intention of going to high school, but the school was so far away that he did not attend. For a number of years he worked at the barber's trade and then turned his attention to carpenter work, which he followed for twenty-five years. In 1902 he came to Lynden, Whatcom county, and two years later bought twenty acres of land where he now lives, the tract at that time being covered with trees, stumps and brush. He has worked hard on this land and now has all but two acres cleared, the remainder being in pasture. Prior to coming to Whatcom county, Mr. Whipple had, in 1877, gone to Minnesota and entered a homestead, which he proved up and on which he lived until coming to this locality. After coming here he did a good deal of carpenter work and contracting, the building of the Northwood schoolhouse being his last job, since which time he has devoted his attention to his farm. He keeps five cows, and expects to double the number, and is also going into the chicken business, now having three hundred laying hens. He has made many substantial and permanent improvements on his place, which is a very comfortable and attractive farmstead.
In 1875, in Wisconsin, Mr. Whipple was married to Miss Alneta Phillips, who was born in Kane county, Illinois, and who died in April, 1920. To this union were born five children, namely: Joseph, of Van Zandt, who is married and has four children; Fred, of Bellingham, who is married and has one child; Arthur, of Everett, who is married and has two children; George H., Jr., of North Bend; and Mark S., who is now running the home place for his father. He was married to Mrs. Jessie Button, who has three children by a former marriage. Mr. Whipple is now serving as justice of the peace. He was assessor of Lynden for nine seasons, being elected six time and appointed three times. He had also served for a number of years as assessor in Brainerd, Minnesota. He had likewise served as a member of the local school board for three years and was clerk of the board. Mr. Whipple is a man of quiet manner but forceful personality, with a keen sense of justice and a desire always to do the right as he sees and understands it. For this reason he has won and retains the unbounded confidence of the entire community, where his splendid qualities of character have long been recognized and appreciated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 315.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page