LUTHER CALVIN AXTON
The history of Whatcom county reveals the handiwork of many a great and noble soul who wrought heroically and unselfishly. Her smiling fields and splendid homes, her high grade institutions and her happy, prosperous people speak volumes of someone's steadfastness of purpose, strength of arm, courage of heart and activity of brain. However, beneath the blighting touch of time even memory fails and too often a life of glorious achievement is forgotten in a day. "Lest we forget," then, this tribute to the late Luther Calvin Axton is preserved in the permanent record of his county, for he was one of that splendid band of pioneers who contributed immeasurably to the development and settlement of Whatcom county and who laid the foundation for its present prosperity and advanced civilization.
Mr. Axton was born in Kentucky in 1834 and was reared and educated in that state. On attaining mature years he moved to Missouri and eventually to Kansas. There he bought a farm, which he operated for a number of years, and he was also engaged in the hotel business. He served as a justice of the peace and was familiarly known as "Squire" Axton. In 1883 he came to Whatcom county, locating first in Bellingham, where, being a carpenter and contractor, he erected a number of the early buildings during the two years that he lived there. Among these was the home of the Reveille, the first newspaper in that place, which was owned by William D. Jenkins and Thomas Nicklin, both of whom were his sons-in-law.
In 1885 Mr. Axton took up a homestead at Ten Mile, of which locality he was one of the first settlers, and here he at once entered upon the task of clearing the land and developing a permanent home. The tract was covered with the primeval forest and wild game was numerous all through that section. The only entrance was over the old Telegraph road, from which highway he built a private road to his land, about thirty acres of which he cleared and put under the plow. He devoted himself indefatigably to his farm and before his death, which occurred at his home in 1909, he had the satisfaction of seeing the fruition of his plans and efforts, his farm being numbered among the best in this section of the county.
Luther C. Axton was married to Miss Cynthia Ann Wheeler, a native of Indiana, in which state their marriage was celebrated, and her death occurred in 1918. They were the parents of five children: Elvira, who was the wife of William D. Jenkins, is deceased; Milton C., who was interested in logging and in sawmills here and in Canada, was a native of Indiana, and he died in 1923. Flora is the wife of Thomas Nicklin. Two children died in early life, before the family came to Whatcom county. Mr. Axton was a veteran of the Civil war and was a charter member of J. D. Stedman Post, Grand Army of the Republic, at Bellingham. He was also a charter member of Bellingham Lodge No. 44, Free and Accepted Masons. His war record was an honorable one, covering a period of three and a half years, a part of which time was spent in secret service. Mr. Axton took an active interest in local public affairs, holding a number of township offices in the early days, and was a delegate to many conventions of the republican party, which he stanchly supported throughout his life.
Milton C. Axton was about twenty years of age when he came to Whatcom county, having been reared and educated in Kansas. He remained on his father's farm until his marriage, though he never ceased calling that place home. He was a man of splendid character and was a charter member of the Bellingham lodge of the Knights of Pythias. He was married in Kansas to Miss Emma Frink, who was born and reared in Illinois, and her death occurred in 1893. They were the parents of a daughter, Cricket Cynthia, who became the wife of Albert S. Williams; and they adopted a boy, Jack King, a grandson of William D. Jenkins.
Cricket Cynthia Axton was born on the present farmstead and received her education in the schools of this locality. On October 19, 1919, she became the wife of Albert S. Williams, who was born in Kirkland, King county, Washington, a son of Charles and Ida (Powell) Williams, the former a native of Indiana and the latter of Kansas. The father, who was a sawyer by trade, was one of the first comers to Whatcom county and was for many years identified with the lumbering industry in this locality. Albert S. Williams secured his education in the public schools of Seattle and Ballard. He then learned the trade of an automobile mechanic, but he now divides his time between the operation of the home farm and activities in logging camps, in which work he is an expert. During the World war he enlisted as a truck driver but eventually went to the aviation school at St. Paul, Minnesota, where he had about completed his training and was ready to go overseas when the armistice was signed. On the home place he is engaged in general farming, giving particular attention to dairying, in which he has been very successful. He is a man of energetic habits, splendid personal character, sound business judgment and fine public spirit, supporting all measures for the betterment of the public welfare and standing for the best things in community life. Because of his high character and his genial and affable manner, he holds a high place in the esteem and good will of the entire community in which he lives. Mrs. Williams is a woman of charming manner and gracious traits which have endeared her to a wide circle of friends, who esteem her for her genuine worth.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 294-297.
JOHN H. BENJAMIN
John H. Benjamin, one of the substantial farmers and dairymen of the Custer neighborhood, having- a well kept place near Custer, is of European birth but has been a resident of this country for more than twenty years and is quite content to regard Whatcom county as his permanent home. Mr. Benjamin was born in the amt of Tromso in the kingdom of Norway, February 22, 1854, and is a son of Benjamin and Karen (Peterson) Hejjelund, also natives of that country, where their entire lives were spent. Benjamin Hejjelund was a boatman and fisherman and his son John grew up familiar with fishing operations. The latter was christened John Hejjelund, but long ago he changed his name to its present form of John Benjamin and has been thus known for years. He remained with the fisheries, operating chiefly in the teeming waters off Finnmarken in the extreme north of Norway, where cod abound, until 1903, when he came to the United States and has since been a resident of this country,
On July 13, 1903, Mr. Benjamin arrived at the port of New York. Years before one of his brothers had settled in Buffalo County, Wisconsin, and he at once made his way there and bought a small farm in that county, where he remained, farming and lumbering, until 1917, when he came to Whatcom County. It was in October, 1917, that he arrived in Bellingham, where he spent the winter and in March, 1918, he took possession of the tract of about twenty acres he had bought in the Custer neighborhood, on which he has since made his home, meantime clearing and improving the place and setting up a dairy plant. He is now quite well established there as a dairy farmer, is a member of the Whatcom County Dairy Association, has a good herd of dairy cattle and is doing well in his operations.
Mr. Benjamin has been twice married, both times in his native land. His first wife, Annie Clausen, bore him two children. She and these children died within a short time of each other in the early '90s and in 1896 Mr. Benjamin married Annie Greguson, daughter of Christian and Annie Greguson, who had a small farm in the northern province of Norway. Mrs., Benjamin died at her home in this county in 1921. By this marriage Mr. Benjamin has a daughter, Esther, who married I. Hanson, a carpenter at Custer, and they make their home with Mr. Benjamin. Mr. and Mrs. Hanson have three sons, Clarence Herbert, Alvin James and Earl Iver and it is needless to say that in these grandsons Mr. Benjamin takes much pride and delight, for that is the way of grandfathers the world over.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, psp. 417-418.
James Brown, one of the pioneers of the Mountain View neighborhood, a substantial farmer and dairyman, was resided on a well improved place on rural mail route No. 2 out of Ferndale, for nearly fifty years and has thus been a witness to the development of the region from early times. His recollection goes back to days when the settlers were fighting the cougars and the bears for the right to peaceful possession of their homestead tracts and were clearing the forest land for cultivation. He thus knows just how this region came into its present fine state of development and by actual and sometimes painful experience is familiar with every step of the progress up from the wilderness.
James Brown was born in the province of Ontario, Canada, January 29, 1862, and is a son of Robert and Mary (Lucas) Brown. She was born in Ireland and was but a child when she came across the sea with her parents, the family settling in Canada, where she grew to womanhood and was married. Robert Brown, also a native of Ireland, became a resident of Canada in the '50s and after his marriage was for some years engaged in farming there. In 1864 he came with his family to the United states and settled in Iowa, where he remained for two years, at the end of which time he established his home on a farm in Saline county, Nebraska, where he spent the remainder of his days. In 1879 his widow and her two sons and two daughters came to Washington, proceeding up the coast on the steamer Fanny Lake, and in the land office at Bellingham filed a homestead claim on the quarter section on which her son James is now living in the Mountain View neighborhood and there established her home with the aid of her children proceeded to improve the place. The family moved in with a sled and ox-team and while becoming adjusted to the new conditions made their home in a little cabin that stood on the land. In 1881 the boys, with such kindly assistance as was rendered by good-hearted neighbors, whipsawed enough lumber for a somewhat more pretentious dwelling and the family was able to settle down amid more comfortable conditions. Mr. Brown has vivid recollections of those days of struggle in the wilderness when it was no infrequent thing for bears to make inroads on the pig pens and cougars descend upon the sheepfolds, but the pioneer difficulties in time were overcome and a good piece of property was developed there. Of that original timber tract all is now cleared save a fine grove of about ten acres and the attractive modern house which adorns the place is in striking contrast to the humble cabin in which the Widow Brown and her children found shelter in 1879.
James Brown was but seventeen years of age when he came with his mother, sisters and brother into the wilderness here. As he was not old enough to take up a homestead claim his mother filed her claim and he took a stout part in the labors of proving up on the same. After his marriage in 1888 he established his home there and is now the owner of the original quarter section, which he has improved in admirable shape. In addition to general farming Mr. Brown gives considerable attention to dairying and poultry raising and has a fine herd of Jersey dairy cows, based on registered stock. About sixty acres of his place is under cultivation and the remainder is devoted to his dairying operations. A feature of this farm is the never failing water supply furnished by a living spring on the place and which by a gravity system is piped to all parts of the farm, providing not only an admirable water system for the house and barns but a continual supply for the field troughs. Mr. Brown has for years been recognized as one of the progressive farmers and dairymen of his neighborhood and is doing well in his operations.
It was on November 17,
18881886, at Enterprise, this county,
that Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Anna Belle Aitken and to this
union three children were born, two sons and a daughter, Roy Marshall Brown,
who is married and is now living at Medford, Oregon, where he is employed
in a wholesale house; Lester Lucas, who died in 1911; and Eva, wife of Claude
Wilson of Blaine. Mrs. Brown was born in the city of Chicago and is a daughter
of John and Annie (Marshall) Aitken, natives of Edinburgh, Scotland, who
were married in Toronto, Canada, in which province their respective parents
have settled upon leaving Scotland. John Aitken was a cabinetmaker and organ
builder and in the middle '50s located in Chicago, where he and his family
were living at the time of the great fire which destroyed the best part of
that city in the fall of 1871. He later made his home in Quincy, Illinois,
and resided there until 1878 when he became imbued with the pioneer spirit
and with his family came to Washington and homesteaded a tract of land in
the Enterprise district in this county. This was his first experience in
farming and the difficulties he met and overcame may be better imagined that
described, but in time he developed a good piece of property and came to
be recognized as one of the substantial citizens of that district. He and
his wife were the parents of four children. Mrs. Brown was but a child when
she came with her parents in 1878 and her education was completed in the
schools of this county. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are republicans and have ever
given proper attention to the general civic affairs of their home community
as well as to general social affairs, and have been helpful in promoting
all good movements here. Mr. Brown is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's
Association and of the poultry Association and has ever done his part in
promoting the interests of those helpful cooperative organizations.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 836-837.
ONTIE J. BRUNS
O. J. Bruns owns and operates a fine ranch in the vicinity of Everson and is one of the progressive agriculturists who are the hope and strength of the state. He was born in *Iowa, March 9, 1863, and his parents, U. I. and Catherine (Feizman) Bruns, were both natives of Germany. They were pioneer settlers of Iowa, establishing their home in the state in the early '60s, and in later life migrated to Washington, where both passed away.
O. J. Bruns was reared on his father's farm and received a public school education. When thirty-two years of age he embarked in merchandising at Lake Park, Iowa, and conducted the business for about four years. In 1899 he came to Washington, opening a store at Lopez, and also operated a sawmill. He was very successful in his undertakings and at one time was the owner of several farms in San Juan county. In 1920 he disposed of his holdings in that section and came to Whatcom county, purchasing a tract of fifty-eight acres in Lawrence township. He has since lived on this place and the rich soil produces abundant crops. He is an expert agriculturist and brings to his occupation an intelligent, open and liberal mind that takes cognizance of all modern developments in the lines in which he specializes. He is engaged in general farming and also has a fine dairy.
In 1895 Mr. Bruns married Miss Myra Adkins, a native of England and a daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Gates) Adkins, early settlers of Iowa. To Mr. and Mrs. Bruns were born four children: Ethel, the wife of Russell Scull; Leslie, a resident of Tacoma, Washington; Sarah, the wife of L. E. Dillman, also of Tacoma; and Oliver, at home. Mr. Bruns is allied with the republican party, and while living at Lopez he filled the office of postmaster, also serving as justice of the peace. He has faithfully discharged every trust reposed in him, whether of a public or private nature, and stands deservedly high in the esteem of his fellowmen.
*Note: 1920 census says he was born in Germany and came to US in 1867.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 545-546.
NORMAN P. CRUIKSHANK
In former years Norman P. Cruikshank was well known to baseball fans of the west, owning to his prowess in the national sport, and his name now figures prominently in business circles of Bellingham as a dealer in automobile accessories. A son of Andrew and Paulina (Franklin) Cruikshank, he was born January 6, 1882, in Delano, Minnesota, and in 1902 came with his parents to Bellingham, were the mother still resides. The father was a Union veteran and followed the trade of a carpenter as a life work. Norman P. Cruikshank received a public school education and afterward became a cigar maker. For fifteen years he devoted his attention to that line of work, in which he became very proficient, and later chose the career of a professional baseball player. His work in that connection took him to South Bend, Indiana; Waterloo, Iowa; Sioux City, Iowa; Seattle, Washington; Portland, Oregon, and Saskatoon, Canada. He was regarded as one of the best players in the northwest, and he afterward conducted the Elks Baseball Club of Bellingham for two years. In 1915 he retired from the profession and joined Charles M. Tabor in the wholesale tire business, with which they were connected for two years. Since 1917 they have devoted their energies to the sale of automotive equipment, catering to the wholesale trade, and are now conducting a business of large proportions. The firm of Tabor & Cruikshank has established an enviable reputation for enterprise and probity and conducts the only business of the kind in Bellingham.
Mr. Cruikshank belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, and he is a thirty-second degree Mason and Shriner, now serving as worshipful master of Whatcom Lodge No. 151, F. & A. M. He is a member of the Bellingham Country Club and is serving on the board of directors of the Kiwanis Club. He is one of the earnest members of the Chamber of Commerce and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. Mr. Cruikshank is a man of high principles and possesses a pleasing personality which has won him many friends throughout the Pacific coast region.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 217.
OTIS H. CULVER
O. H. Culver, United States customs commissioner at Bellingham, has long been identified with this branch of government service and has also achieved prominence in other walks of life. A native of Vermont, he was born in 1862, and when fourteen years of age he went to Iowa with his parents, George Nelson and Diana L. (Akins) Culver, who later migrated to North Dakota. There the father entered the field of finance, becoming secretary of the North Dakota Loan & Trust Company. Later he engaged in merchandising in Idaho, and in 1890 he came to Washington and for many years operated a farm on Orcas island. He passed away in Bellingham.
O. H. Culver completed his studies in the University of Minnesota, and for two years was principal of the high school at Jamestown, North Dakota. He first came to Washington in 1884, on a vacation trip, and was much pleased with this section of the country. He was in northern Idaho from 1884 until 1889, devoting his attention to the publication of a newspaper, and in the latter year was appointed registrar of a United States land office. He resigned the position soon afterward and in June, 1890, arrived in Tacoma, Washington. In August of that year he located in Fairhaven, and he was made secretary of its first Chamber of Commerce. He was the first secretary of the Bellingham State Normal School, and he also purchased stock in the Bellingham Herald, of which he was manager for two years. Mr. Culver became connected with the United States customs department in 1897 and for three years was in charge of the port at Roach Harbor. He then returned to Bellingham and after a brief connection with journalistic interest reentered the customs service. He established the port at Friday Harbor, where he was stationed until October 7, 1920, and he has since been at the head of the department in Bellingham. He has a comprehensive knowledge of this branch of federal service and is one of the most efficient and trustworthy of the Washington body of government officials.
In 1894 Mr. Culver was married to Miss Mabel G. Smith, also a native of Vermont, and five children were born to them: Evelyn, now Mrs. Russell Watson, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Leda, the wife of George Hipkoe, a reporter on the Bellingham American; Carl, who is taking a course in the University of Washington; and Mary and Florian, both of whom are attending the State Normal School.
Mr. Culver is identified with the Masonic order and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. His work has been of a nature that has brought him a wide acquaintance, and his probity, ability and fidelity to duty are known to all with whom he has been associated.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 41-42.
HENRY W. DRAPER
One of the worthy and successful farmers and poultrymen of the western part of Whatcom county is H. W. Draper, whose splendid ranch in West Delta township represents the results of his own earnest and unremitting toil, for he carved his home out of the wilderness of which his land consisted when he bought it. He has led a busy but quiet life and his honor and integrity have never been questioned. He is one of the substantial and enterprising men of his section of the county and his fellow citizens bear willing testimony to his sterling character and fine personal qualities. H. W. Draper was born in Henry county, Illinois, on the 17th of February, 1862, and is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Clark Draper, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Pennsylvania. The father was a farmer in Illinois, where his death occurred in 1874, and his wife died in 1864, when the subject of this sketch was but a baby. Of the three children born to these parents, two are living, the daughter being Mrs. Sarah Palmer, of Illinois.
H. W. Draper is indebted to the public schools of his native state for his education and at the age of fourteen years he went to work on farms in Illinois, Nebraska and Kansas. In 1880 he located in Nebraska, remaining there five years, and then traveled over most of the western states until 1892, when he returned to Illinois, where he remained for eleven years. In 1903 Mr. Draper came to Lynden, Whatcom county, and bought eighty acres in West Delta township. A vast amount of work was required to clear the timber and brush from this land before it could be cultivated, but he worked with vigor, first erecting a small house, and in the course of time got twenty acres under the plow, the remainder of the land being "slashed" and in pasture. The cultivated land is mainly devoted to the raising of hay and grain, of which he gathers bounteous crops, and he is also devoting considerable attention to dairying and poultry. He keeps five good grade Guernsey and Jersey cows, a good team of young work horses and has about one thousand laying hens, which number he expects to materially increase, as he has found the chicken business both profitable and pleasant. Mr. Draper has made many improvements of substantial nature since he acquired this property, which, under his careful management, has been developed into one of the finest ranches in this locality. In 1912 the first house was replaced by a larger and finer home, a commodious barn was built in 1915 and chicken houses were built in 1924 and 1925. Mr. Draper is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the Whatcom County Poultry Association. In 1906 he planted an orchard, which contains practically all kinds of fruit, some English walnut trees and a fine patch of berry bushes.
On March 17, 1905, in Seattle, Washington, Mr. Draper was married to Miss Irene Lady, who was born in Indiana, the daughter of Milton W. and Mary E. (Westfall) Lady, the former born in Midway, Tennessee, the latter a native of Indiana. Mr. Lady went to Missouri in 1841, being a pioneer of the locality, where he took up a homestead and bought additional land and there he became an extensive stock breeder and farmer. He was an expert horticulturist and owned a splendid orchard. He lived there the remainder of his life, dying in 1874. He was survived many years by his widow, who died March 22, 1921, at the age of eighty years. Of the seven children born to them, six are living, namely: William, who lives in Colorado; John O., of Missouri; Irene, Mrs. Draper; Mrs. Lillie A. Fidler, whose husband is a merchant in Bauner, Fulton county, Illinois; Allan M., deceased; George W., who is an engineer in Bates county, Missouri and Milton E., who is farming in Minnesota. Owing to his sterling qualities of character, his indomitable industry, sound business ability and his friendly manner, Mr. Draper has long occupied a high place in the confidence and regard of his fellow citizens.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 530-531.
TIMOTHY J. ELDER
Among the men of sterling qualities of character who for many years have occupied a conspicuous place in the esteem of the community, Timothy J. Elder is deserving a special mention. He was a native of Delaware county, New York, born in December, 1847, and was a son of William and Charity S. (Corbin) Elder, the former of whom was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and the latter in Delaware county, New York. The father was brought by his parents to the United states when he was four years of age and was reared in New York. He lived there until reaching manhood, when he was married and there reared his family. He was engaged in the sawmill and lumberyard business, floating his logs and lumber down the Delaware river to Philadelphia. In 1874 he moved to Kansas, where he was engaged in farming about ten years, and in 1884 brought his wife and children, consisting of two sons and six daughters, to King county, Washington. There he secured a large tract of land, of which eventually sixty-five acres were cleared. After remaining on that place until 1894 he came to Clearbrook, Whatcom county, and bought eighty acres of land, practically uncleared, only the finest timber having been cut off. Mr. Elder and his son cleared about sixty-five acres of this land, and the parents spent the remaining years of their lives here, the father dying in 1909 and the mother December 12, 1919.
Timothy J. Elder secured his education in the public schools of his native state and remained with his father until the latter's death. He and his brother, Joseph S., then operated the home place until September, 1920, when they sold it and moved to Ten Mile township, where they bought eighty acres of land. Here they conducted their business under the name of Elder Brothers. The land was partially cleared when they acquired it, but a vast amount of grubbing was required in order to get it in shape for the plow. They gave their attention mainly to dairy farming, in which they met with a very gratifying measure of success. They kept about thirty heard of Holstein and Jersey cattle, some of which were registered, and shipped their milk to Bellingham, where it was delivered. They also rented another farm, which they operated together, and they were regarded throughout the community as men of sound and discriminating judgment and of enterprising and progressive methods.
In 1879, in Kansas, Timothy J. Elder was married to Miss Laura M. Burroughs, who was born in Missouri, a daughter of George W. and Mary Katherine (Harris) Burroughs, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Missouri. Mrs. Elder died in King county, Washington, in 1890. To this union were born three children: Mabel is now the wife of J. P. Imburg, of Leavenworth, Washington, and is the mother of two children by her first husband, Harry Tyler. James W., who is connected with the Cascade Laundry at Bellingham, married Miss Hazel Ames, of Spangel, Washington, a daughter of O. W. and Elizabeth (McLean) Ames, who came to Washington about 1883. To James W. and Hazel Elder have been born two children, James W., Jr., and Timothy Raymond. Mary Eleanor is the wife of H. J. Ames, of Seattle, a brother of Mrs. James W. Elder, and they are the parents of four children.
Mr. Elder was deeply interested in everything pertaining to the welfare of his locality and while at Clearbrook was a member of the school board about fifteen years. Fraternally he was a member of Valley Lodge, No. 60, Independent Order of Odd fellows, in King county, and of the Knights of Pythias. He passed away at his home in Ten Mile township, February 10, 1926, honored and respected by all who knew him. He was a man of candid and straightforward manner, kindly and courteous in all his dealings with other people, and genial and friendly in his social relations. He stood on the right side of every moral issue and enjoyed to a marked degree the confidence and esteem of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 918-919.
JOHN W. GOODHEART, M. D., F. A. C. S.
Dr. John W. Goodheart, one of Bellingham's veteran physicians and surgeons and a resident here (with intermission) since 1890, was born in Bloomington, Illinois, in 1866, and is a son of James and Catherine O. (Fordyce) Goodheart, the former of whom was a contractor in that city. Reared in Bloomington, John W. Goodheart attended the high school there and afterward the Illinois State Normal School at Normal and taught school for one term meanwhile carrying on preparatory studies in medicine. He then entered Northwestern University Medical College, at Chicago, Illinois, and was graduated (M. D.) from that institution in 1890.
Upon receiving his diploma Dr. Goodheart came to Washington and located in the Bay settlements, opening an office in New Whatcom. In 1896 he returned to Illinois to pursue post graduate studies and was engaged in practice in that state until 1902, when he returned to Bellingham, where he since has been engaged in practice, with present offices in the Bellingham National Bank building. Dr. Goodheart is district surgeon for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad Company and a member of the staffs of St. Luke's and St. Joseph's Hospitals. He has more than a local reputation as a surgeon and in 1923 was elected a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He is a past president of the Whatcom County Medical Society and is also affiliated with the Washington State Medical Association and with the American Medical Association. For some years during the '90s he rendered effective local public service as city health officer.
In 1892, in Normal, Illinois, Dr. Goodheart was united in marriage to Miss Ella Kelley of that place and they have two daughters, Geraldine, wife of John Nichols Donavan of Bellingham, and Mary Katherine, wife of L. R. Wilson of Aberdeen. Dr. and Mrs. Goodheart are members of the Country Club and have ever taken an interested and helpful part in the community's general cultural and social activities. The Doctor is an active member of the Bellingham Chamber of Commerce and of the Rotary Club and has ever been a persistent promoter of the general material interests of the city to which he pledged his allegiance back in the days that may properly be regarded as those of the pioneers, for when he came here more than thirty-five years ago only the most optimistic and hopeful of the settlers could visualize the amazing development that has take place in the united settlements since the '90s. It is pleasing to add that Dr. Goodheart was one of these farsighted and hopeful ones and that his initial faith in the city's future has been amply justified, some of his early realty investments having proved properly profitable. The Doctor is a republican and insistent and able advocate of measures tending to promote the cause of good government and proper civic pride. He is a Scottish Rite thirty-second degree Mason and member of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine and is also affiliated with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 260.
EDWIN N. HASKELL
For more than twenty years prior to his death in the spring of 1913 Edwin N. Haskell had been prominently identified with the commercial and industrial life of the city of Bellingham and had done good work here. It is but proper therefore that in this history of the region in whose development he had taken so much interest there should appear some slight tribute to his memory, together with some reference to his life and services. Mr. Haskell was born in the city of Sauk Center in Stearns county, Minnesota, August 21, 1867, a son of Fred A. and Mary Haskell, natives of Maine and pioneers of that section of Minnesota and the former of whom was a merchant in Sauk Center. Reared at that place, he acquired his education in the Sauk Center schools and early learned the plumber's trade, becoming a skilled craftsman. After working for some time as a journeyman plumber in Minnesota and Colorado, he came to Washington in 1890, being then twenty-three years of age, and settled in what now is the city of Bellingham, opening a plumbing shop. In 1896 he admitted H. L. Munroe to partnership in that business and this mutually agreeable arrangement was continued until terminated by death. Meanwhile, in 1895, Mr. Haskell also had engaged in the cannery business, establishing a plant at Fort Bellingham and doing business as the Bellingham Bay Canning Company, but he retained his interest in this concern only a few years, his chief interest being in his plumbing and sheet metal business, to which in time was added a general line of hardware, and he became one of the successful business men of the town. Mr. Haskell died April 21, 1913, and his partner, Mr. Munroe, died in the following year. Mrs. Haskell sold her widow's interest in the hardware and tinning department of the business be retained the plumbing establishment, which has since been continued and is now being operated by her son, Frank M. Haskell, a successful and energetic young business man of the city. The late Edwin N. Haskell was a member of the Knights of the Maccabees and of the Golden Eagles.
In 1893, in this county, Edwin N. Haskell was united in marriage to Miss Mahala A. Shell, who continues to make her home in Bellingham, residing at No. 2015 B street. This has been her home for many years, and she has converted it into a modern apartment house which she manages. She has two children - the son, Frank Morton Haskell, mentioned above as proprietor of the plumbing and sheet metal establishment in Bellingham; and a daughter, Lois Elizabeth, who married Edward H. Gibson, now residing in Seattle, and has a son, Edward Jr. Frank M. Haskell was graduated from the Bellingham high school and has since his boyhood been interested in the plumbing and sheet metal line, being a competent craftsman and successful contractor. He married Miss Lucinda Lockwood and has two sons, Edwin S. and Francis Murray. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, in which he has attained to the fifteenth degree, and he and his wife are members of the local chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star.
WILLIAM H. SHELL
Mrs. Mahala Haskell was born in Indiana, a daughter of William Henry and Elizabeth Shell, both of whom also were born in Indiana, members of pioneer families in the Hoosier state. The former was a veteran of the Civil war, having rendered service during the four years of the war as a member of one of the more than one hundred and fifty regiments of Hoosier soldiers who fought for the Union during that struggle. In the early '80s William H. Shell closed out his interests in Indiana and with his family moved to Kansas, where he remained until 1889, when he came to Washington, that being the year in which it was admitted to statehood. He took up a homestead near Lake Whatcom and was making a good farm out of the place when death interrupted his labors. His widow is now making her home with her daughter, Mrs. Anna Dawson. Of the nine children born to William H. and Elizabeth Shell four are still living, but of these only Mrs. Haskell and Mrs. Dawson reside in this county. Mr. Shell was a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. He was an earnest member of the Methodist Episcopal church, as is his widow, and their children were reared in the faith of that communion. Mrs. Haskell is a member of the Ladies of the G. A. R., the Pythian Sisters and the Royal Neighbors and in the activities of these several organizations takes an active and helpful interest.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 916-917.
LEWIS B. HAWK
The qualities which have made Lewis B. Hawk one of the successful and popular citizens of Ten Mile township are those of sound judgment, persevering industry and honesty of motive, traits which in the great majority of cases will insure success even in the face of unfavorable conditions. Today no man in his community enjoys to a more marked degree the admiration and respect of the people generally than he. Mr. Hawk was born in 1864 in Parkersburg, West Virginia, and is a son of G. P. and Caroline (Smith) Hawk, both of whom were natives of Maryland, the father following the business of storekeeping and huckstering. Our subject secured his education in the public schools of West Virginia and Ohio, and during his early years he was employed in various lines of work, clerking in stores, working in coal mines and doing farm work. In 1900 he came to Whatcom county, and remained at Geneva about a year, after which he located at New Whatcom, where he lived until 1907, being employed in the sawmills of that locality. He then bought and moved onto his present farm of seventeen and a half acres in Ten Mile township, on which only enough clearing had been done to accommodate a small shack. During the subsequent years he applied himself to the improvement of the property and now the greater part of the land is in shape for cultivation. Mr. Hawk has given the major portion of his time and attention to the chicken business, in which he has been very successful, now running about a thousand laying hens, and also keeps a few milk cows. His farm produces plenty of hay, grain and other feed for the stock, and he is very comfortably situated, his present prosperity being the fruition of years of hard and consecutive effort.
Mr. Hawk was married, in Ohio, to Miss Eva L. Beebe, who was born and reared in that state, a daughter of William and Sybil (Richardson) Beebe, both of whom also were natives of the old Buckeye state, their respective families being numbered among the old pioneer settlers of that locality. Her father was a veteran of the Civil war, having been in the service during the greater part of that struggle, excepting the time he was confined in a hospital. To Mr. and Mrs. Hawk have been born four children: Ralph, who is married and is living near the home place, is a veteran of the World war, having served overseas with the Ninetieth Division. He took part in the St. Mihiel drive and other prominent engagements, and just before the signing of the armistice he was gassed from the effects of which he was confined in a hospital. Frank, who lives at Long Beach, California, was also overseas, as a member of the Sixty-fifth Regiment of Coast Artillery. Howard was in the training camp at the University of Washington during the war but did not get into active service. Hazel is the wife of C. L. Simonson, of Ten Mile. Mr. Hawk is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association and the whatcom County Poultry Association, while fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He has taken an intelligent interest in local public affairs, especially such as relate to educational matters, and served for several years as a member of the Victor school board. He is a man of fine public spirit, giving his support to all movements for the betterment of the community welfare, and because of his industry, right living and genial disposition he has long enjoyed general confidence and good will.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 346.
JOSEPH F. HELGATH
The life of J. F. Helgath, well known farmer of Delta township, has been characterized by industry, honesty and steadfastness of purpose. He is essentially a man of affairs, careful of his plans and exercising judicious foresight, and he not only possesses energy, but a concentration of purpose and a discernment that bring him a large degree of success in whatever particular line he devotes his attention to. He is public-spirited and lends his aid in the furtherance of all movements having for their object the general upbuilding of the community. Mr. Helgath was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, on the 27th of October, 1874, and is a son of Mike and Mary Helgath, both of whom were born in Austria. They came to the United States in 1860, locating in St. Paul, Minnesota, where they lived until 1886, when they came to Tacoma, Washington. After a year there they returned to St. Paul, but again came to Washington, locating in Bellingham. The father acquired forty acres of land in Columbia valley, and there he spent the last years of his life, dying in 1901. His widow still lives on the Columbia valley farm, at the age of eighty-six years.
J. F. Helgath secured his education in the public schools of St. Paul and then accompanied the family on their several moves until 1889, when he bought one hundred and sixty acres of land in Delta township, Whatcom county, the tract being practically covered with timber and brush. He cleared eighty acres of this land, developed it into a good farm and then sold it in 1899, buying one hundred acres five miles northwest of Lynden. He now has this tract all cleared and under an excellent system of cultivation, hay and grain being his principal crops. He also keeps thirteen good grade Guernsey cows and has six hundred laying hens, deriving a nice income from both of these sources. He thoroughly understands the several phases of farm work and is intensely practical in everything he does. The success which has crowned his efforts has been well earned, and he is well worthy of the high esteem in which he is held.
On February 19, 1899, Mr. Helgath was married to Miss Josephine Berger, a native of Taylor Falls, Minnesota, and a daughter of Fred and Magdalena (Remmele) Berger. Mrs. Helgath's parents were natives of Baden, Germany, whence they came to the United states in 1875, settling in Wisconsin, where they lived until 1886, when they came to Whatcom county. On their arrival here the father took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in Delta township, nine miles west of Lynden, and in the course of time cleared it of the brush and stumps which covered it, creating a good farm, on which the family home as been established continuously since. The father died there in May, 1907. Mr. and Mrs. Helgath are the parents of four children, namely: Paul, who is married and lives in Seattle; Carl, who lives in eastern Washington; Thelma, who teaches school in Pleasant valley, Whatcom county; and Fred, who remains at home and is now a student in high school. Thelma is a graduate of the State Normal School at Bellingham. Mr. Helgath is progressive and up-to-date in his methods, and his success has been commensurate with the efforts he has put forth. He is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association and the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, in the activities of both of which organizations he takes a deep interest. Friendly in manner, accommodating in his relations with his neighbors, upright and honorable in conduct, he has won his way to an enviable position in the confidence and regard of the entire community in which he lives.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 860-861.
JOHN G. HYATT
A member of one of the oldest families of Whatcom county, John G. Hyatt has always resided within its borders and is one of the well known agriculturists of Marietta township, to which he has rendered good service as a tiller of the soil and also in the capacity of a pubic official. He was born May 2, 1864, in Bellingham, which at that time was known as Whatcom, and his parents were John G. and Emma Hyatt. His father and Charles Richards erected the first brick building in the county, to which they came as pioneers. In the early days it was used as a courthouse, and the structure is still standing. After the death of John G. Hyatt, Sr., his widow remarried, becoming the wife of James H. Taylor, a ship carpenter, who arrived at Fort Bellingham in July, 1854, when this region was populated chiefly by Indians.
John G. Hyatt was reared on a farm and his education was acquired in the public schools. He worked on the ranch, on boats and in logging camps, and since 1910 has owned and operated the homestead which his stepfather entered in Marietta township in 1868. His boyhood was spent upon this place, which is a well improved and fertile tract of one hundred and thirty acres. He raises the crops best adapted to the soil and climactic conditions of the locality and also finds dairying a profitable occupation. His cattle are of high grade and his methods of farming are both practical and progressive. The buildings are large and substantial and a general air of neatness and thrift pervades the place.
Mr. Hyatt is a strong adherent of the republican party and has ever manifested an unselfish spirit of devotion to the general good. As school director he was influential in improving educational facilities and standards in this section , filling the position for nine years, and for sixteen years he has been township assessor. His long retention in the office is eloquent of his capacity for such service, and his life record commands uniform respect, for fidelity to duty is one of his salient characteristics
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 346; copied by Matt Aamott.
Helmer Iverson is one of the leading farmers and dairymen of the northwestern part of Whatcom county, where he located many years ago, and through close attention to business and unswerving honesty he is meeting with a very gratifying measure of success. He comes of a sturdy Norwegian ancestry, long connected with the annals of the mountains, valleys and fjords of Norway. So he has in him many elements that contribute to success and today holds a high place in the estimation of all who know him.
Mr. Iverson was born in Norway on the 24th of June, 1868, and is a son of Iver and Mary (Olson) Iverson, both of whom spent their entire lives in their native land, the mother dying in 1878 and the father in 1894. They were the parents of six children, all of whom but one are living, namely: Ingeborg, deceased; Mary, who lives in Sweden; Ivrine, a resident of Norway; Marie, who makes her home in Seattle, Washington; Iver, who lives in Skagit county, Washington; and Helmer.
Helmer Iverson attended the public schools of his native land but at the age of ten years he left home and engaged in fishing, following that occupation until 1888, when he came to the United States. He arrived in Whatcom county in August of that year and at once joined his uncle, Ever Everson, who had come to Washington in 1868 and "squatted" on one hundred and sixty acres of land, where the town of Everson now stands, and which town was named in his honor. He filed on the land in May, 1871, at which time it was heavily timbered and roads were conspicuously absent. He settled down to the task of clearing the land, in which he made good progress, and lived there during the remainder of his life, his death occurring October 11, 1915. He was one of the first white men to settle north of the Nooksack river, was a man of kindly and generous nature, a friend to many in adversity and commanded the universal respect of all who knew him.
After Helmer Iverson came to this locality he engaged in the lumbering business, which he followed for many years. In 1891 he bought forty acres of land in Lawrence township, which he cleared of the timber which stood on it, and kept the place about eight years, when he sold it and bought one hundred and twenty acres of land located one and a half miles farther east. After clearing a part of this tract he sold it, and in February, 1907, located in Everson in order to take care of his uncle and run his ranch, which he inherited on the uncle's death, since which time he has continued to operate it with success. The land is exceedingly fertile and good crops are the rule, especially under the skillful cultivation of Mr. Iverson, who thoroughly understands all phases of farm work. He is especially interested in dairying, keeping forty head of good Holstein cattle, some of which are registered, and also a registered bull. He raises hay and grain chiefly, with some sugar beets. In 1925 one three acre field of sugar beets produced sixty tons of that vegetable. He maintains the place in good condition and today it is regarded as one of the best farms in that section of the county.
In 1898 Mr. Iverson was married to Miss Elizabeth Todd, who was born in England, a daughter of John and Helen (Robertson) Todd. Her family came to the United States in 1886, settling first in Nebraska, but in 1889 they came to Whatcom county, the father buying a ranch in Lawrence township. He lived there many years but finally retired about 1913 and moved to Everson, where he spent his last years, dying there in 1917. He is survived by his widow, who now makes her home with Mr. and Mrs. Iverson. Mr. and Mrs. Todd were the parents of three children, namely: Mrs. Elizabeth Iverson; Mrs. Belle Fisher, who resides in Ferndale, this county; and George, who lives on the old home farm in Lawrence township. To Mr. and Mrs. Iverson have been born six children, namely: Mabel, born September 19, 1899, is now engaged in missionary work in Honolulu, Hawaii; Harry, born November 10, 1900; Ida, born February 20, 1902; Mrs. Mary Ellen Bailey, born March 18, 1904; Hilda, born December 6, 1907, and Earl Theodore, born March 11, 1918.
Mr. Iverson and family are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church at Lawrence, to which he gives generous support. He is active in his advocacy of good schools and improved roads and supports every movement that promises to better the interests of the community along any line. He life history exhibits a career of unswerving integrity, indefatigable private industry and wholesome home and social relations - a most commendable career crowned with success. He possess a strong social nature and by his genial and kindly attitude to all with whom he comes in contact he has won the confidence and respect of every one.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 510-513.
ROBERT T. JOHNSON
One of the leading citizens and most highly respected residents of Sumas, Whatcom county, is Robert T. Johnson, whose life here has been one of honor and usefulness. His has been the sort of a career that does not attract attention for its unusual brilliance, but is the kind out of which is made the warp and woof of the substance that goes to make up human achievement, and he is today numbered among the substantial and dependable citizens of his community. He is a native son of Whatcom county, born on his father's old homestead at Sumas on the 5th of May, 1876. His parents, A. R. and Mary Johnson, were natives respectively of Kentucky and British Columbia. The father crossed the plains with ox teams in 1849, following the trail of the gold seekers to California, where he gave his attention to mining for several years. He then went to the Cariboo mines in British Columbia, where he followed mining until 1872, when he went to Sehome, Washington, where he worked in the coal mines for a few months. In the fall of that year he filed a preemption claim on one hundred and sixty acres of land where the town of Sumas now stands, and in 1880 he also filed on a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres adjoining the first tract. There were at that time no roads in this locality and the land was densely covered with timber and brush. He applied himself vigorously to the task of clearing this tract, and at the time of his death, which occurred in 1907, he had the land practically all cleared and had developed a fine farm. His wife died in 1880. To them were born two children: Robert T., and William, deceased.
Robert T. Johnson was reared in the public schools at Sumas and remained at home until he was twenty-one years of age, when he bought sixteen acres of the old homestead, which he cleared and is now farming, raising good crops. In 1917 Mr. Johnson bought a nice, modern home in Sumas and is now living there, being at the present time manager of the city waterworks.
On May 3, 1916, Mr. Johnson was married to Miss Iva E. Crooks, who was born in Minnesota, a daughter of J. D. and Belle Crooks. Her father was a veteran of the Civil war, and he remained in Minnesota until the early '90s, when he came to Washington, where he spent his remaining years, dying in November, 1921. His wife is still living. Fraternally Mr. Johnson is a member of Bellingham Lodge No. 195, Brotherhood of American Yeomen. He has taken an active part in local public affairs, having served for eight years as postmaster of Sumas, and is now a member of the city council. As manager of the waterworks he has manifested sound judgment and discretion, discharging his duties to the entire satisfaction of his fellow citizens. In his relations with his fellow-men he has been upright and conscientious, and with all mankind an honest man. Quiet and unassuming, yet candid and open-hearted in manner, he possesses a strong individuality, and during his life here he has made a deep impress on the community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 224-225.
SOREN PETER LARSEN
Although one of the more recent additions to the farming community of Deming township, Soren Peter Larsen is widely and favorably known in Whatcom county, in which he has lived for nearly forty years, and personal experience has made him familiar with every phase of frontier life. He has fought life's battles alone and unaided and comes of a sturdy race of men whose labors have been essential to the development of the great empire of the west.
A native of Denmark, Mr. Larsen was born april 30, 1864, and was there reared and educated. Like many of his fellow countrymen he decided to seek a newer land in the hope of bettering his fortunes, and in 1886 came to the United States. He was then a young man of twenty-two, and after completing the journey across the Atlantic he went to Wisconsin, living in that state for one and a half years. On the expiration of that period he started for the Pacific coast, with Whatcom county as his destination, and took up a homestead in the vicinity of Mosquito lake. His claim was located in the midst of a wilderness and the only means of reaching it was by traversing a narrow trail for a distance of twelve miles. He at first packed his supples on his back, carrying a load of from eighty-five to one hundred pounds at a time, and later used a pony to transport his goods. His life was a laborious one, filled with difficulties and discouragements, but with unfaltering purpose he pressed steadily onward and eventually developed a fertile farm. He afterward purchased one hundred and sixty acres of wild land in Acme township and also cleared and developed that place. 1n 1924 Mr. Larsen came to Deming township and bought the old Carlson homestead of one hundred and thirty-six acres. He still owns the three ranches, on which he keeps fine dairy herds, and his property is supplied with all modern improvements. He brings to his pursuits an intelligent, open and liberal mind and follows the most advanced methods.
In 1887 Mr. Larsen married Miss Christina Christensen, also a native of Denmark and one of his playmates in childhood. They became the parents of eight children, but the eldest died in infancy, and Louis, the youngest son, is also deceased. Martin and Emma are at home. Dora is the wife of Jacob Jacoby, of Acme, by whom she has two sons. Ewalt, who is also married, has a son Gerald, aged four years, and is operating his father's farm in Deming township. Hannah is the wife of William Norris, of Acme, and the mother of three children, a son and two daughters. Henry is also living in Acme and has a wife and two sons.
Mr. Larsen is a member of the Danish Brotherhood and his political views are in accord with the platform and principles of the democratic party. He resides in Acme and has always taken the interest of a good citizen in public affairs, serving on the school board and as township supervisor. He lived on his first homestead for six years before a road was built in that section, and from the storehouse of memory he relates many interesting anecdotes of his experiences as a Washington pioneer. His success has been honorably won and the respect accorded him is well deserved.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 691-692.
Among the highly respected men of Whatcom county, none stands higher in public esteem than does Helge Leine, of Ferndale township, where he is living in a comfortable and attractive home. He is a native of Norway and is a son of Helge and Annie Leine, both of whom were also natives of Norway, in which country they spent their entire lives, both now being deceased. The son was educated in his native land and remained at home until 1880, when he became the husband of Bertha Ostrum, a daughter of Ivan and Maret (Lein) Ostrum. In the year following their marriage they came to the United States, settling first in Minnesota, where they lived for three or four years. Then they went to North Dakota, where they took up a homestead near Cooperstown, which they improved and developed into a good farm, and that was their home until 1903, when they came to Washington. For a time they lived at Everett, Snohomish county, and after a few years came to Ferndale township and bought forty acres of land which they developed into a very good farm. Here Mr. and Mrs. Leine are now living and are very comfortably situated, their cozy home in the timber being one of the most attractive in this locality. Mr. Leine keeps some chickens and a few cows and raises a full line of vegetables. He also has in season a beautiful and luxurious flower garden.
To Mr. and Mrs. Leine were born two children: Henry, who is now a prosperous photographer in Seattle; and Marie, who took a course in a business college in Bellingham and attended an academy at Parkland, near Tacoma, and is now living with her parents. They are very popular in the community in which they live, moving in the best social circles and possessing gracious qualities which commend them to the esteem and confidence of those with whom they come in contact.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 932.
BARNEY STEPHEN LUDWIGSON
Whatcom county sustained the loss of one of its well known and highly esteemed citizens in the death of Barney Stephen Ludwigson, who passed away at Bellingham on the 22d of May, 1919, when fifty-two years of age. He was born in Iceland in 1867 and spent the period of his boyhood on his native island and in Denmark, where he was graduated from college. At the age of twenty he immigrated to America, settling first in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, where he was engaged in clerking for four years. On the expiration of that period, about 1891, he made his way westward to Seattle, Washington, where he remained in the service of a wholesale concern for a number of years. Subsequently he resided for about a year at Point Roberts in Whatcom county, after which he spent three years in the Canadian province of British Columbia, being employed in the canneries as cooking-room foreman. He then returned to Point Roberts but a short time later, about 1906, removed to Blaine, Whatcom county, where he was placed in charge of a dry kiln in a large mill. Next he accepted the position of manager of the George & Barker store at Point Roberts, where he remained for ten years. He filled the position of township treasurer and also served as postmaster for a time, discharging his official duties in a highly efficient and creditable manner. When his health became impaired in 1918 he took up his abode at Bellingham, where he departed this life the following year.
In 1894 Mr. Ludwigson was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Hall, also a native of Iceland, who was eleven years old when she came to America with her foster mother, who located in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. At the age of fifteen years Mrs. Ludwigson removed to Seattle, Washington. She was dependent on her own resources for a livelihood from the age of eleven until the time of her marriage. She became the mother of ten children, as follows: Mrs. Lillian Waters, who is deceased; Henry R., residing at Bellingham; Mrs. Margaret Loft, who has two children and who makes her home at Bellingham; Julius, also living at Bellingham; Eggert, who is engaged in the real estate business at Bellingham; Vivian, a high school student; Carl, George and Alma, who are also attending school; and Leslie, who has passed away.
Mr. Ludwigson gave his political allegiance to the republican party, while his religious faith was that of the Lutheran church, to which his widow and children also belong. Mrs. Ludwigson resides at No. 2518 Walnut street in Bellingham, where she has an extensive circle of warm friends.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 162.
A man of keen sagacity, of the progressive wester type, Andy Martin has made good use of his opportunities, and for sixteen years his name has figured conspicuously in commercial circles of Bellingham in connection with the clothing business. A native of Minnesota, he was born May 20, 1883, and is a son of Martin and Mary (Isaacson) Martin, who came to Bellingham in 1900. The father was engaged in contracting and building in this locality for many years and is now living retired.
Andy Martin attended the public schools and afterward completed a course in a business college of Bellingham in preparation for a commercial career. He was employed by various merchants, performing his duties with thoroughness and fidelity, and on November 10, 1909, was able to establish a business of his own, opening the Sample Suit Shop in the Exchange building. He next conducted a clothing store on the second floor of the Bellingham National Bank building and later was the proprietor of an establishment in the Mason building. On May 5, 1923, the business was moved to its present location on the ground floor of the Bellingham National Bank building. The store is twenty by one hundred feet in dimensions, and his stock is always of the best grade. Mr. Martin specializes in men's furnishings and handles the Kincaid, Kimball and Adler lines. He follows up-to-date methods and his expert knowledge of this branch of merchandising enables him to judge correctly the needs of his customers and to cater thereto. He has always dealt fairly and honorably with the public and as a natural result his patronage has steadily increased.
In 1905 Mr. Martin married Miss Mary E. Erickson, of Bellingham, a daughter of Bendick Erickson, a Minnesotan. To this union were born nine children: Alvin, Pearl, Harold, Clara, Cecil, Vernon, Doris, Merion and Jean, all of whom reside with their parents. Along fraternal lines Mr. Martin is affiliated with the Eagles, the Royal Highlanders and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is a member of the Lions Club, a business men's organization devoted to Americanism, and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. Mr. Martin is a public-spirited citizen and has led a busy and useful life, concentrating his resources upon the achievement of a definite end, in the attainment of which he has exercised intelligence and good judgment, employing methods which neither seek nor require disguise.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 499.
It is not an easy task to describe adequately a man who has led a very active and busy life and who has attained a position of relative distinction in the community with which his interests are allied, but biography finds its most perfect justification, nevertheless, in tracing and recording such a life history. It is, then, with a feeling of satisfaction that the writer essays the tasks of touching briefly upon the details of such a record as has been that of Jacob Matz, who was born in West Prussia, Germany, on the 3d of August, 1848, and is a son of Andrew and Mary (Panzke) Matz, also natives of Germany. The family came to the United States in 1869, settling in Minnesota, where the father engaged in farming for many years, or until his retirement, when he moved to Waseca, where he passed his remaining days, his death occurring about 1901. He was survived by his widow, whose death occurred in 1913. Of the eleven children who blessed their union, four are now living. Jacob, Joseph, Andrew and Ignacius. Jacob Matz received a good education in the public schools of his native land and accompanied his parents on their removal to the United States in 1869. He remained in Minnesota three years and then came to Washington, landing at what is now the city of Bellingham, November 21, 1872. He took up a preemption claim to one hundred and sixty acres in section 9, Ferndale township, and in 1873 filed on a homestead of one hundred and fifty acres located on the Nooksack river, on sections 4 and 9, of the same township and close by his first tract. This was all brush and swamp land and presented a not very inviting appearance but Mr. Matz went to work and by hard and unremitting toil cleared about two hundred acres of the land, to the cultivation of which e applied himself until 1912, when he sold the ranch and retired from active business affairs. He bought a lot in Ferndale on which he erected a very attractive and comfortable house and here is now enjoying that rest and leisure to which his former years of toil so richly entitle him. To Mr. Matz belongs the distinction of being one of the first half dozen men to begin farming operations in Whatcom county in 1873. He and his brother, who lived on the opposite side of the river each had a calf and broke them to work. One of them would row across the river, the calf swimming alongside the boat, and they they would yoke them together and put them to work in the field. During those early days many hardships and privations were endured but the pioneers had the vision of the future which encouraged them and kept them at their tasks, the later-day results proving the soundness of their judgment and vindicating their faith in Whatcom county.
Mr. Matz was married, November 1, 1876, to Thekla Fleming, a native of Germany and a daughter of Mathias and Rosalia (Kahnke) Fleming. Her parents also were natives of Germany, where they were reared and married, and in 1854 they brought their family to this country, settling in Wisconsin, of which state they were pioneers. The father devoted his attention to farming, in which he met with gratifying success, and eventually he retired and moved to Princeton, Wisconsin, where he lived until his death, in 1878. He was survived many years by his wife, whose death occurred in 1903. Of the eleven children born to them, seven are now living, namely, John, Mathias, Eva, Susan, Thekla, Katherine and Justina, all in the East excepting Mrs. Matz and Susan, who live in Bellingham, Whatcom county. Mr. and Mrs. Matz are the parents of three children: Joseph, who lives in Bellingham, was married to Miss Ida McDermott and they have six children, Anna, Mary, Frances, Joseph A., Agnes and Ignacius; Josephine S., who lives on a part of the homestead, is the wife of T. P. Reilly and they have eight children, Mary B., James B., John T., Cecilia T., Teresa P., Maurice J., Loretta V. and Patricia H.; Albert, who lives in Ferndale, was married to Miss Eva M. Diedrich and they have three children, Paul M. and twins, Reginald F. and Regina G. Mr. Matz is a member of the Pioneer Society of Whatcom County and is one of the oldest living pioneers of this county. He served one term as a trustee of the society and the following year was elected president. He also served one year as treasurer and is now a member of the board of trustees. He is still an active man despite his years and takes a keen interest in everything affecting the welfare and prosperity of his community. He has always been a generous man in his attitude toward benevolent and charitable objects and in all essential ways has proven himself a worthy citizen of his locality. Because of his long and honorable career, his fine public spirit, his splendid character and his friendly manner, he has ever stood high in the respect and esteem of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 573-574.
John Morrison is one of Bellingham's substantial business men and for thirty-three years has been a resident of the city, devoting his attention to the lumber industry. He was born July 3, 1862, in Quebec, Canada, and his parents were William and Elizabeth (Clarkson) Morrison. He attended the public schools of his native country and acquired his first knowledge of the lumber business in his father's plant at Montreal. His keen mind enabled him to readily assimilate the details of the industry and in 1891 he was made manager of a mill in Seattle, Washington, filling the position for a year. In 1893 he came to Bellingham and for many years was vice president of the Morrison Mill Company, of which he is now a director, aiding materially in the development of the business, which is one of extensive proportions. His brother, Archie Morrison, is president of the company, which has about five hundred employes. The firm owns and operates three large, well equipped mills, located at Bellingham, Blaine and Anacortes, and the corporation is classed with the most reliable, progressive and successful lumber concerns of the state.
On June 26, 1889, Mr. Morrison married Miss Mary M. Currie, of Winnipeg, Canada, and they became the parents of five children but John, the second in order of birth is deceased. William I., foreman of the plant at Blaine, is married and has three children. The others are Florence, who resides with her parents; Jessie, the wife of J. J. White, of Seattle; and Mary Ella, also at home.
Mr. Morrison is a member of Bellingham Camp of the Modern Woodmen of America and casts his ballot for the candidates of the republican party. He occupies a high place in the esteem of his fellow citizens, for his life has been guided by honorable principles, and what he has accomplished represents the fit utilization of his innate powers and talents.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 136.
JAMES W. MYERS
Early in life J. W. Myers realized the fact that success never comes to the idler or dreamer. He has accordingly devoted himself to honest toil along lines that have brought him a very satisfactory measure of success, and today no one in the community stands higher in the esteem of his fellow citizens than he. Mr. Myers is a native of Tennessee, his birth occurring on the 23d of July, 1866, and he is a son of John and Margaret (Bird) Myers, both of whom were born and reared in Blunt county, Tennessee, and both of whom are now deceased. The father followed the vocation of farming and was a man of high character and enviable standing in his community. To him and his wife were born fifteen children, as follows: Mary C., William B., J. W., Susie J., Rhoda A., Sydney A., Mattie W., Rachel E., Minnie W., deceased, Sarah J., John A. and Margaret A., twins, Joseph J., Rufus S., and Clara, who died in infancy.
J. W. Myers received a splendid education, supplementing his public school course by attendance at Maryville College, at Maryville, Tennessee. He then spent a year in Indiana and a year in North Carolina, working in the woods, and in 1889 he came to Winlock, Washington, where he remained a few months. In the fall of 1889 he came to Fairhaven, Whatcom county, and took a contract for clearing the land where the normal school now stands, after which he came to the Nooksack valley and followed the same line of work for a few years. In 1895 he bought forty acres of land two miles south of Sumas, and at once set himself to the task of removing the stumps and brush with which it was covered. Later Mr. Myers added eighty acres to his original tract but afterward sold thirty acres, so that he now has ninety acres of good land, about half of which is cleared. His principal crops are hay, oats and peas. He also keeps some good grade cows and has been very successful as a dairy farmer. He has made a number of splendid improvements on his place, which is numbered among the valuable farms of the locality.
On November 30, 1893, Mr. Myers was married to Miss Alice A. Thallheimer, who was born at Olympia, Washington, a daughter of Socrates and Esther (Rupe) Thallheimer, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Iowa. Mr. Thallheimer, who was a veteran of the Civil war, died in 1921, and is survived by his widow. He had come to Washington in 1873, locating on the Black river, twenty miles south of Olympia, where he took up a homestead, and he moved to Whatcom county in 1883. To his and his wife were born four children: Lawson S., Alice A. (Mrs. Myers), Raymond and Robert. Mr. and Mrs. Myers are the parents of three children, namely: Margaret E., who was graduated from the Sumas high school, the State Normal School at Bellingham and the Washington State University at Seattle and has received her Master's degree in science at the University of Washington; Dicie M., who was graduated from the Sumas high school, the State Normal School at Bellingham and the University of Washington, and is now connected with the business administration of the Marshall Field store, in Chicago, Illinois; and Glen B., who was born in Idaho and who is now a student in the Sumas high school. Mr. Myers is a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association. He has been actively interested in everything pertaining to the welfare of his community and rendered efficient service as township supervisor for one and a half terms. He is a strong and persistent advocate of good schools and improved highways and has exerted a beneficent influence throughout his community, where he is held in the highest regard by his fellow citizens, who appreciate his worth as a man and a citizen.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 269-270.
As manager of the Weiser Drug Company, Eddie Nelson occupies an important place in Bellingham's commercial life, and thorough scientific training, supplemented by practical experience, well qualifies him for this responsible office. He was born May 19, 1890, and is a native of Tacoma, Washington. His parents, E. O. and Christine Nelson, located in that city in 1889, and three years later the father purchased a farm near Mount Vernon, Washington, where he spent the remainder of his life, bringing his land to a high state of development.
In the acquirment of an education Eddie Nelson attended the public schools of Mount Vernon and afterward became a student at the Minnesota Institute of Pharmacy, from which he was graduated in 1912. In 1907 he had obtained a position as drug clerk and was employed in that capacity in Mount Vernon and other places, acquiring much useful information concerning the trade. In 1924 he came to Bellingham and has since had charge of the business of the Weiser Drug Company. It was established in 1913 by S. B. Weiser, who opened a sore in the Bellingham National Bank building, and on January 26, 1924, the business was purchased by J. A. Munich and J. K. Stewart, of Mount Vernon, the present owners. Mr. Nelson has initiative, executive power and mature judgment, and under his expert managment the grown of the business has been greatly stimulated. The firm carries a large stock of drugs and makes a specialty of filling prescriptions, giving to its patrons high class service.
On September 29, 1915, Mr. Nelson married Miss Laura T. Johnson of Minnesota, and the children of this union are Lloyd and Donald. Mr. Nelson is a Mason and in politics follows an independent course, regarding the qualifications of a candidate as a matter of prime importance. He is a young man of serious purpose, deeply interested in his chosen line of work, and his enterprise and ability are carrying him rapidly toward the goal of success.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 881.
WILLIAM H. NEWBERRY
It is a well attested maxim that the greatness of a state or a community
lies not in the machinery of its government, or even in its institutions,
but in the people's capacity for high and useful work, unselfish endeavor
and devotion to the public good. To this class belongs William H. Newberry,
one of the enterprising and successful farmers in the vicinity of Blaine,
where he has devoted himself with success to the cultivation and improvement
of his excellent farm. Mr. Newberry was born in Houston county, Minnesota,
in 1868, and is a son of N. T. and Katie (Dunbar) Newberry, the former a
native of Michigan, of which state his family were pioneers, and the latter
born in Connecticut. In 1906 these parents came to Whatcom county and thereafter
made their home with their son, out subject, until they passed away in
1920 1919. William H. Newberry attended the public schools
of his native state and was reared to the life of a farmer, remaining with
his father until about twenty years of age, when he went to Mitchell county,
Iowa, where he worked out for a while and then rented a farm, which he operated
about five years. He next went to Emmons county, North Dakota, where he entered
a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres, on which he remained about eight
years, giving his attention chiefly to grain and cattle. In 1906 Mr. Newberry
came to Whatcom county and first bought a farm located about a half mile
south of his present place, which he afterward also purchased. In 1912, some
time after buying the latter tract, he moved onto it and has devoted himself
since to its cultivation and improvement. It comprises forty acres of land,
which originally was covered with timber, stumps and brush, but he now has
about twenty acres cleared and in a high state of cultivation, the balance
being in pasture and woods. He has made splendid improvements on the place,
including the erection of the present comfortable and attractive house, and
is now very pleasantly situated. He gives special attention to dairy farming,
in which he is very successful, keeping seven good grade milk cows. During
the past four years Mr. Newberry has also operated a truck for the dairy
association, collecting and bringing milk to Lynden.
In 1890, in Mitchell county, Iowa, Mr. Newberry was married to Miss Esther Doane, who was born in Iowa, a daughter of Frank W. and A. M. (Thornton) Doane. Her father, who came to Whatcom county, where his death occurred in 1909 at his home in Pleasant Valley. His wife was born in Cook county, Illinois, and now lives with her daughter, Mrs. Newberry. They were the parents of eight children, four sons and four daughters. To Mr. and Mrs. Newberry has been born a son, Lawrence, who is a student in the high school at Blaine. Mr. Newberry is an active member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, while he sustains fraternal relations with the Modern Woodmen of America. He has so ordered his actions as to earn the commendation of his fellowmen and has long been considered one of the most substantial and dependable men in his locality, giving his support to those measures which promise to advance the welfare of the public. Such a man is a credit to any community, and he is well deserving of the enviable place which he holds in the esteem and confidence of his fellow citizens throughout this locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 498-499.
UELKE J. OTTER
The United States is greatly indebted to the little country of Holland for having sent to this country so many of her best citizens, who have contributed in a very definite measure to the development and prosperity of this nation. Indeed, they began coming in early colonial days and are established in every section of our country, successful in business and interested in all lines of endeavor, while at the same time they have been loyal to our national institutions and ever ready to defend our flag in times of peril. U. J. Otter, one of the enterprising and successful farmers of Lynden township, was born in Holland in 1887 and is a son of J. G. and Gertrude (Vanderwall) Otter, the former of whom, a farmer, died in his native land in 1914, being survived by his widow. Our subject was reared under the paternal roof, attending the public schools of his home neighborhood, and remained with his parents until he was sixteen years old, when he went to Germany, where he was employed at various occupations for about four years.
In 1907 Mr. Otter emigrated to the United States and came direct to Lynden, Whatcom county, to which locality had previously come two of his brothers, Harry and Henry Otter. For a few years he was employed at various kinds of work in this vicinity, but in 1912 he entered on an independent career by buying thirty acres of land in Lynden township, comprising the nucleus of his present farm. No clearing or improvements of any nature had been made on the property, and the only entrance to the tract was by a narrow trail. He devoted himself earnestly to the task of getting the land cleared and in cultivation and now has twenty acres under the plow and producing splendid crops of hay and grain. He is giving the major portion of his attention to dairy and poultry farming, keeping eight good milk cows and eight hundred chickens, in both of which lines he has met with a very satisfactory measure of success. He has made a number of good improvements, including the building of a nice house, substantial barn and other necessary farm buildings, and the general appearance of the place indicates him to be a man of good judgment and excellent taste. He knows no such word as idleness and devotes himself closely to his work, in which he is practical and up-to-date.
In 1911 Mr. Otter was married to Miss Dena Mersbergen, who also was born in Holland, a daughter of John and Minnie (Vos) Mersbergen. Her parents brought their family to the United States in 1890, locating first in Nebraska, where they remained until 1901, when then came to whatcom county and settled at Lynden, where the mother is now living, her husband having died in 1923. Mr. and Mrs. Otter are the parents of four children: John Garrit, Wilhelmina, Gertrude and Dorothy Johanna. Mr. Otter is a member of the Whatcom County Poultry Association and has always taken a keen interest in the progress of his locality, having rendered effective service as road supervisor of district No. 3. His religious affiliation is with the First Christian Reformed church of Lynden, of which he has long been an active member, having served as treasurer of the society and being now a member of its official board. He is a man of earnest purpose, a close observer of men and events, keeps closely in touch with the leading issues of the day and holds sound opinions on matters affecting the general welfare. He is kindly and generous in his attitude toward all benevolent objects, genial and friendly in his social relations and enjoys a high standing among his friends and neighbors.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 449-450.
SAMUEL L. PALMER
One of the old and honored citizens of Whatcom county, who has been an eye witness of the wonderful transformation which has taken place here in the last forty years and who now, after a long busy and useful career, is retired from active labor, is S. L. Palmer, of Lynden, than whom no man in this locality enjoys to a greater measure the respect and esteem of the people generally. Mr. Palmer was born in 1847 in Erie, Pennsylvania, and is a son of Benjamin and Mary (Hopkins) Palmer, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Rhode Island. He attended school in Erie county until 1856, when his family moved to Wisconsin, where he finished his education. His father followed farming and to that occupation our subject was reared. He remained in Wisconsin until he was twenty-two years of age, when he went to Minnesota, where he remained a few years. He then returned to Wisconsin, where he was married, and next went to Iowa, where he was engaged in farming for almost four years, after which he again returned to Wisconsin, where for a couple of years he farmed and worked in the woods. From there he went to Ottertail county, Minnesota, where he worked in the woods from 1880 to 1887.
In the latter year Mr. Palmer came to Lynden, Whatcom county, which has been his home continuously since, though at one time he lived in Delta. During practically all of his active life since coming here he has worked in the woods, his first work being the getting out of telegraph and telephone poles, being the first person to engage in that work here. He secured many thousand poles and cleared a good deal of land, probably fifty acres. He has made good money and has been wisely economical of his resources, which he has invested in land, owning several good farms and a good deal of fine timber land. Mr. Palmer has always taken a good citizen's interest in public affairs, having served as one of the early councilmen of Lynden, and he served for several years on the school board at Delta. Upon the organization of Delta township he was a member of the first board of supervisors, and throughout his residence here he has consistently supported every movement for the improvement of the community or the advancement of the public welfare.
In 1872, in Wisconsin, Mr. Palmer was married to Miss Ruth Scoville, who was born in that state. Her father was one of the original 'forty-niners, who crossed the plains to California during the great gold rush. He had lived for twenty-one years on his land in Wisconsin and thus secured the ownership, that being prior to the homestead law. To Mr. and Mrs. Palmer have been born ten children: Mrs. Carrie Scribner, of Vancouver island, is the mother of two children. She has taught school all over Whatcom county. Archie, who follows the occupation of a logger, is married and has six children. N. A. was a captain in the United States navy and made several trips to France. During the World war he was executive officer at the naval training station at Seattle. He is now married and now lives at Flathead, Montana, where he drew a land claim. Mrs. Viola King, of Addy, Washington, is the mother of two children. Mary is the wife of John Swope, of Delta, and the mother of one child. A. C., who is connected with the Sunset service station at Lynden, is married and has five children. Oliver died at the age of twenty-two years. Olive is the wife of Ernest Mock and the mother of four children. Roy, of Los Angeles, is married and has five children. Mrs. Ruth Barnes died in 1908. The mother of these children died in 1918, since which time Mr. Palmer has retired and is now living at his home in Lynden, his youngest sister, Mrs. Nellie Nace, keeping house for him. In February, 1919, Mr. Palmer had the misfortune to break his leg, as a result of which he was laid up for several years, and is even yet unable to walk. He is a kindly and affable gentleman, cheerful in spite of the troubles which have come to him, and among those who know him well he is held in affectionate regard because of his splendid character and his honorable career in this community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 315-316.
WILLIAM A. PERRY
Wonderful indeed has been the transformation effected in Washington, and particularly in Whatcom county, since it was first beheld by the late W. Allan Perry, one of its honored pioneers and for many years a worthy and influential citizen. When this sterling individual cast his lot here he found a wide-spreading wilderness, still the haunts of various species of wild animals; but, being a man of courage and foresight, he underwent the hardships and trials incident to life in a new country and in the course of time found abundant vindication of his judgment. He was a man whom all admired for his honesty, courage, hospitality and public spirit, and he is eminently deserving of a place in the permanent record of the annals of his country.
Mr. Perry was a native of Kirkcudbright, Scotland, born on the 6th of March, 1851, and he died June 21, 1919, at the age of sixty-eight years. His parents, William and Elizabeth (Beck) Perry, were both natives of the south of Scotland, whence they came to the United States in 1853, settling in Illinois. The father was a blacksmith by trade and established a shop near Peoria, Illinois, which he ran until 1876, when he came to Washington and located a homestead on Barnes' prairie, three miles north of Everson. There were then no roads in that locality, and his land was densely covered with timber and brush, so that the prospect was not a very inviting one. His first act was the building of a small log cabin, which is still standing. He cleared part of the tract and continued to cultivate the land until his death, which occurred January 19, 1893. He was survived for a number of years by his widow, who died in March, 1901. They were the parents of nine children, two of whom are now living: Mrs. Agnes Kirkman, deceased; James B., deceased; Mary, who died in infancy in Scotland, as did the next child, Andrew; Mrs. Elizabeth Vanover, who died in Oregon; Mrs. Isabel Harper, who lives in Portland, Oregon; W. Allan, the subject of this memoir; Andrew, who lives in Oregon; and Mrs. Mary Duncan, deceased.
W. Allan Perry accompanied his parents on their immigration to this country and remained with them in Illinois until 1874, when he came to Washington, stopping first at Seattle, at which time it was but a small town. He was employed for a time as an engineer in a sawmill and then went to British Columbia and worked on the construction of a tunnel at Yale for the Canadian Pacific railroad, after which he returned to Seattle and became a member of the city fire department as engineer of Engine Company No. 1. He held that position for twelve years and then, in the fall of 1889, he came to the Nooksack valley and took personal charge of a ranch that he had previously purchased from his father, and there he resided continuously up to the time of his death. He made a number of excellent improvements on the place, including the erection of a fine, modern house in 1908 and a substantial barn in 1915. He was a good farmer, practical and methodical in all of his operations, doing thoroughly and well all that he undertook, and he won an enviable reputation among his fellow citizens.
Mr. Perry was married, in December, 1886, to Miss Marie Strache, who was born in Germany, a daughter of Gottlieb and Charlotte Strache, both of whom also were natives of that country. The father came to the United States in 1872, coming at once to Whatcom county, where he lived about a year, his death occurring in September, 1873. His wife survived him for many years, her death occurring in January, 1911. They were the parents of six children, the three first born being deceased: Carl, Mary and Ernest; Leibrecht, who is retired and lives in Portland, Oregon; Frederick; and Marie, Mrs. Perry. To Mr. and Mrs. Perry were born six children, namely: Roderic D., who was born at Seattle, November 26, 1887, and is now at home operating the home farm of one hundred and seventeen acres; Charlotte Elizabeth, who died February 16, 1920; Mary Agnes, who was graduated from the Nooksack high school, the State Normal School at Bellingham and the University of Washington, at Seattle, and is now vice principal of the Fairhaven high school; Mrs. Isabel Lois Neill, who lives at Yakima, Washington; Ollysum, who was graduated from the Nooksack high school, taught school for two years and is now attending the State Normal School at Bellingham; and William S., who is a graduate of the Nooksack high school and is now attending the normal school. Roderic D. Perry is managing the home farm in a manner that has won for him the commendation of his fellow citizens. He pays considerable attention to dairying.
W. Allan Perry was a man of culture and education, and his knowledge was secured chiefly through his own efforts. He was a close and thoughtful reader and a keen observer of men and events, becoming well and accurately informed on a wide range of subjects. He was a writer of more that ordinary ability and frequently contributed article to "Forest and Stream," as well as to other leading magazines. The beginning of his career was characterized by hard work and honest endeavor and he owed his success entirely to his own initiative and efforts. A man of great native ability, stanch patriotism, invincible courage, high personal character and keen business instincts, he won not only material success but also the absolute confidence and respect of those about him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 140-141.
IRA D. RODENBERGER
A true type of the western pioneer, I. D. Rodenberger has aided in pushing forward the wheels of progress in Rome township, in which he has resided for nearly four decades, and at the age of seventy-seven years he is still vigorous and active, owning and operating one of the finest farms in this part of the county. He was born October 10, 1848, in Indianapolis, Indiana, and his parents, Peter and Barbara (Anderson) Rodenberger, were also natives of that state. In their family were nine children, two of whom survive, I. D. and Mrs. Flora Tallman.
I. D. Rodenberger was educated in the public schools of Iowa and worked on farms until his marriage. He then secured a tract of land and continued to follow agricultural pursuits in the Hawkeye state until 1887, when he came to northwestern Washington, arriving in Whatcom county in March of that year. In May, 1887, he took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in section 6, Rome township, which was then a frontier district containing only a few settlers. There were no roads and he experienced many difficulties in removing the timber and brush from his ranch. He obtained his supplies from Whatcom and carried them on his back, making his way slowly along the narrow, uneven trail. He had learned the carpenter's trade in Iowa and followed that occupation for three years in Bellingham and vicinity, aiding the early settlers in clearing and improving their farms. In his wife Mr. Rodenberger found a true helpmate, and with her assistance he built a road to the homestead. During those trying days she not only attended to her manifold household duties but also spent many hours on a springboard, pulling a crosscut saw with her husband in order to facilitate the work of cutting the timber on their place. Their first dwelling was made of split cedar logs and in this primitive fashion they lived for some time. About 1895 Mr. Rodenberger built the substantial frame house in which they now reside, but the old log cabin remains on the ranch and is still in good condition. He retains sixty-five acres of the original tract, on which he has a fine orchard, and hay is his principal crop. He has ten Jersey cows of good stock and a registered Jersey bull. His place is improved with good buildings and his son Charles assists in cultivating the farm, which is operated along scientific lines.
On February 21, 1876, Mr. Rodenberger was married, in Iowa, to Miss Sarah Whaley, who was born in Ashtabula, Ohio. Her parents were John and Rosan (Moore) Whaley, the latter a native of Belfast, Ireland. Mr. Whaley was born in London, England, and came to the United States in 1844, when sixteen years old. He lived in Ohio until 1854 and then cast in his lot with the pioneer settlers of Hamilton county, Iowa. He developed a valuable farm and spent the remainder of his life in the Hawkeye state. He was the father of thirteen children and five are now living. Mr. and Mrs. Rodenberger became the parents of seven children, but John, the first born, died in infancy. His sister, Mrs. Maud Hendrickson, has three children: Vera, Floyd and Hughie. Charles owns and cultivates a ranch of twenty-three acres, formerly a portion of the homestead, and has a wife and three daughters: Irene, Lorena and Annetta. David lives in Portland, Oregon, and is also married. He has a wife and two children: Ira and Claud. Mrs. Mabel Kauffman is also living in Whatcom county and has three children: Rosan, Orial and Ladona. Glen, the youngest member of the family, makes his home on Orcas island and has a wife and five children: George, Genevieve, Marice, Martha and Ralph.
Mr. Rodenberger is in favor of good roads and better schools, lending the weight of his support to every worthy public project. Time has dealt kindly with him and he has found life well worth the living, making the most of it day by day. All that he now possesses has been acquired by his own exertions, and a frank, open nature and genial disposition have drawn to him many sincere friends, in whose society he finds much enjoyment.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 572-573.
BRANTFORD G. ROGERS
For nearly forty years B. G. Rogers, secretary of the Northwest Farm Loan Association and a director of that organization and one of the well known and substantial dairymen of the Custer neighborhood, has been a resident of Whatcom county and he thus has seen this region develop from its wilderness days. He was a boy of ten when he came here with his parents in 1889, the family arriving on the steamer George E. Starr at the Whatcom landing. There they hired Indians to take them in their canoes to the Marietta landing, where the family's first summer here was spent, and Mr. Rogers never will forget how his boyish fancy was attracted to the novelty of that trip and to the skill with which the Indians handled the canoes, men poling- and women paddling. He grew up amid pioneer conditions here, did his part in development work and in due time settled on a place of his own, which he cleared and brought to its present fine state of improvement. Therefore, though not as old as some of the other surviving early settlers, he has the right none the less to regard himself as one of the pioneers of this region and is so considered.
Mr. Rogers was born in Otter Tail County, Minnesota, November 28, 1879, and is a son of G. W. and Florence (Palmer) Rogers, who are still living. The latter was born in Pennsylvania, a member of one of the old families of the Keystone state. G. W. Rogers, now a resident of Lake Whatcom, is a member of one of the old families in the Empire state. Born in New York, he was married in Iowa in 1875 and later became a homesteader in Otter Tail County, Minnesota, where he resided until the spring of 1889, when he closed out his affairs there and with his family came to Washington, locating in Whatcom County. The family spent that summer at Marietta and then located on a rented farm in the Lynden neighborhood. G. W. Rogers cleared that place and remained there until his retirement in 1903. He and his wife have ten children, nine sons and one daughter, and a merry group of grandchildren, as well as great-grandchildren.
As has been stated, B. G. Rogers was ten years of age when he began "pioneering" in Whatcom County. He grew up familiar with local farming and lumbering operations and during his youth was an associate of his father in the latter's clearing operations. For a few years he "worked on his own," getting a starting stake, and in 1903, when in his twenty-fourth year, bought the "forty" on which he now is living in the vicinity of Custer and settled down to clear and develop it. After his marriage some years later he established his home on that place, by that time well under cultivation, and has since had his residence there. Of late years he has given his attention chiefly to dairying, has a good herd of Jerseys with a registered bull and is doing well. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairy Association and his operations are carried on in accordance with approved methods. He also is a member of the local grange of the Patrons of Husbandry and has long been recognized as one of the substantial and influential farmers of that neighborhood. Mr. Rogers has ever given his interested and helpful attention to neighborhood development movements and is now serving as overseer of highways in his district, a position he also occupied during a term some years ago. He is the secretary of the Northwest Farm Loan Association, a member of the directorate of that organization, and has done much to advance its interests.
On February 9, 1909, at Willows, Glenn County, California, Mr. Rogers was united in marriage to Miss Maude Hand and they have six children, William Fred, George, Clarence, James, Mabel and Grace, all of whom are in school save the last named. Mrs. Rogers was born at Sodaville, in Linn County, Oregon, and is a daughter of H. J. and Martha (Dunn) Hand, the latter born in Ireland. H. J. Hand, a native of New York state, was married in Dakota and in 1888 came with his family to the coast country, settling on a farm in the Sodaville neighborhood in Oregon. The Rogers family have a pleasant home just outside of the village of Custer and have ever taken an interested and helpful part in the general social activities of that community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 389-390.
Among the foreign-born citizens of Whatcom county, one of the most enterprising and progressive is Edward Salstad, a well-known and successful farmer of Ferndale township, where he has been engaged in farming for over twenty years, during which time he has won a high place in the estimation of his neighbors and fellow citizens. He has not only prospered in his own affairs, but has assisted and encouraged various enterprises which have in a very definite way contributed to the welfare of the community. Mr. Salstad was born in Norway on the 1st day of april, 1869, and is a son of Matt and Bereth (Johnson). His parents, who were natives of Norway, had a small farm there, on which they kept a number of cows, and the father was also engaged in the fishing business. In 1908 he came to the United States and located in Rosseau county, Minnesota, where he became the owner of a small farm, and there spent the remainder of his days, his death occurring in 1917. He is survived by his widow, who is still living there, at the age of seventy-nine years.
Edward Salstad was educated in the public schools of his native land and then turned his attention to the fishing business and also became a sailor. In 1893 he came to the United states, settling in Minnesota, where he was employed on farms until 1898, when he took up a homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in Rosseau county, to the cultivation and improvement of which he devoted his close attention until 1904. He was a pioneer in his locality and he and his good wife endured many hardships and privations during those early years there. When their first baby arrived, they were sixty miles from the nearest doctor and the mercury stood at forty-five degrees below zero. In 1904 they came to Whatcom county, Washington, and bought twenty acres of land in Ferndale township, the land being densely covered with brush and stumps. However, Mr. Salstad was a man of brawn and courage, the word idleness being unknown to him, and in the course of time he succeeded in creating a splendid farm, which he is still operating, together with forty acres adjoining his place on the east, which he bought in 1918. He here carries on general farming, raising hay, grain and potatoes, as well as a full line of vegetables, and also has a nice bearing orchard. He keeps five good grade milk cows, one being a pure-bred Jersey. He has been indefatigable in his labors, and in the cultivation of his land and the care of the products, he exercises sound judgment and wise discrimination being recognized by his fellow citizens as a farmer of unusual capability and sound common sense.
Mr. Salstad has always been deeply interested in educational affairs, aiding and encouraging in every way the most modern facilities for the proper education of the youth of the community. On January 1, 1923, he was elected a director and chairman of the board of trustees of the Meridian consolidated district high school, comprising what was formerly seven district grammar schools and served two years as chairman of the board. Mr. Salstad is equally earnest in his advocacy of good roads, which he feels are necessary to the proper development of any county or community. He was one of the charter members of North Bellingham Grange, which was organized in 1907, and is a stockholder in and a director of the Grange Warehouse Company, at Bellingham. He is also a member of the Whatcom County Dairymen's Association, a member of the Farmers Mutual Telephone Company, a member of the Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, of Enumclaw, King county, and a member of the Washington Co-operative Poultry and Egg Association.
In March, 1899, Mr. Salstad was married to Miss Anna hemmingsen, who was born and reared in Faribault county, Minnesota, a daughter of Ole and Maren (Ericksen) Hemmingsen. Her parents were natives of Norway and came to the United states in the late '50's, settling in Minnesota, where they were engaged in farming until 1907, when they came to Whatcom county and bought a sixty-acre farm in Ferndale township, known as the Adam ranch. The father died in 1916 and the mother is still living there, at the advanced age of over ninety years. To Mr. and Mrs. Salstad have been born six children: Mrs. May Kathman, who is a graduate of high school and business college; Otto, who is a high school graduate and is planning to attend college; Arne, Norman, a graduate of the Whatcom high school; Thelma and Helen, who are at home. By a straight forward and commendable course Mr. Salstad made his way from a somewhat humble environment to a highly respected position in the business world, winning the hearty admiration of the people of his adopted country and earning a reputation as an enterprising, broad-minded, charitable and upright citizen, elements of character which the public has not been slow to recognize and appreciate.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 680-681.
Dick Schallhorn, a well known, progressive and substantial farmer and landowner of the Custer neighborhood, also giving much attention to the dairy industry, has been a resident of this state for about fifteen years and has become definitely established here. He was born at Grand Junction, Van Buren County, Michigan, December 18, 1890, a son of John Schallhorn and wife, natives of Germany, who were married in Michigan and are still living there. John Schallhorn came to this country in 1880 and was for years engaged in railway service in Michigan. He is now owner of a small farm on which he and his wife make their home. They are the parents of seven children.
Reared in Michigan, Dick Schallhorn was educated in the public schools and for a time was engaged in railway service. He remained there until after he had attained his majority when, in 1912, he came to Washington and was employed in the shingle mills at Port Angeles. In that year he married and continued to make his home at Port Angeles until 1922, when he settled on the farm of eighty acres on which he is now living in the Custer neighborhood in this county and where he and his family are quite comfortably situated, Since taking possession of this place Mr. Schallhorn has done considerable additional clearing and now has an admirable dairy farm there, with thirty or more graded dairy cows, this herd being led by two registered bulls, and he has his plans well in hand for the development there of a fine herd. He is a member of the Whatcom County Dairy Association and his operations are carried on in accordance with up-to-date methods. In addition to this tract Mr. Schallhorn rents an adjacent "eighty" and is extending his agricultural operations in progressive fashion.
It was on August 27, 1912, at Victoria, that Mr. Schallhorn was united in marriage to Mrs. Ada (Nace) Vaughn, widow of Floyd Vaughn, who had settled at Custer about 1900, and to this union two daughters have been born Pauline and Eva, but the latter died in infancy. By her former marriage Mrs. Schallhorn was the mother of four daughters, namely: Reese, who married Tom Stafford of Bellingham and has a daughter; Nellie, wife of H. W. Wakefield of Bellingham; Grace Vaughn, at home with her mother; and Edrie, who died in 1912. Mrs. Schallhorn was born in Minnesota and is a daughter of James B. and Nellie (Palmer) Nace. The latter was born in Pennsylvania and was teaching school in Minnesota at the time of her marriage there. J. B. Nace, who was for years a well known resident of the Custer neighborhood in this county and who was a victim of a fatal accident in Bellingham in 1919, was a native of Ohio, and as a young man went to the west, being employed on cattle ranches until after his marriage in Minnesota. In 1888 he came with his family to Washington and was variously employed in the logging and lumbering industry here, living at Bellingham, Marietta and Lynden until 1900, when he established his home on a quarter section of land in the Custer neighborhood and settled down to clear that place and make a farm out of it, and there he made his home until his tragic death in 1919.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 396.
ERNEST L. and CHARLES G. SCRIMSHER
It is not an easy task to describe adequately the career of a man who has led an eminently active and useful life and who has attained a position of relative distinction in the community with which his interests are allied; but biography finds its most perfect justification, nevertheless, in the tracing and recording of such a life history, for the best history of a community is composed of the biographies of the men who have developed it and are factors in its progress. Ernest L. Scrimsher, whose fine farm is located in Ten Mile township, is a native of the state of Kansas, born in 1879, and is a son of C. G. and Rachael (Elmore) Scrimsher, the latter of whom was a native of Missouri. The father and mother came to Whatcom county from Nebraska in 1881, bringing with them their nine children, namely: C. A., who is married and lives in Rome; C. H., who died in 1919; Ephraim H., who is in Alaska; D. A., who died in 1910; Sarah, the wife of Mat Hazer, of Van Wyck; Charles L., of Ten Mile; Lizzie, the wife of Herman Kuehnoel; Mrs. Mary Olive Drain, of Seattle; and Ernest L., the subject of this sketch. Another child, E. F., who now lives at Anacortes, was born after their arrival in this state.
C. G. Scrimsher was variously employed after coming to this county, and while
living in Bellingham he helped to hew the timbers for the Old Colony mill
at that place. They lived in Bellingham about two years and then went to
Ten Mile, where he preempted one hundred and sixty acres of land on the Hannegan
road, opposite the Ten Mile school. The locality at that time was heavily
covered with timber and they had to go to their land by way of the old Telegraph
road, from which they cut a trail into their place. A vast amount of hard
work was involved in the clearing of the tract, but in the course of time
sixty-five acres were cleared and put under the plow. Much of their early
trading was done at Bellingham, it requiring a full day's trip from their
place, and they also dealt some at Prouty's store. Mr. Scrimsher had the
first team of horses in that locality, and in other ways he showed a progressive
spirit. Here the parents spent most of their remaining years, the exception
being a short period when they and and two of their sons went to Goldendale
to live, soon returning. The father died here in
Ernest L. Scrimsher received his education in the district school of the neighborhood and remained on the home farm until after the death of his father, when the place was sold and he and his mother went to Van Wyck, where the latter remained until 1903, when she went to Bellingham. Mr. Scrimsher remained about two years and then, in 1905, bought his present place, which at first included thirty-six acres of land, but of which he sold fifteen acres. He had leased Mr. Dean's cows for about nine months and for about six months had lived on the Buehler farm. His mother lived with a daughter until her death, which occurred in 1910. When Mr. Scrimsher came to his present place the land was covered with stumps and brush, and a vast amount of work was necessary during the process of its development to its present highly improved condition. He has cleared nine acres, the remainder of the land being devoted to pasturage. He has erected a full set of farm buildings and the place is now one of the best improved and most attractive farms in this locality. He gives his attention largely to dairy farming, keeping a number of good grade Guernsey and Jersey cattle, and also keeps about three hundred chickens. His land is very fertile and he raises good crops of hay and grain, as well as green stuff for the chickens.
In 1903 Mr. scrimsher was married to Miss Emma Kuehnoel, who was born in Missouri, a daughter of August and Ernestine Kuehnoel. To Mr. and Mrs. Scrimsher were born three children, namely: Gladys, who is a graduate of the State Normal School at Bellingham and is now engaged in teaching at Goshen; Clifford, who is a student at the University of Washington; and Donnie, who is at home. Mr. Scrimsher is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and has served his district as road overseer. He is deeply interested in everything affecting the welfare of the community, and because of his success, his business ability and his genial manner he enjoys the esteem and good will of all who know him.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 370-371.
ARTHUR Y. SEELY
Imagination is a priceless crystal in the vision of the man who achieves, and this quality, combined with executive power and unerring judgment, has brought Arthur Y. Seely to the fore in industrial circles of the Pacific northwest. He has aided in shaping the destiny of Blaine, in which he has made his home for thirty-five years, and is one of the valuable citizens whom Canada has furnished to the United States. He was born in the province of Nova Scotia in 1860 and his parents were E. C. and Maria (Mitchell) Seely. His father was a mill owner and builder of ships. He also was engaged in the shipping business, trading principally with the West Indies, and was a man of large affairs and strict honesty, actuated at all times by the spirit of progress.
Arthur Y. Seely was educated in the public schools of the Dominion and at the age of twenty-one entered the mercantile business. He also engaged in general merchandising in Nova Scotia, and in 1891 he came to Blaine, Washington. In association with his brother, E. C. Seely, who withdrew from the business in 1901, he embarked in the grocery business and later opened a general store, which he conducted for fifteen years. Possessing mechanical skill and ingenuity, Mr. Seely had been at work for some time upon a can lacquering machine, which he at length perfected with the assistance of a partner, and in 1906 he withdrew from the mercantile field. A shop was secured and the work of constructing this device was soon under way. He also designed a weighing machine, which he likewise manufacturers, in addition to a can washing machine of which he is the inventor. The last named device weighs three hundred pounds and sells for one hundred and seventy-five dollars. The can lacquering machine varies in price from five hundred and fifty to six hundred and fifty dollars and weighs fifteen hundred pounds. All have been patented and are shipped to points throughout the United States and also to foreign countries. Mr. Seely employs four skilled mechanics and under his expert direction the business has steadily increased. He is deeply engrossed in his work and always has some new plan in the making.
In 1918 Mr. Seely was united in marriage to Miss Rose Randall, a native of England. He reserves the right to vote according to the dictates of his judgment and is liberal and broadminded in his views on all subjects. His industry has made the name of Blaine known throughout the world and his worth to the community is uniformly acknowledged.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 281.
Conrad Shields enjoyed distinctive prestige among the enterprising citizens of Whatcom county of a past generation, having worked his way upward to a prominent position in the community, and in all relations of life his voice and influence were on the right side of every moral issue. He was always interested in every enterprise for the welfare of the community and liberally supported every movement calculated to benefit his fellowmen. Although the last chapter in his life record has been brought to a close, his influence is still felt for good in the community long honored by his residence, for he was a man in whom the utmost confidence could safely be reposed, scrupulously honest in all his dealings, kind and obliging and a man whom all respected and admired. Conrad Shields was born in Germany on the 18th of December, 1830, and received his education in the schools of his native land. In 1849 he came to the United States, making the journey in a sailing vessel, and located in Brooklyn, New York, where he remained about eight years. He then went to Minnesota, where he engaged in farming for seventeen years, and was also to some extent employed at his trade, that of carpenter. In 1874 he moved to California, stopping at Santa Rosa for about six months, and then came to Whatcom county. On his arrival here Mr. Shields homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres of land in Ferndale township, near the town of Ferndale, the land being densely covered with timber and brush. With the help of his sons, one hundred acres of this land was cleared and developed into a good farm, and here Mr. Shields lived during the remainder of his life, his death occurring October 29, 1901. When he first came to this locality it was a veritable wilderness, the only highways being mere trails through the forest and it was necessary to pack all the provisions afoot. Later, when roads were cut through, they hauled supples by oxen and sled. Mr. Shields not only cleared and improved his home farm, but he also contributed in many ways to the development of the community. He helped to build the Anatole school building, the first school in the district, and for fifteen years was a member of the board of school directors. He was ever a friend of education, encouraging it in every possible way, and also earnestly advocated good roads. A hard-working, industrious man, preserving in the accomplishment of whatever he set his hand to do, he so managed his affairs as to reap a splendid reward for his efforts. He was especially distinguished for his honesty and firmness of character. Unostentatious, open-hearted and candid, his record stands as an enduring monument, although his labors have ended and his name is a memory.
Mr. Shields was married to Miss Ernestine Fuhrman, who was born at Belgarde, Germany, on April 4, 1849, and who death occurred April 24, 1922. To this worthy couple were born eight children, namely: Mrs. Minnie Weide, who was born in Minnesota, is now living in Seattle, Washington, and is the mother of two children, Gretchen Jane, born June 9, 1900, and Elwyn, born February 26, 1911; Henry, born at Santa Rosa, California, February 13, 1873; Frank, born on the present homestead, December 26, 1876; Mrs. Annie Morningstar, born November 17, 1878, has seven children, Vera, born December, 1909, Ethel, born in August, 1911, Floyd E., born in August, 1913, Gertrude, born in August, 1915, Irene and Clifford, twins, born in April, 1918, and Nadine Florence, born in November, 1923; Mrs. Mary Wilson, of Seattle, born in February, 1880, has a daughter, Mildred Mary, born December 6, 1913; Clarence A., born March 16, 1882; George, born February 4, 1884, and John W., born June 26, 1886, who lives in South Bend, Washington, was married to Maud Carroll, and they have an adopted son, Carroll Jean. Four of the sons, Henry, Frank, Clarence and George, are still living on and conduct the homestead. They have one hundred acres under cultivation, raising all the crops common to this locality mainly hay, grain and potatoes, and also keep twenty-five cows of the Holstein breed and a pure bred bull. They are up-to-date and enterprising in their methods and are carrying on in splendid shape the work so well inaugurated by their father. The Shields homestead, one of the oldest in this section of the county, is a familiar landmark and has always been recognized as one of the most valuable farms of this locality. The brothers are men of stanch character, steady and industrious, public-spirited in the support of all worthy enterprises for the betterment of the public welfare, and enjoy to a marked degree the confidence and good will of the entire community.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 755-756.
MILTON and WALTER SMITH
There is a peculiar satisfaction in offering the life records of such men as Walter Smith, a successful farmer and poultryman of Ferndale township - not that their lives have been such as to gain for them particularly wide notice or the admiring plaudits of men, but that they have been true to the trusts reposed in them and have shown such attributes of character as to entitle them to the regard of all. Mr. Smith was born in New Rochester, Ohio, on the 7th of May, 1876, and is a son of Milton and Mary (Clay) Smith, the father a native of Maryland and the mother of Ohio. From the latter state the family moved to Michigan, where they remained until November, 1889, when they came to Whatcom county and took up a tract of one hundred and sixty acres, and to the clearing and cultivation of this land Milton Smith devoted himself for two years. At the end of that time he sold the homestead and moved to Bellingham but eventually made his home in Ferndale, where his death occurred April 23, 1924. His wife died March 19, 1919. Milton Smith was a veteran of the Civil war, having volunteered for service, and was seriously wounded in battle, being confined for some time in a hospital. To him and his wife were born the following children: Frank, Mrs. Ida Montgomery, Walter, Floyd, Mrs. Amy Watson, Irvin, and Mrs. Bertha Mossgrove and Clarence, both deceased.
Walter Smith secured his education in the public schools of Michigan and of Whatcom county and until he was twenty-five years of age remained at home, assisting his father. He then worked in the sawmills and lumber camps until 1908, when he located on forty acres of land, one mile southeast of Ferndale, where he is now living, and he has created a very comfortable home there and is conducting a profitable poultry and egg farm. He keeps eight hundred and fifty laying hens and also has about five hundred pullets, in the handling of which he has met with gratifying success. He likewise keeps five milk cows, good grade Jerseys and Guernseys. Several acres of the land are under cultivation, the remainder being devoted to pasture and timber. His success in the poultry business has been so encouraging that he is planning to enlarge it extensively. He keeps only good stock and devotes himself closely to the business, being careful and painstaking in all that he does and exercising excellent judgment and sound common sense in all his operations.
In February, 1902, Mr. Smith was married to Miss Julia Wynn, who is a native of Whatcom county and a daughter of Thomas and Jane Wynn. To them have been born four children, all of whom are at home, namely: Frank, Clara, Vera and Robert. Mr. Smith is a man of genial and companionable nature, kindly and accommodating in his neighborly relations, and he has so ordered his actions as to win and retain the sincere esteem and regard of all who know him, being accounted one of the leading citizens of his locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 141.
CHARLES A. SWARTZ
Charles A. Swartz is a highly esteemed member of the Bellingham bar, with a background of thirty-seven years of experience as a legal practitioner, and faithfully executes the many trusts reposed in him. He is a native of Lancaster, Ohio, and a son of Benjamin and Sophia (Engle) Swartz, who migrated from that state to Kansas. The father was engaged in merchandising and also owned and operated a ranch in the Sunflower state, in which he spent the remainder of his life.
The public schools of his native state afforded Charles A. Swartz his early education advantages, and he afterward attended the National University at Lebanon, Ohio, of which he is a graduate. He took up the study of law after the family moved to Kansas and was admitted to the bar in 1889. He practiced at Great Bend, Kansas, until 1905 and gained an enviable reputation as a corporation lawyer, acting as attorney for the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Mr. Swartz has been engaged in general practice at Bellingham for more than twenty years, and during this period he has handled many important cases, the majority of which have been settled out of court, as he is decidedly opposed to useless litigation. He is devoted to the interests of his clients, and his counsel is always to be relied upon. He is well versed in the minutiae of the law and his analytical powers enable him to eliminate readily the nonessentials of a case and delve at once to the root of the matter.
In 1893 Mr. Swartz married Miss Grace M. Price, of Kansas, and they have become the parents of two children. Lytton McKinley, the elder, is married and is taking a course in dentistry at the University of Los Angeles. He enlisted for service in the World war and was made a lieutenant. The daughter, Dorothy E., is living at home. While residing in Great Bend, Kansas, Mr. Swartz was a member of the school board and was city attorney for two years, and he was connected with the civil service commission of Bellingham as chairman for three years when he resigned. He is commander of the Fathers Club and along fraternal lines is identified with the Knights of Pythias, the Woodmen of the World, the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Junior Order of United American Mechanics. He is a member of the Whatcom County and Washington State Bar Associations and his political views are in accord with the tenets of the republican party. Mr. Swartz has ever been actuated by a keen sense of duty and honors his profession by his close adherence to the solid virtues and enlightened principles underlying the law.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 842.
CHARLES F. TIMERMAN
Among Whatcom county's pioneers is Charles F. Timerman, of Ferndale township, who came to this favored region over forty years ago and has lived here continuously since. He early had the sagacity to discern what the future had in store for this great section of the commonwealth, and, acting in accordance with the dictates of faith and judgment, he has reaped the generous benefits which are the natural rewards of indomitable industry, sterling integrity and sound judgment. Mr. Timerman was born in Amador county, California, June 22, 1861, and is a son of Joseph and Mary (Miles) Timerman, the latter a native of Ireland. The father, who was born and reared in Ohio, was a blacksmith by trade and in the early '50s went to California, opening a blacksmith shop in Dry Town, Amador county. In 1870 he went to Virginia City, Nevada, and engaged in the same line of business, carrying it on until his death, which occurred about 1888. He lost his wife August 9, 1882. They were the parents of five children, Mrs. Kate Thomas; Charles F.; Joseph; Lena, deceased; and James, who lives in Alaska.
Charles F. Timerman was educated in the public schools of California, remaining at home with his parents until he had attained his majority, when in 1882, he came to Whatcom county and homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres in Ferndale township. The land was densely covered with timber and brush and he at once applied himself to the laborious task of clearing and getting it under cultivation. During this period, he also devoted a portion of his time to making cedar shingles, which he sold and thus made enough money to keep him going until he should have returns from his land. In 1882 he built a log cabin, which the family occupied until 1886, when he built a substantial and comfortable home, and there they lived until June 7, 1925, when the house was destroyed by fire. He is now building a much nicer home, modern in every respect, a valuable addition to the ranch. Mr. Timerman now has forty-five acres cleared and under the plow and sixty acres in pasture. He keeps sixteen high-grade Jersey cows, some of which are pure-bred, and also has a fine bull. He raises hay, grain and potatoes and maintains the farm in first-class condition, its general appearance indicating the owner to be a man of excellent taste and sound judgment. Mr. Timerman is a member of the Ferndale Grange and the Whatcom County Farm Bureau. He has rendered effective and appreciated service for twenty years as a member of the school board. He is also interested in good roads, as well as education, believing these two phases of public service to be the most important to the welfare of a community.
On the 22d day of December, 1886, Mr. Timerman was married to Miss Emily Brys, who was born in Normandy, France, a daughter of Philemena (Busccart) Brys, both natives of Belgium. Mr. Brys came to the United States in 1871 and settled in Michigan, where he remained until 1874, when he went to Nevada, where he was employed in the gold mines of Virginia City, being there at the time of the great fire of 1874. He remained in that city until 1882, when he came to Whatcom county, and took up a homestead three miles north of Ferndale. His land was covered with brush and timber, but he cleared a goodly part of it and lived there until 1902, when he retired and now makes his home with Mr. and Mrs. Timerman, at the age of eighty-eight years. His wife died in November, 1900. They were the parents of six children, Frank, Emily, Charles and John and two who died in infancy in Belgium. The three eldest were born in France. Mr. and Mrs. Timerman are parents of three children. Elvira, who was graduated from the high school in Spokane, Washington, in 1908, and later graduated as a trained nurse in Denver, Colorado, is now at home; Rowena, graduated from the high school at Ferndale and from the State Normal School at Bellingham in 1916, is teaching school; and Charles Joseph is at home. Mr. and Mrs. Timerman are among the highly respected and greatly beloved "old timers" of Whatcom county. They have been witnesses of and active participants in the wonderful development which has characterized this section of the state during the period of their residence here, and have worthily done their part in the labor and effort incident to this great transformation. They never quailed before hardships, and never swerved aside from tasks, no matter how arduous, if they believed it their duty to perform them, so that it is no wonder that they succeeded, for such men and women are the builders of empires and the sunshine of fortune delights to shine on them. They are friendly and hospitable, kindly and generous in all their relations with their fellow citizens, and are held in the highest esteem throughout the locality.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 548-549.
CHARLES F. TRUNKEY
Charles F. Trunkey, who for twelve years has rendered efficient service as a member of the common council of Bellingham is also well known in business circles as secretary treasurer of the wholesale oil firm of Trunkey & Sons, Incorporated, of that city. One of the best known men in Whatcom county, he has been a resident of Bellingham for nearly thirty years and is thus thoroughly conversant with conditions here. He was born in Trenton, Missouri, November 19, 1880, and is the first in order of birth of the five children of David F. and Mary E. (Tabler) Trunkey, both natives of Ohio, who became residents of Bellingham in 1898 and are still living here.
David F. Trunkey was born in Alliance, Ohio, a member of one of the old families of that section of the Buckeye state, and after his marriage was for some time engaged in business at Trenton, Missouri. He arrived in Bellingham with his family March 24, 1898, and established a fuel business here, opening a coal and wood yard at the corner of Elk and Franklin streets and creating there a good business. On January 15, 1904, he admitted his sons to a partnership and the business was incorporated as Trunkey & Sons and entered upon a period of expansion, the years being extended to take in several blocks on Elk street, with offices at 1715 that street. In 1912 this firm took on the local agency for the distribution in Whatcom county of the oil products of the Shell Company of California and in 1915 closed out the fuel department of the business and has since been giving its whole attention to its rapidly growing oil and gasoline business, now being recognized as the largest distributor of gasoline in the county. David F. Trunkey, a recognized veteran in commercial circles in Bellingham, is the president of the company; F. D. Trunkey, vice president, and Charles F. Trunkey, secretary and treasurer. The company operates four tank trucks and three package wagons and effectually covers the ground, distributors both to the trade and to individual consumers of oil and gasoline throughout the wide and excellent trade area centering in Bellingham.
Charles F. Trunkey was seventeen years of age when he came to Bellingham with his parents in the spring of 1898. From the beginning he took an active and helpful interest in the development of his father's business. With the enormous growth of the oil and gasoline trade, coincident with the constantly increasing use of the automobile and internal combustion engines generally, he saw its possibilities and since the company took over the agency for the sale of the Shell products in the territory he has done much to extend its patronage, bing one of the best known oil men in this part of the state.
In 1903, in Bellingham, Mr. Trunkey was united in marriage to Miss Mollie M. Short of that city and they have two children, a son, Herbert C. Trunkey, who is connected with the operations of Trunkey & Sons, and a daughter, Miss Gertrude E. Trunkey. The Trunkeys have a pleasant home and have ever taken an interested and helpful part in the city's general social affairs. Mr. Trunkey is one of the active members of the Kiwanis Club, whose motto is "We Build," and is affiliated with the local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in the affairs of which popular fraternal organization he has for years been warmly interested. Mr. Trunkey is an ardent republican and has long been looked upon as one of the leaders of that party in this county. In 1914 he was elected to represent his ward in the city council and he since has been serving in that important capacity, covering six terms in office, recognition of his fitness for office having been acknowledged by these several successive reelections. He studies closely the vital questions which come up for settlement, his aid and influence being always given on the side of progress and improvement. His worth as a man and citizen is widely acknowledged.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 744-747.
George Vermeulen, proprietor of the well established and popular Sea Gull coffee shop in the Hanna block, Bellingham, and also proprietor of a flourishing gasoline station in that city, is a retired sailor, of European birth, and has been familiar with this section of the Pacific coast since the days of the Alaska gold rush in 1898. He was born in Holland, July 24, 1872, son of Gerrett Vermeulen, and was there reared and educated. He spent sixteen months in the army and in 1891, when nineteen years of age, took to the sea, becoming a sailor on American fruit liners in the trade between the port of New York and Jamaica, and on other lines, including service on the Lauredo in the African trade. In 1898 he was on a vessel which made the passage through the Strait of Magellan and up the coast to Alaska. In the spring of 1899 he took service on the United States transport Roanoke, transporting soldiers and army supplies to the Philippines, and at the end of the return trip made another trip to Alaska. After a bit of prospecting in Nome he located at Dawson and there remained until 1904, when he closed out his interest there and came to Bellingham, where he ever since has made his home, his residence here thus covering a period of more than twenty years.
Upon his arrival in Bellingham, Mr Vermeulen bought the Maple Falls hotel and operated it until 1906, when he opened the Sea Gull coffee shop, which he since has been operating quite successfully, this well established restaurant having for years enjoyed a well merited reputation as one of the most popular eating houses in the northwest. In the spring of 1918 Mr. Vermeulen opened a gasoline filling station at the corner of Railroad avenue and Magnolia street and in the following year bought the old Hyatt home corner at Elk and Rose streets. In 1920 he sold his filling station on Railroad avenue and in May 1924, opened on the old Hyatt corner the gasoline filling station which he since has been operating at that place in addition to his restaurant business, doing very well in both enterprises.
In 1915, in Bellingham, Mr. Vermeulen was united in marriage to Miss Grace Hope, who was born in the state of Maine. They are republicans and take a proper interest in civic affairs as well as in the general affairs of the community. Mr. Vermeulen is a Knight Templar and Scottish Rite Thirty-second Degree Mason, past eminent commander of Hesperus Commandery No. 8, Knights Templar, and is also a Noble of the Mystic Shrine.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, p. 883.
Among the enterprising and progressive citizens of Whatcom county whose personal efforts have contributed in a very definite measure to the development and building up of that locality, the subject of this sketch is eminently entitled to distinctive mention. He was for many years one of the most active and industrious farmers of his locality and his splendid accomplishments but represented the result of his earnest and unremitting labor along well directed lines. Now, in the golden sunset years of his life, he is enjoying that rest to which he is so richly entitled. David Wight was born on Prince Edward island, Canada, on the 18th of February, 1847, and is a son of Archibald and Sarah (Bishop) Wight, the latter of whom was a native of Nova Scotia. The father was born and reared in England, whence he emigrated to Prince Edward island in an early day, and there engaged in farming, which vocation he followed until his death. To him and his wife were born eleven children, of which number three are now living.
David Wight received his educational training in the public schools of his home neighborhood and then went to work as a clerk in a store at Murray Harbor, where he remained for five years. He then went to sea and sailed for three years in the Atlantic coastwise merchant service and made frequent trips to the West Indies. He next went to Kennebec, Maine, where he was employed in the granite works, where he remained until 1875, when he went to British Columbia and, where the city of Vancouver now stands, was employed in the timber for two years. From there he went to Olympia, Washington, where he worked in a logging camp for one year, followed by three years in government coast survey work. In 1880 he was married and in the fall of that year he and his wife came to Nooksack, Whatcom county, and located on one hundred and sixty acres of land which had been homesteaded by Mr. Wright's uncle, William J. Bishop, a bachelor, who had filed his right in 1872, it being one of the first claims filed in that township. No attempt had been made to clear the land, which was covered with timber and brush, but Mr. Wight at once went to work on the tremendous task of getting the land cleared and in cultivation. For four years they lived in a small log house, which in 1884 was replaced by a comfortable and well built home, which is still occupied. Mr. Wight with the later help of his sons as they grew older, cleared the entire tract of one hundred and sixty acres and created one of the finest and best improved farms in the Nooksack valley, to the operation of which he devoted himself closely until 1917, when he retired from active affairs and moved into a comfortable home which he had bought in Everson, where he is now living, the ranch being operated by two of his sons who have rented the place. It is a far cry from the wilderness of 1880 to the present advanced conditions here, and to Mr. Wight as much as to anyone else belongs credit for the wonderful transformation which has taken place. It is recalled that on their journey to this farm Mrs. Wight walked from Bellingham, and the roads were so bad that the team frequently became mired. Mrs. Wight grew impatient over the delays and started walking ahead, arriving at the Nooksack crossing hours ahead of the team and the rest of the party.
In 1880 Mr. Wight was married, in Olympia, Washington, to Miss Carrie Larson, who was born in Norway, a daughter of Lars and Ingebod Larson, both of whom also were natives of that country. Mrs. Wight came to the United States in 1875 and lived for four years in Wisconsin. In the fall of 1878 she came to Olympia, which was her home at the time of her marriage. To Mr. and Mrs. Larson have been born five children, two of whom are now living. Mr. and Mrs. Wight are the parents of four children, namely: Mrs. Sarah Ann Penne, who lives in Sherwood, Oregon, and is the mother of a daughter, Hazel Catherine; Edward G., who is married and is the father of two children, Mildred and Gilman; Archibald Larson, who is married and is the father of two sons, David A. and Hugh William; and Thomas H., who also is married and has two sons, Harold and Earl.
Mr. Wight has during all the years of his residence in this locality taken a deep interest in everything pertaining to the development and welfare of the community, to which he has contributed of his efforts in every possible way. He was active in the organization of Nooksack township and has served as township treasurer continuously from the time of its organization to the present. He has always stood for law and order and in his own life has exemplified the highest type of citizenship. Genial and kindly in all of his social relations, generous in his attitude toward local benevolent causes, and public-spirited in his earnest support of all movements for the benefit of the community, he has long enjoyed an enviable standing in the confidence and esteem of everyone who knows him, being universally regarded as one of the representative men of his section of the county.
History of Whatcom County, Volume II, by Lottie Roeder Roth, 1926, pps. 314-315.
Back to Biography Index
Back to Whatcom GenWeb main page